TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Frill-seekers rejoice: ‘Lingerie Football’ is coming to Dublin

Women playing American football in their undies. Luckily it isn’t at all creepy.

SO, AMERICAN FOOTBALL. It’s kind of boring, right? All that stopping and starting, sappy helmets, nobody this side of Ellis Island really knows what’s going on. It’s a drag.

But get this: WHAT IF IT WAS ALL PLAYED BY WOMEN IN THEIR UNDERWEAR?

That’s the idea dreamed up by millionaire Mitch Mortaza, who founded the Lingerie Football League (LFL) in the US in 2009. And now it’s coming to Dublin.

Underwear-football news site LFL360 reported last month that the sport will launch a European league in 2014, with teams in Barcelona, Frankfurt, Rhein, Manchester and Dublin.

The justification? The LFL “has prospered beyond the US borders consistently picking up new international broadcasters and vast audiences”. In the US, games are played in arenas seating up to 20,000 people.

The European teams will play each other over the course of a season, with the winner advancing to the first ever Lingerie Football League World Bowl. No details are given as to where the LFL ladies might play in Dublin.

Wondering how it works? Well, two teams of seven ladies play full-contact football for two 17-minute halves. And what do they wear? Well, as Wikipedia puts it:

Shoulder pads, elbow pads, knee pads, garters, bras, panties, and ice hockey-style helmets with clear plastic visors in lieu of face masks.

This is what it looks like in practice:

YouTube/LingerieFootball

The sport started when Mitch Mortaza – whose nickname is Razor and whose biggest turn-on is “toe rings” – founded the Lingerie Bowl in 2003 as a pay-per-view event to run during the Superbowl half-time show.

Reports on the league, like this one in Florida’s Orlando Weekly, have said the live audience is “mostly beer-drinking college students”.

So, do YOU want to run out onto a sports field in your underwear without being arrested? This mildly odd how-to guide explains what to do:  (“What you will need: Athleticism. Lingerie.”)

YouTube/Howcast

Hat tip to nflireland on reddit

VIDEO: Fox News pundit drops F-bomb live on air… again>

Read next:

Comments (184 Comments)

• Are the Cheerleaders men? :-)

• Jingles 15/08/12 #

more water!

• Wooooooo!!!!! Finally some good news!!!

• I’m sure Katie Taylor is so hacked off…. All that talent, hard work and time spend in the gym when all she needed to do was wear a visor and knickers… what kind of respect have idiots who watch and/or take part in this farce have for women. Have our standards of feminism sunk so low, the only way we can be involved in televised sport is to strip off and titillate the audience. Feminism was driven by women’s right to be equal, to have the same choices as men. This has only served to create a society were it is now acceptable for women to appear near naked and for men to give their approval. No doubt this will be proven by hoards of men patronising me or insulting me and passing this sport off as ‘just a bit of fun’.

• Barro 15/08/12 #

In the words of Nelson Muntz – “Ha ha!”

I for one welcome our new lingerie wearing football playing overlords.

• How degrading to women.

• Lenny,
      According to your post men are idiots, patronising and insulting. What are your views on the women taking part?

• Lenny what is so different between women wearing lingerie and playing football and women wearing bikini’s and playing beach volley ball? Both sets of clothing are essentially the same thing. The only difference is that there is lace around the edges of the lingerie, other than that there is no difference between the competitors of either sport.

• jrbmc 15/08/12 #

I like this new sport but is that video not more creeper and perverse then the on that was on the journal last week about females at the Olympics???? The mind boggles at times , anyway when does it start and can you get a season ticket ??

• Old news, Ronaldo’s been getting away with it for years

• Wow! Those girls sure have sex appeal….whatever that used to be…..

• Lenny isn’t it a bit naive to judge these women without knowing anything about them. Their playing sport in underwear big deal never stops the women drooling over the likes of Beckham and other such males who model underwear.

Feminism should not mean ye all go around covered up head to toe and not have fun. And as a matter of interest how will you describe the countless women who will no doubt attend the game

• And of course, Lenny, you would never ogle scantly-clad men getting all hot and bothered in similar circumstances ..?

• Adrian, what a cheap shot…
      Your right I wouldn’t. I don’t find the likes of the Chipendales, the least bit alluring, I don’t drool over David Beckham or his ilk. My attraction towards men tends more towards the strength and talent of each individual more then degrading them for my own amusement and enjoyment. This line of ‘what good for the goose’ serves only to justify your opinion of women, not mine of men.

• Lenny. You are offically no fun.

• Adrian,
      Real fun is never obvious, it sneaks up behind you and scares the f€@k out of you…. stockings and suspenders are optional!!!

• Cake Con 19/09/12 #

Yes yes, real women engage in this “sport” (are they amateur or are they paid??) And yes women will watch but the sad reality is that most women aren’t in fact feminists, cos we don’t really talk about gender equality in any meaningful way as a society. We talk about it in terms of equal pay and bums on seats in Dail Eireann and on corporate boards. Its really uncool to think that maybe your not a piece of furniture, that you have a body that has a function beyond appeasing men and competing with other women. But forget women, this sport is patronising to men!! Do men need to see women in lingerie to appreciate women’s sport.. No actually they don’t. Katy Taylor is a great example, as is the heavy traffic I was stuck in coming from Wexford on Sunday when thousands came to watch the camogie final. In Ireland we have a particularly good repuation and rank highly in the world for the support (spectators) of women sports. Please don’t miss the fact that this isn’t actually sport in the any sense of the word this is a business venture who’s sole aim is to generate income. This isn’t about health and well-being, this isn’t a sport that can be promoting with younger generations (I’m a youth worker). Its not about promoting self-esteem, confidence and all the things that real sport does. Those led by their mickey’s are being taken for a ride, and not the one the neanderthal brains were hoping for.

• Late night Radio stations will be on this topic tonight fact !!

• If I wasnt 40 and had great body I’d be up for it!

• News flash: Dublin hospitals are overflowing with 20,000 men suffering with RSI injuries to their wrists.

• Well, it worked for beach volley ball!

• Wait till the people who hated the hunky dory adds here this they’ll have a conniption! I myself am hoping for a load of rain and a muddy field at this fine sporting event and a mass wardrobe malfunction ;)

• If its ok for every Irish model to stand around Dublin in a bikini advertising HB ice cream with out people saying there setting the feminist movement back 20 years. I see no problem with fit girls showing the bits they they like to show off. The same girls moaning about this would have no issue with male strippers at a hen night. It’s not Iran people. Lighten up and where can I get tickets

• Where can I buy tickets???

• What’s all the fuss about? It’s like Olympics beach volleyball with a helmet. Now maybe if they were wearing crotchless panties…..

• “Down with this sort of thing!”

• Just checking: society is supposed to be moving FORWARD right?

• jarpar 15/08/12 #

Looks like pants to me!

• Women in their undies! Creepy?!?!?!?!?!…….. Seriously.
    Bomchicka-wah-wah!!!!!!!

• My husband will be ecstatic, he’s already suffering withdrawal symptoms since the Olympics finished. Beach volleyball, synchronised swimming, hockey etc. It is basically the Hunky Dory ads coming to life, what man won’t be pleased? No harm from what I can see….

• Glad to see one woman taking it in the right spirit – not very seriously!

• Cake Con 19/09/12 #

Ah here!.. the harm is that women’s sports should now be sexy…. Can you beleive it. I nation full of brilliant and dedicated female athelete’s and sportswomen most of whom are amatuer and who already battle to have their sports taken as seriously as mens. Now you want to say that women who play sport should be sexy…. Men who genuinely are into sport.. As it they take fitness, physicality, the mental prepartion needed and the dedication required to be top of your field should be disgusted because it completely undermines the mindset that underpins what makes good sportswomen, it will disempower womens participation in sport cos it makes sport about sex now too.. More importantly I think it patronises men who watch womens sports and portrays them as boarderlin mickey rubbing sex pests. Womens sports have merit in their own right, and women athelete’s have a value far beyond their sexual attractiveness.

• Well said Tommy C. As a feminist I believe in choice and these women have a choice to use their brain or their bodies. But I believe most men would respect Katie Taylor mre than any of these girls and if they want to be treated like sex objects let them be, and if men want to pay good money to watch let them be too. I agree with Maire that it’s for airheads (both the women who play and the men who watch). I wouldn’t want my daughter to emulate these girls I’d feel I let her down and educated her poorly.

• Can they not have the choice to use their brains and their bodies?

Katie Taylor is no more deserving of respect than the next person. I respect her achievements and the effort she put in to getting where she is. However it is crazy to say I should respect her more than these women (who I don’t know, so can’t judge) The only people I respect more than the average person (Olympic athletes and all) are those who work hard and make sacrifices for the good of other. I’m pretty sure I don’t need list them.

This is clearly a part time gig for these women, so how do you know some of them aren’t nurses or social workers? Careers clearly deserving of respect. You don’t and shame on you for presuming they are thick because they are attractive.

• Audrey on what basis due you feel that you have the right to call these women airheads. Are you privy to their educational qualifications or academic careers? Read the story of Jaime Diamonds http://www.playerpress.com/articles/inspiration-/ If she was a man or didn’t play in this sport would she be heroic? Or read this article http://www.lvrj.com/sports/lingerie-players-proud-to-put-skin-in-the-game-127188708.html “Tracee Thomas, who ran the 100 meters in 10.9 seconds…. Cassandra Strickland, a 47-foot triple jumper, and Sunshine Misa-Uli, who played college basketball as a 6-foot power forward for Houston, as examples of real athletes.” Are these athletes airheads?

The irony is that you argue that these women are seen as nothing more than sex objects by men yet you have treated them no better in objectifying them as airheads. You have judged them solely on what they wear and not on who they are or what they have achieved. Are you sure that feminism is right for you?

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Brian and King, if these women were genuinely athletes then they wouldnt need to be prancing around in their underwear. they know well that no one is going to remember anything about the game other than someone got a wedgie on the pitch.
      If someone was a genuinely outstanding athlete, they wouldnt need to be running around in full make up in their jocks.

• Tommy where is it written in stone that to be an athlete you can’t wear lingerie? You obviously didn’t bother to read my comment about Tracee Thomas http://www.usctrojans.com/sports/c-track/mtt/thomas_tracee00.html and here http://www.athletemodels.com/alb.asp?aid=28 . Look at her athletic accomplishments and tell me that she is not a real athlete.

Are you seriously trying to say that if an athlete takes part in a sport wearing lingerie she no longer is an athlete. By that reasoning it’s just as well Katie Taylor didn’t box in her jocks or else should wouldn’t have won a gold medal!

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Brian, of course a female can model and be an athlete! My point is that this cheapens womens sporting achievements.
      Already there are men on here who slag off female GAA players for example. They do not take many female athletes seriously. Only recently on this site there were all sorts of comments regarding the appearance of female Olympians. They were called lesbians, men etc if they in anyway had any sort of muscles.
      Womens sport will never progress or be taken seriously if men feel that the only thing worth commenting on is how the athletes look.
      This event is being sold as a sporting event when it is not. i dont know if you have kids but I want my daughter to get her self worth from her family, her achievements, her society etc and not how asthetically pleasing she is to men.
      If they want to show off their bits, why not be strippers but why the need to pretend they are in this for the sport?
      The US really isnt as progressive as they like to think.
      Brian, katie didnt need to box in her underwear because she is a true athlete. The Olymoic council suggested the female boxers wear skirts. She said ‘I dont wear mini skirts on nights out so Im not going to wear them in the ring’. Spoken like a true athlete.

• Tommy if you are so worried about women showing off their bits as you say then why not give out about gymnasts, or tennis players, runners, in fact any woman athlete who isn’t wearing attire reminiscent of the Victorian era! Anne Kournikova was the highest earning tennis player in her day yet never won a major title. Why? Was she condemned for showing off her bits? Have you even looked at a game in the Lfl? If I got hit by even half those tackles I’s end up in A and E! You seem to have no problem with women in any other sport wearing clothing that is basically the same as the Lingerie athletes except you seem to have pathological aversion to a ribbons and the extra bit of lace that the women footballers wear.

You give out when women compete in sports and are wrongfully slagged off as lesbians or being too masculine, yet when they look feminine you give out as well! What is it that you want? Some sort of androgynous humanoids running around the place with no obvious sex organs? These women are the embodiment of empowerment as it is their choice to compete in this sport. No-one is holding a gun to their heads and they make a living off the back of it. If this wasn’t a sport then they must be wasting their time training, getting fit, learning the plays and traveling all over the country when as you say they could be strippers.

There is one flaw in your argument ,actually there are a lot but I have to go out so I’ll leave you with this.
      Strippers take off their clothes in public (or private) these women don’t. I’m fairly confident (having watched some of the tackling in the games) that if you came face to face with come of these ladies and compared them to strippers you would come out the worst of it.

You call Katie Taylor a true athlete because of her abilities and not her dress, rightfully so. Yet you judge these women by their dress and not their abilities. Sounds like hypocrisy to me.

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Brian, in the sports you mentioned, men and women athletes wear similar clothing which is suitable for the sport they are participating.
      Men do not play AF in their underwear therefore its pretty obviousl that this is for pure titillation and not for the sake of the game at all.
      Kournikova was not known for her tennis skills, she was known for how she looks which is my point in the fist place for this knicker team.
      You are well aware that there is a difference sports wear and lingerie, please dont pretend otherwise.
      Yes i gave out about women being called lesbians etc because of how they look, my issue is women being judged at all on how they look at all. This completely distracts from what they have achieved in the sporting world.
      Strippers can also spend their time getting fit etc, it still doesnt make what they do sport.
      How these women dress and the reason they are on these teams is for titillation. If they were serious about this sport then theyd dress similar to the men who play.
      Lingerie wearing is for no other reason then to appear sexy so why pretend its secondary to the sport?

• @ Tommy – since you use her as an example, what if Kate Taylor decided to box in a skimpy outfit and wear make up? Is that her choice or is she not a real athlete because of it? Listen to what you are saying! Like most of the other feminists commenting, you are judging these women on their appearances. Not on what they can do.

• Brian you’re not a woman, so don’t dare say what is empowering for women.

Running around in underwear being leered at is not empowering.

• @ Kate – You forgot to say in your opinion.

• No I didn’t

• Ladies and Gentlemen, Kate here has announced herself the Empress of all women, as she can speak for them all.

• Brian
      You say that what they are wearing makes no difference, that a little bit of lace etc takes nothing away from their ability as athletes, then why are these ladies doing so. In all my correspondence, I have not insulted or made any assumptions about these women’s abilities or talents. Yet you have assumed that this athletes are happy to wear this ridiculous tat for the attention of men. I assume that most of you men, without the visual aid on this page, would have passed over it, not giving a jot about women’s talent in sport…. That’s hypocrisy.

• Kate, I will dare to say what ever I want and neither you nor anyone else will tell me otherwise.
      You call yourself a feminist and look for equality of the sex’s and yet you discriminate against me because I am a man! Only women can say what is right for women and no men are allowed to express any position on women’s issues because they are men. Good luck on your ever trying to claw back any credibility from that position.

Lenny, I know you haven’t insulted or made any assumptions about the women who take part in this sport, others have. Yes I have assumed that the women taking part are happy to wear their kit. Why do I assume this, because they are playing on the field in their kit of their own free will. I also assume that there are no armed guards ready to shoot any dissenters. I assume that they were not sold into slavery or that their families are being held hostage. Why can you not accept the fact that these women WANT to play and no-one is FORCING them to do so?

I find it ironic that two of the so called “feminists” on this thread are the ones who brought “strippers” and “prostitutes” into their arguments. This is the sort of language that is currently emanating from Saudi as regards the 2 women athletes that represented their country. The Sharia loving Saudi’s were more interested in what the athletes were wearing than the athletes abilities. The feminists here are giving out about the kit that the women are wearing in this “degrading sport” (your words) and ignoring there athleticism. Sharia and feminism, strange bedfellows indeed!

The difference between here and Saudi Arabia is that here the women who compete get to choose what they wear and if they don’t like it they don’t have to take part. It’s their choice, they have control over their lives, (that’s empowerment Kate, I dare say). It’s up to them as to what they want to wear and not be told by anybody else other wise. What next, a dress code for the beach, the bar, a nightclub?

As for passing over the article without the pic, I would have looked at the article anyway as the headline “Frill-seekers rejoice: ‘Lingerie Football’ is coming to Dublin” doesn’t mention women so the thought of the upcoming Army/Navy game being played by 300lb men clad in suspenders is going to get any man( and is dare say women) morbidly curious.

• Great news !! And it always rains here so they will have to play wet !!!

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

I really hope my daughter tries to emulate Katie Taylor and not this crowd.

• Opps! Looks like women’s boxing has also gone done the route of lewdness http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltcSJTJ_K7E Bikini Boxing

• mattoid 15/08/12 #

I really hope you give your daughter the freedom to make her own choices, and show her respect and support whatever they are.

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

mattoid, I bring my daughter up with enough self respect and self esteem to know that hard work pays off a la Katie Taylor. These girls are getting by on the fact that plenty of men are sad enough to support them financially because they want to see some flesh and are not interested in their sporting prowess. My daughter WILL NOT sell herself to get by.

• @Tommy – Hypothetically speaking, what if your daughter decided to do something like this some day? Would you tell her she isn’t allowed?

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

King, when my daughter is an adult, she can do what she wants however, i do not have to approve of everything she does and if she decided to go down this route then I would tell her that I think objectifying herself is wrong and that there are many other ways to excel in sport other than preforming nearly naked and just for mens amusement.
      maybe if i went along to one of her ‘games’ and leered at her friends on the time like a pervert, she’d quickly quit the team!

• @ Tommy- Thanks for an honest answer. I’ve no problem with you having those views…but the only thing I have an issue with is you saying that women who take part in this are doing it for the enjoyment of men (or a lesbians not allowed in also)….did you ever think these women do it because they might enjoy it?

• OU812 15/08/12 #

Ordering my season ticket

• I’ll be there.

• And the complete objectification of women is complete ! Honestly sad and disgusting story !

• I’d make a fortune at that ! They’d pay me to go away lol

• Hahaha good shout Debi!! Something for everyone!!! :-)

• Bruce 15/08/12 #

Droool!…….. Roll on camogie!

• happy days

• Wait a second, if the feminism movement’s goal is to make women equal to men.. well.. how is this part of that? I have never seen men playing football in their undies or walking almost naked in night clubs… it’s all attention seeking IMO

• wonder who gets the job to carry and use the magic sponge during the game? :-P …

• That’s why I Love The Journal
    I wonder can they run in slow motion

• They might have a problem swapping jerseys after the match!

• wow, that’s sexy, as only a woman can be. just like Mary blacks song says….. on-ly. a wom-man, on-ly a woman, on-ly.. a woman’s. arse can be……. la la lala la…… la la la la la lala..

:-)

• bob 15/08/12 #

bout time,sure page 3 has been running for decades and the millitent feminists have all but giving up with the sun.its all good,if you don’t like,don’t look! not for me,but doesn’t bother me either!

• John
      Really, that’s all you can come up with….

• All these women giving out……sure, they’ve been dwelling over the finest of fine pasty white battered shinned legs the GAA has to offer!!!!! How feckin short do those shorts need to be!!! (or at least used to be).

• Yea Lenny because all the page 3 girls must feel so degraded earning more in a month then I bet you do in a year or living a VIP lifestyle. Must be terrible on them. Just think of it as a daily celebration of the female form, it always used to perk me up on a cold building site in the depths of winter.

• John, If money is the only form of success you judge people on then you have just proven my point. Women need to be encourage to succeed for their self worth not some horny bloke on a cold winters morning.

• It’s irrelevant whether you look or not. If it objectifies women and sets a bad example, it will do it regardless of whether the “Militant feminists” look at it or not. It’s not a matter of taste.

Again, if there was no case for feminism here, you would see precisely the same sort of nonsense with men in it getting an equal amount of exposure. But you don’t. Even though there’s more focus on men’s sport in the first place.

• John Ryan, so basically you’re saying it’s a good thing that we present getting your kit off and using your body to make money as a particularly lucrative venture for young women? And you wonder why feminists might have a problem with you?

Again – do the exact same thing for guys, in equal volume, then you can at least *claim* there isn’t an issue. But there is. If women are made thing their bodies are more valuable their minds and skills it has a negative effect on society.

• Well, you obviously wouldn’t want to see your sister as that is sick like but it’s only a bit of fun too. If my girl wanted to do it I’d say go for it. Just cause you don’t agree with something doesn’t make it wrong. People are always gonna have opinions. The church outlaws gay marriage, does that make it wrong? I love how one person tries to speak for the entire female population. Watch the YouTube videos. The girls have a ball. They are confident enough in their appearance to use it to their benefit so fair play to them. Models also prance about in their underwear but they get paid to do it. It’s not like these girls are drug addicts coming out of rehab. If I was good looking enough and fit enough I’d be a model no sweat, but that doesn’t make me jealous of models. Not everyone can get a desk job… There aren’t enough of them.

The moral of my rant is cheer up. No one asked you to play it.

• Ciaran I am a very happy go lucky person and I am very cheered up thanks. Listen I am not going to picket outside the venues but as a young attractive woman (so I’ve been told) I would still be mortified running around a football pitch wearing that pink get up. I have watched the clips and I don’t see any football skill and sorry but the girls sound like American air-heads not much going on upstairs….the best of Irish luck to them all the same….but I personally would rather eat grass than play football in my underwear. Also I don’t think u can compare these lingerie footballers to professional models as fashion is an art and they model the creations it is a much classier set up and I truly believe pro models would be highly insulted to be compared to above^^pink clad footballers^^ cheers :-)

• @Marie – Don’t like it? Don’t watch it and don’t play it.

Whats with the American air-heads thing too? Have you researched the background of each of the players? Can’t they be intelligent and enjoy participating in a sport like this? Sounds like the most judgemental person on this topic is a woman. Go figure.

And as regards, fashion models….yeah the designer may be considered an artist. But the models, while some are attractive, are literally glorified, moving clothes hangers.

That is all.

• Just wondering Maire, did you complain to the Herald and other news outlets when this picture http://www.herald.ie/news/red-letter-day-for-donnchas-superpants-1467692.html was posted of Donncha O’Callaghan in his undies all over the news and the Internet? Maybe you and Lenny could come down my way and control some of the women in my local who go wild when they see football players showing off their chests. I am horrified that they objectify men in such ways. The poor players even have to wax their chests just to satisfy their female male fans who see them as man meat and not the human beings that they are.

• Fashion is an art? No that’s right we shouldn’t compare it as there is no “football for little girls provocatively dressed like adults” or “football for women made up to look like drug addicts” or “football for anorexic women”. Yeah great example, lets strike the flag for feminism there!

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Ciaran, you wouldnt want to see your sister doing this? Would you be ok with your mates and their dads watching your sister doing this? The double standards are unreal but then again, this originated in the US, a country obsessed with the female body but yet its illegal to sunbath topless on most of its beaches. What a bizarre country!

• @Máire Egan
      “I have watched the clips and I don’t see any football skill and sorry but the girls sound like American air-heads not much going on upstairs”

Have you really watched the first clip? I don’t see how you missed the obvious athleticism, ball-skills, physical tackles and seriousness of the sport. I wasn’t bothered watching the clips until I read your post, then decided to see how poor it was. I am actually surprised at the level of it, the intensity, the coach’s half-time talk. It seems they actually take the football pretty seriously. How can you judge any of their intelligence based on that either? They seemed like sportspeople with the usual bravado and cliche that goes with the ego of playing sport and taunting the opponent. I didn’t note any air-headedness. I am surprised that a woman would be the bigoted, discriminatory voice here.

• @Ognetty you are seriously disillusioned if you call this sport it is gratuitous titillation these women are not athletes give me a break you sound like u are trying to convince yourself of that fact more than anyone else.
      @King Olaf your suggestion that women should use their bodies as well as their brains just highlights your lack of respect for women….do u have any daughters? would you advise your daughter to use her body to get places in life? Jesus I feel sorry for your daughter if you have one what bad advice to give to a young girl…people do get judged on how they dress and these ”lingerie girls” give out a bad impression simply because they are dressing inappropriately and scantily purely for mens enjoyment and certainly not for themselves or in the name of sport.

• Marie you judged these women to be “airheads” based on what they wear so isn’t it a bit hypocritical to say that Olaf has a lack of respect for women seeing as you judge them on their solely on their outward appearance. You go on to say that “this sport it is gratuitous titillation these women are not athletes”. I have already posted links as to the sporting achievements of some of the players. Here http://bleacherreport.com/articles/932578-lingerie-football-league-the-40-hottest-players-ever/page/2 are the profiles of 40 of the players. 1 has a BS, 1 MS, and 1 a Doctorate. The sporting activities of most of the rest would make you tired just reading them.

Nearly all are models that probably make quite a lot of money from their involvement in the sport, so instead of having to take out loans to go to college they pay their way through life. Would you condemn Georgia Salpa or Kate Moss for parading in their skimpy’s? There is nothing “womanly” about the woman footballer’s tackling skills or aggression. If men wanted gratuitous titillation they can go to a lap dancing club or better still any night club or late night bar any night of the week.

• @Máire I totally agree it is titillation. I just totally disagree that there is no football skill, because there obviously is, and that they sound like air-heads. You made those statements for the argument and not based on truth. I wouldn’t watch this at all, but I wouldn’t watch men playing it, or women clothed appropriately either. If it sells because of the attire and they’re doing it freely and voluntarily? That is their business.

• King Olaf, watching it or not is not the problem. The problem is that for people that do watch it, it reinforces certain cultural values that are already a problem in our society; making girls think they need to wear skimpy things, high heels etc. to stand out and be attractive. Have you been to a girls section in a toy store lately? It’s a wash with shocking pink. We do not have anything like gender equality.

You know this. There is no way you can’t when every second comment is expressing this issue. You chose to ignore it. You do your side of the argument no favours by being intellectually dishonest and all round rotten debater. In my experience, I’ve found anti-feminists tend to be just plain bad people more often than not.

• @ Leigh – you act like you know me but you don’t…so stop acting like you do. Who cares what toys children play with. I’m not anti-feminist…i just think it’s a long expired ideology. Plus most feminists do a poor job of explaining their point of view. Every debate becomes too charged.

• I don’t think you understand feminism your highness….

• @ Lenny – Well then by all means do explain…please.

• Surprised that there hasn’t been more feminazi’s giving out yards about this yet! Probably won’t go to watch it myself, but to those that do, enjoy!

• One of the biggest problems with modern society is that even in the most ridiculous and blatant suggestions of objectification of women, you will be ridiculed for suggesting it’s an issue because of how feminists have been demonised and because of how right wing libertarian type values have thought us a “choice” exists in a vacuum.

• Enlighten me then Kate, if you don’t mind, and avoid wiki as you put it. And also, would you enlighten me as to where feminist ideals are misunderstood? Sound.

• @ Ronan – I’m gonna hazard a guess and say that she can’t. Not without wiki anyway. Feminism has gone the way any ideology or religion goes…it’s splintered into so many different versions, that they don’t know anymore.

• Vive le difference!

• Niall F 16/08/12 #

This is a fantastic idea, wish I’d have thought of it, the money here must be staggering. Am loving all the ‘down with that sort of thing’ comments. A ‘feminist’ pal of mine once growled at me for holding a door open for her, I was pissing myself laughing at her, told her when she meets a fella she wants to marry she should buy him a Rolex and go down on one knee…

Back to the matter at hand, we live in a free society, no laws are being broken here and you don’t have to go. Bet the organisers love all this controversy, what a marketing tool. I live abroad and before our local top flight rugby team takes to the pitch the cheerleaders come out and two of them are men! I sh@t you not, it’s a great laugh and everyone gets a kick out of it, and the girlies get 80 min of ogling the players too. Men generally don’t care if women have those naked butler parties or go to the chippendales, how about women feeling men up on a night out? If it was the other way round you be spending the night in jail. Some genius somewhere came up with the idea of putting girls in their underwear playing football, it’s a laugh, get over it raving feminists types, no one is having a go at you. However on a more serious note the whole pay inequality thing needs to be sorted, now that is repressive, illegal bullshit. (so is insurance for females only Sheila’s wheels-do you here anyone complain about that?) you could run this debate forever, whoever came up with the Venus and mars saying was spot on.

• This is all a bit silly.
    Men and women don’t need any excuse to leer at one-another, they’ve been doing it since the beginning of time.
    Clothing or anything else is irrelevant. If these women want to play football in clothing described as lingerie who has the right to tell them they cannot, because men might find it too erotic ??
    Silly load of tosh. FFS.
    Only in backward sexually repressed Catholic Ireland.
    There’s my tuppence worth.
    Goodnight and good luck.

• Good point, Steven. What’s the female view on the stuff men wear playing Gaelic, rugby or even American football? I know women who like a good game of football, and couldn’t care less about the score (they can also be found avidly watching the diving at the Olympics). And I don’t think it’s Catholic repression anymore; in modern Ireland we have a variety of repressions, including the fake feminism you’ll find all over this string.

• The problem is they’re doing it for the sole purpose of men finding it erotic.

• i can just imagine the conversation On liveline tom about it i really have no problem with it same with the hunk dory ads and like someone said Do we object when posters if near naked men are all over the place for abercrombie and fitch no i for one have a good auld look as do my friends

• Rommel
    I said, those who watch and /or take part in this farce, and I’m sure I have a thumbs down from women and the whimsical comments from women don’t surprise me. It’s not just a male problem believe me, women have to set a standard that they expect from men before things change. Where is all the encouragement for our women rugby, Gaa and soccer players, who buys tickets for that, who applauds them, I suspect the interest is made up 50/50. But most marketing, tv and media power houses are driven by men, the level of men rise with the level of power, this quota is not going to change, so our (as in women) standards have to.

• I’m sorry but we’re talking about attractive young women playing American football in their underware. What may I ask are you talking about?

Also, you may set a stardard for yourself to live upto and that’s great. What you may NOT do is set a standard for other people to live up to. That my dear is none of your business. This is legal, it doesn’t hurt anyone, no one is being forced to watch or play and the players will be rewarded financialy and with the chance to further their modeling/television career etc.

This is equality at it’s best.

• Sorry ,not being smart, but I don’t understand your point.

• It’s legal in Saudi for women to be imprisoned for driving, it’s legal in some Africa countries for women to be circumcised. The law “my dear” is an ass. Don’t wag your smug legal finger at me. Yes, I set a standard, and you have a choice to set your standard… thanks to women with the same standards as me nearly a hundred years ago. You might think I’m on a soap box, but do you really want to live in a country where you’re only reference point for women is how little they wear and how much attention they receive from men.

• Lenny I don’t think this and women’s rugby or gaelic are in the same categories, if this wasn’t around I don’t think it’s potential audience would go to the women’s 6 nations instead.

You’re falling into the way of thinking that plagues a lot of feminists, you define yourself by the fact that you’re a woman, you see this ‘sport’ as an attack on you personally, you feel that these women are representing you and doing a bad job of it. I know there are men posing naked somewhere for some calendar, and there are women buying it, but it doesn’t bother me, because I don’t see them as failing team Men.

You’re also attempting to restrict the choice of these women in a similar manner to the way that the pre-feminist patriachal societies used to; you want women to be independent and respected, but only those who want to play respectable sports and work in these media and marketing power houses whose male orientation galls you so much.

Plus, sex is everywhere, you don’t need to go lingerie football to see it, just open the Sun or go on the Daily Mail website.

• Brendan
      You’re right on a lot of issues. I do define my life because I’m a women. I do think women should think of the team. I do have a feminist chip!
      But I don’t see men as the enemy rather I think women need to wake up and see the amount of sexual content around them and decide what is acceptable, rather then being hood-winked into believing that if you don’t agree they are some sort of ‘Mary Whithouse’ supporter.

• But what’s the benefit of thinking that being a woman is being part of a team? Having an egalitarian society is nigh on impossible to acheive with tribalist thinking like that.

And why do you get to decide what amount of sexual content is acceptable? I don’t judge you by the amount of women that pose for nude magazines or play lingerie football, in the same way that I hope that you don’t judge me for being part of the gender that commits most crimes and road fatalities, so the women that decide to do this don’t affect you, and you don’t get to restrict their job opportunites under the guise of feminine empowerment.

• Isn’t the whole feminist argument actually completely sexist at this stage? By the by, The Chipendales are back. Let go Lenny. The world has much worse problems than a few skimpy clad women on a pitch or a fire oiled lads on a stage.

• Lenny, I’m glad to see that you realize that women have an active role to play in changing this.

This farce would not take place were it not for the active involvement of women in the States. To be honest, I think (and hope) that it would not be successful in Ireland as Irish women and men would have more sense to partake or be entertained by this sort of thing. I presume you are equally put off by the farce of middle aged women screaming at boy-man bands?

And I’m also glad that you seem to realize that the real feminist issues of importance are in places like Africa and Saudi Arabia.

• And there was I, innocently thinking the Missus was genuinely impressed by the complex, technical manoeuvres in the Mens Olympic diving. ;)

• Brendan
      Your right! Who wants to live in an equalitarian society, not me! However I do live life through the eyes of a woman and feel I do have to take it for the team regarding women inequality and abuse, it’s hard to accept that some women take all the good and casually ignore the bad!!! You’re also right about blame, men, due to nature or nurture, (haven’t figured that out yet) don’t feel obliged to share the shame of other men, why should you. Thankfully I am singing to the converted here, regarding yourself and Donal. I fear men with other opinions are not for turning!

• Kendo, how is it equality at it’s best when you don’t see guys doing this in the same volume? The only reason you would say that would be to be particularly malicious towards women. Whether or not someone is “forced” to do it or not is irrelevant. If certain behaviours or ideas are encouraged more than others it can result in some people becoming devalued as human beings, or even marginalised.

The point is that you cannot say we have an equal society where women playing serious sports do not get attention, unlike men, unless they get their kit off. It sends the message that women’s bodies are more important than their skills. That is not equality, and frankly I think anyone who can even say that must be either incredibly sexist or some naive “libertarian” idiot who thinks oppression can only come in the form of what the government tells you you can and can’t do.

• “Isn’t the whole feminist argument actually completely sexist at this stage? By the by, The Chipendales are back. Let go Lenny. ”

The Chipendales are just strippers. The problem here is that women playing sports in their knickers are getting more attention than men doing so, which doesn’t even seem to be a “thing” in the first place.

Saying “There are much worse problems” is great and all when it’s not something that affects you personally.

The “feminist argument” is not completely sexist. What is sexist is pretending that because men sometimes get their kit off, that the vastly greater field of female objectification isn’t an issue. Women are taught to use their bodies to get ahead in the world. This does not happen, to the same degree as men, and the degree to which it does is a result of patriarchal values in the first place(valuing typically “male” things).

• @lenny – fair play you have your beliefs and all but are you living in the dark ages? It’s a harmless bit of sport for whoever is interested nothing more nothing less.

• @lenny, again you’re standing your ground and fighting your corner but a little tip, as a staunch feminist debating an issue with men don’t say things like “I don’t mind taking one for the team”

Some smart arse will twist that ;-)

• Vinny
      Again another man with a cheap shot and an assumption that this is to do with modesty. There is a vast difference between athletic attire and pseudo lingerie. Every angle of cheap quips have been covered by men in this tread, yet none have given any valid reasoning to this degrading sport.

• Cake Con 19/09/12 #

Shame I missed this arguement, you’s have probably all moved on with your lives by now. For the record I think as men you’s should be insulted by this! If I see a reply I shall elaborate but i think more of the men I know and love than to think that this kinda thing is what they would be interested in and actually spend time argueing on the internet about. I said it earlier and I say it again, a sport like this.. like the Kate Middelton photo’s, like the prevalance of page 3 girls..all stereotypes men as primative, boardline mickey rubbing sex pests. And to be honest, call me niave but I actually think more of men than that.

• ”Lingerie football” is so degrading and belittling to women why women would want to participate in what can best be described as soft-porn sport is beyond me. The only reason they are getting any spectators is because they are running around in their bras and hot-pants extremely sad that they have to ”strip off” in order to get publicity.
    I almost feel embarrassed for them having to expose their bodies they will never be taken seriously or respected as true sports-women. They are seriously misguided people bless them.

• So a womans day out at the beach in a bikini is a soft porn day then?? Grow up and cop on, we live in a society where people can do as they wish, once legal, without others telling them otherwise.

You are entitled to your opinion, just like I am entitled to say you are wrong. Have you thought that maybe these women enjoy their sport? So what if it attracts spectators….most female sports have few spectators, so its a good thing these women get to perform for a crowd of people.

Lastly, you do realise that we are commenting on a thing called the internet?? The largest source of pornography in the world. If men (or women) want to see scantily clad women playing around with balls together, this is the place to start. Going to a lingerie football for the same reasons is likely to cost more and land a person with an indecent exposure charge.

• I presume these female players feel they are living the dream, what they do may offend you but not them, they probably adore their bodies, adore sex, adore money and adore the attention, it’s a win win situation for them and giving out about it will never change anything.

• Soft Porn!!!! Think a copy of 50 Shades required here

• If this is just a bit of fun, and I shouldn’t feel deeply ashamed of being Irish due to the comments and voting patterns of the little shits in this comment section, then why don’t you see this being done with guys on the same level? Give us guys in knickers with their balls half hanging out, and then we can call it even. But it doesn’t happen, yet the thoroughly vindictive, malicious and morally bankrupt anti-feminists will still claim there isn’t an issue with equal representation of the sexes.

• Feminist whine….blah blah…throwing your toys out the crib now! If you want a similar style event, go organise it. Or you could just moan non stop on the internet. Your choice.

• I would have no issue with you going to going to watch men play ball with their bits hanging out. And if you want it then in this free society your more than free to start a team up. Either way get over it. I will enjoy this sport immensely.

• Now if we could just get them to progress on to G-Strings, do they swap bra’s at the end…????

• So are the men going to do it their lingerie too? Depressing

• Think all this feminist/anti-feminist stuff is missing the crucial point, which is that Lingerie Football represents definitive final proof positive that American Football is a game for girls!

• My issues is with your comment “by completely focusing on one”. feminism is equal rights politically, socially and economically for women, so by definition, yes it does focus on one group, the oppressed, as it does for all equal rights movements. And before you say anything I don’t believe women are oppressed, not in this country a
    anyway.

• Not applicable in this country then?

• to all the guys who support this lingerie football my question is this how would you feel about your sister or girlfriend participating in it? that puts a whole different spin on it doesn’t it?

• Ah yes, there is always one with the good old Mother/sister spin. Personally it wouldn’t bother me to see either of me sisters in this sport. My mother on the other hand, being of an age, would be best advised to stick to coaching.

• Barro 15/08/12 #

Giggidy giggidy.

• mattoid 15/08/12 #

Personally I’d be proud of them for having the courage of their conviction to do what they want to do (knowing they’ll be abused for it by people like you) and for being comfortable enough within their own skin not to feel too self conscious about it.

• I’d actually think it a good thing because I know she would be able to stick up for herself. Theyre not playing a pillow fight this is full on.

• Derek 15/08/12 #

Perfectly OK , as my sisters are well adjusted young professionals who, if chose to partake, would be doing so for fun, exercise and to feed their competitive natures. I’d have an issue if they ditched their high earning successful careers to star in a sloppy porno but that’s an entirely different scenario and thankfully 99% of people can realise that.

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Derek, so why not just be athletes instead of parading around in their underwear? This event is NOT a sporting event, its for men to get their kicks.

• How do you even know they *want* to do this? Where is this coming from? Do all people working in Burger King want to be there? Are prostitutes “Living the dream”? They probably took this job because in a recession especially, it is hard to make money and women still on average make significantly less than men. Some of them may be doing it to fund college grants, etc. people commenting here are pretty ignorant of how few opportunities the US presents to people these days thanks to it’s right wing economics.

• @marie all of them are daughters, most probably are sisters and holy Mary mother of god if any are looking for a boyfriend my number is 0834545454

• Since when do women listen to what men have to say anymore?

• Women of the GAA take note!

• I’ve been outspoken about champion swimmers for years, parading around in their smalls. Absolutely disgusting, posing around the place like they were some sort of athletes. Christ above, get a grip!

• Functional. Not done for male gaze. People actually watch it for reasons other than that. There is nothing inherently wrong with the human body or showing it. The issue is that in this case, it is the focus of the “sport”, suggesting that one’s assets are more important than one’s “skills”.

• Perhaps, but some of the comments I heard a couch full of girls make about male swimmers years ago left me in no doubt that women can objectify us just as crudely! At the same time, I’m pretty sure they’ve all since grown up into good mums.

Look, this is clearly something not to be taken very seriously. And going by the majority of comments, most people take it in that spirit. Now if it was something that was taken deadly seriously then fair enough, we’ve got a problem on our hands.

• Tommy, I meant I wouldn’t like to literally watch my sister playing it die to the sexual connotations. The same way i like to see my girlfriend dressed sexy but not my sister. You’re really picking here to find your so called double standards. Do you buy your sister sexy undies? Of course not. If she wanted to play it, that’s her decision. I would by no means stand in her way.

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Of course youd rather see your girlfriend looking sexy as you have a sexual relationship with her, unlike your sister ( I hope) however you have just made my point. This event is being sold as a sporting event. it is not. Its merely gratuitious nonsense.

• Why are some women complaining about inequality in terms of this issue and orhers? We are equal beings born into the world, by and large, with the same potential abilities due to having a brain. If more men seem to rise to positions of power in the fields of business, politics media etc then it’s not anybody’s fault except women themselves. If life is a game and we have access to the same equipment then why are women more often than not coming in second place? It’s time for women to stand up once and for all and claim their stake as equals for real.

• @Audrey, are you suggesting because women have wombs, or more specifically have children, that this hampers their chance to rise to positions of power? Lots of mothers have held very influential positions in various fields. But why are they in such a minority? Same access to education, same brain, same opportunities etc. So why do women (in the western/developed world) not progress as much as males in their field?

• @Noel do you have any statistics to back up your argument? what percentage minority are you talking about I mean a 60/40 is hardly a huge minority. I was a business manager myself and there were more women managers in the company I worked for than men> I would love to know where you are getting your facts from?…
      The leaving cert results came out today and girls come out top every year as the highest performers academically

• Because men have been on top for the longest time – more positions in governments CEOs, etc. and are more likely to rule in favour of other men when faced with equally qualified candidates. Not to mention the glass ceiling, etc.

• Tommy C 15/08/12 #

Leigh, I completely agree with you. Im male and Im a feminist! My missus and i have been bombarding certain government ministers over the past few years with letters regarding allowing men paid paternity leave. I honestly believe that the majority of Irish men would under no circumstance stay home to be a house husband while their other half earns the money and until theres equal rights in this way, then I do not think women will progress in the ways that they should. Ireland is still very much a backward patriarchal country where women are still objectified and whose sole purpose is raising kids.
      The article on jennifer Anistons engagment said it all! The number of comments from people suggesting that she has been unlucky in love and couldnt hold on to a man was disgusting! Not every single woman is miserable or lonely and not every woman wants to get married and have kids. Maybe no man could hold onto her because she had high standards for herself? My daughter is 10 and i worry about her future in a country like this.

• *due not *die… Damn autocorrect!! Lol

Add New Comment