TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

IBEC appeals for ‘no more taxes’ to try and ease austerity

The employers’ group says ordinary people have been hit with enough new charges and taxes, and can’t handle any more.

IBEC's Danny McCoy says the average worker cannot bear any further tax measures.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE GROUP representing Irish employers has called on the government not to levy further taxes on the public for the next two years, insisting that ordinary workers and households have reached the limit of what they can be asked to pay.

The call comes as IBEC holds its annual CEO conference in Dublin today, which will be attended by Taoiseach Enda Kenny and the President of the European Commission, Jose Manuel Barroso.

IBEC chief executive Danny McCoy said Irish workers had already been taxed enough and that while previous increases were necessary in order to ease the strain on the public finances, no more could be managed.

“To reduce the negative impact on growth and job creation, the remaining economic adjustment should be made by reducing expenditure and growing the economy,” he said. “This requires the government to pursue pro-enterprise, pro-business policies.

“We need a tax system that rewards work, but recent budgets have seen the tax burden increase dramatically,” he said.

McCoy commented that changes to the personal tax system and the introduction of a universal social charge meant Ireland now had one of the highest marginal tax rates in the developed world.

“It is crucial that there is no increase in the cost of employment and that nothing is done to undermine the flexibility of the Irish labour market or the industrial relations environment,” he said.

Plans for the next Budget, which could be delivered in October under new EU procedures, include €2 billion in spending cuts and €1.1 billion in tax increases.

The 2015 Budget, meanwhile, is due to include €700 million in tax increases as part of a €2 billion adjustment.

Read: Rehn: Budget 2014 should not be eased after promissory note savings

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• David 28/02/13 #

All this Government appear good for is introducing a swathe of new stealth taxes. They seem to be zealously in pursuit of the breaking point of the people. Once achieved they will be content that Irish people are only just capable of existence from here on.

What they have proved during the process is that they lack imagination or qualification to lead us out of austerity.

If a horse has been flogged to death, how can you kill it again?

• Reality is we deluded ourselves into thinking the country was being run properly. We were borrowing far too many billions to run the State, concealing a set of national accounts that were off the scale in terms of over spending; even with no banking crisis or bailout.

The tide has gone out, and global economic recession has revealed the joke of an administration the previous government was.

It is that simple. Even if we had told the Troika to ‘get stuffed, we are defaulting’ the situation would be at least this bad if not far worse as e couldn’t then even borrow to continue to delude ourselves.

Unless you have a better idea on where we find the extra billions, cuts and taxes are the only way out. We can’t borrow more than we already are, it is unsustainable.

If you really want to help, go start a business, employ people, sell stuff or services to people outside the state and bring profits into the state. If you can’t do that, then try to find work in such an organisation. It is all about export, not leeching off ourselves passing one State borrowed euro from person to person and taxing it. It still adds up to one euro.

• David 28/02/13 #

So what are we going to pay the geniuses in Government and the relevant departments to do? Do you suggest I invent some kind of manifesto where I promise the electorate that I will create 100,000 jobs by 2016? (Sound familiar?) I’d gladly attempt to tackle the problem if you promise me that everyone in Government, the Department of Finance and the Department of Justice are to be fired first. I’d like to start off on the right footing.

The Government at the end of the day set the agenda and create the circumstances for business in this country. They like you seem to think nationalistic speak is one way to talk ourselves out of this mess.

The Telegraph today run an excellent article about where Ireland is right now. I suggest you read it.

• The Telegraph is quoting David Begg’s view. David Begg being on a EUR137,400 salary, defined benefit Union pension, company car, and various other board member salaries would seem far removed from the productive end of the economy, and moreso a tax on the working man with their Union dues funding his premium income levels.

Your refusal to contribute to economic growth until ‘everyone in Government, the Department of Finance and the Department of Justice are fired first’ is just bonkers.
      I might refuse to pay my taxes until I think we have an efficient public sector, but I don’t have a choice.

• Well I’ve gone from €2000 a month after tax to €800 a month.

Interest only mortgage of €600

And now I’m told they will deduct the property tax directly from my account.

With the interest it’s probably €800 .

That’ll leave me with no money for a month.

Blood from a stone, I’d like to see a politician live on €200.

We all must obey the Law unless you are a Banker or a Politician.

It’s easy to bend rules when you make them I suppose!

• Very clever, IBEC. Call on the government to do this when the average worker has nothing left to give- the fat cats are next and that must be avoided at all costs!
    Make no mistake, they are in it for themselves, they helped drive the austerity foisted upon the common people, they are not your friend, they are not sticking up for you, they are looking at the bigger picture and saving their pay packets! What a farce.

• IBEC who had the ear of Mary Harney and Charlie McCreevy, when they wanted at least 60,000 foreign workers per year coming to Ireland. So as to force down labour costs, they assumed that this would lead to even greater profits. Greed had taken over their minds to such an extent that it never occurred to them that by forcing Irish people to work for less, or go on the dole, they couldn’t afford to buy products that their members were producing.

• Ireland is now officially F’d. IBEC sound like SIPTU and SIPTU sound like IBEC.

• It’s a proven fact that you cannot tax your way out if a recession !

• 700 million in new taxes in 2015 FFS this is crazy.

• I would like IBEC or the ICTU to answer this question. How on earth did the Average Industrial Wage increase during this recession which has ravaged the living standards of so many??????

• Liam 28/02/13 #

Of course Enda Kenny and co won’t pay any attention to this kind of talk, at the end of the day they see ordinary people as statistics.

• The only way we’ll get out of the current predicament is to reduce the unemployment levels and the numbers claiming social welfare. With 400000 people out if work and 2.1 million on a medical card, thanks some serious drain.

Remember one person off the dole is a double saving, state Pays less on SW and gains on tax take.

• Just don’t vote for FG or FF at the next election very simple.

• So we can expect more tax increases this year as the Enda Kenny Government do not listen to the wishes of the Irish people, even in his case the employers.

• This is the same bunch of tools whos members caused our financial disaster and then calked for cuts to public sector pay and pensions…

• Oh crap!

• How about the government bring in a third tax band for the very well off? I wonder would IBEC invite Enda then? It’s not everyone who can’t tax taxes IBEC, it’s the struggling masses. Some people wouldn’t know pain if it came up their arses……

• Sure when is the last time this government listened to anyone? Broken promises and deception that’s all there good for. Shower of incompetent power hungry nincompoops.

• Leaving this country is looking good everyday.Where is the future if your pocket is being rifled by new taxes.

• Reginald and Harry are suspiciously quiet on this subject…. Wonder why:)

• This country’s standard of living is so BAD today that you would be far better off in prison, prisoners now enjoy a better standard of living, than most people in Eire, thanks to the erosion of our lifestyle by tax after tax….

Society today has a poorer standard of living than inmates in prison have..

And yet we have 6 trillion in OIL RESERVES ?????
    Enough to pay off our debt a hundred times over…..wake up….

• If we had 6 trillion in oil reserves that was economically viable to extract we’d have exploration firms with the required expertise and capital seeking licenses and pumping oil. Such firms that know the business have very little interest in bidding for Irish licenses, and there is rational reason for that.

I don’t know what infant came up with the number 6 trillion, the previously touted guess by the conspiracy theorists was 1 trillion based on ‘we don’t know that it’s not there, so it must be there’ logic.

Is multiplying the prior un-educated guess by 6 meant to make it truthier?

• rusty 28/02/13 #

Mortgage arrears is the problem in this country and it needs to be sorted just give it another month or two and we see .it needs to be done as its off the wall with arrears .we can’t go like this .repossessions all the way .the banks give people a chance for the last 4 years without hardly any repossessions as there was a loophole and they couldn’t .look at the uk they don’t get no chance or help ,there house is just gone like that if they get into arrears.come people like .it has to be done .thank you for reading.

• FG and their knee-jerk increased taxation and austerity policies are just driving well-educated, skilled, and highly-qualified people (our most valuable resources) out of the country to places like the Middle East, Australia, Canada, and UK. And if high taxation alone is not enough to drive you out of the country, they close down Garda staions making rural areas less safe to live in, slash Garda pay for those that are left, make doctors and nurses work around the clock for reduced pay so that of we get sick we stand less chance of getting well again, and cut wages for firefighters in the hope more of us will burn in order to lessen their burden. Get them out of power and do it now! Therein I speak for the people of Ireland. Now I speak my own opinion; give a FF/SF coalition the opportunity to bring a bit of cop-on, understanding, accountability, and reason into Irish politics and the Irish quality of life.

• Ignore politics. Gradually shift to bitcoins and watch the state fail.

• I wonder will our public sector brethern be as quick to comment on this article………

• What do you mean? Why wouldn’t public servants care about 700 million in new taxes? It’s that kind of divided society talk that contributes to the misery. Put down your sindo and kip on.

• PS workers pay taxes too, so I don’t understand your comment?

• Two sides of the one coin. Maintaining an elavated public sector pay bill nesscessitates an increased tax take to pay for it as it is a zero sum game, so how bout you put down your Sunday World and have a nap yourself. Looks like “solidarity” only works one way.

• Maintaining a high publc sector pay bill nesscessitates an increased tax take to pay for it. It is two sides of the one coin. Given that we have a finite pot of resources it is a zero sum game. Anyone that argues otherwise is a either a deceitful populist or has no grasp on reality. So how about you put down your copy of the Sun and have a nice nap yourself.

• He’s a troll, an idiot!
      Don’t comment if you don’t know what your talking about.
      It’s all your fault Reg!
      Said it! that should save about 157 comments

• Public sector pay taxes too ya know

• No sooner said than done…. …This clown has the temerity to say, nay insist that ” ordinary workers and households have reached the limit of what they can be asked to pay” Even you must see this as disingenuous twaddle from an organization for Fat cats…since when did IBEC give a dam about the ordinary worker. Christ they are beginning to sound like a Union……now, that ok for you Johann…BROTHER.

• Oh for a Government with the courage to take on the highly paid in the public service. They could easy take another billion a year off those on 60,000 +. This is where real savings could be made ! Unfortunately a big portion of high earners are pals and relations of the political classes, so the likelihood of that ever happening is extremely remote.

• IBEC are the greatest ever hurlers on the ditch passing judgement on the proposed deal urging cuts to public sector pay. If they had some imputed in the talks it would be one thing but its patently obvious what their game is they just want to justify a decrease in wages for their members organisations. Along with ISME they are baying for public sector cuts. While I can see the wage aspect of their agenda do they realise that any cuts will take money from those they represent and one imagines more ISME businesses will come under more pressure if cuts are implemented. On the other hand the wealthy are the only remaining mark for taxation but they can rest easy knowing that Enda and co have already balked on hitting the rich last budget when refusing extra USC for over 100k earners. If all the esteemed economists are correct which I would think they are then austerity is not the way and it is the likes of ISME who should be championing an alternative strategy instead on just trying to keep those at the bottom as low as possible while they eat cake.

Add New Comment