TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Man sentenced to 2,080 lashes for raping teenage daughter

The sentence was handed down by a court in the holy city of Mecca, Saudi Arabia.

Aerial view of the city of Mecca
Image: Hassan Ammar/AP/Press Association Images

A MAN CONVICTED of raping his daughter has been sentenced to receive 2,080 lashes over the course of a 13-year prison term in Saudi Arabia, according to an official newspaper.

The court in the holy city of Mecca found the man guilty of raping his teenage daughter for seven years while under the influence of drugs.

The Okaz newspaper reported today that the man will receive the lashes in stages throughout his prison sentence. The man’s name was not published.

Saudi religious police say the girl’s uncle tipped them off to the crime.

Lashing is one of the penalties available to the clerics who serve as judges in Saudi Arabia and issue rulings according to the kingdom’s strict interpretation of Islamic law.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• Good enough for the bastard. Pity this punishment isn’t available to our judges for this type of offence.

• Better than punishing the daughter I suppose.

• Finally a sentence from Saudi Arabia that I agree with… ( instead of punishing woman who are raped instead of the man..)

• Can Brendan and Dom please exchange emails and take their public oneupmanship elsewhere?

• Wow!
      You are in a bitchy mood this morning Declan. I admit I did not fully understand the subtlety of their (Brendan and Dom) argument at times, but it had an intellectual rigour, something your post lacked. How’s that for oneupmanship!

• Wonder could we arrange some kind of prisoner exchange program with that lot? We’ve your man in Castlebar, plenty of priests and we could stick Seanie in for good measure.

• Its punishment Cyril, savagery is what that man did to his daughter as what the Mayo man did. It’s like getting a smacked with a wooden spoon as a kid for kicking your sister and breaking her toy :P, you learn from that, I did, to leave my sisters crap alone. This man raped his daughter over 7 yrs, that’s far worse that sibling fighting, far far worse, and should be dealt with accordingly.
    For the Castlebar man, seven years on top of whats he is serving currently is a insult to four women scarred for life at the hands of their parents. That violates the trust and bond between parent and child and he did it over was it 17 years or something like that? The old bastard should be giving the whip also. I’m in favor of finding a medium ground between time served and appropriated punishments. Carsaration is not enough for some animals. A good serving of pain would be more fitting and balanced.
    I’m not advocating corporal punishment outright and stoning/hand chopping here, but in certain situations, like the sick fuck who broke in and tortured and raped the OAP last year i think it was, deserves more than just left sit in a room to think about what he did. Act like an animal, expected to be treated like one. I wouldn’t lose sleep giving some of those sick monsters a good beating, I’d do it as a free service to the public.
    Rehabilitation is for those who are expect to be released back into society, for any criminal expecting to be released back really. Some “people” however do not deserve to ever step back into society and be treated equal for the heinous crimes they have committed.
    The crimes that are committed over years and are purely evil in nature should be dealt with accordingly as apposed to a once off shooting or bank robbery currently getting equal time sentences as it stands at present.

• Castration
    no testosterone
    can’t rape again

• Definitely castration.
      Animals are castrated for two reasons..cuts down the sex drive/procreation and makes them less agressive. I agree with Brendan.

• Just for clarification and seeing other comments. I am totally opposed to any form of physical punishment for crimes and specifically believe that the death penalty is worse than murder because it is a societal premeditation of taking a life. (The definition of murder, as opposed to manslaughter, is that murder is premeditated)

Castration is not a physical punishment, it is a method whereby we can protect ourselves from predatory behaviour without resorting to barbarism.

Having said all that, if anyone raped one of my daughters, castration would be the least of their worries.

• Should also be applied to the Irish bastard who did worse to his four daughters. What’s especially annoying is we’re all human beings and a crime against humanity is a crime against humanity not a crime against the local laws. So for the same crime you get a smacked wrist in one country and 13 years + 2080 lashes in the other! looking forward to the day all crimes will be judged by one court meting out the same punishment no matter where you live. And let’s hope we keep the lashes!

• It would be a shocking busy court. Where would it be based? Who would pay to transport and put up the defendant when there? I’m not sure you have thought this one through… :-)

• Ardo Ci 11/12/11 #

You might be right there, Oisin, but at least it’s a start. I would venture to suggest that in the not-to-distant future all laws will be changed to common laws and most laws today which are redundant for the times we are in will be replaced with them and you will be judged through online courts. You won’t have to travel to get the lashes! They’ll probably send someone round so you’ll suffer the added ignomy of your neighbours diasapprobation for minor offences! Joking aside – the law is an ass and an even bigger ass when it comes to international law:) All the best. Ardo

• Just wondering if the punishment meted out to him, was because of the drugs he did or was it for raping his daughter? I suppose one will never really know.

• Ghengis Khan would appear as a gentle moderate liberal in these comments.

• Would be interesting to see a poll on how many would support this type of punishment for fuckers like the guy from Mayo, maybe it is time to see these people getting treated for the animals they are.

• He should get 2080 every day of his sentence!! Bastard!!

• Very good!

• Forget all this legs and testes business. Ask the victim what they’d like done to the perpetrator. Some say they’re against certain punishment and in the same breath state just what they’d do to anyone who raped any of their own family. Just ask the victim about what should be appropriate punishment and definitely avoid asking a judge from Castlebar.

• So, let me be clear here as to what you are proposing Dom
      As has been reported elsewhere in The Journal, a depraved rogue male can rape and torture his five girl children for 18 years (with the acquiescence of his wife) one of them having two children as a result of this abuse and rape.
      Your proposal is that this 50 year old male should be rehabilitated back into our community and have a constitutional right to sex!!
      As a community we have a responsibility to look after our children, our elders and our “broken ones” and as Men, we should be gentle, not soft

• No, my proposal is that removing legs will have the same preventative effect as your proposal to remove teses. And I wasn’t defending his right to sex but merely pointing out that removing the possibility to have children is as harsh as removing the possibility to walk. Ok, it may not strictly apply to this guy who is 50 and has a few kids incl with his own daughter but extreme cases make for lousy policy making. End of the day, as far as I am concerned, this guy deserves to have his head cut off like they do to convicted murderers here in Saudi. Unless he is in rude health, 2080 lashes may as well have the same outcome.

• Ah! So you think men with no legs can’t have sex Dom?
      Interesting

• No Brendan, I don’t think men without legs can’t have sex. Where did I say that? I do think men without legs will find it a bit difficult to rape someone. Remember – that’s where the discussion started?

• Lou what do you mean by saying “definitely avoid asking a judge from castlbar???!!!” I’m curious!!

• Get a room Brendan and Dom.

• Too bad we can’t use this type of punishment over here :(.
    Pretty sure that would deter any re-offenders.
    After the bastards experience it once they won’t be so eager to do it again.
    Am I right?

• Maybe Ireland could learn something from this

• Sounds like what that fuck from Ireland should have got

• Can we get a left wingers view on this please, no doubt you feel sorry for him or he is a sick man and can be helped in a magical imaginary world. Well done Saudi get lashing….

• Sorry Dom, you must forgive my slowness here, I though the thread was discussing the consequences of rogue males raping girls.

I’m not quite certain how you have made the logical jump from there to where an ordinary male should have to choose between his legs and his testes being amputated.

Must be something to do with age I suppose, us old guys get confused sometimes.

• My point was that by removing testes you are denying the offender a chance of ever becoming a parent. By giving you a choice between the legs and the testes I wanted to illustrate the implication of the preventive measure you are proposing (I know you don’t seriously think the govt should go around castrating people – but it’s a nice debate anyway) and to prove that removal of legs may not be as savage as you initially thought it was.

• Is brendan not suggesting that the rapist should be castrated? Thus effectively removing his urge to rape?I think removing his legs isn’t going to remove any urge….. And I’m with him,if anyone ever hurt my baby,castration or removal of legs would be wishful thinking on their part!!!

• i suspect the daughter will receive similar punishment sadly

• Well sounds like the victim was ignored. She probably received whipping also for inviting the act under their translation of law

• Nothing scares a psyco more than another psyco. These guys should be locked up in a secure environment and allowed to be subjected to the deprivations of each other. Let them always live in fear of the next and more perverted mutation to come among them. They should be exposed to extreme psychological experimentation by exciting their perverted urges and then denied the ability to realize them except by the exploitation of each other. The very perverted nature of their make-up should be the means to their torture. Let them be their own worst enemy, their own executioner and torturer. Live by the sword die in fear by the sword.

• Was about a mile from that clock three days ago. BTW the landing card visitors fill in on entry clearly states ‘death to drug traffickers’. These guys are not a joke, the other day an Australian Muslim guy attending Hajj got sentenced to a couple of hundred lashes for blasphemy. People ask me how can I live here. It’s simple, don’t do drugs, don’t rape your daughter and don’t joke with their religion. Otherwise it’s sunny and there is no tax.

• yeh its great craic if you dont have a vagina

• Dom. Tried hard to resist replying to your comment but not very good at that… How you could glibly write what you just wrote. Yuck.

Sounds like you’ve picked the right country with the kind of sexist environment to live in. Right up your street. Serious yuck!!

• Reada, you are constantly being personal. People make life choices based on the opportunities presented and the necessities of life. I have the luck to be able able to live in Saudi without judging equally as I was able to walk the vice ridden streets of Miami with all the drag queens without judging them either. Both environments build character and widen horizons. You on the other hand constantly whinge about things that do not affect you one iota. What is your problem? When you buy apples from your grocer at the corner, do you inquire whether he beats his wife???

• Yeah. Dead right Dom. Find I’m getting really good at being a bitch. Must try harder to be nice. I’ll start now. Have a nice life.

• M kenny 10/12/11 #

Pretty fitting

• Waffler 11/12/11 #

these comments make me want to move to Norway :(

• What!? Is that all?? No death penalty?

• Why don’t we just stone him to death? They do that to women, don’t they? Or let’s drown him in a swimming pool, what fun. We can all watch. That’s what a father did to his daughter, when she was raped by a neighbours friend. Happy days!!

• beat him to death with an underpants Full of oinions.

• I see a number of people saying that if these offenders (abominable scum though they are) act like animals they should expect to be treated like animals. To translate that what a lot of you are saying is some people act like animals so society in turn should act like animals. That’s not a legal system.

It’s not for me to say what sentence this guy should get but I don’t support socially/governmentally mandated corporal or capital punishment. It’s not the middle ages anymore.

On a side note; religious police…? If ever there was a sentence to send a shiver down your spine.

• well said, some of the opinions here are scary. how many could actually do the lashing themselves?

• “It’s not the middle ages anymore.”
      Maybe those sick bastards didn’t get the memo!
      They are exceptions to every rule, and for those that go so far out and abuse rules ie. serial rape and torture. Their actions changed the rules meaning and to try them under current laws/rules seems a little redundant.
      It’s like a murderer kills 1 person gets 12yrs in prison, and another man kills 10 people by cutting them to pieces and receiving the same sentence as its the same crime under the law.
      Severity should at least be sought after in some regard. That’s what I meant by my comment. Truly heinous crimes should have more suitable punishments.

• ‘They are exceptions to every rule’ not in feckin law!

‘It’s like a murderer kills 1 person gets 12yrs in prison, and another man kills 10 people by cutting them to pieces and receiving the same sentence as its the same crime under the law.’
      He gets 120 years, appropriate punishment I think.

• I understand what youre saying Damhsa but i dont agree, either its the law or it isnt. No grey area.

As for your point about severity, on the surface i might agree with you but think about it from the other direction. Imagine, like your example, a person kills someone very brutally and has the book thrown at them, does that mean that the life of the person who was only shot should mean less? That their murderer should not also receive the harshest punishment the judge can give? A life is a life, you cant treat a person who takes one any differently.

• Agree entirely Chris, Waffler and Conor. It’s always possible to find an excuse to make an exception for the reintroduction of capital punishment.

You only have to look at the thumbs when 2 commentators are having a good barney. It’s too easy to just react to a horrific story like this with the human instinct to hurt.

Not in favour of capital punishment in any circumstances. Lock them up and keep society safe but do your best to rehabilitate offenders too. Ignorance is something shouldn’t be tolerated instead.

• Actually Conor, he doesn’t get 120 years. The sentences would run concurrently.

• @Chris, Of course all loss of live should be treated equal. Saying that I’d take the way the victim suffered into account, a shot to the head is a instant kill, where are say skinning someone alive or what ever causes extreme pain to the victim, and for the perpetrator to be punished under “1st deg Murder” along with someone who shot a man in the head to be treated the same I’d find a problem with.
      I think I find my answer to your own question, “a person kills someone very brutally and has the book thrown at them,” the punishment should fit the crime, especially when its horrific. Yes some family has lost their son/daughter, for that the murderer should be punished, but I believe on a scale of how sick and evil the crime was committed as the sentence passed down should reflect this. I see a Ministers has called the Castlebars case a heinous crime but that’s as far as our law permits us to punish him, lock him up and be done with it.

I think as hungover as I am now, I object to having someone who committed a vile evil crime and caused extreme on going pain and suffering to his victim should receive more than just carsaration. I don’t want for a moment they becoming comfortable after a few years in prison as we all know how short human memory is. I feel over a 25 year sentence maybe randomly 2 or 3 times a yr they get a whipping so they are reminded of why they are there and being punished and to feel a little of the pain they caused onto another human being for their own amusement.
      Of course I see and understand the law is the law and rules are rules but when something so vile is committed I feel our laws don’t go far enough at times.
      If imprisonment does not scare them them they do not fear committing the offence, that I have a problem with and simply locking them up does not come close to a deserved punishment.

• If you want revenge then castration, lashing, amputation are all viable options among many. If you want to protect society then life imprisonment or execution are the options. But if a doctor came to you and said I have this pill, if we give it to him he will never ever do this again 100% guaranteed, woyld you give it to him and release him? Furthermore does tour answer say more about him or you?

I am neither left nor right wing, wings are for birds, planes and buildings :0)

• Saud is the same country that has stonings, beheading, amputations as well as a range of other disfigurements. If you would like to live in a country like that, I’d ask you to leave and go there and let us know how it works out for you.
    Anything other than incarceration doesn’t work.
    Be glad you live in a democratic republic where your rights are protected from the mindless feel good backlash of the majority of the ‘lop something off’ brigade of posters on here.
    D

• You are right Lou, we need to move our thought processes in the direction of the victims. The pendulum has swung way too far in the wrong direction

• castration removes a tool not the intent

• Should introduce that punishment over here. Crime rates would drop me thinks……………..

• mandatory death sentence, with forced labour and mandatory organ donations.

never a chance parole and all that bullshit

judges and juries who release. man like that who will undoubtedly be. repeat offender. should be held accountable for anything that happens to future victims, because in their misled dream to give a sick man like that rights, they have violated that of others

• While his crimes are horrendous this is still indefensible. Religion and a judicial system never the twain should meet. A civilised system would be a lengthy jail term and assessment of his likelihood of rehabilitation. If not he should be kept under constant lock up but lashing people. This is savagery.

• Keep it coming lads. Get it out of your system and let’s get back to normal please.

• “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind”. Remove the danger from society, ie. lock them up, anything added on top is just societal revenge. And the thought of religion and law being the same, makes me think of the spanish inquisition!

• Logic!
    Perhaps Googling “removal of the testes, effect of” and “ removal of the legs, effect of” might give some direction

• You have daughters, right? Now here is an interesting choice for you: would you rather have your legs removed so you can’t walk or your testes removed so you could not have had your daughters? Now go and Google “removal of the testes, effect of” yourself.

• I wonder is it just one dude who gives all the lashes or a team of 10 who give 200.8 each or…… 2080 individual whiplashes or ..,… ???

• This animal gets 13 years in prison and 2080 lashes delved out to him during that time frame. That all sounds like justice initially, until you think about what could have happened to his daughter had she been raped by someone else and not had three male witnesses to attest to the fact that it was a rape, not consensual. In that case she could have been stoned to death or her father or some other male relative could have killed her in some other manner, such as beheading, as her punishment for dishonoring the family. Considering that, what is happening to this poor girls father is a walk in the park. Where are the feminazis on this issue?

• A woman is beheaded after being accused of sorcery and this guy,for raping his own daughter,his flesh and blood,gets whipped 2,080 times over 13 years?
    So what is going to happen to the young girl? Is she going to be disgraced and never let marry as she is no longer a virgin?
    Ok, so don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying this isn’t a bad enough punishment or that it’s too harsh, I’m simply saying that this is a retarded punishment! Both of them are!! Beheading people is so medieval and lashing someone is too. I don’t know what words to use to express my feelings here except disgust.
    But I do agree that the father NEEDS to be punished for his despicable crime

• I posted the following as a reply to previous post but I would like it to be a general comment as well so excuse me for repeating myself. (The Journal won’t let me anyway)

I am totally opposed to any form of physical punishment for crimes and specifically believe that the death penalty is worse than murder because it is a societal premeditation of taking a life. (The definition of murder, as opposed to manslaughter, is that murder is premeditated)

Castration is not a physical punishment, it is a method whereby we can protect ourselves from predatory behaviour without resorting to barbarism.

Having said all that, if anyone raped one of my daughters, castration would be the least of their worries.

• Not that I disagree with you but that’s interesting logic. Castration is not physical punishment but a measure of prevention. Well, if you amputate the predator’s legs he’s as likely to be prevented from reoffending so is this physical punishment or prevention?

• 11/12/11 #

how come 2080 lashes is that custom for this horrible act or is does it vary on age etc. just intrigued

• Fingal 10/12/11 #

And

Add New Comment