TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Fianna Fáil back on top in new opinion poll

This is the second opinion poll in the last two weeks that has seen Fianna Fáil rise to the top.

Michael Martin celebrates being elected the new leader of Fianna Fail in 2011.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL HAS topped a second opinon poll, reaffirming its new position as the most popular political party in Ireland.

The Millward Brown Poll, published in the Sunday Independent today puts the party at 27 per cent, ahead of Fine Gael on 25 per cent and Labour on 13 per cent.

Sinn Féin regained its standing after a two point drop in last weekend’s poll, now on 20 per cent and 14 per cent of those polled supported ‘Others’.

Last week’s poll, which saw Fianna Fáil rise to the top again after less than two years out of government, was questioned as it was conducted around the time of the Magdalene report and before the promissory note deal. However today’s poll, the first taken after the deal, puts the party another point ahead of Fine Gael.

With Sinn Féin on 20 per cent, if these results are seen in the next general election, the two parties could form a coalition.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie earlier this week, Fianna Fáil leader Michael Martin said sharing power was not on his horizon but that he was “not ruling anything out”.

“We don’t bring in people from outside of the government, there’s no change to the electoral system,” he said. “So people are rightly sort of disillusioned with the lack of any radical political reform.”

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (232 Comments)

• People are sending a message to the govt that a second term is not assured and you could be out !, Labour will be most worried about it. As a labour voter here in north Kildare I will never vote them in again. Cheated by Gilmore and the rest .

• This is a joke are we really that stupid ? ?

• Again not surprising, voters have a short memory

• I think this says more about Enda Kenny than anything else. Was it only around 10 days ago that he was standing in the Dáil telling us about the great deal his people had secured for us? 1 week later, the party that committed the biggest crime on its people you could ever imagine, is topping the opinion polls. This must be as bad as it gets Enda. A man of principle and honour would resign immediately.

• Mick B 17/02/13 #

@Alan
      You beat me to it. And if they get elected again, we’ll be wondering why we are up sh*t creek without a paddle…AGAIN! :/

• @rodrigo detriano Do u think FG would not have shifted the debt onto the Irish People ?/. Do u think they would have followed icelandic approach – and let banks go .??
      some new part is needed – and quck – and get away from civil war politcs —
      hopefully enough to elect a new party .

• Beggars belief that the people who cut the legs from under this country would the biggest party in government were there an election in the morning. Unbelievable that we as an electorate would even think about Martin and his cohorts let alone have them back on power. Truly makes for depressing reading.

• Have I woken up in 2003?

• This poll makes me embarrassed to be Irish.

• I was randomly called for one of these polls recently and there was very little margin given for the answers – either you strongly disargreed or stronly agreed – I found myself answering in a very odd way that did not reflect my opinions at all but conformed to their odd structure.set up instead. Point is these polls are very unrepresentative and flawed.

• I hear they have a 5 point plan to get us out of this mess

• Do people have no memories. They ruined us once & they can do it again

• Brian 17/02/13 #

It should be noted that this poll was conducted on behalf of the Sunday Independent, a ‘newspaper’ which has long championed its slimy pals in Fianna Fail, even when that party was leading the country to catastrophe. While that doesn’t mean the poll was rigged, they would have known from a recent poll that Fianna Fail was doing relatively well and therefore another poll not long after would produce similar results.

I’m amazed that so many would apparently still vote for Fianna Fail but I’m also equally amazed that so many still buy a complete and utter rag like the Sindo. But there are plenty of voters out there who just haven’t been affected by the recession, who are just living in a different reality to the rest of us and simply don’t understand or comprehend the depths of sheer hatred towards Fianna Fail.

• Rayven 17/02/13 #

It’s the Sunday independent the biggest Fianna Fáil lackey newspaper that ever existed now that Fine Gael have been found out there will a poll out every week telling how great the f’fers are the the Sindo should be scrapped

• If FF are riding high in the polls near the next election, i will canvass against them , not for any party but against them. I will call to peoples houses to remind people what they did. Anyone with me?

• Niamh 17/02/13 #

Could the supposed 1000 people who voted in this poll, please stand up!

• Here.

• Niamh 17/02/13 #

@youdontknowme – I definitely don’t know you, because no one I know is stupid enough to vote FF back in.

• Well they were foolish enough to vote fg in and foolish enough to vote sf into better position. I did get more green then red thumbs so we the logical people are out there. Sure ff have made huge f ups but really does anyone think fg would not have marched country off a cliff?? Doing quite a nice job of it as is.

Ff actually have the best experience to get us out of this. My views in sticking to them :) anyone who calls people idiots for a political view well they are the easy manipulatied. Those that think clearly or have ANY bit of intelligence or know what they were talking about would see that FG wanted more tax breaks and lower stamp duty because as they put it the housing market in the 00s was held back from faster growth. Seems amazing that people forget that.

• I did!

• the biggest influence on this poll is the sheer ineptitude of fine gael/labour government.
    they had the chance to bury the fianna fail party for good but were overwhelmed with the trappings of power. they took their foot off the snakes neck and let it slither away.
    what makes me sick is that enda had the plan to fix this mess but chucked it in the bin the moment he got elected.

• It has ever been thus. Enda-the-school-teacher never had any plan worth taking seriously. We need to vote left to get out of this horrible cycle in which we are ruled by market leeches who are bleeding us dry.

• Petr this wasant a bad plan

1. Help protect and create jobs
      2. Keep taxes low while fixing the deficit;
      3. Deliver smaller, better government;
      4. Create a completely new, fairer, more efficient health system; and
      5. Overhaul the way our political system works to stamp out cronyism

it makes me sad to hear the way rabbite and others say that you have to lie to get elected. If even the first point had been put in place our economy would have been on the road to recovery but as I said when they got in they failed miserably

• mart_n 17/02/13 #

I’m always weary of these opinion polls, esp outside of election times. People will say they support FF because they’re losing faith in FG / Labour, but if push came to shove I doubt so many people would actually vote for FF.

• People suck.

• Sandra 17/02/13 #

We deserve everything we get…

• As FG / Labour collation had a clear mandate to burn bond holders & write down dept & failed to do so this increase of support for FF is not surprising. The sheeple of Ireland must have short memories if FF is this popular. Goes to show there is now No confidence in any political party at this stage. FF most popular ?? Really ??

• What complete morons would vote for that shower of toerags. We really must be the stupidest people on the planet if that pole is right.

• But they fixed the road?

• Elrat 17/02/13 #

And the highest percentage of FF backers is where – DUBLIN !! Ahearn & his ilk must be laughing!!

• The Republic of Dementia

• God, Allah,Buddha,Krishna and the rest of the deities save us from the return of FF for the sake of our children, their children and their children’s children, Please! Please! Pretty Please!

• Jesus. Do people not remember what FF has done to this country are we a nation of goldfish, they raped the nation.

• I think this is a cunning plan by Mc Dowell, Harney & Co who are waiting in the long grass to pounce when the moment is right and reform the PDs. Its going to be like the Bobby Ewing shower scene. They never went away at all.

• ….I’m sorry, what?

• Boggles the mind!!

• Some serious dumbasses in this country to even consider this shower after the mess they made of everything over the past 2 decades!!

• We deserve what we get

• Sigh!!!

• Was the poll taking in south dublin in the health ministers area??can people be that stupid to vote them back in.

• Hell is other people.

• It is unbelievable that the people of Ireland would even contemplate for a nano second putting Fianna Fáil back in power they having spectacularly reigned over the bankrupting our country . The present government are on a hiding to nothing and have to deal with The Troice and massive bank debt and are trying their best to clean up the mess left by Fianna Fáil .The electorate may not reward the present government in the next election but I think history will . I always believe we get the government we deserve but bad and all as we are I don’t think we deserve a government of Fianna Fáil and Sinn Fein .

• Michael Healy Rae might be brought back into the family he could even be the next minister for finance.

• These polls are designed to influence the people in this country who don’t pay too much interest in politics and therefore can’t make up their own mind on who to vote for i.e. the majority of the population.

• Yes! Any chance of getting B B B Bertie back?? Fools. Vote them in again

• Looking forward to the day when there out knocking on doors looking for votes then they will see what people really think of them.

• Who are they asking???????

• There is data out there that says people want to be and do the same as everyone else so FF have grabbed this are running with it Doubt they’ll get the over the hurdle when it comes to the next election

• Not a joke, but it is most likely a lie.

• Conor 17/02/13 #

Never knew Dublin had such a gombeen underbelly and that Millward Brown managed to poll the extent of it!

• sid 17/02/13 #

It’s a kick to fg and labour , doubt many will forget who got us in this mess , its voters reminding the current crowd , I hope anyway otherwise we may just give up

• sean 17/02/13 #

2 ways of looking at this ,
    either its shows just how bad a job the Corrupt FG/LAB are doing
    or we have a nation of sheep that now have the memory of goldfish
    or , both of the above ,

its disgusting , and the irish people really , really need to take a long hard look at themselves in the mirror ,

WE ARE F….K’D

• It is like asking a man on death row (or in this case debt row) how he would like to die. Not much of a choice really.

• Where is the promise of a new party and new politics? We need new politics in Ireland.

• This is just disturbing reading.
    2 things are coming up here.
    1 , kenny and his sleeveen ilk are so deluded and detached from reality as well as drunk on power have lost any scraps of credibility in the country they have been hired to run.
    2, this other shower are doing exactly what kenny and co were doing by waiting in the long grass .
    We really are “pathetic paddies”.
    Mind you our choices are very limited

• the only party that could actually help the country at the moment is Sinn Féin. I cannot wait for the day that they get back into power.

• Amen to that Carly….SF all the way .We can’t afford to have FF/FG/LAB in power much longer….our kids will be rooting thru rubbish dumps if this keeps up.

• @Carly you don’t know a lot do you ? SF for your information never was in power and under Gerry Adams never will be because he does not want power! that would mean abandoning the populist rhetoric they preach if he brings SF into government, SF talk out of both sides of there mouth totally opposed to austerity in the south and while they in government in the north they vote for cuts of up to €3bn which includes a property tax of £1,500 on some properties.

• Oliver read a history book…. Start at the first Dail .

• Oliver your talking some plop there now lad who’s talking out both sides of their mouth now.Westminister controls the budget in the North the fiscal measures taken up there would be lot worse if Sinn Fein were not power sharing and if you pay for services in the North you get them.As for Sinn Fein not wanting power to Govern Ireland go out and vote for them in the next election and put them in a tight spot i dare you .You wont though because your afraid they will get in and all your populist critical nonsense will be irrelevant.Every party except Independents would not like Sinn Fein in Government because they would show the completely corrupt whipping boy sellout attitude of the rest of them .FG FF L as Laurel used to say to Hardy its another fine mess you got me into.90 years of 3 party rule and a Banker owns our country and poverty steaming down the line.Nice .

• Well if Westminster does control the finances in the north why do SF implement them they can oppose them you know, stop talking bullshit lads FF are top i know the truth hurts :)

• Gerry Adams was a MP for north Belfast for near on 20 years if not more. He claimed a wage and expenses whole never having sat in his seat for a single solitary hour… If I worked in a shop and said it was against my beliefs to actually show up I wouldn’t be long getting the old P45. Now he’s a TD for a constituency he doesn’t even reside in… He’s not the angel he’s made out to be. Especially when you have people like Dolores Price coming out and saying he was indeed involved in paramilitary organisations.

If SF were in govt for a month this country would be on its knees. It’s all fair and well preaching populism from the opposition benches its quite something to do the same from the other side of the house. In the last 3 years they have yet to produce a costed budget proposal. The reason for this is because they even know themselves that what they’re selling won’t wash. Simple as.

• They were in power. All the time when the Magdalene landureys were running and the state new about and supported it who was in power at that time Fianna Fáil who was in power when the church sex scandal was happing Fianna Fáil ok

• Back in power?

• I think you should read your history books more carefully, the current SF are around since 1970.

• But not in power

• Philip 17/02/13 #

Sick nation!

• 1. You can bend stats anyway you want.
    2. A new political party would have to be formed prior to the next general election & would not be permitted to take part in that election. Unfortunately.
    3. I’m tired of all this crap. ALL political parties are the same, give them enough time and they will all screw us over for the own personal gain.

• Micheal Martin promised when FF went into opposition that he would lead an opposition like never before , he has achieved this FF are providing constructive opposition agreeing with the Government when he feels it is doing the best for the country but also opposing policies he feels is not the correct decisions for the country. This is reflected in the most recent polls people are connecting with his style of leadership , this along with the rebuilding of FF with the correct blend of youth and experience will see FF become a strong political force once more who will govern for the people elected by the people if it is their wish .

• Frankly I find that Sinn Fein being at 20% much more worrying than ff being on top

• Nobody disputes the fact that ff made fatal errors, nor the fact fg are doing no better. I want change, I don’t want to get promised this, that and the other by some party to find yet again it was all bull! which happens for every single election. When are we going to revamp this whole system? When will there be such a thing as an honest politician? when will we have a transparent political system? Our current political system is simply outdated and hilariously and pathetic. Hands up… Personally I don’t know a lot about politics but I have observed the same old rubbish happening over and over with each new government. One as bad as the last, it’s all false pr, money orientated horsesh*t, No honesty whatsoever. That’s just my observation. I wish there was a new party, honest, hard working people in touch with reality who have gumption, (or balls with particular reference to Enda Kenny here, apologise and pay those poor women for what they were put through you wimp of a man) who want to see a genuine care for the people. A party who put us first not the banks, put people before money. Where are those people? I hate voting because I want the impossible, I want a government that genuinely cares. But there’s not one party out there with real qualities that I can believe in.

• FF the same corrupt sleeveen bunch of parasites who screwed the Irish people and natural resources to benefit themselves and their corrupt business golden circle friends.Dodgy housing and inbred local populace with totally corrupt leadership over the years proved in various tribunals shows keeps these FF party alive.FG the Irish Tories landlord party or some see as equally the Irish tea party with the Labour Party are traitors and liars to working class people and socialism.
    None of them offer any hope or ability of getting this state out of this financial mess. Reports the German politicians seem the midnight run deal over the IRBC as illegal. If FF or Lab or FG are elected to the next government that are negotiating with the EU the Irish people deserve every stealth tax and suffering foisted upon them by these collection of troika imbeciles and traitors.New party and new politics are required.

• This has to be a joke.FF like FG/LAB have shown there loyalty to Europe before the needs of Irish people who elected them.FF politicians loyalty to the FF party comes ahead of the Irish people. Don’t elect any part of the troika of traitors of FF/FG/LAB. I rather see a stocking of manure in the DAIL as a TD ahead of these FF/FG/LAB muppets and the euro servile mentality.

• I’m sorry have those people got amnesia or something. I’m not pro Fine Fail or Fine Gael ect but do people not realise we are in the current recession because of FF. FG won’t fix it over night nor any other political party will fix this over night this will take years and years to fix.

• LIES!

• Fianna fail top of poles have people of ireland got amnminsia or completely stupid have forgot incompetent previous fianna fail governments who put country in position it is now wise up ireland our you extend our missery even more

• Well its beats Sinn Fein could you imagine having to look at Mary Lous gob everyday on the news!!

• Those polls are bullshit. I think FF and FG should merge and SF merge with Labour. Then we’d have one party right of left of centre and another left of right of centre. We’d need another new party to have at least 3 choices. Then if we reduced the number of TDs to about 50 and make them accountable for what they do and spend we might just have a chance to bring this country back up off its knees otherwise it’s just talk.

• Change to Irish constitution by including Articles 47,48 & 50 of the Free State constitution. Power BACK to the IRISH people. PR-STV with Canton Swiss Type local structure.Stronger Dail and Seanad than at present.
    1. Recall of any Minister or TD or county councillor who fails to live up to the manifesto they stood to be elected on.National & local election website with every candidates manifesto being listed.
    2. Limit maximum term of County Councillor to 2 terms as either 1 term county councillor and 1 TD or 2 term county councillor or TD.
    3. No EXPENSES for any TD or County Councillor.
    4. Maximum pay of TD is the Average industrial wage with No tax breaks or other allowances set by a national wage agreement.
    5.All TD and county councillors meetings be made public like in Sweden.
    6. Foreign trips by county councillors or TD’s be approved by citizens via an online website using persons PRSI & addresses to log on.
    7. Any public representative only get the state pension on retirement.
    8. Tougher Immigration limits and foreign policy to reflect Irish needs not the EU or UN desires.
    9. Renationalise ALL Irish natural resources of Fish,Oil and Gas.
    10. New Irish Punt with pre 1972 decimal in circulation of 240 pence in the new pound .Fixed exchange rate like Switzerland to stop currency attacks.
    11. More language and economic & monetary subjects in school & no religious influence.
    Can’t see any of FF or FG or Lab agreeing g to these but maybe open discussion of what we want.

• So you want, no TD to earn more than the average industrial wage and also want to give them no expenses? So how is a TD from Kerry or Mayo or any other place not within commuting distance from Dublin going to get by? I agree about the separation of church and state, but the majority of points are ridiculous.

• Keith Fealy,
      No other group of workers gets expenses for just turning up for the job they are expected to perform. I have to travel for work and I plus lots of other people don’t get expenses to travel long distances to work. Politicians are preaching about fairness and equality in the so called National Interest then the same politicians should be the first to stand up and be counted but as usual the majority of TD’s go quiet when expenses gets mentioned.

• Wow this is frightening! Imagine, a shower of terrorists at 20%!!?

• I was going to watch a movie tonight but instead I decided to read all the comments here & I have to say it was most entertaining.

I worked out that there are many keyboard warriors that just don’t understand politics and how Government functions.
    The SF bots are out again and splutter their usual ignorant abusive rants & most likely drinking cans of beer in their attic with their tracksuit soiled with the verbal **** that they spout.

I would suggest to many here that pontificating from a smoke filled attic on a computer changes nothing, so get off your ass and find yourself something worthwhile to do before collecting your welfare cheque.

The only poll that will be decisive is on election day and when that day comes Fianna Fail will most likely be still alive and kicking much to the distain of many here, who I may add are in my opinion social outcasts looking for an identity in society.

I would also advise many here to attend anger management classes or seek professional because it is obvious that you have other issues in your life that you find easier to blame on others.

Now goodnight all and sweet dreams and may you awake in the morning and realise that nothing in life is for free so don’t get angry when you find you have to work for a living.

• Need a pro Irish anti EU party to be established .Direct Democracy Ireland and an Irish electorate aware of the actual costs of what was given away by various Irish governments over the last 40 years may awaken the sheep who vote for the troika of traitors of FG/LAB/FF. trouble with the new midnight run led FG/LAB deal with Europe is coming into the public domain.

• How bad could it be? SF and FF in power? Whats the likely outcome?

• SF & DDI will probably be the final result. Because no one in their right mind would ever consider “corrupt ff” as a possible vote, they’ve destroyed this country, Everyone knows that.

• Dillon 17/02/13 #

Dream on Slap. Dream on…

• Slap,
      How many candidates will DDI run in the next election?
      They will need to get 40+ TD’s into the Dail in 2-3 years. Considering the only place I see them mentioned, is here on the Journal. Won’t they need to get a media campaign going soon to start to get noticed?
      How will they find this campaign? It doesn’t come cheap. Or do you think word of mouth will be enough?
      The last Government limited the amount of funding individuals can give to a party or candidate. Large political donations were stopped. This is what the public wanted.
      But where does that leave a new party? How do they get off the ground.
      The people wanted donations to end, and the consequence is no new parties will emerge. This is our lot.
      A nice new website won’t do it. You need to get noticed before you will storm the Dail. Not going to happen in 2-3 years I’m afraid.

• Would not like to see it but would not be surprised. But I can’t see S/F lowering themselves to F/F Standards. I mean we would never be that unlucky,,, would we.

• This just shows that the Irish people are just plain stupid – but not stupid enough to vote for SF.

• @Cal1Mooney:

The party members will decide if we go into coalition with anyone after the next GE.

As a member myself, I will nt vote to go into coalition with SF.

• sean 17/02/13 #

Donnacha you will toe the party line , if meehole says ff are to go into coalition with SF , U will accept that and U know ,
      FF and FG supporters should be ashamed of themselves ……………………………..Corrupt to the core the lot of yeh, and neither give a monkies about the people of Ireland , only interested in lining your own pockets

• @Sean.

I don’t follow what the leader tells me what to do. If you don’t believe me, that’s your choice.

• So, folks, we have heard it here first … This FF TD will go against the party leader, if the Party as a whole decide to go into power with SF …
      Donnacha … Thanks for the reply and clarification.

In the meantime, when you talk about the war in the North, can you please remember, your Party supplied the first modern guns to the IRA. FF are hypocrites, when they say they cant support SF, when it was FF that made the IRA a viable entity in 1970. Your party have their hands thick in the blood of innocents.

Now, i pose the next logical question to you … Is it not extremely hypocritical of you to complain about all the deaths that you attribute to SF, when in reality, it WAS FF that supplied the first modern guns etc in 1969/70 to the ‘Terrorists’.
      Can i assume, that given that you are so moralistic, you will immediately resign from FF … as i am sure that no morally right thinking person )like yourself) would want to have the blood of thousands on their hands…. ?

Now, here is what i am really interpreting ….. You have a personal conscience on some matters, but like your Party leader, you don’t feel guilty enough to resign …. am i right? All the corruption of FF, Moriarty and Mahon Tribunals, 1000’s of people having committed suicide because of the disastrous policies that your party lead this country on … Noe of that would make you want to resign, even though it only stopped 2 years ago …
      None of that would make you want to resign…
      What would make you resign from FF … what would actually make you stand in front of the people and say … on good conscience, i can longer support the FF party …. What exactly are the red-line items for you as a human being? When you are talking to YOUR God…. what makes you think to yourself… should i not publicly declare to the Irish people that FF are the cause of 1000’s of unnecessary deaths… untold hardship … emigration…
      At what point, after what extra damage, would you not in good conscience… say to the people… “Enough is enough… FF is a cancer and is killing the Irish people, slowly and painfully .. “

• @Cal1.. Im not sure who you think I am but I am not a TD, or any other type of public representative. If the time comes whereby Fianna Fail has enough of a mandate to enter into coalition with another party to form a government, then a special Ard Fheis will be called to make this decision using a OMOV system. I like every other paid up member will have a vote. As I have said previously, I would vote against going into coalition with Sinn Fein. This has nothing to do with going against the party leader.

No it is not hypocritical of me, as Fianna Fail did not supply any guns etc, it was members of Fianna Fail who did this. I am not accountable for the personal actions of members of the party who decide to do something off their own bat.

I will not be resigning from Fianna Fail. You can continue on with your theatrics for as long as you want and attempt to smear the thousands of good, honest people who continue their membership of Fianna Fail to this day.

However, you ignore the simple reality that Fianna Fail will continue to exist as long as those people continue to be members and as long as Irish people give it an electoral mandate at elections. You can continue to get angry over that on online discussion fora or you can get off your computer, join a political party and try and change people’s minds. Your choice!

• @Donnacha Keyboard warriors the lot of them they wouldn’t know what canvassing was or wrkn on ground for the local community if it came up and bit them on the ass. All they good for is throwing insults coming on here with baseless allegations and not able to back it up when pushed on it.

• Well said Donnacha. Also, the spelling and punctuation in comments here is atrocious!!

• Well I for one think this is great news.
    Well done to all those who have worked hard at ground level to get FF back on track.

• I am now convinced that we have a nation of idiots well 27% of them anyway.How could anyone give the FFers a stroke (no pun).Intresting to see that some of their TDs are “coming out”, now that we haven’t seen them for the last 2 years.It is every Irish persons duty to remind each and every one how they ruined our country over 14 years and how we are now all paying for these morons

• Honestly, I believe some of this bump for Fianna Fáil, and slide for Fine Gael, can be attributed towards Enda Kenny’s roll-back on his pre-election promise not to legislate for abortion. Economics is not the only reason why people vote at general elections. For me, and for a significant number who don’t bother with The Journal discussions, the right to life is the greatest Human Rights issue of our time. As such, I can never vote for socialist or left-leaning parties, even though I may be economically left-leaning myself. To defend the unborn I was led to believe I could vote for Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.
    I couldn’t trust FF at the last election after how they destroyed this country’s economy, so I gave my vote to FG.
    FG have betrayed me now by sacrificing the protection of unborn children to curry favour with Labour.
    Micheál Martin has spoken this week about his concern about legislating for abortion in the case of suicide. That is enough for me to currently swing back to his party.
    There’s a while left to go before the next general election and my vote may swing elsewhere again, but if there was an election today, Fianna Fáil would get my vote.
    As for the economy, I don’t trust any of the parties to resurrect this country soon.

• Yea bitches

• Great news! But will continue to work hard and keep heads down.

• Yeah, keep your heads down! Agree with everything FG says and does like a good little opposition party! Shams the lot of ye in FF!

• Luke 17/02/13 #

I know you’ll say you would fight for a FF majority but if you had to chose SF, FG or Labour what would your preference be?

• Dillon 17/02/13 #

When you say “work hard” does that mean cosying up to the next generation of developers in time for a return to power? Fianna Fáil is a cancer on the body politic of Ireland and I wouldn’t get too smug. Ye might be at a quarter but remember there’s a huge majority if this country who will vote for whoever it takes to stop your evil, corrupt, inept party from finishing off the job of destroying our Republic.

• Abolish property tax and water charges by compensating with spending cuts to entitlements, grants, wages, subsidies and a wealth tax. All the taxes in the world won’t lead to prosperity if we don’t cut spending. We need to become a low-tax, low-spend economy.

• Where did you say cut TDs wages and crazy pension s after 2 years in power .

• “Agree with everything FG says and does like a good little opposition party!”

Fine Gael has continued a more severe line of policy than FF would have implemented regards cuts in expenditure and tax hikes. I know for a fact if we went to oppose everything this government is trying to do we would be branded hypocrites and fakes.

I’d rather we were hated for agreeing with our own policy than be branded hypocritical for opposing for the sake of opposition.

You just can’t win sometimes!

• If you’ve destroyed the country and handed it’s sovereignty away just a few years ago, then yes, you can’t win. Now have some respect for FF’s victims and show some contrition.

• Hate to say it Luke but as things stand at present it would have to be S/F. At least we know from their history the are murderers / gangsters / extortionists / conmen. The rest of them are only Conmen.

• As a social democrat, I would only support my party going into coalition with FF if:

- they abolish property tax and water charges by compensating with spending cuts to entitlements, grants, wages, subsidies and a wealth tax. All the taxes in the world won’t lead to prosperity if we don’t cut spending. We need to become a low-tax, low-spend economy.

• Do you know what social democracy even means?

• For once Fiachra, me and you agree totally.
      This poster reminds me of someone else that didn’t quite understand the differences between left and right.
      He’s describing the policies of the Tea party members in the US, while claiming to be a social democrat.

• Abolishing the homes tax and water charges is social democracy. I also support a wealth tax, reducing tax breaks on the top 10 per cent, legalizing the oldest profession in the world, legalize abortion, cut the pay of senior and retiree ministers, “quangos”, professors, etc.

All FF did on most was just talk – no action.

• As much as I don’t want to agree with Fiachra, he’s right that Regonald doesn’t seem to know what social democracy is.

• You cannot make a transition to socialism without progressive measures first. A policy of “don’t cut me” is no longer doable, I’m afraid. The circumstances have changed for the worse and the best we can expect is reductions to entitlements in return for abolition of property tax and water charges. This would help the many thousands of government dependents who would otherwise be hit with this home tax. I support a wealth tax in conjunction with these measures. I also support a cap on high earners in the civil service, rolling back tax breaks on the top 10 pr cent, cutting state funds to private schools, standardizing discretionary tax reliefs, ensure that all companies pay a minimum of 12.5% corporation tax, and abolishing tax anomalies.

• ah here leave it, out leave it bleeden out, leave it F@*&en.

• Hup ya boya Michael!! The pints tasted all the sweeter in Clara last night after this poll! Twould of been nice to see Brian Cowen have another tilt at it after the wonderful job he did of stabalising the economy when the global resession struck but Michael will make a great Taoiseach! And all ye miserible feckers better suck it up! Were on the way back, back to claim what is rightfaly ours! A great day for Ireland! :)

• Rayven 17/02/13 #

Rightfully yours that’s the attitude and arrogance show by you f’fers that sank this country and handed away our sovereignty let someone else clean up your mess have the cheek to gripe about hang your head in shame you traitors

• Getting a drivers license is now ~ impossible (thanks to FF)
      Property tax and water charges need to be abolished
      Government spending should be cut
      High pensions taxed
      Tax breaks cut

• @ff4sean learn how to spell first.

• @ sean What is rightfully yours? Why will you be voting ff? And why do you have a photo of Sean Gallagher with a grappling hand? (There are no more envelopes) Sean Gallagher tried to convince the electorate during the presidential election he had severed all contact with ff. so what is it ff or independent.

• With regards getting a drivers license being difficult – it should be. Look at the consistant road deaths lowering year on year – that policy is one of the many reasons why this is happening!

• Traffic enforcement is the only way to reduce casualties – not nonsense bureaucracy of having to pay ~ €480 for compulsory driving lessons. How about this: Let’s force everyone to undergo “compulsory driving lessons” every 10 years when the renew their license – you’re happy with that Sean?

Abolish the requirement for “approved instructors” at the very least. Young people are being penalized to keep a big government which should never been expanded the way it was before the ’07 election.

• @Seamus there are some pretty stupid comments made on threads on this site but you have to be awarded the prize for the most ridiculous post . FF were major players in delivering peace to the North that is an undisputed fact so you have made yourself look foolish by saying FF did nothing for the six counties .

• Another very sad day for the people of ireland.

• Why are people so surprised at the high poll ratings of FF? People want to give a signal of dis-satisfaction to the Government parties and so they have given the thumbs up to FF. What was the alternative? Sinn Féin? The ULA? Assorted independents? There IS no alternative. Sinn Féin are not credible – their populist policies have been seen by the people for what they are and the people have had the good sense to reject them. So, the only option was to opt for FF.

• cormac 17/02/13 #

Looks like racist comments against travellers is a vote getter! Who’d a thought it eh?

Add New Comment