TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Minimum prices for alcohol may be introduced soon – Minister

Alcohol costs the State 3.7 billion every year in illness, absenteeism and crime, according to Minister of State at the Department of Health Roisin Shortall who is looking at ways to deal with alcohol misuse.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT IS looking at introducing minimum prices for alcohol in a bid to combat alcohol misuse, a Minister at the Department of Health has confirmed.

The move would target supermarkets to stop them from selling low-cost alcohol. It is one of several measures being considered by the government to combat problem drinking.

Minister of State at the Department of Health Roisin Shortall said this morning that exact price increases have yet to be decided.

The Sunday Times yesterday suggested that cheap beer could be doubled in price and €4 could be added to the price of own-brand vodka in supermarkets if the new legislation is introduced.

“There is a general sense in the country at the moment that we’ve had enough – that we have a very unhealthy relationship with alcohol,” Roisin Shortall said on RTE Radio’s Morning Ireland this morning.

Shortall stated that alcohol costs the State €3.7 billion every year in illness, absenteeism and crime

The Minister said that the move wouldn’t just target teenagers who buy cheap cans of alcohol from supermarkets but other groups in society such as middle-aged women who drink glasses of wine before bed and older men who drink too many pints.

“We need to address this problem of the central place that alcohol has in our society,” said Shortall, adding that as well as price, the government would be looking at the widespread availability of alcohol and also how and where it is advertised.

The Minister said that she is not talking about banning alcohol at this state but instead looking at restrictions to “denormalise” it.

Irish publicans backed the Minister late last year when the idea of a minimum price in supermarkets was first mooted, saying that it would be good for jobs in the industry.

The Vintners’ Federation of Ireland said at the time that alcohol was being promoted and marketed in an “irresponsible fashion” in supermarkets, leading to social problems due to the “dangerous and uncontrolled consumption of alcohol”.

A poll on TheJournal.ie in November found that almost three-quarters of respondents were against the introduction of a minimum price being introduced on alcohol.

Irish publicans call for end to cut-price booze >

Alcohol blamed for boom in liver disease deaths >

Read next:

Comments (102 Comments)

• just another ill-advised band aid on a deeper cultural problem.

If cheap supermarket alcohol resulted in binge drinking, the whole of France would be little more than a cesspool of passed out bodies and vomit..

• If people were drinking milk until they puked, the answer wouldn’t be “milk is too cheap” it would be “people are too stupid”. Education is the key to fixing the problem, not over regulation.

• Hear the man, He’s tellin it like it is. I especially like the piece in the report where the Vitners Federation suggest they’re helping to control our alcohol consumption. Whether that was by price, some concerned oversight, or by other means went unmentioned.

• Yeah, its a fine bit of spin coming from an organisation who’s whole business model is based around taking peoples money to make them less able to look after themselves then ejecting them onto the street when they run out of money and/or are at their least capable.

It’s a very Irish thing where rather than improve their product they try and destroy the product of the competition.

• you’d think we were all stupid!!!! a person who wants to drink, or those who are compelled to drink will do so no matter what…whats the problem with having a glass or 2 of wine, or a bottle of beer before bedtime when the kids are asleep, and the parents want to wind down…is that a bad thing now?

• If the Government bring in this who gets the extra revenue? Say a can of lager goes from 50 cents up to €1.10 who gets the extra 60 cents? Is it the manufacturer, the shop or the Government?

Whoever gets it I can guarantee that this is nothing more than a tax by the back door.

• Well, one aspect of this is that the VAT and other tax the government charges will now be charged on a much larger price, so tax per can, for example, will be up. Presumably the rest just goes into the pockets of the retailers.

• The government would get the VAT increase. Retailer and supplier would split the balance based on margin/volume adjustments. It would most likely increase the market shares of premium brands by reducing the price differential with value brands.

• I cannot see how the publicans and off license’s achieved this if a competitor is selling a product cheaper than you that’s though! It’s called a free market.

• At what point do we the irish people say stop? This is an absolute revenue based move, they’ve stuck a health label on it to justify it and expect us to believe it. Does anyone expect someone with a drink problem to stop drinking because cans have gone up? What do they take us for? Do we have to wait another 3-4 years to vent our frustration and get rid of another greedy government?

• totally agree! bringing up prices wont stop alcohol abuse! help for those affected is needed and not another price hike that doesn’t really tackle the actual problem! Anyone living close to the boarder will just spend their money in NI instead of the Republic! The government doesn’t care about alcoholics or bing drinking – they just care about the money it costs them! I wish they would offer more help to people that got into the vicous circle of alcohol abuse!
      Money rules this world and it seems that nothing else matters anymore! What kind of world are we living in?

• Even al Capone new when to stop squeezing people for their hard earned money!

• Revenue raising cynicism. Alcohol was never cheap in Ireland until the supermarkets entered into competition to retain customers. After generations of gouging the public, the vintners suddenly took fright and ran off to their servile pals in government requesting a baton be put through the spokes of competition. The supermarkets employ many more than the bars, and if this proposal goes through jobs will shed. No doubt the smoked salmon socialists have clever plans up their sleeves to replace these jobs. You can’t unwind a history of tolerance of excessive drinking overnight or by price manipulation. If price was at the root of excess, Italy should be crawling with drunks. Cheap loose wine costs about 90c per litre for something drinkable. Every supermarket sells bottles of pure alcohol at about 13 euro a litre. People buy it to make their own liqueurs at home (e.g. Limoncello). The government can’t campaign against an industry that generates so much revenue and one that provides so much material support for politicians. TDs, still running ‘clinics’ out of pubs? The vintners aren’t worried about excess drinking, alcoholism. They never were, the hypocrites. Their problem is that all this is going in away from premises and the loot is not in their tills.

• As a nation, we have a very unhealthy relationship with alcohol. We’re far too touchy about that aspect of Irish culture and we need to get over ourselves. I’m not convinced that this pricing thingy will make any useful impact on the problem. I can’t see how it will make A&E departments any less unpleasant/dangerous, how it will improve the nation’s health etc. But we need to take collective responsibility for the problem.

• As I’ve said to others…

Their latest planned move will now ONLY increase the transport of cheap drink across the border from Northern Ireland, to the South.
    Revenue intake will be down!

Add to that their actions might be illegal price manipulation/price fixing as seen by the European court – so the Irish Fine Gael and Labour government will now be facing not one but TWO* European legal battles!

* (The other being the use of possible seen as “forced labour” for those unemployed if they as some suggested, the government decides to bring to full fruition the forcing of those on the dole, to do cheap or non-further paying work. The European Human Rights Act prohibits compulsory or forced labour – and a number of organisations have said they will fight their case in Europe.)

• In relation to cross-border: The unit pricing structure has been introduced in Scotland with the plan to rollout over the rest of UK including NI. As with much of Irish law, it would be a copy and paste job from the UK.

• Indeed – and it could be a copy and paste huge legal problem too!

See: http://lnw.me/EOb0CQ

Quote: “Last week, Anne Milton, the UK government’s public health minister, said her legal advice was that minimum pricing was illegal within the EU because it contravened free trade legislation and would have to be tested in court.

James McLean, convenor of the Law Society’s competition law committee, said there was strong evidence that the measures would be challenged under European, global free trade and taxation rules at the European court of justice.”

• Eoin Faz 09/01/12 #

Agreed

• Who goes over the border to buy Dutch Gold?

• Who would buy Dutch Gold?
      Some one who at the same time was doing their other shopping also?

People that having brought it down south side of the border, would then sell it on unofficially at a cheaper price – or at the new Irish price and still make a bit more profit?
      Be they selling it from their homes/van/market and/or official off-licensed property?

• Ha, good point David!

• this gov is a joke ….this will cause job losses in off licences…supermarkets ….transport companies …it just gets worse ….shortall is a fucking idiot ….i just dont understanding their reasoning ….they just want to take and take ….they aint a gov for the people…..bunch of wankers

• random 09/01/12 #

I’ve taken to brewing my own beer in recent months. After the initial investment in gear you can make 23L of beer for about €15/16, and it’s fun to do too! I’m making a pilsner next and then a darker ale, then I might try making some mead.

http://www.homebrewwest.ie/index.asp

• Don’t forget the dail bar and it’s below cost pints

• There has to be some competition laws against this because if this happen many of the cheaper beers wont be able to compete against the more higher end one’s.

• This state is becoming too much of a nanny state. Telling us what we can and cant do. Might as well be in prison.

• More nonsense from this bunch of out of touch lunatics! This is designed to pacify powerful publicans and raise revenue for themselves! You can buy a can of beer in Spain for 50 cents, yet you don’t see gangs of drunken Spanish youths falling all over the place, or causing mayhem! Education is the only way that the drinking culture in this country will be changed. This crowd are starting to lose the run of themselves!

• Low-cost alcohol? I’ve never seen low-cost alcohol in Ireland in my entire life. I’ve seen plenty of it in France, Spain and Germany though…

• Good to see that the government is all in favour of competition in the market place….it too cheap tax it yeah…whats next oh better tax texting. people are turning up at their local a+e with sore fingers…fking joke everyday some idiot in some government dept is taking a suggestion out of the staff suggestion box and trying to create a new tax….ah well off to the border or better still ferry to france may as well spend my euro in france than spend here and have the government give it to some bondholder in paris or berlin at least i get something for my euro…

• Yea the government do think we are stupid.. Sure it’s only to increase abit of revenue.. They don’t give a damn if we drink ourselves to death ..

• I’ve been to places all over the world that the price of drink is far cheaper than here and they don’t have the drink problems we have.
    Our young people have very little to do other than drink so once again the failed politician come up with a stupid idea to punish responsible drinkers because of the countries short comings reguarding drink.
    Shorthall is trying to make a name for herself like the rest of the labour traitors in government.
    The sooner labour go the way of the greens the better off we will all be (unless your a senior civil servant or union rep of course )

• This is 100% down to lobbying by vintners association and vintners federation. They want people in the pubs and not drinking at home.

The government get nothing by putting prices up in shops, all profits go to the shops. This is yet another con by the government. How many TDs own pubs or have close family and friends who own pubs? I’d say quite a lot.

• This is a classic sop to a vested interest, the vinctuallers. Insisting on minimum pricing will only serve to increase the profits of pubs and off licences by taking out the competition.

If the government were serious about reducing alcohol abuse they would increase the tax and duty based on alcohol strength. Secondly they would close down the bars in Leinster House and not permit the sale or consumption alcohol on any State or semi State premises. They would forbid alcohol at all State or State supported functions including official dinners and banquets and make it a disciplinary offence for all State or Semi – State employees to drink or to ave drink taken during the working day.

• It will be bought cross border and the fuel smugglers can bring down booze before they fill up with diesel to bring back north
    Job creation at it’s finest !!!

• Free market?

• I am sick to the back teeth of this government and their distorted perception of just about everything.
    An increase in the price of alcohol ??!!
    This is your petty excuse of increasing your revenue intake.
    Let me point you to a country not too far from here Roisin Shortall. FINLAND.
    They have astronomic alcohol prices…has it made any difference in their excessive drinking habits? NO
    Just let us re-educate you by summarising:

Let me delineate the effects of alcohol:
    1 Increase in traffic related deaths
    2 Increase in suicides related to depression
    3 Increase in violence within families and friendship circles
    4 A high risk of permanent addiction
    5 Severe unsocial behaviour

My comment:

This government has bent over backwards to ensure that the public gets the message that smoking seriously impacts on your health. They went to the extent of concealing cigarette vending machines in shops. ( by law ) and charging the highest cigarette prices in the EU.
    But…Alcohol advertisements are still everyday routine on the radio and TV.

• Pubs in this country are banjaxed after years of overcharging by publicans in the good times but also because of changes in drinking habits due to government measures such as the smoking ban, stricter drink driving laws and there is the downturn in the economy itself.

Revenue from pubs is well down and the government are now following the money. They are trying to package this measure as being in the interests of public health when in reality it’s all about safeguarding government revenue.

• Yet another stupid suggestion by a muppet in power. You imagine that after the last government this one would have a bit of cop-on. When in the history of hte state has increasing the cost of thing solved a problem? The VFI look to be getting there way. This will decrease local supermarket profits on aclohol. So whatever Union or federation represents them will be complaining that the cost of Lidl/Adli own brand products should be subject to a minimum price also. If this comes in and is challenged in EU court I suspect it might be passed as it will mean more money for the powers that be in the EU/IMF (money rules the world)

• DaveC 09/01/12 #

This is bloody ridiculous. Seriously.

• Aydo 09/01/12 #

Won’t work. Come on, we are all intelligent people*. How can this be considered after been proven not to work? Examples: drugs, tobacco.

*Assumption

• What? Sober up the downtrodden? Now I’d like to see the consequences of that!

• Dutch Gold and Galahad shares must be plummeting

• I dont buy this. It’s plain & simple all about profit for the government.

• Nanny state gone mad. Damn human farm

• Gather up the pots and the old tin cans
    The mash, the corn, the barley and the bran.
    Run like the devil from the excise man
    Keep the smoke from rising, Barney :-)

• 10pm Off License closing times, 12am/2am pub/club closing times and now this. Ireland has become such a nanny state. The idea that this is going to “help” is ridiculous and unproven.

• This is a joke, the problem isn’t cheap alcohol, call it what they want, it’s not trying to tackle health problems, if they were trying to do that they’d be banning cigarettes and alcohol, not putting the price up…It’s a sneaky way to bring in money…Ridiculous, you can find far cheaper booze across the water and in many other countries, and this doesn’t happen, people need an attitude change and to be educated in the right way, be stricter in enforcing ID checks in off licenses and night clubs, pubs etc.. Also, part of this rant, the 10pm cut off for off licences is ridiculous, what is that accomplishing?

• This is punishing the majority to curb a minorities drinking problem. If there is a problem then put more Gardai on the street and dont look for a quick buck off one of the few ways people can enjoys themselves anymore in this country.

• Usual political bull. We’re doing something disguised – is a tax grab. Anyone wants booze – including kids – they’ll get it. Offski to the North for cheap boozefolks.

• I’m just going northbound to by a massive amount of drink to last me a good while instead of Paying extortionate prices here!

• Over Christmas, bottles of quality alcohol were selling very cheap (e.g. a bottle of Black Bush for €20). As it stands, the proposed law would have no impact on the ability of supermarkets to run promotions like this again.

• Rob 09/01/12 #

ok well first i suppose i’d ask if this is a real problem (ie people being drunk from cheap booze) – and with my halo firmly fixed i’d say yes its probably more of a problem than we’d like it to be as a society.

now – if i had the wits of an average TD – i guess the next step is to ban drink entirely! we should actually be grateful that the americans already proved this to be nonsense or i guarantee that they’d be talking about it!

in the absence of that – let just charge double for it – so a labour politician is going to stop poor people getting drunk (and i think its fair to say that this problem is more weighted towards lower income etc?) – all thats left is the lotto now! get rich and buy yourself a beer! it’ll be their next advertising campaign!

• legalize weed, problem sorted

• If the price of bav goes up inda will be getting a slap in the chops I’ll tell you that much

• Looking at the unit pricing the minimum prices would be: €1.10 for a can of beer, €15.40 for a bottle of vodka, €3.60-€4.40 for a bottle of wine. So wine drinkers will be unaffected by the changes. Though 18-25 year olds would be most affected by the beer and spirit pricing.

• Just smoke weed instead

• Hi thebl4cknight

I assume the government does not legalise the weed because they would loose out on revenue generated by alcohol.
      Anyone can grow cannabis on their window sill.
      Have you ever tried brewing your own beer or distilling poteen?

Let me have some feedback from readers:
      What creates more suffering and distress?
      Cannabis or Alcohol addiction?
      I have the answer. DO YOU?

• Brewing beer yes, distilling poteen is an art form that is beyond a pleb like myself.

• Kathryn D’Arcy of the Alcohol Beverage Federation said she feared Roisin Shortall, junior health minister, was wasting her time with this legislation which could be overturned by European competition law.
    D’Arcy instead recommended the reintroduction of the below cost selling ban.
    This ban was lifted in 2006 to bring down food prices, but supermarkets used it to cut alcohol prices instead and use them as a loss leader to drive footfall.
    If the sale of alcohol restrictions are intended to address social problems of over consumption. This could be better controlled by restrictions on how social welfare payments can be spent.

• Eoin, thats a serious hot potatoe you have brought up there. I agree entirely with you. The do-gooders will now say its not only those on welfare that buy cheap booze. My reply to that is: They shouldn’t be buying booze at all…or fags for that matter!!

• I fear this has a lot more to do with Roisin Shorthall trying to look good than any actual benefit to the public. She can point to this legislation and say ‘what a good junior minister I have been, look what i did!’ while the actual results of what she has done would be very hard to measure

• How dare Roisin Shorthall decide what i drink or how much i drink are we in a democracy or a communist state

• Ben ben 09/01/12 #

They think we are all stupid because we have proved ourselves to be stupid, bending over and taking it up the ass all the time… Most apathetic nation on earth..

• Jebus h! I will home brew if this goes through. Rarely go to pub now cause they’ve been riding us for years with extortionate prices and shit service (in general)…

• Byyys 09/01/12 #

Close Off Licences an hour eariler From 11pm to 10pm – Stop underage drinkers.
    Put up the price of fags it will soon be 10euro for a pack – stop people from smoking..
    put up the prices of cheap drink – stop underage drinkers.

This leads to my question, if say both these were banned, the goverment would not make so much profit from taxes on the sale of fags and drink, so this crap about stopping underage drinkers or smokers is total bullshit!!!

• Have a read of the following – it is from the time of the previous government but I think its gives an indication as to where some TD’s loyalties lie in relation to this matter!

http://www.soldiersofdestiny.org/tddrinklobbyscandal.htm

• I’ll drink to that !!

• alan 09/01/12 #

pricing changes may not be the solution but the problem is manifestly there: cork, for example, is a very dangerous place thanks to heavy drinking. some of the violence has to be seen to be believed

what might be needed is a more comprehensive set of measures that include price changing (price rises may not be a disincentive but they are certainly no encouragement). the ‘drink sensibly’ tagline is (a cynical, drinks company) joke. but what to do?

• Instead of slashing the education budget, maybe start educating people about the merits of responsible drinking. Price rises achieve nothing except added money for the exchequer. But that’s the idea.

• Unless the government are planning on breaking EU law, they cannot introduce this legislation as it will be contrary to directive 95/59.

• So it’s basically a monopoly formed with a choice of Diageo drinks and the government taking a cut of profits.For the good of my health any chance of a maximum price also?

• My little baby was taken ill last new years eve and endin in a and e in Wexford hospital and spent a week there, after seein all the drink related people in there that night and every night I spent there I’d ban the stuff and I hardly drink anymore after that week ..

• If you saw a car crash would you stop driving? If you are a responsible person, you can responsibly consume alcohol.

• Rob 09/01/12 #

agree that you shouldnt have to see that – so charge them €1,000 for drunk related visits!

but to talk about the pressure on families and household spending – yet see fit to slap double onto the cost of drink is baffling!

• The vested interests have won the day again via their political puppets…

• I agree with the Minister. 1. Alcohol is far to cheap in Supermarkets. Because of this pub numbers are dropping. Our pubs are one of our selling points to tourists. 2.Ireland is often known for being a boozy nation. Is this an image that Ireland wants. We have become binge drinkers. 3. The age of buying alcohol should be raised to 21.

• So this plan is for tourism? That is crazy, you think it makes sense that the price of booze in the off license should go up, so we will drink more in the pub and now the tourists are happy, wow great way to treat your citizens

• If an off licence ignores the 18 year age limit by selling to a 15 year old – do you seriously think raising the limit a few years is going to change much?

The off licence is ALREADY breaking the law, they have already crossed the legal line. For a lot of them, a few more years added onto an age limit will make no difference whatsoever.

• It makes sense for alcohol to be dearer in pubs, given that they provide personalised service, live music and (albeit dirty) toilets. It’s just that the difference in price is far higher than should be necessary. If the government slashed the licensing costs, and allowed existing lease holders to renegotiate their rent contracts at market rates, then this problem would be solved.

• Padraig, people are staying out of the pubs for many reasons, such as the smoking ban, reduced drink drive limits, morning after breathalysers, the high cost/ unavailability of taxis not to mention that they can’t afford to pay the high prices charged in pubs. The VFI have to start realising they are competing with home drinking and offer more incentives to come into the pub. Someone with an alcohol problem is going to drink anyway, they generally just spend less money on other things like food, clothes etc. Higher prices will mean that their family’s will suffer.
      As to your second point, how is having more people in the pubs going to help our reputation as drinkers? You can’t have it both ways.
      Lastly, a public drinking age of 21 is unrealistic and doesn’t work( I lived in America for years) as young people will just drink in parks etc. Pubs and bars serve a valuble role in that behaviour is regulated and has to meet a certain standard that private gatherings don’t.
      Overall, this seems to be another revenue spinner aimed at the working class

• do-gooder dumbass who doesn’t grasp the concept of the unintended consequences.

Add New Comment