TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

New figures on foreign nationals ‘debunk migrant welfare myth’

The CSO report said that the decline in employment activity for foreign nationals has not resulted in a corresponding increase in social welfare activity.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

NEW FIGURES RELEASED by the Central Statistics Office (CSO) today show a decrease in the number of foreign nationals who were assigned PPS numbers in 2011.

In 2006, some 203, 943 foreign nationals were allocated PPS numbers compared to just 58,300 in 2011. The figures show that 37 per cent of foreign nationals with new PPS numbers had employment activity in that year.

The CSO report said that the decline in employment activity for foreign nationals between 2006 and 2011 has not resulted in a corresponding increase in social welfare activity. For those allocated a PPS number in 2006, employment activity dropped from 71,900 in 2009 to 55,700 in 2011, while their social welfare activity rose from 55,800 to 56,200 over the same period.

The Integration Centre said today that the report “debunks migrant welfare myths” as it shows that there was only a 9 per cent increase in social welfare uptake by migrants in 2011.

CEO, Killian Forde said there are a number of reasons that migrants who come to Ireland and do not find work do not end up drawing social welfare.

One of them is that a driving force behind migration is the seeking of a better life. Migrants are often highly educated and ambitious. Social Welfare would not satisfy their ultimate goal. Another is due to the habitual residence condition brought in 2004, which means that migrants have to prove their connection to the state before they are allowed on welfare.

He said the report shows that there is a considerable turnover in the migrant population with those who were unsuccessful at finding work or employed for just a short period choosing to leave.

“There is a decrease in the number of migrants coming into Ireland – the PPSN allocation in 2006 were over 200,000 and in 2011 the figure is a quarter of that, however 310,000 migrants still recorded employment activity in 2011,” he said. “These people have made Ireland their home and need to be catered for through integration policy.”

Read: Over 26 million people unemployed across the EU>
More: Number of people at work rises for first time in over four years>

Read next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• The problem isn’t with non nationals who came here to work, it’s with native career dolers who never intend to work and happily live off the hard earned taxes of others

• Stephen, you seem to be so clueless, we had a massive problem during the boom time that our FF government didn’t get them lifetime dolers back to work. Happy to hand out the cash instead of getting these people working. Now if you had a brain you would know that it was only 3% unemployment now 15%. Now it is not possible to get these people back to work. There are no jobs for the 12% unemployed because of the recession.

FF did nothing only buddy around with property developers and bankers.
      I see you support FF blame them why didn’t they sort it out when they were in power and the jobs were plentiful.

• Adelle, Ireland’s unemployment rate was 7.9% in 2006 of which 1.5% was long term unemployed.

• During the 1980s the Irish economy was in the doldrums. Unemployment was only 7% in 1979 but it rose to 17% in 1990. Then in the 1990s the situation changed completely. The Irish economy boomed and it became known as the Celtic Tiger. By 2000 unemployment in the Irish Republic had fallen to less than 4%. However in 2008 Ireland entered recession and by the autumn of 2010 unemployment had risen to 13.2%. In October 2012 unemployment in Ireland reached 14.8%.

• Matt 01/03/13 #

The unemployment rate in Ireland in 2006 was 4.3%. Long term unemployment that year was 1.4%.

• Completely agree….the sad fact is that there is 2nd generation of those on the dole for life…and sure why not!
      Council house, fully furnished for free, free medical care…the list goes on.
      A young man of 20 on disability for “anger issues”, once said to me “must really suck having to pay a mortgage and work”.
      During the good times, there was no excuse for a young person to be unemployed. Yet they got their money into the bank account every week, never Questioned why they didn’t have a job

• The unemployment rate in Ireland increased from a low point of 3.6% in 2001 to 4.3% in 2006 (Graph 3.5). Ireland had the third lowest unemployment rate in the EU 27 in 2006 at just over half of the EU 27 average of 7.9% (Table 3.6). The long-term unemployment rate in Ireland was 1.4% in 2005, which was lower than the EU27 average of4%(Table 3.8).

(CSO)

Eu average was 7.6 percent don’t manipulate figures. We had the third lowest unemployment rate.

• When the dole was rising at 3 times the rate of inflation, I don’t blame people for staying put.

We need to give people the right incentive.

We should gradually reduce welfare payments over time but also put in place proper services to assist people re-entering the workforce.

Endless handouts are not the answer.

• Actually there is a massive problem with migrants , Native Irish People are being locked out of the workplace by massive increases of workers from eastern europe especially Romania where the number in January gone applying for PPS numbers was “Treble” the number of the previous.

All that this Report goes to show is that the kind of people who are most likely to be employed are foreign workers while our own are forced onto the Dole because they can’t afford to keep mortages going , feed their kids , pay for doctors etc etc on minimum wage jobs that are on offer .

Remeber in the UK recently when the Labour Party had to apologise to its people for locking them out of the workplace , I wonder will our Labour Party end up doing the same.

• When the recession kicked in claims for disability allowance rose. Its scary to think that a recession can disable so many people..

• What exactly are you saying?…that Irish employers prefer non nationals to Irish citizens?

• David dole was rising along with inflation yes and so were prices. I don’t think anyone should have had dole during the boom unless they had a medical reason why they couldn’t work.
      But now dole has been drastically reduced cost of living has not, oil and electricity gone up.

You say reduce and reduce to ease people back into work. Reducing and reducing a family already in poverty. Will lead to more poverty.

We need more growth in economy before we can even consider that. There just are no jobs for many people.

They have their money reduced and low paid have their taxes increases to pay for the banks. Imagine if that money was going back into economy then we would have alot more growth than 6,000 jobs in a year when you put it against the amount of jobs lost. How long will then 6,000 jobs last when the amount of money people have to spend is going to see a drastic reduction

• what would gradually refucing handout achieve? why are social welfare payments ‘endless handouts’? ….

• Depends David, are u working of the real inflation figures, or FG fudged inflation figures

Btw, slave bridge don’t pay no bills

• @Stephen: Would you be able to estimate the number of ”native career dolers”’ ?

• So basically the Report Proves that Migrants are getting the Jobs while the natives are stuck on the dole . This is disgraceful , this displacement of Irish workers in preference of Migrant workers has to stop , given the above report we most certainly need to sit down and re-form our Immigration Laws so Irish People can get back working again.

• Well i know in my place of work this is not the case. Im the only Irish person at my place of work, any other irish person taken on left because they said the work was too tough and ‘Id be better off on the dole’. Their attitude was shocking considering how difficult it is to find a job these days. Any of the Eastern european people I have come across are very dedicated and hard-working.

• I have a problem with FF coat trailers getting handouts instead of working.

• I see alot of red thumbs to my questions, but no actual answers. it is very easy to be lazy, close minded and not to critically think about the issues, to many sheep in this country that blame the priblems we have on everyone else but when it comes to them, then they are the poor victims and we should feel sorry for them. Wake up people, you created the problems we face today, look in the mirror before blaming others.

• I agree 100% with you Freebies.Shame about the red thumbs..

• Another myth Sliobeli. You don’t automatically qualify for a “free” council house. You go onto a list and houses are allocated, when available, on a sliding scale according to need. And just to let you know that the current position on the council list in north dublin for a single mother with one child stands at 3,069 and a single unemployed lad with no kids does not even make the list! I know this as I witnessed this first hand at Fingal County Council offices last week and have a copy of the persons position on that list. Now I had to explain to that girl that she has to go back to her slum landlord’s crummy, stinking, overpriced apartment, one third of which is paid for by the State and wait it out for approximately ten years. Oh and just to let you know most areas in north Dublin are overallocated for rent allowance so any new applicants don’t qualify. I checked this one out with Community Welfare and was told that they can only allocate so much to each area. So much for anyone in desperate need of accommodation. Next time you feel like venting go do the research first. Call your local council’s information line. It’s no big secret and is public information. I’m so tired of seeing it on the frontline then hearing and reading about all these myths that abound about welfare and housing.

• Agree Dave, but now is the completely wrong time to be doing it.

• @ siobeli and suazcanal: (interesting names by the way) ref: your disability insult –
      with the recession came lay offs, came poverty, came increase work loads on less staff, came greed, came depression. labour court cases increased, severe mental break down in the work force, lowered morale, increase competition, fear, capitalist gain, panic, unethical work practices, bullying, xenophobia, anger, suicide… do you think this is the end? it hasn’t even started. humans aren’t robots, they forgot that bit.

• I think the social welfare should set up an office in lourdes. I mean im sure some of those bastards thsr get cured just keep on claiming disability benefit.

• My 2 children have had to leave Ireland to get jobs. If their chosen country had a “no jobs for Immigrants” policy they would be here with hundreds of thousands others in poverty.

• Private business in Ireland is not financed by Irish government as far as I know and hence idea Irish first is unfortunately flawed. Great workers first – that makes much more sense for me if I was business owner. And if those great workers happen to be Irish then even better, if not hard luck, it’s not charity it’s business.
    Personally I don’t know many hard working people out of work whether be Irish or non Irish. Worst are moaners who were useless themselves in first place or were charging fortune for mediocre service and this now changed for them a lot and won’t go back. They must blame somebody surely. Enda Kenny, RyanAir, foreigners, bankers… Etc list is long.

• I’m a foreign national here in Ireland and I have never claimed any benefits.I do agree with Risteard that giving people social welfare payments keeps them away from crime!(at least some of them).Some of my friends came back to their countries or left for Canada ,Australia or Norway.Of course there will always be a minority who try to milk the hardworking tax-payers here!

• Barry 01/03/13 #

Sure these stats won’t make a lick of different to the crowd of people that constantly rant on about “foreign people coming over here living off our welfare, etc etc”

Facts and figures play no part in these people’s lives.

There’s far more life social welfare people in Ireland already then imported people, whole familys that know nothing other then living off the state and they still believe that everyone owes them something.

• There was a cross party agreement not to debate immigration which spat on the face of democracy, Germany and Austria said no to such insanity and opted for work permits, an option Ahern &co LTD ignored. The strain on the social welfare, health and education systems because of this madness is immeasurable, the front line such as cops, hospital staff will tell you. The issue of the amount of jobs in manufacturing and services taken by non nationals when so many Irish are unemployed in their own country is another price, a tad off topic but we got what we were spoofed into voting for so complaining is as futile as ….I dunno trying to get a job perhaps.

• I personally know many polish people who live here some I work with and others are employed by companies I do business with,I also know a few polish women who are in relationships with friends of mine,
    In my experience they are hard-working conscientious and highly skilled, they are pleasant to work with and good company socially,
    Why should they be discriminated against because they are not Irish?
    All the African migrants I have met in the last ten years are the complete opposite and I would not wish to work or socialise with them?
    feel free to call me racist but that is my honest experience.

• Yes Niall,You are a racist..Nice little statement you made there about how wonderful our Polish friends are.I too work with 5 Polish men every day.To be honest,I also find them very racist against the Africans..Their habit of spitting on the ground makes me want to puke also..

• i’d have to agree with you JohnMoz, though Slovakians i find more racist than any i have ever met. They’d call Africans ‘banana people’, 2 i knew would always be spitting on the ground, what is that about? and 1 in particular – constantly fiddling with himself under his tracksuit bottoms, watching everything, drinking beer everynight and online gambling. granted do what you want, but a bit extreme for me.

• Tommy C 02/03/13 #

Plenty of Irish men gob on the ground and walk around with their hands down their tracksuit bottoms adjusting themselves. Just look at the majority of lads around O’Connell st or coming out of any court in the country.

• As if thats going to stop peoples ignorances towards to migrants in Ireland. Some want to dislike anything different to them. You hear the same crap over and over again. Stories of Polish people flying to Dublin on cheap Ryanair flights to sign on, not to mention the racist attitude towards African nationals in the dole que. It comes from bitter Irish people who are often useless to society themselves, at least many migrants worked and contributed to the tax system that is now helping them out now they’re struggling to find work. I’d be surprised to see attitudes change regardless…. as i’m sure will be propagated by people on the comments below.

• Kev you clearly have all the answers

• On the greater scheme of things, pal. We all know nothing

• How are so many Africans getting into Ireland?
      Theres a generation of kids born between 1998 and 2006 who were only conceived so their parents could stay in Ireland.

• well Kev, having a good job here, grand, problem is i really really do not like been asked how much salary i earn by a foreigner or by anyone!, thats my business. this question comes up a lot a lot a lot once you get to know each other. a way of guaging their worth against yours? a polish worker told a mate of mine that he should be paid the same as him cos “he believed he was doing the same work” regardless of course that my mate was there 6 years and he had just landed, and well he’s work wasn’t up to the same standard either but anyway…. you know the cheek some of them have really goes beyond a joke. many come in here knowing nothing, learn a bit then think they can command a wage to the level of a top qualified worker because they believe “they suddenly know it all”. i’ve seen more botched up jobs from foreign workers that said they could do the job but then couldn’t and lets not speak about their dentists – cheap but you’re taking a risk.

• Hahaha this is hilarious what you are saying. Not sure what your mate is exactly doing, some of those people who are coming over in here are overqualified for the job they are doing, and they are doing it because there is no other option, the only reason your friend is getting paid as much as he does is because most likely he got the job in the boom time and it’s difficult to get rid of him now. Believe me I know few people in my work who are crap in what they are doing but they are doing it for a long time and they are getting paid far more than I am, they are Irish they hate their jobs at the moment but they know that if they will leave the place there is no company that will hire them for the amount they are on now, regardless how many courses and experience they have. So yes cheek of me saying that I should be earning at least the same amount as them but it ain’t gonna happen.

• So the migrants who dont find work, cant find work or become unemployed are more likely to leave Ireland then stay here on the dole. That is how I read that. Is that correct?

Question. Does that mean even the migrants have had enough of how this country is being run but are in a better position to do something about it, unlike lots of Irish people?

• Adele – Stephen is correct, he is referring to career dole heads who have not and will never want to work.

• If someone is on the dole in Poland, Spain etc, they CAN do on the dole here immediately. They do not have to prove anything except that they were claiming the dole at home.
    Theres no such thing as a working Romany gypsy here either. Theyre ALL on the dole and milking the taxpayer.

• Tommy C you are extremely incompetent with your comments and not first time. First of all moving dole from another EU country to Ireland is really difficult and loaded with paperwork. Trust me real scammers won’t be able to follow up through this procedure most times an genuine people probably won’t bother. Secondly, when moving dole to Ireland you will be paid equivalent of your dole in your native country, not an Irish rate. As dole in Eastern Europe is very low then Ireland will pay very low and this this exercise is not really profitable to potential people. Finally, to move dole to Ireland you need to be in receipt of your dole in native country. Most people who scam the system are not in receipt as they long ago stopped receiving it or never had it. Coming to Ireland won’t make them get Irish dole. Get your facts right tommy as you either are trolling or are of very poor knowledge.

Think read in chapter 10 – E, link below.

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Jobseekers-Benefit.aspx

• @Tommy C
      Even if you transfer dole into Ireland you can claim it only for 3 months and you only get the same amount as in origin country: around €40 per week!!

• well i don’t know, gypsy, roma, whatever, but they’re Romanian and theres about 10 of them inc. the kids living in a 3 bed house near my parents, 3 cars outside and not 1 of them work! coming to a town near you. They could be training to be mechanics, 1 of them is constantly messing about with the car.

• Tommy C 02/03/13 #

Fizi, ” Finally, to move dole to Ireland you need to be in receipt of your dole in native country.” Thats EXACTLY what I said. You reckon if you claim dole here youll get what youd receive in your home country? Nonsense. Just like its nonsense that you get full Irish childrens allowance for kids that arent here instead of the same amount you’d get in your home country.

• @tommy
      U are talking nonsense. What kind of analogy is that?? Read, get actual facts then comment. So far you are talking absolute crap

• @tommy c
      To claim any child benefit for EU nationals in Ireland you have to have work history in state. We are talking about newbies, with no work history in Ireland at all. So, you are loosing topic. In their case they can Transfer child benefit from their orgin country but again- it will be equivalent of amount they were getting back home

• Yap one of the things I’ve learnt and found quite beneficial is ‘assume nothing’, assumptions can be far fetched. Yes there may be common trends associated with a particular sect of people but that’s a global thing that varies from place to place however that should not mean we should paint all with same brush as it were. Foreigners come here, locals emigrate that’s life and circumstances, I’d love to know how many foreigners are actually in this country currently vs the number of ‘Irish’ in diaspora? It’s an age old phenomena, people travel across the globe some may chose or at times forced to settle elsewhere unfortunately there will always be some who would do so in a not so pleasant way, i.e, others may settle in other countries illegally, or colonise others, or fiddle the system, or worse. Wherever there are humans some will be great others not so great and a few in deferent, if only we could harness our strengths, respect our differences, cultures and each other, there could be more good out of that than bad, surely. This has nothing to do with thumbs up or down, nor language and grammar test, rather more to do with a call for acknowledging the issues, understanding the positives and negatives in society made up of everyone, then investing the energy in making the place, the country and hopefully the wider world better for ALL. Maybe lets begin with self, as a person, and work outwards.

• The idea of the dole us great. In certain parts of the country, you’re practically paying people not to committ crime!

• Yes there might not be signing on the dole , the amount of east European taking low paid job but claiming other thing family allowance and other stuff , we have not got room in the schools , I worked in the building Industroy and the wages have droped below 10 euros a hour

• Kosma 01/03/13 #

I think you make a good point, if you have a family to support you cant compete with people working for that share a house and live on their own (young migrants/irish).

But the real problem is not competition on the job market but wages and the cost of living, you should be able to provide for a family on a normal wage.

• I agree with an honest days pay for an honest days work..Yes,most migrants are very hard working.I agree.But they are an employers wet dream.They will work many extra hours for less wages than the average Irishman will work.But that’s the main reason why the wages/rates have dropped..

• On the other hand mate look what exorbitant wages did to Ireland. Too big wages are bad to economy too. Because of huge wages in past so many people are now with negative equity mortgages – just quickest example! All needs to be sustainable to go long way…

• All foreign nationals who are not working should be sent home….. We can’t afford them here…. We need to start worrying about our own first!!

• Not a very good idea Andrew. If Usa, Cannada , Australia, New Zealand, Germany , GB, Holland etc follow suit for Irish people. What then ?

• Tommy C 02/03/13 #

Padraic, first of all, Irish people dont get into USA, Canada, Australia and NZ without a skill or qualification, secondly, they are not entitled to the dole in any of these countries, thirdly, they must leave these countries if they lose their job and cannot find another one within a certain amount of time and finally, our dole is much higher than that in the UK, Germany and Holland so why on earth would any irish person go to any of those countries as welfare tourists?

• Tommy I worked 2 years in GB 2 years in Holland 18 years in Germany. Met in all countries many Irish people on the dole. I was on the dole in each of these countries for aprox. 2 months in each case. I was very happy that such help was available.

• By the way, most of the Irish people that I met on the dole in GB were working black at the same time. In those days it was very easy to register without proof of identification. So statistics can be very misleading.

• In Germany many Irish and GB workers working for Dutch agencies advised their workers how to work black and claim dole at the same time. Of course all sides agreed, This went on for many many years

• I’m not argueing for large wages..If more Irish are in the workforce the spending of said money stays in Ireland..Most of the money earned by Eastern Euros is sent home..It’s not spent on Irish goods anyway..I think we should look after our own first.

• Foreigners, this is where the public sector money is going. We should be vigilant w Ithaca immigration.

• SEE? But you beat me to the punch

• B 01/03/13 #

9% increase in 2011 but is that 9% on the total welfare spend on immigrants or 9% increase in relation to only those immigrants who arrived in 2011…. Because there would be a huge difference in those figures.

2/3rds of the PPSN numbers issued to immigrants in 2011 showed no employment activity.. So they either got welfare or left the country.

• I’m shocked about some comments left on a clear racist line. I’m migrant, Italian, moved here to follow the dream of a better life than what I was living in my Country. I made Ireland my new home, got a PPSN and I haven’t left or got welfare (as “B” above mentioned). I didn’t surrender and continued to seek for a job till I get one, whatever job and wage because I need to pay rent, bills and eating.
    But honestly the biggest obstacle I always find comes from employers that ask for fully qualified workers with years of experience on their shoulders, leaving no room for who’s new or who wants to change, whether Irish or foreigner.
    Not talking about internships, CE schemes or WWP.
    I’d like to join an internship and I’m also available to get only €50/w but I’m not on welfare so I can’t.
    So don’t blame foreigners when they do jobs that Irish don’t want to, please.

• Tommy C 02/03/13 #

What?? Employers want someone fully qualified for jobs with experience? Eh, Id pretty much expect that. Why would someone with no qualification or experience get a job over a native with whats required?

• As an Irish ex pat living In the USA for a number of years…. Some of the comments above are awful … The Irish have been a migrant people for generations and have been accepted in
    their adopted countries… Why can’t the Irish accept new arrivals and embrace them? Not all emigrants in Ireland are milking the system ,They are just looking for a better life like a lot of your forefathers were!

Add New Comment