TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Former taoisigh lose mobile phone and secretarial expenses

From yesterday, former taoisigh are no longer entitled to claim expenses for secretarial work and mobile phones from the state.

Former taoisigh like Brian Cowen, pictured, are no longer entitled to claim expenses for their mobile phone bills.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

FIVE FORMER TAOISIGH will be made to cover their own costs for mobile phone usage and secretarial assistants under a new regime taking effect yesterday.

Yesterday marked the date on which the previous expenses system – where former taoisigh were entitled to seek a refund of the cost of phone expenses and hiring staff to assist them with their formal duties.

Over €1.16 million had been paid by the Department of the Taoiseach to six former heads of government since 2001, when the scheme was introduced under the tenure of Bertie Ahern.

Ahern was by far the largest claimant under the scheme, receiving almost €377,000 between his retirement as taoiseach in May 2008 and late 2011.

Albert Reynolds had received over €250,000 to pay for office assistants and incurred another €7,234 in phone expenses, while the late Garret FitzGerald had accrued €230,000 in secretarial expenses.

Brian Cowen, who was taoiseach until March of last year, had claimed €32,576 under the scheme by the beginning of October, when the government released figures relating to spending on the programme.

Charles Haughey had received almost €94,000 before his death in 2007, while John Bruton had received €166,380. Liam Cosgrave, who served between 1973 and 1977, had not claimed any expenses under the scheme.

Enda Kenny announced the withdrawal of the expenses, which formed part of the Budget for 2012, during his address to the nation last month. Former taoisigh had also lost their right to a car and Garda driver last year.

Former taoisigh remain on the Council of State for as long as they live.

Download: Payments to former taoisigh, 2001-2011 (PDF format) >

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Mr Ahern will be just fine with his gross pension of €139,785.34 a year – not to mention €40,00 for every speaking trip to Nigeria!
    At €2496 a week he still gets for life, its is a sickening amount wasted!

Cowen gets €138,769.42 a year by the way!

• Well, this is a start, anyway

• The grossly obsceneFat-Cat pensions MUST be clawed back. The people have just had enough of this crap!

• How was that allowed to go on. They expect the people to take huh cuts and are doing the opposite themselves. They should reclaim all expenses on these phones and other perks at least to 2008 when the country started going down the tubes.SHAME ON THEM not that they care.

• These kinds of ministerial pensions should not be paid out until the recipient is at retirement age – if at all – and should be at the same rate as the State pension. A referendum on this would have been more useful.

• Jambbie 02/01/12 #

Agree with most of the comments here as regards Bertie etc
    The other gripe I have is that Olwyn Enright “retired” her Dail seat recently aged in her mid 30′s with a lump sum of around €130,000 and an annual pension of €22,000 .. What’s the bleedin story there, that’s just plain wrong. We’re gonna have to take to the streets en masse. I think a lot of people fear what the Garda will do to them if they protest ie “will I get arrested”, it’s time the Garda sided with Joe Soap and demand these politicians stop robbing us taxpayers. They as we all know are the real criminals.

• Ah Bertie will be ok he can go to the bookies again and win some more money.

• Those pair of pr***s Ahern and Cowen should lose a damn sight more than what the article says considering how much the ordinary person has lost living on alot less than above two w**kers.But this is Ireland and the present government will protect the pervious lot,because they look forward to the same crazy “entitlements”.

• Totally correct. I couldn’t agree more!
      The present lot will do feck all changing or reforming – a bit of window-dressing for the public that are docile sheep but nothing that might effect themselves in the long run for when their own time comes.

• Obviously North Korea’s not the only place that has “dear leaders”!

• maura 02/01/12 #

Write or email the Minister of Finance and demand all pensions are stopped until age of retirement pension. No more expenses for doing your job such as attending Dail Eireann, T.D’s get a salary like the rest of us and should not be paid extra for doing the job they applied for. As for contract of employment if they complain we know how to give P45′s at the next election, that should soften their cough. Prove all expenses with receipts none of this 2 tier system. Please Sein Fein don’t tell tell me about living on the average industrial wage, what you do with your pay is totally up to you.

• The Irish have gone too soft – while politicians ,connected civil servants and the likes are raping our finances our most needy people continue to suffer !

• Ah. A good news story. Wonder when will the govt extend this withdrawal of funding to the pensions of former ministers convicted of corruption etc?

• This is just the tip of the iceberg. Next should be ministerial salaries and td’s pay and benefits. If they want support then they should lead by example and not just take a paltry cut but a proper one. Plus €7000 for the presidents chair was absurd. The President could also lead by example. One question might be Is there an acceptable level of expense and pay the people would agree with for all politicians????

• Absolutely right Alan. Political will is needed.

DublinNass. The cronyism of FG/Lab is exactly like FF. They won’t touch pensions cos they are next in line on the gravy train. Hypocrites the lot of ‘em

• Very good point about Olwyn Enright you made Jambie. It’s like a win -win situation for any politician if they decide to give up their Dail Seat. ahern claimed over €300k in phone and secretarial expenses, absolutely criminal. But as others alluded to already this is only window dressing by the current govt.’ Don’t rock the boat too much lads as we’ll be reaching the land of milk and honey soon ourselves’A govt. with real conviction would have made them repay these vast expenses rather than hitting hard stuck homeowners with a property tax. Shame on Gilmore the weasel and Joan burton as well. They all talked a great game in opposition .

• jimbo 02/01/12 #

Should of been done a long time ago.

• Big fat criminals… especially that ahern F**er.

• I’ve got to say Liam Cosgrave has went up in my estimation quite a bit, firstly by gifting back some of his pension to the State and then also not claiming any secretarial/mobile expenses since 2001. Where as a certain Mr Ahern managed to claim an incredible €377,000 in 3.5 years.

• Agent. 02/01/12 #

Cowen pictured above,is he talking State business or is he just ordering the grub?

• Aydo I think you’ll find it’s the principal of the whole thing rather than the sum of monies involved. The principal been, they are asking the country to take hits left right and centre while these people are leading or are ex leaders of this country, who are supposedly setting an example for us all to follow. I know, that seems crazy!Is it any wonder none of trust a politician. Public representatives, I think not!

• Aydo 02/01/12 #

Your missing the point Vinny.
      Like most people in the country it seems. These pay issues are a distraction from the real issues.
      If you can’t see that, well, it’s a pity.

• I know what your saying Aydo but if you don’t think that paying a man who ruined a country 360 thousand on expenses for a secretary(for what)and phones since he left office while the rest of the country are struggling to repay his overinflated mess then I think you’ll find that your missing the point.

• Aydo 02/01/12 #

I think it was a travesty that this was allowed yes, but there seems to be more interest in this than the fact that banks won’t lend after we gave them BILLIONS, not 100s of thousands.
      This is inconsequential in comparison.

• Aydo is right. These crumbs are put out to keep the mob outraged at the small stuff.

• It’s a start, but only a small impact to get headlines.
    Pensions as structured now are unsustainable. A cap will eventually be brought in when the illusory growth we are pinning our recovery hopes on doesn’t materialise.
    Vested interests need to be tackled, including overblown state pensions, landlords and consultants.

• Aydo 02/01/12 #

Great distraction from the money we handed to banks who now hand out no loans. I can’t believe people are do concerned with these tiny moneys when the bigger picture is ignored.

• As Tesco says every little helps.You have to go for the small stuff too it all mounts up.Who does n’t want Bertie or Biffo to suffer.They won’tsuffer much, but optics are this governments way of getting away with beating the big guy with a small stick and the rest of us with the f***king tree.

• Could not agree more aydo what we are told by this goverment and the controled media is lies

• Aydo. Couldn’t agree more. Makes me laugh the way they go mad for this stuff, yet moan?? at the begrudgers?? who give out about the banks and government. Wtf

• It really is just chickenfeed in the greater scheme of things. It should be cut, no doubt about that but it will change nothing. The greatest wealth transfer this country has ever seen since the plantation has occurred over the last 3-4 years. All the savings that the above will generate will only equate to several minutes money spent on the failed and badly run banks – but hey we can’t let them be held accountable, better to let the country sink.

Richard Tol said that we can expect another 16 years of tough budgets. This could have been such a great little country but through our own greed, low self respect and individualism we backed bent gom parties like FG/FF. In 2011 over 53% of the electorate voted for these 2 parties, even though FF have the worst economic record in the western world and FG are not far off that.

• I’m happy to hear they are stopping it.
      But there is no doubt in my mind that the gubbermint is throwin a few scraps at us
      hoping to slate the rage that many feel, meself included, at the bank bailout.

The Chrimbo is deffo over!
      Now the real shit can begin….

• “Low self esteem”. Yes. And small mindedness. Not able to see big picture.

• The bad news is that 2012 will be rough, the good news is that it will be better than 2013. :) Merry Shitmas to all in FF and Anglo Irish.

• Smack! Tim. Can’t like that. I’m an optimist. HNY to all of us. Keep throwing the cold water on them till they wake up but no kicking! ;)

• Oh come on all of you.
    Think of all this austerity, it eventually had to hit the poor ‘retired’* spent out politicians* who put their heart and soul into saving* the country from the dogs*

Retired = holidaying
    Politicians = people who feather their own nests
    Saving = destroying
    Dogs = europe

My heart bleeds for them, not.

• The political will to correct these cronyist payments is simply not there………. we have installed successive governments who only talk ‘social solidarity’ when in opposition…….. when elected they assume the mantra — Do as I say, not as I do — as elected representatives their notion of solidarity soon shifts to the pre-existing private capital establishment………….. we might have the votes, but unfortunately they don’t come in little brown envelopes………..

• Bruce 02/01/12 #

Enda’s grand gesture. Why not get balls and limit all state pensions to €75k – with NO extras. Max 50% of final salary irrespective of grade etc.

• We are borrowing to fund current salaries and pensions! Any housewife will tell these clowns that you don’t spend what you do not have. Cut all salaries, pensions and so called benefits until we clear all de dross and restore some not so common Common sense to our greedy self serving politicians and over paid higher public servants!!!

• Dub in naas, are you mad????
    The Government has already cut the pay of all civil and public servants and introduced a pension levy which is another pay cut by another name.
    I’m not sticking up for TD’s or Government ministers or any other Fat Cat in state employment, what I’m saying is that when they want to they can cut pay on employees at a whim.
    All of the fat cats of any description whether in state employment or not should have a 60% tax rate placed on them if they earn over 100K simple as that. And for good measure any TD or minister should not be entitled to a pension unless they have served a more realistic amount of time in the employ of the state, 30years for instance and certainly not be allowed to claim double pensions NO MATTER WHAT!!!

• bring back hanging for treason and we wouldn’t have to have this conversation………

• There MUST be a cap on all state pensions … Full stop. Regardless of position/job/service etc, we cannot afford to pay these type of crazy phone number pensions. our country is broke. Bobby Sands starved himself to death (along with 9 others) to demonstrate to our peoples that there are selfless people willing to do what they can to help all the people on this Island. Then i see the likes of cowen, aherne, hearney et all and my blood boils. These guys should be in prison, not out collecting pension checks every week from the state.

• Diet FG = FF

Same bad taste no added sugar.

• Its all those Politicians with nothing better to do, sitting there giving things the thumbs down :)

• Looking forward to the state funerals of all of these corrupt bas*ards past and present.

• a lot of positive comments above which i agree with but i cant understand why they are getn dislike votes instead of more like votes

• Perhaps Liam Cosgrave hadn’t heard about it?

• We need to be clear on a few things here.

The salaries/pensions of Government Ministers are not covered by the constitution therefore a referendum does not apply.

Like any employee, their salary/pension entitlements is part of their contract of employment.
    Therefore their employer (the State) cannot just change that contract as it so wishes. To do so would be breach of contract and would land them in court.

So there’s very little they can do.

Direct your anger at those who *awarded* the increases (Past FF governments) and not those who are trying to reduce them.

Finally, would you *really* think that FG don’t want to get one over on FF by reducing some of their entitlements/pensions ????

• I disagree. They can introduce legislation under advice of the AG’s office. Should they take this step, it would look immoral if they challenged it. Legislation can and WOULD be allowed, if the political will existed.

• Jambbie 02/01/12 #

Sorry a contract of employment can be changed where the change is deemed “reasonable”. And cutting fat cat pensions would in my opinion be reasonable.

• The Irish Constitution, Bunreacht na hÉireann, exists to define our nation, defend its institutions and not to provide privileged refuges for the well-connected to escape their civic obligations and contribution to social solidarity, especially at a time of unprecedented crisis and widespread severe hardship. http://bit.ly/vP2ZgR

The people are the sovereign voice in Ireland and if a referendum was called on this particular issue they would do away with these grotesque pensions. The Supreme Court judges (whose pay was the subject of a recent referendum) would have to bow to the result.

It’s not beyond FG & Labour though to attempt to court popularity on this issue – it would be another cynical move by them though.

• @alan mc menamin
      All legislation is drafted upon the advice of the AG, it usually his office that does the drafting.
      However legislation cannot be retrospective (no matter how much we might wish it was).

@jambbie
      I’m sure its reasonable in *your* opinion.
      However it would be a judge in a court of law that would decide what is *reasonable* or not.

@andrewbrennan
      I’m sorry but I don’t know how to respond to your comment

• Jambbie 02/01/12 #

@dubinnaas
      You actually just verified my reply.
      If this country is in economic strife, and a change to ministerial pensions which would ease the burden on the public purses, and crucially increase the morale of the laymen, is before a judge then any reasonable judge would sanction such an alteration because it is reasonable.

• @jambbie
      If, in *your* opinion you believe this is what a judge would believe, I can’t tell you that your opinion is wrong.

I can only tell you that it is *your* opinion.

On a small point, reducing Ministerial pensions will make absolutely no difference to the public purse.
      The damage Fianna Fail did was of such a massive and overwhelming degree, that it wouldn’t even be small change.

• Let me know when he looses his head.

• We here rumours this morning of a possible emergency budget before the year is out. Also revisiting the Social welfare issue. Because the Government might not be able to reach its targets.So there is a case for them to radically cut the Hugh pensions former Govern minsters and Civil servants are getting.

Add New Comment