TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Eucharistic Congress: Here’s why people are attending

The arrival of the 50th International Eucharistic Congress comes at a time when the Catholic Church in Ireland is in turmoil. TheJournal.ie spoke to some of the pilgrims on why they are attending.

Pilgrims from Ireland and abroad take part in the opening ceremony on the opening day of the International Eucharistic Congress at the RDS.
Image: (Laura Hutton/Photocall)

THE INTERNATIONAL EUCHARISTIC Congress, a week-long event organised by the Vatican every four years, opened in Dublin last Sunday.

About 12,000 Catholics, many from overseas, gathered for the opening Mass at the RDS, where discussions, debates and prayers will be held all week. The 50th annual event arrives in Ireland at a time when the Catholic Church here is facing huge challenges, including the fallout from extensive clerical child abuse scandals and declining numbers participating in religious ceremonies.

Michael Freeman and Christina Finn from TheJournal.ie went along yesterday to find out from pilgrims themselves why they are attending and what they hope to get out of the Congress.

What are you most looking forward to?

American attendees, Sally Penafiel, 58, from Texas and Sr Mary Emily, 42; Sr Michaela, 27 and Sr Claire, 37, from Nashville in the USA, said they were all looking forward to the Morning Prayer. Brian O’Toole, 58, from Rathmines, Dublin, is interested in the event on passing on the faith to the next generation, while Marie, aged 24, from Dublin wants to attend the talks on family life and marriage.

Mary, aged 60, who travelled up from Kerry, said she very much enjoyed the Liturgy of Word and Water by Archbishop Michael Jackson yesterday. “It was very good. I know it is funny – his name. It wasn’t ‘the’ Michael Jackson. But he was very good, I really enjoyed that,” she said.

Why does the Eucharistic Congress matter to you?

Helen, 30, from Sri Lanka said that the Congress brings unity to the church. “It is a part of our Church – coming together. This is a pressing time for Ireland and the Church what with all the child abuse revelations surfacing. I would hope that the Congress might be able to bring healing to people in Ireland,” she said.

Mary said that coming together is what the church is all about. She said:

It is good to hear different points of view from different organisations and religions, and you can see then that we are all equal. It is good to hear that we are not alone in our faith.

“I’ve come here to the Congress to try and get a deeper understanding of my faith and to meet new and interesting people with the same faith as me,” said Marie.

Gearóid, 29, from Dublin, said the Congress matters because it is an important event – especially for young people, he said. “For people like myself and younger, it gives them a chance to renew their spirituality – not even their faith but their spirituality, more importantly,” he said.

Brian said that the Congress is a celebration of the Church. He said “you need these peak experiences to strengthen your faith, because then you go back into run-of-the-mill life and the fervour diminishes. Until you need another event like this”.

Oliver, 39, from London said:

For me as a Catholic, the Eucharist is the summit of all our belief. It’s a way to support not only myself, but my family and friends and those in my parish.

Amy Johnson, 19, from Warrenpoint, Co Down said the Congress is about “bringing community together” adding “to make people realise everyone’s involved – that it’s not just the elderly, it’s important to the youth too”.

What do you hope to take away from the Congress?

Benedicte, 24, from the Netherlands, said she is hoping to take away new ideas about her faith while Mary said she hopes that she comes away with a renewed sense of her faith. She added: “I hope to meet new and interesting people from all over the world. It is interesting to hear all of their points of view on things.”

Claire McAdam, 21, from Ballybay, Co Monaghan, said she had come to make new friends and “strengthen” her faith.

Gearóid said:

I think that above all, I want to take away positivity from this event. Positivity that I should carry on in my work (as a youth organiser). I hope this week gives me and others the strength to know that I am making a difference through my work, even if it is just in a small way.

Are you bothered by the protests outside the gates and are you concerned about the negative reaction?

Many people in attendance said they were not bothered about protesters and actually welcomed them.

“The protesters, the people that suffered from terrible child abuse – they have a right to be heard. They are protesting against something that is personal and important to them. It would bother me more if they weren’t being heard and if their concerns were not being dealt with,” said Mary.

Brian held a similar point of view stating, “No, we welcome protests. I’m a protester myself and I work a lot in advocacy. In a way I’d be asking questions if there weren’t any protests.”

Jerry, 40, from London said “They have the right to protest, and we have the right to our faith.”

Speaking about the protests, younger voices like Marie said:

No institution is perfect. There is always going to be opposition to something no matter what so it is not something that would bother me. People have a right to their opinion.

Gearóid said:

The protests don’t bother me at all. They have a right to protest, they have a right to an opinion, just like we do – they might even have a point. The Catholic Church really has to move into the 21st century and stop living in the past.

Sr Mary Emily said “we’ve seen nothing but happy, smiling, joyful people, and the Church really alive. It’s so important that this event is reported positively”.

(Question for younger attendees) Is the decline in youth participation in the Catholic Church a concern for you? Have you experienced any strange/negative reaction from people your own age when you said you were attending the Congress?

Gearóid said that the decline in the participation of young people in the Church worries him adding “the problem can be addressed through the work that I do, which is organising retreats for young people. Through meditation and relaxation we encourage young people to get involved, it takes away the rules and regulations associated with religion and the Church”.

Benedicte said:

Young people are very present in the church; it is just that they are not so visible in the media. There are a lot of young people here that are just interested in learning and thinking about what their faith means to them.

“The youth in the Catholic Church is alive and well – you just don’t hear about it, that’s all. You only hear the bad news about the Church. There are so many youth organisations involved in the Church, many are here today. There are so many youth volunteers here this week, so I think that in itself says a lot,” said Marie.

Pilgrim ponchos and altar wine: The Eucharistic Congress in numbers>

Abuse victims remembered at opening of Eucharistic Congress>

Eucharistic Congress abandons plans to screen Euro 2012 games for pilgrims>

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• I spent the day there yesterday having been asked by a friend to accompany a choir on piano.

While most of the day was spent doing musical things I did get a chance to go to one speech from a retired Archbishop in Australia in the main arena.

The theme of the day was marriage and family. His speech spoke against contraception and talked about how it can build up an “anti-child” mentality in people. He then heralded the importance of “Christian Marriage” which was met by a huge applause from the crowd. I really felt like walking out at that point.

Then he spoke about family life and marriage, this from someone who has never been married themselves…..

The highlight for me was during the mass when Diarmuid Martin mentioned the child abuse in the church. This prompted the loudest applause. No doubt there is a real sense of horror amongst those there at what has happened. At least the lay people of the church take it seriously. Here’s hoping the Church hierarchy also take it more seriously than they have thus far.

Overall it was an interesting experience. The age profile of the pilgrims should be of massive concern to the Church. Obviously pensioners have the time to attend these things but there was a noticeable lack of younger people there.

• Fair play David for your musical accompaniment. ( im not being sarcastic – i admire the fact you can and did do this)

It beggars belief that the church still wants to stick its nose into sexuality ( especially given the horror of their own behaviour)
      Why is the church so obsessed with sexuality? What purpose does it serve?
      I thought believing in God was believing there is a supreme being and the afterlife and all that malarchy. What has that got to do with sexuality? I mean – Really!
      Jesus certainly didnt bang on about it, and history shows the big hang up over sexuality happened long after Jesus’s time on earth.
      The biggest problems with the church today was caused by the last Pope, John- Paul and his foolish stance on contraception. This stance meant he had to stack the church’s hierarchy with yes men who wouldnt go against the contraception thing despite all the evidence of the catastrophic consequences being felt by countries like Africa with their AIDS epidemics.
      As for that Aussie arch bishop and his ideas about contraception building up an ‘anti child’ mentality – dont get me going on that one – its a poor attempt to justify all the other crap

• Simon paediphilia is not exclusively homosexual, and why can’t gay priests marry? It’s funny’ that you are obviously so homophobic, but then again you believe in some sky fairy in the clouds who you think loves you but allows the humans and the earth to live in misery.

• ok, my previous comment was removed…. no I am not – every time someone is calling me like this I am just laughing; you are clearly narrow-minded, just because I said something wrong about gays doesn’t make me homophobic, I don’t care if you like it or not, most pedophile priests are gay, and that’s the fact, get over it…

I am not against gay people, I am against some of their behavior, it is like calling someone racist because he/she said: some afro-american guy was eating face of the other guy, it is a fact, talking about it doesn’t make you a racist, so I hope one day all those people here on journal.ie will stop calling me homophobic just for stating some facts

• p.s. people themselves are turning their lives into misery, not God. If you want to stop poverty for example, you can start with not supporting any international concerns or globalisation, in 2011 most 10 richest companies in the world were walmart along toyota and 8 oil producing companies, how do you think: why they are the richest? Stop living your life the way they want you to live, and then you will change the world. If you are intelligent you will see how not supporting those companies can lead to decrease in world’s poverty.

• Did they all have to buy new dresses for the occasion, or are they sticking to their old habits?

• cults are creepy

• They can afford to have this shindig but don’t have any cash to pay abuse victims. That’s lovely.

T’would almost be worth Jesus going back to life for the shower of abuse he would call down on the Catholic Church and those who support it.

Well done to The Journal on finding some under 50s at the event, even though they must have stood out like sore thumbs it must still have taken a while to track them down.

• What worries me most about reading things like this about the Church and the Eucharistic Congress, apart from all the horrible things that they’ve done, is that from the testimonies of the people in these articles it is very clear that they don’t worship God, they worship the Church. They inevitably talk about Church rules and beliefs, or how the Church has to do this or that, and so on. They obey the laws of the Church, but not the laws of God or any divine law (I’m aware a lot of people, myself included, have no time for God’s law either, but just humour me). It is in that sense that Catholicism does indeed satisfy at least some of the criteria pertaining to a cult: adoration\veneration of an object.

For example, Catholics used to abstain from meat on Friday, not because of any biblical roots, but because the Church says so, because Canon Law says Bishops can order you to abstain from whatever they want, whenever they want. http://www.jimmyakin.org/2004/07/since_tomorrow_.html Interestingly enough the bible tells Christians to be wary of any person or organisation who advocate fasting in Timothy 4:3-5, and to be wary of organisations that forbid people to marry, all in one fell swoop. This is why Catholics weren’t allowed read the bible before the 70s, and are still not encouraged to do so. Because Canon law takes precedence. The Vatican couldn’t couldn’t have people reading about that time when God himself wrote to tell people not listen to anyone who tells you to observe Lenten sacrifices or refuse people, like maybe gay people, or divorced people, to get married, could they?

So to anybody heading to the Eucharistic congress this week, feel free, but bear in mind you are not worshiping God, you’re worshiping an object, the Church, and that’s a very dangerous thing to do.

• the church needs to go back to believing in a God, and not making rules up for the people to suit their own often twisted agendas/

• True, remember how Jesus was about the Pharisees? And the Vatican would be the modern day equivalent, “hypocrites and followers of the commandments of men”..

This is why all the Christians I know insist that Catholicism has nothing to do with Christianity. Catholicism is more about worshipping the Pope who *claims* to have a direct link to god, although how anyone can believe that is beyond me. Had the Pope a direct line to god he may have been warned about all the grossly immoral things taking place in gods name and ordered to put a stop to it (unless the Pope is claiming that god is a sadistic pedophile protector).. The Bible stands very much at odds with Catholicism.

But this is not the first time the church has committed a disgusting attrocity. We are all aware of the Inquisition and the Witch Burnings.. And yet people forgave these barbaric behaviours.. Now they’ve brutalised our women and children again, and people act surprised..

The Catholic Church is founded upon lies, it’s the remnants of the Roman Empire, desperately trying to claim dominion over the hearts and minds of all those unlucky enough to have been baptised before they could give informed consent.

I do not call for their destruction, I have a feeling that they are well capable of doing that themselves..

• B7584 13/06/12 #

Nananananananana LEADER!

• Why are so many people interested in developig their faith? Faith is believing in things without evidence, a perfect pathway to gullibility.

• I’m an atheist but I can totally see the appeal of believing in an afterlife and believing that all your family friends are happy somewhere up beyond the clouds when they pass on. The reality that this is it can be a bit depressing for many people so they seek to convince themselves otherwise.

• Belief by definition is the complete lack of evidence, if someone had evidence of something, they wouldn’t believe it, they would know it. I suppose when it comes to the premier question of our existence, why is there not nothing? the issue of belief has to play a part. Some like yourself Brian (and myself also) probably put a belief in Science, that it holds the ultimate answers, but that is all it is at the moment, a belief.

Similarly some people put a belief in a God as the Prima Causa, which certainly in my opinion offers at the very least a logical plausibility. If there is something now, it must have came from something else because nothing can come from nothing, unless there was something initially, how can there be anything now? Infinite regress in my opinion is easily as absurd as a belief in a deity.

• True Dermot, some people find the idea of an afterlife comforting, but unfortunately that doesn’t make it any more true. Personally I find the thought of living forever whilst worshipping a deity pretty disturbing, I’d imagine it would be similar to having to live in North Korea forever. And what about the loved ones who don’t make it to heaven, but burn in hell instead, how do religious people come to terms with that idea? Similar to the way people cherry pick the good bits from the bible and ignore the ugly stuff, I guess they do something similar when faced with the heaven & hell scenario.

Antóin O Cinnéde – Belief in Science is not “Just a Belief” (as in faith in religion), Science uses reason & observation, is based upon verifiable evidence and is open to peer review. Religious faith not only lacks evidence, but its independence from evidence is its pride and joy, claiming that “Faith is a Virtue”, which of course is utter nonsense. If someone has a belief that is based solely on faith, you can’t examine their reasons, they retreat behind the private wall of faith where they repeat the mantra “It’s my faith”, which to me means “It’s my gullibility”.

• I understand your point Brian, but talking about a belief in science but not “faith” is an incongruous statement to make. You can only believe in something IF you have no evidence, otherwise you know it. By saying you believe science will ultimately answer the questions of the existence of the universe, you must accept the fact that you do not know that to be the case as no categorical evidence exists (as of yet anyways) no more than the Theist has evidence that God created the universe, it is therefore a faith.

You’re hiding behind a believe in “scientific faith” if you will, there is no evidence of a solely natural explanation of the universe’s existence, are your saying you believe one day there will be?

• Where did I say that I believe science will ultimately answer the questions of the existence of the universe? I never said that and although it may strive to do so, that does not mean that it ever will. What I can say is that Science uses an honest method of reason & observation. Unlike religion that relies solely on blind faith, Science is evidence based, is open to constant peer review, does not claim things as “fact” and it will update it’s results if new findings are made.

And I’m not hiding behind a belief in “Scientific Faith” (whatever that is), as I’m not the one making any claims to the origin of the universe, if I’m ever presented with evidence for a supernatural cause, then I’ll think differently about it, but until then I’ve absolutely no reason to jump to the lazy conclusion that “God made it”. Also, there’s never been any evidence found for the supernatural, but Science has discovered many natural causes for things that we once believed were caused by supernatural forces, therefore it is more probable that if we do find an explanation for the universe’s existence, it too will be a natural cause.

• Your initial point was about people believing in things without evidence, and gullibility. I was merely pointing out firstly, you cannot believe in something if there is evidence, so your definition of faith was wrong. Secondly I was stating its wrong to claim people of faith are gullible because there is a logical plausibility that they could be right.

Ultimately those who express a dependency on science in philosophical debate, usually conclude with a scientific “explanation” of ontological matters. I was trying to highlight that in doing that, they engage in the same practices of faith that they deride “believers” for.

• OK, so you say that “You can only believe in something if you have no evidence, otherwise you know it” – This is not an accurate statement, as you can have sufficient evidence to validate your belief in something, without having full knowledge. Also, you can know something is true and for that exact reason you believe in it, it’s called believing in truths.

And my definition of faith wasn’t wrong, I said “Faith is believing in things without evidence” and the Oxford Dictionary defines it (in relation to religion) as “Strong belief in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual conviction rather than proof”. Their definition of Gullibility is “Easily persuaded to believe something; credulous”, surely you can see where I’m coming from, if someone believes in things based solely on their spiritual convictions (rather than actual proof), they are being credulous, or as I said gullible.

And lastly, I’ll sign off by saying that Scientists do not engage in the same practices of faith that they deride “believers” for, Scientists are happy to say “they do not know”, when they don’t know something, whereas religious believers claim to know everything, when in fact they KNOW nothing at all.

• Its the arch bishop Michael Jackson I feel sorry for. When he was given his name, it was a perfectly good name. Then came along Wacko Jacko and you have people making the same weak jokes over and over and over.
    He’s Bad, he’s really really bad….
    (I’ll get my coat…)

• These people need treatment. They are brain damaged.

• Paul 13/06/12 #

Michael Jackson has risen from the dead and become an arch bishop? You couldn’t make it up;-)

• Scientology hasn’t done as much damage either, it’s the more pleasant of the two cults.

• Thanks to thejournal.ie for actually getting up and going out to listen to those who are there. One of the phrases I brought home from my time there on Monday was from Br Alois, quoting Br Roger, of Taize: “When tirelessly the Church listens, heals, and reconciles, it becomes what it is at its most luminous—a communion of love, of compassion, of consolation, a transparent reflection of the Risen Christ. Never distant, never on the defensive, freed from all harshness, it can radiate the humble trusting of love right into our human hearts.”. Worth aiming for I think.

• whats the difference between Scientology and the Catholic church? One is 2000 years older than the other.

• Yes – Hundreds of millions of the population of the world need treatment for believing in God. Very amusing. It’s even more amusing to think that some people believe that the universe came from nothing.
    Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen once wrote: “Many people hate the Catholic for what the believe it to be. But only very few really hate the Church for what it actually is.”

This is true. The Church is an organisation that takes a beating because it teaches what is good and demands that people live lives of service and love to others. Not lives that are self-centred, but lives that are self-sacrificing.

• Would you like to give some examples of how the church teaches what is good Adam? Are we talking about the same Church that taught that condoms cause AIDS, and vehemently opposed their introduction into Africa, indirectly becoming responsible for God knows how many infections and possibly deaths?

• Don’t be simple minded. Think about what you’re saying. Would you have sex with someone who has the AIDS virus…even with a condom on?
      They have a failure rate. You just might contract the infection. Would you risk it?
      The reason the church teaches condoms are wrong is because it removes love from the sex act. If you have aids and are willing to risk infecting someone then you simply do not give a shit about them. It’s that simple.

• Don’t avoid the question, I’m not talking about the ethics of condom use. Cardinal Trujillo, speaking on behalf of the Vatican, said with no scientific evidence of any kind, that condoms don’t have any effect on the AIDS virus, triggering a Vatican opposition to condom distribution in Africa and seriously exacerbating the problem. Is this the teaching of what’s good that you talked about?

And what about the Church’s view that divorce is wrong in any and all circumstances? Even though it was permissible in the time of Moses, and even Jesus said it was accpetable in cases of adultery (Matthew 5:32). Is this teaching “good”, don’t listen to Jesus because we know better?

The listen goes on, if you believe in the church’s teachings then fine, but to blanketly say that all it does is teach good and how to live a self-sacrificing life isn’t true.

• Thought it was 20,000 people . You know…….Loaves and Fishes

Add New Comment