TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Irish language community slam merger of Language Commissioner

In a letter to the Irish Times, 33 people say they “expect” the government not to merge the commissioner with the Ombudsman.

Irish language enthusiasts mark the launch of Windows XP in Irish in 2005. The Irish Language community has attacked plans to merge the Language Commissioner with the Ombudsman.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

33 LEADING MEMBERS of Ireland’s Irish language community have called on the Government to abandon proposals to merge the functions of the Language Commissioner with the Office of the Ombudsman.

The government announced proposals to scrap the Coimisinéir Teanga, and add its functions to that of the regular Ombudsman, in November as part of its plans to rationalise the number of so-called ‘quangos’.

The decision was later confirmed by the junior minister for Gaeltacht Affairs, Dinny McGinley, in the Dáil in late November.

The commissioner’s duties include making sure public bodies comply with the Official Languages Act and investigate complaints where bodies are alleged to have failed in these duties, as well as offering advice to public bodies regarding their duties under the act.

In a letter published in today’s Irish Times, the community said merging the two institutions could actually cost more money than it would save, and pointed out that the current commissioner Seán Ó Cuirreáin has been appointed until 2016.

His tenure means the government could have to buy him out of his contract, or face potential legal action if he was to be made redundant.

“Indeed, An Bord Snip Nua when it looked at the office identified no efficiencies to be made and made no recommendation to alter the status of the office of the language commissioner as an independent office,” the group said.

They also pointed to the fact that all political parties had backed the 20-year strategy for the Irish language, laid down by the previous government in 2010, and that closing the commissioner’s office would “undermine the strategy and goodwill behind it”.

The letter is signed by representatives from Údarás na Gaeltachta, Seachtain na Gaeilge, Conradh na Gaeilge, Oireachtas na Gaeilge, Comhaltas, students’ union representatives and legal figures.

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• Put Des Bishop in charge of the Irish language, his enthusiasm got me started!

• They can have all the public bodies and quangos they want, or merge as they want, but nothing will change until we change the way Irish is taught in schools.

If we want to revive the Irish language we literally have to rip up the page and try something radical. No child learns a language through a book.

Lived in Spain for a few years and studied Spanish in a college where there was no English, nor any other language spoken, even for beginners. I learnt it the way a child does. Listening to native speakers speaking their mother tongue. Books shouldn’t be introduced until 4th or 5th class in National School.

Naturally children from An Gaeltacht could be treated differently but if we want to keep our language we have to do something new. And soon.

• Teaching the language in schools has changed vastly. What needs to change is the attitude of the Irish public towards 1 of their native languages. General public were going crazy & were v proud when Barack Obama said “Is feidir linn” yet the vast majority still b^tch about the language.

• Saw your bit€h thing. Wonder could we curse in Irish Margaret? We should go for that that, maybe? :-)

But seriously I think generally there is a lot of goodwill towards the Irish language but looking at homework still too much emphasis on spelling and tenses. They “beat” the love out of the kids instead of encouraging it. I really think they should have more focus on oral Irish.

• Have History, Geography, French, Physics etc etc never been taught by bad teachers or “beaten into” suffering children? Is the Irish curriculum so uniquely hopeless or are irish teachers so singularly unpleasant that children are scarred for life for having gone through the experience? Or is there a post-colonial inferiority complex that tends to disdain that which marks us out from other “more modern” culture, such as our language and our sports? (One of my daughters just told me Irish is her favourite subject and my other kids like it too). I’d say it’s mostly about attitude.

• A Jeasus Charles do we have to start at it again! i thought you had hit the laba!

• Question Charles.
      How come a child can study the Irish language from the start of Primary level ’till the completion of second level at the hands of our educational system and emerge not being able to conduct a coherent conversation in the language?

• Leaba John. He obviously wasn’t beaten enough Charles. AGOA. That’s lol as Gaeilge.

• Irish College did it for me. Once you start to think in a language you get fluent in it pretty quickly. Whatever happened to the fainne?

• Me too Charles. The only one of my kids that can follow my husband and I when we talk in our Irish code is the one that spent 3 weeks in an gaeltacht. My point entirely. Thank you Charles.

• Thanks Reada,kind of weird to be on the same side but in a good way.John,how come kids can study Maths from primary to Leaving Cert and not be able to do long division,or study Geography and not be able to find Bulgaria on a map,or….. ?

• Charles. I know I’m considered a leftie and I hope you won’t be offended if I suggest you’d be considered a rightie, but I love when we can all find things in common too. There’s hope for our world yet.

Forget about yer man. Doubt he has the same stamina as us too. He can’t even spell leaba fgs. AGOA! Slân.

• @Reada and Charles: get a room yer making me sick!

• I know Busting.
      Has to be stamped out.

• I object to the use of the term “Irish language community.”

Cainteoirí Béarla love playing divide and rule. We should not play their game #tacticsasoldaspeigsayers

• Sorry busting you’re right. One Journal romance is more than enough for now. We’ll leave the smooching to ted and easy

• Reada, I prefer conservative to rightie, PS I’m no great user of Gaeilge,and my wife is in charge of homework,but I think it’s essential that we keep the language alive.Theres no doubt it’s a complex language and can be difficult to learn, But its a beautiful and lyrical language too snd can be hugely rewarding once mastered.But there are many people who seem to loathe the language and if those people have school going kids who pick up on their parents’ negativity they are at serious risk of having a bad attitude to Irish.Imagine a dad saying to his adolescent son-”Maths is crap, sure all you need is a calculator.”Could that affect the son’s attitude to Maths?

• Oh that blasted Peig Sayers!
      I was forced through the compulsory application of this confounded and infernal language to be exposed to the pitiful bleating of this woman. Only that this tome of self indulgent wallowing in misery and hardship expressed through a ‘gra mo chroi’ and ‘pity us poor craw thumping paupers’ style was deservedly satirized by one of the best exponents of the native language – Flann O’Brian in his hilarious ‘An Beal Bocht’ would I have retained any respect for this language. How such a litany of misery and hardship could in anyway be thought to encourage any interest in or appeal for the native tongue confounds me.
      Only the Irish educational system could have envisaged that such a litany of misery could have engendered a love for a language on the verge of extinction.

• Charles. This must end now. I’m sorry but you’re from the wrong side of the track for me. ;)

• What a relief!

• Glad you didn’t reply ‘narrow escape’ or we’d all be doomed!

• I’m sick and bloody tired of always having to fight for our language in our own country. I’m sick at the lack of respect people have for our community, bloody tired of the lot of it

• If the only experience I had with Irish was in public discussion about it – talkshows and poltiical decisions and the like – I would be seriously gloomy about the language’s prospects. When I first moved down South I expected to find young people as negative and alienated from the language as the last generation seemingly was. I can’t speak for ten years ago, but what commentators and politicians seem to fail to realise is that Irish is actually pretty trendy right now. Young people carry a lot of the momentum of the ‘movement’, and though people still don’t speak good enough Irish when they leave school, in my experience they still feel positive about the language and are often confident enough to use what they have. Google and you’ll see some really clever and creative uses of the language – translating songs, several independent radio stations, a new social networking site dedicated to Irish and plenty of Irish spoken on Twitter too.
    Not everyone likes the language, but in my anecdotal experience young people are far less negative than their elders (especially once they’re a bit older and no longer worried about orals). I have to assume that part of that is to do with improvements in how it is taught, but I don’t know. And I’m not only speaking about Gaelscoil or middle class kids either. What concerns me is that it is older people who are disconnected from the language who gripe about us spending money on it. Urban Irish is probably in a better position today than it has been for a long time but I fear that future of the language is in the hands of people who don’t appreciate its importance.

• RG Cuan 07/01/12 #

This issue about An Coimisinéir Teanga simply shows that government isn’t that interested in Irish speakers or their rights. Merging the role with that of the Ombudsman will save no money whatsoever and will only deprive the Irish speaking community of a valuable service.

But whatever decisions governments make – both in favour and against the Irish language movement – it is the actions of Irish speakers ourselves that will make the most significant difference.

Tá pobal na Gaeilge ag fás gach lá, ní mór dúinn an dul chun cinn seo a chinntiú trí theacht le chéile ar bhealach i bhfad níos gníomhaí – labhraimis ár dteanga sa teach, san obair, sa leaba, sa tsráid agus, níos tábhachtaí ná aon rud eile, lenár bpáistí. Cinnteoidh muid féin todhchaí na teanga.

Bíodh misneach againn.

• Is probably going to cost more money than keeping it, however the commission helps enforce the official languages act which is something Fine Gael want to scale back, this is the real reason it’s being merged.

I didn’t study Irish in school so i don’t have the hatred some people seem to have. I agree wrh your man above, put Des Bishop in charge of Irish! Immersion is the only way, the teaching of it has changed and Peig is no longer a text and with an increased % on oral nowadays I believe kids wont grow up with the same disdain. However I think Irish should be split into a compulsory subject that is 80-90% spoken Irish and an optional Irish literature course. Lets get the childred speaking, i don’t care if they can’t read the Official Languages act, I care that they are able to have conversations outside the classroom and in the community, because that is the way to revive a language.

• Ní ceist teanga í seo, ach ceist phost an choimisinéara. Ní bhfaigheadh an teanga bás gan an gCoimisinéir, ach cuideoidh an Coimisinéir lena fás agus lena forbairt. Mura n-aontaíonn sibh go gcuideoidh, bígí ag caint faoi sin seachas beatha na teanga. Tá an teanga slán, láidir go ceann glúine nó dhó eile.

• The Minister himself said the move would probably cost money.

So what’s the real agenda?

• Real agenda is its one of many quangos we don’t need or can afford, so government is merging then quietly fading these out. ( sorry meant don’t really need, as in which is more important, beds in hospital or a special interest quango )

• I don’t think the senior partner in Government has much love for our language.It annoys me when Ministers refer to “Parliament” instead of the Oireachtas.Credit to Labour for standing up for compulsory Irish.

• Feic that!

• Keep shuffling those deckchairs, lads, almost there.

• So what , why isn’t irish just thought properly in the first instance , our European counterpart come out of primary school speaking English when we can bearley get students through pass irish for LC

• Attempting to revive a language through the school system is a waste of time. I hope someday people will come to their senses about this. A language can only be revived by being spoken in the home and the community.

• Merging all the quangos but still left with the same amount of staff left twiddling their thumbs

• Could we sell the language, there must be some oil rich former soviet country that requires a new mother tongue.

• Agus arís eile filleann comhra na mBéarlóirí ar Pheig bhocht! Ní dhearna an chuid is mó de dhaoine staidéar uirthi dála an scéil! Lig di fanacht as an gceann seo. Ceist an Choimisnéara atá anseo, agus cé gur lag atá Acht nadT is fearr sop measartha maith ná bheith gan scuab!

• How come we teach kids French for years, and they leave school unable to have a proper conversation in French? We should scrap French. Its all the teachers’ fault.

Add New Comment