You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

...ya filthy animals

Here are the Gardaí's 12 official Christmas safety tips

Don’t ruin it for everyone, lads.

FESTIVE SPIRIT IS a powerful thing – it’s what makes Christmas a special time of year, but if we get carried away or forgetful, it can leave us open to some disastrous, distinctly un-merry scenarios.

An Garda Síochána want us to have a good one, so this morning they’ve issued their 12 Safety Tips, for the season that’s in it.

As Sergeant Kevin Courtney says:

Christmas should be a time of year for everyone to enjoy.
Our aim is to help people have a safe and peaceful Christmas, and not have to spend the festive period dealing with difficult and possibly traumatic situations for themselves or their families.

tumblr_my4bpcs1Zo1qft49to1_500

1. Drink alcohol responsibly – wherever the celebration, everyone should promote safe behaviour.

2. Plan  your night out – tell someone where you’re going and when you’ll be back.

3. Don’t walk home alone – remember safety in numbers, and if you have no other option, walk in well lit areas.

4. Watch your stuff – take care when carrying your handbag, smartphone or tablet in crowded areas and keep them in a safe location where you can see them.

5. Pickpocket alert – keep an eye out for them in crowds. Keep your handbag zipped, don’t put your wallet in your back pocket, and if you’re in the pub, watch where your put your coat and handbag.

6. Cop on at ATMs – only take out as much money as you need, cover your PIN, and call the Gardaí if you think the machine is dodgy.

7. Don’t get your shopping stolen – never leave it unattended, especially not in your car.

8. Be smart with your car – park it and lock it in a secure, well lit area, and keep valuables like bags and coats hidden.

9. Lock up your house – secure all doors and windows and use your alarm when your’e out at at night.

10. Don’t get your prezzies nicked – keep them hidden from view for anyone outside your home.

11. Expecting a parcel? Make sure someone’s at home to collect it, or ask a trusted neighbour to take it in.

12. Going away for Christmas? Make it look like you’re home – leave a light on, and ask a neighbour to check on the house.

*Bonus tip:

Set up a series of effective (and preferably hilarious) anti-burglar booby traps.

home-alone-fire-jpg-kevin-from-home-alone-grew-up-to-be-jigsaw-here-s-how

Read: Going shopping in Dublin? The Garda Christmas traffic plan begins today>

During this week in 2013, thousands of people were caught drink-driving>