TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

FF table Dáil motion to call for formal Magdalene apology

TDs will vote next Wednesday on whether to support a State apology, and to set up a unit to consider redress schemes.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL has tabled a Dáil motion seeking a formal State apology to the women committed to Magdalene Laundries.

The motion, which will be debated on Tuesday and Wednesday of next week, calls on the Taoiseach to apologise to the women “on behalf of the Oireachtas and all citizens of the State, for what they had to endure”.

It also calls for a new unit to be set up at the Department of Justice “to co-ordinate the remaining aspects of the State’s response” to the inter-departmental report published this week.

Perhaps crucially, this unit would examine “all forms of redress which should be provided”.

Next week’s debates on Fianna Fáil’s motion come in advance of a full Dáil debate on the contents of the McAleese report, which has been pencilled in for the following week. Most of next week’s Dáil business concerns a motion on the promissory note deal.

“It is important that the issue of an apology for these women is addressed in a timely way in the Oireachtas,” said Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesman Niall Collins, the chief signatory of the motion.

“The McAleese report published last week confirmed State involvement in the Magdalene Laundries.  No attempt to play down the findings of the report can or should distract from that fact.”

Collins said the Government’s immediate response was “deeply disappointing” and the failure to issue a formal apology had left the survivors of Magdalene abuse “angry and let down”.

This week Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, who was a cabinet minister when a redress scheme was set up for abuse victims in residential institutions, apologised for his former government’s stance that the Magdalene institutions were private bodies independent of any State involvement.

Read: Europe’s human rights chief says Magdalenes deserve State apology

More: “An apology needs to be addressed” – Labour puts pressure on Taoiseach

Plus: This is how the world reacted to the Magdalene Laundries report

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• Forgive me saying it but this is one issue that just needs a sincere, heartfelt full apology.

It isn’t about party politics or point scoring but about making some form of reparation to a group of women to confirm they have been believed, understood and that collective shame is felt by a country that allowed their abuse.

The recent report, a whitewash in my view, didn’t begin to do so.

• Couldn’t agree more Nora.
      It’s quite unsettling that people in posts above are trying to turn this serious issue into a point scoring exercise on behalf of their parties.

• Danny, if Miceal Martin had a decent bone in his body, he would resign from the Dail How many of the victims in the last 13 years died, still with the stigma attached to them …. because Miceal Martin FF Minister refused to include the victims on the original redress list. Its a genuine comment.
      The day the report came out this week, he didnt apologize, in fact, he waited until the next day to make a mealy mothed effort at an apology (he waited to see how the public would react, in order to see if his hand was being forced into making an apology)

• Cal,
      If there is an article about SF and posters bring up bombing, shootings, murders, kneecappings and the disappeared, you will be one of the first to reply that this is all in the past and posters should stick to the subject of the article.
      Yet here you are. First post. Deflecting away from whether an apology should be given, so you can score political points for SF.
      Did you even say that you agree with MM?
      Do you agree? Or do you want to continue mudslinging on behalf of SF?

• Danny, you obviously didnt read any of my comments correctly … let me link you to an article, only from today, where i clearly state many many times that Gerry Adams needs to fess up … So, please do not insult my intelligence or my character, in order to detract from the point i am making.

http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/the-troubles-victims-786261-Feb2013/?new_comment=1&jUID=#comments

You are a FF apologist. That is clear. You will defend them to the hilt. That is clear. But do not use lies and innuendo directed at me, in order to drive your cause.
      Try using the truth to defend your party, or leave the bloody party, if you cant defend it.

• Thanks Danny, just think these poor souls need to be the focus and don’t care who it is who makes that happen.

• “Thanks Danny, just think these poor souls need to be the focus and don’t care who it is who makes that happen.”

Do you not think that Miceal Martin should resign, seeing as he personally prolonged their suffering by 12-13 years by refusing to support their redress scheme request at the start of this century?
      Genuinely, i am curious?

• Cal,
      Do you think this motion should pass? do you think SF should vote in favour?
      I can’t see behind all the party bluster if you actually agree with it.
      No, much better for your cause to to score political points rather than actually discuss the motion.
      ‘Apologist’? Emotive language there Cal.

• Danny, i thought Kenny,Gilmore and Miceal Martin should have apologised on the spot for having run slave camps in our country for decades, when the report was released. They didn’t.
      Mary Lou and many of the independents asked for it, but, FF/FFG/Labour thought it was politically inconvenient at that time. Do i think that FF/FFG/Labour should now apologize officially … for their criminal actions? Yes, and all party members of all partys that were Government Ministers any time prior to 1996, should face criminal prosecutions. I hope this clarifies what i think should be done in response to this report. I also think that FF’s Miceal Martin should personally face a perversion of Justice charge for refusing many of the victims to hear any apology, that subsequently died from 2002 onwards, as he was the minister in charge at the time that refused the former slaves access to the redress board.
      I hope this clarifies my exact stance on all this for you Danny.
      Is there absolutely any part of my comment that you don’t agree with? Please share with everyone….

• Thanks Cal,
      The motion should pass then.
      But you still can’t help make a party broadcast.
      Cal, if we started looking for politicians to get arrested, we’d be here all night. I think you really don’t want to start on that as a SF supporter. No matter how you protest.
      I’m not going to continue this thread with you, because you have turned it into, exactly what myself and Nora were discussing.
      You want to publicise your party, that’s fine. but try to stick to the subject of the article and whether you agree with it or not.

• For crying out loud Cal, after all these women have gone through, can you not just give the party-political point scoring a rest?

• Once more, i ask the question and i will give even more links to prove I am not a party supporter ….

Do you guys as FF party members think its acceptable to have Miceal Martin as a party leader, considering that it was he personally refused to treat these former slaves, on equal terms to the other abused groups during the 2002 ‘Redress Review’?
      If you think he was right then, to ignore them and tell them where to get off, then it begs the question, what has changed…..
      If he was wrong then about something so serious….. do you not think he should resign now?

• Sorry, I was under the impression you were either a Sinn Féin member or a strong Sinn Féin supporter – largely based on your support of the party in the comment threads of other articles.

• Danny et all …

You sometimes accuse me of being nothing but negative, or being purely political … here is something i proposed in relation to the Horse meat scandal earlier… that i suggest as an individual citizen, that could put Ireland at the forefront of world food exports as a best In Class Supplier …

I will once more, defend my name, using article like this as proof…. I am not party political.

http://www.thejournal.ie/horse-meat-in-aldi-lasagne-bolognaise-788942-Feb2013/

I know what is good for our country and i know what is bad for our country. FF fall very clearly into the latter.
      You can keep trying to attack me on a personal level for my personal beliefs, that is your right… but people like me are becoming more and more vocal. Learn to live with it. The days of 100% state controlled media, separated out on Part y lines are gone.

• And … BTW, green thumbing your own comments …. its not cool … its like laughing at your own jokes in public.

• Fiachra/Danny or whoever the hell is making these accusations of me being a SF commenter are ….

“Sorry, I was under the impression you were either a Sinn Féin member or a strong Sinn Féin supporter – largely based on your support of the party in the comment threads of other articles.”

I published a link on this same comment showing proof that i am not a blind SF supporter.
      Did you even bother reading the article before making your comment?
      Are you and FFG so closely aligned now, that you both use the same defensive tactic, attack the commenter based on something so off topic…. in the hope it might distract people like me, or readers?
      I had a FF member, only 3 weeks ago make accusations at me on Journal.ie … they also accused me of being a SF member… and they also accused me of making threats against someone they knew…
      It ended up in a total retraction, because i threatened them with legal action, after i totally disproved their comment.
      Here, go read it for yourself … the defamatory comments were removed, but you will see very quicky that they knew they had screwed up badly.
      I will not be labelled … I am not aligned to a party.
      I am anti whoever makes bad decisions…. Why do you find that so hard to understand?
      This is the exact mail i wrote to the Journal at the time, along with the article in question …. all before the report came out this week…..

Hi,

http://www.thejournal.ie/report-on-magdalen-laundries-to-be-published-soon-747269-Jan2013/

I am asking for your support in addressing a clearly libellous and totally unacceptable attempt at defamation of my character by a commentator in relation to the Magdeline story you authored.
      I will ask you to keep the comment on the thread, until I contact the appropriate authority to resolve the matter (either Gardai or a solicitor).
      I have never made any threat against anyone personally on Journal.ie and I have never used an alias account to leave comments.
      I must admit, I was surprised that the comment remained as long as it did, without being withdrawn, but now that its there, I will need that comment as evidence.

Please support me in my endeavor.

Cal”

The person who made the allegation at me, was/is a member of FF. He stated (not suggested) that i use many accounts to log comments on Journal.ie and that i had threatened with physical violence the children of a fellow FF party member.
      Now… read the article, the libellous comments are removed, but the apology to me remains….

Now, once more … do you think that sounds like a mail coming from someone who is Politically aligned…. and by the way ,… read the article, the date, and all the comments….
      It was almost a month ago.
      I am not politically opportunistic. I wrote all the same things a month ago, that i am writing now.
      It is your partys sense of guilt and shame that is leading you and members of your party to make these disgusting attacks as some sort of defense of your actions.

• Niall 09/02/13 #

Cal. You need to get a life mate. Seriously.

• It is irrelevant to me who has proposed the Motion or even why. An apology is overdue. It should be a sincere apology not a ‘fulsome’ apology so beloved of some of our politicians.

It is a pity that the apology could not have been promptly and spontaneously given.

• Hypocritical two faced … any many many expletives come to mind….
    We have not forgotten they were in power, when the first mass graves were formally dug up. No apology … But now, now they want one???
    Football, political, opportunism … how can i put those three words into a sentence that would best describe this effort?

• The party politics of this matter is irrelevant. Put aside party politics and party allegiance.

Although parts of the McAleese Report seem rather benign, for example in relation to the reality of physical abuse and violence, the Report is an indictment of both the Roman Catholic Church and the State.

The Report is easy to navigate and is readable. It is understandable.

It’s obvious that a report is due and there is a lot to be said for a Dail apology.

Compensation will have to follow.

• Good idea. Micheál Martin could actually pen the apology as his party ran this virtual one party state for most of this period.

• Typical Fianna Fail. They should have apologised when they were in power. Disgraceful it is. These women deserve justice.

• Micheal Martin and FF didn’t even give them the time of day when they were in power, it is a bridge too far to expect that they are sorry now. The only thing one can presume is that they are trying to score votes. Same with their response to the death of Guard o’Donohue, their perverse statement complaining about the Irish tax payer having to bail out the people who were bribing and funding their reps wholesale.

Please crawl back under a rock Mr. Martin and FF. You are only using and abusing the suffering of these women for your own needs. When FF were in power, these crimes were covered up and the women involved weren’t even fit to be acknowledged in your eyes.

Not called “Fianna Filth – The Traitors Party” for nothing.

• Somebody tell uncle Bayo why they don’t just apologize? legal reasons? Somebody high up in the government was a nun?

Give it to me straight.
    Adebejayzuz

• It is irrelevant to me who has proposed the Motion or even why. An apology is overdue. It should be a sincere apology not a ‘fulsome’ apology so beloved of some of our politicians.

It is a pity that the apology could not have been promptly and spontaneously given.

• Is it all about just uttering an apology? Seems a very simplistic approach – just say sorry and it’s alright. Unfortunately, this seems to be the populist approach taken by most of the media and opposition politics. If an apology was issued last week this story would be of zero interest to the media and body politic.

While I think that Kenny and Co. could have been more sincere last week – and their long winded statements of nothing didn’t help either -surely the plight and situation of these women needs more than a public apology to keep the public gallery happy.

As for FF, do they care? They had 15 years in recent times to sort this out themselves. Seems they are using these women to score a few cheap political points.

• FF fought the idea of an investigation in to the Laundries tooth and nail . They refused to acknowledge these women or that they were wronged when they were in power. They could not care less what happens to the “Maggies”, it is all about the percentage for them.

• If Enda kenny apologised in the first place as he should have done no party would need to table this motion. The issue here is why the apology was not forthcoming and if it needs a Dail vote to make it happen bring it on.

• Aaaarrhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! I despise this absolute populist crap from Fianna Fail as well as Sinn Fein and even the Labour Parliamentary Party!

The Government have quite clearly stated that two weeks would be allowed for discussion by everyone before any further official comment. If that results in an apology from the Taoiseach, then so be it, I’m certainly not saying that isn’t warranted.

They released the report as soon as it was ready. If they had decided to keep it to themselves for two weeks, the story would be that they were suppressing information and possiblly tweaking it to avoid political damage.

Fianna Fail are calling for this motion to try to force the Labour Party to vote with them and thus against the Government. It’s absolutely the lowest form of politics and I detest it. I just hope people see if for what it really is.

• Simon,
      When Alan Shatter made this statement in the Dail in 2009, i applauded him…
      I did not know he was only using the issue as a Political Football.
      How dare you now come out and defend your partys position, in response to the report issued this week, by attacking every other party in the Dail. Its called decency. Shame on FFG/Labour/FF in realtion to how they have treated the former slaves and their families

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Avj4cJpDY08

• And Simon, before you accuse me of lying, i can post multiple articles in the Journal, where i applauded initiatives by Shatter, so before you even think about it … think about it ;)

• Cal,
      I am not a member of any political party. I just happen to believe this is an utterly cynical move by Fianna Fail which will do nothing but waste time.

• An apology is all very fine, but I remeber being taught that true contrition requires restitution for wrongs done. Any apology will be a hollow thing unless the PRSI that was never paid to them is waived, the money they were owed for the work thry did is paid to them and they are compensated for their suffering. Or am I being naive here?
    We’re able to pay billions to Europe to pay a debt we never incurred. Surely to God we can do the decent thing here?

• Cmon Michael! Wer not falling for that shite!

• Is there no end to the hypocracy and political opportunism of FF! They were in power for 14 years and never even acknowledged the existence of these poor women. Martin is such a follower…not a leader. He sniffs the air to see how the wind is blowing and off he trots! Clearly Kenny made a cockup with a half arsed apology. He must set that right and now Martin wants to take the credit. He hasnt an original thought in his head.

• Sharrow 08/02/13 #

If a State apology is required then let the president do having the survivors to the Aras sends a hell of a message.

• @ Sharrow, what a lovely idea! I think that it would fall within the Presidential prerogative providing approved by the Government. It would be an apology by the Head of State to the victims and a true atonement.

I hope that the President’s advisers bring your humane proposal to his attention.

He would be sincere and his message to the Government was very pointed. The President would tender a real and sincere apology. He possesses a real sense of empathy.

The traditionalist will oppose your beautiful idea but it deserves to be made happen.

• Didn’t Micheal Martin personally remove the Magdalen women from the remit of the Redress Board in 2010 so they could not get a hearing or compensation?

• What a Shower of Hypocrites. Martin your lower than a Snakes Belly.

• 2 faced piece of crap like FG & Lab in the other church scandals of cowering to the Catholic Church desires and the victims in legal and financial limbo.Must remember previous FF leaders allowed the Catholic Church to structure our present Irish constitution and amendments should not be forgotten by the public.

• stephen 09/02/13 #

Instead of Our lady of charity written over those gates.. I should be Arbeit Macht frei

• Justice for the Magdalen women

• S…b.gs What did they do all those years in power.

Add New Comment