TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Rabbitte: Closing Star over Kate pictures would be “nonsense”

The Communcations minister says Richard Desmond’s reaction to the Duchess of Cambridge photos is “completely disproportionate”.

The photographs of the Duchess of Cambridge - originally published in a French magazine - appeared on a two-page spread in Saturday's Irish Daily Star.

Updated, 11:46

THE COMMUNICATIONS minister Pat Rabbitte has described as “nonsense” moves by the co-owner of the Irish Daily Star to shut down the paper after it published topless photographs of the Duchess of Cambridge on Saturday.

Rabbitte said the response of Richard Desmond, whose Northern & Shell group owns 50 per cent of the paper, to “close down the joint venture” was a “completely disproportionate response”.

It was an excessive reaction to “suggest that the paper ought to be closed down because of a lapse in taste”, Rabbitte said.

Speaking on RTÉ’s John Murray Show, Rabbitte commented that he could not understand how Desmond “could reconcile the rather timid move by The Star with what he’s prepared to do in some of his publications in terms of the way women are presented”.

Northern & Shell has previously been the UK publisher of the adult magazines Penthouse and Asian Babes among others. Rabbitte said Desmond’s response to the photos of the former Kate Middleton being published in an Irish paper, while he “has no difficulty publishing photographs of women topless”, was “hypocrisy”.

The minister said that while he “wouldn’t have made the decision the Star made – I wouldn’t make a lot of the decisions the Star makes – I would still defend its right to continue to publish its newspaper”.

“The Star has a following in Ireland, it has a readership in Ireland… there are, I understand, 70 to 80 people employed there. So let’s keep things in perspective,” he said.

Desmond has said he would take immediate steps to “close down the joint venture” with the Irish-based Independent News & Media, which owns the other 50 per cent of the Star’s publisher Independent Star Ltd.

Independent News & Media has described any attempt to shut down the paper as a “disproportionate” response to the controversy, while both the British and Irish branches of the National Union of Journalists have criticised Desmond’s approach as “over the top”,

Irish Daily Star editor Michael O’Kane said he believed the images to be tasteful, and pointed out that the photos of Middleton – who, he said, would never be Queen of Ireland – had not appeared in the edition of the paper circulated in Northern Ireland.

‘Shot his mouth off’

Meanwhile, the paper’s financial columnist Eddie Hobbs has said he disagreed with the paper’s decision to publish the photographs – but believes the paper will not be shut down.

Hobbs, who writes a weekly column for the paper, said the paper had “stood its ground” over the furore in a manner which was “characteristic” of its firm editorial stance on some issues.

“The Daily Star is an extremely profitable publication from what we can see,” Hobbs told Newstalk’s Breakfast programme.

Hobbs said he believed Richard Desmond “shot his mouth off” by suggesting he would shut down the Irish paper over the weekend.

Hobbs said Desmond was merely “taking advantage of the situation in order, perhaps, to fulfil a commercial agenda which he wanted to do anyway”.

“I don’t think it was correct to publish those photographs, incidentally, personally… [but the Star] certainly didn’t follow the lead of the UK tabloids with regard to the royal couple,” he said.

The Corkonian said while the Star’s controversy was “one to watch”, he felt it would “all blow over”. ”The biggest problem the Royal family have at the moment is Prince Harry out in Afghanistan,” he said.

Read: Royals’ criminal complaint over topless pics lodged today

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• Ah here, — Eddie would hardly come on and say the paper is screwed considering he works with them.

• langer

• What about all the actors for the problem page where will they find work keep it open

• Rabbitte backs up tabloid in the hope they call the hounds off his Labour Party before the next election

• Let’s get some quality back into Irish journalism and leave publications like the star in the gutter where it belongs

• We all have a choice whether to buy the Star or not. If it is still going then it must sell pretty well and meet some kind of demand.

Getting rid of it as it’s a “rag” or “tacky” won’t mean its readers will start reading the Times, the Indo or even the Journal. But it will mean lots of jobs lost and given the small size of the Irish media industry, they won’t be able to find new ones that easily.

• that doesnt look right either …i give up

• What I think is wonderful about this episode is how it reminds us how much of the Irish media is actually British owned and how culturally confused so many are…

• What a joke! The paper screwed up and deserve what they get. But in a less selfish world…. The person who made the decison to publish the picture would apologize and resign from their job…. However…. This is Ireand….. No one resigns from jobs for poor judgement or errors nor are individuals held accountable.

• Dammit, Friday was the only day i forgot to buy it. :)

• Paper should say sorry in gross error of judgement etc, a lot of jobs on the line etc and they’ll be ok I think, a joke of a newspaper tho

• Please! Kate has boobs , just like every other woman! She took risks when going topless as previous photographs of her honeymoon were already leaked. So I wish the media would get over it…. There are a lot more serious stories to report on ..

• I agree Mary …so fed up wit hearing about her and her boobs…

• So Mary and Rhonda, it would be OK for someone to snap you and your boobs are publish them online for all to see- in a public domain. And for tthen to make money out of those boobs of yours.

You wouldnt even be the tiniest bit upset then?

Don’t miss the main issue here.

• Paul of course noone should have their privacy invaded like this. But I don’t think that’s the bones of the issue. The daily star is a rag and its only use as I see it is to toilet train my dog. but that’s my opinion.
      The issue here is why should Kate be treated any differently than any other of the daily stars subjects. I don’t agree with any of it, but In Ireland at least Kate Middleton is similar to other celebrities . They paper should not be shut down because of these particular pictures. The fact is its one guy who happens to own half if it all of a sudden seems to like some moral high ground (cause it might affect his wallet in the UK) and he says he’ll shut it down. if the reaction was different he’d be parading around for photo ops with o’kane..

• From a purely business perspective, it doesn’t seem over the top at all. The money Desmond gets from the Irish Daily Star must be pretty farcically small-fry compared to the value of his Star/Express/OK! brand in the UK . Yet it’s demonstrated that – as he’s tied to it perception wise, but with no control – that it has the potential to cost him significant damage and lost revenue in the UK.

It’s a liability. To be honest, I’d be very surprised if the owners of the Daily Mail hadn’t spent the weekend pouring over their agreements with the Irish Daily Mail to see if they had a risk of a similar exposure to their British interests by potential Irish editorial decisions.

• It’s a complete rag, always has been, worse than the Sun if that’s possible. It would be great to see it off the shelves….

• Sounds like he just found a good excuse to shut the paper. It will not be missed.

• Rabbitte gives us his thumbs up to “more tits on Irish newspapers please”. As if we haven’t enough of that already. Up with that sort of thing

• And he has given the OK for some to make money from pictures taken without the owners consent.

Rabbitte is wrong on so many levels.

Sack the editor then and leave the other staff in place. Feckin eegit O’Kane – got it all wrong, misread the decency of most of the Irish public.

• While I agree with everything you have said Paul, Kate needs to cop on.

She is one of the most famous women in the world and she went topless on a balcony. The lowlife who took the pic was on a public road. You’d nearly think it was done on purpose.

• mcbab 17/09/12 #

O’Kane got it so wrong. Totally misjudged the Irish public and showed himself up as a misogynist. Stupid man to say that it was no different than photos of Lady Gaga etc. I am fairly certain that Lady Gaga wouldn’t have been too pleased if it had been sneaky photos of her sunbathing either

• Paper should be closed down,as for Eddie Hobbs don’t start me

• haven’t you more important issues to sort rabbite like broadband rollout?get the finger out and stop worrying about tabloid rubbish

• Perhaps Rabbite will include the Star in the licence fee?

• It is pure elitism, The end of the day Kate is apparently going to be the future queen of England. Never seen pictures of Diana like that published in the papers. They are no different to any other celebrity in this country. No one objects when snaps of celebrities appear without consent in those rags. As for Desmond chasing his knighthood, and runs an empire built on sleaze and the degradation of women. The hypocrisy of all this stinks and how it has got so much media attention in the wake of tragedies in the north and the ten year old in Co. Offaly leaves a lot to be desired.

• jail the person that took the photographs and the editors of the newspapers that publish them. They knowing took and paid for illegal photographs for greed. Would you like it if someone took an intimate photograph of any of your family and saw it in the newspapers the next day?? Bet you wouldn’t, so what’s the difference here? everyone deserves the right to privacy.

• I prefer the club orange ads!!

• “Irish Daily Star editor Michael O’Kane said he believed the images to be tasteful, and pointed out that the photos of Middleton – who, he said, would never be Queen of Ireland – had not appeared in the edition of the paper circulated in Northern Ireland.”

Ah but in Ireland it’s ok to invade one’s privacy but not in the North? Disgusting.

Northern & Shell has previously been the UK publisher of the adult magazines Penthouse and Asian Babes among others. hypocrisy?? No, I enjoy this stuff, the models volunteer and are highly paid. But publishing semi-naked pictures without permission is the same as sticking a hidden camera up someone skirt.

You disgust me.

• I am sure she knew very well that she would be seen. Anyway whats all the fuss for? Prince Harry showed off a lot more with less fuss.

• When are the press going to realise that everyone is entitled to their privacy when they are “not on duty”. Yes, they are public property when they are working on state business or other public duties, but outside “work” they should be left alone, rather than be preyed on by vultures!

• give all the profits for that day to charity, paper is shown no profit to be made in cheap sleaze and charitys win..

• What was she thinking about going topless – she surely should have known that his kind of thing could happen.

• I know!! the cheek of her thinking she could sun bathe topless in privacy like thousands of women around the world do without peeping toms with zoom lenses taking her photo. completely her own fault.The Damn paparazzi are why I shower with Knickers on.

• Well if you take your clothes off in private this is what happens!!! NEVER NEVER remove your clothing.

• what about when u have a bath?

• NEVER I SAID!!!!

• Ha, reminds me of the outraged Sam the American Eagle routine: “All these people walking around when, under their clothes, they’re NAKED! Yes, NAKED!”

• I agree Dexter, As the future Queen of England and Knowing what happened with Diana she must have realised that long lens can be used to try get pics like this. Nobody is questioning her decision to go naked or not its irrelevant. But she should have realised that some papparazzi will go to any lengths to get these pictures. She ahould have had something in front of her. a wall, a partition, a hedge, anything so that a long shot like that would have been impossible. She should have known better. These people do NOTHING all day but have an entourage follow them around like lap dogs yet not one of them had the brain to make sure she did not let herself open to this kind of exposure. She needs to wake up and it will happen again, and again, Its irrelevant what we think. The reality is there is demand in the media for all these pics and it will continue whether we like it or not and to deny this is unrealistic.

• True Christopher it’s not like she can’t afford the bring a good hedge with her on holidays.

• The bould Kate had knickers on too Joy, they are were after her lady lumps

• Now if Kate had been a Muslim there’d be riots over these photos…

• Ahh come on. She knew they were there. We’re lucky it wasn’t Camilla

• The porn merchant is a social climber currying favour with the English Establishment in the hope of a knighthood.

• FMA News 17/09/12 #

Looks like Labour Government has succeeded in insulting another sovereign state – first the Vatican, now the UK. Would have thought we could do with all the friends we could get, at the momemt! … Parcochial, inappropriate and short-sighted response from Pat Rabbitte.

• sorry charities

• Surely there are more important issues that could be getting covered by the media than some posh bints less than impressive boobage, bread and circuses

Add New Comment