TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Magdalene Laundries report finds direct State involvement

Senator McAleese said he hopes his report brings healing and peace of mind to survivors.

Image: Virgin Mary depiction via Shutterstock

A REPORT COMPILED following an 18-month investigation has found the Irish State was directly and fundamentally involved in the Magdalene Laundry system.

Senator Martin McAleese’s report, published this afternoon, reveals that more than 2,500 women who were incarcerated in the Magdalene Laundries were sent in directly by the State. In reality, that number is higher but many records did not survive.

McAleese said he hopes the findings bring “healing and peace of mind to all concerned, most especially the women whose lived experience of the Magdalene Laundries had a profound and enduring negative effect on their lives”.

Advocacy group Justice for Magdalenes welcomed the report, stating it ensures that the State can no longer claim the institutions were private, as has happened in the past, or that the majority of Magdalenes entered voluntarily.

According to the report, the State gave lucrative contracts to the 10 Magdalene Laundries, located across the country. It did so without complying with Fair Wage Clauses and in the absence of any compliance with Social Insurance obligations.

Evidence shown to the Inter-departmental Committee set up in the wake of an United Nations Committee Against Torture recommendation, revealed that the State inspected the Laundries under the Factories Acts and in doing so oversaw and furthered a system of forced and unpaid labour.

Survivors have long claimed that the forces of An Garda Síochána were used to keep women and girls incarcerated and working with no pay or education.

The report investigated these claims. There was a statutory basis for the deployment of the Gardaí in some cases but the Report notes, “The large majority of women who engaged with the Committee spoke of the deep hurt they felt due to their loss of freedom, they were not informed why they were there, they had no information on when they could leave and were denied contact with the outside world, including their family and friends.”  The report also notes that the Gardaí “brought women to the Magdalen Laundries on a more ad hoc or informal basis.”

Justice for Magdalenes noted that the statistics compiled in today’s publication omit the records of the Mercy-run Galway and Dun Laoghaire Magdalene Laundries because of incomplete information from the two institutions. It believes the figure of just over 10,000 girls and women confined in this system is, therefore, in need of significant upward revision.

The report also fails to provide information on how 1,987 of the total number were referred to the institutions. According to the report, half of the girls and women incarcerated were under the age of 23. More than 4,000 of them spent more than a year in the system and 15 per cent spent more than five years.

There are some aspects that require “substantial clarification”, according to JFM. It is currently in dialogue with McAleese and his team.

Read TheJournal.ie‘s recent coverage:

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• After this, respect for the Irish Catholic Church and our previous governments is at an all time low for me

• What a great way to avoid responsibility: lose the records.

• I was actually shocked when I heard neither the state or church had apologised to these women yet. They are quick to have vigils and condemn those of us who don’t share their conservative views, but decades later they still haven’t apologised for the abuse of women in their “care”. David Quinn might compile a “River of Apologies” would he?

• John 05/02/13 #

And this is what we did once we won our independence from the british – locked up our women and subjected them to this exploitation and abuse. As for their illegitimate babies, perfect solution the Christian brothers can raise them and instil a fear of sex in them by their own brand of hellish abuse. And Turkey has been turned down full EU membership due to its human rights record.
    Are these women going to be compensated or will our leaders drag their heals and hope the whole thing blows over?

• Have been saying for a while now that we would have been better off staying under British rule in the long run. Not to blame those that fought for our independence, as they did what they thought was best for the country, but we should be pointing fingers at DeValera and every other government that colluded with the Catholic Church throughout the years.

It’s time we fully re-examined our history. Who were truly heroes and villains, who we might still be able to prosecute, why so many of our citizens stayed silent and it’s about bloody time we told the Catholic Church to leave this island once and for all

• Unfortunately your wrong it was going on for 200 years the report only looked at the start of the state, 1922

• Oh I know the British were no angels, one only needs to look at how their government kidnapped & shipped children to the Catholics in Australia up until the 1980s to understand that.

But us Irish have never fully loosened ourselves of the Catholic Church’s grip, we still pander to this group as they distort facts in the press to suit their agendas, they don’t pay any tax here and they refuse to apologise or compensate their victims. We had a chance at creating a proper republic back in the Twenties but blew it, by the time Dev was genuflecting at Rome’s altar we were lost and would have been better off back under the rule of London.

• Truly despicable. What sort of society have we come from? The pure evilness of these so called religious bodies beggars belief.

• Yet nobody will face prosecution, I’ve never felt less proud to be Irish

• That vile b@astard De Valera did serious damage to this country in collusion with his sick heroes in the church. He really is a stain on this country.

• Horrible injustice both state and religious sanctioned. Who guards the guardians??

• Madeleine Laundries more like concentration camps would be a more apt description.

• What a backward third world country we really are, that Roman Catholic group of evil, sadistic bastards should be declared an illegal organisation once and for all. I have a son that’s due to make his holy communion in a few months. I was seriously thinking what harm can it do, if only to appease my in laws. After hearing about another cover up by this gang, it just isn’t gonna happen.

• I don’t have kids yet Rodrigo, but I would never have them baptised to begin with, I understand your fear of in-laws, a lot of people in the same boat, and the excuse of enrolling them in schools. I say to myself, when my kids grow up and are old enough, and they ask me why I had them baptised, for me to say, because I was afraid of not doing it, would be a shameful answer and would not set a good example for my kids. It’s easier said than done though, the church still casts a long, dark shadow over all of us even in 2013.

• My little boy is in second class and not making his communion there are no provisions for him, he just does extra reading during religion. Most of the kids that are making there communion come from non believing and non practicing catholic families, what kind of example is that to give children? Makes me sick that this is facilitated in state schools. all done in the name of tradition, my little fella feels like the odd one out. how anyone can still support the church after all the scandals and prejudices is beyond me. Rant over.

• @ Caoimhe, The ‘soi-dissant’ Catholic heirarchy have little to do with real Christianity.
      The ways of Christ are all you need to learn in order to be a good person.
      Christ said ;- ” remember me ” ( when breaking bread & drinking wine).
      The ‘communion’ is simply a ceremony to help us remember Christ’s sacrifice on the Cross.

• Still no apology from Church or State.

• Previous governments AND parents have a lot to answer for. They all knew what went on in these hell holes and did nothing about it.

• The country may be broke, but we need to do everything we can to ensure all the victims of this massive crime need to be compensated in some way.

• Now you know why I will never again call myself “catholic” or even “christian”. That any person, or institution, can do so, while at the same time indulging in such horrifically UNCHRISTIAN behaviour, well, for once, words fail me …!!!

• A Agree with you Garth. I;ve turned my back on the Christian religion. It time that the government told the Catholic church where to go and stop interferring with the state. The whole thing about the Magledene sisters
      and the industrial schools is DISPICABLE The Catholic church is rich, they should pay the money in compensation
      to those poor girls and boys in the case of industrial schools. I will shortly put on any snail-mail letter if things don’t move into the 21st century The Catholic Republic of Ireland. That’s what it’s starting to look like, a
      Fundermentist theocractic state

• These poor ladies could have been spared a lot of heartache,if the state and church said sorry and provided,assistance,in whatever form to help them-and most have passed away-saving them a Hugh payout!!..despicable behaviour…

• What was the hold up on releasing this report? Did they have to wait for the last implicated individual to die first?

• is there a case for this to be taken to the European court of human rights?

• Lou Mac 05/02/13 #

The government using the loophole of the Redress Board not covering the Magdalene Laundries is criminal and will not hold up in Court when you consider how many ‘court orders’ were issued regarding many of these unwilling, innocent prisoners. Everyone knows the State, Gardaí and Church all helped each other deal with perceived undesirables of society. This atrocious part of our history equates to torture, slavery and the criminalisation of poverty and single mothers. If the government does the usual ‘ignore and forget’ there’s no way the European courts will be as forgiving. Regardless of the country’s financial affairs these women deserve pensions and compensation AND an apology for being raped, enslaved, tortured, renamed and broken by Ireland. The Church should be forced to hand over assets for yet another stain on its record as “Moral guardians” of the land. Mo náire sibh…

• Where’s Vincent Dolan?

• Also what about the victims of Bethany Hse? No redress there. Oops! they were not Catholic so they don’t matter.

• No apology from Enda. Brings back memories of Noonan and his treatment of Bridget McCole. Shameful.

• Shocking Recent and we gave them more power in childrens referendum a state that did this to their own imagine a state that’s ran by E.U elitists bankers .Why do we fall for the same old lies the country needs a complete overhaul .We need fresh blood who wont turn a blind eye because of secrets and favours . This nation has to start waking up rapid to the establishment mentality that has left things like this happen .Victorian Conservative Ireland as far as i can see and kept that way too.Tiny country with all this going on financially ruined child abuse child labour fat cat bankers shit health service diminished police force selling all our assets nothing for or oil and gas WTF is going on if i see another old man coming on B.S about the country i’ll crack up no wonder the youth are so desperate to get out of here .Hang yere heads in shame ye dirty old bastards.

• What a sad day to be Irish, I heard Liveline today and cried so sad.

• Ray Dow 05/02/13 #

So state sanctioned slavery was alive and well in Ireland up until the mid 90′s? I have often said that I’m ashamed to be Irish but I don’t think I ever meant it 100%, until today.

What the hell is wrong with this country?

• Irish catholic church? SHAME , SHAME ON YOU!

• Mary Coughlan really does capture some of the horror in this marvellous song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHWsLYtxzz0

• Surviving, and living a full, successful life is the best revenge…I see the iron grip of the Church on Ireland since the 1920’s as the equivalent of the Taliban in recent times. Those women, myself included who escaped are proud of our accomplishment to survive and thrive in spite of them. Those of you speaking out today are a credit to a spirit of Ireland that is rooted more deeply than any veneer of religion…thank you all …

• Whats all this about previous Governments, the current one is just as corrupt trying to force people to work for peanuts. Between the Goverment and the Church they have made it embarrassing to tell people you nationality, sheep is what we are, and always have been. I hope the victims get an apology/compensation and can find some peace.

• A bit late for Apologies Enda when the damage is done.

• What apology?

• I hope minister noonan does not get on the news tonight as he did when It came out about goldenbridge and said all the women there were single mothers can someone tell me how can somebody be so cruel as the survivors were looking at it not all were single mothers some were orphans and went into it as children but all came out damaged and I hate that word but it is true

• Enda Kenny stood up in the Dáil today and give a half-hearted and totally unconvincing “apology”. His demeanor, his language, was a that of a man who lacked the humility let alone the leadership to address the hurt of these unfortunate women who were forced into concentration camps. We the people of Ireland are deeply deeply ashamed at what went on in our country. Our leaders are not that bothered.

• State complicity, State collusion, State encouragement, State endorsement, the use of an Garda Siochana to recapture escapers, State denial and State refusal of apology.

Because of the Taoiseach’s failure to endorse the validity of the experiences of the victims by a simple and sincere apology, the only remedy is the highest possible financial compensation.

The Taoiseach just does not get this. He is a poor leader and lacks any inspirational quality.

• Agreed peter. Another shameful day for Ireland. The taoiseach has discredited this country even further by not apologising. More importantly his failure to apologise as the nations political leader is wholly disrespectful to the women who suffered at the hands of church and state. State and church must compensate.

• white wash

• It seems you all are just venting vitriol. Why not have a discussion as to exactly why it all went wrong? This is just trolling without stated reason. Mike Johnston , what has Enda got to do with this ? get a life. Glad yo will all volunteer to pay taxes to pay for this atrocity.

Add New Comment