TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Man due in court over Eugene Gillespie death

67-year-old Eugene Gillespie was found in his home in Sligo after what Gardaí believe was an aggravated burglary.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

A MAN IN his 20s is due to appear in court today charged in connection with the death of Eugene Gillespie in Sligo.

The man will appear at a special sitting of Carrick on Shannon District Court at 2pm.

67-year-old Eugene Gillespie died eight days ago from injuries sustained in an assault at his home during what Gardaí believe was an aggravated burglary. It is believed that he may have been left on his own for two days before he was discovered.

Hundreds of people attended his funeral in Sligo yesterday.

Speaking about the death this afternoon, Minister Joan Burton said Eugene Gillespie’s death showed the need for stronger Neighbourhood Watch schemes, particularly in rural areas.

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (19 Comments)

• Filthy lowlife. I hope People turn up outside the court, just to let him know how they feel about such lowlife.

RIP Eugene.

• Is Sligo town now a rural area ? What a clown !!! I hope whoever it is rots !!

• well done to the Gardai.

• I absolutely agree, the caps did great work in getting this monster off the streets. well done lads & lassies

• Oops! sorry that should read “the Cops did great work” .

• They did not do a great job on Thursday 20th September when they received emergency 999 call?
      They said on Wednesday 25th that this call was “quite specific”.
      So sad it took so long to find Eugene Gillespie.
      Could the Gardai have done more?

• It was stated that the guards followed the specific details they were given and did follow up and spoke to people on the houses matching the description they were given. Guess what, the details they were given we’re not correct. Furthermore, the hospital stated that had he been found in time, he would have died from his injuries as they were so severe. His hands were tied so tight his hands would have had to have been amputated. Some media reported he had a Broken jaw also? I don’t think you can blame the guards in this one… Although he probably will

• Ffs Politicians are so unaware of the real lives of people.

• filthy animal should be given 100 lashes

• “Speaking about the death this afternoon, Minister Joan Burton said Eugene Gillespie’s death showed the need for stronger Neighbourhood Watch schemes, particularly in rural areas.”

Mr. Gillespie lived in Sligo town did he not? Not exactly a rural area Minister Burton
    And in the rural areas it is called Community Alert NOT Neighbourhood watch

What is she on about??

• I don’t know what she is on about. And I also cant figure out why anyone would give Joan Burton their vote. People in a position of Public office, such as Minister Burton, should do some research before making statements of importance in relation to community awareness.

• I still feel the Gardai are getting off lightly on this one! If an ambulance driver couldn’t find a patient given the same information leading to loss of life, there’d be uproar. Why didn’t they knock on every door with a brown gate. Especially given this was the third attack in 2 years within 100 yards of his house. Not exactly CSI Sligo, was it?

• 6 thumbs down? I feel I’ve asked a fair question! Couple of rank and file logged on, methinks!

• johnny 30/09/12 #

im not a guard but your question shows how little you know. there are cases where fire and ambulance crews have not found call locations it happens. im not even getting into thd knock on every house with a brown gate statement as it makes no sense

• #falstaff oldcourt
    So you have heard the recording of this 999 call?
    What exactly did the caller say?

Also which hospital spokesperson said had Mr Gillespie been “found in time he would have died from his injuries”? The only person I heard this from was councillor Declan Bree and I would be interested to know what “sources” he got this from?

If the Gardai have made a mistake they should hold their hands up and admit it – move on. They are human. If they have made mistakes, please do not let it hinder their responsibilities.

• johnny 30/09/12 #

you seem to want them to admit a mistake regardless of having made one or not. you no nothing of the facts so maybe wait till you do before commenting

• No I havn’t heard the 999 call and I don’t think anyone ever will. Do the gardai ever release these calls?

Anything I stated above is from getting reports from the printed and broadcasting media. That’s the only way we hear anything anyhow. It just irked me the way we all hear the same news and reports, yet people choose just to hone in on what suits them to believe.
      But I accept your point too.

• @ Ken
      Have you heard the 999 Call recording!?! You seem to be somewhat of an expert on this case, or at least you think you are! When in reality you probably jus have a gripe with the Gardai, probably due to being pulled in while using the phone this morning when you went out for the Sunday papers!!

• @johnny The reference to the brown gate was given by the caller, according to Gardai. They called to the wrong house and went away. meanwhile that poor man was waiting for help. Just seems a tad lax!