TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Should more than just points be considered for entry to college courses?

A new scheme at TCD means students will need personal statements and references from teachers to get into college. Good idea?

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A REPORT DRAWN up by the heads of Ireland’s seven universities which proposes major changes to the college entry system will today be delivered to Education Minister Ruairí Quinn.

The report is expected to contain a number of proposals to move away from the current CAO system. It comes one day after Trinity College Dublin said it plans to bring in a radical new scheme for entry to its law course, in which students will also need personal statements and references from teachers – as well as points – in order to gain a place on the course.

A small number of courses – including medicine, architecture, and art – already require students to complete some additional work, such as a portfolio or an admissions test.

Proponents of a system involving additional work say it encourages more well-rounded students and looks at the student’s work as a whole, rather than just basing it on one set of examination results. Opponents say that the points system creates a level playing field and that references from teachers or personal statements could be open to manipulation.

What do you think? Should more than points alone be considered for entry to all college courses?

Poll Results:

Read: Over 21,000 CAO offers accepted online today >

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• Personal statements and references from teachers I’m not so sure about, this will just turn into a copy and paste exercise for teachers. An an admissions interview for certain courses would be a very good idea, not everyone has the personality for the career they want to do.The personal statements and references is Trinity College way of passing the work to the Secondary school as they don’t want to get bogged down in interviews. An admissions interview is the only real way forward.

Out in the working world this is how it works, CV (Points) and job interview (admission interview). You need to be good in both to get the job.

The universities need to step up to the plate and implement this system.

• for the teacher reference, the University in question should draw up a form, possibly online, where teachers would fill out a survey per se, which would assess and dictate what level of competency the student applying would have, as opposed to something that could be contrived or a blatant copy/paste job. The personal statement (something you have to do in the UCAS system) is a good way of weeding out people who would not be suitable, sort of like a letter of application for a job, so the college could put its resources best to use and interview from a shortlisted selection of candidates, who would matriculate based on the subjects they take. When NCAD introduced the assessment brief for portfolio back 4 years ago, the numbers applying fell, yet the standard of work submitted rose substantially: more able, high calibre people were putting in relevant work, as opposed to everyone throwing in the kitchen sink.

• Admissions interview? Sounds like a great way to allow some students to bluff their way through with stuff like “my father is the Minister for Education” blah blah blah.

• why dont they just have different points schemes for every subject or coarse. for example if someone wants to.be a chemist then chemistry and bioligy would be worth around three times more than other subjects.

• when you take into account that nearly half of firstyear students drop out in some universites, their reason often is that the course isnt what they expected.An admissions interview might send some of these students to actually research what theyre applying for.

• If the system was fair and transparent then it would be a great. There are often students just a number of points short who would be well suited to a course and this could open avenues.

• I Always felt a system based on weighted points for subjects that are directly linked to the desired courses should be Brought in, and that a practical assessment test worth 20-30% in the introduction to a course would be more beneficial. Eg, for business courses, a practical test on suitability and weighted scores for subjects like economics, accounting and business. for Law or journalism again a practical and suitability test worth 20% of the overall mark and weighted scores for english and languages. For an arts course then…….well thats anyones ball game ;) High points doesnt necessarily mean common sense.

• I agree. This IS a common sense approach

• Totally agree. This would make far more sense…

• there needs to be a complete overhaul of the Leaving Cert Curriculum, the introduction of new relevant subjects (chinese, ICT, Digital Media, etc…), the points system, and the college applications system. it can all still be done through CAO, however it would allow greater flexibility if soem of the suggestions were implemented, allowing greater flexibility, and less of a points surge.

• I dont mean weighted as in the 25 extra points on offer from maths. I’m saying 10 marks extra and this is after a suitability test for the desired course before entry and before it comes down to weighted marks. Therefore seeing as you feel you are good at the chosen career then you would have received a high mark in the 20-30% . I am also in my final year of an economics and finance degree having done economics and business in school i entered the course with a small bit more knowledge about what i wanted to do. but more and more people are doing courses in things that they think they would be good at however get to 1st year and suddenly realise its nothing like what they seen on tv and its alot more demanding or uninteresting in some cases and wasting a space that someone who wanted it and was suitable for it however due to his points in unsuitable subjects being poor they aren’t let in. I also feel that the career guidance system in schools is dated and the information they provide is usually not relevant or adequate.

• I completely agree. My course dropped by about forty points because the employment opportunities plummetted and the failure rates of those students were way higher than in my year.

• What do you mean by a “suitability test”? A 30 min interview?

The one good thing about the leaving cert is that it is anonymous, everyone is equal. And while you might say that it’s not fair that your career might be decided by 20 hours of exams, it’s far worse if your career was decided by a 30-60 min interview.
      “Pratical assesment” has this problem too. Who marks it? Your teacher? This would give them control over 20-30% of your final mark which could be grossly unfair…

• @christiana, but this is only going to affect the small margin of people who just about get a place in college due to the points system. what it would still do is people who scored high marks in all subjects and have say 460 points to get into a course that has 410 of course they will still have the points but choosing between someone who has 390 who tried hard and has a real interest in business or economics and scored A1s in both or high marks but cannot get the points because the points are 410 (because of demand not to do with difficulty) and then you find 30% of these students drop out like ive seen and plenty others have, because they’ve found business boring. Then what happens is the student who gets 390 has two options, Either repeat the leaving cert or find another course which he may not be suitable for. just because someone gets 600 points in a leaving cert doesn’t mean they have the ability to practice medicine and have someones life in there hands I understand its a great basis to start with due to the students obvious intelligence and work ethic however suitability and common sense are other areas which need to addressed.

• @saintruth.. i didnt say 30 minutes. we are only talking about 20-30% not a overall result that dictates your career. First it would start off in 4th year where guest speakers from different career paths come in and talk about the route they took and the main skills needed and work that needs to be put in, Then a short continous assessment that would be in the form of both short written exams and an aptitude test with questions and problem solving practical exams with questions suitable to the skills needed.

• SaintRuth, it works in almost every other country… The suitability test could assess on basic intelligences used in the course, not necessarily asking Leaving cert accounting for an actuary course for example, but using logic based questions to determine the ability of the prospective student in that area. It would also cut out the rote learning from those who had studied accounting for leaving cert. I understand your concerns. The points system I will agree is a fair system, but it is not very just. and I dunno where you are going with 20 hours of exams, some subjects at LC level with all their components have in excess of 11 hours of examinations. At the end of the day it is unfair to determine the suitability for someone on any course based on the fact they got so many A’s, etc… given that what they studied has no bearing on the course. Looking at it realistically, It’s like trying to buy your shopping worth €100 with Dollars and Euro, you have €40, and say $150, the Euro is more relevant, however you decide to use all your dollars to make your purchase, even though it is not suitable.
      Maybe I could’ve used a better analogy but the idea is the same. its like scraping a pass in English, getting A’s in everything else and going to college to do English Lit and drama.

• Hence why a suitability test which involves problem solving, a skill test and an interview would give weight to the persons ability to complete the course. No system will ever be perfect due to it not suiting everyone i just feel the drop out rate and failure rate is so high due to (1) students not knowing exactly what the course is about. (2) students not being able to keep up with course work due to not having the skillset suitable to do well in the course. (3) students doing courses in college to keep their parents happy and have something to do. personality and natural ability and interest can often out weigh someone elses intellectual ability. Obviously the points system is a good system to shortlist candidates that have a good work ethic to complete the course but there needs to be a system to allow people with ability and interest to try a course in which marks they received in subjects that are irrelevant to the course in question are holding them back. It’ll never be truly fair no matter what system is put in place.

• Neil 21/08/12 #

While Ireland is not the only country with this issue we need to start thinking outside the box. Children’s futures are determined in school by how much information they can store and repeat in an exam. Children aren’t supposed to be filing cabinets

The problem with this system is that it stifles creativity. It stifles risk taking. Children are punished with getting something ‘wrong’ by having it associated with being ‘bad’. After 12 years of having this hammered into us in primary and secondary education, it’s bound to have an effect on us as adults, a fear of failure somewhat.

Look at some of the most successful business people in the world. They will all say they had a number of failures before they had a success. Clearly this risk taking attitude is not something they learned in the classroom

Schooling should focus on more than just teaching children to remember information. It should also develop children’s creativity and emotional intelligence.

• I have voted “Yes” to this proposal but only in an ideal world. With all it’s faults, the points system is the great leveller. Sure, kids from more affluent homes have the benefit of grinds etc but in the end all candidates must sit the same exam.
    If any other criteria were to be taken into account for college entry then the good ole’ Irish “dirty pull” would rear it’s ugly head. Connections and “who you know” would dictate who got into what college. It’s just the way things are done here in every walk of life…. merit counts for very little… except in the Leaving Certificate exam!

• References from teachers are defiantly sketchy not to mention subjective. Once personal opinion, interviews and references are introduced people will then claim they were “robbed” of a place by a system that is based on subjectivity and not results.

The LC exams and what you are taught in them is the main issue and the reason there can be a high drop out rate not the CAO system. So I’d say look at changing the LC before changing the CAO.

• Voted “Not Sure” because I think an interview process is open to abuse and manipulation far more than the current points system. Of course the Leaving Certificate course needs to be revised as well so that its not all juyt about rote learning. But I do think some form of suitability testing could be added so that students are guided towards courses that they are more likely to succeed in.

I think it would be far better to take the process back a stage. Students have to make decisions at aged 15-16 as to what they think they want to do in college. Often they find that when they start on the course they have chosen it isn’t what they want or are interested in. Maybe transition year could be used to assess students outside of the academic system with things like aptitude testing, personality testing and some form of exposure to college courses so that they are making a more informed decision as to their career path.

• The points system may well have created a level playing field – up until this year that is! I think the move to introduce an extra 25 points for those taking HL maths was a typical knee-jerk reaction by Comrade Quinn & Co. and typifies the short-sightedness of the powers-that-be in this country. 25 points is a full five grade enhancement to the overall result for anyone who was brave enough to take on the Higher level maths exam. Fair enough, it demands a huge amount of time and effort, but so do other subjects such as chemistry, biology etc etc., not to mention other subjects such as music (which has 50% weighting on a practical/performance element). So, if we decide the country needs more musicians, or linguists, will these subjects also get an extra 25 points in the future. I would propose that if the State put it’s money where it’s mouth is, and offered a waiver of registration fees for those who scored above a certain grade in HL maths, it would at least have maintained the integrity of the Leaving Certificate, and adhered to the ‘level playing field’ concept which we have been led to believe the points system to be. I am afraid that 2012 leaving Cert. will be the year that raises the question ‘ But how many points did you REALLY get?’ .

• The points system is a measure of how well a student does in the set of exams they take.

The limitations are that the exams have a heavy lean on rote learning and students’ abilities and talents extend beyond what is assessed.

If we want to allow deserving people into college courses then secondary school should offer an experience that prepares for life beyond second level education (whether that be college or not). In reality, it’s not just down to the points system, it’s about what is assessed and how it’s assessed. A truly valuable assessment system is what is needed more than anything (IMO).

• bren 21/08/12 #

The benefit of the points system is that it’s transparent – if the student doesn’t hit the required grades, they can’t access the desired course. There are many situations where this feels unfair (esp where someone is just a few points short of a course). Unfortunately, with any admissions interview system, this transparency could disappear, as influence could come into play (perhaps it wouldn’t, but there is nothing preventing it from doing so. And Ireland’s track record is such that if nothing prevents undue influence being exerted, then it will be).

However, the downside is it doesn’t take into account a range of factors that might affect a student’s grades. Furthermore, the way the examination system is set up, students are encouraged to cram, rather than understand to achieve maximum points for their efforts. The strategies for success encouraged by the Leaving Cert (and Points system) rarely work in a university setting.

They should attempt a reform, whereby points can be awarded for more than achieving grades (e.g. continuous work, effort, any extracurricular activity that a university might deem to be worthwhile, interviews, etc.).

That way, we could be more sure that a student is accessing a course because they have achieved all the requirements (rather than just “got loads of good grades), are suitable for the course and can put in the effort, while maintaining the transparency of a “points” system. Should interviews take too much precedence, we would soon see a Journal.ie poll asking “Do children from private schools have an unfair advantage when it comes to accessing university courses?”

• sur it wouldnt matter anyway, yous colleges have never bin fair to us dublin lads anyway sur, so why start lik, ye ye ye always da studenst getting looked after lik. too much moneys been spent on education stuff to begin with lik.

• Eoin Faz 21/08/12 #

Candidates should be produced to match the prevailing economic conditions

• Rob 21/08/12 #

The points system as it is is open to manipulation

Add New Comment