TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Dáil approves introduction of property tax in late-night vote

TDs debated proposed amendments until after 11pm last night – amid complaints that not enough time had been allocated.

TDs had one of their latest nights of the year last night - staying until after 11pm to vote on approving a new Property Tax.

LEGISLATION TO INTRODUCE a new property tax on homes was passed by the Dáil last night.

TDs voted to approve the new Local Property Tax Bill, and all proposed government tweaks to it, by 85 votes to 47 in a vote held after 11pm last night.

The vote followed three-and-a-half hours of debate – and prompted opposition complaints that insufficient time had been offered by the government to discuss opposition suggestions on amending the Bill.

Opposition TDs had tabled 88 amendments, as well as seeking votes on the removal of 93 other sections of the Bill – but only three amendments were considered before the government forced through its vote at 11pm.

The ‘guillotine’ had led opposition TDs to appeal for extra time to debate the Bill, arguing that there was no need for the legislation to be sped through before Christmas when the new Property Tax would not be levied on householders until July.

This, however, would have meant that the previous laws governing the Household Charge – which is to be abolished as part of the new regime – would have remained in place, triggering another round of €100 charges from next month,

There were no defections from any political parties on the issue; Labour chairman Colm Keaveney, who last week was ejected from the parliamentary party for opposing cuts to the Respite Care Grant, did not vote.

All TDs from Sinn Féin, Fianna Fáil and the United Left Alliance, and all independent TDs who were present and voted, opposed the Bill.

The Bill will be debated in the Seanad between 7pm and 9pm last night, with discussion on proposed Seanad amendments set for 2pm on Thursday.

The Government projects that the new tax will bring in €250 million next year, when it takes effect in July, and will reap €500 million every year thereafter.

Read: Up to €50m in bank loans and levies to pay for repair of pyrite homes

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• Quick question. If I’m paying €900 a year to a maintenance company for the upkeep of my estate, amenities , bins etc., and the county council doesn’t do jack in said estate, why should I pay them for doing nothing for me? Surely there is room here for appealing said payment as I’m already paying for local amenities etc??

• i don’t even want to see the same labour/ fine gael faces in opposition after the next election .

can we have a clean sweep please.

and please , no more school teachers who have had a cocooned existence having gone from primary school to secondary to college to teaching in the class room to the dail. Their life has pretty much consisted of being treated like a child and then treating others like they were a child.

• We don’t the others in either, they are just as bad, we need the system changed and less TDs, we have around 166 I believe, we only need about 40 max, 1 per 100,000 people.

• Plus we need a 2 term max limit – this big boys club of corruption is not the way to run a country

• I agree Paddy. This craic of a lifetime on the Dail gravy train is disgusting. Payment should be the average industrial wage which would attract decent people into the Dail. People with integrity and honesty would be a welcome change. 2 terms is enough for low paid public service as a TD.

• I just don’t agree with the property tax being payable on a persons net income which is a double whammy. It should be on gross income if at all.

• Don’t pay it easy as that,we have to stand together

• To all the people who want a tax on their homes fine i just wish you would send your details to the worthless, lying, self serving shower in the Dail and let them tax you . As for me I worked long and hard with lots of help from family and friends to provide a home to raise my kids in, we paid what ever we had to pay and we now still have our mortgage to try and pay, I didnt ask or get any help from the state. To now come and try and tax me for doing all this is a sort of cut throat governance. People who state other countries have a property tax would want to get their argument correct. Just look at Northern Ireland and what the get for what the pay, the want us to pay more for noting in return. Any one that wants to know where the money will go look up namawinelake website.the have a run down on the payments made to ALL td’s an absolute waste and when the introduce laws to criminalise what went on in the financial sector and stop the gravy train in the dail I will take a look at property tax until then No WAY.The IMF wanted a site valuation tax introduced and also cautioned about to much taxation of the people as it is at saturation point but the FG/labour choose not to bring in all the land zoned for develoment as this would be a tax on themselves and their friends.

• Any politician who voted “Yes” to this, should hang their head in shame!

Bye bye FG/ Labour.

We have no choice but to give the other liars a chance now!

• The opposition are only voting No as they are in opposition not out of any nobel cause like the good of Ireland more the good of their popularity.

• We the people lose out no matter what bunch of criminals are in power

• Tom, what a ridiculous observation to make. Your party in government are breaking ever promise and commitment they made to their electorate. Your concern is about the opposition gaining votes at your expense, not about how the electorate will cope with the new burden of taxes heaped upon them….

• My party? I hadn’t realised I had a party. Nice cheap shot though. What I was saying is the opposition was only making a populous decision. Same would be the case if this government was in opposition. Our politicians only make populous stands especially when in opposition regardless of which party “yours or mine”! It is all rhetoric from them. Our political system is broken yet no one wants to fix it, we just revert to “your party” type comments, as if that helps.

• Just like the opposition, i find most voters just disagree with everything the government does as well. We have become a nation of grumblers with “the glass half empty” attitude prevailing. Is there anything to be said for a bit of positivity? We need to raise taxes, we are spending something like €8bn more than we collect as a nation. I agree that the format of the property tax could be much better but, feck it, just get on with it, it is a new tax and will be improved with time. 2013 is just around the corner, it’s about time we as a people, choose life, choose to be happy, choose to be positive. Go to 3rd world countries that are in abject poverty and see how positive the people can be. Looking forward to all the red thumbs from the people I am talking about above, the Joe Duffey brigade!

• I would go Sean if i could but with all the extra taxes i have to pay,i can’t afford the airfare.As for being a nation of grumblers,people have the right to be anyway they want to be wether you like or not.

• @ Tom.. You don’t know that for sure so you shouldn’t speak on behalf of someone else.. I think most who voted against it were genuine.. There just wasn’t enough of them– No Voters…

• @Joan I’m not speaking on behalf of anyone, just expressing my opinion and observations. I have no confidence in any TD to do anything for the country, they look after themselves and talk populous sh1te when it suits them. I guess we voted them in and we deserve what we get, sure all we’ll do next time is vote in the opposition and have the very same problem!

• @Sean Spot on.

• @Roddie, exactly but ironically we are the people that could change this but we don’t. We prefer to say with civil war politics with a hint of left (which is not really left) thrown in!

• And by improved you off course mean increased.

• Look Sean I agree it would be better to try and adopt a positive attitude but that can be somewhat tempered when faced with possible eviction, no job prospects, increased taxes, negative equity. The list goes on. We saw how inventive this shower were in the last budget, the poorest in society were hammered yet the richest walk away with smiles on their faces. And this was a ” fair budget”.
      Have you ever sat back and asked yourself ” €25 billion in adjustments later and it’s costing more to run the state on an ever dwindling income. 450k out of work, fantasy growth figures and AUSTERITY, the magic cure all. And another €8billion to come. It’s simple, there will be no recovery in the domestic economy as long as people are unable or afraid to spend cash. I want to be positive, I want to wake up believing that the future will be better, but I’m afraid we won’t be steered towards it by this bunch of clowns.

• remember their names these bastards will go down in the same pages of history as captain boycott

• Sean. It’s a moral compass that is lacking in government. All we hear is that we got ourselves into this mess. Well no, WE didn’t. I don’t mind paying tax, however what I do mind is bureaucrats, bankers and politicians reeling the benefits, when they were the ones who screwed the country. Why is Crumlin hospital forced to raise 8 million to try and stop children having to slop out like a prisoner in mount joy when multiples of that is being spent on the EU presidency which is effectively useless to us?? This is madness. If the government did one simple thing and reform the government to 40 TDs (one per county for small counties and two for larger), reduce TD wages to 1.25 the industrial wage and an extra 10% for the leader, ban the whip system, vouch all expenses and max 2 terms, the country might get behind the government and push along side you. Don’t preach to the people in this country about cheering up when every decision the government in the last 5 years has protected the wealthy and driven ordinary people towards poverty.

• I wonder how many people paid excessive stamp duty on already stupidly over-priced properties only to fork out again?! FF, FG and Labour are one and the same really and that is sad. It’s an illusion of choice with poor alternative options, an utter minority. Simple: Don’t pay the tax!!!

• Enda and his gang are hypocrites and liars. They opposed a tax on homes when they were in opposition. Shame on them to put this tax through.

• I would like to know how many Labour TD’s voted for this? Them being the great champion for the working man in all.

• The home tax will play havoc with the property market and scupper any chance of a recovery in that sector. Say for instance you want to sell a house for €110,000 – €125,000 you will only receive offers of under €100,000 because no buyer will want to be in the higher tax bracket. House prices are going to fall ever further – by tens of thousands of Euro.
    Also, people will think twice about a new fitted kitchen or conservatory or attic conversion. Or anything that will add value to a property. This will mean less work for tradesmen. Less construction work – less tax for the government.

• Be it FF, FG or the Independent Parties… Our politicians are all part of the Bozo the Clown Party. The fact that a majority of our politicians have been institutionalised since childhood (primary school, secondary school, college, teacher and politician) means there take on the world and their part of it is warped. Having never worked in the private sector supports a self-righteous since of being, hence the huge salaries (most make close to or more than the US president). Though a property tax is required… The method of which they plan to facilitate the tax is akin to an “us and them” superiority stance.

A property tax should not be facilitated until the foundation and systems have been created. For example… Tax collectors, Accountants, Licensed Assessors with insurance and bonded, rules, regulations, independent reviewers of the systems and collections, legal directives which clearly states what happens when a politician, civil servant or citizen abuse or act in a way which is considered thect or fraud. When this is all setup, then property tax should be collected.

Now how should a property owner be assessed. I believe that a licensed and bonded assessor hired by the property owner should assess the property under a strict criteria and an assessor working for the bank or government should assess the property under the same critera. A third party should then balance the assessments. The final assessment is what determines the worth of the property. Yes.. Complicated

• Emmie 19/12/12 #

Great. Screwed by the government again.

• OU812 19/12/12 #

In my case, this I going to cost them a lot more than they get. I’m self employed & there’s loads I could claim for in terms of expenses to reduce my tax liability or VAT reduction.

I’ve let a load of this slide over the years primary ally down to laziness of forgetfulness. From now on though, EVERYTHING is being claimed for.

Enjoy your €180 a year from me guys, by my accountant’s calculations it’s going to cost you approx €500 a year to get it which means an extra €320 a year in my pocket.

For those on PAYE, look for everything you’re entitled to in terms of rebates, bins, medication, rent, trade union fees, he’ll there some industries where you’re allowed a clothing allowance.

It’s your money. Educate yourselves as to your entitlements & get it back.

• It still seems absurd that anyone is surprised that this government is exactly the same as the last one.

It was apparent that this would be the case before the last election. So much so that Dan Hannan wrote a blog about it: http://tgr.ph/gGyIfI

** Warning link contains opinions of Tory MEP. **

What will happen next? My guess is Fine Gael and Labour will win the election faute de mieux. This is paradoxical: they supported every one of Cowen’s mistakes; if anything, indeed, they were more extreme than he was. But, in politics, opposition parties usually manage to tiptoe away with less than their share of the blame.

It will pursue the same policies as the current administration, but obviously won’t say so. Instead, it will make much of its renegotiation of the bailout terms. And, indeed, it may secure some token concession

within a year or two, Irish voters will recognise that nothing has changed: that they are still being taxed to pay for someone else’s mistakes

Although they didn’t actually manage a concession, they managed a runour of possibly or maybe a concession at some unspecified point in the future.

Who voted for these people?

• No, the previous Government were low tax, incompetent regulation, corruption, bubble-boomers, pander to the people. Was totally different. This Government is tasked with the ugly job of fixing a broken nation.

• Arb
      this government is tasked with carrying out the the dying wishes of the last government, give me one policy that they have introduced or one thing they have rowed back on. Fianna Fail will go down as the party that sold our souls and Fine Gael/Labour will go down as the Party that collected payment for them

• CAPTA, the Campaign against Property Tax and Austerity (formerly the anti Household tax campaign) is the only viable defence the people of Ireland currently have against the looting of our country to pay for gambling losses of the infinitely greedy banks and financiers.
    If you want fight this unjust tax on the home then please go along to your local meetings and get involved.

• Does anyone have a website to access and see why TD voted for the bill last night? Where would I find such information?

• I’m reluctant to plug my own website here, but if you go to http://agenda.ie/tv/dail/ and scroll down, there’s a seating chart there. If you hover over each seat you can see who sits there for electronic votes, and you can use that to read the blue image above and see who voted which way.

To be honest, though, it’s pretty straightforward: of all the TDs who showed up, every Fine Gael and Labour TD voted in favour, and every other TD voted against.

• @Gavin shows how broken our system is. Party politics is one of the reasons this country is screwed Politicians need to grow a pair and vote for what is right

• Either storm the Dail with pitchforks & machetes or stop complaining.

• Or hope so crazy nut does us all a favour and leaves a few sticks of Semtex/TNT under the seats in the dail. There has got to be some crazy person willing the save Ireland from these ignorant parasites and become an instant hero & get a nice statue of him put up outside a pub. Now lets google how to make home made…..

• Mmmm. In the next story on shoplifting, this costs the retailers € 250 million per year. Exactly the same as the property tax is expected to raise. Now, I’m not clever, but I can do the maths here. Are our government shoplifting from us? Would prevention of one crime, prevent another? Woof

• Enda Thatcher and his cronies in the right wing Labour Party might have got this one over the line last night but do not despair. This most unpopular of taxes will be defeated at the next election when every single candidate will be asked “scrap property tax – yes or no?”. Only anti property tax candidates will have any chance of getting elected so the cowards who voted this in last night will change their minds very quickly or else say goodbye to their huge salaries.

• Damocles 19/12/12 #

“Enda Thatcher”

I know it’s considered cool and groovy (or whatever the vernacular is) to compare any politician who seems vaguely right of centre with Thatcher but Kenny is far from being Thatcher. Thatcher would have his sort of politician for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

• Household tax AKA service contract . Please forward the paperwork , after that I’ll decide if I want to “contract ” Simples

• when will the Irish ppl stand up for themselves and stop taking it up the arse by a bunch of morons – and news that Brussels gets to bite on the Ryanair Aer Lingus deal shock me – if you don’t like this shite, get of yer arses and take action – too many years standing by watching and complaining wont change the fact that results are only achieved by taking real action

If you all walk to government house and take over the joint until they listen to the ppl, you will get results

Sitting on the side lines twittering and posting comments won’t change the status quo

• Late night vote ! I thought only vampires came out at night . Oh wait ! Vampires are blood suckers . That sounds about right !

• The first amendment should have been to call it by its proper title, ‘The Anglo Tax’.

• Beileve it or not, the very first amendment was to rename it the “Bondholders’ and Bankers’ Bailout Tax”, an amendment proposed by Richard Boyd Barrett and Joe Higgins. It was ruled out of order.

A similar one from Pearse Doherty, who wanted to call it the “Family Home Tax”, was similarly dismissed.

• and here was me thinking the role of opposition was to provide alternatives. These clowns are only able to put forward populist soundbites.

• Big Bucks for a big investment that gone south and now your gona get charged even more for something thats in negative equity so hey we speculate and when we loose ye suckers pay for something that is worthless talking about paying even more for the pleasure of dragging a ball and chain around..Pay up pay up sheeple.

• sure who care what they approved I still won’t pay it in a million years no more than water tax or household charge.

• Let’s call a spade a spade we are screwed and no matter what our goverment will ensure we continue to be screwed. We can talk till the cows come home won’t matter on bit.

• I don’t agree with this tax but it isn’t a new tax, many countries have this sort of taxation already. I understand why it is needed but what concerns me is how the monies generated will be spent, of course we’ll never really know. I’m sure it will be wasted as usual :-(

• Your argument is a bit flawed so if other countries have a tax for breathing does that mean we have to do the same We are taxed to the balls right now in comparison to others

• No, not at all, just saying that this tax is not new or unusual. I guess the real issue isn’t just this tax, it’s the other taxes combined together squeezing every last euro out of us. Our tax system is broken :-(

• Emmet 19/12/12 #

Tom, it’s not a like for like comparison with taxation systems in other countries. The more appropriate term for it would be council taxes but we would need to get services for that which we will never get. Let’s call it what it is..Family Home Tax

• Tom
      Other countries pay their politicians less.
      Other countries do not double tax citizens, VRT on top of VAT, even on life saving devices.
      Other countries have free health & dental services.
      Other countries have lower rates of income tax.
      Other countries have lower rates of VAT.
      Other countries have politicians who know what they are doing.
      Other countries even have laws that allow a particular proportion of registered voters sign an official petition to force a new election if they are unhappy with the current Government.
      Other countries even have heads of Government who engage in public debate on the issues of the day.
      We don’t but yet we are expected to more for less.
      Well until the Supreme Court order me to pay this property tax Edna (pun intended) and his unelected advisors can FCUK right off. I have even written to the 4 Government TD’s in my constituency and told them the same.

• Thanks Gavin – Im surprised by the labour vote I really am , maybe they are turning back to grass roots.

• it would’nt matter if the shinners were in power.they would be doing much the same .they all shout loudest when not in power, Even ff are against this tax but it was theres in the first place

• Please go to u tube and put in sovereign seal gone . And then go into district courts to close down because they have no licence to accept monies

• You will Shane once they realise they’ll be paying a minimum of €315 per year to start off with. Then without fail it’ll be jacked up year on year till the average household is paying €1000+ property tax plus water tax and every other concocted tax to bail out the banks. How can you say “we’re in a recession, get on with it”?? Every policy that has been pursued in the last 6 budgets has made the situation worse. People need to get organised in every community against these taxes until the government is forced to look for alternative means of revenue (the crock of gold that DOES actually exist i.e. wealth tax on incomes over €100,000, financial transactions tax on the billions flowing through the IFSC, nationalisation of oil and gas reserves). With this revenue we could have a real job creation scheme which is the only way we will get out of this mess.

• Spare us the populist left-wing bullshit. We’ve been spending vast amounts of money that we don’t have. That’s the simple fact of this matter. The money paid back to banks and bondholders is only part of the problem. That’s what the budget of the last six years have been about.

The simple fact is that property taxes exist in practically every European country and are actually favoured by left-wing parties all over Europe. It is only in Ireland that left-wing parties have managed to twist themselves into an anti-Government logic that would allow them to oppose property taxes.

Nationalisation of oil and gas? And how will you then exploit that resource. It will cost billions in investment. Are you going to put in the billions that it will take to do this and take the risk that vast amounts of your exploration is going to yield nothing. And where exactly are you going to get this money from?
      Tax on the billions that flow through the IFSC. And what will you tax when all that money simply reclocates out of the country which it can do at the flick of a switch. And will you be happy to pay the dole of the thousands of people who will be made unemployed when it happens.
      Wealth Tax on incomes over €100,000. How much exactly are you going to take from these people? Tell me how many people earn over this amount and how much tax you are going to take from them. I think you’ll find it raises a lot less than you think it will.

By the way, when you get your wish and we have SF in Government, I’ll make a bet here and now that they will suddenly find it impossible to remove the property tax. Any of you who think that any left-wing parties will remove this piece of legislation is seriously living in cloud-cuckoo land.

Red thumb away. I take red thumbs on Journal as a badge of honour given the usual left-wing claptrap that is spouted here.

• I don’t hear many people in my area cribbing about this tax! If u divide it down to a weekly some of money it’s not that much of a disaster! Bottom line in the budget what we all new was! Those Td’s in Dáil Éireann will never cap their salaries and cut expenses they will hit the everyday joe soap but what u have then is everybody complaining! We’re in a recession we no whats comming let’s get on with it

Add New Comment