You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Josef Fritzl

"I dream of getting out of here alive" - a defiant Josef Fritzl gives his first interview

Claims he still “loves” the daughter he held captive for 24 years.

JOSEF FRITZL, THE Austrian man who imprisoned his own daughter in a cellar for more than two decades and raped her more than 3,000 times, has claimed that he “loves” her and hopes to get out of jail alive.

He was sentenced to life imprisonment in March last year, after being convicted of rape, slavery, imprisonment and negligent homicide.

Elisabeth, who is now 43, gave birth seven times during her captivity. One of the babies died as a result of breathing difficulties. Fritzl incinerated the body in a stove.

During his first ever press interview with Germany’s Bild newspaper, the 75-year-old introduced himself to reporters, before adding “But you know me – I am world famous!”

The Bild journalists concluded that he remains in complete denial about his crimes. Asked about his wife, he was apparently mystified that she hadn’t responded to his letters.

I wrote her eight letters, but I never got an answer. My dream is that I will get out of here alive. I want to look after my wife again because she was always loyal to me.

He insists that the authorities are preventing his 13 children from visiting him, which is the only reason they haven’t come to see him, Bild adds.

Elisabeth Fritzl is trying to build a new life for herself and her children, who live with her at a secret location near Amstetten. She is also reported to have begun a relationship with one of the security guards who watch over her and her family.