Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Four in ten parents ‘binge drink’ at least once a month

A still from tomorrow's Prime Time
Image: RTÉ

JUST OVER FOUR in ten parents ‘binge drink’ at least once a month – with the majority of those drinking most often at home, according to a new survey.

The figures suggest that 42 per cent of parents consume five or more drinks in one sitting – the definition of a binge – once a month or more. Of those, 67 per cent said they drink most frequently in the home.

Meanwhile 86 per cent of under-18s interviewed said they drink alcohol, and one in five admit that drinking has affected their school or working lives. Underage male drinkers say they consume an average of 10 drinks on a normal night out.

The survey of 800 parents, young adults and minors was carried out by RTÉ’s Prime Time as part of a special report on alcohol to be broadcast tomorrow evening.

It also found that young adults consume an average of nine drinks on a “normal” night out, with 44 per cent drinking at least once a week.

One doctor at St James’s Hospital in Dublin told reporters that alcohol-related acute pancreatitis – which can be fatal – is now as common in the institution’s emergency department as appendicitis.

‘Top of the world league’

“There is a link between population consumption and alcohol related harm,” HSE public health specialist Professor Joe Barry told the programme. “We’re at the high end of Europe which is the highest in the world so we’re up there at the top of the world league.”

Drinkers are often unaware of the damage they are doing to themselves, according to another expert. Prof Aidan McCormick of the St Vincent’s Hospital Liver Unit said:

The people who come into us are very surprised that they are in a liver unit, they would not regard themselves as having an alcohol problem. They would typically say ‘I’ve never missed a day’s work.’

The Prime Time episode was commissioned to mark ten years since the landmark show Saturday Night Sunday Morning, which sparked a public debate about Ireland’s drinking culture.

More: Report calls for ban on alcohol sponsorship of sport and festivals>

Read Next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• John Cleary 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

No surprises here. If messy drinking could be minted, we’d be richer than Switzerland.
    The national pasttime-getting bladdered.

• Soupy Norman 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Doesn’t anyone else despise the fact we allow ourselves to be coated as a culture of drunkards?

So patronising and condescending when ‘all Irish are drunks’ stereotype is flaunted around.
      The British are no different, as well as many other European countries.

• Revolting Peasant 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i binge drink once a week, i am determined to stop this destructive behaviour, until recently i regarded it as a harmless ‘just having a few pints’, in reality i get drunk and make a fool out of myself, spend all my money, get sick for at least one day after and spend half the week depressed, and that isnt even the worst aspect, i also have regular arguments with my partner and this is not lost on the 9 year old boy in the house, its a fools game

• Begrudgy 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

86% of all under 18′s drink. Ahh come on.

• Chris lynch 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That was my though aswell, and the under 18 males consume on average 10 drinks, I’m 27 I don’t think I could take average 10 drinks on a night out…

• Billy Kennedy 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lightweights! ;)

• Chris lynch 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Billy, by then drink I mean ten bottle of whiskey ;-)

• Sean Claffey 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’d easily believe that. I’m 21, when I was 18 pretty much everyone I knew drank. I can easily drink 10 drinks in a night and so can most of my friends, some girls included. There are two people my age I can think of who had never drank before they turned 18. So don’t doubt what you read JUST because you haven’t seen it for yourself.

• John Tulley 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ahh here most under 18s would like to think they could drink that many but as 1 of them myself most of my mates are out cold after 4!!

• Jason Walsh 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Underage male drinkers say they consume an average of 10 drinks on a normal night out” they be telling lies. Sura they’d be on their ear after 3-4 cans of Dutch gold. Teenage surveys = lies.

• Report this comment

Very true.If today’s teenagers are anything like my friends and I at that age,they’ll talk shite for Ireland. Ten drinks a week probably equates to two cans a month behind the bike shed. I’m not trivializing the issue, but what teenage lads say in a survey when they know that Mammy won’t find out who they are definitely needs to be taken with a large pinch of salt.

• John Manahan 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Another investigative programme that will bombard us with statistics and real life stories. RTE and TV3 regularly do this – The Frontline was devoted to alcohol abuse only last Monday. The issue for me is whether there will be anything new or revealing in tomorrow’s programme. Doubtful.

• tuba hg 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

And these parents are surprised when their own children start drinking illegally pre 18yrs or even worse tolerate them drinking underage.
    Their logic being if they didnt do it at home they would do it outside the home

• Chris lynch 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Seriously are you for real, 40% of Parents say they would have more then 5 drinks once a month. The majority drink at home (as it cheaper as being a parent is expensive).

Drinking more then 5 drinks once a month is not a captive as “Binge Drink”

If and when you go out for a night, Thumbs up if you would have more then 5 drinks,

• Leslie Alan Rock 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

agree Chris Im 34. If i have anymore than 6pints Im fit for me bed

• Peter Carroll 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The definition of binge drinking, being five or more drinks at a sitting, gneeds examining. Does this, for example, include five glasses of wine, which is the equivalent of two and half pints – too much to drive, but hardly a binge. There is beyond doubt a serious alcohol problem in this country, but sensationalising unrealisic numbers devalues the message.

• John O'Mahony 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Old adage about drinking – one is enough, two is too many and three isn’t half enough!

• Jambbie 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sensationalism again, binge drinking me hole. 5 cans is a binge??

Getting more like America everyday, where a gust of wind gets a name.

• Hanly Sheelagh 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What about all those damaged livers and pancreatitis. Young people nowadays are sailing close to the wind with their health.

• Conor Farrell 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Not even. A “drink” is a unit, which is roughly half a pint or half a can (it can vary on the beer). So binge drinking is drinking more than two and a half cans in one sitting. Apparently.

• Chris lynch 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

5 or more drinks is a bit vague to be fair.

Also I saw the add for this on Saturday night, how come they always have the camera in the perfect spot to see people falling over, getting sick and so on. All the times I’ve been out and worked in a Pub/Club for 6 Years, it was very rare that I would see people falling all over the place, as these shows lead you to believe. I’ve not doubt it happens but an editing room is great thing in these cases.

• Cpm 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Meanwhile 86 per cent of under-18s interviewed said they drink alcohol. ”

My two year old has never had a drop of alcohol, and I can’t imagine any of the other kids in his creche have either.

• Daniel Murray 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Did you know that 68% of all statistics are made up on the spot?

• Revolting Peasant 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

as the mighty philosopher Homer (Simpson) once said ‘statistics! you can use statistics to prove anything thats even remotely true, 14% of people know that!’

• Eimear Lavery 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

RTE need this to have shock value- this has to have something. Let’s be honest Prime Time is on its knees so a few statistics to scare us all sober might pull in ratings. Now, pub? I’d murder a beer or 4.9!

• Frank2521 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The bigger issue is binge eating – most Irish people do it everyday and there is no talk of taxing food or stopping advertising! Yet this will be the biggest cost to the state in years to come. Will parents be charged with abusive behaviour for stuffing their children from as young as 2.??? Nothing will happen as just look at our leaders – they all look like gluttons.

• Michelle McMahon 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The worst thing about binge drinking and alcoholism is not just the direct negative impact on your physical health but the indirect negative impact it has on your children. Fine you might not miss a day at work and from the outside it might appear that you are doing just fine but what annoys me is when parents aren’t available to support their children in the evenings or at weekends with their school work. Children typically get a piece of reading to practice at home and often they need to practice it with a parent especially children with learning difficulties. They arrive in to school the next day without having practised it with an adult and you can’t get mad at them. It’s not their fault their mum or dad were out of it. I know that is a specific example but when you’re a parent and you drink it’s not just your own future you’re damaging.

• Joan Featherstone 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

In fairness Michelle, I don’t think there’s too many of those around, I would imagine they do most of their drinking at weekends, unless they are complete scumbags!

• Joe McDermott 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Joan you sap, not all alcoholics are scumbags…please dont comment again EVER!

• Report this comment

Yes joan – not sure if you’ve ever encountered an alcoholic but I’m pretty damn sure they’re not all scumbags. Alcoholism is an illness! Perhaps you should refrain on commenting on things you obviously know sweet feck all about!!

• John Daly 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Alcoholism is not an illness, it’s an addiction, no different to being addicted to cigarettes or sugar. Stop this Americanism that it’s a disease, bs

• Bud O'Rourke 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ah drink the cause of and the solution to all life’s problems

• Joan Featherstone 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I did not mention the word alcoholic in my comment, what I said was anyone who drank so much that they couldn’t help their children with their homework during school time, is a scumbag. BTW my father was an alcoholic, so I did have first hand knowledge (he’s dead now, RIP).

• Joe McDermott 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Binge Drinking! Isnt that what we used to just call the weekend.

• Lois Mcgrath 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

isn’t binge drinking when you drink as much as you can in the shortest time possible before you pass out….when did it become sitting over a bottle of wine while watching a film…the worlds gone mad…

• Roos Demol 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s about the health problems it causes. You can have your five glasses while watching TV and drink yourself a nice lethal pancreatitis or liver cirrhosis.
      Also, though, even of you’re not falling over. If your child needs you, you won’t give it the attention it needs when you’ve consumed 5 glasses of any alcohol. It’s plain wrong. Whether you like it or not.

• Lois Mcgrath 20/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mmmmmm nothing wrong with my liver in fact I’ve. Never been healtier and its been over 20 years since i Sat down and watch a film before nine o’clock. ….Nothing wrong in that

• Eugene O' Neill 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The night I turned 18 my mates pushed me into town,went into a then popular night club,my mates and work colleagues where all their buying me shots and drinks,I started drinking from the age of 16 and had little experience handing myself with drink But that night I was elephants.
    The next day with a extreme hangover I awoke from my best mate ringing my mobile phone.
    He told me after we left the club that I jumped on a Garda’s back to try and get a jockey back of him,That same Garda was attending a car accident on O’Connell street and threw me to the ground then cleared me away from the scene,My mate told me I was lucky to not have been arrested because the Garda were in short numbers caring to the car accident(Thankfully no one was hurt).
    I felt like a shithead for what I done and lucky not to have a criminal record but my mates got a bit of a laugh about it.
    I think drinking on nights out out is a bit of a learning curve,So from that I was much more cautious from drinking and never behaved like that again.

The 18-20 younger crowds but not all fall into bars and clubs half cut drinking in their mates house before a student night,Then buying €3 a drink on the night including spirits its a recipe for disaster.
    I think barman and doormen need to be more responsible because these kids don’t know how to.Prices of alcohol is not the answer,Education Is.There is plenty of people in this country that can have a few cheap beers one or two nights a week and be responsible.

• Tom Neville 20/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I simply don’t believe the statistic.

Add New Comment