TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 8 February, 2016

#Burglary

# burglary - Today’s News

SPONSORED

# burglary - Monday 25 January, 2016

Thieves steal jewellery and games console after ‘seeing family leave in ambulance’

Robbers targeted the Belfast home of a family that had been taken to hospital earlier that day.

# burglary - Saturday 23 January, 2016

Man arrested after woman finds him in her home

He will appear in court today.

# burglary - Thursday 21 January, 2016

Frances Fitzgerald says the battle against burglaries is being won

They won’t be wiped though, she says.

# burglary - Thursday 14 January, 2016

The men behind the biggest burglary in English history

Seven members of the gang who broke into the vault were found guilty today.

# burglary - Wednesday 6 January, 2016

Couple attacked by burglars after returning home with their children

The three burglars, described as eastern European men, took a sum of money and phones.

# burglary - Monday 4 January, 2016

Three strikes and life: This is Renua’s radical policy on crime

Renua’s election manifesto includes a measure that would jail some repeat burglars for life.

# burglary - Wednesday 23 December, 2015

Police slam “despicable and dangerous” burglars who left weapon to be found by children

An air rifle, a gun cabinet and ammunition were discovered.

# burglary - Tuesday 22 December, 2015

Police hunt for burglars who stole presents from under a family’s Christmas tree

The two also destroyed the toys of the victims’ baby.

# burglary - Saturday 19 December, 2015

Woman threatened in her home by men brandishing knives

This happened in Coleraine at around 5.30pm yesterday evening.

# burglary - Friday 18 December, 2015

There were almost 30,000 burglaries in Ireland in the first nine months of 2015

It’s not all bad news however, murder offences have fallen by almost a third.

# burglary - Tuesday 15 December, 2015

Two men detained over brutal assault on elderly woman (90) in home raid

Eva Sutton was beaten by two raiders in an attack that lasted more than an hour.

# burglary - Sunday 13 December, 2015

# burglary - Sunday 29 November, 2015

Burglars trick elderly man by pretending to check drains while cash stolen from home

It’s believed that a second person rifled through the downstairs while the householder was distracted by the first man.

# burglary - Sunday 22 November, 2015

Two men arrested over burglary offences after signal devices found

It’s believed items found in the search may have been used in the course of, or in connection with, theft or burglary.

# burglary - Saturday 21 November, 2015

Man (48) in hospital after being attacked by armed gang in aggravated burglary

The gang of five men ransacked the property before fleeing empty handed.

# burglary - Monday 16 November, 2015

Eight cars broken into outside two GAA clubs within an hour

Gardaí say a number of items were taken.

# burglary - Saturday 14 November, 2015

# burglary - Sunday 8 November, 2015

Is this the worst time of year for burglaries? Here is how your area fares

Crime rates around the country do not fall evenly.

# burglary - Monday 2 November, 2015

Gardaí are cracking down on Ireland’s most prolific burglars

Garda Commissioner Noirin O’Sullivan said gardaí plan to put as many of the crime gangs out of business as they possibly can.

# burglary - Friday 30 October, 2015

Poll: Has your home ever been burgled? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Has your home ever been burgled?

There has been a surge in burglaries since 2007, particularly in Dublin.

The 9 at 9: Friday

Here’s everything you need to know this morning.

# burglary - Thursday 29 October, 2015

Medicine used to euthanise animals stolen from veterinary surgery in Dublin

The medicine is lethal if taken orally or injected by humans.

# burglary - Saturday 24 October, 2015

One Cork TD thinks we should all have tracking devices on our cars Fight Crime This post contains a poll

One Cork TD thinks we should all have tracking devices on our cars

Do you think it’s a good idea?

# burglary - Tuesday 20 October, 2015

The 9 at 9: Tuesday

Here’s everything you need to know this morning.

# burglary - Tuesday 6 October, 2015

Young woman assaulted by ‘thin, pale man with pock-marked skin’

The aggravated burglary happened yesterday morning.

# burglary - Monday 28 September, 2015

Murders are down, but sexual assaults and poisonings are on the rise

The latest crime statistics also show a rise in burglaries and fraud.

# burglary - Friday 4 September, 2015

Alleged burglar got nabbed after ‘butt-dialling’ police

He rang them while talking to an accomplice about breaking into homes.

# burglary - Tuesday 1 September, 2015

Brave 12-year-old girl helps police catch man who broke into her home

After he left she came out of the closet where she had been hiding and took his photo.

# burglary - Saturday 29 August, 2015

“I really am sorry for the death of that man” – Two charged over John O’Donoghue burglary

The 62-year-old collapsed and died after being confronted by burglars at his home.

# burglary - Wednesday 19 August, 2015

Woman brings men home to her flat, they ‘steal her €45,000 stuffed wolf’

Your regular boy meets girl story.

# burglary - Friday 7 August, 2015

F1 driver Jenson Button ‘gassed by burglars’ at holiday home

The thieves made off with his wife’s engagement ring.

# burglary - Tuesday 28 July, 2015

A man cleaning rubbish from his land found three stolen classic paintings

The paintings, which are all by Irish artists, were taken in October last year.

# burglary - Thursday 23 July, 2015

‘I’m sorry, I was drunk’: Two men face charges after breaking into Aqua Dome for late night swim

A solicitor for one of the men said they also went for a sleep in a hotel room afterwards.

# burglary - Wednesday 22 July, 2015

Teenager jailed after gardaí catch him by using the ‘Find my iPhone’ app

Witnesses say he was ‘dancing’ on the victim’s head as another man shouted ‘kill him, kill him’.

# burglary - Tuesday 30 June, 2015

There’s been a rise in burglary, sexual offences and threats of murder this year

The force is piloting a new incident recording process to ensure reported crimes are recorded consistently.

# burglary - Sunday 21 June, 2015

NI burglars with southern Irish accents claim to work for water company

In a second incident, the men said they were from an electricity company and tried to distract an elderly couple while they searched their home.

# burglary - Tuesday 16 June, 2015

Man taken to hospital after attack by burglars in the middle of the night

The thieves made off with a number of small items and a quantity of cash.

# burglary - Tuesday 26 May, 2015

Masked men with shotgun tied up man and threatened couple in Wicklow home

A staff member was tied up by the men.

# burglary - Thursday 23 April, 2015

Masked men burst into house and attack occupant with baseball bats

Another man and woman were also in the house at the time but were not injured.

1 2 3 4 5