TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Dáil to debate Bill on mandatory bullying code for schools

Sinn Féin has tabled legislation which will require school boards to adopt mandatory counter-bullying measures.

Photo posed by model.
Image: Lesley Rigg via Shutterstock

TDS WILL VOTE next week on approving legislation which will make it a legal requirement for the boards of management of Irish schools to adopt measures to counter and prevent bullying.

Sinn Féin’s education spokesman Jonathan O’Brien has tabled legislation which will require teachers or other school officials to inform their board of management of any suspected bullying within one working day of first discovering it.

The school board will then be required to meet within three days to discuss the report, and to write to the parents or guardians of each child involved to outline the circumstances and a proposed sanction.

This mandatory process can also be triggered by a child reporting a case of bullying against themselves or another pupil, or by a parent or guardian of one of the children involved.

The proposed rules are intended to give parents an assurance that any suspected bullying case will be discussed by the school’s uppermost managers within four working days of a report being made.

The Education (Welfare) (Amendment) (No.2) Bill 2012, which will be debated on Tuesday and Wednesday evening before a vote on Wednesday at 9pm, also proposes to create a legal definition of ‘bullying’, as follows:

[B]ullying behaviour means repeated, intentional aggression, verbal, psychological or physical, including by electronic forms of contact, conducted by an individual or group against others, against someone who is not able to defend himself or herself in that situation.

Read: TD says social media bullying has contributed to deaths

Explainer: How does a Bill become a law?

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Why Is it always reactionary policy….2 or 3 traffic bullying cases….legislate, abortion scandal….debate, why are they always a step behind. It seems the Dail’s purpose is to follow the public mood, not lead or guide it.

• How ironic when Dail debates usually result in nothing but bullying.

• Spend a few days in a teachers shoes and your opinion will most likely change Pòg mo Thóine

• Fair play to the Shinners, I’ve a 5 year old that was bullied and the hassle I had getting it resolved, this could only be a good thing, my lad didn’t want to go to school because of a little git in his class never leaving him alone. I ended up having to go through hell to sort it, this legislation would be very helpful.

• It sounds like a good idea, at the very least it standardises how schools deal with bullying. But how can they make it work in practise?

• Look, this may be unpopular but a bit of light bullying or “hazing” builds character. Excessive bullying can be detrimental but you have to learn how to stand up for yourself.

• The problem with this point it view is that “light” and “excessive” are subjective terms. What a gang of kids see as “a bit of fun” and “character building”, the victim may see as “excessive” and “deeply humiliating”. If someone feels humiliated by an action, the action cannot ever be seen as “light”.

• @ John – If you mean “slagging” and “banter”, that’s a very different thing. A bit of slagging between friends is not necessarily a bad thing at all, it’s a part of our culture and is a very Irish way to show your friendship. But there’s no humiliation there. It’s taken as it’s meant. The old adage is true; slagg your friends and be polite to your enemies.

• Yeah, a bit of banter is good as is having to stand up for yourself in one on one situations as these do occur in real life. Unfortunately that’s impossible if your embarrassed in-front of your entire class or by a group which is where I would draw the line.

• John Duggan
      Did you ever feel that you were ever a victim of bullying ?
      Depending on your answer is where you will get your prespective.
      Having said that , banter among friends is ok but like that too there is always a line you do not cross.

• The word “intention” included in the definition makes it more difficult to prove bullying as the bullies can just simply say.. ” I didn’t mean to make them feel like that and play the innocent party.

• Yes, the first big problem is to decide if it’s intentional, and the next, after the mandatory board meeting and informing the parents of all concerned, is to decide what to do about the bullying. This also needs to be covered.

• Dr.fury 18/01/13 #

Stop bullying in the dail,leave Luke alone,if he wants to dress like a hobo that’s his right

• Eleen 18/01/13 #

Just wonder how effectively Catholic run schools (especially) will tackle homophobic bullying, when not being 100% straight is seen as immoral and will bring about the destruction of society? Because there were teachers in my school who were pretty openly homophobic and they’re still teaching.

Since they’re supposed to be running their schools with a strong Catholic ethos, I guess being homophobic would be part of the ethos. Are they protected in any way from having to tackle it properly?

• Anybody sending their child to a catholic school needs to abide by their rules and regulations, no one makes their child go to a catholic school, it’s the parents choice. Therefore they can’t pick and choose what their going to be taught in religion, you either believe in it or u don’t! Stop picking and choosing. I did not send my child to a catholic school because I don’t believe in the Catholic Church or any man made religion. I am not homophobic!

• Unfortunately, for many parents in Ireland, they may not be able to afford a private school and there may not be a non-Catholic ethos school in their area. Not everyone lives in a city.

• Eleen 19/01/13 #

Karolyn I lived in rural Ireland. I had the choice of 3 secondary schools – all of which were run by the Catholic church. All primary schools were too.

There was no choice and my parents were both non-religious. The best they could do was fight so that we could come into primary school an hour late while religion was being taught. The school allowed us that because they were a small school and needed the numbers.

• I suppose the idiots proposing this realise that most members of boards in school volunteer their time?

• Yes we need formal directions to schools to deal with bullying, but schools already have bullying policies. The mistake here is the simplistic idea that punishing and sanctions alone will solve this whole problem. What is needed is a ‘whole school approach’ to social and emotional learning and literacy – what this means is that the whole school environment is conducive to lowering the incidences of bullying. Much work is done in groups, there is peer work, there is a solutions-focused approach, there is involvement of students in working out solutions, there is ongoing work with students on the impacts of certain types of behaviour. It is acknowledged that the people who engage in bullying behaviour are likely to have been bullied themselves. There is a reason behind all behaviours with children and young people. Unless you address the underlying reasons, you will change nothing. This punishing approach is typical of the Irish authoritarian approach that seeks to punish rather than try to understand what is going on – and therefore make a real difference… More enlightened approaches are absolutely proven to work in dramatically reducing bullying and developing understanding, acceptance of responsibility for the outcomes of your behaviour and groups taking responsibility for the bullying that is going on among their peers.

• This is not a Bill that is underpinned by a blame-punishment approach, but more of an attempt to support school communities and BOMs in preventing and countering bullying – i.e. the whole school approach. Schools have their own anti-bullying policies, yes, but these can vary massively, as can the extent to which they are implanted. Deputy O’ Brien should expect cross-party support on this; internationally, efforts in Norway took a leap forward when researcher expertise in anti-bullying action was coupled with the legislative changes of 2003.

• Did you ever think that maybe parents need to teach their kids some proper social ethics?

• Absolutely, and this is why parents have a vital role in whole school and community approaches to anti-bullying. But whereas it’s possible to legislate to ensure there’s uniformity in how schools deal with bullying, the same is not true for how people parent!

• The parents of a bully usually do noting ‘ speaking from experience .I think the bully’s name & photo should be put up on notice board as bully of the week plus be made to to chores ,he or she might think twice next time :D

• Bills are all well and good but the old saying ‘who guards the guardians?’ is very apt here regarding its implementation. There are several cases of teachers ignoring at best and worse sometimes even facilitating homophobic behaviours for example. The Catholic Church running most of our schools doesn’t help in this regard. Unfortunately the outcome for this and other forms of bullying is often mental health issues of tragically suicide of the bullied.

• Smiley 18/01/13 #

When there is no central body overseeing the day to day running of schools, local committees under the control of a principal and a ( childless) priest in charge of schools, what hope is there of bullying being dealt with effectively?

• http://www.savethechildren.org.uk/sites/default/files/docs/ABC_Booklet_1.pdf
    All Together Now: a whole school approach to anti-bullying practice (Save the Children)

• It really shows how incompetent schools are if they can not handle bullying..

Add New Comment