Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Hundreds of undocumented migrants stage candlelit march to Dáil

The marchers on Stephen's Green in Dublin
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

HUNDREDS OF UNDOCUMENTED migrants and their supporters staged a candlelit march to the Dáil this afternoon to highlight the plight of 30,000 people who are living undocumented in Ireland.

Led by banners reading “Santa is Undocumented too”, the organisers of the march called on the Government to give Ireland’s undocumented workers the opportunity to legalise their status.

One organiser, Edel McGinley of the Migrant Rights Centre, said many marchers had “taken a great risk” to attend the demonstration.

Jayson Montenegro, originally from the Philippines but living undocumented in Ireland for almost eight years, told the crowd: “I haven’t seen my children in over eight years.  Every year it gets harder, especially at Christmas.  They ask me on the phone ‘Daddy, when are you coming to see us?’  It breaks my heart.”

Another campaigner, Champika Wanniarachchi from Sri Lanka, said her daughter was academically in the top five per cent of all Irish school students, but could not be sure of her future.

She said: “What will happen to her when she wants to go to University?  I want her to have a great life but I am really fearful for her future and that she won’t get that chance because she is undocumented.”

Dublin City Council recently passed a motion supporting the introduction of an “earned regularisation scheme”, allowing people working undocumented in Ireland to gain legal status.

Cllr Rebecca Moynihan said at the time: “It would be disingenuous of us to support a similar campaign for Irish undocumented in the US while not extending the same consideration to undocumented migrants living in Ireland.”

More: Restaurant worker awarded €86,000 after years of forced labour in Dublin>

Read Next:

Comments (161 Comments)

• Simon 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Do they not realise it’s Saturday and no-one will be in the Dail?

• Thomas Noone 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

No point in commenting here anymore about stories like this because the journal removes anything I say and I know to be accurate and representative of the majority of Irish people ok I’ll say what you probably won’t remove THESE ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS ARE DEAD RIGHT TO PROTEST WITH THEIR CANDLES (PAID FOR BY THE TAX PAYER) aaaaaaahhhhh this country is ruined I swear to god

• Nadine Carey 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Thomas

The Journal heavily censors any opinion that makes very strong valid arguments against immigration or multiculturalism, that cannot be countered. It is too dangerous for them, as they seem to haev an agenda pushing multiculturalism and immigration, seems all the media simply want more exciting news that looks like the headlines from New York.

I have had 2 friends blocked from journal. They did not make any insulting or defammatory remarks, they just stated plain facts about immigration. The journal aka PRAVDA (soviet propaganda paper) could not handle it.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Groannnnnnn….

Report this comment

DENMARKS IMMIGRATION LAWS SAVE COUNTRY £6BILLION (sterling)

Denmark has called for stricter immigration laws after a report concluded that the country’s already stringent regime had saved the country £6 billion over the past 10 years.
      has some of the tightest immigration regulations in the EU and the report, based on the findings from five ministries, found they had saved the tax payer millions of pounds that would have been spent on social assistance and housing for immigrants from outside the EU.

“Now that we can see that it does matter who comes into the country, I have no scruples in further restricting those who one can suspect will be a burden on Denmark,” Soren Pind, the integration minister, told the newspaper Jyllands-Posten.

The report found immigrants from non-western countries and their decedents cost the country £1.8 billion a year while those from western countries contributed to the economy.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I impressed Nadine, you are able to get all that from one word, even more so as I wasn’t responding to your post, mine ended up after yours when the racist posts where removed .

• Dave 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Should the undocumented Irish in the US do likewise?

• Dom Morgan 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What do they mean by ‘undocumented’? If getting ‘documented’ is the only issue, why don’t they simply go to GNIB and become ‘documented’? The trouble is they are also illegal so this was a great opportunity for Garda and Immigration Services to do their job, round them up and send them to their home countries. There they can look up the Irish embassy and avail of one of the legal immigration process.

• Danielle Ryan 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s not that simple. Some of them are undocumented for reasons which make it impossible to go to their home countries and just “get documented”. Ignorant comment.

Report this comment

Danielle

It is very simple. We go back to how we used to do things as regards immigrants in the 80′s. We have a strong border and immigration policy. There were hardly any of them coming here in the 80′s. We had no open borders.

We went to troubled countries and vetted who were the most in need of coming and we took some in, but other than that we helped the 3rd world by giving billions in aid over the years, millions of man hours in medical, education and construction work. If you want to help the 3rd world, you do it by helping their countries become viable. We that in the 80′s and we were loved. We should go back to that and we would still be loved.

We do not owe the 3rd world or anybody else ANYTHING.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Danielle ignore nadine or Donna or whatever she’s calling herself tonight. She’s just looking for a chance to spew hate

• Eileen Gabbett 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

No we can not go back …. Forward thinking , planning . All children deserve a proper , well rounded education.

Report this comment

Answer the comment Reada, instead of throwing names and making sneery remarks. Answer the argument and stop throwing diversionary hysterical mud.

Report this comment

Eileen

I did not mean go back as in way of living, I meant in terms of immigration policy and how to help the 3rd world.

If we were to take in 5 million Africans in one year. Then in that same year, another 5 million new Africans are born. So you can see, we would soon be swamped, immigration is not the answer to helping the 3rd world.

Stopping western governments from supporting corrupt 3rd world gov.s and then going in their to help these countries help themselves, is the only REAL solution. If you are all serious about helping others, and not glory seeking or getting awards or slaps on the back, then that is the ONLY real way to stop the never-ending 3rd world problem.
      Africa has been in turmoil for decades since after colonialism, and still no improvement. Stop the corruption, stop the bankers, stop immigration and you will get results.

I guarantee you will have a prosperous 3rd world, and lands for all cultures that are needed for each culture to survive and thrive. This is the real humane and non-self serving neo-marxist self-glorifying way to help the world and all its people.

Report this comment

correction:

take in 1 million, then another 5 million are born in the very same year.

• Dom Morgan 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Danielle, liberals succumb to throwing insults and red herring arguments to fudge the issue when things are in fact simple. For those who are “undocumented for reasons which make it impossible to go to their home countries” there is a perfectly legal way to stay in the country. It is called the asylum and can be applied for when there are genuine reasons for their inability to reside in their country of origin. So your proposal is to ignore the rule of law to protect a minority who chose not to benefit from a process which would enable them to legally reside in the country. I am not going to call you ignorant but go figure…….

• michael cuthbert 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Why would anyone have wanted to move to Ireland in the 80s with 17% unemployment?

Report this comment

I waited til the late 90s to move here when I knew I could get my hands on loadsamoney…

• Eileen Gabbett 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

ha ha . Good for you Michael !

• Report this comment

“Santa is Undocumented too”

. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .“~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./…..\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>–==“
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _

• Tony Stanley 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Yeah but Santa just stays for one night, brings us stuff and gets in the first Reindeer home!

• Nialllateshow 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Comment made by Nadine “correction:

take in 1 million, then another 5 million are born in the very same year.”

Pray tell , maybe you could explain the maths on this uneducated comment ? So are you saying now amongst other insults that africans have a shorter gestation period !!

Report this comment

No Niall, silly. They give birth to litters. Everyone knows that…

• Tara 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Typical ignoramus comment there..it’s a problem that needs adressing & regulating.unfortunately like everything else in this country it’s handled arseways & then the problem is huge..we need a proper department to handle immigrants.

• Eileen Gabbett 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Dept of Immigration right next door to the dept of Emmigration !

• Ciaro 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Undocumented = illegal= deportation

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I agree with you Tara the commentary is appalling ignorant and depressing. These are the same people who would be outraged if the Australians rounded up the tens of thousands of illegal irish and deported them back to Ireland, as like their undocumented counterparts in Ireland, they are paying their own way and are not a burden to the taxpayer.

• Auntie Dote 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Seriously? Is there no one who appreciates the parallels between these people and the Irish undocumented in the US?

• Michael Hegarty 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The US Government doesnt pay one red cent towards the keep of the undocumented (illegals) in the states. However, here we give them healthcare, dentalcare, housing, transport and cash!!! We cannot afford any of this any longer…. So no, I dont see any parallels whatsoever!!

• Bill Abom 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Undocumented migrants pay taxes here without getting anything back in services or benefits. They are not looking for a handout but a chance to come forward and rectify their situation.

• Shanti Om 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@ Bill,
      If they don’t have documents then how do they work legally? How do they get a PRSI number and pay taxes without documents? Surely undocumented means that they do not have the legal documents that allow them to participate in the tax / welfare system?

• Report this comment

Michael, can you please demostrate how does an undocumented person do to get healthcare, dentalcare housing, transport and cash? The welfare system in Ireland is governed by a complex set of rules, but in order to give you an idea: To access any payment or health service (save emergency and maternity services which are universal and therefore available to everyone) you need to demostrate your legal residency – therefore, undocumented are excluded from accessing them. Furthermore, to access any welfare service you need to proove that you are Habitual Resident.: That means that you have to be legally residing in the state for 2 years prior to your application. So, Michael: Can you please give proof that undocumented migrants are receiving the services you describe.?

• Michael Hegarty 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Well Pablo, my dear friend. HOUSING There are 5 main accomodation centres in Cork, and about 10 smaller ones. Housing, tick!!! HEALTHCARE There are 2 full time doctors employed to these accomadation centres and 24hour Southdoc out of hours care, Healthcare, tick!!!! DENTALCARE There is an annual dental check done in all these centres, and follow up routine care give, Dentalcare, tick!!! TRANSPORT There is a taxi company, here in Cork, employed to cart the illegal emigrants (they get a docket first) about to appointments, a bus to and from the city 3 or 4 times a day, and school transport for the children, even though locals have to walk, Transport, tick!!! CASH Each adult and child resident has a weekly allowance of about E30, Cash, tick!!!! So if you want this, present yourself to the Kinsale Road Accomadation Centre, Cork (across from Bull Mc Cabes Bar & Restaurant) …..Your comment “you need to demostrate your legal residency – therefore, undocumented are excluded from accessing them” is untrue, one just needs to present themselves, which most do, to access our overly generous system… We dont have 30,000 spare jobs for the illegals, we are on our knees and our generousity and loyal must be nationalistic. With respect.

• Shanti Om 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@ Michael, as a matter of interest, are those centres you speak of with these facilities funded by the state, or are they funded by the EU or UN funds?

• Report this comment

@ MIchael: You are obviously are quite confused there. You are talking about asylum seekers who are housed in RIA (Reception and Integration Agency) accomodation. Asylum seekers are not undocumented. They are people who applied for protection (asylum) as it is guaranteed by the Geneva Convention of 1951. Ireland is an orginal signatory of that convention. The service provision you describe (with the €19.10 a week for each adult and €10.30 per child) are international obligations Ireland has acquired by ratifying the Gevena Convention. As said before, asylum seekers are not undocumented sice their claims for protection have not yet been determined. So, you need to do a bit of research before going around spreading misconceptions and lies.

• Report this comment

@Michael Hegarty – I work with many undocumented workers in Ireland and I’m sorry to inform you but none of them get healthcare, dentalcare, housing, transport and cash without working their butts off to pay for it. Please go and get educated about this issue before you post ridiculous comments like that. People should be more mindful and get the story right before they start spreading stupid rumors.

• Nigel Kenny 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If you don’t have a visa for the country you wish to enter then you shouldn’t be there and that goes for the Irish in the US too. They knew what would happen when they went to the states illegally.It’s gas how it’s generally acceptable for “undocumented” Irish to be in America but if you have an “undocumented” Mexican then they are instead deemed “Ilegal” and you have militias and border patrol police in the south hunting them down.The finest example of hypocrisy and we’re guilty of it here too.

It’s unfortunate that we have immigrants here that are positive contributors to Irish society but the fact is, if you weren’t awarded a visa to live here then you shouldn’t have come here or you should’ve left when your visa was up. There is nothing racist or xenophobic about that statement, it’s just the law, a law all “undocumented” were aware of when they came here i’m sure and standard procedure the world over.

• Ryan Allen 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Like times a thousand! They are living outside of the law by their own doing.

I also think its unfortunate that the Journal refers to them as “undocumented”, when most people would say “illegal”.

• Report this comment

Many came in here legally, many found themselves working in jobs where they were paid for 40 hours and worked 80(live in nannies etc) many left these jobs and then discovered that they couldnt bring their work permits with them bcos they were tied to the employer…in other cases companies recruited people and didnt keep their permits upto date….not all of them entered illegally

• Nigel Kenny 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Laura, i never considered that circumstance. The slave trade (that’s what it is, nothing else you can call it) poses some very challenging questions for immigration law. How do you handle those people?!

• Bill Abom 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

No person is illegal or without rights.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Bill I wish there were more people like you. The fear that’s in this country is incredible. Everybody worrying about their slice of the pie being smaller. Noone thinking outside the norm and thinking of making a bigger pie!!

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sorry Laura, you too.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Nigel that a rather silly position to take, if a 100,000 Irish illegals lobbed in Ireland after being deported from the US, Australia etc they would a massive burden in the taxpayer in Ireland.

Report this comment

Really? No person is illegal.

Well Nigerian Pamela Izevbekhai was found to be illegal, and after putting us through the courts 25 times and after 1million euro she cost the taxpayer, and after people like migrant rights centre and Rosanna flynn supported her.

You witch-hunters of the new church of multiculturalism have blood on your hands, the asylum and immigration industry costs 100s of millions A YEAR, while IRish people are dying fo rwant of health services etc.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Definitely I recognise your language Nadine or Donna or whatever pseudonym you’re using tonight. I wasted a few hours with you re sending aid to turkey after the earthquake. Don’t bother denying it. I know neither are your real name. You can’t fool me. Don’t bother addressing me. I won’t answer you. I couldn’t bear it again.

Report this comment

Reada

Isn’t it grand that the Journal do not block you, yet when some people on here make simple opinion that is not absive but contains their own opinion or facts, they get blocked, tell me, how do you propose they comment further on theJournal?

Isn’t grand that you can ignore an argument a person makes and make derogatory comments all you like about people and defame their character, yet you are never blocked and are allowed carry on your insults and fact absent commentary.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Bill I just love that sentence. It’s just beautiful. No person is illegal… I just love it

• Nigel Kenny 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sean, i can’t understand how it’s a silly position to take. Obviously, it’s not cut and dry and if you consider the slave trade it’s a grey area (thanks Laura) and that needs to be looked at, however, i never enter a country without a visa and when it’s up i leave because i know i’ll never be allowed back into the country if i ever get caught.It’s not a matter of opinion here, it’s the law, if you don’t follow it, expect to get burned. Bill’s comment is an opinion, there’s a difference. In a utopian society, it would be lovely to have no borders or controls where no one could be deemed illegal but there has to be some kind of system where you control immigration levels for simple, basic reasons such as resources. There will come a time when arable land and potable water are resources that are fought over and you’ll probably have a very different view of immigration law then.

To clear the record, i’m not a right-wing, anti immigration nut or anything, i’m just saying that the law has been broken, in most cases, by people who were chancing their arm. I’ve friends that did it in the states and got deported. Their own tough luck as far as i’m concerned and they’d admit it themselves. Stop letting your emotions take over and look at this as a legal issue. Was the law broken? Yes it was and that means it’s time to implement a fitting punishment for their crime.

• Report this comment

Nadine, You seem to be confused about how the asylum and immigration systems work. Pamela was not found to be illegal. She made an application for asylum in this country. Ireland is signatory to the Gevena Convention and therefore has an obligation to consider the applications of people looking for protection in the State. Her application was refused and she made an appeal and looked for judicial review of the decision. This is entirely legal and part of our judiciary system. Pamela did not do anything illegal. If you disagree with the judiciary system or that Ireland has ratified the Geneva Convention you should target the politicians, do not target people who are part of the system. When Pamela’s judicial review application was refused she was then removed from the State. So, to sum it all up: Pamela was not found to be illegal. She came an applied for asylum and sought a review of the decision as she was entitled to and then was removed from the country when she exhausted her claims.

• Michael Hegarty 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Nadine is actually correct Pablo….Pamela cost me and other taxpayers like me €1,000,000!!! She had the right to go to court, yes, but then appeal, appeal and appeal… Our system is too generous to illegals. Illegals are bad for our economy and bad for our culture!!!

• Report this comment

@ Michael: Pamela was only ascerting her rights to appeal and navigate the judiciary system. Hundreds of people take judicial reviews every year ( and most of them have nothing to do with immigration matters) Why are you not complaining about how those cases cost you money? What are you calling for? A judiciary system in which one has no choice to seek a review of a decision… That to me sounds like an authoritarian regime,

• Eamonn Clancy 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Imagine the savings the govt would make if they were sent home. I wish I could afford to give a damn about these people but I can’t.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

There is always room in ones heart to care about others.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Whatever the saving was it would be minuscule to the cost burden to taxpayers if tens of thousands of Irish people arriving home if the USA and Australia did as you suggest.

Report this comment

So Reada is there room in your house? And eh, you might want to stock up on a few extra supplies, food and such, so how many are you going to house Reada?

Report this comment

Denmark’s immigration laws save country £6 billion
      Denmark has called for stricter immigration laws after a report concluded that the country’s already stringent regime had saved the country £6 billion over the past 10 years.

• Ballyer Rules 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Unfortunately the whole farce that is the refugee and immigration system in this country is fostering bad feeling. I think people who want to contribute to society should be welcome and treated with fairness and those that don’t should be shown the door. Whatever your origin. Id say those on the march today feel they have something to ad to this country.

• Poppy Socks 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

But this country has no jobs for “them” to contribute.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Fair play ballyer

Report this comment

People who want to contribute?

Eh, this is Ireland, the people who want to come here, simply want to come to live in the west, because their own countries are either in bad state, or overcrowded.

We have our own land fought for by our own ancestors for us their descendants, so that we could have the unfettered access to this land, and preserve and protect our Irish people and culture. We are not New York, we are an established land with a millenia old established ancestry and culture.

We have our own people that contribute to our own society. We never needed foreigners in these mass immigration numbers before, so why now?

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You have an interesting perception. Undocumented means they can’t claim welfare or other benefits, so they are paying their own way, which is what “contributing” means.

Report this comment

I agree with you Ballyer Rules. But my comments have disappeared, about not enough support for teachers in classrooms, and I do not mean in half hour segments, to help teach all kids the basics in reading writing and maths through english. All children in school are being held back ,through lack of forward thinking and not putting in the on the ground support that is needed. Less talk and more action is what is needed.

Report this comment

sean c

Undocumented ASLO means they do not pay tax, can avail of emergency services, and are usually taken into their own communities and black markets, where they find jobs and have children, after which they can then become citizens from having children born here. Not only that, but in Britian it was found that Labor gov who were pro immigration, were found to deliberately leave open their borders and allowed mass immigration, their UK border agency was found to not check 100s of 1000s of people, they were directed to just leave them all through, it was found rapists, terrorists Taliban and murderers had enetered the country, with many going on to commit crimes against the local populace. How many of these undocumented are criminals who were let in from UK.
      And how many are criminals full stop. In any case, it is more people here that we Irish now have to compete with for everything, from hospital spaces, jobs, renting accomodation…everything. As well as the fact the strain put on the environment, from more people. We already have enoug to compete with with our own Irish people.

This is a culture and country destroyer.

Report this comment

Sean

Oh and Sean. You might want to look up scams such as:

1)How undocumented can get hold of fake PPS numbers and therefore claim all the benefits and welfare they can squeeze out of the system.
      2)How undocumented use sham marriages to legalise themselves, and thus use another loophole to get into Ireland.
      3) how undocumented become undocumented after they go sckiving off after using a student visa to get in here, but apply for student visa after student visa and then make a case to have leave to remain when they make a case saying their prime interests are now in ireland, thus in many cases being allowed remain here and be waived to have permanent status.

I know right well yourself and Reada are 2 of the usual suspect immigration industry cheerleaders and witch-hunters who shout racist and nazi at every indigenous European wanting the right to oppose immigration. We have EVERY right to oppose this amoral artificially driven agenda.

• Report this comment

Nadine: Again, I am impressed about how little knowledge of immigration you have. Dring the Celtic Tiger ( the period of high economic growth in Ireland that happened during the late 1990-2000s) The irish Government was pursuing an active policy of inward migration in order to sustain the high levels of economic growth we were all proud of. So people were basically told to come here to work (mainly in the service, agricultural, construction, domestic, care sectors) in order to create the so called “Irish Miracle”

• Poppy Socks 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Why didn’t the gardai just stand there and arrest them all. they are illegal.Would have saved a lot of time in future having to try find them to deport them.
    while I understand there are illegal Irish in Aus and America.I have no issue with those illegal immigrants being deported too.

Report this comment

Poppy Socks you should be Minister for Justice!!

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Deport them to what poppy? Surely each case should be decided with compassion.

Report this comment

It’s not that simple. How about a woman who was trafficked to Ireland and sold basically as a sex slave, escaped and finds herself undocumented. Gets a job, tries to make a life here because she can’t go home and no one will help her? It’s a problem that needs to be addressed properly. Or what about someone who arrived and HAD work permits which their employers took from them, along with their passports, while paying them 3 euro an hour. What do they do? Regularisation is the only option for some of those people. It’s incredibly ignorant and small minded to see it as black and white as you portray it.

Report this comment

Danielle

A woman who is trtafficked should be attended to, then sent home to her family and friends. Many of the traffickers themselves are undocumented foreigners. There are nigerian gangs operating in europe trafficking women, and arranging sham marriages. If european border law was tightened up, you would not be seeing as much of these types of crime.

Today sex slaves and the biggest slavery in the world, that of women is still carried, on, but all you can do is jump up and down about foreigners. Isn’t it amazing how people can theorise a=and dream about Irelands first black or asian this or that, long before even an Irish woman gets the job.

• David 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Just shows how lucky we are here in Ireland and it puts a lot of the moaning and whinging into perspective.

Report this comment

???

• David 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Read the article

Report this comment

I have read the arcticle . Your comment does not make any sense !!

• David 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Ok eileen. What doesn’t make sense to you. Are you saying that you don’t think It’s sad that people spend 8 years without seeing their family in order to provide for them?

Report this comment

David @ I said your comment ” Just shows how lucky we are here in Ireland and it puts a lot of the moaning and whinging into perspective.” Does not make sense .. AND no it is not right that people who are here illegally should have to wait here 8 years…. They should have applied for a visa first .

• David 17/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Well I’m afraid I can’t spend all night explaining this to you. But I thought it showed how we have it so much better here than in the countries where these misfortunes come from and they appreciate how good the quality of life is here relative to other countries

Report this comment

That suits me too . Charity begins at home and to be honest I am so tired of bleeding hearts , and npeople getting more use from my hard earned taxes than I ever will .The same goes for all the bankers and overpaid politicians too. Have a nice evening .

Report this comment

The sexual tension between Eileen and David here is intense, get a room you two!

• Frank2521 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Have a vote at the next referendum and let the people determine whether or not we should allow people work or live here who are not citizens. I would vote for people to be granted visas like the states and should people choose to break the law then like the US prosecute them. The Irish answer to everything is to cloud things like this with various forms of vagueness which confuses everybody and is unfair and unjust to all parties. Just make it black or white like the US.

• Ballyer Rules 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Listen guys the country is rightly f******d and government policies have been making things worse week by week but we seem to be falling into the trap of turning on each other and those who have least power in society. The system here protects itself at all costs, the cost of emigration, stagnation, and poverty, while those in the elite feel little pain. Let’s keep that in focus. I am against all abuses of the system but remember the system is not working in our favor. When they start with real action against those creaming it then we can tackle all abuses in fairness. In the meantime remember who the real abusers are.

• Dom Morgan 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If someone should cheat on tax, surely the liberal media will call them ‘undocumented income earner’?

• Cynic 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Phillipines, Sri Lanka? Well they must have passed over a couple of dozen states nearer to home to get here. Why should we foot the bill for their world adventures.

• Ciaro 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I worked on Oz for a couple of years. We were regularly stopped on the street and questioned to determine if we were legal. If you’re caught in the US you are deported.
    Why do we put up with these people? We really don’t need any more taxi drivers.

• Sean Mc Donagh 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

meh there’s plenty of illegal Irish in America and they even marched aswell. if we are sending the illegals home then we should also be receiving the illegal back from other countries.

• Paul 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Get them out

• Ter Fitz 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I wonder how many of these posts will still be here on Monday morning given the Journals reputation on this issues where most negative comments about minority groups are removed on a regular basis.

Report this comment

My posts were removed when I said there was not enough support for teachers in class with children who do not have english as a first language …

• smithan_irl 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Amazed at the of green thumbed “send em packing” comments. Vast majority of these people worked damn hard doing the jobs Irish people turned their nose up at when times were good.

We were up are own arse for far too long..have we learned nothing? If you’re prepared to work, pay your way, you deserve to stay

• Ciaro 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Absolute bullshit. We had full employment, therefore we didn’t have people to fill vacancies.
      This ‘jobs Irish people wouldn’t do” is a myth.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Indeed smithan. Ciaro you’re in some serious need of a good hug. You’re getting very cranky again…

• Barry Lynch 17/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Illegal immigrants in any country should be deported. Period.

• Waffler 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

who are the tax cheats that employ these 30,000 illegals?

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I know. We’ll deport them. Where I wonder. Yeah Africa. We all originated from there anyway. Few here could do with a few months in Somalia. Might open their eyes, or their hearts.

• Donncha Foley 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s amazing how this issue is so easily solved – ‘deport them’ until you actually look at the individual circumstances. Sorry to disappoint, but problems can’t be solved in one sentence – life’s not that simple. If the comments here are a reflection of who we are, it’s seems our best and brightest have already left and some of them are now ‘undocumented’. I hope they feel it’s worth coming home some time in the future.

• Tara 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Where are all the earlier comments gone??

• Report this comment

@Nadine: If you actually do a littl bit of reasearch you would know that the notion of ‘race’ has been scientifically discredited. In plain people terms: It does not exist. Therefore claiming that the white ‘race’ is different from the black ‘race’ is going back to eugenics, which is a form of racism and the basis for race superiority.
      And, no, the United States was not a country founded by white immigratns. The territory of what is now the US was inhabited by a number of native american tribes, which were invaded, killed and to modern-days suffer from acute discrimination. What represents the modern-day USA, is a multi-ethnic country that since its beggining was formed by Native Americans, African immigrants (brought against their will through the form of slavery) and White European invaders (Mainly British) It is only much later that immigration (voluntary) started to happen to the USA. Irish people did not help ‘found’ the USA. They migrated to an already stablished country/nation-State together with many other communities (including Japanese, Chinese, Mexican, etc) So you cannot argue that Irish immigrants to the USA have a higher sense fo deserving than say the above communities. Also, let me draw attention to the high levels of racism and discrimination that Irish immigrants had to undergo as they arrived to the USA. And you might also be interested in reading about how the Irish “became white”. Because it took them decades to be given the description of “white”. Orignally the Irish were equated to the “black” population. As a matter of interest, look at this cartoon, then you might rethink your arguments: http://chnm.gmu.edu/exploring/images/harpers.jpg

Report this comment

There is no parallel. The US is a country made by Europeans. The Irish helped found, build, design and fight for the very founding and existance of a newly established political entity called the United States of America. We did not go en masse to African or Asian countries and change the very nature of their populations.

There is no comparison whatsoever with Africans etc coming here. We went to white countries that are made from the same peoples (ancestral genetic) and cultural heritage as us. Whats more, if we are illegal, we do not have recourse to welfare, hospital, or legal aid. We are sent packing.

The Irish have given billions over the years in aid to the 3rd world. We have given countless man hours in aid work, medicine, education and construction volunteers, many at risk to themselves. We have given more than our fare share to the 3rd world and what thanks do we get. We are called racists, bigots, haters and nazis.

We owe the 3rd world or anyone else, NOTHING.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The native Americans might find fault with your White comment. And the Africans that were brought from Africa in slave ships may find your comment pretty ugly too. I certainly did as a native Irishwoman living in Ireland. Yuck.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I agree with you Reada, but I also find the final sentence extremely disturbing. If it’s a widely held opinion then Ireland is in a very dark place. The casual dismissal of the Judeo-Christian ethos that Ireland and most western democracies are based not withstanding, It means we have forgotten our past, Ireland was a third world country in living memory, so we are condemned to relive it.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

My final sentence Sean? I just wanted to make clear I didn’t have an ulterior motive.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sean and Danielle. DONT ENGAGE WITH YER WAN! She’s a front for the national front probably. Talk to the others if you want. She has all this typed up already to copy and paste. Her type couldn’t care less about our elderly or our poor or our children. It’s all hate-filled propaganda. Ignore her!!!

Trust me.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sorry. Forgot FEAR and god knows we’ve enough of that coming from our own government. ;)

Report this comment

Danielle
      “going on this comment you ARE a racist, a bigot and hater ” – show where I hate other races, show where I have a preconceived idea about another group of people that leads me to discriminate against them, show where I hate.

as this is what you have stated I am and do, therefore show where. I have not done so and I do not. If you cannot understand the difference between a person opposing immigration and that same person liking all races, then I do not think it is I, who am the slow, person. (besides the fact that you yourself seem to have something against people who are slow, why else use it as an insult term, I personally have no problem with people who are slow)

“I cannot even believe you just called America a “white” country.”

I didn’t, I stated the US was a European made country, which was founded by Europeans, guess what – they were white. I also said we WENT ( as in past tense, we as a tradition WENT to white countries, the US being one of them, get over yourself and your brainwashing, that a white person sticking up for their culture and people means they hate other races!!!, get real)

“And sorry but what “thanks” are you expecting back from starving Africans who we have given aid to?”
      I am talking about their countries, their people, their descendants now, most of Africa is not starving, and those who are here, are perfectly fine, yet they do not thank us for everything we did for them, instead, like you, they rant and throw a hissy fit, spewing hate and bile at how any white person has no right to oppose immigration and want Ireland to remain for the ancestral Irish people and culture.

Start reading things more carefully. Perhaps you could not understand this ‘slow’ person. (bit hateful and bigoted of you to come down on slow people!)

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Sean C. No we’re not destined to be a third world country. Sure don’t we have 4 green fields. Our fields will bloom once again. Only better. If we open our hearts and act on our feelings we could realise our real potential. It’s not all about the money. Don’t be worrying.

Report this comment

Reada

You have not been able to counter any of my arguments, all you do is warn people not to talk with me, and then make sneery remarks about anyone who opposes immigration, saying they are this and that. Do you know that you sound like a person who burnt witches at the stake, a witch-hunter.

It is you that is the fear-monger here.

Report this comment

You just called America a “white country” AGAIN. I don’t know what part of this you’re not understanding, but America was not originally a white country, nor is it now. Also, America was not “founded” by Europeans. What do you think we did, said to ourselves one day “oh hey I know, let’s create America, that might be fun”.

No one “founded” it. I was always there. It had its natives and we Europeans stumbled upon it and moved in, as immigrants, by the way, because that’s what Europeans technically were when they decided to take that land away from its rightful owners, the native Americans – and you’re actually trying to make Europeans sound like some fantastic people for “finding” and building America as if we brought no trouble with us, as if we didn’t move in on someone else’s territory and claim it as our own. As if Europeans being there didn’t cause wars. As if what Europeans did to the native Americans was not disgusting on so many levels.

Europeans brought diseases with them to America, diseases which killed native Americans who had not acquired immunity. Genocide, warfare, disease. That’s what Europeans brought with them to America. It wasn’t all streets paved with gold at the beginning, as you seem to assume. Your knowledge of history is clearly non-existent. You are a white supremacist, whether you know it or not.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Reada not the final sentence of your post, the final sentence of the post you where responding

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Read it Sean C but she might as well be talking gibberish. Don’t speak her language and don’t wish to learn. She’s different from the normal tripe that was on
      re Darren Scully. Much more organised. Ignore her and don’t bother reading her posts. Pure choice on her part not just ignorance. Good night.

• Report this comment

@Nadine: If you actually do a littl bit of reasearch you would know that the notion of ‘race’ has been scientifically discredited. In plain people terms: It does not exist. Therefore claiming that the white ‘race’ is different from the black ‘race’ is going back to eugenics, which is a form of racism and the basis for race superiority.
      And, no, the United States was not a country founded by white immigratns. The territory of what is now the US was inhabited by a number of native american tribes, which were invaded, killed and to modern-days suffer from acute discrimination. What represents the modern-day USA, is a multi-ethnic country that since its beggining was formed by Native Americans, African immigrants (brought against their will through the form of slavery) and White European invaders (Mainly British) It is only much later that immigration (voluntary) started to happen to the USA. Irish people did not help ‘found’ the USA. They migrated to an already stablished country/nation-State together with many other communities (including Japanese, Chinese, Mexican, etc) So you cannot argue that Irish immigrants to the USA have a higher sense fo deserving than say the above communities. Also, let me draw attention to the high levels of racism and discrimination that Irish immigrants had to undergo as they arrived to the USA. And you might also be interested in reading about how the Irish “became white”. Because it took them decades to be given the description of “white”. Orignally the Irish were equated to the “black” population. As a matter of interest, look at this cartoon, then you might rethink your arguments: http://chnm.gmu.edu/exploring/images/harpers.jpg

• Ter Fitz 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Ah seriously, the amount of posts removed from this item is simply shocking! I think it’s reasonable to ask you journal…why??????

• BJ 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Logged on a few hours ago and plenty of debate… Where’s it all gone?

• Helen Gallagher 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Does the journal not believe in freedom of speech?

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Racism is no more debate than it is freedom of speech.

• BJ 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

There were 139 comments left under this article… 30 are left… There’s no way 109 comments on this page were racist… I have more respect for the intelligence of the majority of readers

• Michael Freeman 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Hi BJ. Are you reading on your phone? Currently our app only supports a certain number of comments (it’ll be fixed in the next update) – but if you read on your computer then you should be able to see the whole debate. Hope that helps.

• Bazza 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Undocumented being a polite word for illegal means the Gardai should have been waiting for every ‘undocumented’ person on that march.

Before Im attacked by the do-gooders……. Yes, all the illegal Irish should be thrown out of the US, Australia, and anywhere else they have been hiding.

• Frank Buffets 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You sound like a do gooder yourself! But what happens if your stable job is removed, suddenly their is no demand for your line of work here or abroad. You have a family to support and board a plane for The nearest place that offers any form of work.after years of contributing to the new community, do you look at yourself and say this is so wrong. Imagine the position of some illegals that sentence themselves to not seeing their families for years, hardly a life style choice but a surviving choice.

• Andrew Bernos 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I agree: illegal there, illegal here. I wait patiently for Irish citizenship. I work, pay my taxes, and wait. My time will come… Legally and fairly.

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Good on you Andrew, I’d be proud to have you as an Irish citizen, it would offset the utter shame I feel about the commentary here by birthright citizens posting here, they don’t deserve to be Irish.

Report this comment

“Why were there no boat loads of Africans clamouring to get here then?”

Well, I imagine it would take quite a while for a boat to travel from Africa to Ireland, but that’s another story entirely.

By the way, skyscrapers in an African country means NOTHING. Have you ever been to South Africa? There are skyscrapers and designer shops on one side of the motorways and shanty towns full of starving children on the other. How foolish you sound to assume that a skyscraper equals a lack of poverty.

Yeah, some cases are bogus, but the point is, they aren’t all – and we can’t ship them all out and tar them all with the same brush. You’re honestly the most ignorant person I’ve ever come across on this site.

• Ter Fitz 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Ah seriously, the amount of readers posts that have been removed from this topic is simply shocking! I think it’s a fair question to ask of The Journal why this is??? Truly shocking.

• Dublin City 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Justice for undocumented? Surely that would be a swift extradition flight back to wherever they came from?

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

There are five A380′s on the runway at Sydney airport right now with 2,500 illegals on board…just say the word and they’ll be cleared for take off.

• Michael Campbell 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

We legalize them and countries like Germany and Denmark or where ever the best social welfare has to pick up the pieces.I don’t think that is fair sure arnt they using the auld marriage scam like getting married to Latvian or has that finished now.these people are not fools and know the law inside out.

• Louth 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Where were our GNIB for this march if this happened in the states 1 pair of handcuffs 1 plane ticket and 8hours later a phone call from your homeland to those you left behind these people have no rights as they are illegal aliens only in Ireland

• Report this comment

I cant believe some of the comments on here truly terrible. We have undocumented people all over the world some friends of mine. Most if the people on this march at least deserve a chance to stay here some dont, but as a migrating country ourselves we should be a lot more sympathetic to their cause. As a nation are we that hyprocritical. I think thats what should be debated here.

• Easygoing 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Illegal = deportation ……simple as that….& same goes for Irish illegal abroad…..the law is the law !

• Sean C 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

If Australia sends back the tens of thousand illegal Irish you’re prepared to the resulting increase in your tax to accommodate them on the dole then.

• green badger 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Should have been all rounded up and sent home!!!!!……

• Billy Kelly 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This government dosint care about the citizens of this country. what hope in hell does any other non Irish citizen have.

• Sean Regan 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m always reminded during these types I’d debates how two faced we Irish really are. We think nothing of blasting the Americans if they tried to deport the Irish undocumented in the USA, we would be up in arms but when it’s not happening to us it’s ok. I agree with other posters if in the morning Irish people lost there stable job, had to move away to work, feed their families etc we would hope to be allowed.

• Christopher Lynch 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Why couldn’t they apply for a visa or permit like normal people. Rather then sneaking in and then ask everything to be handed to them on a silver platter.

• David Lohan 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Many are fleeing persecution and it would be unusual to get an asylum seeker in possession of a passport. Says a lot about how comparably well-off we are when we can such things for granted and be in awe that somebody wouldn’t just line up and wait their turn. Some references to social welfare, etc. on this site. Actually asylum seekers get an allowance of €19.10 per WEEK. Folks living in centres can expect to live under these conditions for at least 6 years. Some live there, in Ireland, for twice this length. Quite bleak actually, a murder sentence would be shorter.

• Réada Quinn 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Don’t give them any ideas David. Some of the commentators are sick enough already. Some are just scared and ignorant.

• David Lohan 18/12/11 #
      Report this comment

For all those fans, and all those old enough to remember, the film the “The Commitments” I suppose the comments shown on this site mean that we have now lost our right to sing The Blues.

• David Lohan 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Funnily enough when I opened this article I thought it was about the thousands of undocumented Irish (in USA) and not about the undocumented in Ireland.

• Edmond O'Connor 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Great chance to catch the illegals.

• John Turkey 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I have no strong opinion about whether we should arrest or support the demonstrators. However, I do feel very strongly that Ireland needs an immigration policy. Which means that we have to draw the line somewhere. There will always be refugees and less well off immigrants who want to move here. The debate shouldn’t be around whether we accept them or not – it should be about how many to accept.

• Christopher Lynch 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If they are undocumented that means that they don’t pay into the system and take from it. When the west was full of poverty we had to work out of it, why should they come and then claim it for free.

• Mariaam Bhatti 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Shocking to see how ignorant some people can be and seem to know it all …..nobody would want to leave their country where they belong and are not seen as an outcast to be a victim of hatred,racism ,prejudice and I have no doubt they are the same people who offered us jobs and invited us into the country and then overworked us,paid us way below the minimum wage ,treated us like we are half human beings just so they can feel powerful as as excercising power over others it is the only thing that can make them feel good about themselves.

‘student visa after student visa’ ?You should be grateful you still have students paying the high international students fees and that you had a CHOICE to study or not,some us did not have that choice and there is nothing wrong with starting to go to college at 30 like myself an opportunity that I would not have had in my ’3rd world’ home country and I will get a student visa after student visa for the next seven years till I get my degree.

• HELLO SPRUIKER 18/12/11 #
    Report this comment

New Ireland!!

This Christmas!!

Please don’t forget our own emigrants and the down and out, homeless Irish people on the streets of London, New York and and other cities throughout the world.

These people worked hard and sent home their wages to support and build this country when times were hard over here.

Add New Comment