TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Civil servant union to recommend No vote on Croke Park II

The AHCPS which represents more than 2,700 public sector workers says its members have already taken pay reductions of at least 15 per cent.

Union representatives meet with the Department of Public Expenditure during the Croke Park talks
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A UNION REPRESENTING higher-paid civil servants is to recommend a No vote to its members when it ballots on whether to accept Croke Park II.

The Association of High Civil and Public Servants, which represents more than 2,700 senior civil and public service workers, says its members have already taken pay reductions of between 15 and 17 per cent, as well as tax and Universal Social Charge increases and extra working hours.

General Secretary of the AHCPS Dave Thomas said the decision “is one that was not taken lightly”.

However given the scale of the pay cuts proposed we have no other choice but to strongly recommend a No vote on the part of our members.

The current proposals follow on a range of cuts already absorbed by AHCPS members in recent years.

The new Croke Park deal will see a sliding scale of pay cuts for employees earning more than €65,000 a year beginning with a 5.5 per cent cut and rising to a 10 per cent cut for staff earning over €185,000.

The AHCPS said the government has resisted other options such as taxing people on higher pay and said the Croke Park proposals “raise legitimate questions” about the “actual value that the government currently places on the work carried out by civil and public servants.

The executives of other public sector unions will be meeting over the coming days to decide whether they will recommend the Croke Park deal be accepted or rejected by their membership.

The CPSU, which represents around 13,000 clerical and administrative employees, is due to meet on Thursday to consider its next steps. The union withdrew from the negotiations on Croke Park on Sunday evening, saying that the provisions of the deal were “too deep, too wide and too unfair to the lower paid”.

General Secretary Eoin Ronayne has said he believes the final text of the deal confirms that view and that the union made the correct decision on behalf of its members.

Read: Howlin tells public servants Croke Park II will be ‘the last ask’ >

Poll: Do you think the proposed Croke Park agreement is a good deal? >

Read: Croke Park II: SIPTU national officers to take pay cuts >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• I as a public servant would be very happy to see anyone on the salary of 185 thousand euro being cut by 10% and anyone earning over 65 thousand being cut by 5% . Not because I am one of the low paid frontline workers who is exhausted from carrying the system but simply because they are often grossly overpaid for the jobs they do .No one in the public sector should have a permanent job if the simple question what do you do and do we need you can’t be answered with a yes . It has to be remembered that it costs the country over a million euro to supply a pension of 30 thousand euro and the people on these ridiculous high salaries will retire on even higher pensions than that. You don’t need 70 or 80 thousand to survive but anyone on 40 thousand or below is just about paying bills and can’t give anymore after all the other cuts . Reality , fairness and common sense must prevail. When the private sector is back earning the big bucks and perks why should frontline staff be the working poor when they are every day making critical decisions. Cut but cut in the right areas and that is not the front line where everyone is already exhausted from over work and under staffing.

• Kind if ironic when the ‘hash tag’ is PAY AGREEMENT when there is nothing if the sort!

• Cop on Max power, Higher paid civil servant is exactly that and are paid more than the majority of their peers across Europe. They are so greedy or foolish they think they are hard done by, so what if they have taken cut before, their pay was wildly out of kilter with EU norms that they could be cut and still earn considerably more than their peers. They should be separated from frontliners agreements, they hid behind them long enough, this is also the day when mobility disability payment are being cut people with real challenges. I know we all have bill but im sorry if junior has to go to a state school rather than the “rock” or clongoes , but Id prefer to have you cut your cloth rather than seeing Hospital ward closed , Disability and carers allowances cut , . The should be thrown out of talks and unilaterally cut

• Firstly ‘Power’ has a capital ‘P’. I am speaking in relation to the 24/7 frontline workers who were already cut to the bone. Enough is enough. They earn NOTHING like the seniors do and never EVER will. It’s the lower paid public sector workers that need a strong unified voice, protection and a fair deal. Croke Park 1 was agreed to and the public sector were true to their word. Same cant be said for Government. Now waddle back up your mountain

• Hard at it 24 /7 there Max? Good Man. Do you suffer from sort of narcissism? This article is about AHCPS or did you think everything is about you ? Anyway just to let you know the world doesn’t revolve around you and i responded to “Kind if ironic when the ‘hash tag’ is PAY AGREEMENT when there is nothing if the sort!” as the first comment on article primarily about the AHCPS , please specify if are posting about another article pet . You shouldnt really use the Munster logo when you making political or social comment or do you claim to represent their views also.

• There will be a pay AGREEMENT when the workers themselves who will actually be saddled with this pass it in a vote. If government decide to simply bring it in then it will be an IMPOSITION and probably the start of action by the workers. As for the spelling of my name?, well that just basic respect which you sorely lack. I’m done with you

• Please don’t go Max! How do you spell Max, is it not Max ? Anyway you’re still not making sense! Im talking about the AHCPS recommendation to refuse the agreement. They’re a standalone union that I believe have no moral right to refuse what’s is asked of them in the context of our economic situation. So enough of your impish whinging, read my post ,I support the frontliners case in particular Nurses and Gards , but I won’t blindly say that all union should reject in unison because it give the likes of the AHCPS another opportunity to hide behind the folks I believe should be protected, not all circumstances are the same. Now grow up pal

• We have a Union that represents higher paid civil servants only. Sweet jesus. Ha ha. This country is corrupt and a mess.

• Brace yourselves folks Regonald the Smiter is coming!

• smudge 27/02/13 #

He’s just deciding what type of character he will be today, I’d say he will mention Greece and the wages of nurses and gardai about 10 times today, well done reg you take shite but I always laugh at it

• They could get better paid jobs in the private sector me hole. Lets roll the dice and see what happens

• Interested in knowing what the government puppets Impact are recommending.

• Surprise, surprise! 35 hour weeks must be tough on a €100k + wage and 40 days annual leave.

• smudge 27/02/13 #

Clause in the document, if anything happens in the economy the government can rip up this document and impose more cuts, lying mother sons of b###hs, vote no, let them legislate, they will have to be seen to do it correctly across the board, they don’t want to do this as they would be hit hardest, vote no no no no no no

• Agree Mary – the only answer I see is Compulsary redundancy – this is the only way to get rid of the overpaid underworked pencil pushers

• I am considering setting up a trust fund to send Regonald Timpson on a three year economics course
    to Outer Mongolia. Anybody interested in helping to fund the project?

• B 27/02/13 #

Reg??? come out come out where ever you are.

• Well said Mary.

• Let them get better jobs in the private sector then. They might actually work for what they earn. Don’t forget these people are at the top of a very inefficient, largely lazy public service. They don’t even perform well.

• No no no! All the way

• you let the country go broke in the cartel and now want special treatment . the gravey train has crashed and cant be fixed by greed

• Flaps 27/02/13 #

Under the proposals Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore would see their pay drop by €14,650 and €13,096 to €185,400 and €171,300 respectively.

Cabinet Ministers would see their pay drop by €11,700 to €157,500 with the same cut applying to the Dáil Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett. Ministers of State would see their pay drop to €121,600.

All TDs would see their annual pay cut from €92,600 to €87,300. The pay of judges, senior civil servants such as Department secretaries general, and the Garda commissioner would also be cut if the proposed measures are agreed to.

I’m for cuts to public servants earning over 65k..

• Funny that Harry old boy, was it not certain private sector parasites ( bankers, specialties, builders ) that bankrupted the nation all sponsored by the political elite? Yet they escape the pain which you conveniently forget…

Back to your darkened room now Harry old son ;)

• Not specialities.. Should read speculators… Damn autocirrect

• Ahhh lord above, he switches to twitter so people might not notice the underage male on his facebook among all his other topless men.

But he has 5 followers on twitter on is transexual. Naughty old man

• One***

• Good. The government has breached croke park 1 and the new deal is a sham. The savings could have been made without hitting the public service AGAIN.

• Jim Ky 27/02/13 #

Civil servants in the clerical grades were so poorly paid during the boom that the Govt. was forced to up the entry pay by 7or8 points on the salary scale to attract entrants.The recruitment body for civil servants found that they often had to process 1000 applicants to get 10 people to accept the positions.Is this the cossetted public service that we hear about?.

• Jim Ky 27/02/13 #

Civil servants at Principal Officer level,if they accept this deal, will have taken a cut of 24 000 euros since 2009 –22000plus over 2000 in universal social charge.The Govt. would like us to think that they are akin to TDs but of course this is a nonsense–they do not get paid for going to work and neither do the have the luxury of retiring on full pension after 20 years service.

• liam kelly . are you a guard if so why did you remain silent, I remember getting a leaflet in my door telling me what wonders you lot were doing for democracy,hence why did the train crash. and i did report the wrong doing by top people as of yet no answer, I think it tells what went on back then and now its to late for my country

• jim … looks like the answer is in your posting 24,000 and more plus the rip offs no wonder the country is broke

Add New Comment