TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Berlusconi family newspaper calls Merkel the Fourth Reich

Today’s Il Giornale headline “Quarto Reich” is accompanied by a picture of the German Chancellor.

IL GIORNALE, a Berlusconi family-owned newspaper, has referred to Angela Merkel as the Fourth Reich.

Business Insider reports that the Italian newspaper, technically owned by Silvio’s brothers, features the headline “Quarto Reich”.

A picture of German Chancellor, featuring a less than flattering hand gesture, is the accompanying picture.

The Milan-based daily is considered to be very conservative and nationalistic.

(Image via Twitter/@fgoria)

Circumcision ban could make Germany ‘laughing stock’: Merkel>

Angela Merkel approval rating up after EU summit>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Published with permission from:

Business Insider
Business Insider is a business site with strong financial, media and tech focus.

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• Well thats the risk a german chancellor takes when they act like self appointed rulere of europe.

• The Germans burned Europe in two world wars and they’re still the leaders of Europe?????????

• Not the first time I’ve heard that type of comment about her.

They don’t need armies to take over Europe any more anyway – they are using the EU just fine in order to get their way!

• paul 03/08/12 #

didn’t stop Italians cozying up to the third Reich…

• And then, there’s Steve Reich.

• Paul 03/08/12 #

Ouch. nearly as bad as the time he called un****able

• Let’s face it, they have only said what a lot of us have been thinking!

• Fair comment from the Italian.

• But its not actually absolute rubbish…the reich siphoned resources from the periphery to the centre to serve its uber nationlist aggrandisement..there are parallels. Just the picture is far more complex than the article implies…and the complicity of local quislings, as you indicate, is downplayed.

• Am I the only one who doesn’t think she’s Satan? It’s not her fault we’re in the crapper, it’s our politicians/banks and she’s just trying to look after her countries best interests. Any Irish politician would(or should more like) do the same.

• Funny that was Hitlers sctick too when he was rampaging across europe…… And I think your giving our politicians a lot more credit than their due…. The ex teacher brigade would hardly be up to world domination to be honest. They’re barely able to run small corrupt political parties for christs sake…

• Irish politicians are looking after her country’s best interests.

• If Merkel really is the self-appointed ruler of the EU ( I don’t think she is, but for argument’s sake lets just go with it ), the only reason she’s in that position is because no-one else stepped forward. Everyone loves to complain about the driver, but no-one has tried to take the wheel. If not Merkel, then who? Anyone what to volunteer? It’d be nice to see a fresh face, but no-one’s that suicidal.

• Merkel appears to be in charge because the economy of her country is in the best state.

Which in turn is because the ECB has controlled interest rates in a way most preferable to Germany.

• But then why are so many German politicians and German industrialists euro sceptics and against many of Merkel’s policies? Merkel is not seen as a people’s politician or a inspiring figure within Germany herself. Yes, Germany has economic power, but not more than the combined economic power of even a few if the other larger EU nations. She has not be challenged because, ultimately, the other heads of state do not want to challenge her. Because, if they did, they’d have to take responsibility for the whole sorry mess.

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

“Merkel is not seen as a people’s politician or a inspiring figure within Germany herself.”

Then why is she in charge of Germany?

• Merkel is in power because she is the leader of the CDU ( think Tory ) and the CDU is the largest party in the current coalition government in Germany. The votes that put her in power were not necessarily votes for her, or even votes for her party. The election of 2005 knocked the SPD ( think British new labour ) out of power, and many voters believed that getting the SPD out of power what more important than getting the CDU into power, the the SPD had proved themselves as lazy, self-rewarding, smug and ineffective in many areas, including finance. Again, a good parallel would be the recent ( -ish ) move from New Labour to Cameron’s Conservatives. My point is that the voter’s preferences were not for Merkel, but their preferences led to Merkel taking the big chair. Add to that that Germany is a Federal Republic with separate state and federal elections, where decisions by the state government often have far more relevance to the person in the street than decisions made by the federal government, and the voting system is a based on proportional representation, and it’s not hard to see how someone can be come the Federal Chancellor without having to be a popular figure amongst the voters. Lastly, as with Enda Kenny here in our country, Merkel was seen as the lest useless option,and the fact that she could potentially be the first woman and the first form East German to take the position tipped the balance in her favour. All the comparisons to AH are spurious, but given her background and the political situation in Germany in 2005, a comparison between Merkel and Thatcher is more enlightening.
      Sorry for rabbiting on, I hope this answers your question Damocles, and I mean this to be a sincere and honest answer. I’m not trying to sore points or win a battle with this.

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

No, Nikolas, I couldn’t ask for a more complete answer. Rabbit away.

But I stand by my previous point. She is in charge because of the economy of the country she presides over, not because of she herself. You could shave a monkey, put it in a suit, put it in charge of Germany and as the leader of the financially strongest country in the EU it would have control.

Might even do a decent job.

• Bah! I was given a tablet thingy for my birthday from my son two weeks ago, and it’s brilliant present, and it was a lovely thing to get, but I just can’t get the typing down. So I apologise for all the mistakes above. Maybe I’m just getting old. I don’t have a pipe but I do have slippers.

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

Incidentally, the comparison to Thatcher only goes so far. Thatcher was elected with a mandate from the masses, not as a result of coalition shennanigans.

• Damocles: Ha! It might just come to that too. You’re right of course, the media likes faces, so Merkel’s power and Germany’s power get blurred into one another. It also means that people across Europe might cheer and do a slightly more civilised version of shooting bullets into the air if and when she’s ousted, but that doesn’t mean there’d be and significant policy changes. I think that what doesn’t come across in the Irish and British media is the conflict and opposition Merkel faces in her own country. Her support is not overwhelming, she doesn’t have the all of the industry and banking bigwigs in her pocket and the general citizenry are lukewarm about her at best. But there’s currently no-one else in the running, and if someone was to challenge her in the 2013 elections, they really should have started campaigning by now. So she might be around for a while yet. Most Germans are scared silly at the slight but steady support for parties at the extremes of right and left. Compared to these clowns, Merkel is extremely moderate. So, to get back on topic, it’s pure silliness to present Merkel as a dictator with a finger on all the buttons and an eye to establishing a new world order ruled by blood and iron. This is a view that can only held if the person holding that view is completely ignorant of the political situation within Germany. So yes, the country with more money has more power, but I would still be very critical of the caretakers of the other EZ and EU nations for their passivity over the last four years. It’s a generalisation, but Germans tend to do stuff rather than wait for others to do it for them, and other states have let Merkel do this and follow her lead. That was a choice, they weren’t forced to do this.

• Yes, I think the Thatcher comparison is interesting, as in 2005 it fit very well; both were outsiders in their respective parties, through their gender and Social-economic backgrounds, and both were brought into power by a dissatisfaction with an incumbant moderate left-wing government. I suspect that Merkel was very Award of this comparison, and used Thatcher’s career as a model for her own. But over the last seven years, the pattern of their paths diverged. Thatcher had the loyalty support of the financial sector and of the heads of industry, Merkel can’t count on this. Thatcher relied on populist feeling and the might if the populist media, again Merkel hasn’t been overly successful in capturing these. I like the comparison not because it fits, but because of how it doesn’t.

On a different note, is it possible to edit and correct typing mistakes on my comments after they have been posted up?

• But I’ll concede to your point that Thatcher became PM by being voted in by the masses, and Merkel didn’t.

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

is it possible to edit and correct typing mistakes on my comments after they have been posted up?

No.

• Pity.

• the biggest mistake they made in the 30′s was ignoring Hitlers rise to power.

the biggest mistake we are making in the10′s is ignoring Germanys rise to power

• Time to go out and get a bit of fresh air, lads. This is a bit of school “yer ma!” name calling, not a serious political accusation. The comparison doesn’t hold water, just compare the Germany of the thirties to Germany now, it doesn’t match up. And they were careful enough to say “Merkel”, not “Germany”. One person cannot be an empire. If ye want to go along with this media silliness, have fun. But don’t forget it’s just media silliness.

• Incredibly insulting to the German people for the paper to run with such nonsense, bang out of order.

• Absolute rubbish. Not only is it insulting to Germany and its democracy but it is absolute nonsense.

This is typical of a self-styled nationalist paper to resort to identifying an external ‘enemy’ rather then address the real domestic problems within Italy that contributed significantly to the present mess that Italy finds itself in.

• Denis 03/08/12 #

A lot of idiots on board today . Germany is trying to bail out less disciplined countries except extreme xenophobia domestically (like that shown here my quite a few) means politically it is very difficult for merkyl to do .

• Less disciplined?You mean that they didn’t have the balls to do what Iceland did and get to the ethical roots of the rot, clean the stable, change the personnel, and retstart with fresh deck, instead of the same marked cards and a fresh house croupier. Greece had its wealth siphoned out by its elites..thats the methodology…old as Midas, and common as lucre.

And don’t be bragging IQ-wise until you can spell Angie-Baby’s name. It’ll help your image(no charge).

• No need to be insulting. You can disagree with one another and still be civil.

• Reckon they hit the nail on the head with that one, The german national psyche hasnt changed much since the last world war

• I would have thought that the current Germany would technically be the fifth reich. Taking what the word actually means.

First: Empire
    Second: Ebert/Hindenburg Post empire.
    Third: Hitler
    Fourth: Post war Division
    Fifth: Reunited

If Merkel is creating a new reich it’d be the sixth.

• Denis 03/08/12 #

Someone seems to be missing some key points such as many countries still spending way more than is being collected in taxes and need more discipled nations ie germany to fund their shortfall. Can’t blame everything on banking meltdown. Nice simplistic world isn’t the one we all live in I’m afraid.

• Germany has simply been admitted to the one true reich..the WASP transAtlantic empire upon which the sun must not set…Nato is the wermacht(desert-stormtroopers, anyone?)and the lebensraum(space, resources) is being sought, appropriately enough, in the ‘wild’, Middle East(and beyond, Hillary is pissing her territorial posts round Africa at the minute to warn China we have several ‘backyards’.
    The PNAC(Project for a New American Century) is virtually a synonym for the ‘thousand year rule’. Angie baby is a decoy small-fry in the WASP Great Game(room has been made now the threat is contained). Homeland security is simply anglicised state secret police(gestapo).
    Islam is the new Jewry, with the egalitarianism inherent in Islam the new red peril to totalitarian capital dictation.
    Nothing new under the Sun, as Rupert Goebbel might say. Not there yet…but well on the way.

• Although the Project for a New American Century is a real strategy that the US neocons are intent on pursuing, the rest of your comment is complete rubbish. You don’t have to be exclusively white with German/English heritage and Protestant, to be a neocon. You do know that’s what WASP means, yeah?

• naysaying is a poor form of refutation, Barrie..the parallels stand. Try again..and this time stick to the points raised…red-herrings don’t count. I am fully aware of the history of the WASP establishments, as I am of the Murphia, and have a fair bit of Reich history covered, including the economic policies as they pushed east. Imperial warmongering for resources, under any flag creates the same results.

• Not sure who thinks its nice and simplistic…but the ones who pay the bulk of taxes are the working populations…and the property bubble was a rich man’s game, though many got carried away in the fever fed by media spinners who are trying to revive the same gig for another run. Many were simply trying to house their families. And like the Quinns, the self-styled ‘players’ shift the wealth made on the foundation of public infrastructure offshore to tax-havens. One Wall St firm lost $0.5 bn. in an hour this week when its new computer program traded too sloppy over lunchtime. How much do they make when its winning for them? These people should be taxed to pay for necesssary services..but are not because they control our ‘democracies’ through multi-billion lobby bribes. Its white-collar crime, and if you think otherwise you’re either complicit or naive. Banks sold products they knew were scams, but hey…we’re the big boys in the ‘smart’ economy.
    We need more Tobin/Robin Hood taxes on overheated finance…but the mega-bankers at the top of the increasingly monopolising pile of speculator chips(which consists of the real economy and its dependent populations)wont allow any brakes on their rigged casinos. Blaming the victims for the pin-striped gangster muggings is ludicrous. Try http:www.treasureislands.org for a little priming.

• That for me Nikolas?I was only returning serve.

• Don’t be asking me to take sides. Take it as a general observation. Maybe it’s my age, but I think the commenters here can sometimes be more disrespectful that they would be if they we speaking face-to-face or in print. I think it’s unnecessary and ugly, and we are all more intelligent than that.

• At least there is rebellious spirit left in this Europe.Good on you Italian paper.

• As much as I dislike Merkel, but how can a person be a Reich I.e. an empire???

• Before regulating anything, there needs to be a neutral leadership in Europe, beacuse all countires are equally memeber countries.

So, who do you see on the podium calling the shots in Europe more than any other figure head? Don’t give a politicians answer

• I won’t give a politician’s answer because, well, I’m not a politician. And I don’t want to repeat myself, but I will, as you’ve asked me to. Why is it hat Merkel seems to be running the show? This has always bothered me. But turn the question around and then it becomes, Why are all the other European heads of state letting Merkel run the show? Because it’s a thankless job, and other leader is naive enough to think they’ll come out of it with a workable solution and smelling of roses. Simply, she’s head of the EU, by default, because no one else wants the responsibility. If by neutral you mean to have no-one at the wheel, then the EU states would all be Ostriches. If by neutral, you mean not Merkel or not German, fine, but who? Name a better candidate or set of candidates. The EUs looking less then democratic these days, but it’s not because Merkel has seized power, it’s because too many of the leaders of the other sovereign states have chosen to abdicate theirs.

• Not so much abdicated as been incorporated…they have succumbed to the theological conviction that the invisible hand of the deified market is infallible; which it is…just like the pope. Dictatorship of the corporatariat..and its totalitarian as Stalin and Hitler only dreamed.

Add New Comment