TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil senator says signs saying he is still TD “not misleading”

Thomas Byrne lost his Meath East Dáil seat in February but told constituent that “there’s plenty of people around who wish I was still a TD”.

The former office of Thomas Byrne in Duleek today.

A FIANNA FÁIL senator has insisted that no one is confused about him no longer being a TD. His comment is a response to a constituent’s complaint that his former office in Duleek, Co Meath still bears signs which read: “Thomas Byrne TD Representing Meath East”.

Thomas Byrne lost his Meath East seat in the February general election and has since entered the Seanad.

Despite this his old office on Main Street in Duleek, which lies on the border with Louth, still carries signs saying he is a TD. Byrne says he does not know the auctioneer or owner of the property, does not have access to it and insists there is nothing misleading about them.

In correspondence seen by TheJournal.ie and published in full below, Byrne tells constituent Alan O’Brien:

I can absolutely assure you that there is nothing misleading about those signs.  Absolutely everyone knows I am no longer a TD.  Nobody is confused.

I don’t own the premises and have no access to them, I was out on the Monday following the election.

He goes on to write:

In fact, judging by the votes I received in the Duleek area in February and the reception I received today, there’s plenty of people around who wish I was still a TD and the office was still open.

The Department of Environment has confirmed that Byrne is not in breach of any laws or regulations in relation to election or party political material being on display as it is a private property.

When contacted by TheJournal.ie yesterday, Byrne insisted there was “absolutely no confusion about my role” and maintained that every single constituent in Duleek knew he was no longer a TD.

He said there were “far more important issues to deal with” and maintained that he was in no way misrepresenting his role.

Byrne, a former solicitor, was elected to the Meath East constituency in 2007 but lost his seat at the last election. He was elected to the Seanad on the Cultural and Educational Panel  in April of this year.

He says he still holds regular monthly clinics throughout Meath-East.

The correspondence begins with an email from O’Brien to Byrne’s Oireachtas email on 24 August:

Mr Byrne, I am a resident in Duleek and I would be grateful if you could have the sign writing on your former office in Duleek removed. It is misleading and very unprofessional on your behalf. It has been 6 months since the general election there could not possibly be any excuse for not removing it.

Yours Faithfully,
Alan O’Brien

Responding just under two hours later, Byrne tells the constituent he no longer uses the office – and corrects O’Brien’s grammar:

Dear Mr O’Brien

I do not have an office in Duleek, following the general election in February.  If you have any issue with the premises, perhaps you might take it up with the auctioneer/owner.

You might also note that as you seem to be concerned with professionalism, the “f” in “Yours faithfully” should be in lower case.

Later that same night, the constituent responds:

Mr Byrne

Firstly, Thank you for your swift response and your lesson in grammar. I did not suggest you have an office in Duleek I stated my concern was with your former office in Duleek. I would be obliged if you could clarify something for me though… I believe you to be an honest and reasonable man and both you and I know that your former office in Duleek is still displaying sign writing with “Thomas Byrne T.D. Meath East” or something close to that.
Now if I could put it like this I believe that lets say if I owned a van that had sign writing on it saying “Alan O’Brien Plumbing Services” and decided to sell on that van it would be my responsibility to remove the signs once the van is no longer mine. So I would like know if you believe that it is not your responsibility to have the signs removed.

I also wish to express that I do not want an argument with you. But I do feel it is my right to communicate my feelings with my public representatives whether that is criticism or support.

Yours faithfully,

Alan O’Brien

Responding later that night, Byrne writes:

Dear Mr O’Brien,

Thanks again for your interesting correspondence.

Yes, you are correct.  I am honest and reasonable.  I am also a pretty nice person; otherwise, I would be very tempted to say: Get a Life!
Are you also complaining to the Auctioneer who previously occupied my old office some of whose signs are actually still on the premises?  I bet not.  What about the Greyhound Bar that closed down?  I bet not.

I gave up my legal career in 2007 to be of service to my community and to serve my country.   For a number of years I specialized in consumer law and advertising law.  I can absolutely assure you that there is nothing misleading about those signs.  Absolutely everyone knows I am no longer a TD.  Nobody is confused.  I don’t own the premises and have no access to them, I was out on the Monday following the election.

In fact, judging by the votes I received in the Duleek area in February and the reception I received today, there’s plenty of people around who wish I was still a TD and the office was still open.

That office was about serving the people which I love to do despite attacks from the likes of you who aim, but fail, to discourage.  I am privileged to have been elected to Seanad Eireann where I can continue to serve the community, including you, and do my best and not just sit on the sidelines like many do.

Kind regards,

Senator Thomas Byrne

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• Arrogance and ignorance beyond belief. It is hard to credit that a twit like this could have established a successful legal career, manage to get himself elected as TD and then manage to secure appointment as senator.

Perhaps someone should pass this article on to Micheal Martin by way of explanation why FF crashed and burned in the last election.

• What arrogance!

Would it really have been too hard to say something along the lines of:

“Thank you for your email. I’m afraid I no longer have access to the building but I will contact the auctioneer who does and try arrange for the signs to be removed and recycled.

If I can be of any assistance to you in my capacity of a Senator, please don’t hesistate to contact me at any time.

Regards,
    Joe Bloggs.”

• What an absolute and arrogant idiot. The tone of those replies just epitomise all that is wrong with the body politic. A polite response could have closed this off whether or not both parties were in agreement.

• For me it’s all summed up in the last paragraph of his last response:

"…I am privileged…"

Yes you are, above and beyond entitlement and reward.

• What an obnoxious man…I fear he may have tiny penis syndrome

• …’judging by the votes I received in the Duleek area in February and the reception I received today, there’s plenty of people around who wish I was still a TD’…

That would be a grand total of 13.4% of the first preference votes that he is bumming about there…lol

• ‘I can speak for EVERYBODY in my constituency and say no one is confused!!’ Is he for real? ‘i know what everyone thinks.’ what a cnut.

• Alan O Brien’s second letter in particular was very reasonable and made a valid point re the van. For SENATOR Byrne to suggest he should get a life was very unfair. I live in that constituency and will remember this exchange should SENATOR Byrne stand for election again.

• Exactly Mick…. not forgetting this stuff is vital, we can not be lulled into a false sense of security by them again….Already you can hear them at it…. hints that the people are wanting them back, amnesia about times before FG / Lab….Shows just how in tune these guys are?….and what their agenda really is….themselves!!!

• That senator could do with a few lessons in manners – typical arrogant response though from a Fianna Failer!

• Must get to my PC and put a link on his Facebook page back to here. See what this Former Mr. Big shot solicitor / Former TD but full time egotist has to say for himself.. And we pay for this Ass!

• A Fianna Fáil member that’s both arrogant and ignorant? I just can’t believe it. What’s the world coming to?

• What a complet fuc–n pri-k…should be taken out by the people and made to remove them ,pity the people livn near the signs lookn at his smug face ,( just reminding you folks me and my party fucked up the rest of your lives )

• Wow, this guy has a serious chip! What an arrogant pr..k!

• Fianna Fail are continuing to show that they haven’t changed course on the road to self destruction – with arrogant pups like him in The Senate !
    Another "shoot oneself in the foot" exercise by them !

• He’s some langer.

• Deluded……..each & every one of them………..

• If anyone was warming up to FF again, then the unprofessional manner in which Byrne handled this should be enough to remind us why FF have been relegated to the other side of the House and why they should stay there for a very long time. Pretentious, cocky, elitist, arrogance has dominated Irish political culture for too long but he proves that it still exists. Was Byrne one of the Taoiseach’s chosen ones? Because I cannot understand how he has managed to retain a role in national politics.

• There is nothing unprofessional about using a "F" instead of a lower case "f" I do iT alL the tiMe . As for the seNator your in the seanad for Christ sake a big waste of moNey, get Up out of your own arsE, and get them blOOdy signs DOWN!

• The use of a capital ‘F’ instead of ‘f’ reminds me of an exchange I had on this site earlier this week. I was criticised for using ‘ur’ instead of ‘your’. Like the individual who took me to task, Mr Byrne is an idiotic, immature and petty person.

• Arrogant little sod.

Why not do something to remove the signs? He could – if he is as popular as he claims – easily get someone to help make this happen.

Or is he deluded enough to think he’s going to get re-elected as a TD any time soon…?

• That prick has a cushy seanad job bow,at our expense.

• People, never forget for a second what kind of arrogance and delusion in FF, hopefully people won’t start warming to them again. I’d love to see them disappear of the face of the earth…

• He should have also been politically correct and pointed that both f’s in fianna fail are most definitely ‘small case’ to reflect his very obvious ‘small mind’ as well as the piteous state of his party that will remain so for as long as people like him represent it.

• SMcB 27/08/11 #

As a ex Solicitor surely Mr. Byrne knows that a search could be done on the Land Registry to find out who the owner is. I find it very strange that he doesn’t know was responsible for his old office. In fact I can safely say he’s being economical with the truth as same could be easily found out with a few phone calls. Furthermore…. He’s from Duleek!!! What a gimp… With an attitude like that it’s no wonder he got kicked out.

• Barry 27/08/11 #

Thomas Byrne comes across like he’s acting a complete dick on those e-mails, the signs should have been taken down. Yes he states he has no access to the INSIDE of the premises however he could remove the outside signage without any access to the INSIDE.

• I live in his constituency and had a run in with him a few years back. He was an arrogant tosser back then. Nothing has changed. He hadn’t the balls to call during the election campaign, opting instead for his minions to drop leaflets through the letter box. I amongst many others, were denied a chance to tell him what we thought of him and FF.

• Sorry to be a grump but I hear this one so often and I am seldom convinced by it. The election was three weeks long – there are probably over 50,000 houses in the constituency – most politicians, of any party, would far prefer a face to face than a leaflet drop – but there just isn’t always time to get to them all! It takes the same amount of energy to walk up to a door and knock than it does to put a leaflet it – might as well have the engagement even if the result is not the desired outcome. At least that’s always been my policy. But I think the logistics have to be considered too every time people say “X or Y TD didn’t bother to call here”..

• I wonder if the auctioneer in question is the one next door to our hero’s campaign headquarters that he doesnt seem to know anything about.

• Marcais 27/08/11 #

The notion that Fianna Failers* feel any shame or humility for the destruction of our country is truly blown out of the water by despicably arrogant tosspots like Byrne.

Also shown here is the amount of time useless senators such as Byrne have on their hands. The idle fool could just have replied to the taxpayer saying that he will have the sign removed but instead takes the time to correct the taxpayer’s grammar! Another clear example of why we really need to re-examine how we end up paying such wasters out of the public coffers.

*Fada not required for failers but Thomas Tosser Byrne may want to correct this as “failures”

• Was he one of the senators that Michael Martin backed?

No change in FF arrogance I see

• Deputy Byrne, Thomas
    Total Paid in 2010.. €44,838.40.
    This is what Tommo Byrne claimed in expenses in 2010..This did not include his e93,000. Salary..When i posted his expenses on his fb page. He deleted my post and blocked me from his page.
    Senator Byrne, Thomas
    24/06/2011…This is the amount he is now claiming in expenses each and every month as a Senator..e3,175.50

• only person wishing he was still a TD is his bank manager

• “I am also a pretty nice person; otherwise, I would be very tempted to say: Get a Life!”
    No you’re not; you’re an arrogant arsehole.

• Here’s hoping Eddie.

At least Mr Byrne is willing to stand up and say there are FF people. There are others in that village of Duleek that are also FF fans but are now trying to pass themselves off as Independents – including one elected pub owning councilor!

• And do we need to ask the question why have FF deteriorated so quickly ?

Answer :- with "talent" like him on board they won’t be around for much longer !

• What an asshole.Heres hopeing ff will never ever get into power again.ff TDs like him fu#ked the country up.

• “…there’s plenty of people around who wish I was still a TD and the office was still open.” There’s plenty who now wish he and his like had never been TD’s, but it doesn’t make it so.

• There’s no ‘z’ in specialised – is there?

• Brilliant! What a dickhead thomas byrne is!
    I’ve seen this goon on Vincent Brownes show many times, he’s so entertaining.
    Typical fianna fail gobshite

• Surely that is false and misleading advertising. I can’t believe that it is not illegal to claim to be a TD even it it is on private property.

Joe Webb TD (Assuming the Journal is private property!!!)

• I know Fianna Failure are desperate, but pretending to be a TD? That really does smack of desperation, having said that maybe Michael Martin should take a leaf out of his book and pretend to be a ‘leader’. Reading the reply from the arrogant cretin I couldn’t help but laugh my head off at the following: “I gave up my legal career in 2007 to be of service to my community and to serve my country” oh how I laughed! At least the clown has a sense of humour! He’s now sitting pretty in the sty with his nose deep in the trough along with all the other losers who the electorate rejected. The sooner the better the useless and pointless seanad is abolished the sooner the likes of Byrne and his ilk can go back to earning their living for themselves instead of sponging it off the tax payer.

• We all know what TB stands for!!!!!!
    Bad news – yet he and the Healy Rays of this country get elected even when everybody knows they CHEAT the people out of their money. The even cheat at TV shows for kids for Gods sake. Pretty plain to see when a legal eagle goes for politics instead of his profession which is more lucrative.
    TB me old friend — on the brass plate outside your old office, does it say where you came in the class or how many times you repeated the exams?
    Why don’t the people up there protest outside his house and annoy him and his family until the items are removed?
    I bet they would be down in 24 hours.

• Fianna fail = take in 30 and spend 50 . Bertie , cowen , mcgreevy , lawlor , Burke , Healy Rae , Flynn , haughey . Holy jaysus such a shower

• The sooner we get politicians who don’t have the elitist gene the better…I Remember doing security at croker a few years back and Brennan(dead) was there as a guest, to see the entourage of fluffers around him was only short of comedic… It was extremely embarrasing also to see grown men in their sixties flapping around him as tho he was a demi god …. Until that generation of cap tippers are dead, the FF poison will still be around

• I agree with you on that one Dave. A level of healthy engagement with our politicans is essential too. And not in a “cap tipping” way as you describe. In fairness to Seamus Brennan he was one of the better ones – remember his speech warning against “auction politics” just before Bertie popped up on the podium and undid all (Brennan’s) good work.

• I completely agree with you regarding Seamus Brennan.He was a gifted politician and a sincere person.Its just a shame there aren’t many like him within FF.

• Day made.

Citizen Alan O’Brien for the Aras!

• lol. I don’t know if I would go that far but he should be commended for his action. If ordinary decent people do not stand up to the likes of Thomas Byrne and his gang then this country is finished.

• mike 27/08/11 #

Well if its not true….i.e. that he a TD. If it not true i thnk it could be a Lie. Or deception.

• Should the word traitor be spelt with a Capitol T ?

• Should the word Traitor be always spelt with a capital?

• @Alan O’Brien – Yes I accept that – that was my initial reaction on seeing the headline – then I read the post and conceded the exchange was poorly handled. That’s what I said above in the initial comment too.

• what a bell end.

• How the he’ll does this make news and gets the ‘investigative reporting’ treatment from The Journal?

The chap should have taken down his signage before departing but as he said he no longer is a tenant.

What should be investigated is why FF are allowed to state that Byrne is "working hard for the people of north east Meath" when he is a Senator and therefore working for the people of Ireland. Same applies to FG Catherine Noone, who despite being a Senator, still has her web site proclaiming that she is working solely for the people of South East Dublin.

• I know this is the silly season but this is stupid . It would be a better idea looking at the present cabinet who are portraying themselves as government ministers now ther’s false advertising .

• SMcB 28/08/11 #

I’m surprised no one has posted this before… http://www.daft.ie/578585 (aka the famous property in question). Mr Byrne might want to note the contact details of the auctioneer. Im sure if he picked up the phone he could organise to remove HIS belongings from the premises.

I see it’s still for rent… A snip at 7k a year….

• it looks like he’s out again in the upcoming by-election

• 2 seconds on google………

http://www.daft.ie/searchcommercial.daft?id=78585

2 Duleek Court, Duleek, Co. Meath

Mr Byrnes auctioneer is: T & J Gavigan Real Estate Alliance
    Railway Street, Navan, Co. Meath.

……..

• @Sham McSham (Scooby Doo voice) “If that is your real name!” how is he a “freeloading crony”?! He was elected to every position he has held, firstly to the Dáil and secondly to the Seanad. Granted there is a public debate about the political future role of the latter but as things stand it is a constitutionally protected democratic instituion. Of course Thomas would also be familiar with this as a Trinity Law graduate and also a graduate of the New York Bar. Many of our former (and probably current) Deputies have stroked their way into various roles into which they may have been underqualified but I do not believe that Thomas Byrne was or is one of them.

On a separate note, my first thought on seeing the headline was, a bit of a crank (there’s lots of them), however I will concded, on reading the correspondence, the Senator’s responses could have been a little more measured indeed.

• Haha, all squirming out of the woodwork now… That mere fact that both of you are actually trying to defend this ignorant, arrogant Pig (that’s Pig with an uppercase P by the way!) says it all about your washed up pitiful party…

• @James Lawless “A bit of a crank” I don’t think is too fair.I politely asked Mr.Byrne a valid question.Its been 6 months since the election and in my view there isn’t any conceivable excuse for the signs to be there on the Main st of our village.

• Fascinating the amount of attention a non story like this gets, when many real stories get ignored by the media!

Seems fairly clear this is his former office and he can’t do anything about the signs that said the tone in his correspondence leaves a little to be desired, if anything he’s being too honest in his response, hard to believe a politician especially an FF one is getting this much criticism for being too honest!

It is very annoying correcting someone else’s grammar, as a regular observer of Irish politics many of our politicians regularly make significant grammatical errors (as do most of us) that’s the only part of what the former deputy did that I’d disprove of.

(for clarity I’m a member of FF, but would have made same comment whoever the politician was)

• 100% agree. He was right also about people on the sidelines. Conviction and ideology are luxuries reserved for those on the sideline.

• SMcB 27/08/11 #

He could get a step ladder, a screw driver and take down the signs instead of being an asshole about it. Don’t you agree Ken?
      From his performances on Vincent Browne, it’s no surprise the way reacted.

• not sure that step ladder/screwdriver idea is an option, did he not say he had no access, as a former tenant not sure if he legally could do that to a property he no longer has any association with

• SMcB 27/08/11 #

Ken, stop making excuses for this gnome. The signs are on the outside of the premises. I’d be very certain that the signs are his property and therefore he can do what he likes with them.

• Its funny how people attack Senator Byrne for his response being arrogant and rude and anytime yet anyone who says anything remotely at odds to the consensus of the mob is subjected to a myriad of insults and personal attacks. Do as I say not as I do seems to be the order of the day.

• I don’t agree with some of the less tasteful comments here.But Mr.Byrne only has himself to blame.Had he dealt with my question professionally there would be no story.

• “Conviction and ideology”

Christ on a bike, who ever would think that someone would use the above words about FF. A party of fools, led by traitors and serving thieves.

• I spoke of conviction and ideology in reference to Senator Byrne take on those who snipe from the sidelines. And I would disagree with your take on Fianna Fail. They clearly have made mistakes but they have also made great contributions to Ireland which is evidenced by the fact the population have consistently voted for them. They made mistakes and paid for it but they have the ability to come back to be a positive force in Ireland again.

• For clarity I’m a member of fianna fail…

Why? Why be a member of the organisation that destroyed this country? Bizarre!

• @Ken -as a ‘media monitor’ for the failed fianna fail you are clearly not objective here and you comment can have no wait.

I think it’s interesting that Thomas Byrnes Facebook pace also describes him as a "TD". I suppose Mark Zuckerburg is preventing him from changing this???

Byrne is clearly in denial (like many of his FF loser friends)

• Sorry, meant ‘weight’

• Was it Seamis Brennen or another FFail TD who tried to pick up a young boy in Phoenix Park ? Or was it driving down the Nass road drunk.
    I guess pretending to be a TD in that party reflects the Intelligence TB.

• Lets be fair here it certainly was not Seamus Brennen.I think you may be thinking of Emmet Stagg who is T.D. for North Kildare and currently Labour party whip.
      As for the drunk driver driving up the naas road the wrong way that was Jim McDaid who has since resigned from the party.

• Thomas Byrne should have place some sticky patch for repairing silage bales over it, and take it off after the next General Election ;-)) Problem solved.

• If I was Thomas Byrne I wouldnt even bother replying to such a stupid petty complaint. Typical "I hate Fianna Fail" nonsense.

• SENATER SPENDS 1000 ON GETTING OLD SINAGE REMOVED FROM OFFICE HE DOESNT OWN, if that was the headline I can imagine the comments ?

• probably the most uninteresting summer spell of news ever – it’s just silly season at this stage – how is this news or even remotely interesting? what about the fact the church breaches the peace a few times a day with loud noises with religious overtones, and no one seems to write them a letter and tell them to silence their call to pay for reparations to victims of abuses?!

• Ignore an idiot, entertain an idiot and you become painted with the same brush..Mr Byrnes mistake was to entertain an idle fool.

• You’re joking right? The man Byrne in that correspondence is a smug, entitled, surprisingly aggressive little toad of a man. He is exactly what fianna fail became – and we just killed fianna fail. Martin can keep him in the Seanad until doomsday because that smug pr*ck is never getting his arse onto the benches of dáil éireann again. Public service my arse.

God but reading that correspondence and you feel the rage against FF rising again. That party is staying dead.

• FF lickspittle alert ^ ^ ^

Add New Comment