TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

‘Inherently racist’ – Varadkar critical of signs of ‘Irishness’ on Dublin taxis

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar also said that stickers indicating that a driver was Irish were “inherently racist”.

Image: © TheJournal.ie

TRANSPORT LEO VARADKAR has said that the green lights on taxi roofs will have to be removed.

He said that other signs on Irish taxis that indicate a driver is Irish are “inherently racist” and “inherently xenophobic”.

Responding to TheJournal.ie’s exclusive report yesterday that some taxi drivers in Dublin were potentially using a covert signal to each other and potential customers that they are Irish, Varadkar said that the green lights would “have to be removed”.

The National Transport Authority issued an order for the green lights to be removed amid concerns they were advertising nationality. Varadkar followed this up this morning with strong criticism of the the actions of some drivers.

He told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland: “The green light does not form part of the official sign so it is not permitted and the green lights do have to be removed.”

The Minister also said that he had seen stickers on taxis informing potential punters that the taxi driver is Irish, saying that in his personal view this was not acceptable behaviour but doubting whether drivers could be forced to remove them.

He continued: “I think it’s inherently racist, I think it is inherently xenophobic. All taxi drivers have to be identified, you can see their ID on the taxi when you get into it.

“The important thing is that you know who the taxi driver is, not what race they are or what their nationality is.”

Yesterday, this website disclosed how the green lights are becoming more common on the streets of the capital with numerous drivers indicating that they were a sign of ‘Irishness’.

While the NTA said that it “will not tolerate racism in any form nor from any source, driver or passenger”, Christy Humphrey from the National Private Hire and Taxi Association insisted it was not the case that the lights were racist.

“I couldn’t see how it would be racist if an individual wants to identify himself for different reasons,” he told RTÉ Radio.

irish driver

TheJournal.ie reader, Karen Donoghue, sent us in this photo of the Irish driver sticker, spotted on a cab recently.

Exclusive: Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?

Read next:

Comments (123 Comments)

• A lot of the problems here about non national and national drivers is just down to a bad regulator letting anyone drive a cab.

In london(for black cab) they have ‘The Knowledge’… Takes two years to get and shows that you know the city from various angles. Irish people have done the knowledge and can drive in London no problem.

The regulator here has made the standards to drive a cab disgraceful…

• franco 15/05/12 #

what if you put up a red light ,now that would get people talking …

• There are two ways to look at this:
    1) The driver is born and bred in Dublin and wishes to let people know this, presumably tourists, to share his/her knowledge
    2) The driver is appealing to people who don’t feel safe getting a taxi with a non-national driver when they hear stories of taxi plates being shared around etc
    People need to be honest with themselves about what view they take…

• Emmie 15/05/12 #

I’ve had some taxi horror stories from both Irish drivers and non-nationals (Including an incident of a drunk taxi man trying to sell me his tv from his boot, lol) Not really sure what angle, if any, to take.

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

I agree that people need to be honest – and if Irish taxi drivers feel the need to advertise that they’re Irish then there’s probably a demand for it. I’d be more interested in tackling the reason for the demand than just stopping the taxi drivers from doing this.

Why are some people discriminating against non-Irish nationals? Is it due to racism, xenephobia and the likes? Do they think that Irish drivers are somehow safer? Why is that?

These are questions we should be asking.

• Sorry but that’s just naive. This is racism of the most primitive kind. one which emerges when jobs and money are at stake

• I’d be more concerned about getting into a taxi driven by someone with a serious criminal conviction, perhaps we could have a light to let punters know that the driver is conviction free?

• franco 15/05/12 #

Sorry but what’s to stop a non national taxi driver getting a green light ? Any business is allowed to come up with ideas to attract customers so why discriminate against taxi drivers.

• I do not stay in a taxi if the driver doesn’t know the address. Does that make me a racialist?

• Yes, apparently so

• Dave 15/05/12 #

Pretty difficult to know every single bloody address in a city the size if Dublin. Plenty of white Irish cab drivers have to be directed to where to go too.

• How do they manage it in London then? It’s 15 times bigger.

I was in Cork Airport a few days ago and asked for an estate with 150 houses and he asked me where it was. I asked him what he would do if I was an American and he said he’d ask someone for directions. Pathetic!

I got a cab on the South Circular Road in Dublin a couple of years ago and asked for South William Street, which probably has more restaurants than any other street in Dublin, and the driver asked me to direct him. I got out.

• Dave 15/05/12 #

They dont manage it in London. I’ve also had to direct cab drivers to the address i’m going when visiting relatives. Happens everywhere.

• Dave. I find that hard to believe. To get a taxi licence in London you have to pass a test called “the knowledge”. You often see guys driving around on scooters learing where places are. No such rule in Ireland. All cab drivers in London carry a London map book.

• of course taxi drivers have to have done “the knowledge test” but lately it is being dumbed down to get non nationals off the dole.

Why can’t a taxi driver be proud of his nationality and announce it in his own cab in his own country – the guaranteed irish labels on food etc is EXACTLY the same.

I didn’t even notice these green lights but for spite now I’ll only get in a cab with a green light!

Why is everyone so fcked up about being afraid to be Irish in Ireland? Proclaiming your nationality now is upsetting others. That’s why 9 Pakistanies in England got away with trafficking white girls in England for 5 years – because everyone including the police were afraid to ignite the race card – BOLLOCKS!

• London is not 15 times bigger than Dublin in land mass 2 times bigger. population is 4 times more. I live in London Black cabs dont always know directions either trust me. And if you live in South London and travelling from North, they wont take you.

• Genius comment on racism Dave. Now when you say “white Irish” do you mean that the only people considered by you to be “Irish” are “white”?

• William Grogan
      No , I do not think so , but then again , I would not stay in a taxi if they don’t know where the area is … Or if I can not make myself understood or if the taxi is smelly.Irish or non national , Maybe we are just particular :) …….

• Dublin city and counties is 356 square miles, the Greater Dublin population is 1.8 million, London is 607 square miles population of the Greater London area 7.2 million. County Cork has more land than London and Dublin combined 2895 square miles.

• Tut Tut! I think these ‘Irish’ taxi drivers are telling a little fib here! Obviously, if they are in a taxi rank we know that they are available. Even if one is on the street looking for a taxi that’s available, it’s not that much hassle to put my arm up to call it. I don’t need the little ‘green light’ to tell me. I’ll just wave down the next one. If a taxi driver doesn’t know the street that is requested invest in a sat. nav. Simple answer!

• Yes William, you are racist and a nazi. I suggest we get your name and address and fine you and lock you up. Then when you are re-educated, you will never find work again, you will never be able to support yourself or your family, welfare will be denied to you, and you will be forced to live on the streets, the road to your demise is not long after that.

that is how we witch-hunters of the new multicult church do our business of ensuring that a bright new utopian Ireland is ushered in, and we the withc-hunters and shouters of racism, are the new high-priests and pillars of society, we truly are wonderful and such good human beings, who can find fault with us?

We are never wrong you know, how could we be, we support multiculturalism and make sure Ireland is open to all and sundry (except the Irish)

• Mark, London’s official population is nearly 8,000,000 and Dublin’s is just over 1,000,000 so it’s more like 8 times the population. If you count inside the M25 it’s more. A taxi driver in London is obliged to carry you unless you are drunk or have some other serious problem. While I’ve met the odd dodgy blank cab driver, the vast majority of times they bring you to your address without having to ask you where it is. They can’t get a licence unless they can show a detailed “knowledge” of London. That quite obviously doesn’t apply in Cork or Dublin. What possible use is a taxi driver who can’t bring passengers to their destination?

• Am I the only person who still just gets in the first taxi at the rank regardless of who is driving it or what colour the light is? Or his face for that matter.

With satnavs, surely it makes no major difference who is driving or how much local knowledge they have so long as he/she knows how to use their satnav? Next someone will come up with the bright idea of no taxi drivers from outside Dublin allowed drive in Dublin, no northsiders on the southside or vice versa…

• Dave 15/05/12 #

“Genuine Irish nationals” “why are they here”?? “I’m not racist, but….”

• The person getting into the taxi have the right to make up their own mind if they are not happy with who they see driving the taxi, it is not at all uncommon in this country to see people not long out of jail driving taxis which is your choice a fellow with a coloured skin or an ex drug dealer .

• I got into a Taxi once in Dublin at the airport, it had ripped seats it smelt of curry inside, the car was in a bad state. The fare cost me €38. I needed a shower after i got out. Its not a good image for the city, it reminded me of N.Y in the 90s.

• Before deregulation the taxi was a business that mostly the driver invested in. That opperator didn’t act the maggot or ”try to sell his television from the boot”. The masses howled for blood and Harney duely oblidged.Now the plate is all but worthless and nobody gives a fkuc.The public got what they deserved.

• Put TD’s in taxis.

• We are being constantly told that we should buy Irish, and support jobs within Ireland.

Does leo want Dunnes to stop using their moto “because we are Irish” I think it goes. Sitting watching the consumer show, were they are encouraging you to buy Irish and the logo they want on Irish products.
    You may come back with the comment this relates to products only, but think then of how Ireland is promoted abroad through various agencies. The Irish welcome is a keen focus of the attraction in bring people to Ireland.
    You will also find this used as a prominent factor in services companies marketing themselves to organisations within Ireland.

A fix for this would be regulation of the vehicles appearances and the type which can be used, but if I am not mistaken this attempt to bring standardisation was knocked back(open to correction on this)

I agree that taxi driver knowledge over the last number of years has definitely dipped. My personnel experience is that I have had good and bad experiences with all nationality drivers, though the Irish drivers local knowledge of Dublin seemed to be better.
    I always pick a taxi based upon what the vehicle looks like, but I have experienced a negative response from drivers when doing this especially on ranks.

In the end what it comes down to is allowing people to make a choice, if you see a Taxi driver promoting they are Irish then allow them. It is up to you as a consumer to make the choice. If you feel it is wrong then use another taxi, if they ask why they let them know.

• It’s good to see that a two tier approach will not be tolerated within Taxi regulation. Now if we could just address the issue of road traffic offences we’d be sorted.

• They should go one step further and clean up the taxi industry, they should bring out a seven seater taxi all the one colour like in London, Blue for Dublin. Only one person can use the license or plate. We will have a safer cleaner service. The standard and cleanliness of taxis has dropped alot.

• Exactly mark, also like Oz it should be regulated by the government. Each driver is employed as such and is paid a wage, nice uniforms etc they also have to pass a competency test spoken+ written English along with the roads of the ‘area’ in which they work. They also have baby seats in the boot, ya know in case parents want a glass of beer after shopping!?? Common sense, what we have is a mish mash of an industry that is mostly crap.

I don’t mind the green light, we’ve all had horror story’s about the ‘insert stereotype here’! I personally skip the black smudged smoked slimed windows, with the incense and hangy things from the mirror and the cars that look like death traps there mostly ‘insert stereotype here’ Irish guys have the chats and the nice vehicles, I’m paying it’s my choice!!!

• So let me get this straight. Irish people in their own country are not allowed to be entitled to the fruits and resources that this country provides and due to the ancestral struggle and sacrifice laid down for them by their ancestors. No, they must put up with increased competition for all Irish resources, due to immigration policy.

To oppose this immigration policy with results in increased competition for every Irish resource for Irish people, is racist. Now that’s what I call bullying. That is racist against Irish people. This is nothing more than emotional blackmail and brainwashing, stalinist tyranny, what next? Are we going to see people sent off to gulags for voicing their right to unfettered access to the resources of this country?

• What a pity Leo VaDalek cant apply the same sentiment and principals to the leader of his party and the Taoiseach of our country!!

• Think people might be missing the point a little bit. There is clearly an undercurrent of racism among taxi drivers in Dublin (primarily) and other places. If people are denying that this is the case then they choosing to ignore it. There are taxi ranks in Dublin city centre where non-nationals won’t/can’t park (Eden “Double-Jobbers Out” Quay etc).

• Or maybe a pink light.

• tacsaí

• Haha this has nothing to do with taxi men wanting to display they’re ‘irish-ness’ and everything to do with the fact that there are people who will deliberately avoid a taxi if a black man is driving it and so, taxi drivers are displaying the fact they’re Irish to make more $$$

• For all non Irish taxi drivers… I am currently fitting green lights to taxis, contact me if you’re interested! :)

• Can somebody invest in a roll of duct tape and forcable tape up Varadkars mouth. They wold be doing a public service by shutting Varadkars face

• When I went to school 20 years ago, all my copy books contained a logo which meant ‘guaranteed Irish’, families were encouraged to ‘buy Irish’. It wasn’t seen as racist back then. But in this PC world we live in now….. Get a grip lads!

• Guaranteed Irish supports business in Ireland, not Irish nationals running businesses.

• Irish Taxi driver spend their money in Ireland, they don’t use western union to send money out of Ireland.

• Western Union is owned by a Corkman :)

• A cork man who spends his profits in Ireland, pointless argument there.

• Corkman my hole – direct from Wikipedia:

The Western Union Company (NYSE: WU) is a financial services and communications company based in the United States. Its North American headquarters is in Englewood, Colorado. Up until 2006, Western Union was the best-known U.S. company in the business of exchanging telegrams.[citation needed]

Western Union has several divisions, with products such as person-to-person money transfer, money orders, business payments and commercial services.

Western Union, as an industrialized monopoly, dominated the telegraph industry in the late 19th century. It was the first communications empire and set a pattern for American-style communications businesses as they are known today.

• Jason. OK to be more precise the Irish franchise and most of Europe and Africa at LEAST is owned by Fexco which is owned by Brian McCarthy originally from Bishopstown Cork. Up yours boy!

• god these people are senting money to the families, how dear they. I ment it is not like the Irish did it in the UK and US, whcih at one stage sending money home accounted for 8% of national GDP. The check!

• Rather than blame suicide on the failure of the ruling classes to provide jobs for people you blame it on….wait, the taxi drivers not from Ireland? Ffs, your grasp of reality is thin at best. I know people who’ve killed themselves and my mother is a suicide prevention counsellor, for you to twist the cause of suicide prevention for your own racially motivated argument is perverse. Essentially preying on fear and ignorance. Shameful.

• If they were waving their (Chinese, Nigerian, English, Filipino, Thai) flags from their cabs would it also be seen as racist against Irish people… or is this just a one way street thing?

• If that happened we probably wouldn’t make a big deal about it, but thats because it wouldn’t affect the revenue of the Irish taxi drivers, so we wouldn’t bother. nothing to do with one way streets.

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

No, just as waving an Irish flag wouldn’t be racist – it merely shows pride for your country. If a taxi driver is using a signal to covertly tell people they are an Irish national to help people discriminate against other drivers who aren’t Irish nationals, then that’s racism, and if not racism it is definitely discrimination.

Personally, I think they should let them keep doing it. Then racists can take racist taxis and the rest can avoid them.

• The problem is that taxi drivers think they should be earning top dollar for what really is an unskilled job. Driving is a skill that most adults have yet taxi drivers think they should be on a par with college graduates even though they provide a very basic service. I know a few taxi drivers in Derry. They never once moan about money or how poor they are. They are just glad to be working and earning a wage. The fares are much more reasonable too even though insurance and petrol would be dearer up there. A friend of mine is a taxi driver in Dublin. You would think he was homeless they way he goes on in comparison.

• OK, so green light equals racist driver; it’s handy to know which taxis to avoid.

• B7584 15/05/12 #

FFS the green light has nothing to do with being irish or not irish. They are on cabs in countless cities around the world. A light isnt going to make me pick a taxi, if i want to be racist/pick where i spend my money all i have to do is look inside the cab.

• Does Aine prefer the green taxis, I wonder . . . .

• When the British invaded us a long time ago they wasnt very nice to us, And they look the same as us. So lets all try and get along. There is good and bad in every race.

• Frank,
      In Africa, you had Africans invading other African tribes, in Asia you had Asians invading other Asians tribes, so too with Europe, that is called history. And it happened with every race, do not use the British invaded us, so therefore we are different to other Europeans nonsense. Using that logic, then other Africans are different to other Africans.

Your argument is no argument for why we have to tolerate immigration policy and why we should be having the strict border control we used to have.

• Africans are different to other Africans though. Some have light skin, some dark. Some like poetry, some don’t :O

• Oh look I have a weak extreme leftist following me around. (how creepy, as stated, you extreme lefties are the weak people in society who needed decades to engineer a marxist society that has laws in your favour)

And in Europe Martin you had many different European countries with slightly different cultures, yet more similar to each other than anything outside of Europe. Europeans are related genetically (ancestral heritage) and culturally and have similar western mindsets.

Africans are related genetically more closely to each other than they are to Asians or Europeans, and they are more culturally related too.

There is no argument for immigration from totally different races and cultures into Europe, which will lead to a monoculture everywhere.

• The Guaranteed Irish and the green lights are completely different. The Guaranteed Irish was to show that it was made IN Ireland, not that it was made by Irish people. The whole purpose was to keep money in the Irish economy. These green lights instead are for people who ARE Irish. As the money you give to the taxi driver, regardless of where he’s from stays in the country, there’s no point in trying to distinguish Irish taxis from say German taxis, because last time I checked, there are no German taxis in Dublin!
    Now if the Guaranteed Irish logo could only be displayed on products where the factory only employed Irish people, then this would be the same as the green taxi lights. It would also be very very racist.
    Have we as a people fogotten about the “No Blacks and no Irish need apply” signs that were used to discriminate against Irish emigrants??

• Yea, and the guaranteed Irish mark was specifically strong and around at a time when it was understood that Irish people meant Irish people and not anything else. The guaranteed Irish mark meant it was made by Irish people, that is what was understood, it was not a foreign business that made things in Ireland, like say halal food which is food blessed under a different god and slaughtered inhumanely (which the animal rights activists seem to have no problem with, because it is foreign)

Guaranteed Irish was originated in a time when nations were composed mostly of the nation of people that gave rise to that nation. The nation of the Irish people, Ireland. So you knew what you were getting, and it was made by the same sort of people as yourself, THAT is what it meant. The meaning of it has been warped and manipulated beyond all recognition.

• Kathleen, there’s a big ocean out past Galway, why don’t you and your kind, racist/religious ideologues, go jump in it :) Then the rest of us, Irish and foreigner alike can get on with life realising that diversity and not homogeneity is what makes life interesting.

• Martin,

Oh look the inadequate no-life-experience geek, gets all angry, oooh, look at that frustration and anger coming out now. Typical of the self-righteous and holier than thou new multicultist church goers.

You little narrow minded people have just replaced the pious snobbery of the old Roman Catholic church for your new approval seeking, ego massaging multicult church. And those who shout racist and nazi the loudest get all the approval and authority they crave.

Now, l’il Martin, tell me, what do you mean by racist, and show me, where I am racist, as far as I can see, this Island is irish, fought for and struggled for by Irish ancestors, so that their descendants would have the unfettered access to the resources of this land, not so that they would have to compete harder due to immigration policy.

Gee, l’il Martin all that leftie righteous anger really pours out of you, especially when a woman gets the better of you, (thought you extreme lefties were all for women’s equality, guess that’s another lie then, LOLLING)

• Martin

btw l’ill guy, it is homogenous cultures which made all the most wondrous monuments and artifacts on the planet, not multicult ones.

Newgrange, oldest astro-archeological monument in the world – made by homogenous Irish
      Bronze age abd Celtic gold artifacts – made by homogenous white europeans.
      St. Brendan – discovers America
      Irish monks – make oldest tidal mill in the world, book of kells and so on.

Your multiculturalism is backwards, if evolution spawned different races and cultures, then mixing them all back up into one culture and race, is going in the opposite direction. Your multicult is backwards leading to monoculture. Have a think, genius, or maybe that would shortwire your multicult zombie dome.

• Yes, it’s because you’re a woman. Not because you’re a racist who seems to think that the worst thing in the world is letting a foreigner step on “our land”. Did you ever think that if you stopped hating things you didn’t understand you’d actually have time to live your life? I don’t hate anyone and I’m pretty content most times. I don’t hate people cause they have different colour skin to mine, or speak strangely or because they’re gay. Oh, would you have a problem with gay people? I bet you do, gwan, admit it :D

• St. Brendan discovering America is some sort of achievement for the white race is it? Will you just stop, you’re embarrassing yourself :D

• Martin,

Jaysus, here we go…spelling things out.

The fact that an Irish monk made an open top boat that made it across 1000s of miles of ocean, and back again, may not be much of an achievement to you, but do have a look at the technology used in making his boat. It is certainly an achievement. I notice you ignore Newgrange and Brú na Bóinne. All homogenous undertakings.

You are a racist buddy, racist against whites and their societies and lands, whereas I support all races, would you advocate immigration of non-Amazonians into amazon tribal lands?

• I’m a socialist, I support a fully open borders world. So yeh, go live in the Amazon if you want, that’d be super :)

• Yeah knew it. Extreme left. Do as I say not as I do. This is how you nutjobs roll. You all want the approval and adulation, all the attention. You are weak gobsh***** of society that cannot make it by a level playing field, so you nutters engineer society to change it’s rules, so that it suits you and your world view.

Then after your bs revolution, the highest priests (those who shouted racist and nazi loudest), get to be the top nobs in authority, they live in luxury telling all the proletariat, what to think, say and do, while you hypocrits live how you like.

No borders eh. So if 50 million out of the 6.5billion want to come to Ireland, no problem. So, if the food for whatever reason stopped being supplied to a Dublin of say 10million people, what do you think would happen, in the morning. You do know that if London had supply stopped, it does not have enough food for it’s population, there would be chaos and massive looting of peoples houses etc, gangs would prevail, pretty much like the race riots.

So how does no borders work in your house, do you have borders in your home, or how many Africans do you have living with you, can anyone from anywhere come live with you?

You people are dangerous selfish twits. Like I said, no real idea of how life works. The Amazon people would see you as their enemy, they would see me as their ally and friend. I support them in having a land to call their own, without that, they and their culture die, diversity dies, and we all become mass moving, consumer cattle, cheap easily picked off labour for the rulers of the planet, the elite, of which you, by supporting immigration and no borders, are their puppet, that is what they want, and they love twits like you. Idiot.

• So much hatred and fear of the unknown. Do you pass this hatred and fear on to others? Children? Relatives? I speak about openness, fairness, democracy, food, water, shelter for all. You only spout fear and hatred. Do you like what you see when you look in the mirror?

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

Wow…this Kathleen wan has a lot of hate 0_o.

• Martin says
      “I speak about openness, fairness, democracy, food, water, shelter for all. You only spout fear and hatred”

And here we have it, the ultimate pious, “I am right and you are wrong because look…you are a hater, after all you must be because you oppose immigration.”

Not one ounce of argument or sensible counter, as usual when the extreme left lose arguments, they shout and call you racist or a hater. That is what the left do to try to shut you up and get people to think they must be in the right.

You Martin are a hater, you do not speak about openness, all you do is speak pious lies to boost your sense of self righteousness. You are some weak twit, who wants the worlds approval and attention, and by adopting the engineered construct of multicult, you think you have found the answer to never being proved wrong and people always thinking great of you. You adopt the position of the snivelly sneak.

You espouse open borders and the destruction of every race and tribe, the African Masai Mara and Amazonian Indians whose territories are crucial to their survival as a distinct people who spawned a distinct culture, would be destroyed by your policies.

You see, you are the hater, you have so much hate and anger within yourself, that you turn that hatred on White Europeans in the form of disguised multiculturalism, which is passed off as humanitarian, but is in fact anti-humanitarian. You get to vent your anger and frustration on whites, (because that is who you hate the most) while wanting the accolade of Mr. most holy multicult.

You and your l’il sidekick firend that you lefties always reach for in arguments, (because as stated, you are the weak snivellers, who have to get by by trying to engineer a playing field that suits you) are a danger to good and natural families and people the world over.

• Martin,

Ah yes, I asked you a few little easy questions about how you plan to implement your destructive no nations no borders (actually criminal policy) ideas and all you could do (as usual and very expected) was avoid answering and just shout hater.

Predictable. So you are engaging in very irresponsible support for policies that mean the suffering and death of millions and you have nothing to say for yourself or to explain how it works.

Because buddy, you are a hater, a selfish person, whose sole reason for supporting all this new religion of multicult is for self aggrandisement and popularity, meanwhile real people suffer and die…well done.

• Well said, Leo.

• Also, when you’re going somewhere and the chap doesn’t know the way it’s easier to direct him by the quickest and cheapest route. Whereas some boyo who knows “the shortcut” is more likely to lead you astray and screw you. I have to say, anecdotally of course, that I find Irish cab drivers to be much more annoying than foreign ones. The foreign lads rarely shitetalk, nothing worse than a shitetalking cab driver.

• Perhaps one that rapes and beats you half to death is a tad worse. As happens in other countries where immigration policy has far advanced into the late stages of necrosis, and which we are merrily following to our detriment. With idiots like you championing the cause.

• Oh, I get ya, foreign taxi drivers are rapists? Oh wait, you actually didn’t qualify that. You said all foreigners are rapists? Is it the different accent that makes them rape? Or is the colour of their skin? You’ll have to remind me because, well I’m not a big fat racist like yourself and wouldn’t know :-D Knew a lad once who was raped by a group of Irish guys once though, but I’m sure they were just wearing Irish people masks, those pesky foreigners, they’re so tricky :)

• Martin

Try statistics. Statistics across Europe bare it out, not a big fan of facts and news then are you l’il guy. And you are supporting that trend coming here.
      Keep shouting racist, I am sure in your cirlces it qualifies as making you right and feel better about your inadequate self, but I am not convinced.

Somehow shouting racist while not making any argument, just does not convince people with a brain.

• (Whisper)

quick Martin, thumb my comments down, it will make you feel like a big man and not inadequate for about 10 seconds. Quick now.

• Where are your statistics? List the links for me please.

• That’s as good as saying our guaranteed Irish logo is also racist!! Bulls**t. We’re free to choose where to shop, eat, drink, Etc Etc. why are we not free to choose who drive us home.. Support Irish.

• Well I hope that’s not the message you got from “guaranteed Irish”. Thats to support local/national business and improve our economy, not to say “purchase this cause a black dude made the other one”

• Again please excuse my commentinng from over the other side of the Irish Sea. It seems ot me this is the pan-European project in a nutshell. ‘They make the rules, and those rules are in line with one-world New Age principles. If you join up you must obey them or face sanction.
    Does bigotry exist? Of course it exists here and there in some people some of the time. Do they think it does not exist in the countries some people come from originally? If it is so bad why would people want to live in your country?
    How on earth can it be right to sanction indigenous people in their own country for effectively flying their own flag and being proud to be Irish? I don’t think the governments of countries where immigrants hail from originally would dare to act in such a way even if they wanted to.
    Here’s where the news gets worse however. Just how long do you think you will be flying your proud flag over your ‘own’ government buildings? Has this German-led EU – it was once just a ‘common market’ for participating states remember – not got its own flag, anthem, army and parliament now?
    I reckon most people did not realise what they were signing up for, that they hadn’t bargained for this. I know the vast majority hadn’t here in Britain. The politicians? You don’t get on now unless you’re ‘on message’. And as the faceless, unelected beaurocrats in Brussels hold the purse strings, they must either do as their told or face the boot, and the loss of privilages and position with it.
    We in Britain have consistently not been given the chance to vote either for or against membership of this entirely new ‘country’ called Europe. We voted once in the 1970s but that was for joining a common European Market, not what it has become. And our politicians, on all sides, forever find ways to not allow us a vote today because they know very well that there would be a big majority in favour of getting out of the whole wretched project. That day can’t come soon enough for me.
    Germany has sought a single European state since it became a unified nation in 1870. It’s aim has often been stated down the decades and Angela Merkel has repeated it lately. And guess who is at the centre of this new entity?
    Whose Exchange Rate do you think was used for the Euro? Ireland’s? Portugal’s? Greece’s? Spain’s? Italy’s? Do you think Germany would have accepted Ireland’s rate. That would have suited Ireland and other smaller nations far better. Of course not, it is effectively Germany’s rate, set to suit the German economy. Well that’s fine, makes perfect sense. As long as you’re German that is.
    I do not condone wanton bigotry but there is a difference surely between that and people in their own homeland, the land of their ancestors, identifying themselves with their own country. What next? Ban flags at international matches? Ban ‘made in Ireland’ stickers? Who on earth are our elected representatives working for and in whose interests?

• Germany sought to unify German lands, nothing more since the 1800’s. Britain and France always interfered with German right to have it’s German people in one nation as France and Britain had, the 2 declared war on Germany many times for that reason, for their own position of staying more powerful.

The modern Germany is NOT the Germany of the 1930’s, what an inaccuracy. The marxists have taken over Germany, their Martin Schultz is an extreme leftist, who espouses marxist socialist principles. The single europe you are talking about is what the socialists have been dreaming of, to counter their capitalist nemesis, the U.S.

And they are currently in power, the president of the EU, the un-elected Manuel Barrosso used to be a Maoist, one of the most horrendous and virulent strains of the marxist disease. The EU is marxist and can effectively be called the EUSSR.
      Oppose multiculturalism (a marxist tool thought up in the Frankfurt school) and you are labelled a thought criminal, oppose immigration policy and you are an enemy of the state fit for execution or the gulags, and believe me, if this extreme leftists did not have the laws and rules of the state artificially warped in their favour, they would try to kill people like me, and any who did not agree with them, any way they could.

1930’s Germany sought to throw off the shackles of international banker debt slavery, they did that, they implemented their own money system, and the globalist bankers were not happy, that system and rogue state had to end and not be allowed to ever be an example to others. Hence the WW2 and the lies and vilification by the corrupt victors ever since.
      Modern EU is a marxist extreme socialist beast, in hoc to globalism and the international bankers (especially wall st and the likes of Goldman Sachs) nothing else.

• Green taxis rock! Nothing wrong with them at all.

• dubsy 15/05/12 #

It’s a joke, right…?

• dubsy
      No unfortunately it is not a joke !
      I am all for being able to pick and choose who drives me home or anywhere, especially as I am paying for the service, and I do not have to explain my reasons to anyone . And people can take that to mean anything they want to make out of it ….

• I take it that’s sarcasm?

• Racism?

Surely there would be none of that in FG also?
    Today is not a good day for FG then!
    FG Aine Collins is insulted a Russian economist here in Ireland by telling him “the best thing he can do is get on a plane back to Moscow”.

…Then she gave out that she can’t live on her €140K salary a year.
    (Thats €92,672 wages and the rest expenses)
    She says she don’t know how she already claimed €50,000 in expenses already!

http://www.politics.ie/forum/fine-gael/188555-daily-mail-fine-gael-td-says-its-not-easy-140k-year-tells-gurdgiev-go-home.html

More FG do as i say – not as I do!

• o ffs!!!

• Emmie 15/05/12 #

Xenophobia, the word of the day!

• An irrational fear of the alien (foreigner)

Now why would that be the word of the day. Fear of Ireland following the trends of death, suffering, and crime due to multicult policies of immigration, are well founded, and are bearing out in Ireland at present.

So it is right to fear what is in reality actually happening, and will bring terrible consequences for future years. So, I wonder why that would be the word of the day, I see no irrationality in wanting to protect your own country and people, the world over.

Perhaps, yes abusing this word is reason enough for it to be word of the day and century. Now all together…..racist, racist, racist. Burn the racist, blasphemer, burn the racist blasphemer.

• I am Irish, I live in Ireland, when I get a taxi I expect to be able to have an Irish person. It is nice to see and speak to people of my own kind, my own nationality and background and who are from the same ancestral lineage as myself, in a world where in Dublin one is surrounded and bombarded with foreign accents, which is quite stressful (and known by psychologists to be very stressful). It is nice to know who and what I am dealing with, when I get into an Irish taxi.

In the future this will be increasing less so.

• Dublin is the new London. I left Dublin for London 15 years ago, its a different place today to then. The old Dublin is gone,i think forever, for me when im home it just reminds me of London. Everyone is in a hurry in the city.

• Actually never LOLLED as much at anything in my life. The foreign accent is know by psychologists to be stressful? Was the psychologist called Dr Nick? Are you actually for real, your syntax is strange, I actually think you might be a non-native English speaker. A foreigner perhaps :O

• Martin,

Well done for lolling. It is a fact that humans are happier and more at ease amongst their own kind. A list of the least stressful and most stressful places in Britain bares this out, with the happiest people and places being those where the population is mostly homogenous.

Martin you are a computer no-life experience geek, LOLLING other people into oblivion who have to put up with the consequences of your irresponsible criminal support for immigration policy.

There is no justification for not having strict border control in this country, and all those who support otherwise are directly culpable in the deaths and suffering caused to the Irish people caused by increased competition for resources and crime caused by immigration that would have been preventable. So Martin keep LOLLING sitting comfy behind your computer, while Irish people suffer and die. People can now see what kind of people support immigration. Thanks for that window.

• Here Martin, here is some of your pathetic medicine back at you.

LOL at Martin, the little no-life-experience geek, has no argument and has to frantically race to thumb down my argument.

Here I will go one better Martin….LMFAO, pathetic little wimp.

• It’s a fact humans are happier amongst their own kind, where is the proof for that statement? I would agree with it as in you’re happy around people who share the same values, sense of humour and outlook on life. None of those things are dictated by race however.

Your second paragraph indicates the true nature of the troll is subtle. A no life experience geek? Aww, thanks :)

And what sort of person am I that supports immigration? By the way, when Irish people emigrated, do you think the people who racially abused them, no blacks, no irish, etc., was that correct then? Because they didn’t want any weird smelly Irish people wrecking their homogenous culture? Do you know anyone who shares your point of view by the way? Are they also a psychologist?

• Yep, you got me. I’m crying into my copy of Star Trek Monthly :(

• Come on Kathleen

reveal your true identity, new facebook account. I’ve never seen you on any other thread so me is thinking that you are a a fascist blueshirt yourself.

• Racist, racist, racist, nazi, nazi, nazi.

Uhuh, when you have no argument, just shout and repeat the above.

The Irish like every other indigenous people on the planet have a right to a territory to call their own, without it, our people and culture die. Without it, we become like New York. A same everywhere, same everything. We become a nothing people, just mass consumer morons, cheap moveable labour and Ireland becomes an airport terminal, just unrelated masses of clinical, cold people moving from a to b, no homliness, no settled niceness.

Support for immigration is anti-humanity. Fight globalism, no nations no border people are puppets of the elite, (they are the only ones, in the long run, who will gain from immigration) Instead of fighting for multicult you should be fighting for every country to attain fulfillment of life, and prosperity for their own countries. This stops immigration and stops international banking speculators. Iran, Iraq, Germany have all tried to do this, they all succeeded and were destroyed for being free of the international debt slavery system. If the global elites thought extreme commie socialists (where multicult originated) were a threat to them, then why have they not demonised them, why do they not censor them, why do they give them free reign, because extreme left multicult, is the puppet and tool of the the elite. Just look at the fruits, it is working.
      Support for nationalism is the greatest thing they fear. I support European, African and Asian nationalists, where they accord with human dignity and freedom. Multicult is tyranny and eventual total enslavement.

• Ann

In case you hadn’t noticed FG are not blueshirts today. If they were you would have an independent Ireland, not in the EU and with very strict border control. We woul dbe trading well with the 3rd world, and helping them help themselves get out of the international banker debt slavery system, which is now devouring the US and Europe.

It may well help you to know that those who support multiculturalism are in fact destroying the 3rd world, and now us too, while also making the international bankers and corporations even richer and more powerful.

One has to ask Martin, who is an extreme socialist how he feels about being the tool, the puppet of the capitalists and big business. IBEC love the extreme left multiculturalists. They hate nationalists. Nationalists means true freedom for the individual, family, nation, race and humanity. That is why capitalists attack it.

• Martin says

“when Irish people emigrated, do you think the people who racially abused them, no blacks, no irish, etc., was that correct then? Because they didn’t want any weird smelly Irish people wrecking their homogenous culture? Do you know anyone who shares your point of view by the way? Are they also a psychologist?”

firstly Irish people are very closely related to British people both genetically and culturally, for millenia. Irish people emigrating to UK is simply adding the same or very similar type of people to the British. Europeans in the context of themselves, differ, but in comparison to the rest of the world, we are related more closely culturally and ancestrally than to any people or race outside of Europe. Same goes for all the other nations and races.

Irish people fought in Britains wars, helped build their nation for millenia, the Irish going to Britain is not the same as non-Europeans moving into Britain, we do not change either the genetic or cultural make-up of that country. Irish should not be abused in UK. But also Britain does not have to tolerate millions of Irish going to Britain. British jobs should be for British ethnic people first, they built that country, they have a right to it. The Irish out of any other people should then be allowed to a certain extent to live and work in UK, for the reasons stated.
      Non-Europeans moving there is completely different and there is no comparison with Irish people there who are ancestrally and culturally similar to the British. As are all Europeans.

There is no need to abuse anyone, stricter borders simply need to be enforced.

You have neglected to answer any of my questions put to you.

• Kathleen.
      Do you think Irish people should not be allowed to live and work in other countries?

• Ttable Whey

Nations should be allowed to protect themselves, it might be nice for middle class world travellers and self regarding cosmopolitan types to boast at dinner tables of worldly experiences. But for the vast majority of people, life is not like it is on TV. There are very serious consequences that result in death and suffering for the native population from immigration. Every nation of people has a territory that was hard won, and for a reason, without it they would not exist, without this Irish territory, we will die out, it is already underway, whites are 10% of world population and decreasing fast, many UK cities have now white minorities, the cockney accent has is now extinct from london, taken over by the new Londoners, who have their afro-carribean culture and accent. The trend is set for the extinction of white european cultures and peoples. Look forward to more London race riots. I guarantee you that. You have been warned, do not complain, when it is your reality.

I do not agree with numbers of Irish going into any nation that would change the essential genetic and cultural character of any nation. I would not advocate 100s of 1000s of Irish living and working in Nigeria or in an amazon Indians tribal territory…would you?

• Kathleen Moynihan 15/05/12 #

Was actually siding with you there for a while Kathleen. although Martin himself makes excellent points too…………….. but the tirade about Germany and WW2 etc is just laughable……. Martin actually had you tagged right from the start!! Disgraceful!!!

• Inherently racist to indicate that u are Irish , so where does that leave the ” guarenteed Irish logo and campaign, we can say our dead cattle are better , but our live taxi drives have to take their chances,

• I feel dirty agreeing with Leo but he’s right.

• Ah, and here we come to the nub of Martins dysfunction he says: “I feel dirty”

Martin feels dirty all the time you see, which explains his compulsion to belong to the new church of the multicult, it makes him feel clean and like a good person inside, all he has to do is shout racist and nazi, and burn the racist, burn the racist, and he smothers those inadequate feelings and dirty feelings, he gets a hit, and feels clean for a while, but every once in a while the anger and self loathing come pouring out, and he lashes out in pure frustration.

that is why we so-called racists exist, a punchbag for l’il poor Martin to vent his very angry self. Poor Martin.

• Let’s assume for one minute you’re not a troll. In that case you’re confused. I’m not even remotely angry. The only emotion I feel towards you is pity :)

Add New Comment