TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Immigrants “do not fare as well as Irish nationals” in labour market

A new study shows that Black Africans report the highest rates of discrimination in the workplace and when looking for work.

A NEW STUDY sheds some light on the discrimination issues faced by minorities and immigrants when jobseeking and in employment in Ireland.

The report, Ethnicity and Nationality in the Irish Labour Market, is published today by the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI) and the Equality Authority, and shows that Black Africans have both the highest rate of unemployment and the lowest rate of employment.

It also shows that this group reports the highest rates of discrimination both in the workplace and when looking for work in Ireland.

Renee Dempsey, CEO of the Equality Authority said:

This report shows that immigrants do not fare as well as Irish nationals in the Irish labour market. Clearly there needs to be a renewed focus on promoting equality for immigrants and for minority ethnic groups in the labour market and throughout society.

According to the report, Black African, Ethnic Minority EU and EU new member state (NMS) groups “fare worse than other national-ethnic groups in terms of both employment and unemployment, and discrimination”.

Findings

The study’s key findings include the fact that in 2010, the labour force participation rate for Asians and White EU individuals ranged between 72 per cent (Irish and UK) and 86 per cent (NMS) compared to 60 per cent for Black Africans and 65 per cent for Ethnic Minority EU individuals.

Employment rates were also lower among Black African (38 per cent) and Ethnic Minority EU (51 per cent) individuals, compared to an average employment rate of 61 per cent for the sample population.

Black Africans recorded the highest unemployment rate (36 per cent), and were four times more likely to be unemployed than White Irish individuals.

White individuals from the ‘old’ EU-13 member states recorded the lowest unemployment rate at 9 per cent, followed by Asians at 12 per cent.

Discrimination

The report also showed that in 2010, approximately 5 per cent of White Irish nationals reported having experienced discrimination while looking for work.

All national-ethnic groups, apart from White UK and White EU-13 individuals, reported substantially higher rates of discrimination in the workplace than White Irish, said the ESRI.

• Black Africans are almost seven times more likely to report experiencing discrimination in the workplace, and seven times more likely to report having experienced discrimination when looking for work
  • Migrants who arrived in Ireland during the recession were found to be more likely to report experiencing discrimination when looking for work than those who had arrived during the boom
  • Ethnic Minority EU individuals are four times more likely to report experiencing discrimination while looking for work than White Irish nationals.
  • People in the EU NMS group are twice as likely to report experiencing discrimination in the workplace than White Irish nationals.

The study found no change over time in the relative risk of unemployment between White Irish nationals and the other national-ethnic groups. It said that compared with 2004, Black African individuals were more likely to be employed in 2010.

Read: Integration Centre calls for legislation on hate crimes as racism figures rise>

Read: Citizenship is top issue on Immigrant Council helpline>

Read next:

Comments (66 Comments)

• maybe, just maybe this has nothing to do with race. Maybe they’re not qualified for the jobs, not the best candidate and/or not fluent in english. Nothing to do with skin colour here.

• Was about to say something similar, while undoubtedly there would he cases of discrimination they would be one of the most likely to have poor English which would automatically put then at a disadvantage

• MVM 16/01/13 #

I do get so pi5sed of any excuse to play the racist card and hopefully cash in on a claim..
      Oh and stop with all this black slave crap as white Irish were the first slaves in the world

• Question the question: if someone doesn’t get a job and you ask them afterwards if they think they were discriminated on the basis of ethnicity/gender/quotas/whatever the inclination is to say “yes”.

The fact that someone thinks they were discriminated against does not mean they actually were. The multinationals are very diverse as is retail and the public sector is actively non-discriminatory so I’d love to see who are the culprits here.

Or are we about to launch into another bout of hand-wringing over a problem that might or might not exist?

• Thank god they do not get discriminated in the welfare office our people in there make sure they get every thing they look for.

• Any form of racism should be just ignored as every single ethnic group claims it and maybe then once no attention is payed people will use it as a excuse

• We were enslaving the Welsh long before Cromwell.

• Hmmm, sounds like the experience of every immigrant in every country ever to me. In Australia and America it is actually illegal to employ a non-citizen over a citizen if both have equal qualifications and experience so I would say overall Ireland isn’t bad in this respect.

• I was listening to Newstalk before Christmas and a traveler rights activist was stating that according to the last census, there was joblessness of 74.9% in that community. Could I be so bold as to propose that the stated unemployment rates of the various groups are more of a reflection of social welfare claimant rates than actual unemployment.

• So let me get this straight, when seeking employment black Africans are the most highly discriminated against. And the most highly discriminated race in employment are black Africans.

So when they’re seeking employment they’re being discriminated against and when they are given a job they’re still discriminated against.

Seems like employers can’t win.

• Who is paying for these surveys/studies?
    Let’s be honest, discrimination or not…we all knew that immigrants (regardless the colour of their skin) find it more difficult to get a job.
    These surveys state the bloody obvious. The other day they told us that kids with one educated parent are smarter that kids with two uneducated parents. Last year we were told that women on social welfare are more vulnerable to being poor, and boys aged 9 miss their dads. I mean c’moooooooon. Oh yeah…one more….professional athletes live longer that people who don’t practice any sport. DUH
    Next thing they’ll tell us that if a car hits a pedestrian the pedestrian is 9 times more likely to be injured or that
    highly paid managers have a better life than people on the dole.
    arrrrghhhhhhh

• Frank.. Surveys and studies are importantant. The information that is garnered aid in making and educated decision and facilitating laws. Had proper surveys and studies been done, I’m sure the decision the late Brian Linnehan made with his party would have never completed. The lack of this has now placed us in banking crisis we all are now experiencing.

• The article doesn’t really deal with discrimination, but rather with employment and employment rates and individual who FEEL discriminated.
    That being said, it does not mean that there is no discrimination against African migrants or new migrants. Just that it hasn’t been proved.
    However, they might as well lack the required skills (this caused partly by centuries of abuse of their continent by European people) and more generally, they compete in a market where jobs are scarcer with many people who already have a job.
    Now, as people don’t find a job (and who hasn’t found himself or herself rejected in this country in the last five years) they tend to externalise the blame (it’s someone else’s fault) and look for a reason what they were not accepted. Many of them find their different skin colour a good enough explanation, even though it has nothing to do with their employment situation.

• When I went to London in the seventies, and casualy mentioned to some English people I was on the lookout for work I was nearly always advised as followes ( go around the corner, theres a building site there, maybe you can ask,or go to Cricklewood there ar many companies up there who are on the lookout for building workers) They never asked me what work I was looking for. Its a mindset.
    Is Ireland different ?

• give me a break, even I wouldn’t hire a Kerryman unless he could make me laugh, an Englishman unless he guaranteed he didn’t moan, an American if he would just shut up and everyone else if they can speak English without a using the word, like

• The majority of Africans I have come across have either poor english and or an aggressive attitude topped off with flawed logic.

I put it down to cultural differences and generally not coming from an educated background.I could care less what colour or race someone is, i judge people on attitude.

However I have meet some very nice polite Africans but they are highly educated with excellent english.

• toubini 16/01/13 #

Likewise, Africans seem to get agitated easily when discussing. Another cultural thing. What to us seems a heated argument on the brink of a fight, to them is just a normal mode of conversation, they just speak loud like that. It’s for them though to learn local modes of communication.

• Great generalisation there. Where were you in 1939? Germany I assume, writing comments on DerJournal saying that the majority of Jews you have come across eat Christian babies.

What rubbish to write in a public forum, along with your real name and photograph. Way to stir racial hatred. Has anyone ever told you about the “No Dogs, No Irish” signs that our forefathers had to endure in England and America.

• toubini 16/01/13 #

As an east-Euro immigrant here myself, I want to say two things:
    - I don’t feel discriminated against (even if I know other people who get asked when they’re going home);
    - I think it’s utter tosh that you can’t do the most natural thing, i.e. prefer your own national for a job in your own country. This is crazy, next thing you won’t be able to support your sportsmen because other nationalities will be “offended”.

• toubini 16/01/13 #

I mean, that’s normal to me: immigrants must try harder. This promotes an influx of the skilled, educated, ambitious, etc. You don’t want a shower of losers you’re forced to employ do you?

• More like seven times more likely to misunderstand what discrimination is.

• Ron Atkinson summed it up….

• I not racist but we should definitely get rid of all the yodelling lads as they are stealing our wimmin..

• Very poor quality reportage there aoife.. seems like the equality authority is picking areas of difference to highlight so called “discrimination” probably to justify their own existence. .
    I.E how can you have a situation where the highest number of unemployed in a cohort would be anything other than the lowest number of employed? But the report states these BOTH situations are evidence of discrimination…. and that’s only the 2nd paragraph.. aoife.. try to have a greater study of the detail in the report other than just repeating it verbatim

• On the “going home” thing. I got “Are you going home for Christmas?” a lot. My response is generally “I go home every evening.”

On Irish racism, no more than any where else. Generally casual unthinking racism without any ill intent behind it. Some quite spectacular fails in comments from some otherwise intelligent people.

Same as everywhere.

• toubini 16/01/13 #

Irish are open on the surface, but they never accept you as their own. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing though.

Where I live, even Irish who weren’t born in the locality and have been living here for decades are considered “blown in” and e.g. will never get a spot at the local cemetery. Which makes sense, its a small cemetery :)

• Regionalism. Same as everywhere.

• i also feel that this report is promoting discrimination by grouping people together as “Black Africans”. Why not just “African males” or go much further with “Nigerian males aged 25 who spent at least 3 years in higher education and travelled to Ireland for work in 2007″

• What’s wrong with the phrase? Not every African is black. Not all black Africans are Nigerian. Sounds reasonably accurate to me. How else can it be put? “Non-white subsaharan migrants”?

• my point is why create this group of “Black Africans”? What does their skin colour have to do with it? And how far do you go to create a sub-group of people to find a common link? If the same process looked at “18 year old white inner-city males with no formal education” what results would we see? Would they claim discrimination based on their skin colour or does that only work one way?

• toubini 16/01/13 #

Couldn’t agree more. How do black French fare in this survey?

• Come on folks! Get real…. Discrimination exists everywhere and everyone has some type of prejudices. However, the questions are when does discrimination and prejudice rear its ugly head? And how does its ugly head affect people.

Now that this has been said, I am saddend by many of the comments that I have read regarding this article and other articles related to this subject. My sadness comes from the fact that I have loads of Irish friends who are native to this country and do not have dark skin (please note there are now native Irish with dark completions) that have been warm and welcoming. The nastiness and anger that read in these comments does them no credit nor does it do yourself any credit.

Now… I’m sure I have faced discrimination in job interviews. However, I have faced discrimination in my own native country of birth. So I have a bit of a thicker shell. However, this is no excuse for discrimination. Hence, my own native country of birth’s serious discrimination policies. Yes, I have been called in for a job interview because of my CV and watch the whole staff trip over themselves because my appearance is not what they expected. Then while sitting in the actual interview, watch the interviewer’s composure change as they find that I am an African American, with great language skills, college degrees, work experience and skills to support my CV. I chuckle to myself more, when the usual final question is… How long do I expect to be in this country?
    Yes…. This is a relevant question. However, based upon the years listed on my CV as living in Ireland… It should be obvious that I am here for the long haul…. This is now my home. Yes I have had great opportunities in this country regarding employment… However, like many people…. I haven’t found my dream job (lol).

Finally, I would argue… The hateful comments that I read here are written by people who are not aware of the discrimination or didn’t feel the discrimination that was perpetrated against the Irish when they moved to other countries. Or Trolls looking to stoke up anger…. Or insular ignorant individuals who are looking to divide as oppose to uniting this country.

• Here here! Well said marlon

• While a lot in what you say Marlon is true, its never as clear cut as that. I don’t feel that Ireland is a bad place at all for discrimination. Maybe it is a generational thing…I don’t know but what you have to take into account is that Ireland is that until relatively recently we never really experienced other people actually wanting to live here from abroad rather than people from here moving abroad.

I don’t think we have done too bad as regards this. We have no extremist right wing groups specifically trying to block people coming to live in our country…I can’t think of many racially motivated attacks in recent memory….and generally as you say most people here are pretty welcoming and friendly. I definitely know that I have never heard of someone being told they were not getting the job because they are not white or whatever.

I can’t speak for any of the comments that you think are full of nastiness and anger, but I could speculate that a lot of the attitudes like that have been shaped by the economic situation here. When you have native Irish finding great difficulty to get a job, from their point of view, I suppose it would quite difficult to have sympathy for somebody blaming racism/discrimination as a reason.

• King Olaf…. I agree with you… That the discrimination that we are faced with is generational and related to the economy. In the every culture it appears when there is a down turn in the economy people look for a Scapegoat to blame.

But very true… Ireland hasn’t done bad at all when it comes welcoming outsiders. The compassion and understanding that the average Irish person displays is astounding. However, being that this country’s population is so small… The minority of Butt Heads that spew trash, is turning all of the positives in to negatives.

I moved to this country, not for fame or fortune… But to make a difference. Though many won’t accept this fact… But this country needs a new way of thinking. And it is the influences of ” Blow Ins” that will help with this new way of thinking. There are countless forms of evidence that proves that the old ways, and the old vanguard is not the best for this country.

I am here to do my part, and it sounds like you are too.

• Well said Marlon. I do believe with time whatever level of discrimination/racism that is in this country will eventually disappear because as you know we have a fairly decent society here that values being allowed get on with your life without much hassle. As regards the people who are butt heads, I like to think that maybe they haven’t had the good fortune to really get to know anybody who isn’t native Irish. They would most likely find that there is little or no difference between us.

I think you have hit the nail on the head as regards one thing though. Everything is all good as long as people like yourself come here, who want to contribute and help improve our society. The problem starts when you get people coming in to take advantage of our society. I don’t know how to prevent that, but if it is prevented someday, I can guarantee you that it will go a long way to getting rid of what discrimination/racism is here.

• you said “please note there are now native Irish with dark completions”

? how do you figure

I mean if I become a citizen of Nigeria , am I a native nigerian ? , if i go to america to live am i a native american ?

can you please clarify what you mean

• Technically, a person is a native of the whence they were born. So anyone born in Ireland regardless of skin colour are Irish.

• you said – “Technically, a person is a native of the whence they were born. So anyone born in Ireland regardless of skin colour are Irish”

so if I am born in America am I a “native American” ?

• You would be an American native, as the term native american is specifically used to refer to the ethnic groups that inhabited the continent before European colonisation. You would still be an annoying pedant, I suspect.

• I just did a google search for “American native” and it returns “native American” , therefore are you suggesting that everyone born in america is a native american ?

• I don’t believe Google Search address the nuance and semantics of this topic. I believe you can categorize the difference as follows:
      • Native Americans = the indigenous peoples of the New World now America that suffered genocide, to near extinction, from European settlers starting as far back as 1492. The survivor’s ancestors are now referred to in America as Native American.

From Wikipedia: The indigenous peoples of the Americas are the pre-Columbian inhabitants of North and South America and their descendants. Pueblos indígenas (indigenous peoples) is a common term in Spanish-speaking countries. Aborígen (aboriginal/native) is used in Argentina, while “Amerindian” is used in Guyana, but not commonly used in other countries. Indigenous peoples are commonly known in Canada as First Nations or Aboriginal peoples, and in the United States as Native Americans, American Indians, or simply Indians.

Whereas a person born in America and isn’t of the Native American Indian heritage can be referred to as an American Native.

• actually no , nobody here is inciting any kind of hatred , I haven’t seen any kind of incitement to hatred that you suggest in any of the comments , if anything these kind of topics bring out the FG type blogger , put the Irish People down and make them too ashamed to speak out agains the uncontrolled immigration into the country and the resultant consequences that are following.

• Ummmm… I don’t think I mentioned anything about hatred.

• Freebies Ireland you are just being a smart arse. Cop on.

• Judging by the comments here so far, discrimination and prejudice agains foreigners is alive and well!

• That’s ridiculous Mark. I’m not pre-judging anyone. Discrimination in a lot of cases is just a perception of treatment. I’m currently on a working holiday visa in Australia and I wouldn’t have the neck to blame an unsuccessful attempt to get a job as discrimination.

Best man for the job is how it should work.

• Which comments are you referring to?

• I agree with Mark. It’ not only in this post but you’ll see it in any other article about discrimination. I think that no Irish wants to be accused of discrimination or racism, and to be honest, who wants? But they are so convinced they don’t do it, that they simply can’t and won’t see the reality as it is laid out in research. Maybe a better way of saying would be: “The Irish don’t do discrimination, but is they did……”

• So do a lot of people discriminate against you for being Dutch?

• Scarr 16/01/13 #

@jeroen – of course some irish are discriminatory – there’s an article on the journal every month or so telling us as much – but I’ve not read a comment so far claiming discrimination doesn’t exist. What I have read is that people are tired of these surveys that fail to check or report, whether the person who feels ( and it’s just a feeling in the report) discriminated against, had the proper qualifications or requisite level of English to perform the role adequately. Some small business may discriminate against black Africans as they may be viewed as a risky bet for fear of the race card being played if things genuinely don’t work out. Others may want to help native / locals before hiring a ‘foreigner’. It might not be ethical but I’m sure it happens. Yes there may be discrimination, some worse than others, but it certainly doesn’t mean the Irish are all massive racists.

• Derek/Scarr: just look at the comments made. It says enough about the state of this country when it does to discrimination and prejudice.
      A few years back it was demonstrated beyond doubt how a CV with a foreign name on it had only a small chance of being selected for interviews then the same CV with a good old paddy name on it.
      I’m us there are many excuses one can make up for that, but it’s prejudice at best and plain discrimination at worse.

There are many Irish who’d never discriminate or act upon prejudice, but the notion it doesn’t happen is pure ignorance.

Damocles; Yes, I did. However, as a Dutch, white male of 6 foot 7 I’m not the easiest target.
      My wife, who’s French, but of Asian heritage has been belittled, made fun of and verbally abused.

• Very racist comments, and the fact they have their name and picture beside them is incredible.

In one way its funny to see them spout such nonsense, but in another way its very scary. Very blatant incitement to hatred.

• For a start they may not be seen as being as entitled to the job as Irish applicants and this is perfectly understandable unless reverse discrimination is what you seek with your article here?

• I like how they start a comment with: i’m not a racist “but”……

• They say the Africans have poor English skills. Majority of the native Irish folk can hardly read or write (properly), have embarrassingly hideous regional accents – others audaciously try speaking in English Accents .

• Scarr 16/01/13 #

Just to note, using phrases like ‘sheeple’ and ‘adolf Merkel’ only take away from your overall point. It makes you come across as an immature loon, which I’m sure you’re not.

• Damocles 16/01/13 #

This is satire, right?

Add New Comment