TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil ‘offers support’ to Gay Byrne

The veteran broadcaster has not yet decided if he will enter the race for the presidency – but says that if he does it will be as an independent.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL HAVE contacted veteran broadcaster Gay Byrne to offer support for his potential presidential bid, according to reports.

The party’s leader Micheál Martin contacted Byrne on Saturday night to extend support, the Irish Independent reports. Byrne, 77, says that has not yet made any decision on whether he will run and he plans to discuss the matter with his family first.

However, while the party are offering their backing to him, Byrne has said he will not run as a Fianna Fáil candidate, the Irish Examiner reports: “I would be an independent candidate, but they are happy to give me their backing,” he said.

Candidates need to secure 20 Oireachtas signatures to enter the race.

RTÉ reports that Fianna Fáil deputy leader Éamon Ó Cuív, who has also been marked as a possible presidential contender, did not know of any approach to Byrne. “Nobody has discussed the issue with me – good, bad of indifferent,” he said.

Despite the apparent support for the former Late Late Show presenter, FF candidate Brian Crowley is also “still very much interested” in throwing his hat in the race, according to the Irish Times.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland programme today, Limerick TD Willie O’Dea said that he would support a bid by Byrne – as he believed the Irish people needed a president who was “not so closely connected with the established political system”.

O’Dea said that “if the party decides to support an internal candidate” he would be fully prepared to do so, but that he would prefer to back a person not already involved in politics. He said that Fianna Fáil needed to focus on fixing problems within the party at this time.

Asked if he thought Byrne’s potential political naivety would pose difficulties, O’Dea said that it “may actually work to his advantage”.

Nominations for the presidential race close at the beginning of October, with the election taking place on the 27th.

Listen: Gaybo for the Áras? Byrne won’t rule out presidential run
Read: Mary Hanafin wants to run for Áras – but Gaybo still out in front >
Column: It’s time to move past David Norris and focus on the real issues >

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• So, if Gaybo is Prez, who’ll patronisingly suggest that I buy my nearest and dearest visi-vests for Christmas?

• yahooo fianna fail offering their support to Gay Byrne means he wont be president and his higher than thou attitude will not be seen to represent Ireland….Now Gay do us all a favour and shut up and realise Ireland doesnt need/want a condescending muppet for a president.

• It’s ironic for Gaybo to be supported by Fianna Fáil “because the Irish people needed a president who was not so closely connected with the established political system”. Last time I checked, Fianna Fáil was still the most corrupt and reviled part of the established political system, with judgement duly delivered on it by the Irish people at the last election.

Saying that Gaybo’s potential political naivety “may actually work to his advantage” is just like saying ‘the Irish people are a shower of ignorant gobshites who’ll swallow any old shite” just goes to show how out of touch with reality O’Dea and his rump party are.

• “Fianna Fáil was still the most corrupt and reviled part of the established political system” ??
      Firstly, the use of the word “still” there is pretty harsh… Are you aware of any corruption that hasn’t already made it into the media spotlight?? If so, may I suggest you contact the Gardaí immediately. If not, you can send your apology for your baseless & unfounded accusation to Fianna Fáil HQ.
      And 400,000 odd (at least) people would disagree with you about it being reviled.

Just sayin’

• You could spot ‘em a mile off!

Is what we have to be going on with in terms of the Failure’s corruption not enough? The biggest problem I have or had with all these revelations of FF grasping gombeenism, stupidity, blind loyalty, and corruption, is that no one has done time, with the exception of Lawlor and Burke, for any of them.

The only thing the bankrupt Failures should be getting to HQ (a place I’m sure you know well!) is an eviction notice from their mortgage lender. Hopefully, they’ll have to run Brian Crowley, a candidate who only raises his head from the trough when he sees a bigger one before him, and it will break their bank (no pun intended).

400,000 odd? More like high 300k, actually. From a background of power for 14 years, coupled with all the potholes and parish pump crap that the Failures employed to keep their constituents happy, from a background of constituency assistants, and the authority to get the lights fixed and the medical cards sorted? 18 elected seats.

Aside from the cabal who did well out of FF domination, and the old fogeys who won’t see another election, how many FF voters will be giving number ones next time?

• Maybe FF could support Ryan Tubridy instead. He has got more time to concentrate on running since he packed up tweeting.

• When I first heard about Gaybo I thought it was a joke on Gift Grub. So far I don’t see anyone that would get my vote running.

• I agree. Only one I can think of is Mary Davis from the lot that is out there. She does good work with Special Olympics and has good international profile. She organised the gig here in 2003 which went down v well. Problem is, no one really knows her in Ireland and she needs to engage more for us to figure out what she stands for.

• Please no!!!

• He’s too old!! He’ll be 84 by the time his term finishes.

• This is better than bread and circuses.

• Barry 10/08/11 #

If Gay Byrne enters into this race it’ll become a bigger joke then it (and he) already is.

Nice to see FF are in touch with the younger generation in Ireland who wouldn’t vote for this muppet in a heartbeat!

• I’m only 27 and I would have voted for him but for the fact if fianna fail are going to be behind him. He is the only one I would have voted for so far.

• I’m with you Diego, Gaybo should go independent and then he would get the votes. FF no way !

• He wouldn’t be a Fianna Fáil candidate. He would receive 20 Oireachtas nominations which happen to be from Fianna Fáil members. He’d still be an independent.

• Gay Byrne is FF, whether he is independent or not, he was a good friend of Haughey and other crims in FF. If people vote for the likes of him, then we might as well write this country off.

• if Gaybo gets in ill start the rioting and looting this side of the pond

• Have to laugh at Tony Stamper’s comment that Gaybo was a good friend of Haughey. Obviously he’s too young to remember Haughey being being a guest at the end of the LLS Dubliners tribute (1987) when Haughey said it to Gaybo’s face “You did your best to keep me off the show”. And young Mr Stamper gets 10 thumbs up from other kids!

• Gay Byrne said himself that he voted for FF when Haughey was in Power. So whatever throw away comments that he made on the Late Late Show were just fluff. Gaybo knows which side his bread is buttered on, and it certainly is the FF side. Gaybo is pure FF in that he’ll hop on any bandwagon that will carry him along, and that bandwagon has been FF. This is just more gom politics.

• Jedward have now backed Gay Byrne, which I think only underlines the credibility of his running. This race has turned in to a farce. Maybe FG should drop Mitchell and run Bryan Dobson instead and Oprah should replace Obama.

• Fianna Fail support, the kiss of death.

• This joke of a country goes from bad to worse , it just goes to show that the entire elite establishment that runs this country think of the citizens as the greatest grouping of muppets that ever lived on planet earth! A has been broadcaster that lost his fortune twice, now fancies a handy well paid job in the aras and a secure pension and what happens…. his buddies in rte and the irish independent plaster him all over the media, the corrupt cronies in FF see a handy way out of their presidential problems and hey presto we get gaybo as president! So the desirable job attributes needed to be president are , host a tv programme!, be a dragon in a den!, lose your money twice in property deals!, sing in a eurovision song contest!, get backing from corrupt cronies !, and finally give a free load of crap to all the muppets in the audience !

• So instead of a gay President we get President Gay. I guess when his term is up it’ll be President Pat followed by President Ryan. The Late Late Show v0.2!

• Of course they do. Well suited together. Match made in hell. Boils my piss !!!

• Meath 10/08/11 #

Marty Whelan for president!!

• Extract from gay michell election camp
    I am the only gay in the election

• The first decision Mehole (a hundred reports and one HSE) Martin makes since he got the job of Failure In Chief, and it is to try and hitch the other Failures to what they see as Gaybo’s populist wagon. In one fell swoop, they reckon they can avoid the expense of putting Brian (Expenses and Holy Mary) Crowley in the firing line, and win some glory by “supporting” an Independent candidate.

They’ve already dipped a toe in the water in cautious fashion, with the entry of Sean (Independent) Gallagher into the melee.

Typical grasping, cute hoor Fianna Fail behaviour. They haven’t changed one iota, as if people thought they would.

On Gay, he is on record as saying he felt closest to FF, and of course Honest Bert awarded him with a cushy role in the RSA. Nay sayers point to the Pee Flynn interview as some sort of hatchet job, forgetting that Pee managed to stick the axe in his back all on his own. The “hilarious” story of Lenihan Sr. asking a guard after hours if he wanted a pint or a transfer got plenty of guffaws from Gay too (that whole show was an ill disguised attempt at FF promotion for the Presidency in the first instance, where Pee Flynn accused Robinson of neglecting her children for the sake of her career-and Beverly turned out so well!)

So, is Gay the nation’s grandad? Could be, if said grandad regularly blows his pension money on the horses and pools, has the charisma of Alf Garnett, and reckons things were better when DeValera was in charge.

• keyese 11/08/11 #

i didnt want a gay president from the start , ah sure looks like were going to have one now.

• Not to be contrary to all the moaners above; but who else is there??
    The race for the Áras currently stands as Leprechaun vs Right Wing Zealot vs Opportunist vs Vanilla…
    It’s Gay Byrne FFS!! I mean , can get why someone wouldn’t vote for him or whatever, but how can you hate Gay Byrne??!
    He’s like the nation’s Grandad…!

• maybe something to do with his “I am better than everyone attitude and the fact that he practically said if the people of Ireland ask him nicely enough hel stand for election…like he was doing us a favour.Remember this is the guy who said going to a christian brother school never did anyone any harm”…ok Gaybo good man on that one.
      He is only running or concidering running because his property investments went bust,not the right reason to be going for it.Not to mention him being a sanctimonious attitude.

• A campaign should be organised to protest against this aras election and how the politicians are using it to bluff the people.We dont need a mini foreign affairs dept.So on polling day Spoil your vote,they have to count them.

• Now that I think of it with Gay Mitchell running it could end up being a battle of the gays!

Add New Comment