TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

GRA hold protest outside Croke Park talks

Gardaí are due to start enforcing a number of measures tomorrow in protest at the cuts which will see them refuse to use personal equipment and strictly follow safety procedures.

IMG_9014

MEMBERS OF THE Central Executive Committee of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) are currently protesting outside Lansdowne House in Dublin, where talks on public sector pay cuts are taking place.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, President of the GRA John Parker said this protest, involving around 25 members, was “just the first step in the education campaign”.

He said groups representing gardaí have never been involved in directly influencing talks on pay and allowances and are “never kept in the loop” with the negotiations.

“We’re frozen out of the talks,” he said. “We’re always in a side room and then they come in and tell us what they’ve agreed to and you either take it or leave it”.

IMG_0968

President of the GRA John Parker with Mick Corcoran, Representative of the Cork City Division.

In response to comments by Junior Minister Brian Hayes yesterday that legislation may be put in place if an agreement can’t be reached, Parker said that a decision will have to be made but that gardaí have no more to give.

Tomorrow gardaí are set to launch its first action against the cuts by “turning off the goodwill tap”. This could involve gardaí refusing to use their personal phones, laptops and safety gear or drive patrol cars that do not meet the health and safety criteria.

“We have a huge menu of other options,” Parker said. “This is just to introduce the ones that cause the least possible disruption and let people know what gardaí have been giving without getting any recognition for it.”

IMG_4733

“There also has to be recognition for the fact that those working weekends are working in dangerous conditions with an increase in public order incidents,” he said. “The passion for investigating crimes is there, and the feelgood factor of preventing someone being beaten up and they’re willing to take a few slaps and a black eye if they know that their family is being provided for.”

It emerged this morning that the government is seeking pay cuts for all employees earning salaries of more than €60,000. Unions said that this is just one of the proposals on the table and no final figures have been agreed at this stage.

Read: Government seeks pay cut for public servants earning over €60,000>
Read: Nurses will “never agree” to Sunday premium cuts>
Read: Brian Hayes: Legislation on public pay ‘inevitable if there is no agreement’>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• There is something very wrong where a situation is allowed to arise where the Siptu National Health Organiser, Paul Bell, is negotiating with the Fg/lab government, supposedly on behalf of workers, while up until recently he was the labour mayor of Drogheda. Truly a banana republic.

• Wise move by the GRA under the payment of wages act wages cannot be reduced without negotiation and agreement by staying out they have a case against any threat of legislation pity the other union’s would not take the same line and protect their members incomes

• Fair play to the Gardai!! Bout time someone stood up to this shambles of a Government!! Hopefully the rest of the spineless Unions will row in behind the Guards & take the fight to Kenny, Howlin & Shatter!!

• The revolution begins, great news!

• Well done to the GRA should be joined by other union members union’s in talking never received mandate from their members to enter these talks

• The unions are only taking an interest now, because their blue chip members are being threatened. Too late for the thousands of private sector members who’ve been thrown on the scrap heap. Where were they when employers decided to tear up contracts and pension rights then replace Irish workers with yellow pack agency workers for less than half the price? Still not a word about the SIPTU millions that disappeared. Another whitewash.

• No blue chip members in the gra all bottom of the rung members

• If we’re so broke can someone explain why we borrow a billion a year to pay 640 million in foreign aid. I like to give to charity but I won’t take out a loan to do it. Handy little saving there for mr kenny.

• What a wonderful banana republic we live in where foreign ungauranteed bondholders are paid every penny thats not due to them,and where the people who stand between the good and evil in the country arent even allowed representation by a union,a fundamental right of a working citizen

• Mick

We were lent the money to pay back the bondholders, we didn’t pay it out of our taxes. It is on the long finger as debt which we might never pay, and that has had no effect on us at all.

Our current taxes don’t cover spending on salaries and pensions. We are borrowing to pay those as-well.

To cover spending we are in an emergency bailout for the IMF !!!!

Do you think we will be bailed it from abroad forever?????

Forget banks, forget bondholders, forget national debt….we need to balance taxes collects and what we spend.

• @HelloGoogleTracking! that sort of logical objective thinking is not welcome here.

• Think youre missing the point,they shouldnt be our bondholders to pay in the first place.debt we might never pay?if thats the attitude dont pay them now and use tge money to get people back to work.this country,like most others ,has always spent more than it takes in.austerity has been proven not to work more oftenbthan it has.pushing people into mortgage default is nothe answer.if you know so much about it,when was the last time this country balanced its taxes and spend

• Mick

Bondholders were institutions our banks borrowed from, our banks were irresponsible in borrowing, our government were irresponsible in regulation, and the majority of people were irresponsible in borrowing and purchasing houses.

The bondholders are being paid back by borrowing, funded by the ECB and IMF so why do you care? Yes eventually if we ever become self sustainable again we might be asked to make real repayments, but more likely we will get a write off deal….but we will never get such a deal unless we can demonstrate we can run out own country sensibly and within our means.

Yes some borrowing is part of any national budget, but in order for a country to borrow it needs to be credible and the people lending need to have an expectation we can pay back.

We are currently bankrupt, and by that I means we cannot generate enough money internally to even cover our our spending……but worse we are maintaining spending at bubble levels…and have not saved a penny over the last few years. (In fact increased with payoffs for early retirement !!!!)

Yes it will never balance, but it needs to be SUSTAINABLE and CREDIBLE and RESPONSIBLE levels of spending in proportion to our size and tax base.

Grasp reality, the bubble is over and was a distortion, reality has to be realized.

• Your wasting your time “HelloGoogleTracking!”.

Most people got their fingers in their ears and are shouting” bondholders, bondholders” over and over again to drown you out!

• Haha Vincent + arbitrasure

Same people no doubt shouting soft landing and buying second homes and places in Spain….then blaming everyone but themselves….

Fingers crossed that once we demonstrate we can run our affairs we will be an example for Europe to use, and be rewarded with debt write down…to encourage Spain Portugal and Italy to follow

• It’s a sad day when the Government of this Country have so alienated the guardians of this State, that they, the Gardaí have to resort to these measures…….These Gardaí are the people responsible for ensuring that we can all live safely in our communities and can sleep with some degree of safety at night and they risk life and limb to do it.
    This Government and in this instance, Alan Shatter should hang his head in shame for the dreadful treatment of our Gardaí…….The Garda Commissioner should have known that with all the changes in rosters, the closing of Garda Stations, proposed further pay cuts etc., etc., that this is the only path open for redress by them, so it begs the question as to whose side he is now on?
    Morale in our Police Force has to be at an all time low and that is bad for any democracy……….Incidentally, well done to the GRA for fighting their members corner and I for one wish you sucess and a lot of Unions, notably SIPTU could take note and take a leaf out of the GRA book!

• Well done,an association with a pair of balls.

• Keep it up lads. It’s a sad sight to see guards having to protest but I’m fully behind ye for what it’s worth

• Glad to see someone standing up for themselves for a change.

• Well done lads.

• I’m totally with them. Wonder if the government will actually take note though?

• I presume the govt know that the wages of gardai can not be changed without legislation changes-
    So that’s why they are going after allowances
    Fair play to the gardai standing up for urself it’s a pity us the private sector in some places can’t

• Well done …. Lets hope it’s the first of many.. We have to stand up against the FG Labour and FF gangsters

• Good on them. Finally somebody standing up and saying No. Not a huge fan of the guards but this is not on. Our fantastic government is putting public safety second to paying private sector debt. If we can give financial aid to third world countries we should have money to pay the cops. It’s a car crash and the Irish tax payer is paying all damages probably for years to come.

• Ah wouldn’t be the same without a snide remarry from Harry the Troll!!!!

• I’d say Shatter is Shitting himself

• How does taking 1billion euro from public sector workers help? Okay it reduces the pay bill but it means 1billion euro less spent in the private sector which given the current circumstances is enough to collapse many small struggling businesses resulting in further unemployment in the private sector resulting in increased social welfare payments and less taxes being paid! All this public/private sector debate is BS! I agree the public sector need reform and accountability, people not fulfilling their job role should be dismissed but I don’t understand how a cross the board cut of 1billion euro to the public sector workers is going to help anyone. Public sector rely on private sector taxes, private sector rely on public sector spending, one being cut affects the other. The government need 1billion euro I understand this but this needs to come from ridiculous expenses such as free Dail bars, ministerial cars and over inflated ministerial pensions, social welfare fraud, not from workers pockets as everyone will suffer in the long run eventually. The GRA are right to stand up to this farce and other unions need to do the same, workers need protection regardless of their sector

• There is something morally wrong when we bail out the banks for billions and take away the same money from the people who are looking after us. When you see what the banks Di with our money regarding sponsorship its immoral. The banks also threw money at the Garda and other people in secure jobs and now our government are skinning them and their families alive. All the while the top brass at the banks and the TDs sit on corporate boxes that the Garda are paying for. Crazy country we live in.

• When some lead others will follow, time to stand up and be counted . Where is the leadership from the trade unions nowhere to be seen they are too busy selling their members down the river, judas goats.

• Jaysus lads where’s reggie you’d miss his trolling on the issue he must be hard at work in the dept of finance!!

• There is an alternative union look up union. ie the independent workers union not affiliated to congress by choice fully licensed member driven won’t enter talks worth a look

• We need a national all out strike end of story or a riot

• I think the gards will get what thay want in the end , there needed to keep the rest of us in place !! When its our turn to protest. And thay will.its a shame but its just the way it is .good. Luck to them .

• http://www.shelltosea.com/

To all front line workers you have to see our taoiseach in the dail in the link above …it’s a matter of public record !

• Actually check out the shell to sea youtube videos :) remember that garda rape tape thing that was so efoted it shpuld have been called a remix :) she is in alot of videos on there blocking roads when she is picked up for illegally blocking starts screaming she is being raped. Classly lot :)

• So edited ***

• this has nothing to do with personalities in my opinion …we could all start firing stones at each other …there are pictures of Guards lying out sunning themselves in Mayo in full uniform as well …this is about the property rights of the nation in my opinion…I don’t care if the guards got a fortune in overtime down there , I don’t care if they got a fortune in overtime training for riots that never happened , i care about today and what we together as a nation are going tomorrow to get our nation back on a healthy foundation for the welfare of our kids… Property rights are fine for 1.1. billion into the A.I.B. pension fund despite the fact that it is a State-owned company and now be the same pensions as public sector …so if the frontline workers want to go and get their little deals and forget about everyone else and look down their noses at everyone else because they have a uniform …fine! ….but what are your kids going to do for a job ? …have you thought about that ?
      remember this government had plenty of money to shore up the pension fund of the bank …despite they are not paying out some of them for years …. and you wonder why your allowances are being cut ????
      the nation will back you to the hilt if you do the right thing …to ignore the oil and gas is to give legitimacy to RAY BURKE …. I will never do that …but we live in a democracy so feel free to make up your own ind …I have and I can still express my opinion!

• so if you dont care about garda overtime why you posting in this particular forum ??

by the way shell to sea was never at about the selling of the gas it was about a pipeline that, then it turned to off shore drilling and when they knew it was past stopping that then it turned to selling of resources.

indy media is site for you buddy :)

• I don’t care about garda overtime earned to date .
      I am an Irish citizen and have inherent property rights as indeed do all irish citizens over our natural resources.
      Our gardai are protectors of the law in this state.
      This is my real name so anybody who thinks they are a cartoon character, and a baby one at that, should find a site called moshi monsters more to their tastes, in my opinion, or I’m sure barney the dinosaur also has a site….in my opinion!
      I don’t need a history lesson on the shell to sea campaign , I am referring to a dail debate on their website….perhaps a look at the IRISH Constitution would be of benefit to you.
      Article 15.4 allows for all laws that are a breach of the constitution to be illegal, regardless of whether they are written into law or not! ..It allows for the management of our natural resources and it does not allow for their mismanagement.,..
      One question if I may …are you an Irish Citizen ?……….. Stewie …no your not!….. you’re a cartoon character !
      There are two types of Mayo men , on one side you have politicians like Charlie haughey, Enda Kenny, Padraig flynn , dara calleary, Pat rabbitte, ……… then there are Mayo men like Padraig Nally who believe in protecting their property from atatck ! ………. There’s a soial lesson for you !

• Alangb 21/02/13 #

Who’s guarding the centurions though???

• @Nuffsaid Thatsall They were as in the thick of it when it came to buying property, I personally know a Garda under 30 who owns 4 properties! It is just completely unacceptable that the majority of people working in this economy in the private sector has had to make this adjustment, yet a sizable sector of the economy who happen to be paid by the state, get to head into the fortress that is created by the Croke Park Agreement and then pull the drawbridge up behind them! Why is taxpayers money that is paying these public sector salaries, somehow seen as less worthy of value or prudent spending, than the revenue that a private sector company needs to manage in order to stay open for business?

I fully appreciate the unique and often difficult job that nurses and Gardai do, but my job has its difficulties, every job has its difficulties and I’m sick of listening to people, particularly in the HSE or Gardai, quoting risk in relation to their job. First of all, it has nothing to do with pay and secondly, it was something that every Garda or nurse agreed to take on when they applied for the job. It can also be argued that I will never have the chance to the very positive side of being a nurse or a Garda, when someones life is saved, or to play a central part in seeing a rapist or a murderer convicted & sent to jail.

The reality is that the completely unsustainable pay levels agreed during the Celtic Tiger benchmarking days, need to be reversed, this has happened in the private sector and where it hasn’t happened, the business has ceased trading and the ultimate pay cut has been the outcome. This is what the problem is and no amount of deflecting the argument by referring to junkies at 2 in the morning is going to sort out the overall problem here.

• Good man, you know of one Guard who owns four properties! My partner’s a Guard and we have a place together which we can barely afford to keep! Dozens of her colleagues are in the same boat!! And yeah they knew of the dangers they were signing up to, they signed a contract to that effect! But they also knew of their specific pay scale too & signed a contract to that effect! I’m not Anti-Private Sector Pro-Public! People, their jobs & their salaries / pay conditions shouldn’t have been treated the way they were when things turned sour but their great Unions did nothing about it! The unfair cuts will keep coming unless something’s done about it and the Gardai are doing just that! It’d be somewhat easier to understand, but unfair nonetheless, if cuts were applied across the Public Sector as a whole…But sure then Enda & Co. would be taking a hit too!! Can’t be having that!!

• In limp biscuit style

Keep trollin trollin trollin

• Jason 21/02/13 #

Where exactly has it happened in the private sector michalcollinsghost? You constantly come on to these threads bashing the public sector by making sweeping all inclusive statements about over paid public servants. You seem quite happy to infer that “The private sector” have had wage cuts across the board without exception. This is complete and utter ignorance of the facts. The only group that can be spoken of in the context you like doing (all inclusive) is the public sector who have all taken massive pay cuts. I know people working in a number of different business across a variety of sectors that have at least kept consistent pay and some that have had pay increases. Your generalisations have gotten very tiresome and your posts repetitive. Do a bit of research and at least attempt a bit of fairness in your “considered posts”

• youdontknowme…. so you have formed an opinion about the men women children kids youth and me on my profile, exactly what do you mean . what do you alledge to the people on here

• youdontknowme ……….Just look at the paper to morrow and see what the courts do to people like you that go on line with anger and premetated character assination

• The only education campaign that is needed in relation to the GRA is a campaign to show them how well paid they are, especially at the higher end of the salary scale, like all public sector workers in this country, and then show them the half a million people on the dole who have had a 100% pay cut forced upon them in the private sector when they lost their jobs and the other huge numbers of people who are on 3 day weeks, the other 100K-200K who have emigrated or are in the process of doing so, the tens of thousands who have had to take on pay cuts and increased work loads and increased hours, just to keep their employers business afloat so that they might have a job.

Every single thing that has been asked of public sector workers has had to be dragged out of them kicking and screaming, and it was only when their pay was guaranteed to remain at Celtic Tiger levels since 2008 via the Croke Park Agreement, that there was a half arsed attempt to cooperate with “reform” and to try to pretend that they were grateful for those Celtic Tiger salaries. Now that pay is back on the table, WHERE IT SHOULD BE, we are getting the same old failed insider protectionist mindset again.

We really need something along the lines of the TV series “Wifeswap” in this country, where these individuals who think they are automatically entitled to protection from what are reasonable and necessary adjustments back from the pay increases that were stupidly agreed to pursuant to the Celtic Tiger era benchmarking process under Fianna Fail, can step into a private sector role and see the lack of job security that people are experiencing, the pay cuts, the 3 day weeks, the huge additional workload that has to be taken on in order to keep the business open at a competitive cost, the ultimate pay cut that someone will experience when a job is lost, I could go on and on and on, but in all seriousness, some people in this country just need to be told to snap out of it at this stage and get with the program.

• Who caused the economic collapse in the first place!?!? Don’t think it was the Married Guard & Nurse who dared to buy a 3-Bed Semi-D in a satellite town 30k, 40 or 50km from Dublin where they work as it was all they could afford! But sure as long as the Mercs & Perks keep flowing and the Bondholders & Euro over-watchers are content to hell with the Front-liners! Sure a junkie biting ya in a Hospital A&E at 4am on a Saturday morning or in the course of being apprehended committing a Burglary is nothing! The money grabbin’ Gardai / Nurses & Co. knew what they were getting into when they signed up!! Didn’t they!?!

• Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Jason 21/02/13 #

You should snap out of it and get with the programme. How dare people fight for their livelihoods in order to pay the bills. Just because one works for the state doesn’t mean they can be treated with contempt and disdain. You’re some intellectual ranting and raving the same ill thought out mantra about public service pay without any fair thought behind it. Then again you’re obviously a fine gaeler with your choice of name. It’s actually quite amusing to see you spout the same guff as your fearless and teary leader Mr. Kenny when he blames the last lot for all the “tough decisions” he makes. What’s your five point plan??

• treason

• Nuffsaid… hope you were listening to the radio when i explained treason. 94. ,,,fm live

Add New Comment