TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Fr Brian D’Arcy defends appearance at Quinn rally

The priest said he went to the rally as it was a priest’s duty to be in the area.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

FATHER BRIAN D’ARCY has defended his appearance at a rally in Cavan in support of the Quinn family.

The rally took place in Ballyconnell last Sunday and Fr D’Arcy spoke to Charlie Bird on RTÉ Radio 1′s Marian Finucane show this morning about the responses he received afterwards.

Neighbour

Admitting there has been “a lot of stick”, he said he had gotten about 20 letters, which is a small amount for him, and that only about three of them were supportive.

The priest said he went there “not as some big public figure”, but “quite simply because I’m a neighbour” and from the local area.

Fr D’Arcy said that “it’s a priest’s duty to be in the area” and that he was asked to be there. He said that he has tried to help all sorts of people, including workers and family members, for the past three or four years “to try to terms with the tragedy that has happened in this area”.

“I make no apology for being there as a priest,” he said, adding that he would be “very, very remiss in my duty if I didn’t go there as a priest.”

Fr D’Arcy said that “a community has a right to get together and be supportive”. He added that “we must also remember the burden that has been placed on the taxpayers by all of this”.

Sean Quinn

Fr D’Arcy also said he is “against wrongdoing of any kind”. Regarding Peter Darragh Quinn, who is facing a prison sentence if he returns to the Republic of Ireland, Fr D’Arcy said he has spoken to him once and told him the situation will “have to be resolved according to justice in its own good time”.

He said he also spoke to Sean Quinn once, but added that he is not a guru and advisor to the Quinns.

I think as a priest there is no point in me being a priest if I only show compassion to a select few. I think Sean Quinn knows if he needs my hand I will be there.

When asked if he would visit Seán Quinn Jr in prison, he said that he would in the future.

In Pictures: Thousands gather for Quinn rally in Cavan>

Read: GAA confirms no formal involvement in Quinn rally>

Read next:

Comments (156 Comments)

• Fr. Darcy could have offered his role as a priest to those members of his community without getting up on the back of a truck to address the rally. This was not a pastoral role at all but demonstrating public support. He’s being dishonest about his motives.

• Exactly. He could have been supportive in private. This should not have become some public event. I have no problem with anybody recognising the employment he created but Quinn is not on trial for creating employment.
      The scales of justice don’t weigh your positives against your negatives.

• alan 04/08/12 #

“I make no apology for being there as a priest,” he said, adding that he would be “very, very remiss in my duty if I didn’t go there as a priest.”

so, wehre will he pop up next?

• Exactly. As priest (spiritual support) he had zero need to stand at a microphone. As neighbour he had zero need to be there in a collar. He stood on stage in a collar to appear to give the Quinn’s the support of the church & that’s dishonest of him, just like those who claimed the whole GAA county were behind the Quinns because some famous GAA names were there.

• Birdie 04/08/12 #

I wonder does he visit all prisoners from his parish , all this family have done is left all insured drivers to pay a levy of 5% extra on insurance policies , it is sickening to see the support they have this sort of wreckless activity and greed from the Quinns and others is what has this country on its knees .

• Obviously everyone is entitled to their opinion but anyone trying to defend a man doing everything in his power to defraud a broke state of 480 odd million needs their head examined.

• If he can defend that dye-job, he can defend anything. I heard elsewhere that he was “supporting a family in need”… I guess 500 million in hidden assets just doesn’t go as far as it used to. I wonder if he’ll ask Bob Geldof to record a single for them.

• I wonder would Brian D’Arcy lend his support to the decent folk in Priory Hall who have been treated with contempt.

• Up to this I had nothing but respect for the man but there are so many more people deserving of a voice at these times. It’s a disgrace to see a priest as mouth piece for an ex billionaire at a time when we’re losing special needs assistants and services to the young, disabled and poor etc.

• Fr. Darcy should concentrate on his role as a catholic priest instead of supporting dodgy business men…

• If Fr Brian only “attended” the rally then I could accept the comments attributed to him above even though I believe the Quinns position based on what we know is untenable. However, as he spoke in favour of the Quinns then the comments attributed to him are nonsense and go far beyond any ministerial obligations that he felt that he might have.

• Misguided !!

• first the GAA, and now the celebrity priest at this rally…….two corrupt institution that seems to think the quinns deserve a fair deal, its no wonder the public are mad over this, although the top nobs at GAA HQ came out and said they had no part in there lads being there it was amazing it took so long for them to release a statement when clearly if they didnt have interests with the quinns they would have done it sooner, like the day after of the rally instead chose to wait to see what the public reaction would be as usual there a classy breed. And as for the lad darcy i suppose its his choice to come out and support but hes gotta know the sorta sh*t storm this was gonna create. Either way but Darcy and the members of the GAA that supported this rally have left themselves and the institutions they represent open to attacks!

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Tom,
      You obviously don’t think Quinn deserves a fair deal….very humane of you, As for your opinion on why it took the GAA so long to release a comment….You must think everyone thinks like you. That they ‘waited to see what the public reaction was ‘. Is that what you do? Do you ‘Wait to see what the media want you to believe’, or do you have an individual voice in there?
      Maybe Fr. Darcy and other people at the rally have left themselves with a clear conscience…and an individual voice…unlike some

• @V.F I think you are missing the point of a rally, it is to have a collective voice not just an individual one, otherwise what would the point be?

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Yes Pierce, you are right here. The rally was to show support collectively. However the opinons and views of the supporters at the rally seem to be supporting Quinn’s and letting them have fair trial in their case against Anglo (unlike that of Tom), and this view seems to be very much the minority voice in Ireland at the minute. That’s what i meant. That the Quinn supporters were showing support because they believe there are 2 sides to this story, that every citizen should be given a chance. Knowledge is power and in this case i think many people in the country don’t have the knowledge to make up their mind about the case. We are being given a biased view of the Quinn saga for months and years now and it is only when you read the details of the Anglo/Quinn deals that the truth is revealed. Maybe Fr Darcy has done so and has made up his mind based on the facts, rather than the biased (and Anglo inspired) voice of the media

• It is a priest’s duty, it would seem, to go wherever the limelight goes.

• The Catholic Church and money have always been close. Fr. D’Arcy just likes to be around it. No surprise there. He is also a bit of a celeb junkie. He just cannot help himself. I lost respect for him after his tenure in Mount Argus. He really is just a bit of an “Auld Wan”. Ignore him, it will kill him. :-)

• Damien 04/08/12 #

It’s because of people lik the quinns that we are still plodding through a recession that doesn’t seem to have an end in sight with the debt that is saddled on the state. Any person who went to that rally in support of them is a disgrace or just really stupid and gullible…

• Only in Ireland would you get celebrity priests.
    Almost as useless and annoying a Royal families.
    Why does be get any airtime at all?

• Our Brian loves the ould media spotlight all the same. If I was the Quinns I’d be telling him to stick to the Sunday World. Muppet!

• Fr.Brian Darcy is a hypocrite and is finally being seen for what he really is!!!

• Best giggle I had all week was on Marion Finnucan show on RTE radio 1 this morning. There was Charlie Bird all set to discuss with Sean Kelly if he regretted his appearance at the Quinn rally. Mr Kelly reeled him in by first properly offering his condolences on the death of Con Houlihan. Birdie waited patiently and then pounced again. Do you regret etc? Mr Kelly then dropped the bombshell – he was not in Ballyconnell at all at all!! Was at home watching the Sunday game. Interview over! Excellent piece of investigative journalism -not!! Just shows RTE have learned nothing from their past mistakes. Still not checking facts.

• Well I’m surprised at that as there was no sign of Kelly in the TV coverage. However, his “support” has been reported over the week so I’m surprised that Bird didn’t ask him to explain why he odes (or doesn’t) support the former executives of the Quinn Group.

• This guy was the last priest I kinda listened to since all the rest turned out to be daddies , liars, paedophiles , hypocrites.etc His prescence at the Quinn rally has taken what little bit of respect I had left . He’s one of them now

• Brian Darcy should be free to say whatever he wants and support whomever he wants, but when he puts on the dog collar he is representative of the catholic church. So I can only deduce from this that his superiors are in favour of the actions of the Quinn family.

• Er, does anyone else think that he’s been using the Grecian for men?
    Anyway I don’t why there should be surprises here.

• Smiley 04/08/12 #

Is this guy’s hair for real or a bad toupée?

• catholic priests have a long tradition of supporting lawbreakers. if they’re not pritecting pedos they’re writing letters to judges. no respect for this man.

• He says he had a right to be there and was asked to be there, fair enough but he also had the option to not be there and chose to go. He didn’t have to speak at the rally although who’d pay for the church roof if he didn’t?

• Who is he?

• I see another one of Sean Quinns ‘back of the lorry brigade’ Colm O Rourke sits comfortably in the RTE GAA studio at taxpayers expense. In the week that saw RTE post a loss of 16 million euro, which the taxpayer will end up paying! should RTE be employing public backers of Sean Quinn ???

• Who cares what Darcy has to say

• Agreed, who cares what a little old priest has to say. No respect for him or the establishment he works for, or the people he associates with. He’s a priest, his opinion actually means less to me than a mere mortals.

• Hope he brought plenty of plenary indulgences with him…

• Poppy 04/08/12 #

Not really sure if I agree with his public support of the Quinns….but I do think he is a genuine good person

• Whenever two or three are gathered in my name (and there’s a camera), i’ll be there…..

• Very disappointed in Fr Brian Darcy ….misguided at the very least but to be honest maybe he is under instruction from his superiors to regain favor …..We all know how much the Church loves money or the prospect of it ……..And Fr Brian has been critical of the Church in the past ….. He should not have been at the rally . He should keep out of politics.

• Eileen your comments are totally misguided.! You suggest that this preening priest should it get involved in politics. Why do you think that disobeying the lawful Orders of the High Court of Ireland has anything to do with politics. Why would you believe that a man who removes millions of Euro from a Company that he does not own constitutes a political act? All of this is about illegalities and criminal activity and disobeying lawful instructions handed down by properly appointed judges. Does that accord with your views Eileen or am I just being pedantic?

• Here you go again Mick, deliberately misrepresenting my comments, .

• Mick, if it involves Anglo then it’s political. Simple as that really.

• You sir are an idiot

• Never trust a man who dyes his hair.

• Fr D’Arcy also said he is “against wrongdoing of any kind.” Why then his deafening silence over the internment of Marian Price?

• nobody cares about some tit of a priest who writes for a rag and is an ever presence in the late late audience, why don’t you have more news on R. Patz and K. Stew?

• If Quinn got what he thought he was getting he would probably own anglo today all been well he would have made a fortune his own bank with all his money and advisers all he could see was the euro signs , his insurance business was been milked by him at the same time now he has to rob the people of Ireland and the insurance company bill is handed over to the people of Ireland 1.5 billion to be paid while he hides 500 million , in jail he should be and kept in jail until the money is returned , and no priest or gaa mouth piece can change that.

• I’m glad money is not my god

• I had high respect for the man – especially i standing up to Rome at times – but not only being there but speaking for the Quinn’s has deeply disappointed me.

I will never see him again in the same high regard I had for him. Its a damn pity!
    He’s only himself to blame!

• S...G 04/08/12 #

I dont know if I trust anyone who believes that a father who lets his own son be thrown to the wolves is a great decision……..Now I’m talking about GOD (Christian one) and Jesus F Christ of course!

• A good example of what is seriously wrong with this country.

• Does Darcy take the confessions of these people locally? It’s a real catholic thing to commit crime all week and attend confession on Saturday be forgiven by a priest and start committing crime again the next week. Keep it up Darcy or think about a change of profession. It’s not cooincidance that Ireland, Spain, Italy have bankrupt the EU. Catholic countries like the Quinns are not really responsible for their problems they are victims of course and the priests agree.

• I always had a lot of respect for Fr.Brian but really I think by appearing at the rally last week he, whether he likes it or not has given a public display in favour of the Quinns. Im thinking that it was publicity for himself that he was seaking, why not call to the Quinn home to offer support? No camera’s I guess.

• He is not even a local priest but lives in Enniskillen.

Why were the the priests from Ballyconell or Derrylin not on the platform?

Not famous enough or did they disagree with the Reverend D’Arcy?

Incidentally, there were no trade unionists at the demo. Hardly surprising.

• Some times i wonder if people are paid full time to write awful comments about Sean Quinn. I keep reading the same comments from the same people. i love this website, i hope im wrong.

• Supporting people that stated the would have problem placing their hand on the bible in court and then telling lies , not what God intended misguided and a misguided priest .

• My facebook page is real my name is real my comment is real I have nothing to hide most of what I read is people using false names and photos of dogs etc. if quinns and their supporters want to make comments let them make them but not behind false mugshots and false names those that do that are no better than the quinns, the truth is the truth like it or not.

• Two assaults on the intelligence today.
    1. Brian D’Arcy’s ten bob each way on the Quinn vs Justice debate.
    2. Michael Harding’s windy rhetoric on same topic in The Irish Times.

• He believe’s in God, so believing in Quinn is much more plausible, at least he’s real.

• He can support whoever he wants. A priest is suppose to support everyone right or wrong they are

• Father Trendy has some neck even the dogs on the streets know Quinn and his gang are as bogey as a Balbriggan outdoor market dvd/cigarette salesman, he is clown from anothe era and should dedicate his time to genuine cases not thisnonsense

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Oh wow, the witch hunt is never ending… not bad enough the Quinn’s but now anyone who is seen to be in support of them. Shame on you faceless audience, Anglo-driven opinion is spreading like wild-flower. Here’s hoping that the truth will out…..

• What’s the truth then? That he didn’t illegally use funds from the insurance co? That he didn’t literally bet the house on Anglo shares?

• Your name says it all. It is so easy to criticise. I wonder how many jobs you created Faceless? So easy to point the finger Sir!!

• @ Y.F.

You educate yourself and kop on!

See: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19063419

Shame on you for allowing yourself to be blind!

• If you’re looking for the truth you could do worse than start here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19063419

This link has been posted several times by different contributers on articles relating to Quinn, but Quinn supporters go strangely silent when they read it. I suppose you’ll just say that the BBC are a mouthpiece for Anglo??

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

The truth is that Quinn did take funds from Quinn Direct (He has openly admitted that). Matthew Elderfield then put his insurance company into administration, even though the correct and legal reserves for an insurance company were in Quinn Direct on the day that the administrators walked through the door. Then, in a most underhand, military style, and devious way Anglo took over Quinn group. They have been working away in all of these companies since, and they are still looking for the 455 million in undisputed debt from Quinn. (Even though the assets (hotels, pubs, factories and insurance) were well in excess of the worth of this debt. Anglo still have not reduced the debt by even a euro. The truth is that Quinn gambled on a bank that was showing fictitious accounts, and was giviing inaccurate and illegally over-valued share prices. The truth is that the Quinn children were then offered loans of millions and millions to prop up the share prices. The truth is that they were asked to sign documentation 5+ months after signing off these loans, to say that they had had legal advice prior to signing off the loans. The truth is that Sean Quinn put forward a perfectly viable plan to Anglo, which was approved by banks and Ministers alike. This plan would have meant that the full 2.8 bn would have been repaid within an 7-8y year period. However, Anglo did not want the Quinn’s involved in ‘their’ business and wanted him gone, so they put their own interests in front of the interests of the Irish tax-payer and decided to ignore the plan. The truth is that Anglo have taken Quinn’s means of ever hoping to repay that (disputed ) debt, and so Quinn’s hands are completely tied (by Anglo). The truth is that Anglo are working under the guise of trying to retrieve funds ‘for the tax-payer’ when in reality they didn’t give a damn about the tax-payer when they were ignoring Quinn’s repayment plan. The truth is that Quinn’s debts and dealing were with Anglo, a private debt, a private deal. The government, very generously burdened all of us with this and made it a tax-payers problem. The truth is that the Ownership of the assets abroad have not been proven yet, and Sean junior is in jail, regardless of this fact. Finally. the truth is that Anglo /the government are working very hard to make sure that the Irish population are fooled into believing the biased story, the story they want out there.

• Are we judging people’s worth by the amount of jobs they create? Can we excuse unethical behaviour on the basis that they took people off the dole?

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Biggins and Mattoid,
      I most certainly do not go silent went i see that article, in fact, if you go into yesterday’s journal, you will see how i have responded to Jim fitzpatrick’s biased views. He tells the facts, yes. He does not tell ALLthe facts. He skims over things that he does not want the reader to dwell on and doesn’t mention many of facts that are very important about this case. If you really want to hear my views on the Jim Fitzpatrick’s article, read my entry under yours (biggins). The article stinks to high heaven of one-sided, biased and ‘Pro’Anglo’ views…..just what you’d expect from the lovely Jim Fitzpatrick

• Quinn supporters can spin as they like but the records still stands about his actions, his illegal actions and his defiance of the courts of Ireland.

Breaking the law – is just that and nothing less.
      we give out about all others doing it from politicians to developers, etc – and Sean Quinn in breaking the law, is NO different – despite what sob story he tell for his supporters while still actually breaking it and defying the courts!

Double standards of the hypocritical if he was to be let off – but we yet want all the others to see justice, who do similar!

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Just so that I can’t be accused of ignoring the ‘factual’ article that you seem to be advertising all over the place::
      Biggins,
      Impartial BBC? Jim Fitzpatrick? jim fitzpatrick has spent the last 12 months and probably a lot longer chasing after Quinn. He is not impartial. He does give some facts in his piece and is extremely biased in his views on Quinn. This is clear when you read his piece and sees that very relevant parts of the Quinn/ Anglo story are completely ignored or glossed over as quickly as possible. Jim says that Quinn gambled (True), but he forgets to mention that what he was gambling with was a completely corrupt and illegal bank, who put up the share prices to advertise the bank as being a very safe bet….which they so obviously weren’t. JIm also says that Quinn did not have the correct reserves in Quinn Direct so Matthew Elderfield stepped in and sent the company into administration. This is true, but what Fitzpatrick forgets to mention is that the reserves had been met on the day the administrators were sent into the company. (He also forgets to mention that VHI, at the same time did not have sufficient reserves but were left to their own devices) He describes how Quinn set about putting the assets out of hte reach of Anglo…they weren’t hiding assets from the tax-payer, but merely putting them out of Anglo’s dirty hands until it was proven that Anglo were entitled to them. Quinn admits this, and his son has been jailed for same. Jim fails to mention that Quinn is unable to purge his contempt without the help of third parties…this includes Anglo. So Anglo are telling the tax-payer that they are trying to retrieve as much as they can for them…but behind the scenes it would seem that they are not at all interested in doing same…they are only interested in scape goating Quinns so that their own corruptions are well disguised from public view. ..And with the Jim fitzpatricks on board, that’s what’s happening. He fails to mention that Peter Quinn offered to mediate between bank and Quinn but Anglo refused mediation….. (even if they didn’t Peter Quinn to do the job, surely they could have got mediation from somebody) Jim also fails to describe what happened after the loans had been taken out. How Anglo went to the Quinn children 5+ months after they had signed off the loans (of millions and millions ) and asked them to sign that they had had legal advice before signing. He doesn’t mention how all of Quinn’s companies, hotels, pubs and group were taken off him, which were worth well in excess of 455 million (undisputed debt) and that Anglo have taken NOTHING off the debt that they say is owed.Neither does he mention the method in which this ‘taking over’ was done….a most horrific and dirty deed. He glosses over the fact that Quinn promised to pay back the debt in full but that his means (ie his insurance company etc ) were taken off him…so his hands were tied…by Anglo, once again. He doesnt mention the fact that Quinn’s (disputed) debts were personal debts between him and bank…and were only made public because our government made them so. So I completely disagree. I believe that Jim fitzpatrick is extremely biased against the Quinns and that he has selective memory loss in his writing!

• Why do you disguise yourself as Y.F and then describe people who are critical of the Quinn thieves as faceless critics.

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Mick Collins,
      Why to you decribe Quinn as a thief when he isn’t?. he has been found guilty of contempt of court, not theft. When i used the term ‘faceless audience’, i meant everyone that uses the internet forums….in that we are ( most of us) faceless on it. I meant nothing more…

• Faceless internet audience…Like yourself?

• @ Y.F.

Christ – you don’t seem to get it or deliberately don’t want to!

REGARDLESS of who wrote the piece, Jim Fitzpatrick or whoever,

The judges words based on evidence stands!
      The laws that they broke stands!
      The actions of doing something while they say another stands!
      Their movement of items against court orders stands
      …And much more

All the fcuking spinning you want to see by Jim Fitzpatrick or who ever the hell is saying what yo just don’t want to hear, is not going to change the basic facts.

THEY BROKE THE LAW – MULTIPLE TIMES!!!

What the fcuk do you not get?

Are you exposing they should get off?

What double standard stupidity!

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Yes Mark, like myself. I meant anyone using the internet forums….see above. Yes, i am faceless too…see my internet name

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Biggins,
      Calm down. Yes, Quinn has broken the law. That has been established. The rest is your opinion of Jim Fitzpatricks’s facts ( not all the facts)

• I love this crap that he created job – he ALSO took them away too pritty damn quicj – but SHUSH… weare not supposed to kop that bit.

Its better PR for him if we just see that he crated jobs instead of dumping them, leaving many, many families to struggle with mortgages and many bills they thought they could pay till the Quinns pulled the rug from underneath them with their much asset stripping!

The next person that just says “but… but…they created jobs” is short-sighted and an idiot who don’t wan to see the later picture or doesn’t wish others to see it too!

• ‘Shame on you faceless audience’ – are you shamed too then?

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Eh,
      I never mentioned that he created jobs anywhere…now now Biggins. Have you got a hidden agenda here?…are you advertising the fact that Quinn created jobs yourself…..shhhhhhhhh if Jim Fitzpatrick hears you at that craic you’ll be dust

• Biggins, you must have realised at this stage that the Quinns do not have a PR team. It is blatantly obvious. Anglo, on the other hand can afford lots of PR (at the taxpayers expense). And their PR team are definitely getting their point across!!!!!!!

• @ Y.F.

The rest IS established court facts.
      If it were not – the whole Irish mass media would be up in court for printed liable!
      Has the Quinns said the facts are false in the media at ANY stage – NOT A JOT!

How stupid do you think Y.F. – that the whole international media community is all going to write lies and at home, break the law themselves?

• @ Y.F.

1. Others here are crying “But he created jobs…” (but neglecting to mention that they dumped them! I wonder why!)

2. The Quinns are their own PR team – that seems to gone over the heads of the blind here – as well as they probably being advised what and what nopt to say with their team of solicitors!

3. There is NO Anglo any more – its now the IBRC – a combination of banks! Jeasus – some people can’t even get that right!

Let the spin by double standard supporters here continue…

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Mark,
      Let me explain this as simply as possibly to you. What I meant was that people on the internet {including myself} are faceless. This means what no-one knows who they are. I said ‘shame on you’ to the people on these forums who were believing the Anglo-led propaganda. I do include myself in one way, but not in the other. I hope I have cleared things up.
      Biggins,
      I’m saying that Quinn is not allowed to discuss the facts because of the arrests in Anglo and also because of the case he is bringing against them himself. I’m saying to read things with an open mind. I’m saying make up your own mind,,,and not what you’re told to believe.

• @ Y.F.

I have an open mind and there NO innocent parties here.

Anglo when it was running, has a lot to answer for – and that putting it mildly.

As has Quinns!

No one forded them to make the choices they made.
      No one forced them to decide to buy a bank.
      No one forced them into a loan.
      No one forced them to break the laws of the land.
      No one forced them to defy two judges.
      No one forced them to do a lot of things.

As much as we demand justice for all the possible law breakers of the developers and politicians and civil servants in high office, we should also hold accountable business people that brought about through their own non-payments, the collapse of the banking system that you and I will be paying for – for possible next decades!

To do and ask for anything less – is double standards.

The Quinns case will be going ahead -despite the current attempted spin by them.
      The facts will stand.
      The evidence will be contested and stand.
      The already evidence has not been contested – in fact Mr Quinn admitted the courts was right!

They should pay the penalty for their actions as would anyone else in the eyes of the law.
      Laws by the way, they HAVE broken!

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Biggins,
      I’m not going to argue with you anymore. If Quinn is allowed his day in court against Anglo, then i will be happy. Whatever a judge decides on the case, i will accept as just….not what Anglo decide is just.
      Quinn has and is paying for his actions….despite what the media would like to portray, nobody would like to see their son in jail and their hands tied with regards getting him out. He is unable to purge his contempt. He has lost what he spent 35+ years building. He has lost the respect of the nation.(most of) He is hated beyond belief but i respect him more for going against the big boys and standing up for what he knows is truth. Go Quinn….all the way!

• @ Y.F.

What two faced double standard stupidity.

He lost this… he lost that…
      He reaped what he sowed – and still hoped to get away with!

Amazing the people here who want to get him off – yet I bet these same people are giving out about others by the bucket loads “Why can Mr X and Mr Y be arrested and dragged into a court?” they cry continuously…

…But when the courts of Ireland actually get them into court? “O’ let them off, sure he created jobs!” – well so did Biffo they say, and Bertie, and even C.J. Haughty – and we all know the cloud of suspicion they are under besides many more!

Quinn is NO different – he broke the laws of the land – even by his own admission – and he broke them seriously!

Quinn has already been allowed many days, weeks, months in court – and still its been found that he has broken the law and such is the weight of evidence – even he can’t contest the already facts and documents before not one but two judges!

“He has lost the respect of the nation.”
      …O’ well that ok then – let him off!
      Maybe we should let off every other national high profile crook too because they just lost the respect of a nation?

Boo hoo!

The law is the law – and he and his family broke it – and as they dumped jobs for their own means, they didn’t give a toss about the unemployed they created – only themselves.
      …And some people still cheer them on and support them?

What bloody short sighted stupidity!

• Hopefully Quinn will go all the way – to prison.

• Y.F. 04/08/12 #

Biggins,
      You’re arguement is not with me. I never mentioned his creation of jobs or getting anyone elso in court. I’m talking about Quinn getting to bring his case against Anglo into the court. The court case Quinn was brought into and found in contempt of was a case brought against him by Anglo… about the removal of assets out of Anglo’s reach. They were guilty…they were and are being punished (ie Quinn)
      THE CASE that am talking about is the case that Quinn is bringing against Anglo….absolutely nothing to do with the contempt of court case. READ UP!

• @ Y.F.

Just a small point and not being argumentative.

The case brought against him was brought by the IRBC – not the defunct Anglo.
      The IRBC had to get his backside into court for he was not co-operating.
      …And he continued that way in defiance.

The outcome of the legality of the loans, indeed has yet to be settled.
      I can oly say that he was quite happy to take on the loans with their legal status it looks like – when it suited him.
      When it came to pay back…” O’ now I contest the loans!”

We shall have to wait and see if the courts of Ireland will swallow any possible more lies and deception.

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

YF you have accused me of having an agenda and of being on the ‘Anglo’ payroll.

For the sake of transparency are you prepared to disclose what your connection to the Quinns is? You seem to have an in-depth knowledge of the Quinn group and its operations, and you have repeatedly demonstrated a clear pro-Quinn bias on various Quinn-related threads…

• Unfortunately Biggins, Mattoid and Co there is not enough money in the world to pay for your version of justice.

Someone has to create the wealth to pay the extortionate ”legal” bills.

• Y.F. 05/08/12 #

Mattoid,
      It has long been established in my head that you are with IBRC (or IRBC as Biggins likes to refer to it)
      I’m wondering is your second name Dukes by any chance. I am faceless because i choose to be. I have had a huge interest in this from the beginning, because I have smellt a stink form early on… and I’m not stupid as Biggins likes to imply. I am not employed by Quinn’s, and have no more agenda than trying to give the family some kind of hearing, My interest is in justice, and fair trial. I find it absolutely unacceptable that this country is going to let Anglo get away with making sure Quinn doesn’t get to court with his case.

• Well said Y.F Ive been watching the disgraceful antics of the media/ Anglo and essentially our government for the past few months now. Unbelievable how Anglo are winning over the public and getting to inhibit the Quinns case from ever seeing the courtroom. I’m glad to see that people are starting to speak out against the grain and demand the other side of the story.

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

@YF
      “It has long been established in my head that you are with the IBRC”

I have told you on several occasions that I am just an ordinary taxpayer who is extremely pissed off at having two fingers continually stuck up at me by the likes of Quinn, the former Anglo and many others.

Maybe its time to put the tinfoil hat on if you think I’m on the IBRC payroll? But then again it appears that that is not the only thing inside your head which is somewhat detached from reality…

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

@Biggins
      The Quinn camp prefer to contine to use the name ‘Anglo’ instead of the more factually accurate name of IBRS (which is a different entity).

I guess they think the name ‘Anglo’ carries more emotional impact in the national psyche.

• Cara 05/08/12 #

I agree that there is an agenda against the Quinn family. I agree that Anglo will stop at nothing to stop Sean Quinn taking his big case against them. I agree that the government don’t want the case to go to court either as their lack of regulation, cronyism and poorly run banking system will be there for the rest of the world to see. Somehow our “septic bank” is on our side, and Quinn is the villan. How in God’s name did that happen? Quinn should be given his day in court and not sentenced by media.

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

YF
      If you took the trouble to look you would find that I have been a regular commenter on a wide range of issues on the Journal for a considerable time.

On the other hand, you are very new to the Journal and I have only ever seen you contribute to Quinn-related threads. Please correct me if I am wrong.

• Aoife Barry 05/08/12 #

Hi folks, arguing is not making a constructive contribution to the comments here. Can we have less of the personal comments and arguments please?
      Thanks in advance.
      Aoife

• http://foolscrow.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/the-systematic-plundering-of-sean-quinn-people-of-ireland-beware-the-vampire-banks-have-their-fangs-in-you-too/

Folks if anyone is interested read this. It is v informative about how banking works. It may make some of you sit up and think. For your own sakes if for no other reason.

• Brian. The fact that his attendance has been reported in the media all week is indicative of the amount of rubbish being reported about this subject. Any idiot with a basic command of English is given a platform as long as they are anti Quinn. And of course it’s not hard feeding the gullible who mostly do not seem to have the wherewithal to do a bit of investigating for themselves. They’ll believe anything they read – probably will also eat anything they see -:)

• Alison, the reports that I heard indicated that he supported the former executives of the Quinn Group. I don’t recall all of the reports stating he was at the rally. Most of media reports appear to be accurate and the more Quinn talks it would seem to agree with the status quo. There are few points of this fiasco where Quinn is actually in the right and has a legitimate case against IRBC. Overall, he gambled all the jobs he created and expects the rest of us to pick up the tab because he lost. No thanks … we’re already paying for the problems in Quinn Direct!

• Brian Darcy is a real man witih his own mind unlike most of the sheep commenters on this article!

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

Oh I get it, someone who listens to the Quinnspin version of events has his own mind, but someone who prefers to listen to the high court version of events is a sheep… Niiiiiiiice…

• Cara 05/08/12 #

There is no full story Mattoid until Quinn’s case against Anglo is heard and the amount of Quinn debt is ruled upon. One thing about Fr Brian D’arcy is that he always speaks out on what he believes in – whether it gets him in trouble or not. I, for one, hope he never changes.

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

Completely agree Cara, and Quinn may have a case about part of the debt when it eventually comes to court, however in the meantime he has taken it on himself to pre-empt the court case and declare that the debt is invalid, refusing to pay and finding himself in contempt of court as a result. The law is the law, and he has ridden rough-shod right over it.
      It would be a great little country if anyone could just declare that the finding of any court ruling that went against them was wrong, and they were therefore just going to ignore it…

• Cara 05/08/12 #

Ok, you have a valid point too Mattoid, but Sean Quinn is taking on IBRC (and maybe the government too) in this main case. How could he take this case if he had no money for lawyers? I think IBRC are trying to stop this case in any way possible, stripping him of his money and having a massive PR campaign against him. Sean Quinn is not blameless, but I think it is more important for this country for the whole truth to come out and the only way for this to happen is the hearing of both sides in court.

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

I’ve heard the Quinn supporters make that argument Cara, and it might have some validity if it wasn’t for the magnitude of the figures involved. Does he really think he’ll need half a billion euro to pay his legal fees??

• Unbelievable! It is not bad enough that Sean Quinn is bankrupt, his kids are in the process of moving out of their homes, his son is in jail. Now those who come out to support him are being hounded too. I cannot understand the people on these sites full time criticising others. Have you nothing better to be doing?

• Yeh who’d have thought people would be pissed at the supporters of someone who’s cost the country a few billion at the very time it’s on it’s knees?

• Charlie I’d have better things to do but a I have to fork out so much in tax and levies because of the Quinn family and others like them I have to stay in an save the few cents i have left so ill voice my wrath on those who have stolen from me my family and everyone else in this country.

• Wel Chris, I hope that gets you somewhere. I also hope that you get a chance ‘to voice your wrath’ on others as well as Quinn. It is amazing the belief that some have….that Quinn is the reason for the entire country’s woes.

• Scarr 05/08/12 #

@charlie – not entirely responsible for our woes but his behaviour has certainly added to them

• mattoid 05/08/12 #

Fair point Aoife, but if someone is repeatedly and incorrectly smearing me by saying that I have a hidden agenda and falsely claiming that I am “on the payroll” of a named organisation, I feel I have a right to respond…

• You know Charlie I agree with you it reminds me of 2 famous cases a few years ago. I don’t know if you are old enough to remember the cases of the Birmingham six and the Guildford 4. Respected judges found them guilty in eminent courts of law. West Brit media mostly Dublin based jumped on the bandwagon and would have hung drawn and quartered them. And woe betide anyone who dared defend them. Careers put in danger, social exclusion was the order of the day followed by probably a midnight visit from the special branch. But they got their day in court and we all know the result. So will the Quinn’s. Truth will always win in the end.

Add New Comment