TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Independent TDs and MEP to call for referendum to be delayed

Shane Ross, Catherine Murphy and Finian McGrath are among those who want the Fiscal Compact referendum delayed in light of the political uncertainty in the eurozone.

Shane Ross has been calling for the referendum to be delayed for a number of weeks.
Image: Photocall Ireland

A GROUP OF independent TDs and the independent MEP for the North West Marian Harkin are to call for the Fiscal Compact referendum to be delayed at a press conference in Dublin today.

The group, which includes Dublin South deputy Shane Ross, Kildare North TD Catherine Murphy and Dublin North-Central TD Finian McGrath, are calling for the referendum to be delayed in light of the political uncertainty in the eurozone.

With the election of Francois Hollande in France, the political uncertainty in Greece, the fall of the Dutch government and the electoral blow dealt to German chancellor Angela Merkel at the weekend, the TDs believe that a delay would be in the country’s best interests.

Already the German parliament has delayed its ratification of the treaty and the European Stability Mechanism bailout fund in order to see if EU leaders can agree growth measures at a summit in Brussels on 23 May.

The Bundestag was due to vote on 25 May but has now delayed that vote until late June, a move which independent TD Shane Ross says should be replicated by the Irish government.

“Deferral makes more sense by the hour,” he wrote on Twitter last night in response to Angela Merkel’s party, the Christian Democrats, losing badly in a regional election in the German province of North Rhine-Westphalia.

The calls for a delay have been echoed by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU) general secretary David Begg who said last week that the referendum should be delayed while Irish leaders get behind attempts by Hollande to agree growth measures for eurozone countries.

The government has ruled any delay to the 31 May vote, citing the certainty and decisiveness that investors want and which a Yes vote will deliver, in their view.

Independent politicians will call for the delay at a press conference to be held at 10.30am this morning.

Read: Latest opinion poll shows rise in referendum support

Read: Left-wing MEPs to campaign in Ireland against Fiscal Treaty

Read: Martin calls for Taoiseach to meet with president-elect Hollande

Read next:

Comments (80 Comments)

• Delay it! The agenda has changed. Blindly voting now could be catastrophic.

• Enda says no.

• I feel I must be missing something here. Why would any country vote on an agreement which, undoubtedly, will be altered at a later date to accomodate Monsieur Hollande, and possibly other EU states ? Even Germany, one of the driving forces behind the Fiscal Agreement, is sitting, ( wisely, I think) on the fence waiting to see what happens before they ratify it. And yet, our leaders, however well intentioned or otherwise, expect us to meekly ratify the treaty without questioning any changes that may be made at a later date? Surely this is not prudent? It seems that our government must know something we don’t, as their feverish attempts at reasoning with the electorate fast becomes scare mongering. Such dogged behaviour smacks of desperation, and it makes me nervous. Why can’t we, like the others, watch to see how it plays out?

• …Because once again our government won’t pause and reconsider.
      Their ego’s and pride would be hurt – so they bull ahead with this thing for which the public (you and I) will pay later for even more!

So FG and Labour – AND FF who is also pushing it don’t forget – will get the dozing sheep of this country to foolishly sign “Yes” on a day coming.

The TD’s in power will be all right. They will have their massive wages, perks and pensions. they can live comfortably for the rest of their lives not having to stress about how the rest of us will be made to pay more later.
      No, they will be fine so stuff the rest of us!
      The public must just vote “Yes” if they want to give into the political stupidity and further Austerity measures that frankly are not making a bit of difference – in fact making things worse all around!

• United. The government has spent millions getting ready for this referendum. This referendum was demanded by many of you no voters. So you got what you wanted now live with it.

• We demanded nothing except a decent government – and also, as we have not voted yet, we as of yet don’t have to live with anything.

There is still time to stop this unknown later detail marriage.
      That is unless one is stupid to behave like a meek complacent sheep, swallowing the FF, FG and Labour uneducated crap.

Repeat after me Gary… “Baaa… Baaaaa…”

• Well gosh I’m shocked, straight to the name-calling.

• Gary, You’re got your referendum now live with it? Are you for fu€king real? Last time I checking we were living in something resembling a democracy. The Gov tried it’s best to avoid holding this referendum, were complicit in a blackmail clause being inserted, and you’re saying we should be content to vote on something in advance of a final draft?
      Christ, democratic rights and intelligence must really piss FG off!

• …Straight to the name-calling?

1. I have not called you a name. I have espoused that some are behaving LIKE a slow dim witted animal if they choose to be that way and…

2. I am not the one what has even resorted to bad language as in a further post of yours upwards Gary.

Convenient short memory again Gary?

• Ah sorry forgive me I thought calling someone sheep was baaad.

• limofax 14/05/12 #

Vote No to guarantee investment and jobs in Ireland

• D H 14/05/12 #

Calling someone a sheep is clearly name-calling.

Maybe try to play the ball not the man.

• D H?

David Higgins maybe?!? How many bloody aliases have you got? At least Gary keeps it real and posts under one handle allllll the time?!

• Learn the difference D H (or whatever your calling yourself this time!).

There is a big difference between calling someone something presently and saying someone might be something in the future of their own choosing.

• “I feel I must be missing something here. Why would any country vote on an agreement which, undoubtedly, will be altered at a later date to accomodate Monsieur Hollande, and possibly other EU states ?”

Well, at least partly because there’s no provision in the Constitution or law to delay or cancel a referendum once it’s called. The government can delay ratification after the referendum, but the referendum itself has to happen within 90 days of the Bill for it being passed.

If you think about it, you wouldn’t really want the government to have the power to call off referendums, because they could exercise it if they looked like they were going to lose. On which point, it’s hard to avoid noticing that calls for this one to be postponed have only really been from the No side, and only since it began to look like they weren’t winning…

• We MUST postpone the referendum.

François Hollande in France is going to seek changes to it afterwards, Greece is going to effect it badly also afterwards, even other political parties in Germany are demanding changes to it, Geert Wilders, the head of a Dutch anti- immigrant party, brought down his government recently over concerns about EU austerity and is demanding changes. It looks like to sooth his demands the state might cave to him and his org, Meanwhile in Scandinavia, Finland, and more, the far right parties are screaming for changes to it. Spain is saying “ENOUGH!” and Hollande is actually looking like he will back Greece’s position of stop the austerity measures and seek to build an exconly – not rob every cent out of people in invented further taxes!

…Whats FG and Labour doing?
    Rushing stupidly in like a bull going down hill in to china shop. There is a crash coming!

Analysts expect some sort of compromise and thus change to the treaty – but that will happen AFTER we have signed up (by saying “Yes”) to something we don’t even NOW know the full details of what will happen later. We will be in a contract without knowing the later details!

What stupidity! Its political and economic suicide.
    Does FG and Labour see that? Hell no – they are bust too blind collecting their massive wages, perks and pensions, hoping they will get more of the same from the EU in a rewards like good little lapdogs for fooling the public into saying “Yes” prematurely!

We MUST vote “NO” to save our country and stop the damage of the changes later.
    Anything less is stupidity and thats what FG and labour are behaving in right now!

• exconly ?

• “economy” typed wrong.

Me so sorrrweeee! LOL

• “bust” = “busy” also.

I’m having a bad typo error morning! Doh!

• “We MUST vote “NO” to save our country and stop the damage of the changes later.”

Dear god will the exaggeration ever stop.

• Exaggeration – aye…

Like Vote “Yes for Europe – Vote yes for jobs” a previous referendum.
      Is that what you mean?
      You could be right in that case!

• D H 14/05/12 #

So which is it: “We MUST postpone the referendum” or “We MUST vote “NO” to save our country”?

Not very clear

• If the government does not postpone – we must vote “No” instead.
      Jeasus, an idiot could make that out!
      Its not rocket science!

• will the whining about yes for f**king jobs ever f**king stop…. it’s painful. I only ever saw the bloody thing on about 20 posters and have heard it about a hundred times from no voters since.
      Here’s the list of no side lies http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74672530&postcount=1
      Yes voters would be well within their rights to complain a lot of about the amount of lying that went on in the Lisbon treaty referendum but there are so many lies I don’t know where they’d start.

• Well you could start with the lies (and u-turns) that in just over a year from FG and Labour, that actually puts FF to shame in not doing similar in so short a time, for example:

Bondholders

“Is it Labour’s way or Frankfurt way” – Eamon Gilmore; “Fine Gael in
      Government will force certain classes of bondholders to share in the cost of
      recapitalising troubled financial institutions” – Manifesto.

In government, they refuse to impose losses on the €3.5 billion of unsecured,
      unguaranteed senior bondholders at Anglo Irish Bank and Irish Nationwide
      Building Society (INBS).
      They are still refusing to burn them! Amazing!

Third Level Fees

“Labour is opposed to third-level fees by either the front or back doors” –
      Gilmore.

Now Quinn refuses to rule out increased student fees in the future.
      Student Services Charge.
      NOW FEES HAVE GONE UP!

Quinn signed a USI election pledge to reverse the €500 increase in the
      Student Services Charge in Budget 2011.

Refused to do so once in Government, and won’t rule out increases to it in the
      future.

Recapitalisation

Varadkar said that not another “red cent” would be put into the banks.

The Central Bank announced in March 2011 that the banks would require
      €24bn. €19bn of this met by the taxpayer July 2011.
      Another 1.25 BILLION going to the banks in bailout in January 2012!

Bank Directors

Pledged to “re-structure boards and replace and directors who presided over
      failed lending practices.”

BOI appointed 4 pre-2008 directors; AIB has 3 non-exec directors still in
      place; Irish Life and Permanent still has one.
      Force Banks to Cut their Interest Rates

The Programme for Government promised that banks in receipt of state
      support would be forced to forego a 25 basis point increase on their variable
      rate mortgage.

Despite cuts by the ECB to interest rates, NIB is pressing ahead with raising
      rates, and other banks are refusing to lower theirs.

Sell the EBS

During the election Fine Gael pledged to sell EBS.

EBS has now been merged with AIB.

Medium Term Loans to Irish Banks

Michael Noonan “We need medium-term facilities from the ECB so that the
      liquidity problems in the Irish banks are not addressed on a fortnightly basis
      with a rollover of the liquidity funding every two weeks.”

It now appears this is not going to happen – The ECB rejected it.

The EU-IMF Deal

The EU/IMF deal was a “bad deal for Ireland.” ( Eamon Gilmore), “a disaster
      and an obscenity” (Micheal Noonan)

After election: Eamon Gilmore said: “It was never going to be the case that
      the renegotiation of the agreement was something that was going to be done
      in one great big bang.”

Income Tax

FG 5 point plan: No new taxes including no income tax increases

Minister Noonan: “I am not going to rule out any tax initiative, or any tax
      increase or any tax reduction.”
      Universal Social Charge NOW INCREASED TO €132 A MONTH

The PfG states: “We will review the Universal Social Charge”.

No review now forthcoming; Noonan robustly defends the levy in the Dail
      saying the “universal social charge is progressive.” He added: “It is hard to
      argue that is regressive; that is one of the more progressive taxes one will
      find.”

Budget 2011

FG & Lab voted against Budget 2011.

Now it seems they’re only too happy to take ownership of the budget and
      boast about the adjustments that have been achieved to date.

More Pay Cuts to Public Servants

They opposed the public sector pension levy – “It is a crude and unfair
      system.” (Brendan Howlin)

Now they won’t rule out more cuts to public service pay.

Jobs Budget

FG promised a Jobs Budget within 100 days.

The jobs budget then became a mere revenue neutral “jobs initiative”, with no
      jobs target.

Getting People Back to Work

FG Election Slogan: Let’s Get Ireland Working

Latest Live Register figures show unemployment stagnant – the jobs initiative
      failed, the New Era jobs didn’t materialise, and the Medium Term Fiscal
      Statement acknowledges unemployment will rise next year.

New Era Jobs

Enda Kenny boasted that “New Era plan will create over 105,000 jobs.”

At its launch in Sept, there was no mention of jobs it would create, and no
      mention of cost.

New Era Funding

The Programme for Government and the Fine Gael manifesto state that it
      would funded through the sale of state assets.

However, the EU/IMF agreement clearly states -“It is important to make
      effective use of our state assets and, where appropriate, dispose of them to
      help reduce our government debt.”

State Assets

Programme for Government: “We will target up to €2 billion in sales of nonstrategic
      state assets.”

It now looks like up to €5bn of assets, strategic or otherwise, will be sold.

Strategic Investment Bank

The Programme for Government states “we will establish a Strategic
      Investment Bank”.

Kenny, September 2011: “A Strategic Investment Bank would be difficult to
      implement in current market conditions.”

Upward Only Rent Reviews

The Programme for Govt states: “We will legislate to end upward only rent
      reviews for existing leases.”

Each time the Justice Minister has been asked about it, he’s fudged the issue.
      Protecting the Low Paid

Labour Manifesto pledged to reform JLCs in a way that protects the most
      vulnerable workers.

Jobs Minister Richard Bruton is dragging his feet on introducing a reformed
      JLC system, leaving workers vulnerable since July.

Competition & Consumer Protection

FG Manifesto: Promised a new “powerful consumer champion”, giving it
      “additional powers – by constitutional change if necessary – to break up
      public and private sector monopolies and cartels.”

No mention of this in Competition Bill 2011, and no commitment to
      constitutional change.

Ban on Corporate Donations

The Programme for Government clearly states “we will introduce the
      necessary legal and constitutional provisions to ban corporate donations to
      political parties.”

The Bill allows corporate donations to continue and Enda Kenny has
      confirmed that there will be no constitutional ban put to the people.

Severance Pay for Senior Civil Servants

There will be no more “golden handshakes” for public servants that have
      failed to deliver.

Big payoffs for senior civil servants continue.

Reducing the number of TDs

FG had previously promised to reduce the number of TDs by 20

The Electoral Act proposes a cut of as little as 6 TDs.

Constitution Day

Enda Kenny, April 2011: “We will set out a programme to allow for a series of
      constitutional amendments to be decided on what we called “Constitution
      day”, to be held within 12 months of the new Government being formed.”

Little mention of it since

The Seanad

Both parties pledged to abolish the Seanad.

There was no mention in the legislative agenda of legislation to scrap the
      Seanad.

Child Benefit

During the election campaign Eamon Gilmore identified child benefit as a red
      line issue. Labour’s “Every Little Hurts” advertising campaign lambasted Fine
      Gael for their proposed cuts in the child benefit rates

Joan Burton has since refused to give an explicit commitment on child benefit
      rates.
      NOW BEING CUT.

Social Welfare Rates

The Programme for Government clearly states “We will maintain social
      welfare rates”

Joan Burton has continuously refused to give an explicit commitment on
      headline rates.
      National Educational Psychological Service

Ruairi Quinn promised to provide “€3m to reverse the cut in the National
      Educational Psychological Service.”

He has made no mention of this commitment since then
      Water Charges & Utility Charges

Labour previously said they would be opposed to the introduction of flat rate
      water charges “A flat water charge is not something that we’re going to
      introduce.”

The government has now admitted that two charges are on the way by 2013,
      a flat rate household utility charge (by 2012) and water charges.

Household Charge

“We’re not in favour of a tax on the family home” – Gilmore

July 2011: Phil Hogan announced the introduction of a €100 flat rate
      household charge which is to be applied to the 1.6 million households in the
      country.

Irish Water

Fine Gael’s plans for the setting up of a new water company introducing water
      charges featured heavily in its New Politics policy document published in
      March 2010.

However, FG has now admitted that they have no plan for the setting up of
      this company, no idea of the timeline involved and have also admitted that
      there are significant legal and administrative changes involved in transferring
      water services from local authorities to the new water company.

Stag Hunting

FG Manifesto p27: “Fine Gael will reverse the ban on stag hunting”; Junior
      Minister Shane McEntee (Meath East) told the Seanad on 25th Oct that
      legislation reversing the ban was forthcoming.

8th Nov – Kenny spokesperson: McEntee was “expressing an opinion” and
      there was “no commitment” to reverse the ban.

Turf Cutting

Fine Gael Manifesto: “It is premature to cease the cutting of turf for domestic
      purposes in 2011”; Roscommon TD Frank Feighan said he would “sign in his
      own blood” the future of turf-cutting.

27th Sept: Deenihan signs regulations making turf cutting on Special Areas of
      Conservation a criminal offence, and allows for the confiscation of turf cutting machinery.

Climate Change

Programme for Government: “We will publish a Climate Change Bill.”

This was dropped by Phil Hogan in November 2011.

Garda Numbers

Shatter said in December 2010 that a reduction in Garda numbers would
      “obstruct the battle against crime”

“The job of this Government is to reduce public expenditure, not to increase it.
      That is as applicable across the justice sector as it is in other sectors.”

Triple Lock

FG manifesto: “We believe that the Triple Lock must be modified to allow
      Ireland participate in peacekeeping missions. The failure of the UN Security
      Council to pass a resolution should not prevent us from taking part in
      overseas missions.”

Shatter: “As matters stand the triple lock remains part and parcel of Govt.
      policy”.

Government Jet

FG Manifesto: “We will introduce a new code of practice for the use of the
      government jet ensuring cost effective and transparent travel. To stamp out
      any abuse, cheaper commercial alternatives must be taken when possible.”
      Transport spokesperson Simon Coveney said last year: Jets were “being
      abused” by Ministers.

Oct 2011: Jet had been used 24 times at a total cost to the taxpayer of almost
      €14m, including a trip to Cork for the Taoiseach and a trip to Algeria for
      Coveney.

Junior Ministers

FG pledged they would cut the number of junior Ministers to 12.

Once elected they appointed 15 Junior Ministers.

Quangos

Fine Gael pledged to abolish 145 quangos in their document Reinventing
      Government.

By end Oct 2011, they had abolished 5, but had created 8.
      Guillotining of Legislation

Enda Kenny, July 2010: “I do not accept the Government’s guillotining of Bills
      in any shape or form.”

By November 2011 they had guillotined almost a dozen Bills.
      Staff in Constituency Offices

FG pledged to reduce ministerial staff allocated to work on constituency
      matters to two per Minister

In March 2011 it was announced that ministers will keep 4 staff each in their
      constituency office.

Constituency Work

Enda Kenny promised to direct all Ministers to focus entirely on their new
      portfolios in the first 100 days and completely avoid constituency work.

However, Kenny himself repeatedly broke this promise with dozens of
      appointments in Mayo every week.

Ministers’ Advisors

Ministerial advisors will be subject to salary caps

Most Ministers’ advisors have breached the cap.

Cronyism

They promised an end to cronyism and transparency in board appointments.

FG & Labour members and donors have been appointed as Judges and to
      the boards of Quangos.

Transparency in Appointments

FG and Lab Manifestos: They promised vetting of appointments to state
      boards by the Oireachtas.

Party political appointments have been made, without any oversight or
      transparency. In October 2011, they appointed the former head of AIB
      Investment Management as head of the New Era quango, without revealing
      her pay or conditions.

Freedom of Information

Programme for Government promised to legislate to restore the Freedom of
      Information Act.

No commitment for when legislation will be published on thi

• Not to interfere with your copy paste there but harsh reality is harsh reality. The government can say they are sending a man to the moon but when reality bites and it doesn’t happen I for one won’t be surprised.
      And you know we demand a heap of promises and simplistic answers or we won’t elect people. Then we object to the fact they don’t carry out the promises they can’t possibly carry out. If we change there is a chance our politicians will change.
      It would take me a day to respond individually so I think I’ll give that a miss.

• Yes – harsh reality is harsh reality – and for you to go on about lies of anyone else while in denial and/or ignoring FG and Labour lies, is stupidity and hypocritical.

Amazing that one is willing to forget about so many lies when one gives out about supposedly very few less from others!

• No I’m not okaying any lie. I’m saying election promises in this country should be seen for the bull they are from the outset. BUT we are the ones who *demand* those election promises so we cannot wash our hand of the results.
      The Lisbon treaty was detailed legal document, it wasn’t a bunch of wishy washy election promises. I was able to read the Lisbon treaty and see the No side lies for what they were. A lot of the election promises I just didn’t believe as there was no way they could be done given our circumstances.

• You say ” I just didn’t believe as there was no way they could be done given our circumstances.”

…and yet you probably voted for them?

How in gods name does that make sense?
      …And still even after that, your further willing to further believe their crap coming out of the same mouths?
      What foolishness is this?

• I had a selection of politicians to choose from and I chose the best of the lot. That’s the reality.
      I don’t understand what people don’t get about these aspirational election promises. They are aspirational, the reality will almost immediately change what can be done. And as I keep saying we demand so many promises that many were never ever going to be carried out. Perhaps I’m a realist.

• limofax 14/05/12 #

Vote No for Jobs

• Reality is that if one chooses to vote for people who spout things, that say are promises and future goals – then they do the opposite …and one chooses to still vote for these two faced politicians – one invites future disasters and stupidity.

…And what have we gotten?

• “Aspirational election promises”? Is that what fine gael are calling “lying through your teeth to get elected” now, are they, gary?

• Trueleft. I have no idea if they believed them or not. I am saying though that I personally didn’t think a lot of them would be carried out, given our circumstances.

• …In the meantime though, foolishly follow them over the cliff in premature signing up to something that will be changed later, which in consequence we have to say over but left to pay a possible even further hefty price for.
      …And we won’t be just paying it, our children will and even their children possibly too – and thats with the fewer home-based political powers that we we will subsequently left to hold on to, to use!

Madness, just madness.

If the government hasn’t the kop to AT LEAST postpone, we must vote “NO”.

• UI,
      That was brilliant! Those are the reasons why I am an EX Fine Gealer. I will hang on to that for the next election when the ‘canvassers’ knock on my door. I can’t wait for a FG redneck gombeen muppet to ask for my vote.

• You will find them all listed on http://www.unitedpeople.ie as well as www.http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/ where on both, I give other information and comment.

• Hollande’s election has forced the German Parliament to delay its ratification of the treaty.
    The Germans will not proceed without the French as they do not want to be publicly perceived
    as the Dictators of Europe.

To proceed with the treaty referendum at this time is an act of astonishing political incompetence and naivety.

• If Germany is delaying, why not us?
    That really doesnt make sense at all

• Because merkel can’t harass her parliament the way she can harass our sock-puppet taoiseach.

• Ronala 14/05/12 #

Germany is delaying because Merkel does not have the support needed to pass the treaty in the parl.

• My point exactly. I wish the powers that be would just stop and think about this for a minute, there is no stability in Europe currently, Germany’s waiting to see how the new boy’ll fare out in France, Greece is in turmoil, as is the Dutch parliment, Spain’s more than likely edging towards a bail out, Britian is out, as are the Czech’s, although they may decide to join later…why do we have to rush this? Surely this is not a climate for making life changing decisions….

• John 14/05/12 #

Inda has his instructions from his masters in berlin. He hasn’t the balls to defy them, let alone make a smart decision. Best thing we can do is vote NO. Then we’ll get to vote again an a revised ‘treaty’.

• Government have their heads way up in the clouds…….”Let them eat cake…..” is ringing in my ears!

• Choooon 14/05/12 #

Look up “The Shocking truth of the Pending EU collapse” on YouTube, and you will have a good understanding of what this treaty is about. The video says it all.

• Eoin Faz 14/05/12 #

They signed a blank cheque for the bank bailout, so maybe we should be nice and just give a blank cheque back to them :)

• Come next general election these fringe nut jobs will be gone

• IF we ratify the treaty and it is changed afterwards it will NOT be changed in our constitution. Very, very basic stuff there @ryanoneill .

• Won’t pass anyway mate!

• This is all it adds to the constitution…
      Article 29.4:
      10° The State may ratify the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union done at Brussels on the 2nd day of March 2012. No provision of this Constitution invalidates laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by the State that are necessitated by the obligations of the State under that Treaty or prevents laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by bodies competent under that Treaty from having the force of law in the State.

• Aindriu Depends on how its phrased If we vote to be governed by the pact and the pact changes we are led by that change. If on the other hand we vote to insert certain wording in to the constitution we are bound by that wording. The firsr option is madness, to bind ourselves to obey a treaty when we don’t know what will be in it is stupidity of the highest order. The second option is laughable: to tie ourselves to a contract that everyone else has bined. What we have here are more examples of the pig headed incompatence of our goverment in their attempt to turn us from Europians into Euro Peons just more reasons to vote No

• Gary “This is all it adds to the constitution” So it’s option A then, A pig in a poke. And it overrides all aspects of our constitution.
      ESM “You have to cut your education spend” Ireland “But our kids have a constitutinal right to education” ESM “Not anymore they don’t”

• Interesting ‘interpretation’ there Francis.

• Not realy it clearly states nothing in the Constitution can overide any act made under the fiscal pact, And as the pursestrings control everything it in essence wipesout our Constitution in one fell swoop. Education funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Health funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Welfare funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Garda funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Prison funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Court funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Child welfare “Sorry fiscal matter” Disbursement for oppisition parties “SORRY FISCAL MATTER”

• “Not realy it clearly states nothing in the Constitution can overide any act made under the fiscal pact, And as the pursestrings control everything it in essence wipesout our Constitution in one fell swoop.”

These debt rules were mostly introduced as part of the Maastricht Treaty in 1992 (the structural balance rule in 2005 by way of an update)., and Maastricht’s ratification went into the Constitution in *exactly* the same way this one does.

So, this:

“Education funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Health funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Welfare funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Garda funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Prison funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Court funding “Sorry fiscal matter” Child welfare “Sorry fiscal matter” Disbursement for oppisition parties “SORRY FISCAL MATTER””

is something that either isn’t the case, or has been the case for the last 20 years, because exactly the same debt rules have had exactly the same constitutional setting since 1992.

I don’t recall it applying over the last 20 years – do you?

• Francis??

• What are they afraid of? Let the Irish people have their say!

• Choooon 14/05/12 #

Ah yeah sure, when the Treaty is not ratified, they’ll be able to use the ambiguity of the EU situation, at preent, as an excuse to hold another referendum to get the answer that is needed! Gangsters

• Sign any blank checks before David?

Why would you want Ireland to sign a treaty that the blanks and ‘finer details’ could be filled in later?!

Jesus your party aliegence is astoundingly stupid! Moronic and, if it wasn’t so serious I would laugh at you but you seriously think its ok to enshrine our constitution with more debt! Yeh that only makes sense to Fine members. And the rest have moved back to Finna Fail!

• There was no doubt that you would be the first to comment on this.

• 2nd bail on way despite what Fr Enda says

• limofax 14/05/12 #

Marry in haste, repent at leisure!

• David, your party didn’t want us to have a say, and then when it became apparent a referendum had to be held, allowed the blackmail clause to be foisted upon us to coerce a ‘yes’ vote, subverting a fair vote on the matter.

You’re fooling nobody.

• David would you sign a legal document if only half of it was printed? That is what Enda is asking the country to do. Delay it and let’s see what exactly we are voting for.

• David,
      They’re afraid (or most probably hope) the changing situation in Europe will change the treaty. If Merkel goes, or loses a lot oher power things could well be very different, or if Holande does what he says he wants to, or Greece goes kaplooyey.
      Do you want Ireland to vote on a treaty that is irrelevant because of changes?

• D H 14/05/12 #

I wonder would the No side be so keen on delaying the treaty if the polls were moving in their favour.

• I wondered the same. One minute they are demanding a referendum in no uncertain terms, the next minute they are saying we should wait. Sure Hollande made some promises to win the French election but I can’t fail to notice no voters tend not to believe politicians promises. So that leaves us with the opinion polls showing an increase in the Yes vote.

• While I can’t speak for the ‘no side’ I can tell you that I don’t agree with voting on a treaty that in all probability will be amended. It makes no sense whatsoever.

• limofax 14/05/12 #

Voting No guarantees our super rich will have to share some pain.

• Gary,
      I love the way you make the democratic right to a referendum in the first place sound like such an irritation. Keep the posts coming, you’re doing wonders for the No campaign.

• The amendments being spoken of are to do with growth, which we can agree to afterwards.
      I personally have no issue voting later in the year, though I would have thought a Yes will be even more likely with a growth pact.

• Rommel. In a referendum everyone’s opinion is equal but in life everyone’s opinion is not equal. What I’d like though is if people couldn’t make up whatever lie they like and repeated it as fact. That would be nice.

• limofax 14/05/12 #

Vote No! says the Fine Gael mayor of Longford, Jim Keogh

• Gary: “The amendments being spoken of are to do with growth”

Really? Can you post a link to these amendments for us please?

You wouldn’t be speculating on the content of amendments that don’t exist and advising us that these could be added after the treaty is ratified, are you? Because that would be ridiculous.

• Trueleft. I worry about you. You are the one who has repeatedly gone on about Hollande and his demands.

• Panic!

Add New Comment