TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Mitchell would join Commonwealth in exchange for united Ireland

Gay Mitchell says he would be positively “disposed” about joining the Commonwealth if it was needed to secure Irish unity.

FINE GAEL’S presidential candidate Gay Mitchell has said he would be prepared to consider joining the British Commonwealth in exchange for the prospect of a United Ireland.

Speaking at Today FM’s seven-way presidential debate at the Sugar Club on Dublin’s Leeson St, Mitchell said he would be “disposed” to the idea if it was “the price” of having a 32-county republic.

“If it was the price of a United Ireland I would be disposed towards the idea,” Mitchell told Matt Cooper.

“We have to stop thinking like this – we have blinkers on our heads all the time, we all think that we’re inclusive, so long as we’re inclusive of our own narrow view.”

His views came in for attack from Martin McGuinness, who said the notion of joining the Commonwealth as a form of quid pro quo was “wrong”.

“Gay is saying that he would accept that the Queen of England would have precedence over the Irish president,” he said.

“I don’t accept that at all. I believe that would be totally and absolutely wrong.”

After the debate, Mitchell explained that the Commonwealth had “evolved significantly” since Ireland had left it in 1949, and was now a trading bloc which does not require the British monarch to be at its head”.

“The majority of members are republics – 33 – and five countries have different monarchs… Mandela led South Africa back to the Commonwealth in 1994,” he said. ”Regardless, it is a matter for the government.”

McGuinness told reporters after the debate that the idea was “pathetic”.

1916 centenary

The two-hour discussion gave all contenders the chance to make points during the debate; Mary Davis also took issue with comments made by Mitchell, who had said Ireland had a chance to host “some Olympics”.

“We were a group of people who got together and actually did something,” Davis said, adding that the Presidency should be an office which celebrated diversity.

Sean Gallagher said he would like to see thousands of Irish emigrants and people of Irish heritage returning for an ‘Irish Expo’, to be held to mark the centenary of the Easter Rising, as a way of building a “new type of patriotism”.

Michael D Higgins, on the same question, said the anniversary of the Easter Rising was not the only anniversary on the horizon – others included the founding of the Labour Party, he noted.

Dana Rosemary Scallon spoke of her desire for an annual Presidential address, and for the creation of a forum of young people to give them direct access to the head of state.

David Norris said he would like to mark the Easter Rising anniversary by reading the 1916 Proclamation at the GPO, and invite the presidents of other countries to “vow to cherish all the people of the planet equally.”

As it happened: The presidential candidates’ Last Word debate >

In full: TheJournal.ie‘s coverage of the Race for the Áras >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (94 Comments)

• How can anyone vote for Gay Mitchell after this, part of the presidents role is to protect the constitution, not burn it and bring back the act of Union.

• Thats great gay, just great…. Idiot is calling for the end of his own job (hypothetical as he is never going to get it) as Liz would be head of state…

• The more i think about it, the more i get annoyed, he would sell his mother, asx quick as he would sell our sovereignty, if he thought he could make a quick buck …. what does Higgins, his fellow government supporter think … Higgins advocated Lisbon II, even though the Irish didnt want to sell their sovereignty to Europe. … These guys are all the same. grrrrrrrrrrrr ……FF/FG/Labour are all at it … The People are sick of these traitors, and financial terrorsist.

• The man is a genuine looper and would be considered a bitter relic in the DUP or by many English people. FG go off and make him their Presidential candidate in a race that they should have been the crowd to beat.

Is it any wonder that the country is so banjaxed.

• Tony better a looper than a murderer with the blood of so many wonderful human beings on his hands. so dont even try and justify your officer in command Volunteer McGuinness.

• Anyone else think Mitchell is only in this race as a dare????

• I think Gay may need help- he seems to smoke a lot of crack… WTF is he on about? He’s trying to win an election in Ireland so he suggests that we join the British Commonwealth? Gay “No we can’t”.

• I’m beginning to think that Mitchell is actually trying to get MMG elected! Anybody who is any bit republican and half considered voting for Mitchell will now run a mile from him. It does to my mind confirm one thing though……

Martin McGuinness is truly committed to peaceful and democratic dialogue by the fact that he engaged in a debate with a man who wants to sell out our country to the Queen, the EU or any other shower at the first opportunity. Personally if I was standing there and Mitchell said that to me I’d be facing a life sentence!

• F*#k off Gay.

• So he wants to be head of state… Then support the surrender to another head of state ! Bye bye Gay

• Our ruling Party believes this man is fit to represent the people of this country! Jaysus, I fear.

• Gay Mitchell is just a low life . What good would a statement like that achieve only to ressurrect old corpses, and open old wounds . He is not worth my contempt .

• Is this FG Official Policy, get Ireland back into the Commonwealth? Does Labour buy into this as well ?

• who ever in the world said it was FG policy? and no, labour do not buy into this as well. People love to go all up in arms over everything. I don’t agree with Mitchell’s typical bullshit. but some people on this websites reaction to it have been ridiculous..

• Hed Be be brave man to try put that through. I’d say some people would have a different view to his wanting and others.

• Since when has Fine Gael ever been interested in reunification? The commonwealth has no value. We already have solid trade agreements. What’s to gain, except allowing for the portion of Fine Gael membership who aspire to be British again get closer to their roots?

• In the interest of balance – David Norris is also an advocate of re-joining the commonwealth.

“Speaking at the launch of the book Ireland and the Commonwealth: Towards Membership, at the Royal Irish Academy, he said that although joining the Commonwealth is unlikely to be top of the Irish political agenda, “should it be demonstrated that this is what the Irish people wish I believe that it could be accomplished with a minimum of fuss”.

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland-should-rejoin-commonwealth-says-senator-14814353.html#ixzz1aVpAAVIi

• Mr G 11/10/11 #

is gay for real on the eve of the 1916 commemoration, he wants to hand ireland back to the Queen? what planet is he on? what did our grandfathers fight for back in 1916, what an asshole! I was going to vote sean g. but after that comment I am moving to Martin McG

• Whats actaully being handed back to the Queen.I’ve never read such pathetic hysteria.
      The Queen would not be the head of our country if we rejoined the CommonWealth.The Queen is not the Head of Pakistan,India,South Africa and they are ALL CommonWealth nations too.All Republics.

• Just wrote out really long and thought out comment and went to submit and then get message to sign in and message is gone, real annoying.
    @Cal Mooney-Yes fully respect your views and delighted to engage with you. Mc Guinness still has long way to go for me before i would ever consider voting for him or SF,Ira membership and army council role is still an issue and his denials are just not believable, Ironically if he admitted what everyone knows it would help him with people, just as it did for men like Capt Kelly in the 70/71 arms trial debacle, Capt Kelly came out of that episode seen as an honest patriot, Haughey and Lynch and cabinet came out looking dishonest and damaged. I have been impressed nonetheless by Mc Guinness and as a politician he is well able for the best of them and he handled meeting soldiers son yesterday as well as anyone could, wrong thing to do was turn and walk away from him, Martin stopped and spoke to him with respect, but the people still think he not being fully honest, still in the race though, i actually think he will get more support and SG support will fall, but still Michael D`s to lose

• Great input …. Respect Man … A big thumbs up from me :)

• I’ve been fairly vocal on these forums,my opinion of Mr Mcg is there but at least he doesn’t sound like a gibbering simpleton that alienates everyone,including his own base. He has commited political hari-Kari and I think damaged FG at the same(they’ll do a bit more vetting next time I’ll warrant). Agree with above, Michael D’s to lose,he’s the only one with cross community appeal,the other are too divisive.

• What an a*****e! He would be going on his own! Plank!!

• r.i.p irish pride if u dont love your country shame on you

• One step forward – two steps back.

• Welcome to 2006 – when he said it then too and ever since!
    In fact he’s willing to have a British head of state running Ireland again anyway!

Quote: “Gay Mitchell has already suggested that the British head of state should become the head of state of any new all-Ireland nation (i.e. we should cease to be a republic – hardly making him a suitable candidate for the office of the president of that republic) and expressed opinions in the aftermath of the Lisbon Treaty referenda that Irish voters should not be given a say in these matters (i.e. we are too stupid to decide things best left to our masters – very democratic, I’m sure).”

Source: http://ansionnachfionn.com/2011/08/01/gay-mitchell-right-wing-conservative-christian-and-president-of-ireland/

——————————-

“In 2006, he caused a stir with his comment at the annual Michael Collins-Arthur Griffith commemoration in Glasnevin cemetery that the Irish government should consider a role for the British monarch in a new all-Ireland state.”

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2015630/Gay-Mitchell-Controversial-views-lavish-junkets-notorious-gangster-cousin.html#ixzz1YQXF1JwI

————————————————

The man is off his head!

• Gay really did Cameron a favour dropping this today. Takes the notice off Cameron telling pat Finucane family there’ll be no public enquiry into his murder. I wonder why gay isn’t pursuing the truth here. Seeing as he’s seeking the truth from MMcG. Wouldn’t he like to show the commonwealths collusion in murder. Oh yeah They mightn’t let him in.

• Reada,
      I suspect that Mr Mitchell would never have even cared about the Finucane Family, either in the past , or the present. No doubt he would hold the Cameron view of perpetuating the huge cover up!
      His desire to be a pro British Monarchist supporter is nothing new , he has not even been a closet one in the past, he is one!
      Fortunately this comment or view of his this evening, has succeeded in burying his campaign even more then it was before now!
      What’s the betting as to whether he finishes above Mary Davis or Dana !

• In 2006 at the Collins commemoration he said he would like the Queen of England to become head of state of a 32 county Ireland…

• Isn’t it gas how FG claim Collins but reject and oppose most of his beliefs.

If political historians want to see how come FG were the least successful party of their size in western democracy in the 20th C, they only have to look at the kind of Parliamentary Party that thought that Gay Mitchell would be a good candidate for this race. Was there ever a worse contender in the race, the man is beyond a parody at this stage.

Strangely enough the drubbing that he will get will be the slap in the face to keep the hubris of his party down, that will benefit them in the next election.

• In fairness, any patriotic Irish man would reject somebody who took arms from the British and fought to partition the country he claimed to love.

• Fine Gael should have a word with themselves and decide is it Brussels, Frankfurt or London that they’re ceding Irelands sovereignty to.
      Not even a century since 1916.
      Collins will be turning in his grave.

• @Cal Mooney- you are confusing the taoiseach`s role with that of the president. I am not overally impressed by any of the candidates, started off thinking i`d vote for either Davis or Mitchell, but they have impressed me less and less everytime i hear them, Michael D is the only one who hasn`t spoofed about his plans and about the actual role of the president. But i respect other peoples opinions on the candidates and don`t make comments about their choices either way. I am annoyed total spoofer Gallagher let sail through campagin and not put under serious pressure, is a sign of the times when reality tv rules and z list celebrities have head start on other candidates.

• Ken, i respect everyones views, and i hope you respect mine … I agree with some of your comments , but not all, and i hope you can respect mine :) I just look at the CVs of our candidates … and if you or anyone else was to read Martin McGuinesses CV for the last 20 years, then his, is without a doubt the most impressive of all the candidates … but in saying that, i know a lot of people have real heartache and hurt from the previous 20 years. I cannot and will not try and justify the war, with the exception of this caveat… i was born in the North. May family are one of the many who were burned out of their homes. I know my history, as i lived it real-time. I also understand some people that see joining the commonwealth as a way of reuniting our country…. but let us not forget our heroes from 1916, who had the option of Home-rule…. when it came to the bit, the Irish people rejected home-rule through the war of independence quite emphatically, and that includes the fore-fathers of the current FG party. They were people of integrity, whether you agreed with them or not.
      The people now have a real choice … send a very clear message to the Political establishment now, that we will not accept a society that only looks after the richest of our society. This is not what the war of independence was about. It was about freedom and respecting every citizen … It wasnt perfect at the start, they (FF/FG forefathers) did murder protestants in Cork under the guise of executing informers … But through these murders, ended up isolating the Protestant populatio in the south.
      This gave more ammunition to the Protestants in the North to mis-treat its Irish citizens, which in turn lead to the murder of many irish, which in turn resulted in the IRA starting its campaign in the North in 1969/70. Most people have rewritten the history (last 100 years) on this Island. This entire Presidential debate has been about acknowledging this, and getting the skeletons/shame out for us to discuss openly. I honestly dont think Martin will win this election, but the debate is forcing everyone on the Island to talk about it. The people in the North are no longer treated like the alcoholic family member, that no-one discusses (but they still dont have a right to vote). If, by 2016, the Irish on this Island, no matter where they live are allowed to vote in Irish elections, i will be happier. I do not want to see the Unionists in the North give up their legitimate allegiance to the British Queen (why should they). But i want the Irish the the North to also have their own allegiance to an irish President. i do not see why this should scare the Irish establishment so much. But i think its absolutely crazy that successive Irish governments now value the individuals in the South based on how much they earn and who they work for, rather than as indivduals… The Government needs to stop poandering to the banks, to Europe and to everyone else, other than its own citizens… They are supposed to represent us, but they only seem to care about lining their own pockets. look at what the 3 big parties did with Niece, Lisbon, Bank Bailouts, Austerity Programs…. The Irish state was not created by men and women who would want this Ireland now.
      “What need you, being come to sense,
      But fumble in a greasy till
      And add the halfpence to the pence
      And prayer to shivering prayer, until
      You have dried the marrow from the bone;”

I will borrow Einsteins definition of insanity : “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” . We need, as a Nation to challenge our government … its an expectation of us as citizens to not allow the powerful to use their power irresponsibily. We do not go out and riot like the Greeks, but we will use our votes at every election, to send our message of intent to these Political parties, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
      Sorry for the ramble, but it is how i feel about it

• Was a very poor debate, it felt totally rehearsed, Matt Cooper lovebombing Mary Davies and Sean Gallagher, they might be close friends i think. I was bored throughout, Michael D was the best and gets extra points for leaving early, Norris again has no message and just rambled on and on. Gay Mitchell had a disaster and sounds like he is exhausted and mind not sharpe, kept mixing up his sentences and made some real howlers, Mc Guinness always sticks to his script and never gets ruffled, Dana , oh dear, well Dana is Dana, enough said.

• Ken, if you want a president who doesnt say anything, supports the government, will encourage us to vote for any Lisbon treaties, avoid any questions, total conformist, then YES vote for higgins… go for it … Its your democratic right and i respect you for it

• This neanderthal will say anything for a vote..mitchell just go and piss off somewere

• It sounds like Mitchell is a closet member of the Reform Movement, and it really would seem that he’s taken up a single minded quest to earn as little votes as possible.

• The McGuinness bashers are quite on this, do they want the Queen back too?

• This is a total embarrassment people like Patrick Pearse and Collins would be turning their grave, if there was a united Ireland why go backwards and have some reunification with the union? This isn’t going to change the view of unionists in North eastern Ireland of their Irishness its too late for that, its not like they are going to go to bed and wake up one morning and say its all a good idea and they are Irish. The current government really gets on my nerves Enda Kenny refusing to be in a coalition with Sinn Féin if there was a posibility, the visit of the Queen, its a total joke. Sinn Féin is the most proper Irish party, of course theres been some things not solved yet with Sinn Féin according to Enda, but the British monarch has put a scar on Irish history what do they expect to happen, do nothing and just take it? Would be even more of an insult!

Tiocfaidh ár lá

• Not impressed by any of the candidates so far. Horrified to hear Gay Mitchell say that though! It’s against everything that we are. I spent a lot of time in France when I was younger and I was introduced as being British. I would politely say I’m Irish actually to have it waved away with but aren’t the the same thing.

I’m proud to be Irish even if the government are a joke.

The way I look at it is if I wanted to be British I’d live in England.
    People are very proud of their Irish heritage going back generations. Pretty much everyone has some roots here or so it seems. I think it would be very sad to give it all up.
    It wouldn’t make a united ireland. It would give britain another island of it’s coast. It would lose our identity as a country in it’s own right!

• Mr G 11/10/11 #

What has these people done for Ireland
    Gay M. — Wants to rejoin the queen, has a fat salary, claims any expense he can.
    Dana S. — Won Eurovision and was a judge on a singing competition
    Mary D. — brought special Olympics to Ireland, sat on every board she could
    Norris. — Supports pedo’s, claimed sickness benefit and worked at the same time.
    Michael D. — writes poetry…
    Sean G. — brought jobs to the country, created jobs and business, helps handicapped ..
    Martin McG. — apart from the Ira Past, he has being part of the peace in the north and was able to work with Ian Paisley. (that has to count for something.

• ?????
      Sean Fianna Fail Gallagher has not ‘brought’ any jobs to this country. He opened ONE business.

Helped the handicapped ???? What are you on ??? Surely Mary Davis should get the credit for genuinely helping people

Gallagher is a lightweight with a few cheesy sound bites. He says he wants to fight a ‘clean’ campaign and thats because he has nothing to offer other than bluff and the word ‘entrepreneur’ which he seems to keep using.

• With muppets like Mitchell, Norris, Dana and Davis, Uncle Martin looks better than ever.

• Mr G 12/10/11 #

No price should be paid to reunite Ireland. This is a right! 2016 should be the year to reunite our country. The next prez should demand this!

• Why would any Irishman want to bow to a warmonger .

• on the flip side if we took part in the commonwealth games we might finally win something

• There is no such thing as the “British Commonwealth”. The name was changed decades ago to “The Commonwealth of Nations” in recognition of the fact that the British Empire existed only in history. Journalists on major papers should try harder to keep up.

• Mr G 12/10/11 #

Well said

• My patriotism went out the window when the banks rode me sideways. I couldnt care less who runs the country at this stage, anyone would do a better job than we did ourselves. We looked for independence for generations and when we get it we make a balls of the country. Once i get paid every week the devil himself can sit in the Dail.

• do we really want a united ireland? more economic problems and a million angry prods to deal with? no thanks

• Most Irish people never heard of the relic of empire called the commonwealth.
    Most English people never heard of it either.

Shows you that an Irish presidency is a waste of good money.

• hmmmm might just get one of my votes after all then, this sounds like a good idea!

• Would actually be handy if all those freaking out about the CommonWealth actually did some research first.
    Not saying we should or shouldn’t join. BUT

a)Most countries in the CommonWealth DONT have the Queen as their head of state. So we would not LOOSE our President or become part of the UK.India,Pakistan and South Africa are all republics in the CommonWealth.

b)Ireland was originally a member of the CommonWealth ,DeValera never wanted us to leave. He criticised the government when they did leave.

• Anything would be better than those bitter drum bangers joining us to be honest, could u imagine our taxes then haaaa

• I think Gay Mitchell is a twat as much as the next person, but I totally agree with him on this.

• actually think we wud be better off in the commonwealth than in eu

• We have 1 million people up North who view themselves as British. We have an huge CommonWealth immigrant community here.
    People from Nigeria.South Africa,Australia,New Zealand,Canada,Pakistan and Indian,British are all Commonwealth citizens. Thousands of people leave this island each year.MOST head to the Commonwealth for work.

Mandela brought South Africa back into the CommonWealth as a republic. McGuinness keeps telling us,He is our Mandela.

• What a great idea!

• And there was me thinking Norris was the only gay wanting to be the next queen

Add New Comment