TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Irish bar and hostel owner in Australia refuses to take Irish backpackers

Thomas Dunne says that the latest incident involving potential criminal damage to his establishment was “the last straw”.

O'Duinn's Irish pub adjoins the hostel in Queensland.
Image: Facebook

AN IRISH HOSTEL owner and publican in the Australian state of Queensland has said he will no longer take in Irish backpackers due to a number of drunken and disorderly incidents in recent years.

Dublin-born Thomas Dunne has told the Irish Echo in Australia that a number of incidents have caused problems for the Irish community in the area with damaged property leading in some cases to the arrest of Irish backpackers who stay in the Main Street Backpackers hostel in Proserpine.

Many of the backpackers stay there while working locally in farms for five months in order to secure a second working visa in Australia.

“Over the last three years the Irish backpacker has taken over the mantle [in behaviour] so we take less each year,” he told the paper. “The Irish are the only ones to have caused deliberate damage.”

Dunne, who with his wife and three children, have been running the adjoining O’Duinn’s Bar since 2006 said there are no issues with the bar but there had been an increasing number of incidents including one where two men were arrested and charged for damage done to the accommodation.

He told the Irish Echo that the incident was “the last straw” adding that they won’t be taking any more Irish backpackers.

For more, read the full interview on the Irish Echo website >

Read: Some young people in Australia ‘giving Irish workers a bad name’

Read next:

Comments (98 Comments)

• A friend of my came back from oz for a wedding a he was telling me that in Sydney and Perth the Irish are really starting to make a very bad name for themselves because of drunkenness and the antisocial behaviour that goes with it.

• Very true. I experienced the same anti-Irish attitude in Spain recently. A waitress mentioned how much trouble they have with the Irish and how abusive they get with her co-workers. An hour later I saw a group of 6/7 idiots from Ireland urinate on a restaurant window while people ate inside.

• Sounds just like some english, germans, dutch when i was in ibiza 2 swedish guys running down th street naked and drunk. When some people are on holiday sadly they do things they would not do at home. And that is every nationality.

• Aleo 29/06/12 #

I take your point, Mark, but Australia is more than a holiday destination for the Irish now. People have to understand that if they want a future there, behaviour like this will affect it.

• I’m guessing that a lot of the Traveller community will appreciate the irony of all this… ‘you’re Irish – we had some of your lot causing trouble here last week, so you’re banned’

• So Paula – a waitress just happened to mention to you “how much trouble they have with the Irish”. I’ve never heard such rubbish in my entire life. You get better with each comment…. and then you saw a group of 6/7 idiots from Ireland urinate on a restaurant window. I live in Spain and I have never once seen any antics like that in my time here and also I spend a lot of time eating out in a major city. Service staff actually really love Irish people because they give extremely large tips as the locals usually leave a few cent.

Your hate filled comments are bordering on racist so I’d tread carefully!

Why don’t you tell us where you are really from then or do we have to find out?

• Firstly my name is Paula. Secondly I shared a genuine experience. The village in question was named Los Abrigos, a well known village for restaurants. The waitress asked myself and a few other friends where were we from, when we said Ireland she told us they had a lot of ‘experiences’ with Irish people. When pressed further, she explained that they get very drunk and abuse her staff, which require them to call the local police. As for the urinating on the window of a restaurant, that was as we drove by…all Irish guys, in their mid 20s, urinating against a very large window. Don’t you dare threaten me you ridiculous man, my comments are not bordering on racist in any form. If you don’t like my comments don’t read them.

• Firstly nobody threatened you. I am assuming that by your constant bile filled comments about Irish people in general (well documented on this site) that you couldn’t possibly be Irish unless you are taking self loathing to another level. Classifying a race of people in general as drunks, idiots and clowns is racist whether you disagree or not.

• Dave 29/06/12 #

Paula, you only ever comment on Journal articles when the subject matter is the behaviour of Irish people. I cant really take you seriously when you seem singularly obsessed by this subject.

• Dave 29/06/12 #

Jaysus Paula, there’s a lot of paddies-pissing-on-windows where ever you go! You said the same about Krakow just a few weeks back! I’ve been all over the world too Paula, and while some Irish have left me a tad red in the face at their shit talk, and their belief that their GAA county colours are actually recognised anywhere outside Ireland (or that anybody even cares) i’ve never once seen any such behaviour. Not once. Not anywhere. On the flip side, every Aussie bar i’ve ever been in Europe has been full of pissed up agressors. nn

• Lots of uneducated Irish that go abroad. That’s why most of them cause trouble. The little percentage of well educated Irish who’s over on Oz are alright.

• Is he banning the Ballygowan drinkers too..Not all us Irish are p..s artists and I disassociate myself from cretins either at home or abroad. They transcend nationalities and territories.

• I know a couple of people who’ve ‘emigrated’ to Oz,just so they had an excuse to go on the piss 4 a year and left paid employment to do so.

• I came to oz 4 years ago, all along we wer’nt seen as a threat as we were only backpackers!
    Now due to recession there is a huge amount of irish here in oz!
    Half that would have never stepped on the plane here if all was good still in Ireland. Hats off to them…
    But now Perth’s and oz peoples backs are up due to the huge influx of Irish contribution to anti social behaviour and “taking all the jobs” mentality.
    We are here to stay!
    But I do wish that the younger kids coming over could have a bit more sense and not think they are untouchable coz all the blaggarding catches up with ya after their 1st year of madness!
    I learnt the hard way lol :)

• Lynda very fair comment and in no way a strange one! Unfortunately some Irish people take things too far with the booze- but as an Irishman living in London just try and go to any walkabout bar and see how the aussies behave. If i was to generalise i would say the Aussies are a lot more aggressive with drink in them, whereas the Irish do more stupid less aggressive things when flutered. Still prefer to be Irish any day. This hostel owner is a disgrace coming out saying all this about the Irish- not once does he say a good word about us there are plenty of good Irish workers in oz, i know because my friends and I were some of them. I wonder if the hostel owner is Paula’s ex husband????? :-)

• If an Irish pub banned English / Nigerians / Poles delete as appropriate there would be uproar.

• Unfortunately with the vast amount of people going to Oz this is to be expected. However it is a shame to tar everyone with the same brush.

• Scarr 29/06/12 #

Maybe he should start taking credit card details at checkin as opposed to letting the guys and girls get sauced in his bar then wreck his rooms without any comeback.

• No Irish or dogs allowed. Bit unfair on dogs though as they usually behave themselves.

• While I’m sure the owner will get some grief on the legal/discrimination front, the fact remains that no business owner pulls away from a chunk of its customer base for fun. In the State a few years back, I saw the damage done by a bunch of Irish students to rented accomodation and it was mortifying. And these weren’t your classic “gougers” either – they were the privileged offspring of the southside’s finest. I know that bad attitude and a sense of rebellion are part-and-parcel of the teenage psyche the world over, but there is only so much a business can put up with.

• Substitute ‘the craic’ for alcohol. I agree. We Irish ( generalising I know) have a very unhealthy relationship with this drug. It is at every family event , social event and is advertised and pushed on us. Until we as a society have a proper grown up informed discussion about alcohol , we will continue to be controlled and identified by it. I feel the red thumbs already but ask yourself first … Do non drinkers have the craic ?????

• cimada 29/06/12 #

Ah sure I only drink every few months and very rarely do I drink much when I do! Of course sometimes I get carried away … But having said that I’m the only one in my social circle who can drink but doesn’t really, aside from that I know a few recovering alcoholics who abstain! I can’t believe the folk who drink excessively every week can be having that much more craic than sober folk… It’s overrated

• I defend our right to have a few beers and enjoy the lighter side of life but I have come to the conclusion recently that the Irish really do have a bad relationship with alcohol. Up to recently it would all have been good ‘craic’ but in the modern world we are starting to look like a right bunch of eejits. e.g Ireland get hammered in Euro 2012 ” sure ’tis alright lads, ‘lets go to the pub and get pissed’.

• In fairness the Irish were applauded for there great nature in gdanks and poznan,did you see the people of Poznan before the Spain England semi final,they were all dressed in Irish gear,singing Irish songs.A minority might give us a bad name but don’t underestimate the great reputation of a good natured people we still have.

• “but don’t underestimate the great reputation of a good natured people we still have.” You don’t travel much do you

• paula where exactly do u go that the irish are hated soo much?i think the we did ourselves proud in Poland as the video on youtube shows ‘poznanian continue to miss the irish’.it was in the fanzone before the spain v portugal game.we all got on great with the locals yes maby a few fools but everywhere gets that!so what if we sang after losing the game,would you rather we trashed the stadium, started a riot??cop on,it was fun and got the whole world talking about how great the irish supporters are a bit of good news for this country for once

• Aleo 29/06/12 #

All things in moderation! Anyone who drinks without knowing his or her limits will sooner or later become a liability to those who go out to enjoy themselves. The problem is the effect alcohol can have on our good nature – especially the long-term effects on mental health, since alcohol acts as a depressant.

• Gerard 29/06/12 #

@paulannAre u even Irish? Your negativity and bitterness is astounding, time to get yourself a life me thinks

• you should have gone to the Redback tavern in London [now closed I think due to regular violence] – full of Aussies, Kiwis and South Africans – horrible place

This is not a phenomenon unique to Irish people..we’re to sensitive about this nonsense. Lived in Oz myself and this is a fringe issue

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1084454/Pub-10-drink-night-attacked-MPs-ban-happy-hours-bid-curb-binge-drinking.html

• Jim 29/06/12 #

Got in a taxi in the Irish part of Yonkers in New York last year and the the first thing the taxi driver said to me was what are you doing sending all your drug addicts over here for. I had a chat with him and he loves the Irish but didn’t like the ones that were coming over lately.

• The best thing Irish people can do is boycott Mr Dunnes pub, im sure they line his pocket with lots of cash. Boycott the place, let him have an Irish pub with no Irish in it. Hit him in his pocket.

• Oh yeah no issues with the bar. Take their money and keep serving them till they are plastered then complain about the consequences. Get off the bandwagon. Alot of anti irish stuff coming out of australia and new zealand lately. Nice bit of free advertising in the local paper.

• Ara sure we are all lovely, falling around and singing after we lose football games. Sure the whole world loves us, we are great altogether, the happiest clowns in the world. Everyone loves the Irish!…Yeah right, unfortunately the Irish are disliked and feared throughout Europe, never mind Australia. Drunk, arrogant, loud yobs falling around causing mayhem is what we are seen as.

• don’t believe everything you read…. you Cant tar everyone with the same brush…. a minority ruining it for the majority…. all very true but this was in the local Irish paper. have a sister in Perth and she was tellin me how most letting agencies now refuse to take on Irish backpackers cause of the damage done by previous Irish piss heads. there is good and bad everywhere you go…. was one of those piss heads myself for a couple of years out there… but from what i have heard from long term Irish in Sydney and Perth is things are gettin out of control. no smoke without fire they say…. would still love to go back though!!!

• The Irish are disliked and feared throughout Europe, Paula Cop on, every country in the world has a minority of people that over step the mark just like the irish. We have thousands of people from Australia here in London on 1 year visas, and yes a minority of them do get pissed and fight and trash the apartments they are staying in.

• i wonder if any of his younger relations or friends kids come over from ireland if he’ll ban them too, or smuggle them into the hostel under the cover of darkness. Plenty of bridges burned there methinks. And alot of bad press aswell.

And as it has been said already, he can’t have it both ways, he either ban them from the pub aswell, or ban any other nationality that has caused any problems either, regardless. I bet there were plenty of others aswell.

• I’ve relations in Australia and the general feeling is that a small minority of Irish are causing plenty of problems! It says a lot when Irish business owners abroad refuse to deal with Irish. It is only the minority who ruin it for the majority! Irish workers not turning in to work and being dishonest about qualifications in order to get work! I don’t blame Australian/ Irish employers.

• No evidence at all Begrudgy that Thomas Dunne’s bar served alcohol to them at all. Careful you’re not defending the indefensible….

• Paula, could you name the countries that we are disliked and feared in please. If you are going to say things like that, then you need to back it up with facts.

Now would you rather we fall around and sing after losing games, or go on a rampage and destroy things?

I know myself and others would prefer the former. And as for drunk, arrogant, loud yobs, you can throw every other country in that boat aswell, not just the irish, so that argument is invalid.

I don’t know what you have against the Irish, because every comment i have seen from you so far has be extremely negative against an entire nationality. If i did that against a country i’d be vilified for it, so don’t think you can say those things and get away with it.

• It is illegal for a bar server to serve alcohol to an intoxicated person in Australia. Because of this, bar servers DON’T knowingly serve alcohol to drunks.nThe trouble makers are probably doing what they do here. Buying drink at a bottle shop and drinking elsewhere.n

• Another of today’s stories is that our own public order problems are going down. Seems like all our problem people are emigrating.

• The owner of the Hostel has labelled all Irish as trouble makers yet he himself is irish. If others did the same wouldn’t he also be barred from local establishments.

• By ‘hostel’ you mean labour camp for Asian fruit pickers. That’s the actual farmer preferred occupant.

• I don’t drink through choice but I do on occasion go into bars with others who drink and I generally enjoy myself. The biggest enjoyment is watching the antics of those who have partook in a little to much. I must say that where I go I don’t see a great amount of idiocy.

• @ Dave “good ol Irish cyber-bullying” ? Have you been following her comments at all? She/he puts down anything that is Irish. You come along and try and defend her when i doubt you know the full story on her daily comments. For the record Paula, I myself have visited 24 countries around the world and have lived in 5, In the 22 years i’ve been travelling i have never known anyone to slate the Irish like you keep saying they do. In fact in my experience people adore the Irish.

• Ok so he is an Irish guy banning his fellow countrymen/women from his hostel. Fine, will he ban them from his bar too?? Doubt that!! Perhaps it’s the standard of accomadation that is attracting the wrong type of guest, shite accom = shite guest??

I wonder what the anti discrimination laws are like in Oz? Sure, why stop there ‘n go back to the days of No Dogs, Irish or Blacks and be done with it!! I’m sure that will go down well with the local Aborigines!!

• Paula I think there’s Irish people drinking now. It’s a bloody disgrace. Drinking and having fun. It makes me sick. Have they no shame…..

• Sadly it is something i hear alot in London from Irish people living here. They love to slag off and say negative things about ireland and its towns and cities and people. Why? I don’t know. I love Ireland i think it is a great country the people from Ireland like to put it down.

• 2 types of Irish abroad. Those following Irish soccer who were brought up to show respect for people and property. The others were celtic cubs who feel life owes them. They had no respect at home and as recession bites they move abroad in groups to continue as before. For many of them life will eventually deliver a harsh lesson as mummies and daddies wont be in a position to pick up the pieces!

• it must have been difficult for this man to come out and say what he did.nobody wants to publicly thrash their own people .but if he had half a brain he would have just shut his mouth.he could easily have just stopped taking irish and said nothing.he seems to be on a mission.when the aussie economy collapses in a few years after the fall in commodaties comes he will be wishing he never offended anyone as he will need every customer he can possibly get.how dare he operate an irish pub and ban them from his hostel.dunce! i hope business fails.and that irish newspaper should think twice before publishing stories like that even if there was a small bit of truth behind it.it may well come back to haunt them sometime aswell

• you hope his business fails! bit much but that’s what I would expect from the Irish anyway. clearly he feels strongly about this issue to make the statement. maybe he is hoping it will help set the Irish over there on the right path. Does a man not have a right to state where he sees an issue anymore? typical Irish begrudgery

• The bad rap the Irish in Australia is getting have far more to do with Australian tabloid newspapers sensationalist shite than anything..
    Remember Murdoch is (was) Australian and owns a lot of the newspapers.
    Im fairly sure that backpacker place is not legally allowed to discriminate on nationality anyway

• Why all the red thumbs? If you had been in Australia you would know how the media there just love to get outraged at anything. The Aussie media love to complain.
      I know this because I am Australian
      Whether it has anything to do with the truth has very little to do with it. You simply cant blame a whole nationality for one trait or any particular behaviour – that’s called rascism

• INM own a lot of papers in Australia. Australians are not racist.

• yes,agreeing with some comments above,surely the owner is leaving himself open to some discrimination law suits?he can reserve the right of admission to any individual/group of people but not blanket banning entire races..

• My sister told me this, my brother told me this, oh i know friends who went over, oh i know a friend of a friend, oh my brothers friend. Until you have actually been to oz, you don’t really know what its like. Yes there are piss heads who take the mick but in general its fine. Its mainly a small minority who cause trouble. The media always blow it out of proportion.

• Agreed. You can rest assured the trouble makers are: (a) Farming just taking advantage of the visa extension to stay an extra year. (b) Not suitably qualified to be sponsored into a qualifying job within Australia. (c) Will have to leave Australia within the year.

• * left Ireland

• But they were only signing “the fields of athenry”

• nope I refuse to believe its our fault, shure arnt we the friendliest, nicest people ever, planet earths drunken mascots

• I don’t know how you can stick living here Paula, with all the abusive drunks and dumb sheep you are surrounded by. Seems, from your comments on a few stories, that you can’t go a day without an Irish-specific misanthropic rage overtaking you

• Kevin when i read her comments the word Bitter, angry comes to mind.

• Aleo 29/06/12 #

If objecting to abusive behaviour makes people “bitter and angry”, I’m afraid Australia may soon prove a very bitter, angry country where our minority of troublemakers are concerned. We might then try the same trick of attempting to label the whole country antisocial and puritanical, but I’m not sure that will work as well as expected.

• Aleo, Paula is not just objecting to bad behaviour, she is labelling all Irish as the same, when it is untrue. She says The Irish are seen as Drunk, arrogant, loud yobs falling around causing mayhem, disliked and feared throughout Europe. It is just ridiculous thing to say and so wrong.

• nobody for the pub then ;-)

• Stayed in that place in 2008, it was boring as fk tbh. And very expensive in comparison to the others around it.

• Let’s see how long that lasts! As it stands Australia farming industry needs us because the ozzies won’t work for bucket rate or min wage! When he realises how much he needs there money for rent he will take us back!

• Ah but didn’t you see in the article the farm owners only want Koreans now!!! And I wouldn’t be surprised if said farm owners are paying said Koreans LOWER than minimum wage (disclaimer that I cannot prove any of this, just my opinion). And if they can get someone to work for lower than minimum they ain’t gonna hire the Irish who will at least be looking for minimum. Can’t say that in this day and age many Irish would work for less than minimum wage. We have been brought up to expect it as a standard, and go to places like Aus knowing that they do have a min wage system in place, therefore expect that that is the least we will be paid. But there are people from other countries (and Korea may be one I don’t know) who will work for any money rather than having non, and therefore can be exploited by unscrupulous employers.

And it appears that this Irish fellow goes hand in hand with the farm owners, I read that the farm owners said to him they only wanted Koreans so he sent them 40 Koreans!!!!!

I do think he has caused a storm out of something that need not have been one. Yes there are Irish who behave badly abroad, but as are their British, French, Italian etc, even Australians themselves. Refusing to take an entire nation of people is going to come back to bite him in the arse methinks.

• This guy should be prosecuted for race hate crimes I don’t give a crap who or what has caused problems in his establishment. How dare he discriminate against Irish people what a dick!

• BEER TITS IRELAND nRomantic Irelands dead and gone….. n

• Paula just tell them what they want to hear we are moderate drinkers very quiet and respectful are fashion is the best Grey track suits ect.nAre girls are much nicer than those ugly Eastern Europeans and our Priest are wonderful and civilized the world.We do not litter it’s them dirty Germans and we are finically keeping Europe on the straight and narrow

• Paula is entitled to her opinions and your comment is not going to change that. If Paula has had some bad experiences then she is perfectly within her right to state them on the comment section but insults will only re-iterate her point. I think you proved that with your comment, but then again, that’s just MY opinion

• Dave 29/06/12 #

Dave, of course she’s entitled to an opinion, but when she EXCLUSIVELY comments on items where there is any chance, however remote, to slag off Irish people, then people tend to call BS on it.

• She’s entitled to her own opinion, but when she slags off an entire country of people on a consistant basis, then she has to expect it to be thrown right back at her.

• some good ol Irish cyber-bullying. No wonder Paula has this opinion.

• Have ye seen the article that irelands getting a reward for there support in polland ??? FairPlay to the Irish and be proud :)

Add New Comment