TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Pics: Martin McGuinness meets and shakes hands with Queen Elizabeth II

The meeting is a historic and symbolic moment in the North’s peace process.

Image: Paul Faith/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Updated 1.13pm

MARTIN MCGUINNESS, a former senior member of the IRA and the North’s Deputy First Minister, has met and shook hands with Queen Elizabeth II in a historic and symbolic moment in the peace process.

The pair met at a Co-Operation Ireland event in Belfast, attended by the Queen while she was in the North on a two-day Diamond Jubilee visit.

Later the pair – along with First Minister Peter Robinson, the Duke of Edinburgh, Irish president Michael D Higgins and his wife Sabina Higgins – took a walking tour of the Lyric Theatre in Belfast where the handshake has earlier taken place behind closed doors.

At that behind closed doors meeting, McGuinness welcomed the Queen and the Irish president and commented on her visit to Dublin last year particularly her comments at a State dinner at Dublin Castle relating to all the victims of the conflict.

He emphasised the need to acknowledge the pain of all the victims and families of the conflict in the North and spoke of the significance of today’s charity event and the need for it to be built upon in the time ahead.

The Sinn Féin MLA said that the fact it was happening was a powerful signal that peace building requires leadership and he praised the role of the Irish president.

Following the tour, and as the Queen departed, the pair shook hands for the second time and this time in public – while McGuinness also shook hands with the Duke of Edinburgh, whose uncle Lord Mountbatten was murdered by the IRA in 1979.

He is reported to have said “Slán agus Beannacht” to her Majesty as she departed.

Speaking to the media as he left the theatre earlier today, McGuinness was asked how it went, responding: “Good, it went really well,” before adding with a smile: “I’m still a Republican.”

Pics: Martin McGuinness meets and shakes hands with Queen Elizabeth II
1 / 13
  • Queen-McGuinness

All Pictures: Paul Faith/PA and screengrabs via Sky News

Read: McGuinness meeting with Queen ‘a major challenge for Republicans’ – Adams

Read next:

Comments (153 Comments)

• It’s a sort of ‘kick Bishop Brennan up the arse moment’!!

• Must admit I never thought I would see the day. Thank God for peace.

• Is it significant that she wear green to visit here..

• aw, look at poor Michael D. his head just poking out.

• Thank God for the good grace and good sense of both.

• My family vote Sinn Fein, I occasionally do. I will however say that I think the Queen is a dignified and brave woman.

• He shoulda high fived her.

• Even now, the editors of the Phoenix are sucking on their pencils thinking up captions…

• Wow the world didnt end!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Peace is something we are all born with. Circumstances can undo it. It’s such a beautiful thing that it can be difficult to get back. To get it back means overcoming obstacles. I am glad these two shook hands. Peace is what we truly want especially for all of those caught up in the incidents in the Norths violent and sad past. The sad thing is…once some people are born..all they are ever fed is the idealogy of patroitism and hate and they become ignorant. I don’t know what I am trying to say excatly..the whole dieiting on Special K is making me feel week right now!Conclusion? Fair play to them both!Time to get stronger and work together.

• Hang on a minute…….major political figure comes to Ireland and she isn’t pictured downing a pint of guinness??? Whats going on??

• Equal fair play to Her and to Martin.

• Perhaps overdue with some time but nice to see the peace process continuing, yes SF have used this to their advantage just like govt. parties used the queens and obama’s visit last year for political brownie points.

The good Friday agreement is a good thing and could lead to a united Ireland by democratic means.

• Duke of Edinburgh is quoted as saying later.. ‘he’s a very friendly chap that Martin guy. how do you know him darling?

• 27/06/12 #

Move on yeah. If everyone thought like you, we would still be living in the dark ages.

• Well done Martin…..

• A step in the right direction. Well handled Martin!

• I’m glad she came to Ireland again to visit and to meet the leadership of Government in the Six Northern Counties – respect on both sides of The Pond , can only be a very good thing, in uniting all the Citizens of this small island of ours and our adjoining neighbouring island.nPeace at last!nWell done Lizzie and Martin!

• I would be happier to see the SF shop stop selling “Unrepentant Fenian Bastard” T-shirts myself

• Not a dissident , but more concerned with what is Happining up the Black Mountain right now . Support both the protest and the right to protest while having no objection to the hand shake. She was greatest by an Irish Republican not a subject, no harm there! P.S.: It does my heart good to see our National Flag so bold and large on the Mountain over the City I love!

• Them’s fake hands

• I see the FTSE reacted well in any case…

• Why the big deal? He was Chuckle Brother Chum to one of the biggest bigots in the countrys history.

• I’m glad it happened. The sky didn’t fall in. Life moves on & let’s get on with life. I’m no fan of SF but I will say fair play to M McG for doing this. And to the Queen. It wasn’t easy for her & him to do it, I imagine. It’s done. Congrats & let’s move on.

• Murderer, where were you and the majority of people in the south when us in the North needed you? Where was the so called Irish Republic when fellow Irish men were being burnt out of their homes in Belfast for simply being Catholic? What would your solution to this have been? Sit down and take it? That ‘murderer’ and many men like him gave the minority a way to fight back. Do you forget how the Irish Free State came into being? And when you talk of murder, the Queen is the head of the British Armed Forces, I can unequivicaly say that the British Empire has murdered more people than the IRA. Go and learn your history you haven’t the slightest idea growing up in your free state wrapped in your cotton wool!

• Well done Martin, I am proud some people are trying hard to keep peace, and its never to late to show forgiveness I think its time we worried about more important issues like staying afloat in a Country thats so determined to let us drowned…..

• I think last years visit to the Garden of Rememberance and Croke Pk by queen was way more significant than this visit.. SF should have been involved then, they kinda let themselves down by not being involved 13 months ago..

• this is history in the making .it can only do good ,for peace , there are people in he south , that will always be making trouble , and bitching about something or other , but they are in the minority thank god, the queen has no power , she is only a figure head ,has no say , and as for the army , she has no say , they are quite independent. from her , run there own affairs,as do the government , in other words , she has no more power than M.D. Higgins , opening and closing parliament , and believe you me , she couldn’t give a dam ,if the six county’s were given back to us in the morning . that’s her governments choice to do the will of the people in the north . the day of the monarchs are gone , we all know that , its the same in the u.k. as here .money and governments ,and banks run the country’s, not the royals . were all talk . if you out there are so damn concerned . about people . take a trip over the pond , and help the poor Irish , that are sleeping on the streets. that helped build this country , with there hard earned money and sent it back here to help the mothers and fathers of your past .you have very short memoires , live and let live , get over it , you wont live for ever and nether will the royals, look after yourselves and mind the people that matter to you, and let them mind themselves, that’s life .i earned the roof over my head in England for that I’m grateful . and have respect for them . and i have no respect for the rotten feckers that are running my country here at the moment , we are still going to other country’s with the begging pot, what do that say for our independents, not moved on there have we.
    i say i want peace at all costs .and feck the trouble makers .they will never change , and who cares anyway .god help us , or better still help ourselves , and get over the past, i have a long time ago . thank god and i can live in peace with everyone , why can you .

• So many people in here criticising the Queen and al but yet so many many Irish people still seeking sanctuary for a better life in Britain. All a bunch of hypocrites. Live in modern times peeps. Forget the hatred asante Irish have found wealth while leaving Ireland for the UK. Ireland is deep down the drain and going deeper

• Which one’s the queen?

• magsR 27/06/12 #

I think this is a fantastic day and SInn Fein have really gone up in my estimation!!
    Well done Martin McGuiness and the queen!! It took real leadership and courage to do what they did today!.

• Fagan's 27/06/12 #

Paddy, don’t mind him. He is a FF’er, he’d sell his own mother for a fiver. You can hardly expect him to care what happened to anyone in the North.

• Fair play to her. I personally believe she shouldn’t have engaged the man myself, however it goes to show how interested she and the British government are in progress, unity and peace within the UK.

• She shouldn’t have engaged with him? Come off it! He is Deputy First Minister and parliamentary leader of the Nationalist community. She had no choice but to engage.
      Now, either you’re for or against peace and progress- it would appear to me that your lot are anti-peace, it appears that you two (and more besides in the twenty six counties) delight at every opportunity to perpetuate cross-community divides by also referring to the violence and never about the courage it took to end it. I’m going to advise you, using a phrase most oft used by your ilk: Move on and grow up.
      Fair play to both, can’t have been easy for either.

• ah eoin, comment of the day for me! Thank god someone talking sense on here…

Congrats to both MMcG & QE, never thought I’d see the day.

• Fagan's 27/06/12 #

She is already married. As is Martin, an engagement would cause lots of marital disharmony for both sides.

• censored 27/06/12 #

Great comment Eoin.

I’m curious to understand the real agenda of the people who want to perpetuate the divisions of the past.

• *sarcatic gasp*
    Well, at least SF are only 50yrs behind the rest of us now…

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that this happened, but my God did the lads in the SF Press Office drag a rather minor event out…!

• Oceans of ink consumed in the lead up!!

• 50 years behind? There was a huge civil rights struggle up the north. A lot of people down south seem to like glossing over that. How could they have been seen to shake hands with a monarch that represented the oppression of Nationalists up north? I do not agree with the tactics used and the deaths of civilians is inexcusable (on both sides) but to say that this could have happened 50 years ago is really naive. We are moving forward and it’s great to see. A minor event ? This is a great symbol of the success of the peace process.

• Its an absolute disgrace that FF in all the decades in Government, never met this nice old lady. SF have done it, FG/Labour have done it (all be it, only last year).
      FF need to let their bigotry and hatred of the British monarchy go. When will FF meet the Queen of England in their official capacity as head of the Irish Government? Haa haa …… Rhetorical question to all my FF brothers and sisters.

• @Cal1: Sorry to break the news to you but Mary McAleese is a Fianna Fáiler…

• Its only minor to some if we take peace for granted. That it seems obvious is precisely the beauty of this moment.

• PAW, she gave up her FF mantra on becoming President. Presidents are not allowed to be party political, or do you believe the President is meant to be a Party leader?
      I restate my comment, ‘No FF Party leader as head of an Irish Government has met the Queen on Irish soil, why are FF so bigotted and hate filled? When will they drop the hate and meet the Queen as leaders of an irish Government?

• @Cal1,

Seriously? You spend most of your time on here humourlessly putting the world to rights (shinner style of course) and now you’re reduced to acting like a school-yard bully which is more true to form from your ilk.

• Well said Barry

• Paul as I pointed out to you on another thread this morning but which you have completely ignored ” it’s not SF that are causing the hype over photographs, it’s the NIO. They are the ones who told the Journal.ie that it would not be a media event. All that happened last year was the Queen visited Ireland and Kenny and co doffed their caps, curtsied and milked it for all their worth. What you have here is the former alleged Chief of Staff of the PIRA meeting with the current Head of the British Crown Forces. This is much more significant than a few words of Irish spoken in front of fawning politicians and social climbers.
      If you have such a bee in your bonnet about will they/ won’t they issue a photograph why don’t you ring the NIO press enquires office in Belfast on (028) 9052 7856 and tell them how upset you are with all the uncertainty surrounding this event. They are the ones who are controlling access to the media so they are the ones who will say whether a photograph is released, no SF.”

The shinners didn’t give a crap either way whether there was a photo or not. It’s the media and the other political parties who made a big thing of it because they weren’t invited to the party. Boo Hoo!

• To all!

To see the sarcastic comments, bigotry, hatred and pretense on this article is not surprizing to me. Certain individuals pretending to be overwhelmed at the meeting of the Queen of United Kingdom and McGuinness, when really behind it all, and the voices in their heads saying “we’re not finished yet Queen Elizabeth, so don’t get too friendly”. Whether the Shinners admit to it or not they are and were making a big deal of it. If they weren’t why didn’t McGuinness just say last week, ‘ya, I’ll be shaking her hand, no big deal’? As for Sky news etc. they too were making it a big news item also. Bloody media.

The photos are just lovely to see, to be witnessed by all Northerners and Southern Irish is just lovely. I never thought, in my lifetime that I’d see anything like this photograph, never mind certain kind of peace for the ordinary people in the 6 counties. She is an amazing women for her age and I am sure it was not easy for her this morning to come so close to someone that was involved in the murdering of her close relatives. Yes, yes, yes, I know. Horrible, despicable hatred and murders from all sides.

Just let us all enjoy the moment.

• Is there any chance of the Journal Author of the article to spell out why the photograph story ran two days in a row on the Journal. That would settle the argument fairly quickly. Hugh, any chance you could give us the feedback on what drove Journal.ie to run the story twice, even though BBC said the Photographs etc were going to be taken and published on Sunday?

• Shiela,

Gerry Adams said it on Matt Coopers radio program on Friday last week. He said at the time he coulndt understand why the media were making such a big deal about it. He repeated it on Sunday, live TV during the week in politics program on BBC 1. Martin McGuinness repeated it on Sunday during a radio interview in the North.
      I agree, for anyone in the South, by watching the news here, reading the Indo, or even the Journal.ie in the last 3 days, would have been left with the feeling that McGuinness wasn’tr decided on the photo issue.
      I hope that i am quoting Adams exact phrase right…
      ‘I hope there are photos and cameras there, SF are proud as republicans to be seen greeting the Queen as equals.’

• Sheila, it was a big deal from the point of view that MMcG said that by shaking the Queens hand he was shaking the hand of every Unionist. So from that point of view it was symbolic as MMcG in his official capacity represents all of the people of NI and so has a responsibility to meet the Monarch of the UK. It’s another step to show that you have to take a risk and meet people half way if you want to work things out. That is what SF are doing at the moment and have been doing since the start of the peace process. it’s driving the SF haters nuts because they can’t stand the sight of SF acting in a mature and leading role hence you have the usual suspects who throw the same old mud around and refuse to progress with the rest of society.

Personally I don’t particularly like SF and think that some of the stuff that they come out with is crazy but if shaking and old ladies hand will let people have a peaceful like then I’m all for it.

• censored 27/06/12 #

That’s a pretty stupid comment in the light of what just happened. More like, SF *and* the citizens of Northern Ireland are light years ahead of the Republic (and those goes twice over for Fianna Failed, we see through you)

• Why do Irish people refer to her as ‘The Queen’. She’s not our queen is she?

• Excellent gesture on her part.

• “greeted , not greatest” speek check in checked! :-) !

• The Queen of England is the epitome of a bum, she and her family have leeched and bummed off the British taxpayer for centuries. There’s no place in modern society for Monarchy, it is an utterly ridiculous concept.

• I hear they also have fairys and dragons over there too

• 27/06/12 #

Not to mention the untold millions in tourism revenue they generate annually. Lets ignore hundreds of years of history and strip all royal families and monarchs across the world of their titles etc. Brilliant idea. Get back under your bridge troll.

• Could you be any more ignorant of what they do if you tried harder??? Oh I forgot how well our Republic experiment is doing over here…. yes we are really on the moral high ground in our country and not a leech in sight over here…. Idiot

• She’s not the Queen of England. She’s the Queen of Great Britain, Northern Ireland, and the many Commonwealth countries around the world.

• I wouldn’t quite put it in those terms but I agree with the sentiments. No offence to Elizabeth herself she seems like a nice old lady but Why should an accident of birth entitle you to this level of reverence and wealth. Thank god we are a republic broke and all as we are we would be worse if we were paying out huge money to upkeep an outdated concept like the monarchy. I think the amount of publicity around this is laughable a nice little old lady shakes hands with a political dinosaur. Forget religion as the opium of the masses it’s celebrity, monarchy, infamy, and sensational headlines that keep the masses in check give us something to gossip about or aspire to and we will never challenge the ruling class or social order n

• It’s 2012, anybody who tries to defend the concept of monarchy obviously doesn’t believe in equality for all. Hereditary privilege is one of the most unprogressive institutions still functioning in today’s world & is a throwback to times when the rich & powerful took even more advantage of everybody else than they do now.

We can recognise Elizabeth Windsor as the Head of our neighbouring island but we should also register our oposition to her immoral office & all it stands for.

• Tom – it would seem that the large majority of the British people are perfectly happy with the Queen as their head of state.

Who are you to tell them what to do?

(and Belgium; Denmark; the Netherlands; Norway; Spain and Sweden)

• To those using tourism revenue generated by the freak show that is the British royal family, are you seriously claiming the only reason tourists visit the UK is to see the Queen? The truth is she costs British taxpayers over £40 million per year, she and her family are a relic of the past and have no justifiable reason to be considered ‘special’ in any way….She’s not even British for fecks sake, she is descended from the Sax-Coburgs, her ancestors were almost all German.

The Republic of Ireland is an entity separate from the gombeens who you have elected to administer it, do not confuse the Republic of Ireland with incompetent, dynastic half wits that are in the Dail.

• I really don’t see what your problem is… they cost you nothing and have nothing to do with your life so why does it bother you so much? And you really do have no idea at all about what the monarchy in England means or stands for either in historical or modern terms. But please feel free to keep trolling about things you are completely ignorant about.. its always amusing if nothing else… oh and if you do live in the UK and you don’t like paying your 50p a year to keep the monarchy (which is how much it costs per taxpayer) move somewhere else

• She’s not British because her ancestors are “almost all German”. What nonsense. Do you not understand what makes a British citizen. So all the Irish who have Spanish ancestry in the west of the country are not really Irish?

As for the equality argument. Do consumer capitalist societies such as Ireland have total equality?

The argument here in the UK is that since the Queen is unelected she doesn’t have to bow to political pressure and can lead for the good of the country.

• Completely agree with you Tom. There are plenty of spongers in all countries, but the idea that privilege, opulence and wealth should be down to the the luck of being born into a certain family really is a disturbing system to have in place. It actually pains me to think that for centuries, monarchy’s were rightly seen to be the enemy of the people, but now have been re-legitimised to large degree. Use the tourism, or any other excuse, all you want, its a system that embodies a lot of what is wrong with the world.

• @Tom Rooney, RG Cuan, etc.

Blah, blah, blah, blah, get over it. She’s not my Queen. She is the Queen of the United Kingdom. The Queen of millions. Their business, not mine or yours. If they didn’t like the situation, they’d do something about it themselves.

• She is for now Damien, but it looks like Australia and Canada will leave the commonwealth soon, Scotland look like they will be departing the UK after 2014, and now Jersey want to leave the UK also. As an Englishman i think it would be best for N.I to leave the UK also.

@ Tom

The Roal family as a whole cost the UK taxpayer £40 million a year, that works out at 65p per person. But the revenue paid to the UK from the royal lands is £200 million. £200 million in revenue subtract £40 million in salary costs equals £160 million pounds in profit. And lets not forget the 12 million tourists that visit London every year spending £8 billion.

• @ Mark as you mention, Canada and Australia may leave the Commonwealth – but it hasn’t happened yet. As for Jersey: they’re just posturing because they’re annoyed that their tax haven is being threatened. But Jersey as a separate entity I can’t see, personally.

As an Irish man I’d like to see N.I leave the UK, but I shudder at the thought of what that would do to the already struggling Irish economy. Not to mention the turmoil that could throw up to what looks like a promising lasting peace. Long-term, yes a united Ireland; short-term, no thanks.

• For people who live in a Republic, and supposedly agree with its basic principles of equality for all, to actually argue in support of the concept of Monarchy is quite disturbing.

In every nation that still has this outdated privilege there is a very significant percentage of the population that campaigns to abolish the institution (check out http://www.aerm.org/) and create a democratic republic where anybody, no matter to what family they were born, can become Head of State. For the people living in an actual republic to talk about the benefits of somebody ruling over people is an embarrassment to their state’s more progressive system.

• Personally i do not think a United Ireland would work with the Unionists, i was thinking more like N.I go it alone just like Scotland may go.

• RG Cuan – the fact of the matter is that the large majority of the British people want a monarch as their head of state.

That anyone could suggest that this is not their right and still call themselves a democrat is just silly.

Republicanism is a choice that some nations make and some don’t.

• RG Cuan 27/06/12 #

Donal – Where did anybody say that it is not the right of any nation to chose to have a monarch? Nowhere. Your above statement is bogus.

Of course any nation can have whatever political system they want but that does not mean that that system is right, democratic, equal or just.

• Glen 27/06/12 #

Er, Australia and Canada are NOT contemplating leaving the Commonwealth, so I don’t know where that idea came from. Nor will they transition into republics in the near future. The two are completely separate issues. Most countries in the Commonwealth actually are republics (India, Pakistan to name two).
      As for Scotland, yes some have mooted the idea of leaving the political institution of the UK and have an entirely independent government, but HM the Queen will still be the head of state.
      So that’s that issue settled hopefully folks.
      As a symbol the Crown (personified by Elizabeth II) is one of unity, devotion to service etc for many. Some choose to use it as a symbol to direct their anger. Is this any different to the attitudes towards the Papal crown in Rome? Just saying.

• Glen their is alot people wanting to leave the commonwealth in Oz and Canada and many other commonwealth countries also, it may take many years for them to do so but it will happen. If scotland leave the UK the queen will still be head of state, just like all the commonwealth countries, but parliament in edinburgh will control its finances not london.

• Glen 27/06/12 #

Tom, sorry I think your confusion lies in the fact that you may believe that the Commonwealth is a set of nations with the Queen as their head of state. This is not true. It is a loose affiliation of countries who were once part of the old Empire. Most are now republics and/or completely independent. I am from Australia and I can tell you that leaving the Commonwealth has never been discussed in the public or political arena. The discussion about whether to become a republic often surfaces though and is vigorously debated. The two issues are completely separate.
      As for Scotland, yes you are correct.

• I disagree with you Glen, plenty of debates in Australia and Canada about should they leave the commonwealth.

http://debatepedia.idebate.org/en/index.php/Debate:_Australian_republic_vs._monarchy

• Glen 27/06/12 #

Sorry, Mark not Tom!

• Indeed in a recent poll of an admittedly small number of Australians only 25% said they’d be sorry if their country left the Commonwealth http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-news-world/aussies-happy-to-leave-commonwealth-20090720-dq0y.html.

I also remember that there was a referendum on whether to keep the Queen as head of State? I guess it passed.

• Glen 27/06/12 #

I disagree with you Mark, there are not plenty of debates in Australia or NZ about leaving the Commonwealth.
      Your link is primarily about the debate whether Australia should remain a constitutional monarchy or become a republic – as I have stated before this is often brought up. The article makes references to the Commonwealth, but is a side issue and not the main issue of debate. Your quoted article is titled “Debate: Australian republic vs. monarchy”
      Australia could choose to a.) remain a Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy or b.) by referendum, become a republic. The decision to remain in, or leave the Commonwealth is a separate issue and independent of the choices Australia can make as to their head of state.
      Quoting me an article from ‘Debatepedia’ does not change the fact.

• Ok then we both agree to disagree.

• Off topic I know, but is the person whose comment is the second after Tom Rooneys, in witness protection and their identity must be kept secret? Why have they no name?

• @Damien Kelly, What the hell are you on about ‘Irish people with Spanish ancestry in the west of Ireland’ Do you often believe in fiction? It all really depends on whether you ascribe to the Jus Soli or Jus sanguinis definition of Nationality, I ascribe to the latter as does the Queen I would imagine since her whole justification for claiming to be royalty depends on her blood line. She is German by blood and British by just as much an accident as the circumstances that give her a life of privilege on the backs of British taxpayers.

@Jay Warner, you come across as a boot licking west Brit…or a British royalist trying to push an agenda, either way, get up off your knees, devotion to a human being who’s ancestors have caused more misery in the history of Europe than Hitler and Stalin put together is quite frankly pathetic. Your ignorance and sheep like mentality are clear for all to see.

• Glen 28/06/12 #

Tom, Damien made a fair point. So you ascribe to “Jus sanguinis” (that nationality is derived from the nationality of the parents). First QEII was born in England. Her parents were born in England. Her grandparents were born in England. You have to as far back as Queen Victoria’s consort Prince Albert to find the German connection I think you’re referring to, although Queen Victoria’s father was, surprise, English. She could be said to also have Scots and Danish ‘blood’ through various connections.
      How far back does your “Jus sanguinis” argument go? One generation? Two? The implication I’m getting from you is that no one is truly Irish (even if they’re Irish born) unless their ancestry can be traced back to year dot.
      Using your own argument, Denmark should be blamed for Ireland’s woes. It was the Normans who were invited to Ireland by Diarmait Mac Murchada. The Normans later ‘became English’ but came from France, and before that were settled Vikings from Denmark.

And I don’t see how Jay’s comment makes him subservient to the British Crown. He correctly pointed out that the Crown works in the UK. It didn’t work here. Se be it.
      How exactly has the British Royal family’s ancestors caused more misery in the history of Europe than Hitler and Stalin put together? That’s a bold and frankly uninformed statement. I could suggest that the Papal Crown has been responsible for more dastardly things in Europe’s past and misgivings in Ireland (without criticising the right of a person to follow their faith).
      The point is two different ideologies have met with the promise of peace. Not to argue about family trees or systems of government.

• I love politics :-)

• Look at her there in her lovely green outfit, a wonderful and gorgeous woman. God save the queen,

• The Queen did say to Martin Mc Guinness (Slán agus Beannacht) when she was leaving, she is trying in her little green coat. lol

• Paddy, ignore hin, the hoody and FF head on him tells you everything you need to know about FF.
    The FF bigotted gits still havent met the Queen as a leader of an Irish Government.
    The press around the world are lapping this story up. When FF meet the head of the British state in the next century, it wont even get a by-line.

• Forgiveness is an easy word when The North is still occupied by Britain……..Forgive,but not forget.

• Martin Luvs Liz 4ever!!!!!

• Glen 29/06/12 #

As I am a 1st generation Australian born, that comment is as insulting as any dumb Paddy joke.
    I merely beat you at your own game? Tom, I am not playing a game. I did not pretend to be Irish or force my views on anyone. I respect anyone else’s right to self determination.
    The Journal article is about Mr McGuinness shaking the Queen’s hand. Most other readers here from all political persuasions have acknowledged this as an important event.
    Tom, you seem to half read other people’s posts, thereby misunderstanding them or the underlying issues, then personally abuse and insult anyone who disagrees with you. This isn’t a schoolyard game. In debate you should “play the ball, not the man”.
    If I want to follow a particular political persuasion that’s my business. The same with any reader here, be they Irish, British or whatever. It’s not up to you to try to change everyone’s minds by insulting them. You seem to be in the business of hate and confrontation.
    My only regret is that I took the bait of your troll posts.

• Suarez, evra, eat your hearts out.

• I’m a bit surprised by the gormless attitude of so many Irish men and women commenting on this article.
    Are you not proud of your Nations struggle for national sovereignty against the British colonial oppressors?
    This woman the symbol of that oppression in the modern day.

A nice old lady she may be, but that is not justification for her continued leeching. I know many nice old lady’s who are struggling to pay their bills and nothing but misery in their lives due to poverty, are these nice old women who have worked all their lives less deserving of economic support than this woman who has never done a real days work in her life.

Have you really been fooled by the agenda to wipe out all traces of Irish patriotism and the virtues of a sovereign independent Irish Republic, a Republic that generations of Irish men and women fought and died for.

This women although only a figure head is still the most accurate representation of all that was and is wrong with the sense of entitlement that these elites are born into, there is no moral or economic justification for the continued adoration and economic support these gang of free loaders enjoy.

• All in German hands now Tom

• mcbab 27/06/12 #

Oh Tom Rooney you are such a throw back!!!

• Glen 28/06/12 #

Poor old Tom. Much anger I sense in him.
      Being Irish isn’t judged on how much you hate the British. That’s ridiculous, but an attitude that seems to run through your threads. “British colonial oppressors” wow.

The people of the island of Ireland and those across the water share more similarities than differences. Ireland’s historical woes are due in some part its neighbour but also to and in context with what was going on in the whole of Europe.
      Your arguments seem to morph into the banking/sovereign debt crisis, which is a different topic and one that most Journal readers justifiably feel angry about. But hey, that was a home grown problem!

• You mean if people knew the truth… A lot of people have short memories. I don’t. This mans friends cost us millions each year in illegal diesel smuggling. They still control a drugs trade. If short on cash they make withdrawals from northern bank ;) or go to post office and shoot police while at it.nnNah not stuck in past I just don’t associate with criminals who don’t take responsibility for their roles or actions

• Finipops 27/06/12 #

I say she fancies Mcguinness but they’ll be no drinking him. :)

• If this thread and the commentators are truly representative of Irish society, it is no wonder our elected politicians have sold out and are kowtowing to those who seek to rape our country of every resource. The route cause is the gormless, spineless, boot licking sheep electing incompetent politicians who are twice as spineless and ever ready to sell their souls and Irish sovereignty to the highest bidder, be they German or British and all in the cause of personal self gain.

It is very sad to think so many Irish men and women selflessly gave up their lives and all they loved in this world for the cause of a sovereign Irish Republic, only for their ideals and principles for the foundation of the Republic to be discarded and replaced with a gombeen state where dynastic political elites conspire with business and banking elites in order enslave the Irish people in a debt they can never repay and one that is morally unjust and not owed by the people.

Wake up, it’s not too late to bring about change.

• Little ignorant man :) I stand by my comments. Sinn fein are criminal empire still. Cowards and murders. Oh course what happened up north was wrong but more the sdlp did not go down the violence route. Sinn fein just gave the criminally minded a purpose. nnWhat would you liked the republic to have done? Go to war with Britain a NATO country ? Sorry chump but you really need a bigger outlook

• Queue the comments about Martin McGuinness and The Queen using stonemason’s handshakes..

• @Glen, you couldn’t be more wrong, unlike yourself I dont let emotions fog my judgment or opinion.
    Nice to see you use a media phrase ‘island of Ireland’ that expression is absolute tripe, it is Ireland all 32 counties, a minority of folk (unionists) in an artificial enclave in the north east of Ireland dictating against the will of the majority (Nationalists) in Ireland will never change this fact.

Your ignorance on the issue of Irish sovereignty is as astounding as your ignorance of the banking crisis.
    Ireland was invaded and colonised by Britain by force of arms, they enforced this colonisation against the will of the Irish people through savage barbarity and oppression for 800 years and only left the 26 counties through force of arms, Britain has a long and bloody history of oppression, exploitation and oppression against Nations all over the world not just in Europe.

Irish culture has very little in similarity to British culture historically speaking, your premise highlights your ignorance of the facts in this regard.

On the issue of the banking crisis, you claim it was home grown? So you actually believe the Irish tax payers are responsible for the debts of private speculators who took a gamble and lost? Or you think it is justified that the Irish taxpayer should pay German and French banks for their losses for lending to private speculators in a reckless fashion?
    What a bloody gombeen you are if you believe even one word of what you wrote.

• Glen 28/06/12 #

Dear old Tom. Less of the personal insults please. I probably know more about history (Irish and European) than you care to give me (or anyone who disagrees with your very myopic point of view) credit for. I could suggest some good books or even websites you could start with.

For someone who doesn’t let emotions fog their judgement, you seem to have a very aggressive and confrontational point of view.

Ireland is an island. Whether you like it or not, there are two political parts on it. The ‘minority’ in ‘the North’ are actually the majority ‘up there’ and they are not ‘dictating against the will of the Nationalist majority of the Republic.’ Please.

Ireland was not invaded by Britain, because Britain didn’t exist as a political entity back then. Nor did Ireland for that matter. But hey, don’t let facts get in the way of your foundation myths.
      Yes, Ireland has its own distinct proud culture. Britain has its own many different cultures too. But I stand by my original comments.

As for the banking crisis – yes, through the actions/inactions of the Irish banking system and politics (together with Europe) it is in part home grown. That is not to be confused with blaming the people of Ireland who have had a gutfull. No the Irish tax payers are not responsible and I believe Ireland should not be paying German or French banks for unsecured losses. We are all agreed that the politicians haven’t got a clue.

I would continue to point out factual errors in your rant, but I fear it would be lost on you. You have your mind made up and no amount of argument will convince you otherwise. If nothing else your posts make for amusing reading.

If you hate Britain and everyone else so much here’s a suggestion. Get in a time machine and go back 800 years and repel the Norman invaders, or back to the early 20th century and give Dev a hand. Failing that, stop speaking English, don’t watch the BBC, don’t follow any UK football teams, boycott UK goods and services and go live on a croft on a small island somewhere.

You Tom, are the Gombeen. Good day to you sir!

• Glen, I’m afraid you have once again displayed your failure to put together a coherent argument, your whole presupposition is based on assumptions and fairy tales created by yourself and those like you, who quite clearly have an agenda to push.

Dont let facts get in the way whatever you do. After I read your claim that Britain never invaded Ireland I gave up any hope that you might put across a reasonable argument, the twaddle you have poured out on this thread is there for all to read and your claims are based on ignorance and revisionism.

As for you accusation that I hate “The British” that is just a simplistic attempt to attack my credibility and one that shows you up for the fool you really are. Not once have I said anything hateful about the British people, the ordinary British person has been screwed by the British elites just as much as the Irish have and I have nothing but empathy for those who seek to implement change in their homeland.

You Glen, have zero credibility and zero knowledge on the subject, so do yourself a favour and jog on before you embarrass yourself any further.

• Glen 28/06/12 #

Tom, I could give an elegant response but I’ll keep it simple and type slowly. You are an idiot. You have an ‘agenda’ as displayed in your puerile rants. You fail to accept anyone else’s point of view as valid without taking it as a personal slight and further misunderstand completely points being raised (eg invasion from Britain, read the post again) Your myopic and childish knowledge of your own history is embarrassing and the attitudes you express border on being offensive. Maybe you should read a book? Thankfully people with attitudes like you are in the minority, but please continue to give us all a laugh! Now, if you don’t mind, I’m currently at Heathrow waiting for my flight home to Dublin…peasants to oppress and all that, you know.

• Jesus , thats an evil looking snarl

• He’s up there with Mugabe and Ceausescu now

• mcbab 27/06/12 #

Cal. Get over yourself. You are such a fool!

• John 27/06/12 #

Who gives a flying fiddlers? What a load…..

• One must admire Her Majesty; she even smiled! That’s class! Even with gloves on!

Isn’t it a terrible tragedy that Sunningdale was scuppered all those murderous, violent years ago?

Dissidents – eat your hearts out ; but your turn will come in about 50 years from now!!

Now all McGuinness needs to make him a statesman is to get Maggie Thatcher to shake his hand!!

Maggie would probably give him a Jones v Gascoigne nutcracker handshake!

• Unfortunately the British Govt. at the time were not willing to face down 150,000 unionists and loyalists who blockaded and shut down the North, with roadblocks, shootings and their general strike.

If 150’000 Nationalists had done that, the British army would have gone in on the first day and shot hundreds without a moments hesitation.

• So the new narrative is that the nationalists caused all the trouble? I suspect that Maggie Thatcher is more likely to shake McGs hand than you or the others who want to keep us stuck in the past – perhaps because the established parties in the Republic are worried about SF upsetting their cosy arrangements.

• Fi Barry 27/06/12 #

……*weak

• i think the visit and meeting were a great day for ireland, shows we have grown as a country, but as Tom says selling out our sovereignty is a disgrace and know that fg wont get back in for that one, labour wont get in for giving up on the working people and allowing all this austerity on the people, and ff well they cant get in,, CAN THEY,,, so guess germany will rule us, as did britain not so long ago, dont think the irish were ever meant to be free, we can sell out so fast, when other countries, ie brazil went bankrupt are back on the market and booming, and not broke for life, i have no idea what will become of us , we have not even started recession with repaying yet, wait another ten years it will be desert island as they will have us taxed out and no moneys left for nothing, they are leeches taking every penny they can now and dont care about our future or the future of our kids or grandchildren

• Hey glen, your verbose use of English doesn’t help your argument or lack of argument should I say.
    What do you mean ‘back home to Dublin’ is it not true that you are in fact a Queen loving Australian citizen of the British commonwealth by birth?

Besides your thinly veiled contempt for all things Irish,
    Why are you misrepresenting yourself here? Is it because you are trying to spam Irish threads with your pro monarchy agenda and think pretending to be Irish will add to your credibility? Just because your wife is Irish doesn’t mean you have a special insight to Anglo Irish history.
    You’ve been called out you troll, get back under your bridge troll boy, your type is neither wanted or needed here.

• Glen 28/06/12 #

Tom, I have reported your last comment to the Journal. You are offensive and ignorant. nYes, I am Australian born, Scottish family, protestant and support the monarchy and my partner is Irish. I have lived in Ireland for near a decade and love the place and the people. And I do have authority to speak about history, of which I know an awful lot. You are the troll Tom. The post is about McGuinness and the Queen. Jog on Tom. Bye

• Glen, you Sir are a pathetic human being, you get called out as a troll who was misrepresenting yourself here for all to see and the best you can do is make a childish complaint? I hope the good people of the Journal see through your charade and realise you are wasting their time with unjustified complaints.

Whats wrong, did the truth hurt your feelings, huh, poor fella, need a hug do ya?

Grow up and grow a set, you’re an embarrassment to Australia and the Queen.

PS, I’m not a Catholic either, why did you bring religion into it? Your veil of tolerance is slipping and showing you up for the bigot you are.

• Glen 29/06/12 #

Tom, give it a rest. If you don’t like people disagreeing with you, fine, but you’re the one name calling, being childish etc etc. Take a breath, then start reading the posts in their entirety.

• Glen after this post I’m not going to waste another second on you.
    As an Aussie, your ancestors were probably sent to OZ by the British as punishment for stealing a loaf of bread or some other trivial action.

You carry on in your adoration of a woman who doesn’t give a toss about you, it would mean nothing to her if you vanished from existence, your sheep like mentality and adoration of another human is saddening.

Wake up you sheep and realise these elites dont care about you one little bit, so why do they garner your loyalty or support?

Also you brought the discussion to a low tone, I merely beat you at your own game.

• Glen I said I wouldn’t waste another second on you but I can’t help myself with the likes of you.
    You are a deceitful, agenda pushing moron, to hell with political correctness I call it as I see it.
    You are the first person on this entire thread to have made spurious unsubstantiated claims and attacking peoples character because they dont adhere to the fawning over an un-elected leech (Queen of England)

Until you began to share your chronic ignorance on this thread, we (rest of us) were having a civil discussion.
    Does us all a favour and feck off back to your homeland down under, we dont need any more sniveling, spineless boot lickers in Ireland, we’re full up right now.

If you want to worship some old lady and believe she is entitled to a life time of wealth for no other reason than an accident of birth work away, but dont get offended when logical sane people mock you or laugh at the ridiculous concept of monarchy.

slan abhaile

• Glen 29/06/12 #

Sorry Tom,
      The rest of the people here were having a civil discussion until you started abusing and insulting people. I have no agenda unlike you and I have not insulted anyone (apart from you).
      I love both the UK and Ireland and understand and respect both their separate and at times conflicting histories. My partner and I own a house in Dublin, which is our home, so I’m quite happy here with my Irish friends and family thank you.

Tom, everyone here understands that you don’t like a system of government that has a hereditary head, instead of one elected by common vote. No one is saying that Ireland should suddenly pass an act of Union again, or that republicanism is somehow wrong. No one worships the Queen, like no one worships Mr Higgins or President Obama. There is no justification for personally attacking people who have a different point of view than yours.

I’m sorry you have so much anger in you Tom, but it’s not right to take your frustrations out on me or other readers.

Irrespective of the differences which exist in our communities, we can only move forward through mutual respect and constructive dialogue.

“First cast out the beam of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote of thy brother’s eye”.

Slan agus beannacht

• omg this is going beyond a joke ,i’m going for a walk .

• Why behind close doors

• Are there any photos of the moment?

Add New Comment