You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Hackers allied to the Anonymous movement have posted passwords used to access and edit pages on a website controlled by the Department of Foreign Affairs. fotografar via Flickr

Government website passwords obtained by Anonymous hacker

A ‘hacktivist’ from the Anonymous movement accesses and publishes website passwords of staff of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

Updated, 12:32

A HACKER from the Anonymous ‘hacktivist’ movement has accessed website passwords of a number of government employees and officials, and posted them online this evening.

A user posted the details in an online chat room used by the collective for its ‘#OpIreland’ campaign, which targets the websites of Irish governmental agencies in protest at government plans to introduce new legislation reinforcing the rights of copyright holders in the sharing of online materials.

The passwords were then widely disseminated on Twitter through an account used by the Swedish arm of the international movement.

Subsequent tweets from the Swedish account specifically referenced Seán Sherlock, the junior minister behind the plans for the new legislation, urging him to “hear the good people of Ireland or expect us!”

The distributed data showed what appeared to be the passwords for 19 user accounts, 17 of which belong to the Department of Foreign Affairs, used by staff in the Department to edit the website for Irish Aid, the government’s overseas development programme.

The other two accounts appeared to belong to staff at Arekibo, a digital media company credited as having designed the site.

The chat room used by Anonymous later identified the website of the Labour party, of which Sherlock is a member, as another target. It is understood that access to the site was disrupted for periods overnight as a result of that attack, though the site itself was not compromised.

‘Unusual activity’

A spokeswoman for the Department of Foreign Affairs said there had been “some unusual activity” on the Irish Aid site, which has since between taken offline by the Department and remains inaccessible this lunchtime.

“We are aware of website user login information being posted online,” the spokeswoman said. “The website server has been taken offline as a precautionary measure and the matter is being investigated by our IT specialists.

“This is an external service and is separate to the internal Department servers; these have not been affected.”

The attack follows earlier activity by Anonymous, which had previously engineered attacks on Sherlock’s own personal website, as well as those of the Departments of Finance and Justice.

Those websites were the subject of DDoS attacks, where websites are deliberately flooded with traffic in order to make them inaccessible, almost exactly a week ago. On that occasion, however, no sensitive data was thought to have been compromised.

Sherlock yesterday told a Dáil discussion on his plans that he would not be changing the proposed wording of his statutory instrument, despite the fears of opposition TDs and businesses that its current format could allow the courts to grant injunctions blocking access to major websites like YouTube or Facebook.

An online petition against the legislation, launched nine days ago, had attracted just under 80,000 signatures at the time of publication.

Read: Wording of ‘SOPA Ireland’ legislation will NOT be changed – Sherlock

More: Ireland’s ‘SOPA’ legislation: The big arguments for and against

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Mute The boot
    Favourite The boot
    Nov 4th 2023, 2:57 AM

FF fg greens out with lot of them.
    When you work a full time job and still can only barely pay the bills and can’t afford to save a few euros. There’s something wrong bigtime. And yes iam up skilled. My wife also works. .
    Full-time employment means nothing.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 4th 2023, 3:14 AM

@The boot: very true. God ( whoever that is) love the younger generation coming tru in this so messed up joke of a country.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:48 AM

@The boot: Spot on. I know many in the same boat. You will get the shills on here this morning staying the stats are saying you are lying. Or you should go and look for a better job.
    They have’nt a bloody clue what they are talking about. Pumping out the same rubbish day in, day out.

Mute Gar Fitz
    Favourite Gar Fitz
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:13 AM

@The boot: feel your pain mate ,I’m self employed doing well partner works , what we used to be able to save for a house has just vanished , getting tighter and tighter every month , strange times

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:26 AM

I don’t think FF FG Greens will survive next election. It’s gonna change. And if that makes things worse for a small period. Maybe it’s the only way to wake them up. We won’t vote for them if the people are not first priority.

I’d rather see things get even worse under new leadership than continue on this shambolic situation at the moment.

Nov 4th 2023, 9:45 AM

@Paul Gorry: such an unfortunately accurate comment. I’m afraid the days of large scale immigration of young Irish to England, Canada and Australia is returning. Owning a home is now an unrealistic ideal and good luck to anyone trying to even rent.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:03 AM

@The boot: very good point,same here working full time and nothing moving forward just bills paid at best,no holidays or nights out,very unfair, in most countries you work to have a better life here you just work to pay the bills mortgage or high rent and as opposed to social welfare you have enough for an extra curry chips at the end of the week and an odd latte or something not much else,very little benefit as you’re entitlements go straight out the window and absorb you’re income,it’s fair to say generations coming up are really screwed very disheartening shame on our government and fatcats with they’re greed developer’s and landlords,hotels getting state money and increasing they’re prices bled the country dry in the end

Mute Lucy Thomas
    Favourite Lucy Thomas
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:24 AM

I did chuckle at the prospect of a Fianna Fáil split at the prospect of a coalition with Sinn Fein, yet they didn’t split at a coalition with Fine Gael.
    Talk of European jobs is offensive. Do what is right for your countrymen and govern for the Irish people without an eye over your shoulder.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:43 AM

@Lucy Thomas: Always been the way with Irish politicians unfortunately

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 3:49 AM

@Lucy Thomas: what are you on about?

Nov 4th 2023, 8:15 AM

@Sham Whelan: she’s on about the self serving inept government.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Nov 4th 2023, 5:20 AM

This article actually states that Fianna Fail will be a safe pair of hands and will win the economic argument..Ha ha h ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haha.( forPause breath)ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…

Mute Pat the Baker
    Favourite Pat the Baker
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:41 AM

Why hasn’t Micheal built any social housing?
    That used to be FF’s strongest point.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:17 AM

@Pat the Baker: Cos the cost of the Children’s Hospital is going to rise by €12bn with a €1bn bonus for the members of the Dail for a job well done.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:26 AM

@Rafa C: so lame

Nov 4th 2023, 10:15 AM

@Temp Stuff: you are, yes.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:42 AM

FF big issue is identity
    Same polices and outlook as FG …
    So, SF will reap.the benefits of this lack difference .
    As for MMs sense of duty to go into government with SF
    Pity he didn’t have a sense of duty when he sold his soul to be Taoiseach.

And hopefully that FF T.D keeps his promise and resigns when FFand SF are in government

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 4:10 AM

@John Mcmahon: who cares about FF the corruption Party?

Nov 4th 2023, 3:35 AM

Bye bye FF,good riddance,the older generation are gone & we won’t vote ye in,

Mute Hugh De Payans
    Favourite Hugh De Payans
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:57 AM

You will vote them in. After you see what SF are like in government. And before you say “they can’t be worse than the current shower” …you don’t understand politics and finance.

Mute Adrian Kehoe
    Favourite Adrian Kehoe
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:29 AM

@Hugh De Payans: can you elaborate on that statement , and please don’t use Northern Ireland as a source for your argument as it’s a completely different cesspool up there . There has been much more damage done in this country by the sitting three parties in every single department of governance and there is no current statistical analysis available for Sinn Fein in power here on the south but yet you speculate about a parties performance in office that’s none existent , I can’t say for certain if Sinn Fein are the answer but I/we will find out after the next GE and I believe they deserve a chance to govern, I would imagine they along with FF will lead the next government.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:38 AM

@Hugh De Payans: FF didn’t understand finance when they facilated the gangsterism of the banks and developers who were bailed out by the taxpayers. The same taxpayers who were then forced into austerity to repay for the gangsterism of the above. FF certainly understood finance when the brown envelopes came their way in the Galway tent. The same developers who again have been given a free pass by Darragh O’Brien when he quietly dropped legislation concerning Developers hording land….Haughty Ahern they certainly understood the finance of corruption that still exists in FF.

Mute Adrian Kehoe
    Favourite Adrian Kehoe
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:53 AM

@Donal Desmond: True , it runs much deeper too .

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:09 AM

@Hugh De Payans: but you see so many that don’t are so frustrated with the cabbages we have in power that they’ll vote jack the ripper in at this stage this is how perhaps the wrong party will get into power from a hopeless thinkless no forward planning ignoring the obvious ffg who have had countless years to try improve things and have failed,failed,failed and they’re legacy will be homeless at record levels younger generations emigrating absolute disgrace

Nov 4th 2023, 10:18 AM

@Hugh De Payans: LOL.. the stench you.. FF are dead in the eyes of anyone under 50.. a useless shower of gombeens who only ever were good for ripping off their voters. The drink drivers party.. the throw up a few sheds to make a killing off of refugees kinda party. They are cooked for anyone who doesn’t do purple rinse.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:52 AM

@Hugh De Payans: so you’re saying sf are definitely going to be worse even though they have never been in power so you’re basing this on what? The North? Very different situation but if you knew anything about politics you’d surely know that

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 4th 2023, 12:20 PM

@Hugh De Payans: so if we vote SF we’re dumb and don’t understand politics and finance.
    Your wrong
    When families have 2 full time jobs and are still struggling it’s FF that don’t understand Finance and politics .
    They’re learn soon enough after the next election.
    MM will be gone and hopefully a more progressive leader will emerge .

Mute Hugh De Payans
    Favourite Hugh De Payans
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:03 PM

@John Mcmahon: Your grammar and spelling is atrocious. You’re a typical Sinn Fein pleb. I’m not much of a FF/FG fan but SF can’t even keep their own councillors (Dowdall) in check. I can’t imagine them governing a country. It would be laughable, if it wasn’t such a serious function.

Nov 4th 2023, 2:58 PM

@Hugh De Payans: Ah there it is, An ad hominem attack, usually the last bastion of somebody who can’t put forward a coherent argument.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:30 PM

@Hugh De Payans: Damien English, Niall Collins , just two among FFG TDs who had to resign since Martin and FF went cap in hand to Varadkar to form a government. Bertie Ahern..A proven liar attended his first Ard Fheis since he was allowed to rejoin the FF mafia family. He is giving financial advice to TDs at the Ard Fheis ….Cash only as he has no bank account for cards… Will Niall Collins explain to the Ard Fheis why he refused to appear before the ethics Committee concerning his travel expenses? … or Damien English to explain why he was let off the hook without further explanation??

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:37 PM

@Donal Desmond: bertie ahern the chief architect of the liquidation of our country has been invited to tonight’s ard fheis by Micheal Martin. Nothing has changed in Cosa Nostra FF

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:39 PM

@Hugh De Payans: is mc gahon the FG senator still sticking Twixs up the anus of passed out men?

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:18 AM

Question 1: how can they look in the mirror knowing the state of the health service in this country? Fianna fail minister in charge of it. Question 2: how can they look in the mirror knowing the state of the housing crisis in this country? Record homelessness figures. Young people with zero chance of buying a home. Fianna fail minister in charge of it. Question 3: how can we really look people in the eye and ask for votes?

Nov 4th 2023, 2:04 AM

How much of the party funds and private donations were ‘resting’ in Mrs Martin’s swollen accounts and who will succeed him soon after they get lambasted in the next election!?

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:41 PM

That was an accident! Who here has ever had a developers money lodged into one of there bank accounts, quite a lot I’d say?

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 3:55 AM

The party that bankrupted the country, a finance minister with no bank account, a justice minister that went to jail, a fat drunken fool minister for health, yet they are voted in time and time again, the Irish, gluttons for punishment

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:42 AM

@Shom Whelan: what’s the alternative

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:27 AM

@David Glynn: we must have at least ten political parties and a lot of independents. There’s lots of choice.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:25 AM

@David Glynn: When you consider A crumbling Health service, Housing crisis, Homelessness, A make it up as you go along refugee crisis,Scandal after scandal Billions taken from the Irish economy and Billions more to be repaid for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilated by the same politicians who are again in power… Think their is an alternative there..

Mute John Manahan
    Favourite John Manahan

An abysmal gathering of things. Niall Collins, Niamh Smyth, O Brien, Norma “Ansbacher” Foley … nothing more to be said

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:53 AM

@John Manahan: Wonder will Niall Collins explain to the FF grassroots why he refused to appear before the ethics Committee concerning his travel expenses. Collins could take his place behind Damien English who rode off into the sunset without a full explanation.. Ahern giving financial advice to FF TDs …for a small cash fee …No cards or cheques please .

Mute Darren McCarthy
    Favourite Darren McCarthy
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:22 AM

FF would go into government with the Tories if it meant getting their hands on the ministerial cars and bumper pensions. They will stand at your front door and lie to your face….believe nothing any politician says.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:41 AM

@Darren McCarthy: Yes. All politicans!!

Nov 4th 2023, 10:36 AM

@Chris Gaffney: of FF colours yes. The rip off your own people for personal benefit party.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:28 AM

There’s so many Questions but fluck all answers….

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:17 AM

Fianna Fail are slowly grinding to oblivion. When DeValera founded it he had ideals and principles, not to the liking of all of course but they fulfilled a need in the Ireland of the 20s, 30s and 40s with Lemass taking them into a new place in the 60s and 70s buy boy has it gone wrong since then.
    They no longer fulfil a need in Irish politics, they are just FG light, a party of the Professions and the those of inherited wealth and Sinn Fein have taken the mantle of the party of the people who pay their own way in life.

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:47 AM

@Gerry Ryan: I couldn’t give a shite about Fianna Fail, sooner they’re gone, the better

Mute Davy
    Favourite Davy
    Nov 4th 2023, 5:54 AM

Most all in FFG know there’s a kicking coming.
    Only the most deluded cannot see it coming.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Nov 4th 2023, 2:58 AM

Why hasn’t Tusla’s negligence been mentioned yet iro the beautiful AM?? Hhhmmm… everyone knows but we can’t speak of it.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Nov 4th 2023, 2:30 PM

@Rowe: it’s a total cover up Rowe it’s so frustrating but moreso heartbreaking for those who know the truth and how this could have been prevented.

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 5:23 AM

They are still the most arrogant, nanny state, church state party, a real 1950s party

Mute Journal Factchecker
    Favourite Journal Factchecker
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:34 AM

Whay do we still exist?
    Where do we go from here?
    Should we just merge with FG?
    How we we keep our snouts in the trough?
    When can we get back to the good old days of tents at the Galway races and fat brown envelopes?
    Is there any othe way we can ruin or bankrupt the country?

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:29 AM

@Journal Factchecker: u forgot to mention at the end of your post. That word Again.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Nov 4th 2023, 2:27 AM

Dail Eireann is a circus and the biggest clowns are Fianna Fail. Joke of a party.

Mute james dooley
    Favourite james dooley
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:07 AM

The big question going to be asked is going to be When will I get my big fat ministerial pension for destroying the country my lord Micheal

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:37 AM

All the FF members have the blinkers on they totally don’t see or feel the mood of the people, there won’t be many of them in jobs after the next election,

Mute Dissasociated Follower
    Favourite Dissasociated Follower

Here’s a couple of big questions that should be facing them. “Why have we been a part of this allience of the GREEDY for so long and what can we do to change our ways for the good of all society and not just those within our circle?”

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:55 AM

On a good day coming soon Michael Martin will get thrown out along with Leo the vengeful arrogant delusional leader who thrives on his disgraceful mantra towards sine Fein. Big electorate boots coming and that will be the good day.

The expensive chaotic mess these two parties are leaving behind needs sorting out.

Mute Pat the Baker
    Favourite Pat the Baker
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:22 AM

Young people can’t afford to rent or buy a property in this country because FF/FG sold out to multinationals who use young educated people to increase their profits but won’t pay enough tax to fund basic social needs such as housing.

Mute Brian molloy
    Favourite Brian molloy
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:09 AM

I often wonder what sort of eegit thinks the failers are doing a good job running the country

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:12 AM

@Brian molloy: only the ones who benefit from them at this point

Nov 4th 2023, 7:47 AM

They haven’t a brian cell between them.

Nov 4th 2023, 5:52 AM

Deluded clowns

Mute karen delaney
    Favourite karen delaney
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:38 AM

I cannot wait for the next election. I am sick and tired of FF, FG and the Greens gaslighting the whole country. They are a disgrace to the men and women who went before them. This is not the Ireland they fought and died for. Michael Martin recently answered a legitimate question about the amount of refugees coming to Ireland with the response “where’s your humanity”. I ask him where is his humanity towards people in this country who have spent years in homelessness. Sick children waiting for years on necessary spinal surgery to name but a few.

Nov 4th 2023, 8:15 AM

More smoke and mirrors. They will be anhilalated in the GE. Even more so FG and Greens. They will be all begging to be a mudflap to SF to feed at the trough. Mehole is a sychophant to anyone who will tolerate him. Hopefully the few FF stragglers left will not be needed to form the next Government. None of them will be resigning the cosy cartel anyway. Not like FF to tell porkies….

Nov 4th 2023, 8:25 AM

@Jimmy Wallace: They are different you’re attempts at Gaslighting aside. Change is needed. SF have costed and offered it. They know if they don’t deliver they will pay harshly. A lesson FFG will soon learn.

Nov 4th 2023, 8:28 AM

*Your

Nov 4th 2023, 10:33 AM

@Jimmy Wallace: Give us the lotto numbers there will ya.. or are your predictions just borne out of desperation..

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:25 AM

I am sorry. The lot of them should be got rid of. No good to this country in me holes case and a few more of them. It’s cork cork cork and dublin dublin dublin. That is the country to them. This gombeen politics of I’ll look after this place when I’m a minster I thought was finished. Surely Mary lou has to be given a chance. Can’t be any worse can she. Must get rid of eamonn me hole and Leo.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:30 AM

According to the story below about the Ard fheis, they’re giving lessons on how to look and sound good online, image over substance springs to mind.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:41 AM

FF and FG are the exact same party, only thing that separated them was obviously name, and were historical views on past leadership regarding the treaty. When they’re told at the door Mícheál is respected as leader you just know it’s a FG voter. The gap has been bridged since this government formed and unfortunately will more than likely stay for the foreseeable, especially with older voters consistently voting the same lines forever no matter what the cost to their children and grandchildren.

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:02 AM

More promises and lies about all they are going to do (just like FG). Then do absolutely nothing for the electorate.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:48 AM

The Mahon and Moriarty tribunals.

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:43 AM

Big questions? Probably who can we take from to give ourselves a fat bonus for all our hard work? The mental health sector doesn’t need resources so we’ll cut their funds and we’ll all meet in the Seychelles, we’ll take separate private jets, as the environment isn’t really important. It just get us votes. Grrrrrrr…….

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:14 AM

@Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh): the private jet is well kitted out and Leo and the lads went to south Korea during the week to promote Irish beef with full expenses money well spent indeed never mind the average person, they never did proven that for long enough

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:23 AM

@Paddy C: honestly, it’s unbelievable. And they just keep doing it. No consciences among them.

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:37 AM

Fianna Fail is ready for battle… what an arrogant shower, but the voters still elect that vermin

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:27 AM

@Shom Whelan: That’s democracy!! Or are you espousing something different??

Nov 4th 2023, 10:23 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: Certain types of old-timers like Sean will vote for them no matter what due to traditional loyalty.. but they are less in number with each day that passes. Anybody else only sees incompetence and corruption when they look at FF.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Nov 4th 2023, 7:48 AM

FF can ask – is this war all about building the Ben Gurion canal and Gaza is in the way?

Mute Hugh De Payans
    Favourite Hugh De Payans
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:59 AM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: I think FF have other things to worry about than asking ridiculous conspiracy theory questions affecting countries 1000s of miles away

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:22 AM

@Hugh De Payans: firstly, not a conspiracy theory.
    Second, dont think this doesnt affect us all in Ireland between the awful images on the news and the ever increasing energy bills.
    The civilian sacrifice on both sides for this Project is just worth the price according to Benni

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:57 PM

@Hugh De Payans: FF certainly have other things on their mind…The likes of Martin going to the Ukraine for a photo opp…Didn’t see him rushing to Palestine for the same photo opp. Suppose his memory is fading when as a Minister in the FF/ Green government that facilated the gangsterism of the banks and developers Martin claimed he he did not know or was not told about the economic crash that was on the way..That makes him a fool or a liar …Both would be apt to him..Especially when he publicly stated there was NO Bank Bailout…A hypocrite of the highest order.

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Favourite Sean oSuilleabhain
    Nov 4th 2023, 11:22 AM

Michael Martin you lost THREE gen elections as FF leader. You are the Taoiseach because of a narcissistic, cost deal you got yourself. Get out of political office, get off the media, get off this island you are manure

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 3:47 AM

It will be a Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail coalition, but agreement that it’s a Fianna Fail Taoisaech for the full term

Nov 4th 2023, 4:11 AM

@Shom Whelan: As long as SF don’t bring PBP or the Greens in with them. They’ll never again get a vote in our house if they do

Mute Shom Whelan
    Favourite Shom Whelan
    Nov 4th 2023, 5:40 AM

I hate Richard

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:26 AM

@Shom Whelan: over my dead body. No way

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 4th 2023, 8:43 AM

You can’t dance on your own!!

Nov 4th 2023, 10:29 AM

@Chris Gaffney: Your conventional political wisdom and inane one-liners count for Jack s*** pal..

Nov 4th 2023, 10:30 AM

They will lose half of their support if they go near FF..

Mute Philip Slevin
    Favourite Philip Slevin
    Nov 4th 2023, 9:13 AM

I never voted FF but there always there, they brought the people of Ireland to our knees and we are still playing for it, and we will be playing for it next year when they jump into bed with SF who all they won’t to do is get us all to speak Irish and become part of the north.

Nov 4th 2023, 10:20 AM

@Philip Slevin: They won’t be getting anywhere near SF’s bed. People are going to SF because they are not FF. If SF bring FF into government, they will lose at least half of their support. Not. Happening.

Nov 4th 2023, 10:09 AM

Apparently the word Clowns is offensive

Nov 4th 2023, 3:06 PM

The offence-o-meter on this site is as useful as a c0c£ flavoured lollypop.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Nov 4th 2023, 10:59 AM

Sick of people saying sf will wreck the country. Who told you that? Oh ya the good old ffg shur they’d know all about wrecking it. I mean come on people, it’s time to wake the f##k up

Nov 4th 2023, 10:07 AM

SF should not form a government with these

Mute Pavel Shipilov
    Favourite Pavel Shipilov
    Nov 4th 2023, 11:05 AM

Irish people its time for you to get rid of a parasite, that been sucking out all your juices and energy!

Mute BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Favourite BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:11 PM

Worst government in history ff/fg , Europe first, Migrants second,the Irish come in third.

Mute Sean oSuilleabhain
    Favourite Sean oSuilleabhain
    Nov 4th 2023, 11:18 AM

Anyone who voted for this party in the past decade, particularly the narcissists who could casually / softly put them down in 2011,16 (cos it shows during the cruel austerity they couldnt be bothered being distracted from their warped lives to get informed and then vote) Is a total enemy of the Irish people. You are hated, not pitied by most with common sense.

Mute Nick Murphy
    Favourite Nick Murphy
    Nov 4th 2023, 1:19 PM

Most of the comments on this issue are simply wishful thinking for Sinn Fein supporters and their deluded fellow travellers. FG and FF will not be wiped out after the next election on the contrary they will probably have enough seats between them to match the total Sinn Fein hope to achieve. FG will not go into coalition with Sinn Fein thats a given, will FF be happy to be a mudguard for Sinn Fein? time will tell. In any case there is no chance that Sinn Fein can form a government with about 30% of the vote. And always remember FF always preform better than the polls suggest and the FG vote will hold up well. I would suggest there will be more independent TD’s in the next Dail that means more confusion. To conclude if people think that we are heading to nirvana under a majority Sinn Fein government (with ministers who gave a standing ovation to the murderers of Garda Jerry McCabe at their Ard Fheis) they are in for a shock.

Nov 4th 2023, 2:59 PM

@Nick Murphy: this reeks of desperation and grasping at straws

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 4th 2023, 6:33 PM

Was Bertie ahern the most corrupt politician in the history of Irish politics?

And why has Micheal Martin invited bertie to this year’s cosa nostra get together?

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Nov 4th 2023, 5:00 PM

Man in Limerick killed with a shovel – not a slash hook?