TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Israeli airstrikes kill 3 in Gaza

Although the violence of recent days shows no immediate signs of subsiding, both Hamas and Israel seem eager to avoid the kind of all-out war that erupted three years ago.

Palestinian medics treat a wounded person at Shifa hospital following an Israeli air strike, in Gaza City, Monday, March 12, 2012
Image: Yasser Qudih/AP/Press Association Images

ISRAELI AIRSTRIKES KILLED two Palestinian militants and a schoolboy in the Gaza Strip today and Palestinian rocket squads barraged southern Israel, in escalating fighting that has defied international truce efforts.

The cross-border violence, touched off by Israel’s killing of a top militant leader on Friday, has been the worst exchange of fire between Israel and the Hamas-ruled territory in months.

The fighting so far has killed 21 Gazans, including 18 militants, seriously wounded two Israelis, and disrupted the lives of 1 million Israelis living within the range of Gaza rockets.

The Israeli military said it carried out nine air attacks against rocket-launching sites and a weapons storage facility early Monday. Islamic Jihad said two of its militants were killed in two separate raids, one while he was riding a motorcycle. A 16-year-old boy wearing a school uniform was killed when a group of five civilians was struck in another attack, Gaza health official Adham Abu Salmia said.

Raid targeted munitions stored in residential building

Two dozen Palestinians, including several children, were wounded in a separate pre-dawn strike Monday in Gaza City, Abu Salmia said. Chief Israeli military spokesman Brig. Gen. Yoav Mordechai told Army Radio that this raid had targeted munitions that were stored in a residential building.

The military said the air attacks came in response to continued rocket fire, and Israeli police spokesman Micky Rosenfeld reported that 16 rockets were fired into southern Israel early Monday. One rocket damaged a preschool building on a communal farm shortly before children were scheduled to arrive, but no one was hurt, Rosenfeld said.

Schools in the area were closed for a second day to avoid casualties; a day earlier, a rocket struck the courtyard of one of the empty schools.

Also on Monday, militants fired three mortar shells into Kerem Shalom, the sole cargo crossing between Israel and Gaza and the conduit for 70 per cent of all goods that enter the Palestinian territory. Two vehicles were hit on the Palestinian side of the crossing, but there were no injuries, Israeli officials said. Operations were halted for about half an hour before resuming.

Israel says the newly introduced Iron Dome missile defence system intercepted dozens of the rockets since the clashes erupted, and military officials speculated this averted more casualties and damage.

But although the violence shows no immediate signs of subsiding, both Hamas and Israel seem eager to avoid the kind of all-out war that erupted three years ago.

Hamas has stayed out of the current clashes

In keeping with its practice since that conflict, Hamas has stayed out of the current clashes, for fear of provoking a harsh Israeli retaliation. But it has not stopped other, smaller Gaza factions from attacking Israel, and Israel continues to hold it ultimately responsible for any violence emanating from Gaza.

In the past, similar flare-ups have died out by themselves or with informal cease-fires negotiated by third parties, often Egypt.

In this case too, Egypt has been trying to mediate an end to the clashes, and Hamas has also appealed to other Mideast countries to join the truce attempts. But the efforts have failed, with militants and Egypt insisting that Israel first halt its airstrikes.

“The Zionist state began this aggression. It has to stop its aggression first and then we will evaluate the situation and study the possibility of calm,” the deputy secretary-general of Islamic Jihad, Ziad Nakhleh, was quoted as saying on the movement’s web site.

Mordechai, the military spokesman, said Israel would halt its raids if the rocket fire would cease, but added that the Israeli military would continue to take pre-emptive action to foil militant attack plans.

‘We will hit anyone who plans to harm us’

Israel said it launched Friday’s initial airstrike to stop a militant group’s plan to infiltrate into Israel through Egypt’s Sinai peninsula. The group — Popular Resistance Committees — was blamed for a similar border raid in August that killed eight Israelis, but the PRC has never acknowledged involvement.

On a visit to southern Israel on Sunday, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu vowed the airstrikes would continue as long as necessary. “We have a clear policy: we will hit anyone who plans to harm us, who prepares to harm us and who harms us,” he said.

Mordechai said Monday that Israel was prepared for a ground offensive if necessary. He also said Israeli military chief Lt. Gen. Benny Gantz has postponed a trip this week to the US because of the fighting.

Israeli airstrikes kill 14 as tensions flare in Gaza>

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• EM 12/03/12 #

Out of curiosity, in these cases how do they confirm that 18 of the 21 were actually militants and not civilians?

• So during a period of Truce, Israel murders a Palestinian leader. And when Palestinians respond with rocket fire, Israel murders more people by claiming it is “responding” to Palestinian attacks despite Israel instigating the violence. Unbelievable.

Funny there isn’t international outrage over Israels actions and calls for a NATO led bombardment of the country though? One wonders why… Oh wait, it’s because Israel is the USAs buddy so its ok for them to slaughter thousands of civilians, bomb schools and kidnap several thousand civilians (including children) and torture them without charging them with any crime.

Its okay for Israel to flagrantly violate international law and seize more territory by bulldozing the homes of poor Palestinians and replace them with outposts. And its okay for these illegal settlements to pump their sewage and waste out onto the Palestinian fields below and for their militias to take potshots at Palestinian civilians. It’s okay because its Israel. Where this any other country however, the media would be expecting us to be outraged.

• Well said Mark. One has to wonder how long the international community can let this go on, and why has it been tolerated to date. There have been US and NATO led interventions elsewhere for less, far less.

• Well Mark,I think you have more or less said it all in that piece,I commend your analysis and support your sense of outrage,as both you and shane rightly alluded to,there is no other country who can act repeatedly with such immunity whilst being the perpetrator/instigator of such acts. As regards the Palestinian people, let us be honest to a basic truth, if one is the recipient of an endless form of brutalization, then it is a given, indeed justice demands it, that some form of retribution must be sought. Human dignity places requirements and expectations on the other, as much as it does so on the self, dignity itself is in endless violation in this stretch of land, thereby the sower of this lamentation will in turn reap the perpetual rewards his blindness and indifference deserve.

• Israel is responsible for all the ills in the middle east.
      Israel constantly and purposefully bombs Palestinian schools, poisons Palestinian water, starves the Palestinian refugees, withholds medical treatment and medicine from Palestine, refuses the vote to Israeli Muslims, controls Irish and British media including Journal.ie, plots to kill and devour Christian babies. Oh, and the Jews murdered Jesus.
      Israelis bankrupted Anglo and Ireland, and a dirty Israeli probably urinated in Mark O’Maoldomhnaigh’s porridge today, he’s so cracking with anger at the injustice of those rotten stinking filthy dirty poxy Israelis

• I’m inclined to agree with Kieran’s comment, most of it anyway. It seems since Friday Palestinians from northern Gaza fired over 90 rockets at Beersheba, Ashdod and Gan Yavne and Israel’s southern cities.
      If Hamas is in control of Gaza as they claim to be it’s a crazy situation to expect Israel to have its neighbour, who has expressed in no uncertain terms a wish to destroy them, and then try hard to do so to its citizens. What is Israel supposed to do, nothing? They do attempt to intercept these rockets but this is not always possible, their Iron Dome system has successfully intercepted 25 out of 27 rockets fired at Beersheba, Ashdod and Ashkelon. The other two rockets exploded in open fields and is the highest success rates for the defense system to date.
      Any state has the right to defend itself and we, in this part of the world, only hear half the story at best where Israel is protrayed as the agressor but that is not always the case. If another country was lobbing rockets into Cork and Kerry on a regular basis you can be damn sure we’d want to do something about it. I’m sure others will argue that Israel has no right to exist but thats another days work.

• Brian, the Palestinians only started firing rockets in response to Israeli airstrikes on Gaza.

Please do not try and twist the facts.

• For a period of 12 days in the lead up to this escalation, there were missile attacks almost every night from Gaza with no Israeli response.

• Murder.

• Damn sorry for the double post, don’t know what happened there :/

• Larry, you accused Cormac of posting a YouTube propaganda rant. Well, the Washington Report is an infamous anti Israel/pro Palestinian ranter.

You have no reliable sources quoted for Israeli ongoing use of human shields because it is simply untrue.
      You readily accuse one of lying. The “washington report” is lying by fudging titles and data and by slanting their words and stats. Classic propaganda. I’m not accusing you of lying but you are a mouthpiece for liars.

Is there anything the nation of Israel has done or said in the last 64 years to which you do not object?

I suppose the same could be asked of me re Palestinians. I know that they are humans and deserving of respect and a voice. I know they have been lied to, manipulated, robbed and abused by their political leaders. I know 1.25 million of their fellows voluntarily live in the Jewish state as free men, and with representation in the Knesset. I know that the Israeli gov have not always behaved impeccably toward them.

• Kieran, Google these yourself and pick whatever source you want, because no matter what source anyone quotes you, you’ll accuse it of propaganda. Cormac posting a Youtube video of some guy standing up and ranting on his own with no evidence backing anything up is not any kind of news source. What I’ve been talking about has come from Amnesty, Reuters, the UN etc. Here’s just one link that will explain exactly which side is using textbooks to incite hatred, you can freely check all the sources given in the report for yourself. The Zionists even claimed that the European Union was funding Palestinian textbooks with anti-Semitic content which of course was shown to be yet another lie:
      http://electronicintifada.net/content/myth-incitement-palestinian-textbooks/5626

And seeing you won’t accept any written criticism of Israel, here’s some photos of Israeli kids writing on bombs “Die with Love”. I think it’s pretty clear who’s teaching their kids to hate:
      http://sabbah.biz/mt/archives/2006/07/17/photo-of-the-day-israeli-kids-sends-gifts-of-love-to-arab-kids/

• Larry
      Are you unployed and sitting at home doing nothing but hitting green thumbs for your comments and red for mine?
      There’s no way this thread, at this stage, has been viewed 60+ times by green thumbs for you and red thumbs for me on postings that are 17 hours old.
      Of course, every time it refreshes you can make your mark. The average for newer, related threads is half a dozen thumbs for or against
      You must be fairly desperate for approval

• Yeah, whatever Kieran, clearly you’re the one getting desperate now. Good luck…

• Ive been reading theJournal now for close on a year Id say, and of particular intrest to me is middle east news, and irish politics. Is this website funded by Hammas or PLO?? Ive yet to read a fair and balanced story. Oh and yesterdays 20,000 protest in Moscow … well wifey was in Red Square yesterday, over for 2 weeks as our son is 4 on St Patricks day and every year we visit his Russian grandparents, and it amounted to no more than 80-100 protestors, not 20,000. When you gleen your news from other news sources, rather than investigate it yourself, it somewhat adopts the slant of original news outlet.

• If the Irish government knew a terrorist was plotting to kill Irish people I would expect them to sort him/her out too

Well done to Israel.

I don’t care about it being extra judicial. These Islamic fascists have no concern for human rights . So fight fire with fire.

Amazing the condemnation of Israel in Ireland while so many other conflicts are ignored.

• When I read about a muslim schoolchild being killed by an israeli missile, I was wondering how long it would take you to post a big “well done” to his killers. Congratulations John, at least you’re consistent in your hatred.

• I read the headline and went straight to the comments to see what “John Murphy” would write.

• Your last sentence says it all. Very few equally condemning the Syrian Govt over the torture & murder of children. As I said before – nothing like a story with Israel in the headline to bring out the bias & prejudice, the bigotry & intolerance towards Israel.

• Aww guys your sweet.
      Thanks

The child sadly died due to being too close to a rocket launch site. Sad but it’s a war. This happens. Just like there will be Israeli civilians who die too. The difference is Hamas target Israeli civilians

• I love how you presume it’s Muslims Too true Left. If an Irish child died would you say an English person glorified because they were Catholic. There are Christians in Gaza although many have left due to increased religious persecution.

• @John. Give that 98.7% of Gazans are muslim, I think its a safe bet. Please feel free to post evidence to the contrary. Oh, and I wouldn’t use the northern conflict as an example. Even at the height of the IRAs activities, the notion of the British Government launching missiles into densely populated areas is ridiculous and would have resulted in a monumental international backlash. So have a look at the war crimes your israeli buddies are let get away with before you paint them as the victims.

Love the comment about the schoolkid by the way. Class. No wonder israels actions are so reviled in this country when its apologists value a childs life to be worth so little.

• Almost 90 percent in Ireland is Catholic. I don’t need to presume when someone is dead they were catholic .

And As for built up areas. If Hamas and others wish to fire at Israel from built up areas. Israel is within its rights to strike back. And for your information the Hamas and others who Fire rockets into Sourhern Israel where close to 1.5 million Israeli’s live are committing a War crime you and the rest are silent about. Don’t pick and choose the international law which suits you. Only makes you look like a bigger hypocrit than u are.

• Actually, Israel is not within its rights to fire on populated areas just because rockets are launched from there. They are signatories to the Geneva convention and are in breach of international law. But we all know that already, don’t we?

I take it you would have considered the Nazis ‘within their rights’ to bombard the people of the Warsaw ghetto in retaliation for their uprising, yes? Or is it only ok in youropinion for a regional superpower to retaliate against resistance when it results in muslims getting blown to pieces??

• So, just to clarify for us all John, by your logic the British army would have been ‘within’ their rights to bombard catholic housing estates if the IRA had been launching attacks from there? Would you have been saying “well done” and waving a little union jack??

• Too true.

Thanks for responding. You are so warped into your little hamster wheel that your too busy to stop and look at the bigger picture . There is no need for me to go any further with this.

You can hash out the same old tired Arab spin I hear all the time in Ireland. Nothing is going to change

Repeatedly you have ignored the war crimes that Gazans commit against Israeli civilians

But I will finish on one final note. If this terrorist had carried out a similar Sinai attack to the one a few months ago when 8 Israeli civilians were slaughtered on a bus. No doubt you’d either hide or pay the usual lip service of its awful and then start the usual “but what do they expect” Israel puts its civilians who are the repeated target of hate.

Your ability to turn a blind eye to Islamic fascism which is driving out Christians from the Leb, and now the Copts from Egypt ,The Christians in Iraq and the Baha’i in Iran is sadly unsurprising. This all comes down to an Islamic belief that the land of Israel is part of the Islamic world and must be returned to it by “liberating” it of the infidels .

Now I am off to enjoy the longer evenings and suggest you do the same because no matter how much we discuss things here NOTHING is going to change until both sides sit down at a table and talk without preconditions

• Or maybe he could just use the same excuse you use to defend American terrorists and say the poor guy had mental health problems.

• @John. So, can we take it from your refusal to answer that you would have said “well done” to the british army for firing missiles into catholic estates and blowing up a schoolchild, or should we take it that you WOULD have a problem with it and it’s only dead muslim schoolchildren that you find acceptable?

• Oh your really off with the hysteric tonight.

• So, we can take it you are refusing to answer?

• Don’t be so snide it does not suit you. Ask a realistic question . And I will answer . Comparisons with northern Ireland are nonsensical

• Lads to be honest I’ve never commented on these articles because I always see how touchy people get but I do see the same people comment saying the same stuff over and over on each article on this site. Now I don’t want to start a big row here or anything but I’m just gona leave this here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1N1zhUm84w I honestlyh couldn’t care less if any of you are “butthurt” over facing the truth or if you give this post red or green thumbs or whatever it is you people do. Just trying to help put a bit of perspective into this whole discussion. C’mon guys the truth doesn’t hurt that bad does it? Oh and here’s the follow up video which re-addresses the central point of the original video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LeGYAfh9A1k Cheers lads :)

• Perfectly reasonable question. YOU mentioned catholics so I asked you if the british army fired a missile into a built up catholic estate up north, killing a catholic schoolchild in the process, would you exclaim “well done” the way you did when the israeli army shot a missile into a built up area in Gaza, killing a muslim schoolchild?

Same test of the ol’ moral compass, same tragic loss of a child. Only difference between the kids is the way they pray.

Take your time. Your continued refusal to answer says it all anyways……

• And here’s the useless John Murphy again !! Wouldn’t call you a peacemaker any time soon John..

• @Cormac McCarthy, what an idiotic thing to post, seriously. We can all sit here all night posting Youtube propaganda rants from nut-jobs on both sides of the argument. If you want to contribute to the discussion then do so but don’t post bullshit rants from idiots like Pat Condell and claim it as “truth”. Seriously grow up, do some research of your own and make your own arguments instead of simply posting someone else’s crap.

• @Lucille, his name is Barry.

• @Larry O’Connor
      Lad, relax there. I can understand your “butthurt” and I hoped that you could grow up and not get so touchy and pissy over one’s own opinion. I’m all for discussion and not slander. But hey I’m only giving my input and I’m not gona drag my self-respect down to your level. On the other hand like I said before I couldn’t give to sh*ts if your offended or “butthurt” but please in future try and grow up yourself and not slander others and tell them to grow up when you’re the one insulting others and unable to admit when you see the truth. The fact that you refuse to admit that Pat Condell is speaking the truth is an example of this. The reason I included no extra “research” is because I published a comment – not a thesis. Every historical fact that he made in both those videos is accurate and if you can be so obliged as to do the “research” yourself and not tell others to do it, well then maybe you will understand that he is nto an “idiot” and is actually speaking the truth as he sees it. I’m not asking you to agree. Rather, I’m asking you to educate yourself on the facts of the historical context from which the ENTIRE Isreali-Palestinian conflict has arisen. Cheers

• “I’m all for discussion”

What exactly have you discussed so far? Nothing, all you’ve done is posted a Youtube link to some gobshite’s rant and claim it’s the truth. As I said we can all do that, are we going to sit here all night exchanging Youtube links? Is that your idea of “discussion”? Grow up, discuss the actual topic at hand like everyone else is doing here, and stop posting crap. And no I’m not hurt by what some muppet puts on Youtube, there’s plenty of crap there to offend every single person on the planet, so why should anyone let it bother them.

• @ Larry
      “there’s plenty of crap there to offend every single person on the planet, so why should anyone let it bother them.”
      If you can’t actually even see the immense irony in what you just said, then I feel even more sorry for you lad.

• It’s very simple Cormac, maybe I should explain it better. There’s plenty of crap on Youtube aimed at offending everyone on the planet, some people might foolishly let it bother them, I certainly don’t.

• Larry, listen I know you mean well and I can see the Palestinians have a genuine plight that is an afront to human rights worldwide. That being said, I was pointing out that you made a highly ironic statement twice now. You said the “crap” on youtube doesn’t offend you yet from the tone of your comments and the fact that you’re telling me to “grow up” and calling Pat Condell an “idiot”, I’m getting the impression that you have been just a teeny bit offended. Anyway let’s just relax. I’m sure there’s alot we can agree on. Maybe not this, but I’m sure on some other issues. Have a good one. Cheers

• Fair enough, we’ll agree to disagree on this. I’m off for a pint, have a good night :)

• Good man Larry. I’ll drink to that on Paddy’s Day. Enjoy :)

• Guys, in all fairness, Cormac has posted a youtube rant of somebody he agrees with. Shouldn’t we all just leave britney, sorry bibi, alone??

• Prior to the Madrid Conference, of ’91, the office of Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir commissioned Shai Ben-Tekoa to do a statistical analysis of U.N. voting vis a vis Israel. The following is a summary of Mr. Ben-Tekoa’s research.
    Summary

Security Council:

175 Total Resolutions
    74 Neutral
    4 Against the perceived interests of an Arab state or body
    97 Against Israel
    General Assembly:

Cumulative Number of Votes cast with/for Israel: 7,938.
    Cumulative Number of Votes cast against Israel: 55,642.

• Btw, lifted the above from an Israeli site – but the figures were probably all made up and completely unprovable, because everyone knows Israelis are good at manipulating maths and skewing statistics of publicly available information.

• Cheers for the info Kieran. What with them being the regional superpower armed with 200+ nukes, state of the art weaponry and with an 800 pound american gorilla at their back, not to mention their stealing of land and resources, flouting of international law, war crimes and crimes against humanity, it’s easy to forget that israel is the real victim here who everybody has it in for……

• Shur everything an Israeli says is lies and everything a PA official says is Biblical truth. Which us here in Ireland seem to lap up like starving cats.
      Anyone speaks out for Israel and they are an evil Hasbara activists with dual
      Loyalty while anyone speaks for The Palestinians they are in vogue hip humanitarians.

• Hardly surprising that many resolutions when you consider groups like the UN human rights council had Libya on it until last year and Syria this year.
      I can’t wait till PETA are elected to the board of the Irish Craft Butchers Association.

• Can you point out where the lies are in the article John, you didn’t make it very clear which piece of information you are disputing…

• Folks,

This page logs Gazan missile attacks on southern Israel. It also records the Israeli response when they do respond. For a period of 12 days in the lead up to this escalation, there were missile attacks almost every night with no Israeli response.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Palestinian_rocket_attacks_on_Israel,_2012

• Please tell me that you have linked a wikipedia page as a joke Ciarán? You don’t honestly consider this a reliable source? Just for the sheer craic, check out the last obviously verifiable attack recorded on January 19.

• Drat, they took it down again. Anyway, I was able to credit the Palestinians with attacking Israeli pensioners with a water pistol. That’s quite the source you have provided for us……….

• Israeli retaliation is pointed and targeted as tightly as possible by an IDF who know that the vast majority of the media in the western world will accuse them of wrong no matter what.

The terrorists lobbing their Iranian-sourced rockets onto Israeli territory consider each and every citizen a target, and have lots of friends on journal.ie applauding their murderous intentions.

You’d want to be a spectacularly and wilfully ignorant kind of an eejit not to know that by and large Israeli defence forces respond with lethal force on Palestinian territories only when they have been attacked again and again – and again.

• Shane,

Every single one of those entries has references to stories in mainstream media.

Would I be correct in saying that since these stories were written by Israeli journalists, you’ll insist that they must be lies?

• Targetted as tightly as possible? LOL! I’m sure the mother of the dead child will be comforted greatly knowing that her son was killed by a ‘precision’ instrument of death and destruction.

Oh, and heres an article from an israeli newspaper detailing the findings of israeli human rights group about how the majority of Gazans killed during the last major operation were civilians:

http://www.haaretz.com/news/rights-group-most-gazans-killed-in-war-were-civilians-1.8189

Was the white phosphorous that they used over a densely populated area, burning flesh from bones, ‘precision’ white phosphorous??

• Ciarán, put the shovel down. Read the references – the ‘Jerusalem Post’, ‘Israel Security Agency’, ‘IDF Spokesperson’, ‘Times of Israel’….. For God’s sake……… Where are the independent, international, verifiable news sources?

• Palestinian and Lebanese militants persistently attack from heavily populated civilian areas. They are directly responsible for the deaths of the women and children they hide behind.

White phosphorous was used to create smoke screens. It’s an ugly weapon that us not banned under international treaties but should not have been used the way it was used. The Israelis have acknowledged that. They acknowledge their mistakes sometimes, unlike their enemies.

So, trueleft or whatever your name is, according to your standards, is it a war crime, equal to using white phosphorous, to fire thousands and tens of thousands of explosive rockets indiscriminately into heavily populated civilian areas?

• Shane,

So when I asked you this question:

“Would I be correct in saying that since these stories were written by Israeli journalists, you’ll insist that they must be lies?”

…. the answer is “Yes”.

These attacks were reported in the international media but that’s a neatly circular argument you’re relying on. You assume that ultimately the source is going to be Israeli so you can happily pretend the incidents didn’t actually happen. All Israelis lie, right?

As it happens, the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine and the Gazan “Popular Resistance Committees” have been claiming responsibility for these attacks and I’ve even gone to the bother of using an impeccable source like Maan News to verify this.

http://www.maannews.net/eng/ViewDetails.aspx?ID=464591
      http://www.maannews.net/eng/ViewDetails.aspx?ID=463192

These attacks happened. End of.

• “is it a war crime, equal to using white phosphorous, to fire thousands and tens of thousands of explosive rockets indiscriminately into heavily populated civilian areas?”

Is it a war crime? Yes. Is it equal to using white phosphorous? Hardly when the “tens of thousands” of rockets from Gaza killed 21 Israeli’s since 2001, that’s less than the Israeli’s have murdered in the last week alone and a far cry from the 1500+ people massacred during cast lead, 352 of which were children. In total over 1400 children have been murdered since 2000 by Israel. Are you seriously comparing the two? Is this your idea of “equal”?

• Larry,

Israel has been the most bombed country in the world for a generation now.
      Israeli citizens – men, women and children – are purposely targeted. That’s a daily war crime.
      Palestinian women and children are used as human shields by Palestinian terrorists who are either cowardly or hold the lives of their own people to be valueless.
      There is no record of an Israeli soldier ever using any child or woman as a shield.
      No Israeli soldier has ever blown himself up with the intention of taking as many Palesinians as possible with him.

No Arab has seriously sued for peace since Anwar Sedat was shamed into doing it after he failed to annihalate Israel in the ’73 war.
      Arafat – the Egyptian tramp – was offered over 90% of his demands during the Clinton presidency and rejected peace, preferring to continue with war, a war that enriched him and his family to the tune of millions, if not billions of dollars, shekels or whatever. Over 90%!

I believe Israel will sit down and dicuss peace with anyone who can offer it. Their enemies demand that they first roll over and expose their bellies like dogs, by surrendering strategic defensive areas acquired in the ’73 war, a war which Israel did not want and did not cause.

That woud be national suicide.

That’d be like saying to an enemy of Ireland, “yeah, sure, lets negotiate for peace, but first of all you can put your tanks and guns on the Dublin and Wicklow mountains, and a few regiments in the Phoenix Park, and maybe a few snipers up the bloody Pigeon House towers”

Wat a rotten discussion this is. Israel = bad, Palestinian = good is all you and your ilk can come up with. No-one is golden here, but for goodness sake why can’t Israel’s enemies talk peace?

• Yes yes Kieran, theres thousands of smouldering holes in nomansland between gaza and israel proving the imminent threat to the state of israel. Homemade rockets with a less than .01% mortality rate fired in the general direction of israel versus state of the art weaponry that has left hundreds of innocent women and children dead? Poor zionists. If only there was some sort of chamber the women and children of gaza could march into to end the suffering of the regional superpower and stop all of this bad press from happening when the next schoolchild gets blown to pieces….

• Trulift (what a misnomer of a pseudonym. Be brave and put your name up, won’t you?)

Your points are moot.

And your straw man comments about a chamber – obviously the product of a mind which has nothing to riposte a decent argument with – evoke memories of another kind of chamber, one that had an access point atop for the insertion of zyklon b, and that’s all.

Is that the best you can do?

• “Palestinian women and children are used as human shields by Palestinian terrorists who are either cowardly or hold the lives of their own people to be valueless. There is no record of an Israeli soldier ever using any child or woman as a shield”

Well Kieran Mac Court, you might want to check your records again so. I think my posts are disappearing if I post links, so Google these 4 headlines, they should show up at the top:

Army Admits Using A Child As Human Shield During Gaza War
      Israeli using Palestinian Kids as Human Shields
      IDF soldiers convicted of using 11-year-old as human shield in Gaza
      Amnesty accuses Israel of using human shields in Gaza

“The London-based human rights group also accused Hamas of war crimes, but said it found no evidence that the Islamist rulers of Gaza used civilians as human shields during the 22-day offensive Israel launched on December 28″

• Larry,

“check my records”?
      I have an ongoing interest in Israel, I don’t keep a file.
      Certainly I could modify my statement.

“There is no record of an Israeli soldier, as a policy of his superiors, ever using any child or woman as a shield”
      One or two incidents in a 64 years old conflict do not indicate official policy to me.

It is a tactic of gazan terrorists, as it is/was of hezbollah in Lebanon, to use densely populated areas to launch attacks. Using gazan, Muslim children. Their own kind. Whom they don’t mind training up for suicide bombing either.

The so-called “Palestinian” terrorists are cowards and murderers whose stated aim and that of their political masters is death to all Jews.

Did you ever see a copy of one of their school books? Those books
      remind me of the German term “untermencsh” – “subhuman” – thats what thy think of/ how they treat the Jews, and it’s how the IRA and Sinn fein sympathetic left wing think in Ireland too.

“U the Ra” used be the phrase. Funny play on words, that, “ra” is the Hebrew word for “evil”.

How appropriate.

• Kieran Mac Court,

You want to change your statement completely now that you’ve been caught lying? Nice try but what you said was very clear, you accused the Palestinians of using human shields and said that ” There is no record of an Israeli soldier ever using any child or woman as a shield “, when in fact the links I provided show the exact opposite to have been the case during cast lead. And it’s not just one or two incidents, it’s been well documented on many occasions that Israeli soldiers use Palestinian children as human Shields.

It’s funny because every single thing you accuse the Palestinians of can be said of Israel, as well as your blatant lie referred to above, you speak of their schoolbooks inciting hatred towards Jews. That’s pretty rich considering the State of Israel is run by a racist supremacist Zionist ideology which incites hatred towards anyone who isn’t a Zionist and that includes real Jews. Israeli schoolbooks also incite hatred and racism towards Palestinians:
      http://www.washington-report.org/backissues/0999/9909019.html

Then you accuse the Palestinians of being “Terrorists, Cowards and Murderers”, well lets take a look at this shall we? Israel have murdered 1400+ Palestinian children since the year 2000, who are the terrorists and murderers here then? Palestinian children are arrested and tortured in Israeli prisons for throwing stones at tanks and heavily armed Israeli soldiers, who are the cowards here?

• Everybody needs to stand their ground
      Come what may.

Add New Comment