TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Rabbitte rallies to support of Reilly during debate on no confidence motion

Fianna Fáil’s decision to table a motion of no confidence in Health Minister James Reilly tonight drew criticism from the government benches during a heated debate.

The scene in the Dáil earlier this evening.
Image: Screengrab

COMMUNICATIONS MINISTER Pat Rabbitte was among those to show support for the embattled James Reilly during a debate on a motion of no confidence in the Health Minister this evening.

The Fianna Fáil motion was brought before the Dáil by the party’s health spokesperson Billy Kelleher who criticised Reilly for what he said was an unsustainable and “dishonest” health budget proposed last year.

The heated debate was notable for the considerable criticism levelled at Fianna Fáil by Reilly himself, Fine Gael TDs, and Labour minister Rabbitte for the opposition party’s handling of the health service while in government between 1997 and 2011.

In tabling the motion, Kelleher said that “dysfunction and chaos” in the Department of Health was feeding into the Health Service Executive which is facing a budget over run this year.

“Because of your incompetence and inability to deliver a budget and manage a budget you had people outside government buildings protesting because their personal assistance was being withdrawn,” Kelleher said referring to the disability protests in Dublin a fortnight ago.

During the debate the issue of Reilly’s relationship with the junior ministers in his department arose with Kelleher claiming that the minister does not have “confidence among your cabinet colleagues”.

Show of support

At one stage during Reilly’s own statement, junior health minister Kathleen Lynch sat beside him in a show of support that was later added to by the appearance of Lynch’s fellow Labour minister Pat Rabbitte.

The motion was seconded by Fianna Fáil’s Timmy Dooley who shared speaking time with independent Mattie McGrath who in heated exchanges made reference to Reilly’s “stately mansion in Moneygall and his tax free breaks” for maintaining the home.

“He hasn’t time to deal to deal with the portfolio of health because he is too busy fighting the war on his property portfolios,” he said referring to Reilly’s recent and much-publicised appearance on a debt defaulters’ list over his part-ownership of a nursing home in Tipperary.

“He hasn’t time to look after the people,” McGrath shouted across the chamber.

Shouts of “you’re a disgrace” emanated from the government benches directed at McGrath, a former Fianna Fáil TD.

During his own statement, Reilly was heavily critical of Fianna Fáil’s time in government and of the party’s leader and former health minister Micheál Martin.

The Minister made reference to the falling number of patients on hospital trolleys and the work of his Special Delivery Unit. He said there were 13,000 less people sitting on hospital trolleys this year as a result of his work in government.

Falls in waiting list numbers, steps taken to abolish the HSE, development of primary care centres, development of chronic disease management programmes, a new cystic fibrosis unit, and a restructuring of the hospital sector were also cited by the Minister among his achievements.

He said:

Real people have benefited from these achievements and this government’s reform programme. These are real people, this could be your daughter, my brother, his sister, her mother.

“There are still however too many people waiting and we want to go further and we will,” Reilly told TDs adding later that the health service would be “the best in the world” as a result of the people working in it and the “historic” changes he was implementing.

The Burren

In his short contribution, Rabbitte defended Reilly saying he was dealing with “a huge challenge that he has been left by the outgoing Fianna Fáil administration”.

He said: “For more than ten years the people opposite failed in the best of times to deliver a quality service. In times of plenty they have the unique distinction of making the situation worse.

If I were deputy Micheál Martin and I had done to this country what he did to this country and to the health service in particular I’d crawl under a tomb in The Burren and start communicating with nature for the rest of the time that I would be around.

In his contribution, Sinn Féin’s spokesperson on health, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin told the Dáil: “There must be a major change in both economic strategy and health policy or we face complete melt-down in public health services in this State.

The first step is the resignation or removal of this Minister followed by the reversal of the cuts and the adoption of a health policy based on fairness and equity and access for all.

There were brief contributions from independent TDs Maureen O’Sullivan and Finian McGrath before the debate was adjourned shortly after 9pm until tomorrow when a vote will be called and almost certainly defeated by the government majority.

Earlier: James Reilly to face no confidence motion in the Dáil

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• Pointless exercise which shows that Dail Eireann is no more than a talking shop. No idea, no clue, no answers.

• Chris Day.
      Very fitting observation.

• FartBox 18/09/12 #

Ah shur isn’t Reilly a lovely man… hasn’t he a lovely beard…

• Reilly, like him or not is probably the most qualified and knowledgable minister of health that has ever held the position. He knows how the system works because he worked in it. He is a high achiever. This may not be sweet music to those that disagree with his policies but it’s a fact. Previous ministers have allowed the health service become what it is. Neither Harney nor Martin had the balls to tackle the hard issues. Unfortunately the Dail has only a handful of useful individuals on both sides of the house. The rest seem to be more concerned with their stand up comedy routines, bohemian image or don’t attend. Remember the calibre of the previous government and all the brown envelope recipients of the boom era. The horrible mess has to be cleaned up. It’s a shit job but only those with tenacity will do it.

• Turkeys voting on Christmas

• alan 18/09/12 #

complete and utter rubbish

when i think of the likes of reilly, hogan controlling aspects of my life…despair

and then buttimer comes on

jesus

• Now next vote is big phil.

• Mattie McGrath in full flight reminds me of Kermit.

• It’s a very clear motion , though, is it not?

• It’s pathetic. I wish some of the arse lickers would grow a set and some of the female members lost theirs.
    It looks more like an episode of Father Ted or Killinascully.

• Fine Fail may well have – well they did- caused a good deal of the problems in the health service, but Reilly was banging on about how he was going to reform the health system, and he just has’nt. He cant get along with the junior ministers and he cant control the HSE.
    Fine Fail are right to call no confidence in this dunce of a minister – if they dont who is going to?

• Spent 2 years on the opposition benches banging on about that. After 18 months in power all he has managed to do is downgrade some country hospitals. No sign of all the money he would save by buying generic drugs etc., waste of space remember who votes confidence in him tonight when it comes to the next general election.

Getting pretty bored with this it’s all your fault FG/Lab have been in power for 18 months and what have they got to show for it? Feck all besides the fact they are getting closer to a nice juice ministerial pension. Shower of wasters just like FF.

• I work on the frontline in the HSE. I’m not a fine Gael man but I can
      Tell you he has had some mess to clean up from Fianna Fail. It’s Fianna Fail mess he’s cleaning up. They threw money without thought at every problem without fixing it. No structures in place. I don’t agree with alot of minister oreillys decisions but I can tell you he’s a lot better than that other shower. Ruined the health service and the country.

• Fianna fail caused all the problems in
      The hospital. Ever heard of waiting lists and patients on Trolleys even In The boom years? Yeh fianna fail mismanagement.

• Jesus the amount of arse licking going on is crazy….Reilly won’t have to wipe his arse no more due the cleaning it is getting from FG & Labour……

• I have motion of no confidence in any of these greedy f**kers, there all in it for themselves. Political Greed will never end.

• The man is useless, he played on the fact that he was a GP, a doctor, we could trust him with our Health System. After all didn’t Fianna Fáil make the mess it was, he’d fix it for us. Trust him.
    He’s nothing more than a con man, a shyster, getting us to vote him into office then betraying the entire nation. Any doctor who wishes to proffit from the misfortunes of sick elderly people cannot be trusted, they are not commodities that he can use one last time to squeeze the last few bob from. We should have known. This government are just as culpable by supporting him. Yes Fianna Fáil left the country in ruins, but this lot have done nothing except perpetuate those mistakes and continue to act like small children with faces covered in chocolate, they blame someone else for their obvious crimes.
    Serious questions are being asked about this Ministers capability, the Beaumont hospital have rehired nearly 50 agency staff as full time HSE staff, with the blessing of the department of health while in the North East the busiest hospital in the country, Our Lady of Lourdes in Drogheda had to close its A&E Department because it couldn’t take any more patients. And it’ll get worse when the Winter really takes hold, but not to worry, Bottler will probably have a few jokes to make us laugh.

• I dont think Dr Reilly is a corrupt man (although I wouldnt be that suprised if it turned out he was)I dont think he is a con man. A stupid man, yes. – making promises he could not keep.
      I do think he cannot handle the health ministry – he is not competent for the job. He doesnt even do the job of a minister too well, by not communicating with his fellow ministers properly.

• Rusty, although you are on the money in your criticisms – the Beaumont hiring the agency staff back is a good move because the recruitment embargo has been shown to have saved no money, and the nurses re-hired will be happy to have a bit of security they didnt have as agency staff ( I have worked at Beaumont both as full time and agency staff).
      Again you are right in your criticism of what’s happening in Drogheda – they need to follow Beaumonts course of action, and hire proper staffing levels full time. Our Ladies of Lourdes has been mismanaged by idiot managers and the HSE andwho has to pay? The patients and the front line staff trying to hold it all together. Get rid of the idiot managers who couldnt manage their budgets first.

• Well said Dave. From historical evidence he’s better than Michael Martin and harney but he’s made too many promises. There’s also the attack on special needs and nursing homes which I draw the line with. These people are entitled to a better quality of life the same as me or you. He should go. The quiter the better.

• Quicker.

• @ollie, what historical evidence would that be?

• Empty noise ? I hate FF as much as the next person , but seriously Reilly .YOU are the one who has NO Credibility ! You are full of it !

• I don’t see many people supporting kenny and hid band of merry failures.

• Remember when Pat Rabbitte used to be credible? Oh how power corrupts people…..

• alan 18/09/12 #

‘At one stage during Reilly’s own statement, junior health minister Kathleen Lynch sat beside him in a show of support that was later added to by the appearance of Lynch’s fellow Labour minister Pat Rabbitte.’

while i can understand rabbitte’s action ( a man who appears to have no convictions at all) i cant for the life of me understand lynch’s. suicidal

• How can you tell when a politician is lying?
    When they open their mouth.

• Open the books to the public and expose the conflicts of interest. Take a good look at where the money is going.

• The reasons that numbers are down in waiting rooms in the A+E is the COST … and CLOSURES … It does not take a brain surgeon to see that . FG are every bit as bad as FF ever was.Reilly should go tho. as Mattie Mc Grath said ,Reilly has not got the time to do his job,because of his own mess in his businesses

• @Eileen, who said numbers are down in A&E’s? Currently the busiest A&E Department in the country is in Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital in Drogheda, they have had to close the department in recent days due to the huge volume of patients. This is expected to get much worse in the Winter months.

• Both FF and FG need kicking about this. Clearly the HSE is still being mismanaged.
      They are cutting services and not replacing them with something better, as promised.
      Didnt Reilly say he would retire if this happened?
      Walk away Reilly, things for you will only get worse (let alone what’ll happen to the health service)

• Well said Dave. My ire is for fianna fail more so than anything. Put no structures in
      Place. Had too many chiefs and not enough Indians. It’s business time in
      Politics. I wouldnt touch Fg and those pariahs and crony party Fianna Fail with a barge pole.

• Total sham, overpaid twa*ts every single one of them…..

• O’Reilly:
      “These are real people, this could be your daughter, my brother, his sister, her mother.”

so if its his brother, should it also not be his sister and so his mother or have they disowned him or something??.. he’s a crap minister but his Brendan Grace impression is second to none

• Yeah David – this isnt just money or taxes or charges etc we’re talking about – its peoples lives that are at risk. Our lives

• Shower of wasters the lot of them….can’t believe they’re still blaming the previous shower when they’ve been in power 18 months..

• He said that the day that they ( fg) let the people of Monaghan down is the day he’d walk away – what’s his number? He needs reminding ! That aside I only hear oreilly mentioned when he’s in a boozer – I think he may need the help of health professionals himself if he doesn’t get a grip – soon. Another liar on the self serving gravy train – will we ever learn?

• alan 18/09/12 #

what power does rabbitte have? the only real power he has, the ability to say no to the decisions being made at present, he chooses not to exercise. that is the terrible irony in all this: rabbitte, quinn and the rest of them had an opportunity to use thier positions to good effect but didn’t avail of it. i dont see them as corrupt. i see them as inconsistent, contradictory,aimless. which in the current situation (in which FG are expertly focused on their policies) is probably the worst way to be

• There should be a vote of no confidence against each and every one of them

They are only interested in keeping theirs, banks and bondholders money for there fancy houses nd fancy cars

– no matter what the cost to the Irish Citizens

This country should be outraged as to all they have imposed on US, whilst they live their lavish lifestyles.

Help get them out!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Ive said it before and I’ll say it again
      Catherine – while I agree with your sentiment –
      These twits get their fancy cars and houses alright, they think they’re entitled to that
      but the reason they’re there is their lust for, and their feeling of entitlement to power.
      That makes them a far more destructive kind of twit

Help get them out!

• Believe me their not twits
      These type of people are usually called smart fools, because they know what their doing for themselves and foolish when it comes to the care of the Irish Population.

Yes while I agree with you on the reason their there is their lust for power, it’s an absolute outrage that they have been left get away with so cuh over ONE YEAR. ENDA Kenny made promise upon promise before they got elected and since March 2011 I have not seen him come through on one of this promises.

Now he is supposed to be running this country for the benefit of its people NOT BANKS AND BONDHOLDERS.

They were handed these jobs down from friends, cousins etc.

Why do they not want young people to join the Dail???… Because they know that within 6 months we would turn this country around and have it booming again especially with no banks burden of debt on us.

I mean what exactly are we paying for? Should we not get something like a “bank statement” to explain as to why our money is being taken off of us bit by bit, while our main services are being cut down to nothing all to save the arses of the fat baldy fuks who through THEIR OWN stupidity gave money away during the boom years.

I certainly didn’t see any of it. did you???

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Oh yeah get rid of the HSE, sure weren’t the regional health board the dogs…. elbows altogether. No organisation like it to lose files… and patients occasionally.

• Mattie Mc Grath .You impress me ! Well said .

• alan 18/09/12 #

Or to adapt the Club Orange ads i now see on the page, they ‘ are offensive. But mainly they’re just lame’.

• wheres me bleeding broadband rabbite?

• It is nice to see so many constructive comments. It is also edifying to read all the positive suggestions. Ireland remains a nation of saints and scholars.

• Before change can happen Patrick you have to identify the parts of the problem. As you can see in Ireland one of the biggest problems is the political class in Ireland. Once we can agree on that and stop voting in people because of civil war politics or because your man is sound – sure didn’t he fix the pot hole outside my door. Then maybe we can move on. The suggestion that Reilly step down as it is positive. It’s pretty clear after 18 months in power he has done nothing. The man is clearly not up to the job. Howlin could also step aside as he has also failed target of 75 million in saving and he only manages 3.5 million. Move on Howlin it’s clear your not up to the job either.

• Just as about as nice as watching British justice unfold last week regarding the Liverpool fans I bet

• Reilly is clearly out of his depth – and didnt Dame Enda promise non performing ministers would be held to account?
      Oh yeah – that was a promise from Fine Gael………….
      Arseholery is what it is

• Can you imagine the tremendous logic and sense that Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin as Sinn Fein health spokesperson might bring to this debate. No hang on wait a second…..

Add New Comment