TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Gardaí bring bank statements to Commissioner meeting to highlight cuts

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan said after the meeting he hopes nothing will be said or done to interfere with the public’s support.

GRA representatives, including general secretary PJ Stone (right), after meeting with the Garda Commissioner at Garda HQ
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

GARDA REPRESENTATIVES BROUGHT bank statements and mortgage details to a meeting with the Garda Commissioner today to highlight the effect of cuts on their salaries.

Speaking after the meeting, the Garda Representative Association said that withdrawal of ‘goodwill’ services will still go ahead in coming days if changes to garda work practices go ahead.

President of the GRA John Parker told TheJournal.ie that the timing of the cuts to salaries was wrong. “People are in dire financial need,” he said.

Parker said the Commissioner will take time to reflect on the meeting, noting that action is expected very soon.

“This isn’t something that would be a long open-ended situation. We need support fairly immediately,” he said.

Gardaí will change their work practices by no longer carrying out supplementary functions often done on their own time or at their own expense –  which they call “turning off the goodwill tap” – if the cuts go ahead as expected.

Some of the representatives brought details of some members’ mortgages arrears, overdrafts and bank statements to show how they were already struggling to get by on current pay levels.

The Commissioner and the central executive committee of the GRA met at Garda Headquarters in the Phoenix Park today to discuss issues around pay cuts and lack of resources.

Shortly after the meeting, Commissioner Martin Callinan said he hoped nothing would be “said or done to interfere with the public support” enjoyed by the force in fulfilling its duties.

“I reminded those present of how conscious I was of the fantastic work that was being done on a daily basis by the members of An Garda Síochána.”

He said he listened carefully to the issues raised by the central executive of the Garda Representative Association today.

- Additional reporting by Christine Bohan

Read: Gardaí across the country voting in favour of industrial action >

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• smudge 20/02/13 #

If these cuts are brought in for the frontline public sector workers how long before the employers in the private sector see this as far game and start cutting there employees weekend pay and believe me it will happen

• weekend pay in the private sector? It’s x days a week, whatever five days it might be.
      Amazing how important the Sabbath has become for a nation of 10% churchgoers.

• I worked in the private sector, retail mgt, before I worked in the public sector. I received double time in both for working Sundays. I also got a handsome Christmas bonus in the private sector. No such thing in the public. Granted its swings and roundabouts regarding job security and pensions, but I work damn hard in my public sector job for little reward or acknowledgement. Its not a bed of roses as some in the private sector try to make out.

• If TDs want the public to support their cuts, THEY SHOULD LEAD BY EXAMPLE and cut their own allowances/pay first. But then turkeys don’t vote for Christmas……….

• Let’s hope the commissioner will now finally get some balls and stick to shatter the gras views. He needs to starting backing his own instead of drinking tea with shatter.

• @ Tom McGuire @ David Ahern
    Here is a fact for ye… I am a guard I rent my 3 bed terraced house, because at 32 years of age I’ve been forced to move back in with my parents and rent my home to meet mortgage repayments!!!!!!

• Any efficiencies agreed under Croke Park 1 were negotiated on the understanding that there would be no reductions in core pay. This agreement does not run out until the middle of 2014. If there is a breach of this agreement by the Govt side then surely the frontline services would be within their rights under the agreement to row back on these efficiencies .i.e. rosters, etc. I know the anti public sector/frontline people will say that premium payments are not core pay, which is a matter for another debate!

• i love this public sector threat to ‘become inefficient again’ if someone threatens my pay. What a childish sense of entitlement.

We should privatise everything, tear up all the public sector paypackets and dissolve the public pension funds.

Starting from scratch seems the only way forward. Rehire whoever is needed to do the job.

That is what private sector life is like folks, and private sector has the added privilege of paying for the public sector.

• I’m a Guard, & 3 of my family members are in private sector, they are still getting wage increases and are earning 70,000 to €80,000. You cannot compare private 2 public sectors, it’s a ridiculous comparsion, e.g. their are people in the public sector ranging from cleaning staff earning €25,000 a year, 2 ceo’s of public sector companies earning €150,000 or more and likewise in the private sector. So if your going to compare, find a job from the private sector and compare it to a Garda, not possible.
    Why, because on bank holdiays, normally there can be anywhere 2 four -15 arrests for public order incidents n a garda station, what job in the private sector can you compare than 2!!!!!!!?

• well people seem to think garda job is singing few forms patroling arresting someone and thats it but when not in this line of work people dont see the other tasks, the mountain of paperwork involved, the very horror things that a guard must witness. The counselling a garda must give to families. In most other countries police go to court and lawyer prosecutes and police are just witnesses. Here unless its a trial its the guards job on a hearing day something we do on normal pay where in any other country a lawyer would command a huge salary for.

Of course not to mention the sheer danger thats involved when going to a call and not knowing what is waiting, ive been confront by men with swords, knifes legs of tables. Ive been punched at, kicked at and even put in hospital after being rammed stopping a break in. Been rammed lots of times. I think i earn my 40k

• signing few forms *** of course i could sing doing that also but might get some odd looks

• Better rate mortgages ??? Nonsense. Face violence threats speed chases miss Christmas birthdays etc and then tell them they should nt be paid for night duty Sunday’s etc so the bankers can be bailed out REALLY cop on guys they and the rest of the 24/7 front liners deserve their remuneration they keep us safe etc

• The old irish know it alls strike yet again with the “job security”… Its not worth having a job that wont pay your bills Simple as… And its not like they have a choice of Career because there is NOTHING in this dive of a Country for them to pay their bills before any of ye say they have a choice… They dont! And Emigration isnt an option for alot of them.. Callinan would want to grow a pair of balls and stand up for his own and realise his roots… Or get out!!!

• All this public sector/private sector debate is playing straight into the hands of the government, who cares where you work, if you look at the figures regardless of which sector you work in everyone is getting hammered with taxes and cuts in every aspect whether it be household, property or water charges, cuts to child benefit etc you get the point, quit squabbling amongst each other or blaming the public sector or vice versa unless their profession is politician, banker or property developer they didn’t cause this mess and shouldn’t be expected to pay for it because of a gamble taking by mates of politicians with other people’s money, so sick of hearing the same crap, ‘let the public servants pay, we’ve paid enough’ or ‘sure they’ve a job for life’ a job for life that isn’t paying the bills when you can get sacked for not paying said bills is NOT a job for life in this scenario, many Gardai I know are worried about being disciplined at best, dismissed at worst for not meeting their financial obligations so it may well turn out not to be the job for life they signed up for

• Michelle

It isnt private vs public, it is taxpayer vs people taking tax for pay, and often at huge rates with indefensible allowances etc.

The public sector pay bill is far too high for our little country, and we don’t collect enough tax to pay it, and never will. It has to be reformed.

Yes of course, start at the top, but everyone and every dept will have to examined, all inefficiencies removed, all surplus people removed, all dead weight removed etc.

Yes everyone is getting hammered, and the private sector worker is carrying the can, trying to pay for all the public sector excess and waste, as-well as the debt. And we cannot do it, we are borrowing massively to cover day to day costs, and it has to stop.

It would be great if we could afford everything but we can’t, so it is either pay cuts across the board, or staff reductions, there is no other way.

Best case scenario, remove this stupid job for life idea, and let people go when not needed like the rest of the economy.

• And do you think the public sector does not pay taxes ???

• @Kelley

I don’t just think so it is a fact.

The 100% gross any public servant is paid is from collected tax from private enterprise.
      They return some as tax, but this is just a slight of hand, and accounting exercise. They simly return some of the original taxes they were paid with….do you get it?

If no tax was collected from the private sector where do you think the money comes from the pay public wages?

The total pot collected from the private sector isn’t enough to pay for inflated public sector any longer and reform and cuts are needed.

We can not continue to borrow money to pay for public sector out of proportion to our tax take.
      (All tax is private generated, tax can only be generated on added value, be it profit, labour, services etc).

• I see thr doctors are now been lined up as the next group to take a hit, I can only see what is happening they are moving from one group to the next , one at the time and will not be happy until everyone is working for peanuts, excluding the fat cats and the golden circles. Time for evertone to wake up and smell the coffee.

• @ Michael I Leary they are unique for the simple fact if they fall behind in there mortgages they can loose there jobs no other job has that added pressure to it!

• The guards are feeling what we’re all feeling. Financial rape from our FG government.

• Wonder will Martin callian and pj stone bring there bank statements? id be surprised if the numbers fit on the pages.

• The elephant in the room, not just for An Garda Siochana, but for many younger families, especially those who had the misfortune to buy a home since 2001 is the unsustainable level of mortgage debt paid for inflated price homes.

An Garda Siochana are not a special case. I am older and I had the good luck to buy my home before the great madness descended, but for all younger families afflicted by this financial disaster , they all need help, not just An Garda Siochana.

I am not able to make ends meet on a very limited pension, my defined contribution scheme was destroyed but at least I have a home. I say this not out of self pity bu just to show that most of us are victims in one way or another.

I lost my employment, forced early retirement. I envy those who have work and some kind of a living. Sometimes we take what we have for granted.

• I get so p***ed off reading this public/private sector debate. Look it’s as simple as this front line workers are out there working when the majority of private sector workers are tucked up safe and sound in bed, they work bank holidays, miss christmas, birthdays, communions, confirmations to ensure the public are looked after. The majority of them are barely making ends meat as it stands today and therefore don’t deserve the pay cuts our government are trying to force upon them. I challenge any private sector worker, garda hater or unemployed person to work a month as a front line worker and see what they face on a daily basis, then and only then do you have the right to criticise them for standing up for their pay.

• Well said . 100% agree . Howlin et al . Are showing their true colours really . I and my family voted for them last election , never again .

• dont worry about garda haters :) all those we arrest feel they can vent on here and leave them at it :)

in fairness some people out there do have concerns and feel for their own reasons that pay cuts should happen. Thats their opinion and they are entitled to it. However, its like i stated the vast vast majority of the public dont know who say the garda organisation works :) for example even watching something like love/hate we get giggles at how inaccurate the guards are when they are in it but closest thing to real that ive seen at same time :) the sheer amount of tasks that we have is huge. In fairness half stuff we do should be done by civilians. even investigations i would love to show a court file for a trail (of course thats not possible everything is confidential) but a criminal case the file can be massive by the time its done its your talking couple of inches thick and thats all work the garda has to type up to the highest standards. Of course you could have 4 or 5 investigations on the go at once. People tend not to know about that side of things either.

Noone wants to see a strike, i really dont want to do anything that puts the public out but im afraid there is no longer a choice and it is unstoppable now. it will happen no maybe about it

• Where is this “front line” you speak of? Too much drama on here. You’re dealing with Irish citizens on this “front line” not Genghis Khan and the Mongol horde.

• well thats trolling if i ever saw it :) so not even going to answer that one pure ignorance

• @Censored if you want to see the front line go out in any town in the country on a saturday night and have a look around. You may just be surprised.

• Ok I challenge any Garda or frontline worker to do my job, and of course they couldn’t.
      Unless they have the required 10yrs exp, + degree + post grad they will find it impossible.

Now what have I proved by this, Nothing!!

Fact 1 = Public sector pay bill + Pensions is unsustainable high
      Fact 2 = Tax used is collected from Private sector
      Fact 3 = Reductions need to be across the board
      Fact 4 = The real taxpayers (private) will no longer accept the waste
      Fact 5 = Pay in public sector is very high

• everyone take take note be you for or against garda/nurse/prison officer/fire fighter pay cuts. Think about this they will cut them and will send out a message to the private sector that we can cut too.

This is a stand for everyone. noone wants to see a garda walkout but from what i gather from todays meeting that its now unstoppable and will happen

• Thats exactly why the hurlers on the ditch like IBEC are throwing in their tuppenceworth its a race to the bottom so those at the top can make more. I was just looking up an article about welfare fraud which was estimated at 2.5-3 billion by a prime time investigates led investigation. Now I know they had their problems but even if its only 1 billion why are we not targeting this ? Trolls please answer why, Reganold should this not be a priority ?

• ISBA 20/02/13 #

Effective enforcement of Competition Law can bring about a 20% reduction in prices and more in some cases. Cartels are costing households €2,400 per year, i.e. €4 billion per year. Tackling our cost base can deliver real spending power to our citizens. Why does the Government refuse to enforce its own laws. Ireland has probably the most ineffective competition enforcement regime in the world.

• Dillon 20/02/13 #

Can we see payslips from before & after Benchmarking?

• Is that the same benchmarking that was brought in an attempt to create parity between the pay scales in the public and private sectors.

Before you ride your benchmarking pony off into the sunset do remember Dillon that it was originally introduced because private sector wages were significantly higher than those in the public sector. This was simply used as a technique to bridge the gulf.

• 1). That gulf has be proven to be a fantasy and 2). The job security that comes with a civil service job is worth every penny of any disparity that may exist in certain areas. Ask anyone fearing for their job in the private sector how large a pay cut they would take to secure a job for life. Anyway. The point is: the Civil Service demanded to be dealt in in the good times. They can do likewise now.

• Well said…

• Willie 20/02/13 #

Yes the gulf is a fantasy now, perhaps.
      However I assure you at the tine if benchmarking’s introduction it was very much a reality.

Job security will be of cold comfort to these people when they can’t afford mortgages, food etc etc.
      It is a very narrow view of the situation you have adopted, you have chosen to completely ignore the private sectors responsibility for this mess.
      Was it not the unmitigated greed of private sector banks of private sector builders of private sector property developers that landed us in this mess in the first place. It is because of their reckless greed and contempt that we can now not afford public sector wages.
      Every body recognises the public sector needs reform, but at least let it be equitable and just. Trying to play one against the other is pathetic and displays a limited understanding.
      Personally if I was going to hurl abuse and vitriol at those workers in the public sector I’d have a look at where I was throwing it from. I think you’ll find the private is a fairly shitty place to throw it from.

• Dillon 20/02/13 #

@willie- actually, regulation of the banks was in the hands of civil servants. Who, I think we all can agree dropped the ball. So what was your point again? Similarly it was civil servants who guaranteed the banks. So your point was?

• Dillon 20/02/13 #

And to get back to my original point- does anyone know…in terms of average take-home pay, are Gardai up or down if you compare pre-benchmark pay with projected pay after the cuts?

• I think you’ll find it was the auditors (private sector auditors) who dropped the ball. The government based their actions on the auditors advise. I’m not defending the government in the slightest bit but to class civil servants as the same across the board is ridiculous.

• Dillon 20/02/13 #

@brian- advisors advise, Governments govern. That’s why they’re in the big bucks.

• @Dillon
      Fair enough, they based their actions on bad advice from private sector auditors. But you are missing the point. You are blaming ordinary public sector workers for the actions of the government. You cannot just lump ordinary public sectors with government TD’s etc

• Willie 20/02/13 #

My point was that you appear to have a very narrow and misinformed understanding of what actually happened. Are you seriously trying to dump the blame on civil/public servants for the actions of bankers? The same bankers that EVERYONE widely acknowledges pushed the sayonara button on the economy.
      I partially take your point about regulation of the banks but it’s poorly made at best and at worst ludicrous, based on that logic if a person commits a crime and the police don’t apprehend them then liability shifts from the offender to the police.
      Sounds stupid doesn’t it.

• Sean 20/02/13 #

Dillon, i think gardai got 7% during the benchmarking exercise and their wages like most public sector have been cut by 20% on average since 2008.

• Send me your email address and we can exchange pay slips and see how over paid we are! Why not log in with your real name, more faceless heroics this country is great at producing! The private sector haven’t taken a fraction of the cuts public sector have taken, but that’s beside the point and its exactly the scenario the government wants to create public v private instead of the broken promises it has made to this county! The current government have no mandate to govern this country as they were elected on broken promises and lies! They have shown a complete inability to deal with the financial crisis in our banks, the ECB is cutting interest rates for the past 3 years yet our plonkers can’t force the banks to pass that on to hard pressed mortgage holders instead they have increased mortgage rates and all this becomes even more incredulous when we actually own the banks

• Dillon 20/02/13 #

Nigel- 15% of the private sector is unemployed. And there have been massive pay cuts across the private sector. A sector who on average get paid less and take a fraction of the “sick leave” the civil service does. But don’t let the truth get in the way if your rant, will you?

• im public service and ive taken maybe 3 sick days in 5 years so please dont assume that we all take sick days for the hell of it. so of us have work ethic

• Everyone is feeling the pain but didn’t they loans/mortgages at better rates and could get a ‘little’ extra because of their secure job & buy investment homes. The few gardai I know are also landlords

• Let them release these bank statements into the public domain. Not once have I seen peoples pay slips in the past 5 years when people are playing the poverty card.

• the poor cops. nice to see em taking a break from leathering folk and checking for tax and ncts. its a shitty job and i wouldn’t do it, b fun to see what happens if things go tits up in the nxt 18 months and they have to baton charge and beat the shit out of people. The government will keep their dogs in chum, don’t sweat it guys.

• It’s happening everyone Deal with it

• Mon 18/2 – POS Russell Court Hotel €64.00

• What is occuring is that we have a section of society campaigning to have a population that is in an IMF programme with one of the highest marginal tax rates in the world and is bankrupt continue to pay wages that is far and above the wages of the population at large. Forgot about the outliers and look at the aggregate yes CEO pay is excessive but how many CEO’s do you know?. The unfortunate reality is that public sector workers will have to adjust downwards their standard of living in line with the populace at large. If they have unsustainable debts then this will have to be dealt with in the same fashion as the rest of the populace. This is not some opinion borne of malice but merely a statement of fact.

• it is dealt with in same way and point is that your missing is for the skill sets involved we are underpaid. I have qualification in software development, granted ive been out of that loop for along time but say guys i would have been in college with earn far more then i do with same qualifications as me. in fact i even have more then that. most guards would be the same. the issue is most of the garda force has lost alot on average about maybe 10k per year. most people i know in private have not taken that kind of hit. So really the front line should not have to pay anymore. if they want cost cutting start at the guys who are not front line but commanding double what i do and have less work then i do.

Of course your entitled to your views :) but looking at other forces around the world garda pay was on par but its less now on average

• There is a shortage of skilled people in the IT sector at the moment. Maybe that’s why some of the people you happen to know haven’t take a pay cut. That’s just one sector, where do you think the 15% (or so) unemployed came from? I didn’t see the PS queuing up to share in the pain when dot bomb happened and lots of software people lost their jobs. Again just one example. You can’t make these comparisons. The State is bust. It’s all taxes and pain from here on out. FF/FG/Labor voters made that choice.

• oh i dont know maybe building sector and all the feed in industries to that maybe??

• “he hopes nothing will be said or done to interfere with the public’s support. ”

Is that even true?

• To all garda out there …you brought the whip they use on you to the ball ! …… you own the whip ….you will get everything you want if you open a new bank account and request your wages to be transferred to same ……. sure it’s not your fault if the paperwork isn’t done in time to meet your mortgage repayments ….. you can catch up with it nect onth …hah ha …tell the nurses etc.

• i’m serious ! …if they cut your pay ..burn the bondholders …if the government won’t follow the mandate then the workers can by burning defunct banks ….just an idea for debate ….. put your money into your local credit union and rearrange your mortgage …it’s not your fault if the banks are slow …… it takes a week for a cheque to clear ! …banks are slow and they are also being lined upo to be sold back to bond holders at a discount that our pension funds will take the hit for! …just a suggestion ..I don’t care either way ……. cajones or talk or just hot air ? you decide !

• One simple word entitlement. What we are seeing is a priviliged sector of society lashing out when being asked to bear some of the pain (not even close to being their fair share). Just look at the figures a teacher in this country with 15 years (I.e late 30′s early 40′s) makes 50,000 euro’s before any allowances are factored for a guard (assuming he is never promoted) it is about 45,000 again before allowances are factored in. The above does not even factor in the golden goodbyes or golden pensions not to mention jobs for life. The average wage in this country is 35750. I genuinely feel for those burdened by debts they cannot afford as the personal trauma that I am sure that they face is every bit as painful as anybody in the private sector however there is only 1 class of citizen in this country and to try and have the problems of 1 particular group dealt with differently the rest of society ia deeply immoral. Historians will look back at this period in Irish life and find the actions of the public sector unions as treachorous as Fingleeton and Fitzpatrick

• Public servants never gambled to the tune of Fingleton, et al, but the state bailed out their debts……..

Public servants keep this country from grinding to a halt daily, but in your warped logic we are now all as bad as those bast#*ds because we want to be able to continue scraping by & paying our bills????

Tell me this, who in the private sector will be sacked by your employer for falling into mortgage arrears that you cant repay due to your pay being cut by that very same employer ??

This isn’t a out living a cushy lifestyle, this is literally survival for us. If these cuts come in I’d literally be better off on the same dole as the rest of the unfortunate private sector victims of this fiasco. Still a “financial burden to the state” but without giving anything back for it.

If that’s what people really think is a solution then God help Ireland……

• Willie 20/02/13 #

John your comment just shows how misinformed you are. You are way way off and those figures are dubious at best. The average employee in the public sector has been decimated with cuts, these people have carried the burden and paid their share.
      What about whole swathes of the private sector who have taken no cuts at all, admittedly they have seen no increases either. If these cuts are successful and the government succeeds in removing circa 1 billion from the public sector wage bill, have you calculated for the knock on effect on your seemingly beloved private sector? Put whatever spin on you will but its a billion euro of spending power removed from the pockets of Irish citizens. I personally don’t know what the net effect will be but I’m guessing everyone will be a looser.
      I’m also failing to see your comparison between the once golden boy of the private sector who’s now been shown to be one of the most corrupt and inept individuals to grace these fair shores and a collection of people trying to survive and stop themselves from being cut into oblivion.

• wrong… before allowances ??? i wish i am on 40 with alot of years behind me buddy and i can assure you i earn every cent of it for the tasks i have to do. Im not demanding more even thought with my qualifications i would be earning more for my age in private. I’m just saying enough is enough and im not giving any more. Thats what this is all about

• What you forget is when you go over the €41000 threshold, the tax increases, so your probably not get much more when you factor in the tax deductions. Public sector 7.5% usc & 7.5% pension levy on last few budgets -thats 14% of the wage gone already and still have to factor in all other tax deductions. Misinformation is a dangerous device John. Private sector avoided those cuts!

• Public servants on huge salaries and wonderful pensions failed abysmally in their prudential supervision of the Irish Banks and lending institutions. Banks and property developers have propensity to go wild. Banks will lend recklessly. The Central Bank of Ireland and IFSRA failed fundamentally to do what they were very generously paid to do.

Yes, Banks traded recklessly and imprudently. Yes, Developers borrowed to the hilt and then flew the coop. But the sector paid to regulate , the watchdogs, not only failed to bark. They licked the hands of those they were to regulate. That’s where the most fundamental and egregious failures occurred.

• Ah yes John we have the privilege of going to fatal road traffic accidents and after attending the scene we have the privilege of going to the family of the deceased informing them of what has occurred. We have the privilege of working Sundays, nights, public holidays and during these lovely occasions we have to deal with assaults, drunks, rapes, murders. We are privileged to get abused, spat at and assaulted by the public. We have the privilege of being the first people called to suicides and tragic deaths. We have the privilege of being investigated by the Garda Siochana Ombudsman Commission when something happens to us off duty that isn’t our fault and it always gets the news headlines. Not so privileged now is it John try walking a mile in the shoes of any Frontline worker for a week and see how you would fare out. It’s a bit like the scene in A Few Good Men when Nicholson said to Cruise men are needed to stand on the wall, are you that man John I don’t think so. Perhaps before you try to criticise what you patently know nothing about you might learn to spell.

We ARE privileged to have a first class front line service in this country I would not swap it for anything. We have seen first hand how well all the services work in pressure situations and indeed it is the pressure that brings the most out of us.

• Willie 21/02/13 #

Complete and utter drivel interspersed with populist waffle and S indo spin. Blaming the games keeper for the actions of the poacher is preposterous. These bankers were meant to be financial experts, the best and brightest financial minds this country could offer and yet they couldn’t foresee or stop the inevitable consequences of their actions. What hope had a toothless regulator?
      If you want and you do seem determined to place some blame on the public sector then lay it at the feet of the politicians for inadequate legislation concerning the regulation of the banking industry.

• Do the Gardai really think that they are a special case when it comes to the pain of huge mortgage costs and negative equity? The only real difference is that they are prepared to hold the public to ransom with threats of industrial action and vital public service withdrawals etc – something the private sector tax payers (who are also suffering in very real terms lets not forget) do not have the luxury of doing. Public sector pay rates and automatic increments are simply just not sustainable – why do people not get this? And why should the general private sector workforce who contribute most taxes pay for this excessiveness? The unsustainability has nothing to do with the bankers or the politicians and everyone else the public sector usually blames. Organised labour unions have pushed rates to the current unsustainable levels and reform is needed to bring them back in line with economic reality. We cannot justify a situation whereby front line workers in Ireland are making more than their counterparts in the UK and Germany.

• ‘contribute most taxes’ is that individually or collectively as from what I know individually the public servant actually pays more than the private servant on the same wage, however collectively it’s obviously more as there are more people employed by the private sector, just food for thought

• @michelle

Public servant are paid with taxes from the private sector.

The “taxes” public servants pay is just giving back some the origional taxes they were paid with.

Understand??

There is a limited pot of taxes collected from private enterprise and labour, taxes can only be generated on profit and the “generation” of money though adding value.

This pot is what is used to pay for public pay, and it is not enough to cover it.

This is the real food for thought

• Can somebody please tell me what the average NET monthly income is for frontline garda?

• What about non contrubutiry pensioners struggling ti heat there homes. Parents with highly disabled children who have had the home help they rely on cut? People who are now going to have there jobseekers cut off after 6 months instead of 12? The swathe of middle income families who’s income is less than a sergeants pay being asked to give more and more in tax rises and cuts? Do you really think that the average guard’s situation is worse than these people? It would appear so because you are asking all these people to pay. Shoulder to shoulder my backside. In the same way that you are allowed to bleat about how much of a special case we are allowed to say no, no we are not a cash cow to be milked , we are equal citizens. Just because we don’t organise into militant unions to stoke our sense of entitlement does not mean we should remain silent.

• For all poor mouths out there the link below is a full list of Garda Pay and allowances and to be quite honest it is astonishing. It seriously undermines the credibility of what is one of the few remaining respected institutions in this country when you see the members of the force blindly defend the privileged positions when the country is on its knees. Hate to say it but this country needs a Thatcher figure because as soon as the country gets near to getting back to its knees the vulture-like public sector unions will be back for the taxpayers pound of flesh and the cycle of overspend will continue again. We need someone to drive home that there is only one class of citizen in this country and to take on the special interests that bring this country to it knees time and time again.

http://www.nospinireland.com/Gardai.html

Add New Comment