Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 February, 2012

Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan wears hemp suit in the Dáil

Luke 'Ming' Flanagan (top right) wearing the hemp suit in the Dáil this morning
Image: Screengrab

LUKE ‘MING’ FLANAGAN wore a Louis Copeland suit made out of hemp in the Dáil chamber this morning to highlight the 10 year anniversary of his campaign to have cannabis legalised.

A spokesperson for Louis Copeland confirmed that it was the first time the high-end tailor had created a suit made out of hemp.

Speaking to theJournal.ie, the TD for Roscommon-Leitrim South said that he had bought the material outside of Ireland but that the suit had been made in Dublin. “If I could have purchased it here, I would have,” he said.

The hemp suit is “very comfortable, excellent material, and it’ll be my attire for many an occasion from now on,” said the TD.

Flanagan said that it is ten years since he posted joints to journalists and members of the Oireachtas as part of a National Legalise Cannabis Day – but that little has changed.

“In the 10 years that have passed, it is estimated that €7.5 billion has ended up in the pockets of the kind of people who had Veronica Guerin killed. 60,000 people have ended up with a criminal record and for what? What was the goal?”

“The idea was to reduce usage – that hasn’t happened. It was supposed to make life safer for people – that hasn’t happened”.

Flanagan emphasised the specific issue of cannabis being sold with adulterated substances which are seriously harmful to the health of the user,  noting that silicon, crushed up car tyres and “God knows what” is being added to cannabis. “Someone found dealing the substance with these adulterants in it should receive a stricter sentence”, he said.

Flanagan, who gave up smoking cannabis several years ago, said that the best way to guarantee that people know what kind of cannabis they have is to legalise it.

Flanagan will be modelling the suit at a fashion in show in Dún Laoghaire on Thursday evening in aid of the National Maritime Museum of Ireland. Fellow independent TDs Mick Wallace and Richard  Boyd-Barrett will also be taking part in the show.

Already a fan? Complete your signup...

Get breaking news from The Journal.ie via Facebook. Just click 'Like'.

Read Next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• gary power 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Clown ..

• Noddy Mooney 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Care to expand on that Gary? Do you think it’s right that thousands of peaceful and otherwise law-abiding citizens are criminalised for using a naturally occuring drug which is infinitely less harmful than tobacco and alcohol? Do you think it’s right that prohibition (and the resulting addition of adulterated substances to the product) costs the exchequer and the HSE millions more than it would if it was legalised? Do you think it’s right that while we’re broke as a country, those said individuals pay millions (possibly billions) of taxable cash into the hands of unscrupulous criminals?

• gary power 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Well there not law abiding if there giving money to drug-dealers are they …. The weed that’s around these days is not natural it’s been cross breed for the last 30 years .. The thc in the weed these days can be upwards of 25percent …… And yes Ming is a clown

• Niall Mulligan 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Well, if it were legal and regulated, consumers would be better able able to chose the THC potency of the products they’re consuming and make an informed decision.

We don’t really think that prohibition is eventually going to lead to the end of dope smoking, do we? Maybe it’s time to admit that the War on Drugs isn’t winnable, and try a new tack.

Just sayin’.

To be fair to Ming, he’s extended his political vocabulary considerably since his early days – he does seem to have a rare ability to connect with his constituents’ key concerns.

I’d be more concerned about the alleged “ringmasters” who decided that sartorial matters were a major concern for the national parliament. Co-incidentally enough, not long after Ming had bloodied Fine Gael’s nose over Roscommon Hospital.

• Erfantastico 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

You have a credible source for that info Gary? If people want to smoke a PLANT they should be allowed! Also if weed was legal it would be harder for children to get it, dealers don’t ask for ID you know!

• Gis Bayertz 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

I agree, he is a clown

• Noddy Mooney 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

OK he’s a clown, but I bet he’s a clown that knows the difference between “there” and “they are”.

• Lou Brennan 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

That is one hell of a smoking jacket.. man

• Mike Monaghan 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

He will be f**ked when the novelty wears off and he has to do some real work!! Nothing delivered by him yet….

Report this comment

Think he did ok on the hospitals issue, no concrete result as yet, but we’ll see how FG’s attitude changes as the general election draws near. Denis Naughten certainly takes him seriously.

Tbh, I wish I had a Ming in my constituency.

Think the suit is hilarious … have that, with your dress code.

• Martin Mc Cormack 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Nor will there. Jackie healy rae without clout

Report this comment

Wouldn’t underestimate him. I seriously think, between the hospital, the next few budgets and Ming, that there’s a realistic prospect of Fine Gael being wiped out in Roscommon in the next election.

Whether this comes to pass remains to be seen, but it’s certainly something that the party will have to consider.

• Paul Kennedy 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

‘Nothing delivered by him yet’ and what exactly has FG/Labour delivered Mike? Austerity and misery and thats about it. At least Luke has a backbone and is TRYING to follow up on his promises to his electorate, unlike our spineless government that followed up on nothing and continue to play the good little boys and agree to all the EU and IMF want instead of fighting for the interests of the people.

• Alan Quinn 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

pictures please

• Christine Bohan 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

At the moment the only one we have is that screenshot of him in the Dáil – but we’re working on it.

• Emmet Ryan 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Ring the Capel St store, Louis Jr always makes sure he gets photos of stuff like this so he’d be sure to have one.

• Declan Carroll 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

U can buy hemp clothing, slippers & other clothing items at The Hemp Store, Dublin 7. Big deal, Ming. More self serving publicity stunts from this clown.

• Declan Carroll 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

The Hemp Store is on Capel St near the bridge. No – I don’t work there.

• Daniel R 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Legalise it already

• John Murphy 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Hairshirt politics again!

• Danny Crowley 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Mick Wallace looks off his socks next to him in the photo, if they all wore the suits it might encourage a bit of fresh thinking, ;-)

• P Wurple 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Jeez, I thought that was one of our elusive female TDs. The pair of them need a flippen haircut, and to take their role seriously.

Report this comment

Right. A combover, a brown envelope and it’s business as usual.

• Shanti Om 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Just as a matter of interest.. Why does he have to have a haircut? Will cutting his hair somehow make him more capable?
      Likewise, if a man is clean shaven – does that make him more suitable than a man with a beard?

Really that’s like saying that a woman who wishes to be held in high regard in politics should be a brunette because obviously blondes and redheads aren’t appropriate for the Dáil..

It really has no bearing at all. And is a ridiculous attitude to have in this day and age.

• P Wurple 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

I think they look ridiculously unprofessional, dirty and unkempt. These are our international representatives. Legalising hash… It’s not a teenage house party they are attending. The dail is for grownups. Do you see anyone in the UK parliment dressed like that?

Report this comment

Dear God. And that’s of any relevance to anything, is it?

Can you give me a good reason why their mode of dress has any bearing on their ability to do their jobs?

These aren’t our international representatives, btw – that would be the President, ambassadors and ministers. They’re domestic representatives, so what harm if they dress more like their average constituent than a member of the House of Lords?

Report this comment

I’m not trying to harass you, btw … you just have this habit of saying things that I disagree with.

Report this comment

No, but I’ll tell you what I do see.
      A bunch of self righteous, compassionless, corporate lackeys who seem to have forgotten that it’s the people and not corporations that they work for!

• P Wurple 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Would you show up to work like mick wallace is presented here?

• Niall Mulligan 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Not far off. I go for the old Tin O’Fruit for certain facets of the job, as and when required, but otherwise it’s jeans and a tee shirt. It has no bearing whatsoever on my ability to do the work.

From where I see things, most “grown ups” dress in a fairly similar style to Wallace, maybe you move in more rarefied circles.

And, unlike most “grown ups”, Wallace is a public representative, people knew what they were getting when they voted him in. Like it or not, he has a mandate, what he wears is of no consequence whatsoever.

What he says and what he does is what we need be concerned with, as is the case with every public representative.

Report this comment

Would you say you would wear the tin o fruit for occasions where you would be client or public facing? Those are the times I would dress professionally. This is what these clowns are supposed to be doing every day. Public facing.

Surprise surprise their clothes appear to reflect exactly what they say and do. A man who refused to pay his supplier depts, putting honest small business under pressure by building shoddy quality ghost estates. And a guy who just wants more splifs m’kay.

Clowns.

Report this comment

And what do you say about the stand our Ming took on Roscommon hospital? Or are you only interested in the window dressing?

A lot of people got caught up on fancy suits, big houses and big cars in the past decade … maybe they should’ve been a bit more concerned with matters of substance.

Wallace I have no real respect for, but I’m not speaking as a sartorial critic in saying that.

• Shanti Om 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

I wear workwear to work, because I work with oils and I’d rather not destroy my own clothes thanks..
      As for “client facing”, he’s sitting in the Dáil, it’s hardly client facing, unless you count the late night Oireachtas Report or bits on the news..

Oh, and by the way, in the UK one of the parties has a member with complete facial tattoos and a Mohawk.. I think it’s the Lib Dems.. And you have a problem with long hair, pfft..

Report this comment

Danny, to unsubscribe to the updates click the second link in the email you get.

I will stop feeding the trolls. :D

Report this comment

Troll’d.

Kudos, Pwurple. You got me.

• Cyril Butler 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

While I support the legalisation of soft drugs, wearing this outfit in the dail is inappropriate and could adversely affect opinion towards this cause.

• Stephen Murphy 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

the country is in the toilet and this guy is focused on legalising pot! when the hell are we going to get some serious people in the dail to get the country back on its feet – he’s a bloody moron If you ask me! shame on the people who elected him!

• Noddy Mooney 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Eh, think he’s also fucused on the revenue it could generate, considering “the countrys in the toilet”.

• Roxy Blue 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

The legalisation of marijuana would create hundreds (possibly thousands of jobs), it would inject some much needed revenue into the country, create tourism and protect those who smoke it but who are currently buying it from god knows who containing god knows what. It’s well documented that the effects of alcohol are more detrimental to a person and society than marijuana. Try open your mind and see the bigger picture

• James Quirke 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Plus the marketing writes itself ‘Come to Ireland where the grass is always greener’!

• Aideen Reilly 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

So ashamed to have him as my TD and he didn’t give up years ago after he won his seat he proclaimed he was going home to smoke a joint

• Waffler 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

if he wore an actual suit people might listen to him.

• Aaron Hastings 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

“Flanagan, who gave up smoking cannabis several years ago…” – what? I remember watching a show on RTE during the run-up to the General Election where Flanagan said he loves nothing more than going home, rolling himself a joint and having a bottle of weissbier. This wasn’t “several years ago”…

• Lou Brennan 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

If he wore an actual suit, people wouldn’t believe him.

• Pilib O Muiregan 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Hemp the low THC form of cannabis can be used as a highly healthy food.

can be used in building hemp blocks.

Can be used in paper (us declaration of Independence was signed on hemp)

Can be used in jewelry..

Can be used as a fabric.

Can be used to purify water and soil. Hemp is being used to clean contaminants at Chernobyl nuclear disaster site.

Can be used as fuel.Biofuels, such as biodiesel and alcohol fuel, can be made from the oils in hemp seeds and stalks, and the fermentation of the plant as a whole, respectively. Biodiesel produced from hemp is sometimes known as “hempoline”. Hemp is clean burning and non-toxic.

The oil and paper lobby will never relax their opinions of hemp therefore it will remain illegal in the USA and never take its place as an alliterative to oil.

Report this comment

Damnit you got there first lol!!

• ponythegringo 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

also 1 acre of hemp will produce 4 times the paper that an acre of trees will produce and the hemp will grow again the next year whereas the trees will take decades before it is big enough to harvest for paper.

also most of the world’s textiles were made from hemp before 1937 when the u.s. made it illegal due to pressure from powerful lobby groups affilliated with the paper from trees industries etc.

not 1 fatality from cannabis in any country ever whereas here tobacco and alcohol kill hundreds of thousands every year and leave families devastated.

my mam has had multiple sclerosis for 37 years and on the few occasions that we shared a joint ( the odd christmas) she said the pain in her back had gone and then she got the giggles and then ate about 7 mince pies … trouble is my mam is worried about all things illegal and so won’t use it as a regular medication.

i watch people down the pub getting drunk and depressed and sometimes violent and i look at people smoking who want to have a laugh with their friends and the only conclusion i can come to is that alcohol must be making some important people very wealthy or we wouldn’t be using it at all and if alcohol didn’t exist and was invented tommorow it would be outlawed almost immediately due to the dangers involved in drinking it.
      i hope the government cop on to this cash crop and stop listening to alcohol and timber lobbyists.
      if you want to reduce the amount of money/power the criminal gangs have then just legalise cannabis and wipe out the majority of their income.
      and to all the people against cannabis who have children: most young people will try cannabis at some time in their lives and if they have to go to a scummy dealer who has run out of cannabis he might offer them something else instead and any kid that has been intentionally left in the dark about drugs by worried parents trying to shield them from the big bad world will not realise the difference between a harmless joint and a wrap of heroin. so educate your kids about the different kinds of drugs as the goverment and anti-cannabis folks are determined to leave the money and power of the cannabis industry in ireland in the hands of murderous criminal gangs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMM_T_PJ0Rs

Report this comment

My apologies of this is a double post, my app crashed and I do not know if my last post was saved.
    Perhaps by wearing this suit Ming may have been highlighting some of the other reasons Ireland could benefit from lifting the ban.

When the subject of legalisation comes up it tends to descend into a debate where the main issue debated is the recreational drug aspect. But there are many other reasons we could benefit from this humble plant.

As Ming has just pointed out, he had to buy the material overseas, and the hemp clothing bought over here is imported. It is a very quick growing plant and is highly renewable, and the clothing is very durable and versatile.
    It is also a very nutritious food source for both animals and humans. You may remember we were forced to lift our ban on GM feed for animals recently as there was an issue sourcing non GM feed, this would resolve this issue, and others too.
    You can make paper, cardboard and plastic from the plant – without endangering our forests, or contaminating our waterways with oestrogen mimicking plastics residues (BPA), plus, it biodegrades unlike normal plastic.
    It can be used as animal bedding, it can be used as wood, it can be used in medicine, it can be used as fuel. And the profit from exports on these sorts of products would be enormous.

But so long as we are going to focus solely on this being about some people wanting to get stoned we will never see any forward thinking on this issue..

• Pilib O Muiregan 103 days ago #
      Report this comment

Yes but we can legalization the growth of hemp without legalizing getting high. There two different plants, that with some inspection on growers it could be done

Report this comment

I know, I already use many hemp products, and it is a shame that they must be imported as they are so useful.
      Of course I would like to see the whole cannabis family legalised as I believe that the initial ban was motivated by corporate interests alone. There is no true reason for these plants to be illegal, and it is arrogant of man to think that he has dominion over nature.

• Alan Hayes 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Are you implicated? The link between illegal drugs and gangland murders http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhoOcotfQ1Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Adam Magari 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

When he is finished with it at night, is it hung up or rolled up?

• William O'Shea 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Ah lads…….. the refusal to legislate sensibly on this issue has nothing to do with pros and cons……. it’s to do with established industries such as clothing, paper, oil, drinks, even medicine etc, keeping the brat at bay until they fcuk up their monopolies. As for the ethical/medical objections…….. are the legislators drunk?
    Cop on already

• Cal Mooney 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

FG/FF/Labour will reject any form of legalistaion of soft drugs… The establishment parties only support the status quo. They cant see that soft drugs are no more dangerous than alcohol if taken in moderation. Actually, alcohol is much more dangerous based on statistics. But the establishment parties are only too happy to keep the older voters on side.
    FG/Labour would rather Tax the crap out of the lowest income earners and welfare in our country, rather than broaden their minds and look at the bigger picture. Legalising soft drugs would be a fantastic source of revenue to this country, while having a knock on effect of reducing crime and gangland murders. Bu unfortuntaely, our establishment parties cant see beyond their next paychecks and doing whatever they are told to do by their puppet masters…. grrrrrrr

• Des Keegan 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

does anyone not believe in independent candidates? because no one seems to have faith in any particular partys- Luke is a very intelligent well spoken guy, and at least has never promised the moon and stars to anyone. he is very accessible to the people of Roscommon and Leitrim who dont treat him as a joke, even by those who have no interest in any form of drugs

• Lamb 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

I think he is a muppet and I do not agree with legalisation of drugs. That said, hemp was a major industrial crop in the UK before growing it was made illegal. It’s products were vey important for the war effort from rope production for the navy to medicines. When out was made illegal thousands of British people were made unemployed over night. A genetically modified crop without the active ingredient that makes it so popular at parties could be a useful way of creating jobs.

Report this comment

Sadly GM has its own issues. I would not trust a Genetically Modified plant. There has been no long term safety tests done on the GM crops that have been patented and used so far and animal testing show them to be quite harmful.
      If this were to be used as food this could have serious adverse effects. The best idea is to leave plants the way nature intended (not introduce frog DNA into strawberries..)

May I ask, why is it you would be against legalisation of these plants in their unmodified form? Genetic Engineering where plants are hybridised etc is a different matter, and while you can crossbreed plants for increased potency you can just as easily cross breed for less. And as pointed out above, it is possible to have hemp without the THC.

• Titus d 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

At least he wears a suit unlike that scruff Wallace in his pink polo shirts

• Richard Creedon 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

I hate these stupid comments saying Cannabis shouldnt be legalised and then they go on to say cannabis users are funding drug dealers. WTF! Of course cannabis users are funding drug dealers because they are they only people who sell it. It is basic economics, Supply and demand. Their will always be a demand for Cannabis. No matter what. So the whole you support drug dealers argument is flawed. If you buy Nike runners do you support sweat shops? The answer is obviously no. Yet it doesnt stop the vast majority of people buying these items Legalise it and regulate it and no more drug dealers. It is so frighteningly simple that I cannot understand how people don’t realise this.

• Richard Creedon 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

One more thing. To the people saying that this is a publicity stunt and hes trying to further his own agenda well DUH! Of course he is. His agenda is to help the thousands of cannabis users in this country, the economy aswell as the health system. What you should be complaining about is that the only way he can get his voice heard and the facts heard instead of the drivel from the minister of health recently regarding cannabis is to do stunts like this. As someone else said I really wish I had a Ming in my constituency. Not only would I vote for him I would campaign day and night for him.

• Multi talentless 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

Whether its made of hemp or rhino foreskin it’s a Louis copeland (tailors to ireland’s elite) suit , paid for by the taxpayer no doubt , but don’t worry voters keep believing that Ming isn’t a one trick pony & that he’s sticking it to the man & bringing the system down from the inside.

• Richard Sheehy 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Well Ming did give half of his salary away to the building of recreational facilities.
      He gets in shit from people when he wore regular clothes as it wasn’t high class enough and now that he’s wearing a suit he’s getting slammed for wasting tax payers money…..he can’t win with some.

• Rodger O Waters 103 days ago #
    Report this comment

God be good to Miley(codology he reckoned)when the English chick sidled up to him in the pub and said she heard he may have some grass………hapes of it says Miley,classic.

• S Thornton 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

In 30 years time the sahara desert will be up as far as berlin, world population will be a billion, if people want drugs give them to them, they will be dead long enough.

• Noddy Mooney 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

A billion? It’s around 7 billion at the moment.

• Darren O'Brien 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Sahara? Berlin? A billion? I’d say you’ve been having a few tokes yourself :)

• S Thornton 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Thats correct noddy, quite drastic isn’t it?

• ponythegringo 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

check the historical world population statistics, the only reason there are 7 billion people is because of oil, every crop means that every year people use oil powered machines to plow , sow , fertilize and harvest on their land then it is processed in a factory and then transported in another oil powered machine ( a lorry or a container ship) to a warehouse and then transported to a supermarket in yet another oil powered machine.

by the time you pay for it at the till in the supermarket it has taken 10 calories of oil energy to produce each calorie of food and that’s before you drive it home in your oil powered machine and cook it with gas or electricity and guess what ….. half of it will probably go into a wheelie bin and another oil powered machine will arrive to collect it and drive it to a landfill site.

we have already reached the point where supply of oil cannot be increased because the production of it has peaked and will enter a period of decline within the next decade , that means not enough oil to go around.

with america militarily positioning themselves in all the major oil producing regions of the world you can be sure when oil shortages become a stark reality there will be no military vehicle running out.
      as bush senior said at the Earth Summit on the environment (Rio de Janiero, 1992). ” the american way of life is non-negotiable”

point is if the oil starts running out our food producing systems will collapse and population levels will have to return to pre -oil levels (1 billion) as that is all the people the planet can sustain with no oil to help us produce food the way we do.

• Multi talentless 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

Flanagan only publicly “gave up” smoking dope after he was elected supposedly for the sake of his kids , but mainly as a way to set the record straight & keep the joe Duffy brigade off his back & demanding the cops pay him a visit
    I’ll bet he still has a crafty toke though

• Ciaran Collins 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

the current policy has failed. the policy on current legal drugs is a failure also. one thing is for sure the enrichment of criminals has resulted from the states inaction in this area.

• Dearbhla Carmody 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

This man is a goon, the economy is in the toilet, thousand unemployed, people about to lose their houses to the banks, emigration is rising, do I need to go on but the best this clown can do is use his over the top td salary to purchase an expensive louis copeland suit for a cause that in the greater scheme of things is totally irrevelant. Ming you idiot you grow up and start worrying about the important issues!! Nice bit of publicity for Louis Copeland, thats about it.
    So angry that a public representative can waste tax payers money like that.

• Erfantastico 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

All that angry talk because the man bought a suit made from hemp. Is that all it takes to piss people off these days?

Report this comment

But it’s ok when all the other TDs go there for their suits?

There was just more of a fuss made of this because of the whole dress code controversy, Ming obviously decided to turn it around on them.

At least he’s keeping pressure on over the HSE, one issue that really matters. One of the very few who’s doing so, I might add.

• Erfantastico 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

Also it’s probably good value for money in the long run, hemp clothes are very durable.

• Ciarán Houlihan 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

You are obviously unaware as to where his salary is being distributed?

• Richard Creedon 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

“do I need to go on but the best this clown can do is use his over the top td salary to purchase an expensive louis copeland suit” Ming only accepted half his salary and donated the rest to charity I believe. Also its his first expensive suit as far as I can tell compared to other politicians you likely have many. “the economy is in the toilet”, Legalise and add 7 billion to the economy. Name any politician who has an idea that can generate/save as much money as that. “emigration is rising” Legalise and create hundreds of jobs. ” do I need to go on but the best this clown can do is use his over the top td salary to purchase an expensive louis copeland suit” . “So angry that a public representative can waste tax payers money like that.” Politicans are wasting 7 billion euro by not legalising cannabis. Why are you angry about a suit that cost a few hundred euro? You say that Ming isnt worrying about the biggest issue! Complete hypocrite.

Report this comment

Are you serious like?

Incredible amount of ignorance from people who cannot see that something IS a BIG ISSUE just because it’s not a big issue to them. That seems to be the Irish way now I suppose.

Cannabis is a big issue, Alcohol is proven to be over twice as harmful and legalising cannabis would not drastically increase use, it would however seriously inject a lot of money into the ecomony (even through money not wasted in court time) and potentially decrease Alcohol use as well.

A lot of Irish people smoke cannabis, people don’t choose to do something based on the legality of it, they choose to do it due to different cultural and social issues. The number and percentage of cannabis users is going to rise as the older generation move on as the internet generation will simply not believe the bullshit fed to them as much.
      Cannabis is proven to not be a gateway drug but imo is currently a gateway drug BECAUSE OF PROHIBITION. Prohibition allows gangs make serious money on something that is relatively harmless, and then allows dealers a window of opportunity to sell the harder drugs.

Currently most cannabis in Ireland is sprayed with contaminants that are a serious health issue to the country,

When cannabis is illegal it becomes easier for kids to get it. The real problems with cannabis is adolescent and youth use as it does effect the developing brain….could you explain to me why the 2 european countries with the lowest child and adolescent use are Portugal and Holland?

The vast majority of Cannabis smokers commit no other crime than simple possession, do you think so much Garda time and tax payers money should be spent criminalising these people?, putting them in a constant state of fear for doing something that’s safer than drinking? 80% of violent attacks are on alcohol.

Decriminalisation of Cannabis is something that should happen immediately, and before you switch off, decriminalisation can just mean that they won’t criminalise people for possession, it doesn’t mean that you can go into a shop and buy it and it doesn’t mean that people are allowed deal it…..under decriminalisation at least resources are better put to use, money is spent on rehabilitation services and people are more willing to come out and admit their drug use/habits and problems if they need help. Guards would spend most of their time trying to catch dealers and not trying to catch students with possession amounts.
      Ireland will never be forward thinking enough to do such a thing anyway, Decriminalisation will be a new UN Convention in the next 10 years.

• ian mc dermott 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

Oho legalise the stuff and maybe ban alcohol . . . Now that really would do the country the world of good.

• des keegan 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

shine on you crazy diamond :-D

• James B.C. 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

I am afraid that Ming is waffling, as usual, as one can indeed buy Hemp in the Republic Of Ireland. There is a gentleman with nearly 50 acres of it planted in Monaghan as well as another 300 acres, outside the State, in Limavady, Co. Derry. This gentleman sells it along with Sheeps Wool, imported from New Zealand, as seperate types of Insulation for the Home. The Hemp is available in any type or form the customer so desires…, which includes in the Woven Fabric form!
    As usual an exaggeration from Ming, in a vain attempt to Highlight both Himself and His Illegal Habit!

• Des Keegan 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

jezz thats cool, is it widely known? could be a great way as sustainable attic insulation and stuff
      cheers for that, any other info?

Report this comment

Des, Hemp, mixed witl Lime and Added Water acts as a Plaster which will allow the Blockwork or Stone to breadth, with no dampness being allowed, either, Enter or Exit. The Sheeps Wool is the Insulation Product…, not the Hemp :)

• Des Keegan 102 days ago #
      Report this comment

This information should be more widespread don ya think?

Report this comment

Des, It Is already Widespread! Its Common Knoweldge…, which is something this, wonderful, country of ours has lacked over the past few years…, Common Sense and Logic…., Not GREED and Trying to make a name for ones self in Public.

• John Murphy 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

I need a smoke and chill after reading all that crazy nonsense!

• Seán Lynch 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

Hemp can create over 25,000 innovative and environmentally friendly and sustainable products including paper, construction supplies, cosmetics and a lot more that plays well into our economys hands. Hemp is already legal to grow by EU law and although it is being grown industrially in Ireland it remains heavily restricted. When will we see the loosening of hemp cultivation and the following investment boom that potentially could create 100s if not 1000s of jobs for our agricultural, manufacturing and export services – and not forgetting the benefit of consuming an ecologically friendly product that needs little or no fertilizer or pesticides to grow. Makes sense to me, and the other 1800+ people who are part of this group Hemp for Irish jobs on facebook, but little is spoken about this in the Dail.

http://www.causes.com/causes/551305-hemp-for-irish-jobs-revenue-and-growth-now

“Hemp is an under utilized comoddity that could provide green stimulus to the economy in terms of jobs, growth and consumption”

ANY GOT A BETTER IDEA?

• Kev Dunne 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

fair play to him. 6 in 10 drug arrests in Ireland are for cannabis. a drug that one in 4 adults have tried. it is relatively harmless in comparison to tobacco or alcohol. what is the point of it being illegal? surely the point of an oireachts is to debate issues like this? at least ming is getting the ball rolling.

• Unitedpeople Ireland 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

Wouldn’t be the first time drugs have been found in the building – but previously the matter was quietly dropped with previous leaders refusing to investigate!

Report this comment

You make a good point, Ming who uses/used a relatively harmless soft drug but is honest and admits it as opposed to the rest of the thieving pricks who’d be snorting cocaine in the toilets of Dail but no full investigation is done.

• Eugene Farrell 102 days ago #
    Report this comment

I wonder if Ming also got Louis Copeland to run him up a smoking jacket….

Add New Comment