TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

UPDATE: Sergeants and inspectors join garda action in protest over pay cuts

The protest will see gardaí withdrawing all voluntary tasks and sticking following health and safety procedures.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated: 11:05

MEMBERS OF THE Garda Representative Association (GRA) are today ‘turning off the goodwill tap’ in protest at proposed cuts to their pay. The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) has now said that its members will also ‘work to rule’, starting today.

This will involve gardaí refusing to use their personal mobile phones, computer equipment and vehicles and strictly following health and safety procedure which will see them decline to drive patrol cars that do not meet the criteria. It also involves withdrawing consent to be available for non-public duty.

The AGSI said the joint campaign with colleagues from the Garda Representative Association was agreed at a meeting this week between both national executives.

Vice-President of the AGSI Padraic Dolan said opposition to proposed pay cuts is growing among his members.

“We agreed a plan in conjunction with our GRA colleagues and this will be fully implemented over the coming days,” he said. “We are also planning further action with our colleagues in the 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance.”

Speaking to TheJournal.ie from the GRA’s protest outside the venue for the Croke Park Agreement talks, President of the association, John Parker said this was just the first round of action.

“We have a huge menu of other options,” Parker said. “This is just to introduce the ones that cause the least possible disruption and let people know what gardaí have been giving without getting any recognition for it.”

The government is looking to make savings of €60 million in the garda pay bill over the next three years, targeting overtime pay and allowances as well as seeking to extend the working day.

Related: GRA hold protest outside Croke Park talks>
Read: Gardaí bring bank statements to Commissioner meeting to highlight cuts>

Read next:

Comments (117 Comments)

• If the government want co-operation from the Public Sector in reducing wage bills across the board, I believe they should lead by example, beginning with the Taoiseach himself.

I am open to correction on the following, and if i am wrong it is not my intention to mislead, but I’m told the Taoiseach will qualify for four pensions when he is finished his political career. He’ll qualify for an Teachers pension, a TD’s pension, a ministers pension and a Taoiseach’s pension. If that is true, does he honestly believe he should be entitled to all that?

A Garda who gets promoted doesn’t get any extra pension. Certainly they will retire on a higher level pension but not a second pension. Also when they progress further up the ranks to super and chief and even commissioner, it will still be just the one pension. Why should TD’s get two or three pensions?

Also, whenever he or other ministers are tackled about their pensions, they say they can’t do anything about it because it would require legislation to change it? Well ye are bloody well threatening to use legislation to change the Public Service pay… What’s good enough for the goose is certainly good enough for the gander.

Show some leadership Mr Kenny and Mr Gilmore. Ye might gain some respect and support.

• I agree. People always argue that TDs pay and pensions are a small amount of money in the grand scheme of things. But how can anyone take talk of belt-tightening seriously when TDs and ministers are still so disproportionately well paid – after years of calls for reform of their salaries, allowances and pensions? I’m in favour of fiscal reform based on fairness and practicality, but TD and ministerial pay corrupts the whole process. It is an abomination when police and medical staff are struggling to pay basic bills.

• Your right that they get too much of a pension. The point about multiple pensions is a little misleading. Anyone that moves jobs can have multiple pensions. Four pensions of little time can often be worth less than one full service. It’s not the number of pensions that matter, it’s the overall amount a person will get.

• Eric

I think you misunderstand Falstaff’s point

Enda Kenny when he retires will be entitled to the FULL Taoiseach’s pension & the FULL Ministers pension & the FULL TD’s pension, though I believe his Teachers pension will not be a full pension.

So that is 3 FULL pensions on top of one another & a partial pension, all paid for out of tax payers money, as opposed to 4 partial pensions as you describe.

Anybody If I am incorrect on this please correct me.

• I understand that. The problem is people keep referring to the number of pensions which is misleading. How much in total is all that matters. Some CEO’s get one pension, but its worth way more. I agree with his overall point, they get too much.

• Julie 22/02/13 #

Ends will get 3 pensions, minister Taoiseach and TD, are you serious, he doesn’t deserve even one pension, does anyone know how much these 3 pensions will add up to?

• Eric

My understanding is the TD’s pension is worth 50% of a TD’s salery. Ministers & Taoiseach’s pension is worth 60% of the Ministers & Taoiseach’s salery after 6 years in the role of a Minister or Taoiseach.

Again I am open to correction on those figures.

• Julie

Why do you think Civics is not an exam subject at 2nd level?

What’s even better is they are “entitled” to claim €15k on top of their salaey per year in unvouched expenses.

• That’s the point I’m making, the overall amount is the only way to judge it. It’s far too much as I keep saying.

• Can’t the Guards retire at 50, get a full pension and then go on to do security work or anything else on the side?

• Julie 22/02/13 #

David , Enda Kenny can get a pension for being a TD, minister and Taoiseach and then go work wherever doing whatever he wants after he retires, but I’m sure he will have enough of the tax payers money gathered that he won’t have to worry about working again.

• Julie

Just like the €100k Be Be Be Bertie got for the “How to run a successful Government” speech on he gave in Nigeria after he retired.

Please cop on.
      Money is Power.
      Politics is about getting power.
      Therefore Politics is about Power & Money.

• David

There are various reasons why Gardai, who have served a long enough period, can retire at 50.

Let me ask you this.

Would you be happy with a lone 64 year old Garda being on duty in a car that would not pass an NCT, being involved in a high speed car chase on a wet night down country roads chasing a gang who have just robbed a pub at gun point?

By the way should you fail to answer I will take you agree this is not acceptable.

• Julie 22/02/13 #

That’s funny Bertie gave a speech in Nigeria I watched a documentary on the struggle between the people living their and the oil companies. What he tell them to do, give all yer money to the corporations and let the people starve with no water, education or basic rights. Sure they have great rates on our own oil, no royalties, no obligation to sell it back to us and tax is at low rate and written off 100% against cost. It used to be church and state that ran thing, it’s now state and corporations.

Money power and greed and I think small egos that needed to be made bigger have left the world unequal and unjust.

On that documentary last night on RT to see the way these people live because of other people greed made me sick.

Sorry gone away off the point. I just have been doing a lot of research this world is rotten, but rotten where it matters at the top.
      We are bombarded with small problem after small problem makes it hard to look at the bigger picture and join the dots.

• A Taoiseach’s current pension in total is €5,000 per week (Five thousand euros Per Week!!) A Minister’s current pension in total is €4,500 per week (Four thousand, five hundred euro Per Week!!)

• They can retire at 50 if they have completed 30 years service, which is rare at that age plus not many can because of family and mortgage commitments

• Julie 22/02/13 #

Terence are you serious, that makes me so angry! And they have the audacity to ask frontline staff to take a cut. Guards nurses etc get out their and start protesting, ye don’t deserve another cent taken off ye. If they can afford the most corrupt politicians pension Bertie than they certainly can afford yer premium for working unsociable hours. Everyone else follow on from tralee say no, ballyhea says no, rathoath says no, Killarney says no, skibereen says no, and that only a few many more joining us and we will all be gathering in ballyhea for a group protest on the 3rd of march. Come on ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

• Not all Gardai have to retire at the age of 50. Gardai and Sergeants can retire after 30 years service or at the age of 50, whichever comes first. Some can retire at 48 years of age if they joined at 18. Inspectors can retire at 55 – Superintendents can retire at 60 and Assistant/Deputy and Commissioner can retire at 65.

• Julie – that’s the pension which Bertie Ahern and Mary Hearney etc. are on. It may have changed downward slightly since there was a reduction in the salaries when Dame Enda took office – but it’s no more than a couple of hundred euro a week reduction.

• Your wrong there Terence at 48 even if you have 30 years service you can’t retire until you get to 50 and if 50 or over cant retire until you have 30 years service unless you reach 60 years of age without 30 years service you have to retire

• Ministers on salaries of € 162,000 per year plus expenses and TD,S on € 92 .000 plus €60 ,000 unvouched TAX FREE expenses tell us we must take financial pain to restart the economy, ALL POLITICIANS ARE SELF SERVING GANGSTERS who are feasting while the ordinary working people suffer cut after cut, When are we ALL going to stand up and say enough ?

• Comment of the week! (wish I could give more than 1 green thumb)

• *Falstaff

• No, you cannot retire from AGS before 50 and you have to have 30yrs service. Anyone who joined in the last 5 years has to work until at least 55 regardless of service. Nobody in AGS can work past 60 without an exemption from the govt.

• They are entitled to retire after 30 years service. They are then free, as with all other retired humans, to engage in labour if they wish to.

• After April 2004, joining date, Gardai must go till they are 55 subject to having done 30 yrs.

• I can’t complain really, even though I have worked bloody hard for the past 47 years , I now receive the massive sum of €225 each week pension. wow, I wonder which golf club I should join.

• From what I can tell, most of the Garda fleet is sub-standard and unfit for purpose. If they refuse to use all these cars, vans etc it will mean a massive reduction to the already depleted fleet.

• Gardai , Nurses, Doctors ,Firmen and ambulance staff , Do they not deserve the best pay and conditions the country can offer them . 4 oclock in the morning a serious road accident – have you ever come across one ? Garda gets shot in the head in co Louth and it leaves a widow and two children without a father, Co Wiclow firemen killed searching a burning building , Saturday night a nurse helps a stroke victim he survives then she gets a punch in the face by a drunk 5 minutes later ….Would you do their job ? do they not deserve a proper wage

• 60 million over 3 years why not start with the 72 million a year that tds get for traveling to the Dáil. No other public sector worker gets Paid for traveling to work. That would be 216 million in 3 years. Crazy stuff.

• Fair play to the GRA leading the field in saying enough is enough instead of being inside discussing how to take more money off their members the other union’s should be outside supporting them

• GRA and AGSI now too Gerry. Both bodies representing around 95% of entire force.

• Agreed John my error gardai are doing what is needed in this country leading from the front

• Gerry – they are not actually allowed participate in the Croke Park II talks because they are not allowed to be members of the ICTU.

• Yet if they had agreed to go and sit in a side room they would have been tied into the whole sham of a process and have an overpaid union official who knows nothing about their problems speaking on their behalf by right union’s should have balloted their members before entering these talks they have no mandate to even be in there croake park 1 has a long way to run yet

• It’s time for people to realise the major problems and the fact that the Gardai just cannot take any more financial cuts. Their families are financially struggling and are borrowing from credit unions to pay utility bills and family members to get by. The Gardai have a duty to serve the people of this county and by doing this they put their lives at risk. The government has a duty to the Gardai and all frontline emergency services by recognising this.

• where is SIPTU in all this sitting with Enda Eamon ect just like before they sat with Bert Brian ect so no change there then

• Fair play to them. Y should they use their own stuff when it should be supplied to them for their job by the goverment. Lets hope nurses and the rest follow the gardas lead

• One man broke it already, but he’s ex army! Work to rule no longer the fool. Well done lads, keep it goin!

• Jimmy 22/02/13 #

You are right Chris. They have been taken advantage of completely up to now by management. Having to use their own personal equipment on a constant basis to supplement the inadequacies of An Garda Siochana. That goes for many frontline services….Great to see someone finally standing up to this Government.

• Many districts now without patrol car cover due to vehicles being grounded on health and safety grounds. Keep it up lads we shouldn’t be driving these dirt boxes anyway.

• Shame on Enda , howlin , shatter and the rest of this government . and at what stage is the nurses and other 24/7 workers going to start taking action .?

• D. Ryan 22/02/13 #

Both sides of the debate are missing the point here.

It’s this simple: this might sound harsh, but I couldn’t care less about Greece, Spain, Latvia etc or for that matter do I want to be compared to cuts in the private sector or even to nurses, prison officers etc. no disrespect meant! You see I don’t know what they’re job entails, therefore I have no idea of what the work they do is worth in financial terms. But they do!

But what I do know is my own job. I knew that when I signed up I’d have unsocial hours, Sunday etc before me, but I also knew that I’d be paid accordingly for them. You see I know my job and I know that I personally can take no more and what’s more I know that the work I do deserves the pay I get and more, a lot bloody more That’s what this is about. It’s that simple

I don’t know what others do and they may want to keep that private for VERY obvious reasons. You don’t know my job unless infact you’ve been there done that, therefore you don’t know what I should be paid. I don’t know what you do but unless I actually worked in such a job before I don’t know what your work is worth.

If you’ve been cut or lost your job and you don’t want to take a stand… Fine, then take what comes your way and keep your mouth shut, you’ve no right to moan about it unless your willing to get off your arse and do something about it!!

I am willing to do whatever I can. Because I know I deserve more then what I’m already on and certainly not less.

• You should read articles 9.3 and 15.4 of the irish constitution….. and if you are a garda you should start interpretting it for the good of the nation as a whole …IMHO

• D. Ryan 22/02/13 #

bunreacht na heireann won’t pay my mortgage !!

• Bunreacht na heireann if adhered to properly, might mean that this nation was run properly and you could be paid plenty to pay your mortgage…and that’s the point …
      if you don’t get then that’s fine …just trying to help break down the inner greed that seems to have permeated this country!…………. if everyone stays looking in their own pockets then the government will work away …as i see it !…just an opinion ….. oh and one other thing about bunreacht na heireann is this …..according to same ….we are all equal ….so why are you working and paying a mortgage and other people who don’t work get a free house ?…other people who in the case of that bosnian family who got over 80,000 in benefit for example , and who don’t even vote , unlike that other family who were going to get a free 230,000 house in Donegal ! ….

• Do the government use their personal ipads and phones.? I don’t think so.

• barry 22/02/13 #

Is it not about time that we had a look at each ministers pay, pension, expenses, ie, every penny they get from us, especially the ministers that are looking to take more money and services off us, eg. Kenny, hogan, burton, reilly, shattner, etc and see how
    we as the public and the electors could gain savings? I’m sure the ‘Journal’ could put it together and then collect the suggestions on pay cuts and reforms that ‘we’ want to impose on our elected representative’s. Surely there are huge savings available in this area but nobody seems to want to address it head on.

• I have spent today my annual leave day sorting out problems for family friends relatives – sitting on public lists to see therapists like myself. I could have said no but like others I didn’t choose my profession the caring one to say no. I do expect to be paid for my experience. If Ireland wants a quality ps in terms of health, police, fire – pay us fairly. I can tell you how I’d make my job more effective and efficient – give me the resources! The issue is above our heads – management!! I worked in the Middle East huge hospitals eg higher patient to staff ratio – it worked as we had admin , IT and policies/procedures! It’s not that hard. My current manager spends half her day on google!!!

• Can’t see the st Patrick’s day parade going ahead :)

• Private phone, digital camera, laptop …Hmm Security breach! That’s an accident ready to happen!

• If we had a robust and reliable system of crime statistics, I would be curious about the impact of the measures on the incidence of crime.

• One law and all that?
    With all due respect they do deserve a little bit more gratitude that they’re getting right now, but if they overstep the line with their protests, who can go down and whack them about the picket line? The citizen?

• The gardai want the support of the public but they shout down anyone with a qustion or opinion that dosnt suit there own on the journal.

• hopefully they will also stop illegally snooping on people’s lives with their Pulse system during this interruption of “good will”.

• So much for upholding the law. Not exactly the kind of behaviour that sees the Gardai as being the perfect role model or anything. Very unhealthy way to protest.

• Still waiting on a cop to publish there p60 and show the public what they actually earn,there has been so much talk and figures been thrown around at least the public will know what there pay and allowances are.

• What way do you suggest they protest? They are entitled to refuse to use their own personnel equipment ie phone,car.Also if a Garda car is unfit for purpose under health and safety legislation they are within their rights in refusing to use it.

• I’d love to hear your suggestions for a more ‘healthy’ type of protest Stephen. That’s an odd comment. This story represents a significant development as you now have Gardaí from rank/file right through to middle management involved in this dispute. The Government will have to take serious note here.

• Shane Garda rates of pay and allowances are available online,Their individual P60 frankly is none of your business as yours is noone’s business but your own.

• So you’d use your own personal equipment for work purposes including your car and you’d do it for free ?
      You’d drive substandard and some times unsuitable vehicles despite not been afforded proper training.
      Tell me exactly what law are the gardai breaking ?
      Educate your self regarding the facts before you comment.

• What aspect of not using your private phone, digital camera, laptop or computer fob to benefit your employer or driving a patrol car which is defective is illegal? Please enlighten me.

• All pay rates are on line. Garda.ie or GRA.ie. all complete with pre and post cuts, pension levy, USC etc etc. do so research. It might occupy some of your time.

• All pay rates are on line. Garda.ie or GRA.ie. all with pre and post pension levy, cuts, USC etc etc. do some research. It might occupy your time. You obviously have nothing else to do.

• Acting within the law, voicing their opinions in a free press & picketing in an entirely legal fashion while off-duty is a perfectly healthy way of protesting.

• Shane King Why are you so interested in their P60′s will you post your P60 and while your at it your bank statement too What has their P60 got to do with you??? FOOL or Jealous which are you or you are just very immature

• This infuriates me. Gardai, nurses, doctors, public servants are all publicly employed, all the information you need is publicly available through the various union / representative websites. You do not need to be so rude as to ask what it is we’re being paid (to save, protect lives in many cases) – go Google.
      Rude.

• Hi Stephen here you go again spouting crap.

1. Asking any employee to not comply with Health & Safety legislation and procedures is itself a breach of the law for which any employer including the state can and will be fined for doing. So if any Garda objects to performing his duties on the grounds of health and safety he or she is fully allowed to do so.

2. Any employee of a private company is allowed under tax law to be paid expenses where they use their own property in the course of their employers business. The most common form of this is the millage allowance paid for using the private car. In fact each and every member of Seanad Éireann is allowed claim mileage or travel expenses when travelling to and from their place of work the Dáil Éireann or constituency offices. That is not something afforded to the normal Irish Citizen by the way. Therefore to allow some employees of the state to receive payment for the use their own property in the course of their work and not afford others the same rights could easily be considered as not being in compliance with Article 40 of BUNREACHT NA hÉIREANN.

So get back in your box and let the people who know what they are talking about get on with coming up with solutions to the problems that exist in this state.

• then how do you suggest they protest stephen?? if these devastating cuts are introduced to legislation they will never be brought back.

• Shane I like you have the wrong country no “cops” here just Gardai !!!

• What law is not being upheld?

• Does that mean they will do the work they are paid for instead of poncing on the phone?

• Yes, a special case can be made for an Garda Siochana. They should be exempt from USC, pension levy and any reduction in income. I think that An Garda Siochana should receive a special mortgage subsidy for homes and investment properties. I wish to see An Garda Siochana, all ranks, brought within the circle of privilege.

We need An Garda Siochana to protect the institutions of State and to keep the rabble in line.

There is no such thing as corruption in An Garda Siochana, there should be a discretion granted to all ranks to expunge penalty points and civil liberties need to be suspended for An Garda Siochana to fight crime effectively.

Up the Force.

Oh yes, abolish the GSOC. It is just a sop to the Irish Council for Civil Liberties.

• the minister has spoke and so has the prime minister with the general public. the country is broke cop on

• Park the mad tds pensions wages and expenses for a second. The public sector unions want a recruitment drive increases in investment in equipment, fleets etc. They want no cuts to wages expenses or any other area of pay. But we re broke! How exactly do they suggest we cut back on spending we cannot afford. I was a prison officer for five years every prison officer got a rent allowance regardless of whether they were renting owning or living with their parents where is the sense? The allowances are a joke of a system who in the private sector gets an allowance for acting up, in todays enviornment gets extra pay for putting in extra hours? People need to wake up the unions stance is detremental to everyone espically their members

• Only 5 years – wonder why?

• Because John, I was stationed in Dublin and was told too forget about every seeing my home in Cork for at least another 5 years. I was engaged with a house built and an impending wedding. I took the decision to pack in the job and return to Cork, where I took up a low paid private sector job and never looked back. I hope my post didn’t come across as being anit-public service as I empathise with all the low paid public sector workers who are caught in a proverty trap because of greedy unions and the government. Look at what they have achieved, splits in the staff. The old divide and conquer tact.

Add New Comment