TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Kenny slams Sinn Féin ‘witch hunt’ against Minister for Health

Sinn Féin has demanded an explanation as to why emergency wards in Kilkenny and Wexford had upgrades ‘fast-tracked’.

Enda Kenny said political charges against James Reilly were a
Enda Kenny said political charges against James Reilly were a "witch hunt".

THE TAOISEACH has slammed Sinn Féin for its political “witch hunt” against the Minister for Health, James Reilly, after the party demanded explanations on why hospital emergency departments in Wexford and Kilkenny – the home towns of two ministers – were fast-tracked.

Kenny said he could understand the reasons for Sinn Fein’s political charges against the minister, defending the decision to expedite hospital works at Wexford General Hospital and St Luke’s Hospital in Kilkenny.

Upgrade works in both facilities had been “in the pipeline” since 2006, the Taoiseach said, saying his government was not prepared to allow Wexford’s emergency unit to continue operating from a converted pharmacy, or St Luke’s to use pre-fab facilities.

“Any public representative would understand that these are two major hospitals,” he said, recalling that Mary Harney had described trolley waiting times as “a national emergency” in 2006.

“Both of these projects languished to the capital programme since then,” he said.

Look at the outcome here. Instead of having more reports, more capital programmes, more proposals sitting on shelves with nothing happening, it’s about time we moved [...] it’s past time we got on with this.

The comments followed the release of documents obtained by RTÉ which revealed that the HSE board had not been informed of the decision to fast-track the hospital procedures until after the respective ministers, Brendan Howlin and Phil Hogan, had publicly announced the works.

RTÉ’s documents also revealed that the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform – run by Howlin himself – had agreed to provide an extra €14 million to fund the works in Wexford.

Kenny was responding to Sinn Fein’s Gerry Adams, who had demanded to know the criteria by which the two hospitals concerned were chosen to be fast-tracked ahead of others where new facilities were equally needed.

“Why was the HSE not told until after the ministers had made the announcement?” he asked, adding: “I have to say, I admire your loyalty to your minister.”

Read: Documents show ministers announced hospital works before HSE Board knew

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (87 Comments)

• Iran sends monkeys to the moon, we send them to the cabinet.

• Yeah, God damn shinners wanting Reilly to answer questions about stuff he’s done that stinks of stroke politics.

• If they had power, they’d do the same thing. First and foremost, you represent the people who elected you. You’re primary purpose is to represent them. You wouldn’t be happy if you called your TD about a pot hole and he replied “can’t give you a new road unless everyone gets one, that’d be stroke politics”.

Helping colleagues in your party with local issues isn’t an issue for me. Sinn Fein whining because they’ll never be in a position to do the same.

• Wow John, that is an amazing piece of logic used in a rebuttal .. Bloody unbelievable, you might as well have said, its OK, and that everyone should do it… or am i reading your comment incorrectly?

• Eh, I think you will find your primary priority is to represent the people of the country? People are elected to Dáíl EIREANN, not Dáíl Gaillimh, Dáíl Corcaigh, etc. If you want to represent only those in your county, get elected to the county council!

• John, I don’t know what your obsession is with Sinn Féin but you seem to comment on any articles they’re mentioned in and staunchly defend Fine Gael, maybe it’s really a ‘US Republicans hate Socialism’ thing. I’ve voted in 4 general elections and only voted Sinn Féin once for the record, in the last election, unfortunately most of my fellow countrymen thought that the FG/Lab combination would be the equivalent of storming the Bastille. Right now, in this country, Sinn Féin are the only alternative to Fianna Fáil, Fianna Gael, Labour, the Greens, and the eternally divided United Left Alliance. The current leaders of the party have big question marks over their heads, but their capacity and experience as politicians cannot be questioned. Yes, 20% of current Sinn Féin TD’s could be potentially linked to the nasty side of The Troubles, but people need to build a bridge and get over it and stop electing the same parties in again and again, if Sinn Féin aren’t up to it, vote them out, and then vote for FF and FG again in 8 year cycles.

• Well once the ordinary people are benefiting I don’t really care as to how something came about. You represent your constituents in a parliament of other representatives. If you cared more about the people in Galway than Dublin south you wouldn’t be re-elected in Dublin South.

• People like John really believe this stuff ie everybody would be at it if only they could. Probably a church going Christian too.

• @Gaius – I think you’ll find Sinn Feinn won the fourth largest amount of seats in the last election, with less than 10% of the popular vote. People had alternative options but chose FG and labour.

Btw, I’d be inclined to believe it was less about the past and more about Sinn Fein and the lefts in generals absolute lack of plausible economic plans. Amazingly, flirting with the non-voting lower class (sponges) won’t get you into power as it’s the informed elderly and middle class who vote in large numbers.

• John D stopped reading ur dribble after 3rd line.
      No u represent the People of Eire, not just those who agree/vote for u.

Wake up

• As per last weekends Sunday Times poll of our political parties, Sinn Féin are at 19%, 2 percent behind FF (21%) and 9% behind FG (28%), (Labour at 11% by the way, behind the Independents and only above the Greens). IF you hadn’t noticed John, Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Labour’s economic policies have been the equivalent of a biblical apocalypse. So, by saying ‘ha ha, look at Sinn Féin’s economic policy, what a joke’, you are basically endorsing the status quo and saying the current government are doing a great job, a few people in Ireland might disagree. I hate people taking advantage of their fellow tax-payers by abusing social welfare more than anyone, but this bank bailout is costing this country multiples upon multiples of that amount. When it comes to Spongers vs White-Collar Parasites, I know who I blame most.

• A big Sap who’s scared of his the men he’s supposed to be in charge of.

• What a sap of a man you’re turning out to be Enda. Frightened of the very men you’re supposed to be in charge of. Vincent Brown was spot on with his dark room and bottle of whiskey remark.

• @ Gaius – the polls never reflect how people will vote. And quite honestly, the figures you’ve quoted indicate a general satisfaction with the economic policies of FG and FF who together are polling nearly enough for a majority coalition government. Throw in a few indos and they’ll have it.

Also, those polls include people who actually won’t bother voting. Look at the demographics of those who vote, they’re not the sort of people who vote sinn fein or don’t pay taxes.

• Think you might be in for a wee shock next time out John.. Firstly, it’s widely known that many people are reluctant to admit openly, as in a poll, to being a Sinn Fein voter.. Secondly, if any party can mobilise its electorate to get out and vote, it’s Sinn Fein.. Lastly, voter dissatisfaction with the govt. is very high, so expect the “protest vote” to reflect that.. Don’t worry John, you’ll have plenty of time to vent your spleen when Sinn Fein are in govt..

• Sorry John, the polls had a 3.3% margin of error, granted opinions change from month to month, as for your slant on those disgusting plebs who don’t vote, as far as I know The Times and Business Post deliberately targeted regular voters in this particular poll

• Having said that, Sinn Féin had three options of getting into power, with FG (never happen), FF (never happen), and Sinn Féin could form a majority with Labour, but that party are now too enamoured with big business and can’t see their James Connolly from their Brussel’s Arse. Realistically, in this country, I never see an alternative type of government happening, so long as you have Young FG;s and Labour Youth canvassing in yellow t-shirts at Stephens Green for Europe this and Europe that, we’re all going to be continually f**ked up the ass, so long as you have USI leaders with aspirations to get into FG/FF/Lab who are attached to the 3 main political parties, we’re always going to be f**cked. I’m not saying Sinn Féin, the Socialist Party, People Before Profit, are the answer, but we’re getting no answer from the dominant parties

• The polls accurately reflected how US voters would vote last November, when your fellow-Tea Party loons were saying Romney (who?) had it in the bag. They even said the exit polls were wrong and Romney would romp.

Keep your stupid Tea Party drivel for your (US) Republican cohorts.

• @ Gaius – I’d agree that this government or any made up primarily of teachers/ultra nationalists would not be successful. What we needed was Declan Ganley and Libertas, for a fairer libertarian approach.

• @John Duggan- If you’re a FG footsoldier at grassroot level, can you imagine the strokes being pulled at the top and what a shower of W&*%ers FG really are?

• Sorry John, you are completely entitled to your opinion, but, for me, right-leaning, conservative, Christian political thinking is anathema to the advancement of mankind, and we’ll never agree on political ideologies

• M Bowe 29/01/13 #

So ministers using public funds to hopefully shore up a future elector vote is ok with u. And u don’t see a problem with that???

• FG or FF? I can’t tell the difference anymore.

• Show us the criteria Mr. Reilly!

• Gerry expecting Enda to answer a direct question?Don’t hold your breath Gerry,you’ll have a long wait.

• Julie 29/01/13 #

Shame on you Enda , calling it a witch hunt, you don’t fool us. Answer the bloody questions and stop using the same tactic against SF to not answer questions it is pathetic at this stage and just showing how incompetent you really are

• I saw the debate live, and i must say, the answers Kenny gave were pure spoof, he said that the hospitals that got the approvals for upgrades, were working their A&E out of pre-fabs… except he didnt think anyone would know any different…. he got challenged on his assertion. He was made look a fool … although these days, that is not hard for him.
    The funniest part though was FF TD standing up challenging FG on cronyism … Hello … Pot, Kettle … Black ..
    FG really are continuity FF ….. FFG

• It’s actually not a witch hunt, it’s a hunt for corrupt ministers and they seem to have found one. Someone should tell him.

• SL 29/01/13 #

Can’t beat Kenny’s slamming skills. He is like a pussycat in Europe. Only slams at home.

• Why isn’t the title of the article

‘Kenny refuses to answer questions put to him by Sinn Fein’?

• as is his norm, Kenny didn’t answer the question posed.
    he, abley assisted by his Labour lackeys, treats the Dáil & the people of this state, with disdain

• When you live in a banana republic what else can you except. hundreds of millions spent on tribunals finding people corrupt and not even one criminal brought to justice instead one still jets around with a Irish diplomatic passport. Leo has revise the “Bertie bowl” on this turf spending borrowed money to enhance his chances of re-election. tourism projects has been given millions in both wexford and Kilkenny sanctioned by hogan. While Brian Cowen was in power tullamore got a new hosipial. The list is endless and goes back to the 70′s. Councillors get council houses for family members in their area to increase their chances of re-election. I believe that the real reason the HSE was setup was to deflect public criticism away from politicians who can always say ” it was the hse who decided to locate that hosipial/primary care centre in my area”. Of course there are honest politicians but the “whip” system is there to beat them down and keep them quite. Lack of leadership and allowing ministers to get away with stroke politics only encourages this type of behaviour. we gave political party’s 13.9 million in 2012 to keep them honest but they still except money from business and vested interests and complain that the limit is too low. O’Reilly, Hogan and Howlin are only the tip of the iceberg until we have an independent justice system like in a real democracy nothing will ever change.

• kat365 29/01/13 #

I take it Reilly chose not to speak after all? And here I was looking forward to his trying to wriggle out of it…

• If looking for simple answers to simple questions is seen as engaging in a witch-hunt, we may aswell scrap the talking-shop altogether. Whats the point in having “leaders questions” at all?

• Kenny & Co. a bunch of arrogant dodgers

• I said this morning the spin would be hilarious or down right affronting, yep i was right. They couldn’t give two fcuks.

• Re-open Roscommon A+E dept and do the right thing and tell the truth and admit your lies Kenny and Reilly and then get out and do not come knocking on our doors for votes resign now

• There is no hunt. Reilly is the witch.

• Fools 29/01/13 #

How is it a witch hunt OReilly is as bad as Harney as minister of health.

• Enda Kenny reminds me of a septic tank …………full of shite

• Enda reminds me of talking to a 6 year old.
    Why did you do that?
    …because.
    Because why?
    …because.
    Thats not the answer! why did you do that?
    because…
    look just tell me why you did that!
    …because.
    Look because is not a answer there must be a reason!
    because..
    look I’m getting annoyed now! if you don’t tell me why you did that i’m not gonna be happy!
    ..because…because….because when you were in power you did x/y and Z and because. Now leave me alone..

• Lamb 29/01/13 #

Its more of a fact finding mission than a witch to be fair.

• Let’s face it the ONLY objective of a TD is to get re-elected, NOTHING else matters. All matters are directed to that end. Reilly, Kenny, Adams and everybody else in Dail E knows that Reilly stroked, that’s his bag, he is a Minister. Hogan and the others are also, that’s the game. The real question here is why wasn’t Wexford moved out of the pharmacy before? because the PDs weren’t prioritising it….. you can be sure that other medical places got the stroke

We could do with a major change in this, but don’t hold your breath, you neighbours will vote for the candidate who will ‘fix’ things for them.

• Ryan'O 29/01/13 #

The problem with the ‘fixing’ is who Reily is doing it for. And the ‘fixing’ only happens once you donate a fair few thousand or have tickets to a special tent. The average joe doesn’t get anything ‘fixed’ just the opposite infact. They get fcuked in the process!
      FG haven’t got a patch on the FF babies, these cheaters are far more capable and have wrecked so much in such a short amount of time.

FG 3 – FF 0

• Cylon 29/01/13 #

Is he not really unhealthy looking for a Minister for health? It doesn’t instil faith in the system. Though when I look at the others like Inda and Noonan I also wonder.

• James Reilly is corrupt to the core

• I’m sure Reilly will be fine if he quits – he’s a very wealthy GP – shock horror!

• Strokes and Lies=FG, AND LABOUR= CORRUPTION,Do anyone need a withch hunt its looking at you streight in the face, if you cannot see it you need to go to specsavers.

• the perception like it or not is that Minister Reilly & Tiger Woods are equally good at strokes!!

• I woulden’t give sinn fein a vote tomorrow
    but I tell ya one thing,
    Reilly’s strokes are out of the top drawer of the fianna fail dresser

• just dont go calling enda king of anything or in reference to herod the bastard.. king of the castle……. get off you bloody rascal..

• SHIT I GOT CENSORED… IS SOMEONE TRYING TO SHSHHH .. TAKE MY OPINION.. IS THAT LEGAL.. OR CAN I BE KILLED for expressing a thought.. seems so.. where mah type go..

• FF + FG + SF = FFS

• Reilly already answered for this. It was a logical logarithmic progression. I mean what part of that doesn’t SF and the people understand?

• whiskey in the jar…… good tunes.. old school

• I have to say to John Duggan -why not just do the honest thing and put Enda Kenny up as your Logo.

you come across as a serial stalker on here waiting to pounce every time there’s an issue involving the Sinn Fein party. Its like an obsession with you.

you make silly meaningless statements like SF policies are crazy etc without offering a shred of evidence to back up your claims. And you ignore the obvious that the alternative policies of FG/FF/LAb are the ones which have and are utterly failing.

John , gave it a rest and please dont insult our intelligence.

• may as well think out loud.

hence i get a lynch mob at my door…………………………. :O

• maybe hes doing his two times two multiplication tables or conas ata tu.. modh conniolach.. get back to the books and maybe upskill your qualification.. or school of hard knocks………. like a old school box in the ears or a mannerly system. or fobbing it off on you know.. smart asses.. and a lesson for speaking out against you know bad teachers or you know practice what you preach.. have we schools here that are first class or do they cost an arm or a leg .. …….. they employ who they know.. and foo the rest of us

maybe out of date or near expiry dates or rights to express an opinion hence we may get shunned or evicted. huh or convicted for things like you know. lessons…. old school or 2013.. are we going in time to 1845 etc for some or you know……… looking out for hope on horizons or leaving it to the teachers and the way the 2 + 2 equal 5 or – or have you got the details and figures for that spenditure. or tax accountable savings there or there.. is that the accountants expertise.. teachers….. with how many experts on the books………………… hence i die trying to voice an opinion but many would ask.. but then your not thinking long term… long term.. or you know only about profits.. or people? or whats a true aspect of leadership .. nor scamming it . i be quiet now… way to much thought. probably censor .. how many accountants in the dail….. how many teachers .. or lawyers.. how many working class people with the ratio of knowing how hard it is … to work as a student or you know.. not get it handed down or born with a … say no more

………. some things age better with a little lesson… mr kenny… mr o reilly .. can i speak or will we all be thrown out of homes or left to fend for scraps..

• Cowards who don’t go into politics or business and still attack the doers and triers are a sad bunch. They know themselves who they are

Add New Comment