TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

“Keep walking, I’m gonna rape you” – Irish street harassment stories shared on Hollaback

Since its launch earlier this month, women have shared experiences of being jeered at, physically picked up by strangers and threatened with rape.

FILE.
FILE.
Image: Shutterstock

IRISH PEOPLE HAVE been sharing their stories of street harassment on the Hollaback website, saying they have been jeered at, physically lifted up by strangers and threatened with rape.

The stories are shared on the website at dublin.ihollaback.org, which is the latest addition to the international site that originated in the USA. Hollaback is for women, men and members of the LGBTQ community to share their experiences of street harassment

Aimée Doyle, PRO for Dublin Hollaback, told TheJournal.ie that they were delighted with the response since the site went live. “We are getting stories emailed to us constantly which is absolutely wonderful,” she said. “People are really taking it on board.”

She said that from the “I’ve got your back” feedback left in response to the comments, “you can see a lot of people are listening to them and empathising with them”.

hollaback

Image: http://dublin.ihollaback.org/

“Obviously myself and the other organisations, we all knew this sort of thing happens – it happened to us everyday day,” continued Doyle.

A lot of people have not realised the severity of what is happening and how pervasive it is. Because it is so normal, they don’t realise it is happening as much.

She said that as street harassment isn’t as common among men, the responses from male friends included that “they didn’t realise how extensive it is; how serious it is; how intimidating it is” until they read the site.

What of those who suggest that street harassment isn’t a major issue? “We have come across that opinion from certain areas, and certain areas online,” said Doyle.

I think now that stories have started to be posted up, people are realising it’s not a small little trivial thing, they are realising the extent of it. People are probably taking the site a bit more seriously now that they can see exactly what we are about.

Doyle said there are a few stories sent in every day, and they are growing in numbers. The stories are vetted before they go online

There appears to have been a major change in how people speak about very personal experiences in Ireland in recent years. “There are an awful lot of stories at the moment, people sharing harassment, assault [stories]… its all to do with consent, abuse of power,” said Doyle. “I would like to think that it is a moment where change will start, where we will start to change from now.”

“I think this is a year for women’s experiences, and the rights of women, to do with every aspect of life.”

Sharing stories

Here are two of the recent stories posted on Hollaback’s Dublin site:

Vanessa’s story:

It was late at night and I was alone and lost when I turned a corner to see two men walking toward me. “I’m going to pick you up,” one said as he walked up to me, wrapped his arms around my legs, and lifted me in the air. I struggled and pleaded with him to put me down, and when he eventually did, he gripped my wrist so I couldn’t get away. I continued begging him to let me go. Finally, his friend told him to stop giving me a hard time, and he let go, but only when he was satisfied with the look of fear in my eyes. If his friend hadn’t spoken up, there’s no telling what he would have done.

Louise’s story:

I was walking down the road towards the nightlink, and a man was urinating in on the path under a street lamp. I walked past and my face must have been disgusted and he turned around, shook his penis at me and said “Keep walking, I’m gonna rape you.” I stood in the door of Pearse St station until the night link came.

Hollaback Dublin will hold a launch event at Solas Bar, 31 Wexford Street, on 28 November, at which all are welcome.

Read: Dublin Rape Crisis Centre took almost 12,000 calls last year>

Read next:

Comments (106 Comments)

• Everyone, not just women, are subject to street harassment. I was walking through Temple Bar one afternoon when a drunk girl tried to stub her cigarette in my face. I’d never hit a girl but came close that time.

• If this type of thing is so common, it must be either part of our culture, or is seen as “normal” behaviour. I have a teenage daughter and another who is almost there. As a father I would probably clobber someone who acted like any of the idiots in the examples above or on the website toward my daughter. But I have heard the wolf whistles in the past and did nothing to defend someone else’s daughter. This type of behaviour is common, but it will take a prolonged national debate to change the ingrained behaviour of what is probably a stereotypical male behaviour.

I don’t recall behaving in such a way towards women, except for the occasional wolf whistle when my wife is all done up to go out, but that is genuine admiration in a loving relationship. I suppose being dragged up by four sisters put some manners on me.

Drink and ignorance are probably the main culprits and the only excuse can be loss of self control, which is not really acceptable. We have the laws to punish such behaviour, so what is really needed is judges to create effective case law and lots of education for our young men. I personally blame the mammies. Mine let my sisters train me, but what of families where the girls can’t gang up???

• Hollaback is for women, men and members of the LGBTQ community

So members of the LGBTQ community are neither men nor women?

• I’m ashamed and embarrassed to share the same sex with those types of dopes to be honest. It sickens me that women have to put up with that just cause a man is after a few. Please don’t tar us all though, clearly some men belong in the zoo and not out on the streets!

• @Stephen Church- seems like you’re a raving misogynist who doesn’t like it when women just want to be treated as human beings not pieces of meat. I suggest you move to Saudi Arabia, you’ll probably be very happy there.
    Isn’t it terrible when women just won’t sit there and take abuse?
    Feminism is about promoting equality for women, not about denigrating men, seriously, why do I still have to say this?
    I’m just glad that most men don’t think like that anymore, its terrible that some young men still do, I wonder how they explain this to their Mothers/Sisters/girlfriends.

• Feminism is about womens rights at the expense of all others , a lot of users on that site and even in these comments are saying theyre being harassed when just being hit on in a bar / in public etc.. Thats not abuse.

Also a lot of people do think like me, and a lot of them are very powerful people, long live the reign of the white straight male

• You would consider grabbing someone and refusing to let them go “hitting on them”?
      Hmmm.. I wonder if you’re one of those guys that comes up behind a girl when she’s dancing, grabs her hips and starts trying to dry hump her without consent on the dance floor.. Because whatever they may think, it’s not attractive, it’s just degrading and EXTREMELY annoying..

• There’s a difference between over the top feminism and the women who just want to be treated with a bit of respect and to be seen as equals. It’s not an act of exaggerated feminism to fight against harassment on the streets. It’s disgraceful that this kind of carry on goes on as much as it does and it’s people like you who condone it and try to belittle it as nothing serious that make the problem worse.

Your last sentence also made you look like a fool. We’re not in the 19th century anymore, women are not subordinate to men, and should not be treated as such.

• @Stephen Church: “long live the reign of the white straight male.” Thank you for so succinctly outlining why the hollaback site is so important. You should get some Sudocreme for your knuckles: they must be sore from dragging along the ground.

• You know Stephen, when “being hit on in a bar” means somebody won’t go away and stop trying to talk to you, even though you’ve said, “look, I’m not interested [in talking to you'" or includes being followed down the street by somebody determined to strike up conversation [or whatever] its harassment. I was followed down the street by a pest in Limerick, and fortunately was going into a hotel, I really don’t know what I’d have done if there wasn’t good security.

I’ve always had a tactic of completely shutting out and ignoring people in bars and on the street who try to “engage” me – to a large extent it works, but where it really fails badly is the non-sexual harassment you get around LUAS stations on the red line between Abbey and the Docks, where if you try to ignore the aggressive beggars and/or other local loonies they actually start to get aggressive. Its maybe conflating two entirely different problems, but in my experience the more gender-based harassment is more “talk” than the other kind, which appears to really be coming from people who have absolutely no limits to their behaviour. I only hope that the more sexual harassment doesn’t follow suit in its extension of unlimited boundaries into what becomes everyday behaviorism, but I fear I might be wrong.

• I’d be terrified walking most streets in Ireland late at night on my own. I can only begin to imagine how frightening it is for women.

• Cylon 25/11/12 #

Try living somewhere else for a while to know what fear is. I live in the ‘relative’ civilisation of Brussels. I’ve been chased by a madman with a machete (down the equivalent of Grafting Street), punched in the gut by a stranger when just walking down the road with my husband, mugged, touched, ‘goosed’ you name it. And here it’s nothing to do with drinking. It’s normally crazies or northern Africans who see white women as fair game. I feel so safe back in Dublin. The odd howaya braved up on beer holds little fear for me.

• I heard this lady on the Ryan tubridy show a couple of weeks back. judging by this article she has changed her tune a lot. she had a very strange definition of harassment, saying that if a fella wolf whistled at a woman, that woman had every right to take his pic and put it up on the net labelling him a sexual deviant. bit ott maybe?

• Wouldn’t it be great if she tried it? Just once, and got her ass handed to her in court!

• @ryan
      Whether you agree with her opinion or not you should at least try and have some manners. Your comment re having ‘her ass handed to her in court’ exemplifies the attitude some men have toward women that has no place in a civilised country.

• Do you not think that a woman has the right to walk the street without being whistled at by some yob with no manners. It is not a pleasant experience , I can assure you!

• @ Irene: Perhaps you think it’s proportionate for some boorish, wolf whistling eejit to have their details published on the internet, together with the label of “sexual deviant”.

While I’d agree that it’s hardly good manners to extend the “builders welcome” in the first place, this bra burner’s response to that might be just a touch hysterical, as is your childish accusation that I am somehow lacking in manners for pointing out that possibility.

If some people’s minds were as open as their misandry, we might all be better off.

• @ ryan.
      I was making a statement regarding your comment. Nothing more, nothing less. Re read my statement if that helps.
      If you think that a statement such as having ‘her ass handed to her’ is appropriate for a grown man then I’m afraid that you are the one who exemplifies immaturity.

If some people developed a mature attitude toward respecting our fellow human beings then Im sure we would all be better off.

Open your mind.

• What’s wrong with the phrase “having ones arse handed to one”? Essentially it means coming out of any type of exchange badly. For example: “how did the match go?” “Terrible, I had my arse handed to me”. It has no gender specific connotation, being merely a gender neutral colloquialism. I hardly think that having the word “arse” in an idiomatic phrase makes it instantly inappropriate.

• Thank you, Ultan. That’s exactly my meaning with regard to that phrase. It had no gender specific intent whatsoever, and was meant entirely with regard to the legal difficulties some shrill individual might find themselves in, if they published someone’s details and referred to them as some sort of pervert.

The fact that some sensitive type seems to think it implies malevolence or some obscure sort of aspiration toward physical harm says more about that person, than it does about me.

Another slightly less salubrious version would consist of asking someone to untwist their knickers-but in the context of this discussion, the genitive connotations might result in someone’s head flying off in a fit of pique.

I certainly won’t be swayed by some hand wringer talking down to me as if they were my mother, all because they have no idea what a common or garden phrase actually means.

• @Ryan Murphy – ‘salubrious’?…’genitive connotations’?? What on earth are you talking about? Get yourself a dictionary and look up ‘salubrious’ and ‘genitive’ ffs, especially before you lay into someone “because they have no idea what a common or garden phrase actually means”. What an absolute cretin.

• Nowt as snappy as an angered leftie. I can sense the frustrated ire from here.

Anyway, in respect of your rather weak grammatical rebuttals

-salubrious [səˈluːbrɪəs]
      adj
      conducive or favourable to health; wholesome (<<<< see here, anonymous Twit!)

[from Latin salūbris, from salūs health]
      salubriously adv
      salubriousness , salubrity [səˈluːbrɪtɪ] n
      (Collins)

-I'll leave you work out the perils of alienable possession (*her* knickers, the chip on *your* shoulder) for yourself.

• @ryan

“I certainly won’t be swayed…..” Misogynists rarely are.

Well done though for being able to look up a dictionary. Good for you.

• Actually its pretty childish and imamture to still be wolf whistling as an adult, but I’m not sure name and shame would do anything for the pathetic creatures who still engage in this neanderthal behaviour.

• @ Laura…can you explain what u find so offensive about this. I’m not trying to be smart or sarcastic I’m just wondering?

• It is surely your interpretation of his comment as sexist that is the problem is it not. I didnt realise only females can have their asses handed to them in court.

• Ryan for an intellegent man you are rather stupid . I know you say what u say in jest! But women are really afraid out there.

• Ryan it pains me to agree with you! But your clever , smart … Just show that you give a shit.

• Time for that zero- tolerance policy to be enacted.

• I do think women have a right to walk the street without being hassled of course. but come on, to go taking a picture and putting it up on the net of a man making him out to be some kind of menace to women is highly exaggerated and could ruin someone’s reputation. and in fact is against the law.

• I know a gay woman who is very aggressive towards pretty straight women. She often groped them, spiked their drinks and acted in a very sexually intimidating way by groping, slapping their bum, etc. If a man did that he’d be floored with a box to the face. But this woman, who is very butch, would turn on the tears if confronted. So she acted like a dirty old man one minute but then a harmless little girl when it suited her.

That sort of behaviour is tolerated more when it comes from a gay woman or gay man. That’s wrong. If gay people want full equal rights, then they act equal and act respectfully towards others.

Less of the drama just because you’re gay.

• Agreed. I don’t appreciate being groped by ANYONE. I don’t give a toss if you can drag out the crocodile tears afterward, if you’re trying to feel me without my permission you’re going to feel my wrath (which is entirely verbal).

• Michael you sound like a dysfunctional parent “you’re not getting equal rights until you stop groping people”

• I walked past a bar before in Galway, minding my own business when a butch gay woman similar to one described above punched me in the gut for no reason.

• I remember being groped by a male gay classmate on a night out, it was really aggressive (despite me knowing full well there was no sexual element to it) and it still upset me.
      To be honest I’m not a fan of wolf whistles from the building site or random lads honking their horns when I’m standing at the bus stop. I wouldn’t class it as harassment, but it’s still not nice.

• What’s LGBTQ?

• A lot of women don’t go out after dark including myself,a few of the girls at work had terrible things shouted at them in the streets of Dublin.

• not just grown men doing it either! Walking with my friend to my car and getting jeered at by 11 year old boys is just as unpleasant!

• “show us your tits” or chest recently,
    threats on a bus.. when i get you to a certain place i gonna “P””’”" ” the face off you stupid f’ing “itch ”
    the guards.. “shut up you you stupid f’ing Bi@#i! nobody gives a F@@@ about you, ”
    give me hugs.. VOMIT, and shudders
    remember me and the sneer with insidious approach (Creepy)
    get out of my f’ing way you stupid W”” are you f’ing blind you stupid Cow
    a little gnome man asking me was i a hooker or a lady looking for business, he was told to sod off promptly after trying to ask for a coffee date which was refused with disgust ..
    some young men joking about rape which promptly caused me to respond in a MIND your MANNERS BOYS, inciting another reaction from another young man. who was told to go suck a duck ..
    old men asking me about my sexual activities as if its any of their business.

no man nor woman nor government / official / HSE etc owns my ass

WTFUNK..

get off my frequency i say.. and stay away..
    NOT FOR SALE… sod off.. and STAY AWAY

• It sad but we are living in a dangerous city one night I was attacked on the way home but lucky enought I was on alert and gave them a few of my chops I learned in the US marines.

• Ok.. Just taking a look at the website there, so far it seems to be all women being harassed by men.

How was this website advertised? How did it put out feelers looking for contributions? Because there’s plenty of same sex harassment that goes on on our streets. Plenty of racism and homophobia too, but I do not see this represented there.

The “I got your back” feedback response appears to be similar to our red and green thumbs here at the journal. There’s no comments below the stories. I don’t need to explain the potential for manipulating these stats.

Perhaps it shall be more widely indicative as time goes on, sadly at present it looks quite one dimensional, and with a total of six stories (including one that could be considered to have an extremely sinister aspect that perhaps the Gards should be notified of re: voter intimidation and attempted bribery) it does make me question the vetting procedure as well as the amount of stories truly received (unless they received a few stories a day over a matter of two or three days).

• Part of it is going to be who’s sharing it – it’s fairly well known in feminist groups, but I would say so far it’s less known by the average person in the street. I think it’s more experience sharing than any kind of scientific evaluation as to who is harassing whom. But hopefully articles like this will make for more a wider variety of experiences shared.

• Hopefully. Because there’s too much harassment of any sort going on..
      Just one question, when you say it was well known in feminist groups – was this the parent site that was known or was it made known to them by the sites directors? I’d never heard of it until today, this is why I ask..

• It’s been shared quite a bit on online forums for feminists (I specifically saw it from Trinity College’s Gender Equality Society) and the parent organisation tends to have a lot of links with student feminist groups – which is personally why I’d assume a lot of the ones I’ve read on the site come from young female students. So a bit of a bias that the submissions would come from young women who know about it.

• How can anyone take a site called ‘Hollaback’ seriously. What does it mean, all I know is that it was used in an annoying Gwen Stefani song that got up the nose of Brian on Family Guy.

• In fairness Im in no way excusing them but they do sound like just a couple of pissed arse holes. This urinating in the street thing is also no longer a male only persuit…walk through Temple Bar on any weekend night and you could fill that website with stories.

• Great to see that being ‘pissed’ is still considered an excuse for scaring people out of their wits.

• Alan, if you are not excusing them, then what are you doing?

• “I’m in no way excusing them”

• as I said, “I’m in no way EXCUSING them” read it properly you hero.

• Not excusing them, just making an excuse for them.

• All Im saying is that I read this article thinking mainly women were getting harassed in town in broad day light while out going about their business. When I read the 2 examples given, it was aparrent that this is occuring late at night when town is full of drunk arse holes and therefore this comes as no shock suprise horror to anyone who has to work in town around these bell ends and witness far more serious incidents than the 2 mentioned on a regular bases.

• Also excessive drinking isn’t an EXCUSE for this behaviour it’s a REASON. I haven’t had a drink in 10 years; I haven’t got in trouble in 10 years. The REASON why…drinking never suited me.

• So you believe the website provides a much-needed, valuable service?

• being pissed is no excuse. i’ve been leered at, lifted, cornered, touched up and shouted at on many occassoons by men since a teenager. its intimidating and frightening and in fact when drink is addes it makes you more fearful as you are unsure if a normal decent guy will do something out of the ordinary due to alcohol (which i think has been proven to be a huge factor in sexual assault cases time and again) a lot of men will never understand how frightening this type of behaviour is to women as most of us are well aware we could easily be overpowered by a man/men in a matter of minutes and the damage that could be done to our bodies and psyches could be potentially unfixable. so why not just take our words for it. its not just drunken banter or antics. its scary as shit and hugely intimidating.

• I’ve no problem whatsoever with the web site, I’m sure it will provide a wonderful service for people who ventured out late at night and witnessed for themselves the carry on that takes place on our city streets, by drink fuled morons acting like they’re handsome invincible, charismatic comedians who can say what they want to who they want where they want while doing what they want. When in fact they are little more than glarey eyed incoherrant staggering bodies of alcohol wrapped in beer stained shirts with toxic breath and tar stained teeth who should be avoided at all cost. If people want to share their stories on their encounters with these type of people by all means do. I have no problem at all with that.

• Alan stay deep inside your space suit , if u dare come out expect a stiletto right in your eye ..

• yea because you’re a man! idiot!

• Not sure what this website will achieve.I agree with making the public aware of this carry on, it might encourage decent men to step in if they see something but shouldn’t the same effort be put into telling these stories to the Gardai?
    Also how are all these stories verified as is said above? I’ve nor anyone I know has ever carried on like is mentioned above, I’m sure it happens and it’s disgusting but men are getting vilified again, seen Love/Hate?

• How are men being vilified? No one has EVER said that all men are like this. Some men seem to enjoy the power of harassing women and some men seem to not care if they make someone uncomfortable. It’s just the truth.

I had a man grab me at the Point Luas stop and not let go once, until a lovely male passerby stopped to help me. There are a lot of men who find this behaviour outrageous.. Why do you think highlighting what some men do applies to all of them?

• Gerry, it’s Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, Transgender.

• These are probably the mildest harassment stories I’ve ever heard. Hardly Gotham City is it?

• jrbmc 25/11/12 #

Strange option to make it a website so the whole world can read it and deside not to come here on holidays , it’s bad enough with all the gangland killings as it is , but I’m not knocking the idea , there should be somewhere or someone to share their experiences with but not sure the Internet is the best place for that.

• Does this stuff only happen in Dublin?

• You are most welcome to Ireland, maybe dis will scare the hell out of this evil doers ”rapist” and STOP! this their evil work

• govt doing it every day to us……wait for the budget

• Why? WHY? WHY must there always be someone who tediously links an article on thejournal.ie back to the Government, the economy or bankers. What is the point? Really?! This article is about a website where people can air their stories of street harrassment. Has every single member of the Government actually harrassed every single person in Ireland on the street everyday? Nope.

Add New Comment