TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Hundreds of young Fianna Fáil members converge on Sligo

In the region of 500 young Fianna Fáil members are expected to attend the event, which takes place in Sligo this weekend.

Party leader Micheál Martin pictured at the Ógra Fianna Fáil National Youth Conference today.
Image: Picture Conor McCabe Photography.

SLIGO WILL SEE hundreds of young members of Fianna Fáil converge on the town this weekend for its national conference.

More than 500 young Fianna Fáil members from across the country will attend what the party says is the largest youth political event in the country over the next two days.

This year, Fianna Fáil’s National Youth Conference focuses on youth mental health, jobs and the challenges facing graduates. The delegates will also vote for a new President of Ógra Fianna Fáil and a new Central Officer Board that will be represented on the Fianna Fáil Ard Comhairle.

Renewal

Fianna Fáil Leader Micheál Martin described the conference as a key event in the renewal of the party, which has seen new opinion polls placing it as the most popular political party in Ireland.

Fianna Fáil has spent the last two years empowering its younger members and giving them a stronger voice within the party. Ógra Fianna Fáil is now the largest youth political organisation in country, doubling its enrolment at third level institutions across the country at the start of this academic year.

He added that the focus this year is on what he believes to be the most critical issue facing young people today – mental health. “We have had very honest discussions about the pressures facing young people today and the feeling of desperation when they or a loved one gets into difficulty and they don’t know where to turn,” said Martin.

The conference also focuses on youth unemployment, said Sligo Senator Marc Mac Sharry, who opened the conference this weekend. “The discussions this weekend have centred on the need for targeted measures to support graduates in starting their careers here in Ireland and provide real opportunities for young people seeking work,” he said.

The guest speakers at the event include CEO of Inspire Ireland Elaine Geraghty, Chief Operating Officer at Headstrong Joseph Duffy, former president of the Medical Council Dr John Hillery, funding and advocacy director at Pieta House Tom McEvoy, head of innovation at Sligo IT Niall McEvoy, former USI president Gary Redmond and INMO student representative Aishling Maher.

Read: Micheál Martin: ‘I do feel a certain degree of guilt over Magdalene Laundries’>

Read next:

Comments (133 Comments)

• “Put an Irishman on the spit and you can always get another Irishman to turn him” G.B Shaw.

As a young person it boggles the mind that people of my generation would have anything to do with Fianna Fáil. We grew up with the fall of Haughey. With the Tribunals. With the corruption, the brown envelopes. We saw the mask slip. We had a great future to look forward to, constantly told by our parents how lucky we were, we would easily get a job and would not have to emigrate like so many of their generation did.

Through the greed and outright criminality of FF and their buddies in the banks, the developers, the Galway Tent, that promise is gone forever, trampled in the dirt. Skype is a poor substitute for the elderly who were promised a retirement surrounded by their children and grandchildren. The safety valve of emigration has been turned on again, emigration is the highest it has been since the famine. Suicide is through the roof.

As for the middle aged who have lost their jobs? What future have they? What future have any of us? Bleak. Unless of course you are part of the golden elite that FF have served so well to the detriment of us all.

As for these young people having a shindig with the pond life, the parasites, who did such harm, they are no better themselves. Some are deluded and brainwashed, the majority are self centered careerists, intent on getting the gravy train back on track and hopping aboard, making connections – they saw the corruption, the backhanders, the golden circles and they want to be in that tent – rather than outside, burning it down like they should be.

• What did Sligo do to deserve this?
    Stay strong Sligo.

• good god what drugs are they on to associate themselves with economic terrorists

• It beggars belief why anyone would want to be associated with Fianna Fáil. Loyalty inherited from mammy and daddy?

• Political Stockholm Syndrome is alive and well!

• Elrat 23/02/13 #

Evacuate the locals and then nuke the place !

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Please forgive people my age they no not what they do. Majority of people my age have NO clue what went on in politics for the last 5 years even now. Easy votes for FFail. I have very intelligent friends with all kinds of degrees and 99 % don’t have a clue what’s going on in politics. Easy to recruit people who have no clue how corrupt you are. I’m appealing to people my age RUN RUN RUN away as fast as you can if you see these guys coming into your college. Like the banks coming on to 1st weeks first year students, here is a credit card here is an overdraft, just sign up ! Easy targets

• Yeah do ya not think the youth of Ireland should look a bit further back than 5 years and see what the history of Sinn Fein is steeped in! Fianna Fáil are the new bogey men of Irish politics which has worked out well for the Sinn Fein propaganda machine. Say what ya like about FF they’re on a different morale planet than SF!!!!

• Julie 23/02/13 #

You defend FF by comparing them to what you call murders and bombers. Are the youth of Ireland being blown up with bombs is the war still going on, hmmm no war is over peace process. We are seeing massive increase in suicide, low self esteem no jobs. I have lost 3 friends and the reasons go directly back to what your party did. 3 I knew there has been about 10 anyway last year in a small town. Forced emigration, I am being forced to leave. The suffering in this country at the moment has nothing to do with SF and the only reason for the suffering now is because of your parties corruption greed incompetence and stupidity. IRA were wreck less the way they went about this but they had a cause and it is over now.

Will ye FFailers try a different lie.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

FF history is seeped in the same, most parties originate from times of oppression and struggle, just the oppression up the north continued long after we got out independence.

• Bang on Julie… Well said!

• You say the IRA had a cause and its over now. What cause was that?

• You say bombers and murderers, and the rest….. Maiming bank robberies extortion don’t be so naive as to assume that because the “war” is over they have given up their criminal ways.
      I’m not defending FF but I don’t like opportunists like SF capitalising on other parties downfall which is the only way they will succeed.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

British occupation of the province of ulster, shot dead if you peacefully protested, Fleeing the border after being burnt out of your home. Just a few examples. Would you like me to continue. It was a dirty war orchestrated English. Do you think the occupation of Gaza by the Israelis and what is being done to the Palestinians is ok very similar. I don’t condone everything done by the IRA but I do agree with their cause.

• Excuse me now but doesn’t the occupation of the 6 counties still exist?

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Do you not think that if any member of the SF party were involved in any sort of criminal activity it would be on the cover of every newspaper on every radio station and on every tv station.

I am not defending any of the IRA actions I don’t support the IRA I support SF the political party democratically elected. Who up the north were the troubles happened and the people there were directly effected, are the biggest national party. The way I look at it is if the people who lived through it can put it behind then than so can I.

Look the dog on the street know FG are just implementing FF policies, so no I don’t want more of the same and that’s what we will get if we vote them back in.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Yes pat but through negotiations there is now democracy for Irish Catholics up the north. They have the right now to have a vote and have representation.

• Sorry now but I’m a little confused about some contents of your last two posts. I don’t condone everything done by the IRA but I agree with their cause. Iam not defending any of the IRA actions. I don’t support the IRA.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

I do not support them they no longer exist but I agree with their cause. Now let it go. I was 6 when the Good Friday agreement was signed, 75% of the island Of Ireland voted in favour of it. It’s over, please move on like most people up the north have, biggest national party up north.

• I always thought the “cause” was for Irish freedom, not to be confused with the new buzz words of a united Ireland. How many lives would have been saved if this was pointed out to everyone in the early 70′s, that what we are looking for is political power and not freedom but this is getting away from the article in question. Michael Martin has held his hands up and admitted that mistakes were made ( some huge ) but at least he doesn’t deny his past.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Okay let’s break it down a bit see if you can understand, I was 6 when troubles ended 3 member of the party I support have any connection, why am I defending this. Madness.

Anyway , Irish Catholics had no rights up the north it was a fight for their right and the right for them to have a voice and a vote. If it was for a united ireland then we would have had no Good Friday agreement. Irish Catholics now have their right to vote which means they have representation in political decision making.

• What you have said Julie is truly disgusting! It is wholly inappropriate to say that Fianna Fáil are responsible for suicides of young people!

There is a poor attitude towards mental health in Ireland, especially in young men who do not talk about issues affecting them. You have insulted all families affected by suicide.

• It’s obvious you’re not studying history in collage anyway. You need to read up on it. Especially Irish history.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Well, David I am not speaking for everyone, but my experience was 3 close friend two male, they felt useless spongers for being on social welfare, they had no hope of getting a job and felt useless. Maybe I was wrong to blame the party as a hole but Bertie and his like so. How do you explain the massive massive increase in suicide, I would say it is due to the state the economy was left in. Didn’t mean to offend anyone honestly. But their is a connection to the state if economy and the increase in suicide.

• As a 30 something with a family and mortgage and full time jobs…if sinn fein got in, it would be disastrous for the country, especially the middle class or coping classes.
      Sinn fein have a canny habit of hitting the young and people in “disadvantaged” areas.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

If that’s your opinion your entitled to it, but my family are in a similar situation and the only budget that will give them any bit of relief is SF budget. My vote is not owned by any party, my family back as far as my grandparent voted labour. Not anymore.

• I hate to break it to you, but sinn fein will do the same as the greens and labour and will break promises as soon as they get in!!
      Sure look at their leader Gerry Adams…raided his party coffers to pay for him to go to new York for personal reasons, as a TD in Ireland, he went up to the north for treatment on the NHS!!!

• can we please talk about the criminals in FF and how every state institution in the land is occupied by criminals and at the top and we have FF to thank for that and im no shinner .

• Pat Martin holds his hands up we can all do that, it means nothing without actions. I did not see him offering to resign because of all the corruption that was indicative of F / F. He was up to his neck in every morsel of what went on in that party. He and the other F / F party members who were in government for the past 15 Years should resign their seats now, then maybe The New as Claimed F / F might have the right to expect some Respect and a chance to prove that the Haughy / Bertie / Cowen era of F / F is over for good. As long as there are members of the old party in situ they will never gain the trust and respect of the people apart from the blind following the pied piper as he preaches his lies and spin.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

S, give me the slightest bit of proof of anything you are saying, you might change my mind genuinely. No one owns my vote. But, I have done my research I have gone through everything I can find, I have looked into budget I have contacted Tds called into SF offices, everything said to me was consistent and genuinely truth. I was young and stupid and voted the way my family did, labour so I decide I can’t trust what they say so I went and got the info myself, I have a great friend an old lecturer of mine, brilliant accountant, got him to look at there budgetary stuff and he don’t support them AT ALL, he said he couldn’t find fault. I don’t care who gets in once it not FF FG or LAB, my family are in a similar situation, mortgage two young boys. Don’t vote SF that totally fine with me if people don’t vote in the same 3, lets try something different.

Adams, we all have friends, we all have the friends with money, I have friends who if they thought I was in severe pain and medicine not available here!!, would sort out my problem they would give me the money in a heart beat, if you don’t have friends that would do that I suggest you get new friends.

Evidence please of anything you said above.
      Honestly don’t vote for SF just don’t waste your vote on the 3 parties who are proven there incapable of thinking of people like your family or mine.

• Anyone quick at building very long,very large walls?

• Wheres a meteorite when you need one?

• Young Fianna Fail ? Whats the age cut off point ? Is it 21 or is it im a young 45 and mammy an daddy made me join so i might meet a “lovely girl ” !

• Whatever ,I for one won’t forget what they did to our country

• These people ruined our lives! They ruined our country! And now they are starting indoctrination schools to repeat the cycle all over again! It’s jail Mehole Martin should be put in, not a room full of our young people! He was in cahoots with the likes of Sean Fitzpatrick and Michael Fingleton! Fianna Fáil are just bent and crooked! Leave my fellow young people alone you blackguards!

• Doesn’t say much for the youth of ireland if they’re following Fianna Fáil.

• So it seems the two main topics for discussion among the young FF.ers is Youth mental health and unemployment. How can they not see and realise that both of these problems, would not be an issue today if it were not for the mismanagement of the country by Fianna Fail when in government. Their time now, would be better spent on issues like finding ways to make the present system of governance more democratic and accountable to the people for whom it is ment to serve. I have plenty of ideas myself, that would help to make the system more accountable and fair. Would the organisers of the event, seek to have independent minded persons speak on alternatives to the present political system and address these young impressionable minds?

• Martin was on 96fm in Cork during the week saying they needed new young blood in the Party I wonder would he listen to your points of view. Also claimed to be the leader of the New F/ F even though he was mired up to his neck in all that was wrong in the old F/F. Guess he’s still a lying B…..D

• Two ways to get wealthy in Ireland 1. Win the lotto 2. Become a politician

• Can this article be amended to say that there were actually 249 votes cast in the Ógra FF Presidency election as tweeted by Sarah Ryan (https://twitter.com/SarahCatRyan/status/305378399562657792), not the 500 they have been claiming to the media all week?

One would say it is incredibly brazen of FF to lie but then one remembers it is the youth wing of Fianna Fáil. #ffrenewal my eye.

And they may claim hundreds attended the Gala dinner but that includes many non-Ógra people. Loads of councillors and party activists over the age of 30 attend so you can’t count them. Their claim to be the country’s largest youth political ‘movement’ is a lie.

• Nows are chance fire up the b52

• Some piss up to be had. Say they are a riveting group of people

• cormac 23/02/13 #

I see they are focusing on youth mental health!
    They should probably start with their own.

• That Meehawl Martin gives me the creeps. He always has a guilty look on him, he looks like he’s going to break into tears any minute. And he should, because he was sitting there at the top table with Bertie and Karaoke Cowan when they destroyed this country. If they think they can rebrand Fianna Fail with this man at the steering wheel they are more naive than we think they are.

• Young sap-lings!

• Young FFers! A force against the progressive spirit of our generation.

• Poor misguided souls. God forgive them….

• They should throw open the doors to young Fine Gael and Labour. Realistically there is no difference between the three, they are all centre-right parties led by conservative right wing middle aged men completely out of touch with Ireland of today.

• I would love to see pictures of tonight’s dinner-dance. Some of the attendees will be in their 80s. Honest!

• Dear baby Jesus one apocalypse of biblical proportions at Sligo where the fianna failures are, from your pal me amen

• Sligo run and hid now for the love of god people, FF bambinos should only be served TK lemonade , Tesco burgers or Spaghetti Bolognese.

• malcom 23/02/13 #

This must be one of those gathering events?

• Whatever your views are of FF and their contribution to the current economic mess; it’s still positive to see 500 young people engaging in politics and discussing some serious issues affecting our young people, such as mental health and suicide. They’re the future of the country, and in their case, their party FF. Maybe through their contributions they can change it for the better. I’d say the same if this was a report on Ógra SF, Lab, FG or Green party too. They’re engaging and debating rather than sitting on their arses on a Saturday afternoon. We’re too quick to knock people. Fair play to them I say.

• No, they are displaying the kind of closed minded mentality that sees political affiliations handed down from the generation above. Any young person who was in any way politically engaged would keep an open mind about any party allegiances. That goes for all of us. A lifetime affiliation is a dangerous thing which reduces your capacity to think and act as an individual.

• Couldn’t agree more John. I think it’s great to see young people engaging in politics regardless of the political party they’re in. The country will be in their hands one day.
      People are forgetting everyone is entitled to be a member of any political party they wish. If you don’t agree with them, you can at least hope they won’t make the same mistakes as their predecessors.

• While you are correct, I don’t know why you are assuming these young members will support FF for life.

• I’m not assuming that at all. I’m just making a general statement about young people engaging in politics. In a general sense that’s a good thing, whether or not I agree with the party they choose. They may well engage with FF now then end up voting FG/ Lab in future & vice versa. I’m just making the point that they’re entitled to engage with any party they like, as are we all.

• For young people to align themselves with Fianna Fáil is certainly not a good thing, Maria. It’s downright depressing that anybody, especially the young, associate themselves with this particular party. Saying that it’s good that they engage in politics is simplistic in the extreme. Would it be good if they joined a neo-fascist party? That would be engaging in politics, but certainly not good. Can anybody explain what FF actually stand for? All I’ve ever heard are wishy-washy, empty statements. The truth is that they stand for enriching themselves and those around them. Their behaviour throughout the history of this State is sickening.

• Jesus Christ, actually read what I said! I couldn’t give two shiney hoots which political party they choose! This is exhausting. I’m not Bertie Ahern and I’m not even old enough to have elected him, give me a break!

• Fine, you’re not old enough to understand just how damaging this party and the culture they represent has had on Ireland. They have devastated it. The chronic problems we have now (and believe me, they are indeed chronic) can be layed squarely at the door of Fianna Fáil. Make no mistake about it.

• That’s fair enough Brian. Perhaps someone who actually supports FF might like to argue this one out with you. TO BE CLEAR: I think people are entitled to join whatever party they want to WITHIN THE LAW OBVIOUSLY. If you don’t like that party, that’s fine too. Believe it or not people are allowed to have differing opinions (not on The Journal obviously)

• john clarke who ever told you to be yourself gave you bad advise.

• Maria, you are changing your point/argument. You initially said “I think it’s great to see young people engaging in politics regardless of the political party they’re in”. That’s what I take issue with. I don’t think it’s great to see young people engaging in politics regardless of the political party they’re in, simply because the particular party could be a regressive, malign force in Irish society, i.e. Fianna Fail. Differing opinions are fine, and of course everybody should be allowed join whatever political party they like. I never argued otherwise.

• My point has not changed. Let’s have a look at your point:
      “You initially said “I think it’s great to see young people engaging in politics regardless of the political party they’re in”. That’s what I take issue with. I don’t think it’s great to see young people engaging in politics regardless of the political party they’re in, simply because the particular party could be a regressive, malign force in Irish society, i.e. Fianna Fail.”
      That roughly translates to “I only agree with people engaging with political parties I approve of”.
      You went on to say: “Differing opinions are fine, and of course everybody should be allowed join whatever political party they like. ” This is in complete contradiction with your earlier assertion.
      I haven’t said one word in support of ANY political party. All I’ve said is I think it’s a good thing that young people engage in politics. That you feel these particular young people should engage with a different party is your prerogative and does not change that they have the right to engage with this one.
      I fear we’re veering into arguing semantic now.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

Maria, your so wrong about what he is trying to say to you , no one disagrees with the point you are making that young people need to get into politics. But you must agree if you have any clue what went on in the last 4 years that a young person joining FF is in NO WAY a good thing. They are seeping of corruption, their main aim was not the country welfare it was their own, also the elite. They gave away our independence, that men DIED for. They saddled us with 42% of eu debt you and me are paying 9000 each while someone the same age in Spain is paying on average 192. FF ran this country to the ground, any young person joining that party should be ashamed I’m sorry don’t want to offended anyone but come on. If you gave me a choice, I could not physical put a yes vote beside FF, couldn’t do it, They have caused TOO MUCH suffering. what they did to the women in the laundries, different time that could have been me or you, they worked with the church to make money and when that was no good that moved onto banks its disgusting,Look into the whole story Maria. Great to see a few young faces on here doh, welcome and be prepared sometimes it can get a bit nasty, just to prepare ya take no offence, there are the few you will get to know then and take no notice,

• D’you know what Julie, I give up. I don’t care what party you, Brian, the 500 people in Sligo or the man on the moon join. And there is no “if” about you having a choice about whether to vote FF, you never have to vote for anyone you don’t want to. The wondeeful thing about democracy is that two people are allowed to disagree with eachother and neither of them has to be wrong. Or stupid. That obviously doesn’t extend to The Journal comments section so to be honest I’ll probably never post here again. I shudder to think the treatment an *actual* FF supporter receives if this is what I get for making a general statement about ALL political parties.

• Young people aligning themselves with Fianna Fáil. Should they be allowed? Yes. Is it a good thing? Definitely no. Could I make it simpler?

• Yep Brian, but it’s still their democratic right to do so! I understand what you’re saying but condescending to me and insinuating I’m stupid doesn’t change any facts here.
      It sounds like those kids are discussing some very important issues so I say fair play too them. As I said much earlier is this conversation, if you don’t agree with their choice of political party, you can at least hope they won’t repeat their predecessors’ mistakes.
      And given the comments made here, I can only imagine what they’re up against when admitting publicly that they are FF members. Given they probaby get abused from a height, I admire their convictions all the more. In fact I admire anyone who has the conviction to actively engage with any political party.
      Don’t feel you have to reply. You dislike FF, fair enough. I attempted to make an inocuous obsevation, it didn’t end well and this has all become a bit of a drain.

• Why?

• Great to see any young person to get involved in politics no matter what party. I guess most people sending in negative comments on this will not get involved themselves.

• So you’d be happy to have young people getting involved in a nationalist/racist party once they were being politically active?
      These little FF creeps make me sick. Can you imagine how stunted a mind a young person would have to align themselves with FF. They will only get worse over their lifetime.

• Sure why shouldn’t they get into politics? And get all the benefits? I’d say its more like their actually seeing the light and know which side of the bed they would like to sleep on

• Good for them. Great to see young people getting involved in politics.

• Last year when the NYC was held in Cork in the region of 350 young people attended. Labour Youth held there’s at the same time in Cork. They had little over 100.

I know it is useless to try and defend Fianna Fáil on here. The people are so hell bent on damning them they don’t listen to what is actually going on.

• and what exactly is going on? are we blind?
      im afraid you are somewhat deluded so go back to sligo and make sure to vote for who mammy and daddy tell you too in the next election

• David,

Didn’t Fianna Fail support water charges and property tax?

• Go on so gives all a good giggle, tell us what’s going on???

• Give us

• Well Mark, unfortunately for you I’m not from Ireland. I’m from Scotland. It was my own choice to become involved in Fianna Fáil. I don’t agree with right wing Christian Democracy, the flip flopping of Labour or the Sinn Fein because they have links to a terrorist organisation.

I have no problem saying I am a member of Fianna Fáil.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

But you support financial terrorists, who have no cause out justification for what they are doing to people lives. Well done give yourself a pat on the back. Contradict yourself, FF in the eyes of Irish people are terrorists who should be held accountable for acts of treason.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

They dammed themselves when they threw their morals out the window.
      Full investigation and apology from Bertie and the rest including your leader who was stuck right in the centre of Ireland’s crash and I’m sure played his own hand in the distraction.

How do ye not get it, show a bit of respect, a lot of people on here, their lives have been ruined by the party that you support, that’s like saying you don’t care that this has been done to them by joining a party having full knowledge of what they have done. Then to top it all off, FG are just implementing all the policies that FF were going to implement. So not only were they going to stick the knife in people backs, they were going to keep twisting and twisting until they bled them dry. They have not changed, they are just power junkies, don’t care about you just want your vote unless you are the elite or a banker maybe you are.

You judge someone on their actions, not their words. I think from their action they could possibly be the party if they get back in to totally, nail on the coffin, ruin coping class and unemployed people lives.

• Fair play to them – good to see young people getting involved regardless of party! They will shape our country in the future and we need young new people to do this! AAFM!!!!

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYTa81JdDfo

maybe this is why they are going to sligo…….. they’re young and ignorance is bliss!

• I’m proud to associate with Fianna Fáil. The party that helped me achieve 3rd Level Education even coming from an extremely poor single parent family. Fine Gael and Labour are destroying the country at the moment.

• cormac 23/02/13 #

Enjoy Sligo Daniel. Tell the rest of your friends to post a few nice things about FF.

• Explain how please, Daniel! It was actually the Rainbow coalition that abolished tuition fees for 3rd level education in 1996. I hope you didn’t do your degree in history.

• Fine Gael, for the rich and the farmers! They haven’t changed at all. 1980’s tax on childrens shoes and now they’re cutting childrens allowance. Children and the poor are suffering now, nothing is happening to the middle-upper classes and the rich.

• “Fine Gael, for the rich and the farmers” Now you’re just repeating something you heard growing up. FF bankrupted the country for 30 years. Families torn apart and very little future for young people for a long time to come.

• What middle class? FF got rid of the middle class and gave all their money to FF developers and banks. You should know. Your obviously one or the other seeing you actually support these corrupt shower gangsters. Go on now Daniel and get busy sucking up to the big boys in Sligo. You know the ones. They are the same fellas that brought this country to it’s knees.

• Daniel, please just think about what you are saying. Have a good look at the whole system. If you do, and if there is any ounce of sincerity, decency and intelligence about you, you’ll steer well clear of Fianna Fáil.

• No, why can’t you respect that I respect the idealogy of a certain political party, without mocking me for being mentally insane or some other “I hate Fianna Fáil bandwagon”.

“Wah wah wah, I’m unemployed, I cant pay my mortgage, I can’t pay for hire purchase on my 2011 25,000 car and I blame Fianna Fáil for all the risks I took and my unsustainable job is now gone!”

My family didn’t have the Celtic Tiger lifestyle that most had! I’m not angry because I didn’t lose anything! My father earned a very high income before my birth but due to illness and maternal death life wasn’t so good! Fianna Fail protected me and my brothers and sisters, made sure I was well educated and had as much of a chance as anyone else in life during the boom years! We we’re not forgotten about. How dare anyone tell that I am delusional for respecting a certain political party when I am only thankful.

• cormac 23/02/13 #

Don’t give FF praise for doing the very very least of what you would expect of them, i.e. try to help those you need.
      That’s like looking for praise for rearing your kids or staying out of prison (to para phrase that chris rock sketch). It’s just what your supposed to do, simple as that.

Our house was a FF house but out of 6 votes none of us voted for them. It’s just a pity they totally mismanaged a very prosperous period in Irish history and have left a terrible mess for the current lot to deal with. They are criminals Daniel, I can not understand how anybody can publicly defend them.
      FF voters have, in my eyes, been reduced to a level above pedophiles. I can’t be any more direct in my heart felt opinion. I have turned my back on them forever.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

Daniel you don’t agree with what FG are doing now cutting child benefit, your party FF, these are their policies, FG have just implemented FF policies. Go away with that hang your head in shame.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

I respect people opinions but some are just so hard to comprehend. FF while giving you all them things, which is great, they fooled and conned you, they were slowly but surely running the country into the ground, taking bribes Galway tents, dont even get me started on the mess they made of our banks. Do you know what I give up, some people are just glutens for punishment, I look forward to being able to say I told ya so. I used to vote labour just because my grandparents did, I had a choice wasn’t listening to them anymore, looked into all other parties and it SF: independents for me.They don’t care about you they were so generous because they wanted to keep our votes so they could carry on the massive behind the scene full scale corruption. What exactly about FF is attractive to a young person like you besides what they did trying to buy your vote to continue their profitable self serving deals ?

Im not begrudging, really glad that help was their when you needed it. That’s fantastic, but rem their pockets were getting a 100 times fatter while they threw you the scraps.

Please don’t be fooled.

• Julie 24/02/13 #

Cormac you are like a breath of fresh air, fair play to you and your family. Give yourself a massive pat on the back for saying no more, enough.

• my gary redmond comment was deleted?

• Great to see so many young men and women taking an interest in democracy. Pragmatic policies coupled with constitutional Republicanism the reason FF is the largest party in third level colleges.

• haha thanks for the laugh

• Best joke I’ve heard in a long time.
      Pragmatism isn’t an ideology. There’s nothing more dangerous than a man without principles which essentially is what pragmatism is. You have no higher principle to guide you of what needs to be done and therefore nothing to limit what you will countenance doing.
      As for constitutional republicanism? The total redundancy of the Oireachtas during FF’s previous reign meant we were run by the executive, ramming legislation through, leaving no room for democratic debate.

When will Irish people realise that supporting a political party shouldn’t be like supporting a football team?

• “Pragmatic policies coupled with constitutional Republicanism”

What exactly is that, Stephen? As a FF spin doctor (local variety) you should use plain English.

• Is FF starting a new Hitler Youth??

Add New Comment