TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

FG’s Charlie Flanagan says the Papal Nuncio should be expelled

The Vatican’s response to allegations of clerical sex abuse in Cloyne was described as “unhelpful”.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THE PAPAL NUNCIO should be expelled from Ireland following revelations of the Vatican’s interference in Ireland’s sovereign affairs as outline din the Cloyne Report yesterday, said chairman of the Fine Gael parliamentary party Charlie Flanagan.

Flanagan told RTÉ that if any foreign government “conspired” with Irish citizens to break the law it would have its ambassadors to Ireland expelled.

Similarly, the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has demanded a response from Rome over its interference with investigations into child sexual abuse. He also demanded an explanation as to why the Church’s guidelines were described as a mere a “study document” by the Vatican.

Following a meeting today, the Papal Nuncio, Archbishop Leanza, expressed sorrow and regret over the revelations contained in the Cloyne Report.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny has said the new law making it mandatory for those with information of child sexual abuse to alert the civil authorities will apply to everyone and under all circumstance – including priests who gain information through confession. Kenny described the attitude of the Vatican to child sexual abuse allegations in Cloyne as “absolutely disgraceful”.

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• Toast rack – You are right in that they won’t be thrown out of the country or arrested and tried for covering up crimes to children that they have been proved to be aware of which I believe is what so many people, including many Catholics are upset about. How can you expect people not to bash the Catholic church when we find that the church was implicit in the coverup from the very top down and from the bottom up.

• There is a difference between an appropriate response which must be made against the Church and by the Church for its scandalous action and inaction, and plain hatred. So far, it’s mostly hatred manifesting which suits a wider anti-Church agenda but has nothing substantial to offer in terms of remedial measures required.

Action must be taken, but it must be considered and calculated, and not bigotry masked as pseudo-concern. I know it’s a bit different, but I have yet to hear calls for all abusing swimming coaches, teachers, youth leaders to be banned from their country.

• The difference is that those swimming coaches, teachers, etc. are Irish citizens subject to Irish law. If they commit a crime they can be hauled up before the courts. The Papal Nuncio is not subject to Irish law – he is a diplomat and as such is subject to Diplomatic Immunity. He can not be tried in Ireland for his crimes without the consent and permission of the Vatican, and that is not forthcoming. Even if the Papal Nuncio was an Irish citizen he could not be tried as his crimes would have been committed by him in the capacity of Papal Nuncio. There is a slight bit of ambiguity here as to whether we could expel him in this case (if he was Irish), but we could not try him for the crimes until he left office. And even at that it is still debatable as to whether he could be tried.

• Toast Rack,

Your argument is totally facetious, Why would we expel people who are citizens from our own country, we would instead prosecute them to the full extent of the law. We are talking about a sovereign Country engaging in a practice where they protect child abusers to try and maintain a vestige of responsibility and respectability. Imagine if France/Belgium/Angola,take your pick of any country, were protecting individuals within our borders after they abused children in our country.

They would have diplomats expelled and there would be no question or discussion about it. This isn’t about any ‘Anti-Catholic’ agenda,they do a perfectly good job at discrediting themselves as it is. Nobody needs to help them.

• Actually we did expel an Israeli diplomat for that action as well as a Russian diplomat for the spy ring based in the US. Personally I care very little for organised religion – extremists and right-wing zealots use religion as an excuse to proselytise their own brand of hate and to use it as an excuse to hide away from civil law. As the representative of an organisation and a state which has meddled dangerously in the affairs and well-being of the citizens of this state, the Papal Nuncio should most certainly be expelled. And any Irish citizen involved in cover-ups and withholding evidence of crimes should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law. Holding dialogues and appeasing discussions with such people helps only one section of the community – the guilty. It does not help the victims, it does not protect the vulnerable, and it only serves to illustrate that Ireland, as ever, has one law for certain groups in society, and quite another law for others. We are a Republic. We should therefore strive to act like one. If you commit a crime and you should be tried and, if found guilty, punished.

• Toast rack, do not compare forging passports to buggery of children and do not compare catholic bashing to the extermination of jews….. These bastards right to the top have covered up sexual abuse all over the world, moving priests from diocese to diocese, country to country where they perpetrated there evil acts under the noses of parents and guardians… They crawled and slithered into the lives of devout followers , were trusted with there loved ones.. THEN WERE TORTURED mentally and abused sexually….. Victims will never get over this and need justice…. Time to completely wash our hands of the catholic church , end of story

• Dave, in the context of international relations and bigotry my comments are entirely valid, even if you don’t agree with them. You make good points about the nature of priests’ abhorrent activity, which I fully agree with. My central point however is that yes, this cannot go unpunished; but no, this does not mean that it is right for us to now victimise an entire religion’s clergy. There are many priests out there who are fantastic people, shattered by what has happened, broken that they should have done more to help, but according to you and others, they should be run from the country. We are supposed to be an open, liberal society. Time to show evidence of this now.

Selective liberalism is not liberalism.

• Toast rack, are you David Quinn? You sound like him.

• it’s rare these days to feel any national pride but if we finally stood up and booted these bastards off our isle it would make me so proud to be Irish. Ireland was here long before the church and will be here long after.

• It is somewhat disingenuous of Charlie Flannagan to change his tune on the Church. His comes from a family of right-wing Catholics. His father Oliver J Flannagan stood up in the Dail during WW2 and said the Jews crucified Jesus and “are still crucifying us today”. His father was anti Gay rights and was given a Papal Knighthood for his views (Knight of St Gregory). Flannagan Jnr is now doing the typical Irish political act and would hop on any bandwagon that was passing to further his own career.

• So we are all responsible for the actions/words of our parents and ancestors, Hugh? Nonsense. Criticise the man for his actions, not for those of this relatives.

• Even if the Vatican publicly dismisses the report, what are the odds this guy gets expelled.

We all know the state will forget about it in a few months until the next revelations.

• i am writting this,crying,and believe me i dont often cry,i am thinking of all those children,(i cant see them as adults even if they are now) who went through this hell.i am looking at my own kids and thinking how could those bastards do these things all under the protection of the church.and not forgetting those who never made it.all the lives that where ruined,all the dreams,all the hopes,all the love.gone.all these reports are only the tip of the iceberg.i have a friend who was abused at her grandfathers funeral by a fuckwit when she was 10.she never talks about it and it only happened the once,so what are those that where abused on a regular basis going through? i cant even put it into words.as for my friends case,this so called man of the cloth was jailed this year,(he was part of the ryan report) and still she cant talk about it after 30 years and still i dont think her family know.

• I agree wholeheartedly with all of the above comments but judging by the ratio of thumbs up and down the Catholic Church has little to be afraid of. When will certain people open there eye’s t reality???

• Toast Rack, you’re wrong, as Brian O’Dalaigh has pointed out to you above. Expulsion of a senior diplomat is a perfectly reasonable response in these circumstances. Also, expulsion of a senior diplomat does not equate to persecution of the clergy in its entirety, as you’re trying to make out. What would you have the government do?

• The comparison to Israel does not apply. The Vatican participated in covering up and facilitating pedophiles in continuing their abuses on children in Ireland, our citizens. They also facilitated in obstructing the course of justice by not cooperating with our government or authorities in bringing the perpetrators to justice or in investigations. Irish lives were destroyed by these abuses and the Vatican only sought to protect itself and their image. It did not and still does not, in my view seem to care for the victims. Unlike other silly comparisons to Tianmen square and Israel people seem to overlook that these abused children are Irish citizens, and the abuse was an attack on them facilitated and covered up by another state.

• Pariah State. Terrorists of children. Now looking to the third world for survival – and a new set of victims?

• if having utter contempt for an institution that covers up child rape makes me a bigot then a bigot i am

• Boot the lot of them out of ireland and tell that fuckn Nazi in Rome he s not welcome….

• Thank you to the two Brian’s for answering Toast Rack whilst I was busy working – just got home to see the replies. Do not understand how Toast Rack can defend the Catholic church against these terrible crimes. When I speak of the Catholic Church I am speaking of it as an institution. The fact is if these priests, bishops, etc. were just regular Joe soaps they would probably just be getting out of prison for their crimes and going into nursing homes but they have been and continue to be protected by the church and to some extent by the state who seem to have turned a blind eye to what was going on. Although I’m no longer a practicing Catholic, I can certainly empathise with the abused and can certainly see why people are so disillusioned with the church as the institution moved priests from one diocese to another, called children liars causing them even more hurt and carried on as if nothing was amiss. This all came from the top down and many colluded with these priests. No one is saying it would have been easy for other priests to open up about this but are we wrong to expect at least one or two heroes in the Catholic Church who would have spoken out about this? I don’t think so! All should be equal under the law – even priests, bishops, and may I dare say the pope himself!!!

• “Flanagan told RTÉ that if any foreign government “conspired” with Irish citizens to break the law it would have its ambassadors to Ireland expelled.”

Good man Charlie Flanagan, I couldn’t agree more. The actions of the Catholic church in Ireland are looking more and more like those of a terrorist organisation.

Apart from the expulsion of the Nuncio, there should be a prolonged criminal investigation leaving no stone uncovered.

• i’m pretty sure the jews and muslims of ireland haven’t repeatedly covered up the rape of children

• All dioceses “world wide” need to be investigated for sex crimes and cover ups. The Cloyne diocese is not unique in the way catholic church officials handle the sex abuse of children.

To everyone who cares about children, please read the “Cloyne Report”. It is one more example of how the catholic church hierarchy systematically protect themselves instead of protecting innocent kids.

Crimes have been committed and the only way to get this abuse stopped is for outside law enforcement and government officials to take action against those responsible.

ALL who sexually abuse a child, plus ALL who cover up this abuse, need to be held accountable and charged for these crimes.

For the sake of victims and for the sake of children, it is imperative for everyone (who has knowledge or has been harmed by bishops, priests, nuns, brothers, employees, etc.) to report your abuse to law enforcement and prosecutors. Do not report your abuse to church officials.

It is easier to stay silent and let others carry the burden of exposing the truth, but keep in mind your silence only hurts, and by speaking up there is a chance for healing, exposing the truth, and therefore protecting others.

Judy Jones, SNAP Midwest Associate Director, USA, 636-433-2511
    snapjudy@gmail.com
    “Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests”
    http://www.snapnetwork.org/

• The scum religion should be banned from our country and those pedo monsters
    Should be hung slowly by the neck

• “Compelling priests to reveal secrets confided in confession by abusers or victims would “antagonise” relationships between church and State” This comment from Ian Elliot, CEO of the National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church only shows that they truly have learnt nothing and that they are not going to change their ways. If anyone care to read the rest of what this guy said you’ll find it here. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/church-wont-back-down-on-confessional-secrecy-expert-2822422.html
    The very fact that these people think that confession is above state law is proof that they intend to continue to withhold information about abusers so in other words if a priest admits abuse to another priest they are safe in the knowledge that they won’t face the law for their actions but will more than likely be moved away to commit crimes elsewhere. Elliot is either thick as shit or like his employers he simply does not believe they are doing anything wrong, they can’t seem to comprehend that their way is not normal, acceptable or fair on victims they can’t see that the culture of ‘confession’ and ‘forgiveness’ that they bleat on about has led them to where they are today and they just don’t get it. They need to be told that they are not going to be allowed to get away with this and that they will be treated like any other criminal. The ‘special place’ of the catholic church in Ireland’s constitution put there by De Valera has got to be removed immediately as they have long ago abused that position and the Nuncio removed from the absurd position as ‘Head of our diplomatic corps’ a ridiculous situation even by the standards of Roman serf state like Ireland. Where is our dignity as a nation in allowing an apologist for clerical paedophiles and religious thugs to hold such an esteemed position in our dealings with the world. An absolute disgrace!

• sinead o connor and cox dont seem as mad anymore

• Hi ya

Here a radio show I co produced on “Church and State: How they made society silent
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Soundmigration/the-church-and-state-how-they-made-society-silent/

Radio Solidarity explores the recent rupture between people and the Irish Catholic Church due to the recent turmoil and revelations which have been exposed.

We talk to Diarmuid Ferritter on the very singular role that the Church played in moulding and dealing with Social Policy from the start of the State.

Mary McAuliffe from the organisation Justice For Magdalenes speaks about the extent that the State and the Church were complicit in the brutalisation and enslavement of generations of young women.

Mark heads out onto the streets with a microphone to find out how people feel about the church in the light of recent scandal and cover-ups. The subsidiary role allotted to women in Irish society thanks to the Church is illustrated and spoken about by Dr. Helen Keyes and Mannix Flynn about how he feels we can best move on as a society

As anarchists we encourage the free sharing of info . Additional interviews, materials etc can be found at http://radio-solidarity.wsm.ie

• Fr Toast … your talking utter shite.

• Pat Bowe 16/07/11 #

I grew up in the 50′s and never did I think I would see the day where I thought the agents of the Roman Catholic Church were evil rapists and supporters of rape and rapists. Do not pick on Flanagan because of his father, Charlie is part right, fuck the Papal Nuncio out and the Cardinal and the rest of their stupid Princes of the Church out.
    I remember meeting a Nuncio and he waited till I genuflected to him and kissed his ring (on his hand this was in public).
    A good brush handle up the lot of them. Remember Cloyne was in the past few years. That Clifford fella (do not know his first name) does not get it, he still is hesitatnt about reporting rape to the State authorities first, he still hesitates on this.

• Jimmy D 20/07/11 #

and ‘kissed his ring’ (on his hand and in public)

• Why?

• He should be ass raped with a brush handled ..

• t is somewhat disingenuous of Charlie Flannagan to change his tune on the Church. His comes from a family of right-wing Catholics. His father Oliver J Flannagan stood up in the Dail during WW2 and said the Jews crucified Jesus and “are still crucifying us today”. His father was anti Gay rights and was given a Papal Knighthood for his views (Knight of St Gregory). Flannagan Jnr is now doing the typical Irish political act and would hop on any bandwagon that was passing to further his own career.

• While Flannagan Jnr. may be doing a political act, do you sincerely believe that all of our characteristics and beliefs are predetermined by our bloodline? My grandparents on both sides were staunch Roman Catholics who would not hear a bad word said about any of the clergy, even in the face of damning evidence. Yet I abhor the Catholic Church (the organisation, not the general population or the good, kind, well-intentioned clergy) and their complete lack of regard for human safety and well-being and for their complete and utter disrespect for this country, and many others. What Mr. Flannagan’s parents or grandparents did or did not do is completely irrelevant.

Add New Comment