TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

More immigrants buying homes in Ireland than ever before

Around 7 per cent of immigrants in Ireland now has a mortgage, compared to around 14 per cent of Irish-born people.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE NUMBER OF immigrants buying homes in Ireland has hit its highest level to date.

New figures from the CSO show that almost 40,000 people from outside of Ireland now have a mortgage in Ireland.

The figure means 7 per cent of the total immigrant population in Ireland is a home-owner, which compares to around 14 per cent for people born in Ireland.

However the CSO also found that people from outside of Ireland were more likely to have fewer rooms in their home than Irish households.

The Integration Centre, which advocates for people from immigrant backgrounds said that the increase in home ownership was proof that immigrants in Ireland are staying for the long-term.

“One of the most basic tenets of integration is stable housing,” said Killian Forde, the chief executive of the Integration Centre. “These statistics show Ireland is on its way to becoming more inclusive”.

Forde said that integration policy had taken a back seat in recent years as the focus switched to the depressed economy. “However we believe that migrant integration is integral to economic recovery,” he said.

Read: Home ownership drops as number of people renting increases >

Read: Mortgage arrears in Ireland rise to highest level yet >

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• Well that’s free movement in the EU we did vote yes

• Except for the fact that a high percent of the immigrants in Ireland are not from the EU.

• @ John F: Bit of a racist are we?

• John F 11/09/12 #

Petty Response Arch, Please address where in my comment I mentioned race? Are you suggesting that all of us in the EU are of one race and those from outside the EU are of a different race? Or maybe you’re suggesting that been an EU citizen is racially exclusive? Think before you post silly comments!

• @Arch – That is a bit overly sensitive. I don’t know John F, maybe he is a racist or maybe not. What he said however isn’t racist at all. At some point all nations need to deal with immigration. I feel in some respects it is a good thing and I wouldn’t like to see anybody I know who isn’t an EU citizen booted out of the country. Immigration is good for creating growth in large businesses and improving Ireland’s welcoming and inclusive image abroad.

However I think that there needs to be some better kinds of control put in place as to who gets is allowed in. I know there is nothing that can be done with EU citizens who are entitled to live here, but the unskilled immigrant from outside the EU does take up jobs that would traditionally be done by a young Irish person. Therefore, people in their teens are not getting decent life experience before heading off to college or whatever they choose to do. This is causing problems for their parents financially and their future prospects.

• Remember in early eighties a lad in Waterford had a rant at me because I had come up from Kilkenny and took their jobs, no accounting for begrudgers

• Those emigrents ruined the jobs situation in this country, showing up on time, not taking tea breaks every 5 minutes, not taking sickies, showing up sober on monday morning. A disgrace!!!!!

• 180228 11/09/12 #

If they’re contributing, who cares? Many are doctors, nurses and doing jobs that the Irish are unqualified for. My best friend mOved here when she was 2, and her sister four. They have two other siblings both born here (12 year old twins), their father is a well respected consultant in the local hospital and their mother now works doing translations for a firm in Dublin. I don’t think anyone can say they don’t contribute to the country.

• great news. the gene pool could do with a shake up.

• A lot of these immigrants are, of course, British.

It’s the long game, one house at a time.

• I always find it “rich” when the Irish question immigration into Ireland, its not just the inability to respect another human beings right to a living and to creating their own life but the fact that as a Nation the Irish are one of the greatest immigrant nations (small n intended) in the world. The only difference is that when the Irish emigrate “they” built London, Boston, Sydney etc while people who come to Ireland only take “our” jobs?, sponge off our dole or, as one comment above mentioned, are of questionable value? Next time you’re in London have a look at one or two of the homeless shelters funded by the UK government and private donations, you will find them full of Irish.

• In all fairness, mass emigration from Ireland has been to countries that are either very prosperous or experiencing a boom. For example, in Australia currently with the mining boom. In all the places I have travelled, I have never met an Irish person in receipt of that countries social welfare benefits and living exclusively on that. Irish people go abroad to work, end of story.

Nobody in the world doesn’t know that Ireland is suffering terribly economically speaking, and of our high unemployment rate. I would question why anyone would want to come here if they didn’t have an in demand skill. Yet we still receive a decent amount of EU/non EU immigration. Could our generous social welfare system have anything to do with it?

I definitely don’t want to stop immigration to our country but I would really like to see it being controlled more.

• King Olaf: yeah, but this article is about immigrants buying houses. Do you think they buy it from social welfare? You seem to mix 2 things. Whoever is buying house here must be well off with permanent work and fairly decent one and with loads of money saved anyways for deposit I think?

• King Olaf,
      “Irish people go abroad to work, end of story.”
      Not so, I knew plenty in London who claimed welfare while working cash in hand.

• @Fizi – I was responding to the comment, not the article. I don’t think the majority of immigrants from outside the EU can afford to buy a house in Ireland. My point was more about the social benefits of moving to Ireland, one of the most generous social welfare systems around and in some cases, the allocation of a council house. Like it or not, these sort of benefits were paid for by Irish/EU tax payers and therefore should in most cases only go to those citizens if they are in need of it.

@Rommel – You have me on that one. I am only stating my opinion as I have experienced it on these things though, not facts. Also my point was that I don’t think anyone from Ireland would specifically move somewhere happy in the knowledge they were going to live exclusively on social welfare. As I said above, Ireland has one of the best social welfare systems in the EU, so why would you move anywhere else to specifically claim the dole. You most likely are correct though as the UK is one of the better EU countries to claim benefits.

• Well, actually, Glyn, “human beings” don’t have a right to come Ireland to make a living.
      EU nationals do have that right.
      Others do not. They must apply for a visa / work permit / naturalisation etc…

• Correction Felix Knox.
    They took the jobs that the Irish refused to take or could not do.

• It wasn’t meant to be taken seriously.

• Stray mutt, you clearly need to watch more south park..

Dey dirka dirr!

• Tell me exactly Stray Mutt, What jobs will the Irish not do? And who did these undoable jobs before we had mass immigration to these shores?

• The jobs in the service industry for a start….. In every country there’re wasters, we have our fair share of them, so if anyone is willing to come over here, work and contribute to society , I say Céad Míle Fáilte, it’s just a matter of time until most sponges will be caught.

• If any of them can do a service job with a smile I’d be thrilled to see them. Ireland must have the most dour cafe, bar and hotel staff in the world. Or maybe that is only the way they are to the Irish… tourists seem to think we are very smiley and friendly.

• I can’t remember the last time I was served in a bar or restaurant by an Irish person. I’m not trying to be funny and it’s a genuine observation.

• @ John F: Personally know of an abbattoir which has mostly immigrant workers – most of the boners (people taking meat off the carcass) are from Brazil, and most of the packers are from Poland. They would hire twice the amount of staff that they presently have, but only few Irish people are willing to work in the abbattoir.

• Its Irish bosses that hire them..because they’re easier to bully and manipulate…best of luck to them, they’ve as much right to be here as we have to be in Boston, Sydney, Berlin or Rio…just another decoy for our home-grown thieves and their racist buddies.
      Hit that with yer downthumbs ye dumbdowns.

• They did jobs Irish people didn’t want to do? True
      Which raises the question, should we have imported immigrants to that work so that Irish people did’t have to do those jobs and can sit around on the dole? Anyone who was “long term” unemployed in 2006 was a layabout.

Which is what they should have been asking 10 years ago.
      Now of course it’s not because the Irish people won’t do the jobs, but because they can’t do the jobs.
      Too many brickies and carpenters and not enough engineers…

• Yojo 11/09/12 #

Good too see so many are quick to jump on their fellow countrymen and bad mouth to the hilt. Such a friendly, welcoming country.

• John F.
      I will give you a subtle hint.
      In your next 24 hours just observe the jobs taken by foreigners.
      Foreigners who will work for between 7 & 12 Euro per hour.
      A few examples: hospital staff, nursing home staff, general cleaners, minders,
      Retail staff etc.
      The list is endless.
      The jobs are there.
      They are on offer on a daily basis.
      Why do you rarely see Irish people take up these jobs?!

• Stray Mutt, you won’t see some Irish people take those jobs because they’d be worse off by working.

If they’ve kids, they’d have to pay creche of a 800 – 1000 a month (who earning 8 quid an hour can afford that?).
      They might lose their medical card and their rent allowance etc…
      A farcical situation…

• Hmm Catherine, if you read the article you may have noticed that the percentage of Irish with mortgages is double that of immigrants even with the increase – or is double not enough?

• Integration will only work if the Irish people want it – we don’t. We don’t because it is usually our Welfare system that is being “integrated” to our great cost to us.
    Like most Irish people I do not welcome hordes from all over the world pouring in here to take any scarce jobs that might crop up.
    Killian Forde, and the likes of him, are well paid to promote integration on Irish government grant-aided NGO’s. He is just a paid Mouth for Immigration so as a paid hireling anything he says can be disregarded.

Mass immigration now costs us a minimum of 4 Billions a year to sustain in Health, Welfare, Education, Housing and all Services, including paying for Killian Forde and his Integration Centre.

• If we go down this road we have to do it right, look at the london riots.

• We came here from the US on a green card with the understanding that if my husband was made redundant or otherwise lost his job that he would have to find another job or leave the country. How are immigrants entitled to welfare payments? Also, to qualify for green card status you had to meet certain standards with income from the Irish company that’s sponsoring you.

• John F 11/09/12 #

I suppose there are 2 types of Immigrants in this country Jodi, Those who made a formal application to come here, applied for relevant visa and came here legally and those who came here illegally or under a false pretence (Bogus Asylum Seekers) and in the usual fashion in which the country is run the Irish Government generally reward those who break the rules while generally making it harder for those who play by the rules, sadly thats how things work in Ireland!

• There are 3 types, you forgot EU nationals.
      3 types: non-EU nationals on work permits, EU nationals, and refugees…(well, there’s also asylum seekers too)

• Apparently local gang members in my area have taken to going to see unregistered Polish doctors after they’ve been involved in a fight to avoid unwanted police involvement.

Bloody foreigners, coming over here, healing our yobs.

• Agreed absolutely! The irish governments should have learned from the mistakes of the British governments since the 70′s in mass immigration. But at least Britain could always afford the health, welfare and education costs of the immigrants, the irish never could,and never will.
    Employers should all be made to pay into a fund for the immigrants they bring in to pay for their welfare when they let them off , then we’d see how many immigrants the employers would bring in and then make unemployed when they would have to pay for such immigrants themselves, and not just shove it over on the taxpayer.
    Employers are totally irresponsible in first hiring , and then firing, masses of these immigrants, there should be a law against such reckless employers, that would stop mass immigration once and for all.
    As one of the poorest countries in the world now I think the irish are very foolish for themselves.

• only in Ireland

• So what if immigrants are buying houses? Where does the stamp duty go? In the Irish gov’s pockets.
    We have salaries therefore we’re paying tax. Money in Irish gov’s pockets.
    Yet I am the one being discriminated. I am the one losing out because I’m not Irish.
    We immigrants didn’t take anyone’s job..we just took what was available.
    I used to work in a restaurant in D4 with some Irish waiters (rare breed apparently) 5 days a week same pay same conditions and one of the Irish guys used to call in sick almost every week. In 2 yrs I never missed a day except when I had English Exams.
    Now when the cuts came…the boss wanted to keep me not him. It was obvious why.
    What would any of you have done?

• Bear in mind this is 7% of all immigrants. Who are, I think, slightly more than 10% of the countries population?
    Compared to 14% of all nationals who, funnily enough, are almost 90% of the population. Its not terribly significant at all and doesn’t really suggest to me that immigrants are working any harder than nationals?
    I could genuinely be missing something and would appreciate correction.
    I do want to challenge the seemingly accepted idea that there are jobs that Irish people ‘wont do’.
    There are jobs that wasters and snobs wont do. These people can be found in every population but less so in the segment of a population that leave their country to work rather than claim benefits.
    I have a few close friends and family who while out of work, applied for every job they could, in 2 cases at least sending dozens of CVs a week for almost a year and not even receiving refusal letters.
    They applied for everything from sweeping up hair in a barber shop all along the spectrum to managing a lab which was the qualification one of them had.
    I also know some very lazy and sour immigrant workers who do nothing but whinge.
    My point is that we should not at this point be assigning such characteristics by nationality and instead look at people objectively.

• I’m regarded as British although I regard myself as Anglo-Irish! I live,work and pay my taxes here!

• They took our jobs!

• OK, so why are immigrants buying houses, simple question simple answer, the Irish worker cant afford them any more, to busy paying everyone else’s debts…

• What debts Irish are paying which immigrants don’t what are you talking about? Also still much more Irish are buying houses than immigrants do by percentage, did you read news carefully please? Finally many immigrants cannot afford buying house here same like many Irish can’t. Its not about being Irish or not, but it’s about having decent job and income or not. Also bare in mind that being immigrant it’s probably even harder to buy house and settle here than for most Irish as they usually don’t have relatives and big famillies here to help them and to give that kick-start into new life. So I could draw another conclusion on that, most immigrants must be really hard working and determined to achieve that. Good, better for Ireland this way than having just seasonal workers who take their Ireland earned money back abroad.

• I hope you are as happy when your pension and social welfare are reduced because of the extra demand from immigrants over the next 20 years.

The ‘value’ that immigrants have brought to Ireland needs to be reviewed and questioned,

The experience from a lot of other countries shows their contribution is questionable beyond what the indigenous population would have produced anyway

• I hate emigrants…going over there, taking their jobs.

• Damn right…why can’t they stay home and do the unpaid job of clearing out the real problem…our exploiting bosses and politicians who think economic deportation is democratic management.
      Ibec and the chambers must be laughing at the Irish lumpen snarling at the even poorer immigrant trying to feed themselves….while they stash ALL our wealth offshore. Some of these ‘illegals’ are from west Africa, where Irish trawlers have ruined their local fishing grounds…leaving them two choices, head for Europe(no easy matter, ask the illegal Irish in the US)or crime. Where do ye think the increase in piracy comes from?
      Globalisation is strictly for corporations and capital, who exist in a borderless world of tax-free heaven…the borders are to manage the labour units…thats the people. Productivity and the ‘invisible hand of the market’ competition are driving towards zero social services sweatshop earth. Check out http://www.treasureislands.org

• Racism in Ireland is a propagandist lie.
    There was only one ever successful prosecution for racism in Ireland and that was when three young lads camping in the Wicklow mountains were fitted up simply because they wore their own “Celtic Wolves” boy scout type uniforms. The “Celtic Wolves” were supposed to have been some sort of fascist outfit, I think, They weren’t within miles of a non-national person. So they could not have committed a racist act unless it was against a sheep or a cow or a mountain goat. They were young lads who didn’t know their rights and under family pressure pleaded guilty to trumped-up charges by the State. I reckon they liked camping in fancy uniforms as a lot of young folk do .

But the State was desperate. They had a Race Hate Act passed since 1988 but not a single prosecution under that Act to establish the Act in Law so the three young campers came in handy, that’s it.

And this silly little prosecution now serves all on its own to establish that there is racism in Ireland.
    The only racism I see comes from the immigrants who will not, and who have not, assimilated with the native Irish, they will not even say hello to the Irish in the streets , shops or cafes, despite the fact that they are enjoying the Irish peoples’ welfare money, they are not friendly like the Irish at all but can be hostile, it depends – but they cost the Irish State four billions a year, minimum estimate, to maintain, including the cost of keeping thousands of them in jail, where they now form one-third of the Irish prison population.

There’s the idea put abroad too that Irish patriots fought and died for these people. They did not. In fact several Irish patriots including Tom Clarke and Arthur Griffith made and wrote openly racist remarks about Negroes.

This is all a new fad started off by Fianna Fail, and not the EU as Irish governments will mislead you, by Mary Robinson and Oul Higgins above in the Park, the so-called Liberal Elite and the Marxist NUJ – dominated media that helped bust the Irish economy amongst other things. Robinson achieved nothing except for herself in her presidency, she just feathered her own nest in the U.N. , Higgins is at the same oul crack. Explosions in Boston and Waco is what you get for getting internationally involved as the likes of them drag us in to all this one world stuff promoted by the UN and the Zionists. Jewish minister Alan Shatter is manufacturing Blacks and the rest of them into Irish citizens , “the new Irish”: as the media happily calls them, at a thousand a week, while the same number of genuinely Irish people are driven out into exile their country taken over.

• the irish would not do the jobs that were on offer because they did not pay enough to justify them coming of social wlefare, it sounds like a perfeclty rational decision to me.
    The immigrants took the jobs because they would be much much better of than they would get on the dole in their own country, ie 50 euro a month for 6 months then nothing, they get a wage which is maybe 6 times what they would get in their own country and then when the job finishes they get social benefits 10 times what thery would get in their won contry if any, whats is so hard to understand aboutr that.
    They did not come over here because they were worried there wasnt eneough irish people to serve coffe, they came over because they were much much better off, understand the irish would be worse off financially but the immigrant would be better of b a facor of 10, and when the job finished dole for the rest of your life which is why tyhere are 80000 immigrfants on the dole.

Add New Comment