TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

No official invitation for Kate and William… yet

The Taoiseach is reported to have informally invited the Duke and Duchess and Cambridge to Ireland at a reception in Buckingham Palace last week.

Prince William and Kate at the Olympics opening ceremony last Friday.
Image: David Goldman/AP/Press Association Images

THE GOVERNMENT HAS confirmed that there has been no official invitation extended to the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge but the royal couple have expressed an interest in visiting Ireland.

The Irish Independent reported yesterday that Taoiseach Enda Kenny had informally invited William and Kate to make their first visit to Ireland when he met them at a pre-Olympic reception for heads of state at Buckingham Palace last Friday.

The Taoiseach also told the paper that Prince William’s father Prince Charles and his wife Camilla had also said they were “very keen” to visit Ireland on foot of Queen Elizabeth’s historic visit to the State last year.

A government spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that there had been no official invitation yet and that the normal protocol for organising such a visit goes through the Irish embassy in London.

In pictures: Enda Kenny offers some last-minute encouragement to Ireland’s Games hopefuls

Read: Enda Kenny: Queen Elizabeth II is ‘awesome’

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• bob 02/08/12 #

no offiial are the words. bit like those “friends” you make on holidays, “visit you say,deffo they say”,and that’s the end of it.

• Perhaps when the invitation comes it might be extended to a certain sister of Kate also!

• Body from Baywatch, face off Crimewatch!!

• If that were true the crimewatch viewing stats would be off the scale ;-)

• Charles visited the beautiful town of Lismore in county Waterford a few years ago without any fuss whatsoever.

• Funnily, it’s the people who complain most about the cost of the visit who cause it to be so expensive. If you don’t like the royals, just ignore them. Easy.

• Rocco 02/08/12 #

Why would we invite people who occupy part of our island? They need to hand back what they stole and apologise in full.

• Reginald’s Tower how do you figure that “the people who complain most about the cost of the visit who cause it to be so expensive”? I didn’t realize that my and other’s opposition to Lizzie’s visit was worth €20m!

• I am reminded of the 12th of July night this year, where we saw crowds of Orange Order bigots burning Irish and Polish flags all around the North. We had folks like Peter Robinson condemning the burning of the Polish flags, but not one word highlighting concerns over the Irish flag.
      The Polish ambassador made a complaint and many Politicians responded accordingly. However, our bunch of cretins in Government didnt even raise an eyebrow, while the likes of Shatter actually encouraging the Orange Order thugs by calling Derry by its orange bigoted name. Not one single word of condemnation from anyone in FFg/Labour about the way the thugs intimidated the Irish North of the Border.
      Kenny has his priorities laid somewhere up the English Royal families ass. He wont condemn the burning of our flag, our the deliberate antagonizing of almost half the population in the North, in case it makes his next meeting with a member of the English Royal family that bit more awkward. He will happily spend millions hosting state dinners for them in Dublin, because according to him, it brings tourism revenue to our beleaguered Island. That all sounds well and good, except that after Queen Elizabeth’s visit here last year, in the following 12 months, tourism numbers actually fell. So that party cost this country 30 million Euro that we can hardly afford. I do agree with Reg’s point above, we should not have to waste so much money on security, and its sad to say, that it is still necessary (but this is being driven on by the Irish Governments refusal to condemn the bigots in the North, which in turn makes the Irish up there feel they have little alternative than to arm themselves to try and get rid of the occupying forces there), which in turn means any visits by the English Royals costs a lot more than it should… Its all a vicious circle.
      If Enda wants to go meet more English Royals, why cant he book private flights out of his own pocket and go see them. He should spend the next 3 years raising concerns about the bigotry being shown by the Orange order and their thugs towards the Irish in the North, and then he can rest easy and spend a lot less on security for any royal visits to our country, after the Irish in the North no longer feel threatened by Her Majesty’s ‘Loyal’ subjects in the North.

• Reginalds Tower, Lismore and places like it are a disgrace to the Republic. Sick to see that tugging the forelock to his lordship up there in the bighouse is still alive in Rep of Ireland. Shame on you Lismore.

• @Cal Mooney. If you are so concerned about costs why don’t you complain against your Sinn Fein party, “champions” of the proletariat who are shamelessly backing the Quinn family. The costs of hosting foreign dignitaries are minuscule compared to the costs the Quinn family and Anglo have left the Irish taxpayer with.

• Reginald’s Tower, you disgrace the language represented in your avatar

The Royals embody the concerted effort from the 16th century onward by the English to extinguish the Irish Language and Irish culture

• mattoid 02/08/12 #

Kerron, is refusing to allow them to visit going to change history or perpetuate history?

• Mark, you don’t have to be a FFG apologist all the time. Distracting with smoke and mirrors might work within your own FFG/Labour circles, but thankfully, Journal.ie read don’t give into that crap. I am not a member of SF. I am not an apologist for the Quinn family (but i do have empathy, theres a big difference). FFg always answer questions in the Dail on their performance, by attacking the TDs raising the valid questions. I raised valid questions on this thread, and backed up my point of view with valid and accurate facts. I would appreciate either no feedback, if you have nothing constructive to add to the thread, but please don’t insult my intelligence or the intelligence of the people on this site, but attacking me personally. Like i have said many many many times before, I am not a member of SF.

• perpetuate history probably

these visits are nothing more than exercises in copper fastening Partition an outdated and illegal historical entity

• Cal, the “Irish in the north” (they are all Irish in the north, just some of them have Scottish ancestry) do not feel the need to arm themselves in the Defenderist tradition. There hasn’t been a Bombay street in years. It appears that those who arm themselves now do so pro-actively.

• @ Cal I didn’t mean you were a member I mean you voted for them, you told me last year when we argued over the Queens visit.

Personally I can understand people’s gripes about the cost, that’s fair enough even though I still think its important we do have these visits for our nearest neighbour given they are our nearest trade partner and home to a huge Irish immigrant population including myself.

You mention the bigotry of the orange order which is well known, that’s fine but remember you cant mention them without mentioning the acts of bigotry and senseless violence on the republican side.

• If William and Catherine did come, Harry would probably come as well and they’d spend their whole time at the Guinness Storehouse.

• Sure there’s no room for them with the millions of tourists here because of lizzies visit.

• Exactly Eamonn, We are over-run with the amount of British cars clogging up our roads and the other day in my local I seemed to be the only Irish person in the bar. It was like being in the Rovers Return or the Queen Vic! Leo Varadkar was indeed correct that the €20,000,000 that we spent on Lizzie’s visit would lead to ” a massive boost” in UK tourist numbers! Oh wait……

• The Irish hen racing championships are on 11th August in Kill Co Wicklow

• It won’t be the first time they’ve been here- British Royal Family often go shooting on a reserve up north on private excursions, the British media just isn’t allowed report it though.

Looks like their visit would cost the state another €20m, not really seeing the promised benefit of tourists after the Queens visit, given UK tourist numbers are down.

• The monarchy is as popular as it ever was to be honest. Its been two good years for them, with the Royal Wedding and the Jubilee. The only way was up for them after the 90s in fairness. They had to do some serious PR work, primarily built on the Queen’s reputation. Charles and Camilla have been here before in their own private capacity, no one is stopping them from coming over. The Queen’s visit gave Ireland good press over here in Britain too. I thought the Gardai went a bit over the top with security at the time but looking back now, I shudder to think of the sh*t we’d be in if something happened to her while she was visiting our country…

• As a person who finds monarchies to be ridiculous I cannot see why the Irish government as republicans would be pushing for this.
    Falling over people who have achieved nothing and are called ‘Duke & Dutchess’ just doesn’t seem right to me.

• Since when did Fine Gael become Republican?

• I don’t think I can agree with you on this one Ian. Every pole that I have ever seen suggests that the British people are happy with their system, so I say good luck to them. The Duke will one day become king and will be the head of state, I can’t see how it’s bad to have the future head of state over here for a goodwill visit. I don’t think anybody would even notice if the Dutch, Danish or Swedish royalty came here.

• @brian ward: FIne Gael are the government of a country that is a republic. I’m not talking about Northern Ireland when I say they are republican

@pierce2020 Never heard any Polish people talking about British Royal Family,.

• @Ian, sorry mate I don’t really understand your point.

• @peirce2020 It was just a joke as you wrote ‘poles’ instead of ‘polls’ which I found to be a funny difference!

• @Ian, laughed my ass off, thanks, damn auto correct

• Agreed with you Ian, but just to add, admittedly FG are in government in a Republic but they choose to ignore that in favour of governing for IrelandInc and its vested interests.
      Their attraction to monarchy and other unelected figures in Europe for example is quite easy to understand.

• “I don’t think anybody would even notice if the Dutch, Danish or Swedish royalty came here”

This is exactly the point.

Wills and Kate only go visiting their Colonies and ex-Colonies to further what’s left of British Imperial interest. Culture is a powerful tool in politics. The Brits know they can’t rule the waves in the way they once did. Their aim is to focus on projecting their Imperial values onto the world now, maintain their isolationism in Europe and participate in the odd intervention á la Libya. Basically they want to punch above their weight. They don’t have the military capability to do so, but they have the Royal family to push their global influence.

Tell me that’s not true when you see the media in Australia, Canada (and by default the US) fawn over the royals and the streets lined with people waving a flag that isn’t even theirs!

• lets post them a few board failte flyers. sure they can locate a few affordable B&Bs around the countrt and if they book in time Ryanair flights from London to Dublin are very reasonable. Why not encourage them?

• And still we squander, do we not owe someone some money somewhere? Thought I read something about a recession or something, No? must be mistaken….ah well, yeah bring them over, sure what’s 20 million when your rolling in it.

• I find Irish peoples reaction to these Royal visits rather ironic. On the one hand admonishing capitalist traitors like Seánie Fitz, Seán Quinn, etc., bemoaning the inequality in our society & the obscene wealth and privilege of the political elite, while at the same time lauding these British Royals, the very worst representation of privilege, elitism & inequality.

As James Connolly put it – “The mind accustomed to political kings can easily be reconciled to social kings – capitalist kings of the workshop, the mill, the railway, the ships and the docks. Thus coronation and king’s visits are by our astute neversleeping masters made into huge Imperialist propagandist campaigns in favour of political and social schemes against democracy”

• Chill out. This is not 1913. The royals are now just the head of state of our biggest trading partner. In spite of enforced dependency nature of our past relationship with Britain you cannot ignore the number of Irish that have emigrated there since the famine. Devalera’s isolationist policies pushed more Irish to Britain, followed by a steady stream of enigmants in the 1980s. Now we are in the same mess again. They may represent capitalism and privilege to you but we recently hosted and tipped our hat to China’s next leader. Human rights. Nepal, all swept under the carpet so we can fumble in the greasy till. Seanie Fitzpatrick in relative terms, is a pimple on the arse of humanity. Get your priorities right.

• I have my priorities right thank you. Having an opinion on one issue does not cancel out other considerations, I am not suggesting a potential Royal is the worst of our problems. If you cared to address my point, it is that these visits condition people to accept privilege, elitism & inequality. Which is prevalent in our society despite your dismissive attitude.

The Royals are not merely “the head of state of our biggest trading partner”, they are the embodiment of everything that is wrong in our society, i.e. imperialism, capitalism. Also, “you cannot ignore the number of Irish that have emigrated there since the famine” – who’s ignoring this? But more to the point, what exactly have these people gained from the British monarchy? Your point about China is irrelevant, you seem to be suggesting that inviting foreign monarchs, war mongers, human rights abusers is somehow a necessary evil. What hope for society if these savage hypocrisies are not challenged?

• “Devalera’s isolationist policies pushed more Irish to Britain, followed by a steady stream of enigmants in the 1980s.”

The hangover (which continues to this day) of a culture of mass emigration engendered by Landlordism and enforced at the point of British bayonets and Malthusian economic policy

You should get your priorities right in learning where the anti-social culture of emigration actually originates from. The reality is that it will be an impossibility to ever do away with emigration while Britain still occupies any part of Ireland, as the remainder will never stand on its own.

The partial “freedom” gained by the Free State and the British empire still in the north created the conditions of subservience to have the Twenty-Six Counties dominated by the European empire less than a century later. That much is clear.

• And may I add. Show them that we are better then some bigots up north and show those same bigots that we are better then them.

• Its not the bigotry its the overblown cheesefactor that makes alot of people want to puke.There just another celebrity sick to the stomach of celebrities been famous for been famous and doing F’all else really i remember when Diana died it was sad and tragic because a woman died but Mother Theresa died the same week she got a small mention in media circles so that says enough really some people embrace the plastic others are sick to death of it..

• Damocles 02/08/12 #

He shouldn’t need to invite to visit a country that owes his granny’s government all that money, he should be able to come and go as he wishes.

• as if that money was given with good will – no punitive interest rates attached or anything? and no benefit for the Brits long term?

• Hey Kerron, you need to stop eating lemons dude, they’re making you very, very bitter! You don’t half spout some amount left wing IRA nonsense when it comes to all things ‘Brit’, you obviously have a vicious hatred of the British? What did they ever do to you I wonder. Still your not alone in having the ‘Big Bad Brits persecution of poor Paddy’ mentality, there’s plenty more keyboard rebels posting on this site, just the mention of the words British or Royal is enough to work you all up into a frenzy and it’s 1798 all over again! Get the pikes out!

• I have no issue with the English working-class as long as they don’t support the occupation of Ireland. I always have a good time when I’m in England with the people there. This is not what’s at issue. It’s a typical deflection tactic by people who want to vilify any sort of Irish Republican sentiment to say “oh you must be anti-English”

I’d like to think my mentality is in the tradition of the unity of the radicals in both the United Irishmen AND the United Englishmen, of the unity between the English Chartists AND the Fenians

please don’t buy into the common misconception that Irish Republicans are anti-English. It’s simplistic and false

and by the way “keyboard rebels” – lol. I’m politically active in the real world. Just because I leave a few comments on here I’m hardly a cyber warrior. And by the way I also comment on the great job our native Irish exploiters are doing at running Ireland!!

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

You can keep your Cromwellian anti-Monarchisms.

• oh no, don’t tell me you’ve bought into the hair brain theory that Cromwell somehow influence the United Irishmen?

• Damocles 03/08/12 #

No I’ve bought into the fact that the only person who successfully brought down the monarchy for any appreciable length of time was Oliver Cromwell, who isn’t exactly popular in Ireland.

• Yea!

• I wouldn’t come here if I was him. Look at all the nice places you could go instead?

• Enda is anything but Irish but thats a story for another day.William and his Mrs should and could come over anytime they like for a holiday sessun whatever they they feel like doing but the media and our Government should’nt be making the people of this country feel like some kind of deity’s have arrived on our shores.There just people who have been born into privilage. William is a RAF pilot and Kate is a model of some sort.They have done nothing special only get married and be born.Im sure “West Brit” Enda will have the quivering lip on show for the cameras .

• Meh. Bland and Blander. I’m sure it will boost sales of dresses from TK Maxx, or LK Bennett as wittering twits run out to buy the exact same dress Waity Katie will wear as she and her hair extensions beigely wander around Trinners.

• I think he should visit Kabul instead , we are paying enough taxes here without adding to the cost , the government should look at the cost and see what they might do with the money on the home front , perhaps it could be used to find a bed for some child on a hospital waiting list.

• Brian 02/08/12 #

Not news.

• Sick and tired reading comments about what it would cost to host another royal visit. There are some people here who wouldn’t invite their own mother to visit. As a Dublin man, as a Irishman I would like to see them visit the country I was born in and the city I was raised in.

• Could Hello magazine pay for it? By all means they should come here in an unofficial capacity but they should be treated no differently than a footballer and his wag in my opinion.
      We didn’t pay for Victoria Beckhams visit the other week so why pay for these two?

• “As a Dublin man, as a Irishman I would like to see them visit the country”

What does that even mean? empty platitude of the day goes to you

“I was born in and the city I was raised in.”

you want an award or something?

• Kerron, I’m not asking for a award. Just simply saying that I would welcome anyone who wanted to visit my city or country.

• “the city that fought an Empire”

you ever hear that one Declan?

this family represents the same army that occupied Dublin and it embodies the same arrogance and lack of respect toward Dublin that sent the Helga down the Liffey to flatten our great city in 1916

• Kerron, who the fcuk are you to tell me the history of 1916 in Dublin!!! I was born in Dublin, I grew up in Dublin, I went to a school founded by a man who was interned in wales because of his involvement in the war of independance, my grandfather was captured by the black and tans and spent 6 months in kilmainham! I had 9 years of Irish history taught to me in school!!! Cut this shite talk of yours out!! I was happy to see the queen in Dublin and am more then happy to see will and kate come over. Ireland and England’s history is not black and white. Get yourself educated!!!

• for any Republican, Socialist or Progressive individual rejecting the symbolic manifestation of imperialism and class oppression IS black and white

how about you educate yourself on how human kind can progress (it’s not be licking the boots of our “betters), read some political theory or something then get back to me.

• Kerron, I will have to get back to you on that as I’m on vacation. No interest in political theory right now. Right now it’s life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Regards from Maine. I’ll send you a postcard.

• It will cost the state too much money to have then visit !!! Have we not got enough problems !!!

• Big deal.

• mcbab 02/08/12 #

Ha great comment Damocles! Doesn’t take much to get some people hot and bothered. Thought Cal was writing a novel ! Must be a slow day at work for him.

Add New Comment