TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Fingleton expenses “will infuriate” people, says Hannigan

Dominic Hannigan, the Labour Party TD, has said this highlights the need for increased powers for Oireachtas committees, which will be decided by referendum next month.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland.

EXPENSES RACKED UP by former Irish Nationwide chief executive Michael Fingleton, as well as a €1 million bonus and €11,500 retirement watch, have been heavily criticised by Labour Party TD Dominic Hannigan.

Deputy Hannigan said that reports in today’s Irish Times regarding a letter from Anglo Irish Bank to Fingleton regarding €88,000 in ‘suspect expenses’, “will infuriate members of the public”.

He commented:

The suggestion that Mr Fingleton charged €12,000 for dental work, €6,000 for a watch, €48,000 on the K Club and over €5,000 for foreign travel to the company, will further enrage people who have had to pick up the pieces of the banking crisis that was caused in no small part by the likes of Mr Fingleton.
This money is in addition to the €1m 2008 bonus that he is refusing to repay and the €11,500 that was splashed out on his ‘retirement’ for a watch.

Deputy Hannigan said that “people are rightly frustrated that there is no apparent mechanism through which Mr Fingleton can be held accountable for his actions”.

I appreciate that the Director of Corporate Enforcement is making some progress in investigating the issues around the banking collapse, and I would urge him to look at these expenses to see what if any action can be taken.

He also said that the “refusal of key figures like Mr Fingleton, Sean Fitzpatrick and David Drumm to face the music over their actions highlights the lack of capacity in the system to get to the bottom of serious matters of public concern such as the banking crisis”.

A referendum will  be held on October 27 on giving Oireachtas committees extra powers.

Under the Thirtieth Amendment to the Constitution Bill, 2011, Article 15.10 of the Constitution would be amended.

This would allow the Oireachtas to have “an effective system of inquiry, which can secure effective and cost-efficient parliamentary scrutiny of issues of significant public importance”.

This would include the power to compel witnesses to attend their inquries.

Last week, Minister for Finance Michael Noonan asked that the board of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) continue to pursue Fingleton for the €1 million bonus paid to him in 2009.

Although he has said he will return the bonus, Fingleton has so far failed to do so.

Read: Referendums confirmed on Oireachtas inquiries and judges’ pay>

Read: Referendum will leave door open for banking inquiry>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• If the labour party is so intent on justice I have a solution for them, get the ESB to call round to his house and dig up some trees, if he complains he gets automatically thrown in jail.

• Fingers doesn’t give a toss about what the general public thinks of him. He’ll try and get away with as much as possible. The legal route is the only way these issues will be resolved, not by appealing to his sense of decency, seeing as he seems to completely lack one.

• I was reading about Fingers’ expense claims in the Irish Times this morning. My blood is still boiling! There was a time when conduct like his had a name – embezzlement.

• Untouchables, the mob who ran the country into the ground are all sitting pretty enjoying their tax payer funded pensions, pay-offs, accumulated expenses and of course their obnoxious salaries which they will have invested in the various scams which the banks, developers and other assorted criminals devised during the ‘greed rush’ of the last decade. The laws of this state are so bad that they can’t even throw the book at venal parasite like Fingleton, they can’t even get him to pay back his bonus for bankrupting his own piggy bank. Pathetic failure of the politicians who have ruled the theocracy since so called independence. The complete lack of foresight and vision that has turned Ireland into a failed state on all levels. A country where thieving politicians like Ivor Calelly can laugh in the face of the second chamber and then have the courts find in his favour, a place where con men like Ahern can accept ‘dig-out’s’ and still be Taoiseach. In Ireland a whole culture has developed which sees itself above the law, which has no shame and is proud of the cute hoorism and cronyism that has led to the situation which we find ourselves in today. If this all happened again next week we would still be in the same position because nothing has actually changed.

• Irish civic culture especially the upper echelons, despite being educated to death in recent decades, doesn’t recognise conflicts of interest within its own circles. I allow myself a wry smile when I hear Irish people getting wound up about corruption in Greece or Italy. A look over the shoulder at the last twenty years of tribunals, leaving aside their abusive costs, reveals a society with a sponge-like attraction for all manner of rule bending and corruption. Why do abuses of privilege, power and prestige continue? Because the perpetrators live in an political ecosystem, where the untouchability of the Great men and women of finance, law and politics is a shared value.

• You know Ed. I can’t wait until forums such as this and social network sites are used in the organization of a proper attack on all you describe. An ‘Irish Spring’ where a coordinated approach is taken against this crap. Votes mean nothing, democracy hasn’t worked – elected politicians close the doors on the public until they have appointed each other ministry’s and positions that ill reflect their abilities and are purely given out on the basis of favoritism, nepotism and cutehoorism. They then line up on the steps of the dail for THE PHOTO – silly grins all around their chums on the pig’s back and the electorate shafted.

How moer can this go on?

• Arrest fingers for making false expenses claims (theft) stick him in custody and if he gets bail, look for a million or two euro surety and bring him to trial. Then look into any other illegal financial activity he has being part of and charge him with that also… Why isn’t this being done?

• Be interesting to know how much he spent from his lavish expenses ‘entertaining’ elected representatives AND how much elected representives spent from their lavish expenses ‘entertaining’ him and his like. It’s not by accident that these chaps are not put where they might be cross examined.

• I would have thought that in the normal run of the mill, dental work and jewellery would not qualify as legitimate director’s expenses. But then again, if a director has a contract that specifies such expenditure as allowable, presumably the company picks up the tax liability, there’s not much that can be done except sound off. I distinctly remember our accountant insisting a good few years back that a suit (standard two-piece) that I bought on a company credit card be reported in the end of year accounts as a director’s loan. One rule for the small guy, etc.

• Titus d 30/09/11 #

It’s a sad existence that he has zero remorse for any of his actions and not even willing to return a watch, how he can live with himself is astonishing, all his possessions should be auctioned and donated to SVDP but nothing will happen, he won’t return anything.. It’s the same as John o’Donohue, completely detached from the real world with their selfish behaviour

• put the thieving bollix in gaol!!!!! …. I dont understand…..
    How long are we going to stand by and let Politicians and Lawyers lead us to believe that people like this are anything other than low-life crooks?….. that our only recourse is to swallow this as ‘just another bad luck story’ for us to swallow….? … If we aren’t going to exercise justice and maintain the …”’ here;s another cute hoor… hehe’ mentality… while people are committing suicide beause they cant pay their mortgages… then we are nothing but cowards.

• Dominic Halligan you’re in government and have the power to do something. Now do something or DO ONE!

• i cant stop now that this idiot got me going. Fingers could possibly face jail time(slim chance) but this idiot will never go to jail for reckless behaviour. As part of this government let him nail his coulors to the post and state that if the country is in a worse position when this lot are finished managing it they forfit their seats and pensions – performance related stuff they are so keen to implement in the workplace.

• What infuriates people is the behaviour,salaries,abuses and expenses etc of the TD’s priveliged position. Fingers is in the halfpenny place when you consider the decisions of the politicians and regulators and the cost to the taxpayer. The Td’s and their cohort s in the Seanad cost much more and will continue to cost the taxpayer forever. The cheek of this idiot to think the people of Ireland are so stupid to swollow this trash. Mind you we are not too clever when it comes to elections.

• From March until the end of July, Dominic Hannigan TD claimed e22,415 in expenses, on top of his e92,000 salary. I don’t know how the expenses break down, but I’m sure they’re all valid.

• You’re right! We vote in gobshites like Richards Boyd Barrett, Claire ‘moanyface’ Daly and those other ULA toasted who wouldn’t know how to handle real power if they ever got it, and the Shinners who would give Disney a run for their money creating fantasy when it comes to their economic policies.

• Sorry, I missed the smiley at the end of that “valid” :)

• I disagree with your point about Sinn Fein @Noel Carroll….. In fact, I am very very impressed with most of their contributions on the current crisis…. Some of the most coherent arguments have come from their representatives … and the other parties already RECOGNISE this fact.
      My prediction (and hopes) will be that FF will disappear and Sinn Fein will once again become a very major force in Irish Politics once again. (Right back where they belong….. at the heart of an Irish Free State…)

• furthermore….. no better men to deal with the cute hoor mentality (at the expense of decent Irishmen and women) within the privileged classes.

• An illegitimate democracy at that, where ‘the people’ have no say. We’re a politically crooked nation and the nation’s peers have failed us every step of the way.

• That perhaps is the crucial point in all of this, John.

• "Sticky Fingers" more like it…..!

• Does anyone know his address?

• In the 70′s and 80′s the Dunne family from Dolphins barn were the main drug dealers in Dublin. The motto used at the time was "Larry Dunne didn’t carry". The Garda harassed him and his family and found a way to get Larry caught. They dud this by detaining all his brothers etc and left him no choice but to carry heroin himself. They had road blocks all over town and huge resources were used to catch him. I wonder how many of fingers family have been stopped dropping of the kids to school or doing the shopping? He would return the bloody watch plus the million quid within days if his family were put under pressure. After all they will inherit his cash and assets. The political will is not there like it was with the Dunne’s yet fingers and Sheanie did more damage to our country than all the drug dealers put together.

• I think you may be slightly misinformed @Frank2521……
      I believe Larry Dunne was originally arrested for having (stolen or smuggled) Jewellery (not drugs)….. I remember his mother was interviewed on TV (I watched it on Scottish news in 1980 or 81) ….. when she was asked what she had to say about two of her sons’ involvement with crime, she simply replied …. ‘me heart is broke…’
      but what you are implying is correct in the sense that …. yes, the authorities were at that time prepared to go an ‘extra step or two’ in the cases against ‘blue collar’ criminals… but seem to hold back when it comes to the ‘white collared’ species…

• I must add this…. The Dunnes were mainly responsible for the influx of heroin into Ireland in the late 70′s….
      Whole communities were devastated and the futures of two generations (and counting) went down the drain…
      As much as I detest the greed of the Political and Professional classes….the results of their actions will never be judged to be as evil and perverted as those of people who poisened the lives of their neighbours and the children from already disadvantaged areas in the quest for money….
      But both species have clearly demonstrated once again that somehow the Irish seem quite prepared to step on the hearts and souls of their own countrymen and neighbours to satisfy their greed.

• Nobody deserves to be hanged, no matter what they have done. ( Sorry Pete Lynch )

Why do I have a nagging feeling that releasing stories like this are meant to get us all mad, and distract us from the fact that nothing is REALLY being done to bring Seanie and Fingers to justice.

• Deputy Hannigan said that reports in today’s Irish Times regarding a letter from Anglo Irish Bank to Fingleton regarding €88,000 in ‘suspect expenses’, “will infuriate members of the public”.

Oh Fuck off Deputy Hannigan and stop the fucking spin………….The Irish people are not Children……I take it he is one of your mates..!!

• m fin must be reading this who else would be naieve enough to give thumbs down

• If the mood expressed in posts here demonstrate the anger of the electorate it is only a matter of a short time maybe 12 to 15 months when we move out of our comfort zone that the Citizen / electorate will show their muscle ’cause many are disillusioned with unfillfilled promises & the opposition are toothless – so if the coalition do not heed the will of the people very soon the sabres will start rattling and they will get the surprise of their life. . The people spoke at the last general election – FF were anihilated – the same will happen again but the CITIZEN will claim back Democracy and parties as we know them will cease to exist – read my lips and watch this space !

• You know Ed. I can’t wait until forums such as this and social network sites are used in the organization of a proper attack on all you describe. An ‘Irish Spring’ where a coordinated approach is taken against this crap. Votes mean nothing, democracy hasn’t worked – elected politicians close the doors on the public until they have appointed each other ministry’s and positions that ill reflect their abilities and are purely given out on the basis of favoritism, nepotism and cutehoorism. They then line up on the steps of the dail for THE PHOTO – silly grins all around their chums on the pig’s back and the electorate shafted.

How much more can this go on?

Keep this thread going!!!!

• I don’t know what they’re complaining about. Fingers Fingleton has one of THE nicest smiles you ever did see!

• Keep this thread open.

• Lay off fingers, he’s old and broke and should be left in peace.

Add New Comment