TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

‘I use it to take someone off the dole’ – Doherty on hiring extra staff using excess expenses

Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty had defended spending unused travel expenses in order to hire staff.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN TD Pearse Doherty has admitted to spending unused funds from his travel expenses in order to hire additional staff – but said he would pay back the money if doing so was in violation of Oireachtas rules.

Speaking on Newstalk’s Breakfast programme this morning, Doherty responded to a report in the Irish Independent which claimed he had used €8,000 in unused expenses in order to hire additional staff.

Doherty said the two people hired using the excess money from his travel expenses are not party members – and had not been asked to join Sinn Féin.

He added that he personally chooses to live on the standard industrial wage and uses the remainder to hire two people who would otherwise “be on the dole”.

The Donegal South-West TD said that he published details of “every penny” he recieved from the Houses of Oireachtas and was also a registered employer with the Revenue Commissioner – however he added that he was unaware about rules introduced two years ago which state that unused money from travel funds must be returned to the Oireachtas.

Doherty said that he would pay back any money owed if he had broken any rule.

Read: Taoiseach makes switch to vouched expenses – costing us extra €8k this year

Read next:

Comments (166 Comments)

• Every politician, at any level, should be required to publish whatever expenses he or she incurs monthly against the public purse for the scrutiny of the taxpayer.

This should be done at their personal expense.

• Couldn’t Sinn Fein have just stuck with the traditional system of employing wives, and other close family members.
    It’s worked a treat for years for the main parties!

• Standard industrial wage is something I have heard often from politicians without ever seeing a figure ! Anyone know what this magic number is ?

• If this article and the forgoing comments indicate anything to me it’s the culture of corruption that runs through ALL of Irish politics. Of course this has been spearheaded by FF & FG – the political parties traditionally most involved in power with Labour hopping from one to the other to get a piece of the action from time to time.
    With support for FF at an all time low meaning disillusioned ex FF (The Rupublican Party!) voters are either to be lured back to the fold or defect to SF (Labour is toxic ATM) it’s all to play for. Hence the muck raking. ‘Shinnerbots’ are everywhere, FF doesn’t know what it stands for (well it does but can’t admit it) meaning O’Cuiv goes on the odd solo, finds himself floundering and scampers back home to be put in the corner. It’s all to play for, the goodies are up for grabs and you can be sure the typically corrupt, self serving, gombeen Irish politician, of whatever political persuasion, will be up to the game.

• Isn’t the point here not that he spent the money ‘keeping someone off the dole’, that he spent money he wasn’t supposed to, to further SF policies and marketing.
    That’s gaming the system no matter what way you look at it.

• Im not a shinner either but I think this is fishey. Something isnt right.

• I find it hilarious to hear members of FF & FG complaining about rightly due expenses being used to pay someone to do some work when they claim expenses for non existant journeys and luxury beds for Phil hogans backside. These expenses are being used in a productive manner and not being personally pocketed by the greed mites that exist in FF & FG! And I am not even a SF supporter, far from it!

• Doherty trousered €51,000 expenses for nine months last year. That’s taxpayers’ money. And good ol’ Gerry has a house in Belfast, a house in Donegal and gives his address as Ravensdale in Dundalk. AND he flies first class with United airlines from New York. All on ‘the average industrial wage.’ He is a miracle worker. Should be running the economy!

• He has also written 15 bestselling books and is a columnist with the Irish News.

But hey, don’t let facts get in the way!

• Paddy, many of the contributors on this forum believe that Gerry should be running the economy.

• I was joking. But then, Shinners don’t have much of a sense of humour do then? Sorry. They do. They made Mary Lou deputy leader. And by the way, Adams did NOT have 15 best selling books. What he did have, is the €1million expenses he took from Westminster (that’s a lot of Queen’s shillings) in ten years. Point is, you seem to have no difficulty with a ‘socialist’ having at least two homes and flying first class at a cost of €7,000.

• censored 20/06/12 #

You should explain how Gerry could possibly do a worse job than FF/FG/Labor.

• How could Gerry do a worse job? Mmm Let me think. Oh. Got it. Maybe he could go back to the days when his private army, the one he joked about not having gone away, shot people in the back of the head or murdered gardai or set off no warning car bombs or massacred Protestants simply for being Protestants as they did in Teebane and Kingsmill. That’d be worse don’t you think?

• censored 20/06/12 #

I think those days are in the past, and in fairness Gerry Adams played a role in putting it into the past. But keep dragging it up wont’ you? Ian Paisley can work with SF, but you can’t stomach the concept. Wow.

• It’s certainly in the past for the hundreds of people Gerry’s mates killed, children included. Has he apologised or explained to Tom Oliver’s family? No. Has he been to Warrington or Birmingham or Caterham to say sorry face to face to the families of the IRA’s victims? No. Has he trousered a million in expenses from Westminster, bought himself a holiday home in Donegal, got himself a chauffeur driven car, flow the Atlantic first class? You betcha.

• censored 20/06/12 #

How far do we go back with the tit for tat stuff? Remember, an eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.

I didn’t intend to start a silly debate about SF past, especially with somebody who just wants to rant in a one-sided way. My question was about the record of the other political parties. They also have chequered pasts, and their record in this country is one of abject failure. One more time: how could anybody do a worse job than FF/FG/Labor? (and no, your hyperbolic comment about private armies is not an answer)

• Hyperboic how? Gerry’s mates DID kill hundreds and hundreds of people, more Irish people than the British Army, Loyalist terrorists and the RUC combined. It is very much the present for their grieving families. As for the distant past… do you really think that actions 100 years ago or more justify actions today? You criticise me for bringing up the past and then talk about the ‘chequered past’ of other parties. Like Sinn Fein, you want it every way; socialist and first class flights; ‘peacemakers’ who won’t apologise or meet their victims’ families; faux democrats. And they have the courage of, well, the kind of people who post on forums anonymously. Wonder if I can think of anyone…

• censored 20/06/12 #

Did you show your passport before writing that comment?

• Passport? You’re making less sense than before which is some achievement.
      An eye for an eye? Where did I suggest that? It is precisely that kind of crap I despise.
      As for using the dishonesty of others to justify Sinn Fein’s actions, well, that’s pretty typical isn’t it.
      If you’re in cliche mode, you might realise that two wrongs don’t make a right.

• Can anyone confirm if the two jobs were filled by public competition seeing that public funds are being used to pay the employees?

• Well done him!! I was a recent casualty of the recession and closed my small bookshop. Now I find myself jobhunting in an unfavourable climate where every job advertised gets dozens (at least) of applicants. Emigrating is not an option for me because of mortgage and family so I keep applying for jobs, any job, so I can feel a part of society again.

So taking money that was ear marked for TD’s expenses, giving someone back their dignity and taking them off of the humiliating, demoralising dole queue is not something I am going to get upset about. Pity more of the leeches in Leinster house don’t follow his lead!!

• This is still corruption Val. He is guilty of it. The funds that he used to pay that person were from expenses that were meant for travel. That person was not employed by the Sinn Fein party, they were paid with money from the state. I have no problem with him using his actual salary to pay for someone.

• Corruption ? Get off your high horse and get a grip .Corruption is not getting someone off the dole queue , it is putting 450,000 onto it . Give me a break .! He is not using it on himself , he is using it for the good of another human being .

• Susie, that money was not meant for the purpose that Mr. Doherty used it for. If that money was returned and then put towards the dole or another form of welfare that is fair enough. But the fact is that he used the money for another purpose other than travel expenses. It’s fiddling the book so to speak.

• If he had used to money to hire a gardener would that be ok?

Of course not, I hope you will agree.

What he has done is actually worse as he has used the money to the benefit of his political party (which is not exactly short of funds).

• @Donal …

You can be damn sure that No-one from Labour/FFg/FF would use any of their expenses to take someone off the Dole. They use all of theirs every year, to coever exactly the same expenses that Doherty used his for…. only difference, Doherty managed to hire 2 part-time staff, as well as return expenses to the Dail.
      The majority of Labour/FFg/FF used EVERY penny they were entitled to, to cover their own expenses and nothing else, and returned sweet FA. Put it all in perspective,
      Doherty in all innocence published what he was doing with his expenses on his web-site, so that people could see how their money was being spent. How crazy is it, that the guy who gives two non-party members part-time work, and also manages to return expenses at the end of the year to the Dail, is the one who is being chastised, all the while, the greedy money grabbers in FFg/Labour/FF maximise their expenses for their own ends.

And as mentioned above, all this on the day that SF propose the bill to repeal ythe household charge….
      Cynical or what?

• Cal, he used taxpayer money illegally for the benefit of SF.

This taking people of the dole thing is BS. We don’t know if these people were on the dole or whether they paid tax while working for Doherty. The fact is this is equivalent to a direct transfer of funds to SF.

What other TDs do with their expenses is not the story here. I’m not saying it’s not an issue – I would like to see a breakdown of every TD’s expenses to see if what you say is true.

Doherty, just like O’Snodaigh before him, has been caught misusing tax payer funds. If this was a FF/FG/Lab TD who had been caught doing this, would you be as understanding?

• The options for the likes of Gilmore, Burton and Martin are. They could give up over half of their salary to fund their political beliefs and campaigns and save their stagnating parties, from the mass debt and further decline that will come in next election, by doing what the Shinners, the ULA and many indo’s do.

Not a hope, Gilmore and Martin are the types that would take the copper from the walls, as they are laving their party HQ’s for the last time. That lack of political belief and willingness to put politics before your pocket, ruined Ireland for last 50 years, destroyed FF and will finish Lab. in next election as well.

• Donal, i swear to you… If i heard that someone from FFg/Labour/FF was doing what Doherty was doing, i would not go after him the way FFg/Labour/FF have done this.
      But we all know, no-one from FF/FFg/Labour would ever use ANY money to help anyone other than themselves. Let me put it like this to you…. How can Doherty (who is the longest drive away from the Dail) manage to get by on so few expenses in the first place, to allow him to hire two part-time staff? If you can answer me this, i would really appreciate it. What are the FFg/Labour/FF TDs doing with their expenses, because they are definitely not returning them to the Dail. The story was written in the Journal.ie two weeks ago. And again, as an aside, Doherty actually returned expenses to the Dail also.

You ask legitimate questions re paying tax etc. if he wasn’t paying Tax for his employees, then i think he must face censure in the Dail, the same as any other TD. Is that me being biased in any way?
      I 100% agree that the expense system is so corrupt that it stinks to the high heavens of FFg/Labour/FF who designed the system to maximise their own personal gain. They are not breaking the law, as they wrote the law. No right minded person in this country thinks what they are doing is right.
      So, if you feel so strongly about expenses being abused, why not support me on this thread and ask Journal.ie to run a poll asking whether or not ALL Dail expenses should be receipted. Otherwise, i am sorry, i really don’t think you are earnest in your horror at how Doherty used his expenses.

• Cal, all good points; however, the fact remains the SF and Doherty are benefiting from the misuse of taxpayer funds. This is unacceptable.

This is not his money to disburse. While the rules regarding expenses need to be changed, as they are too lax, that does not mean that we should not condemn those who break the rules that we already have.

It is also worth pointing out that the further away you live, the more travel expenses you get. As we all know, TDs get too much expenses, so it stands to reason that the more you get, the more you get than is necessary, hence the reason for his having money left over. Apologies for the slightly convoluted logic on this last point.

• It is corruption. My employer would take a very dim view of me claiming expenses in order to take somebody off the dole.

• The hypocrisy i’m reading here is stifling. Doherty should have declared both his salary and expenses contributions spent on workers as political donations. It doesn’t matter if it didn’t go through an SF bank account for two reasons. The first being complete lack of transparency on how SF funds itself and secondly with respect of the expenses donations it wasn’t his money to spend! The taxpayer gives him that money so he can represent the people of Donegal from Dublin by providing travel and accommodation not so he can spend it on whatever he see’s fit. He can do whatever the hell he wants with his salary but where it is for the benefit of a political party it should be declared. It wasn’t. What SF done was wrong, it works against transparency and exploits the rules at the expense of the taxpayer yet again! Get off your damn high horses! SF are clearly still part of the problem!

• We’re they filled by SF members, or was there an open interview? There are many low paid civil servants who would like to work back in Donegal and get this wage. Can the employment equality authority investigate these appointments?

• The fact that Kenny has not bothered to change this law just shows how dishonest, double standard, better than the rest of us attitude is still alive and well in there!

Travelling expenses have to be vouched in every company. If one has lost a receipt and can’t get another, they lose that expense. This damn expenses, hand out, should be stopped immediately. It would safe the tax payer huge money every year. The money could go into the infrastructure, roads, schools, SNA’s, carers fund. Every TD, Minister, etc. in there should be made keep receipts and then get paid at the end of every month for them.

These expenses of over EUR2,500 a month, whether one uses them or not is just so wrong and so extravagant. It should not be up to Sin Fein or any other group to decide where this money is going to. Nobody knows where it is really going! Wrong just so bloody wrong.

• Ah geez Pearse. If you want to take somebody off the dole then use your own money.

• Gagsy 99

Mmmmmm! The fact is, these people work for the people of Ireland, they are paid by the people of Ireland whom they are forever swearing that they are “one of us”!!!!!!!!! None of these politicians should be given this kind of money, it should be done by “payment on receipt” It is not up to people like Doherty to give away my money, our money, to “friends” of his. Doherty is NOT an employer!

I am sick to the teeth of news like this coming out in dribs and draps by newspapers, journalists, other political parties to suit themselves. Please, please if there is anybody in that Dail that is honest please speak up!

• Yes Doherty is an employer as is clearly stated in the article.

• @ Mark ……

Right …. and we employ him also as a representative in the Dail? So he pays ordinary employee tax and employer tax? Sorry I’m just a bit confused. So I would assume that it’s allowed? That these individuals, that were “taken off” the dole are being taxed like the rest of us? Sorry, but this is just so confusing to me. How would Doherty be able to get them jobs with Sin Fein and the Government/job seekers couldn’t get them a job! That’s fantastic. He’s great. So are these people members of Sin Fein, or would they be supporters of Labour/Fine Gael etc.? I suppose you’re going to tell me that it’s immaterial? OK ;)

• Try reading the article Sheila. It clearly states they are not members of SF.

• Wallace was also avoiding tax to try and keep people off the dole.

Good intentions don’t excuse fiddling the system.

• Was the money he paid to these people declared? Was PRSI etc paid? Was it legal to use expenses money due to be returned to state for this purpose?

Doherty & SF must answer and provide evidence such as p60s

• mcbab 20/06/12 #

Ok pay it back Pearse, thanks. Hope the cheque is in the post. By the way you are paid your salary and expenses to do the job you were elected to. My money is paying your salary and I object to my money going into sinn fein coffers as in the excess after taking the industrial wage. Put it back into the exchequer or donate it VDP instead. What about that for a suggestion?

• On a completely unrelated point, I wonder where all that Nothern Bank money went?

• From what I can gather Sinn Fein claim all expensives from here and England, but they dont use them for personal use, all money is put into yhe party to try and build it up, thats what I heard anyway rings true to be honest…

• On a salary of 93k, his take home is 56k. He keeps avg ind wage of 36k so he has 20k+8k to pay two staff.
    He’s paying a full time salary of 14k? What kind of an employer is he!

• I was wondering what non-story would hit the news the day sinn feins bill to abolish the household charge would be voted on.

Provides nice cover for labour to not back the bill, dontchathink. I already heard one Labour TD on the radio this morning asking Doherty ridiculous questions relating to this.

• Does raise issues about the whole expenses thing though. These expenses are automatic and unvouched. So you have to actually return them. On a salary of €90k no one should be claiming expenses.

Timing is cynical though of course. The assault from the right wing media has begun on SF/ULA. Hope we can withstand it and both need to be whiter than white.

• Agreed, SF have, as a party, a sort of historical moral authority which exempts them from any scrutiny.
      Personally, I believe they should stop this investigation into questionable misuse of public funds and go straight to the canonization

• This and the previous ink gate show a ‘ambiguous’ attitude by Sinn Fein reps to expenses rules. If it was another party, say Fine Gael, there would be uproar and rightly so. It’s perfectly legitimate to ask questions about this. Is it not up to those receiving public monies to inform themselves of the correct procedures for its use?

• Donnacha, the real scandal of inkgate is how much the state are paying for printer consumables, a hangover of the celtic tiger years that still has not been addressed.

• @Too

Well, other deputies managed not to spend the sun, moon, and stars on ink, so why did Chief Wiggum?

• Because he was a thick. He printed large volumes of output on the wrong type of printer for the job. He could have used a professional printer for a fraction of the cost. Of course it should cost ALL TDs a fraction of the cost that it presently does due to the ridiculous price that the consumables are being requisitioned at.

• Hmmm… If it was his own money I bet he’d have copped on how ‘thick’ it was. Just a hunch, mind.

• Very noble of you Pearse to use funds for this manner…shame its not your money, but Irish taxpayers. The very people you pretend to care so much about. Ahhhh yes, Sinn Fein (Ourselves) our great nations modern day heroes, ironic really, as that’s all they care about. People in glass houses…

• This is hardly a coup on behalf of The Independent. This information has been available on Pearse Doherty’s website for months. He has always been totally transparent about this. He has also said he will repay the amounts. I don’t think he should have to as it was done openly and in full view. At least he didn’t use the funds to employ his wife or other family members as is the case with the other main parties. nnThe establishment and the parties they fund will stop at nothing to muddy Sinn Féin. Good to see they are worried. There is a new party in town and FiannaGaeLabour are not invited!

• @Donncha: …
      “If it was another party, say Fine Gael” ….
      Christ get real, FF/FFg had the lowest amount of returned expenses for the last 12 months.
      FF (corrupt gits) returned 0.5%
      FFg returned 2.5% of all their expenses.

My data source was an article on Journal.ie from 2 weeks ago.
      So even with the likes of Pearse Doherty hiring people using TD expenses, SF still maaged to return almost 4% of all the expenses. It really does go to show how sickeningly corrupt and greedy FF/FFg are.
      I can guarantee you there will be no stories in the Indo or Journal abour anyone from FF/FFg using any of their expense money to create jobs.

• The great irony of if he was a FF’er who spent it on drink for his local cumann, or a FG’er who claimed expenses for when he was out of the country, not a word would be said. In fact that is normal. Give 2 people part time jobs, while taking 60k for yourself, compared to the old stale parties and it is a taboo.

• I meant to say 60k less for yourself. lol

• a genuine mistake and a understanding that a repayment will be made if he is found in breach of an wrong doing.Pearse Doherty would be the most credible of our politicans and did publish details of accounts i suspect nobody would have been the wiser if he had not. SF obviously have to be 100% transparent in all party dealings and rightly so.If i was offerd a part time job by anyone that took a reduction in there own wages to support the financing of my family livelyhood ect i would commend the man..but as per usual the smallest of problems become large and the largest seem to be forgotten ..just like how were all really happy been on the dole getting poorer whilst the 10% rich have a torrid time getting richer..maybe we could get a link up of who has the highest expenditure in the Dail and look at the bigger picture here..

• ….the thing is, its NOT HIS MONEY. If it was his own personal expenses that he had claimed, I would take my hat off to him, but it wasn’t. It’s taxpayers money. He is taking money from the taxpayer. He is no different to Mick Wallace, Micheal Lowry or Liam Lawlor. All defrauders of the State in some shape or form

• obviously if he breached the rules he will pay back the 8000 ..but been a fraudster you would try and hide your accounts not publish them for all to see..Liam Lawlor Mick Wallace are fraudsters but the comparison is bit exaggerated ..

• Brendan, please stop telling the truth … FFg/Labour/FF guys don’t want to hear it.
      I personally think the headline should read … Dail TD creates 2 part-time jobs for non-relative, non-Party unemployed. Never before has this happened in Dail Eireann, and based on FFg/Labour/FF TDs reactions, it wont be allowed to happen again.
      FFg/FF/Labour TDs are really most annoyed about this, because Doherty is after exposing what is wrong with the unvouched Dail expense farce. He has risked public outrage that TDs are getting so much money for coming to work. Doherty is risking their gravy train of unexplained expenses (ie tax free money in their packets for doing nothing).
      Shame on them, they are financial terrorists.

• There is no disguising the fact that he has defrauded the State by ?8k. Granted its a relatively low amount, but regardless he has used state funds that were not his for another purpose. Fact! I will therefore repeat that he is no better than Lawlor, Lowry or Wallace. The money was not his, but Irish taxpayers. The headline should read. “Doherty defrauds the state by failing to hand back monies owed”

• Jeez, sensationalise much toorkeel? Love the faux outrage by the way. Did you miss the part here doherty said he was unawware of the rule change and will pay back the full amount if he has acted contrary to those new rules on the matter?

• Yes the timing is very obvious. However, SF should not let themselves be exposed to this kind of thing.

• Not really sensational TrueLeft, its a fact. It’s in black and white. You can read about it all tissue paper. Mr Doherty is a very intelligent man. I find it hard to believe he wasn’t aware of the rule change. I would assume all members would have received written confirmation. The thing is TrueLeft, its a bit like with Wallace, you never want to admit that they were wrong. However “noble” Mr Dohertys intentions were, he was still wrong

• Ok Rev..any reasonable people might think that if he knew he was defrauding the tax payer of 8000 he just woud’nt bother who would its a pityfull amount in the scheme of the GREED that LOWRY & LAWLOR stuck in there back pocket and you know what did the mighty fraudster Doherty did with all the stolen taxpayers money no he didnt stick it in an offshore account or add an indoor swimming pool to his newly built mansion ..he gave 2 people part time work ..whats happening here alot of smoke and no fire..does anyone remember Bertie crying on tv and i bet the reverend toorkeel forgave him … you did didnt you

• Eh, toorkeel, I actually DID ‘admit’ what wallace did was wrong, so please get your facts straight or stop misrepresenting me, whichever one you’re guilty of.

• Unless Doherty used the travel expenses to hire extra staff to give him a piggy back to work then what he’s done is wrong and he ought to give the money back.

• sure he should and if found in breach will payback the 8000 but to say he is a willing fraudster and is on the same par as lowry & lawlor is just over exaggerating and that is the only point i am making..

• toorkeel 20/06/12 #

@Brend. Whether he did unwittingly or otherwise, he still defrauded the State. Anyone who defrauds the State is a fraudster, just like Lowry, Lawlor and of course Wallace whom I notice you didnt mention, I wonder why….€2.1m in his case, not exactly small change now is it? I never doubted Mr Dohertys intentions, as I said in earlier posts, if the money came from his own pocket, then what he did or was doing was admirable.But it didnt come from his own pocket, it came from the taxpayers purse. I do remember Bertie crying, I laughed! Personally, I cannot understand why Bertie hasn’t been investigated. Its wrong he hasn’t and inexcusable. That goes for any politician left/right/green/blue/red or whatever who has committed a criminal act and has yet to come before the courts
      @TrueLeft. I distinctly remember asking you to give me a yes/no answer as to whether Wallace was right or wrong. You wouldnt/couldnt answer and danced around spouting about bondholders, banks etc. Thats yesterdays news so I’m happy to let bygones be bygones.

• era storm in a teacup & tomorrow is another day & another debate ..mick wallace acted the bollix & is a fraudster i said that already..away for the grub

• toorkeel 20/06/12 #

@Brend. Agreed, enjoy your well earned nibbles. See you at the next “great” debate….;)

• Ah, so you’re misrepresenting me toorkeel, pretty low.

• In the likely event anybody is interested and wants to read how toorkeel is purposely misrepresenting me, heres the thread in question.

Toorkeel is claiming in this thread that he “distinctly remember asking you to give me a yes/no answer as to whether Wallace was right or wrong. You wouldnt/couldnt answer and danced around spouting about bondholders, banks etc.”

Here’s what he actually asked:

http://www.thejournal.ie/technical-group-colleagues-condemn-wallace-but-wont-call-on-him-to-resign-478230-Jun2012/

“should Mr Wallace resign his position and no longer represent the people of Wexford in Dail Eireann for doing deliberately defrauding the state? No waffle, a Yes/No answer”

Oh, and I didn’t mention banks or bondholders.

Guys, I recommend reading toorkeels contributions in the thread in question so you can gauge for yourself, given his accusations in this thread, the blokes integrity.

• Should read ‘unlikely’, but I think you get the drift…

• toorkeel 20/06/12 #

@TrueLeft. I think its time you went to bed honestly, you are making an eejit of yourself now and Im getting cringing here for you. You didnt answer my post about Wallace two weeks ago. You danced….and danced…..and danced around it. Again tonight, you fail to see the error of peoples ways who have defrauded the State…….this debate is now yesterdays news…nighty night night

• blah! 20/06/12 #

@toorkeel you are completely wrong. @Too Trueleft did not waffle on about banks and bond holders. He waffled on about eating his dinner. And he didn’t answer your question with a yes or no.

• Hilarious the way the SFbots are willing to defend this. Regardless of what has gone on before, this is indefensible.

They are illegally furthering the interests of the SF party at the expense of the taxpayer.

• What qualifies a SFbot Donal? Do you think I’m one?

• I don’t know Rommel. I do know that you are obsessed with Enda though. So maybe you are a closet blueshirt dying to come out?

In all seriousness though, do you think this behaviour from SF is acceptable?

• Obsessed with Enda lol. Is such a thing possible? He’s more to be pitied than ridiculed at this stage as a leader.
      I came out with a blueshirt preference last time round so I’m well out of that closet, never to return to it I might add.
      Is it acceptable? I think it may be technically outside the rules but as Doherty has said himself if it is then he will put it right and I think that’s fair enough.
      It’s hardly in the Galway tent or Bilderberg category to be fair.

• I don’t agree with this, and agree it is not defensible.

However, I also resent the SFbot comment. On other threads if you are seen to support/defend any of the SF ideas, even the ones that make sense, you get this slew of idiotic comments about Shinnerbots and SFbots.

Do any of you actually think for yourselves or is it just a kneejerk reaction?

• So he hired 2people for 8 k .definately one for the e.s.r.i to evaluate .

• Lets see.
    I’m not a shinner, but lets see. Using expense system to get people working. Compared to lets see… Gilmore and Joan Burton, who used taxpayers money to top up their own wages.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gilmore-says-topup-pay-normal-for-extra-duties-22100-paid-to-labour-leaders-3023906.html

Which is more just

• Unused expenses implies there should not have been a claim made or they were part of fixed sum payments that may not have been used. In either case the money morally belongs to the state and instead the Sinn Fein TD employs someone! Could a Fine Gael Or Labour supporter get one of these positions or should the only not just be returned to the State?

• mcbab 20/06/12 #

They print their leaflets using taxpayers money. They pay party workers using taxpayers money. This shows such contempt towards us all. Hypocrites.

• SF breaking the law? how unusual!

Now that SIPO are investigating them the truth should be revealed soon.

• Says a man who charged the state €3250 for a web hosting package, something I could set up for €20, pipe down there Stephen I reckon!

• Hmmm, sinn fein TD using expenses to take an ordinary person off the dole queue Versus Fianna Fail TD using expenses to pay a member of fianna fail thousands to host and maintain a mickey mouse website.

Glass houses stephen.

• You FF drones are always so predictable. Bit rich of you, especially, to take a dig at SF for misuse of state funding.

Stephen Kearon is the director of Wicklow Port, provides the state with a web hosting service, is a Peace Commissioner, and the head of Fianna Fáil Wicklow.

Do I smell gombeenism? Yes I think I do. Fianna Fáil – always feathering our own nests.

• A peace commissioner? LOL

• Stephen
      Double standards there me thinks . Did you not get paid ( very well) to do a job for FF ? Were they not providing you with a (very good) living ?

• Fagan's 20/06/12 #

Stephen. Is not Oltech’s site, who you work for in their IT dept using Blacknight hosting, which off the top of my head is 13 euro’s a month in hosting. They provide a wonderful service as well you know.

• @ Stephen.. Get a grip will ye?! The truth will be revealed ???

• Stpehen, the truth is already posted on his web-site, has been for months… It only got published in the Indo today, because SF are proposing the Bill to repeal the household charge tonight. Usual cynical politics from FFg/FF/Labour, to defelect attention away from the fact that the 3 parties ratified the fiscal treaty, which means we have to hand over 1.17 billion euro to Spain/Italy in the next couple of weeks to bail out their banks.
      Also FF/FFg/Labour are handing over another 1,100,000,000.00 euro next week to more unsecured bondholders in Anglo.
      FF will never change their spots… Change their leaders OK, but never the way they do business. Sickening.

• €13 a month? Oops. I thought it was €271, my bad! ;)

• Cat got your tongue, Stephen?

• Well Stephen, I have to say you’re right this time. SF breaking the law? How unusual! Yes, it’s unusual especially in the Republic where breaking the law and stealing money from Irish taxpayers is usually considered to be the preserve of Fianna Failures.

• Bobby 20/06/12 #

Now now Stephen, have you no shame? You’re not really in a position to lecture about wasting public funds are you? How much did you charge a Govt Dept for a €25 piece of equipment? €3,250 was it?! You were also paid a fortune as an advisor to the Government which decimated and destroyed this country. You’re in no position to comment on this story.

• mcbab 20/06/12 #

Show us the money Pearse! And what about osnodoigh , did he ever pay back what he owes the taxpayer?

• Was it decided that o’snodaigh should cover the costs of the grossly overpriced ink he used to print constituency leaflets?

• blah! 20/06/12 #

I live in his constituency. I never got any leaflets. Nor did any of my relatives or friends living in his constituency, that i have asked, or at least none can recall receiving any.

• Strange that, because on the day of the controversy some of his constituents were interviewed and said there was no need for o’snodaigh to be sending out leaflets as often as he does.

Do you and your relatives have letterboxes?

• blah! 20/06/12 #

i certainly have a letterbox. Offhand I would be lying if I gave a definitive yes or no regarding the others mentioned in my post. I can check and report back. A question for you Too Trueleft, how grossly overpriced was said toner? I appologise if this info is already public knowledge, but as you made the statement I’m sure you have that at hand. If it was as you say grossly overpriced it does not say a lot for the National Procurement Service to allow such a supplier on a Framework, considering that their motto is “Delivering Value for Money in Public Procurement”.

• mcbab 20/06/12 #

The veil is lifting. Jobs for the boys as per sinn fein minister Murphy damned in discrimination report in the north. What to comment cal etc?

• Well he’s probably keeping more people off the dole than Kenny and Gilmore are achieving with their rubbish ‘stimulus’ package!

Not to mention austerity…

• Oops sorry he took 40 k ish for his own wages and 58 k to hire two people ..magnanimous .did he really .

• If anyone else uses TDs expenses to fuel their party machine, without declaring them as donations, & lying about claimed travel & accommodation expenses it’s “corruption”, when SF does it, it’s “taking someone off the dole”!

These guys would give Alistair Campbell with their spin!

• Well if he spent 50 k of his own salary to hire 2people could forgive him for the 8 .they could all do that .

• random 20/06/12 #

Is this supposed to be a scandal? Because it’s actually kind of awesome. It would be better if TDs salaries and expenses were just cut to reasonable levels altogether, but I’m guessing that is not on the cards. In the meantime, any of them that are putting their excess wages to uses other than their personal enrichment are earning points with me.

• blah! 20/06/12 #

I think the scandal is that he is using money that is supposed to be for travelling expenses to enable him to represent all the people in his constituency for paying wages to people to promote Sinn Fein. Unused monies are supposed to be handed back to the exchequer. In a sense he is using non political funds for political purposes. the fact that TDs are overpaid and their expenses are too large is irrelevant in this matter, as is the Wallacesque claim of creating employment. way he has done is wrong.

• They put many people on the dolen

• More power to you, Pearse. It only goes to prove that no good deed goes unpunished. More’s the shame that you hadn’t pilfered billions from the public exchequer, we’d be addressing you as “an Taoiseach” sooner rather later.And no, Enda, I don’t mean this as a reflection on yourself, just the government you preside over.

• ok ok SF 58’000 FF/FG/L 65’000’000’000 hope that rights billion anyway..

• SF want everything translated into 2 languages – Irish and English – could they please oblige and write their names in both languages as it is a curse not knowing their names in English. Otherwise stop talking equality and fairness.

Add New Comment