TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Cameron to make long-awaited speech on Britain’s EU role this week

The British Prime Minister is expected to commit to holding a referendum on European Union membership after the next general election.

Image: Geert Vanden Wijngaert/AP/Press Association Images

BRITISH PRIME MINISTER David Cameron’s long-awaited speech on Britain’s relationship with Europe, which was postponed because of the Algerian hostage crisis, will take place this week, a senior minister said earlier today.

“It will happen this week. We will make an announcement on when and where tomorrow (Monday),” Foreign Secretary William Hague told the Andrew Marr programme on BBC television earlier today.

Cameron had been due to travel to the Netherlands for last Friday’s speech but cancelled it at the last minute to deal with the attack on the In Amenas gas complex, in which six Britons and one British resident are feared to have died.

The Telegraph reports that the Prime Minister will make a historic pledge to hold a ‘in/out’ referendum on European Union membership after the next general election in 2015.

According to extracts of the speech given to the media before it was called off, Cameron was expected to warn that Britain could drift out of the European Union unless the bloc meets key challenges.

Britons were tiring of the EU’s “lack of democratic accountability”, he planned to say, warning: “If we don’t address these challenges, the danger is that Europe will fail and the British people will drift towards the exit.”

Any referendum would likely be held in 2018 and would be subject to the Conservative Party returning to power in two years time.

The main opposition party, Labour, is reluctant to commit to any in/out referendum if it is in government after the next election.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell

Aaron McKenna: Our nearest neighbour may leave the EU. Here’s why.

Read next:

Comments (13 Comments)

• I can only see this referendum going one way and that a big middle finger from middle England.

• Repatriating more powers back from Brussels is a ruse, the main crux of middle England is not content being part of a Europe that’s dominated by Germany, two world wars and all that.

• If Britan gives two fingers up to europe then the rest of the eu will be watching every move .
    You will get the yes and no sides locked in debate and both sides throwing their “educated (or lack thereof) opinions” when in fact it will be unchartered waters.
    I would vote for an exit myself but my choice would be based on the way our so called government are going about running our country and the sleeveen politics that are alive and well.

• Thank god for the English having the balls to do it,if we had and back bone we would be supporting them

• Can’t see the EU allowing that referendum to happen. I’ll bet he will set a date so far away that it won’t matter. Cameron is every bit a traitor as our own turncoat europhile Kenny

• Ed, how exactly would the EU have any power in preventing a sovereign nation holding a referendum? They are pressing ahead with a referendum which could lead to a significant change in their borders and result in another nation forming and the EU couldn’t give a flying fudge.
      So they will hardly be able to step in here.

• I’d say he’s praying for more snow or another hostage crisis to get him out of the hole he’s dug for himself. He got some shock on Thursday when the stock exchange came out and said clearly that withdrawing from Europe would have a disastrous impact on British industry. I’d say his original planned speech is being re-written.

• Britain leaving europe :

Pros – stem welfare tourism as the uk would no longer be a gateway to europe.

Sterling goes back to its own controlled currency

No need to enforce terrible eu rules anymore like congestion charges and carbon taxes.

Easier for ireland to leave if we wanted to , stems the amount of welfare tourists we get trying to get to the uk.

• @stephen that is all true but we should leave alongside the UK this would attract others to do the same causing the long awaited fall of the eu..
      Nothing can stop countries dealing as close as we are now.we can still import/export the economy will improve and attract the American market further (they just can’t get enough of us)

• Stephen, i don’t get this bit: “stems the amount of welfare tourists we get trying to get to the uk” should that not be “stems the amount of welfare tourists we get trying to stay here” the dole is lower in the UK, they’re all coming here cos no doleio on Poland, Italy, Portugal, Hungary etc can match ours so Ireland is so much better. Yea until we leave the EU, then we can tell ye all to go home if you arent working here! Let your own countries pay your dole. Its mad, EU my hole, each country has its own rules on welfare.

• Guy Verhofstadt makes the case for British withdrawal:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=KLnlzWCd7EQ

Add New Comment