You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
'Never order off this site': Massive web of fake shops targeting Irish Facebook users uncovered
Nicola Sturgeon’s ‘instinct’ is to back a united Ireland as she praises 'kind' Martin McGuinness
Luas red line suspended from Connolly to the Point after major fire brought under control
Chairman of the Board at RTE Tom Savage (left) and Director General Noel Curran arrive at Leinster House Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
Fr Kevin Reynolds
Call for RTÉ Director General to resign
RTÉ faced an all-party Oireachtas Committee today for the second time, where calls were made for Director General Noel Curran to resign – and where Tom Savage was quizzed on his role as a communications guru outside of RTÉ.
DEPUTY TOM BARRY has called for RTÉ’s Director General Noel Curran to resign in the wake of the Fr Kevin Reynolds defamation case.
The call came from TD Tom Barry and others as Curran and RTÉ Chairman Tom Savage appeared before an all-party Oireachtas committee today on the Fr Kevin Reynolds defamation case. This was the second time they had faced the committe, which had to be adjourned last week due to time constraints.
The meetings are taking place in the wake of the RTÉ Mission to Prey episode of Prime Time Investigates, which defamed Fr Reynolds. The priest reached a settlement with the broadcaster over the programme. A Broadcasting Authority of Ireland investigation later heavily criticised the programme.
At today’s meeting, which was chaired by Andrew Doyle TD, Curran and Savage were questioned about a number of issues surrounding the programme.
Collateral damage
Before being questioned, Savage began by answering a question posed to him at the last committee. He said that there were “1800 victims who are suffering collateral damage” as a result of the programme. He said those people are RTE staff who are “committed to their profession and yet they have seen their organisation’s reputation tarnished”.
Curran said that it is RTÉ’s job to learn the lessons from the Reynolds case “without undoing the rigour and quality that defines our output”. He said that although “it is hard to give absolute guarantees”, RTÉ has put in place a whole range of changes to “try and ensure that nothing like this on this scale” would happen again.
He reiterated that new guidelines have been issued at RTE, that all of the main staff involved no longer work in current affairs, and that the 10 recommendations made by the BAI investigator have been introduced. He added that RTÉ has begun implementing the findings of the independent report. There will also be a review of the wider culture within RTÉ.
Paternity Test
The RTÉ representatives were asked about the paternity test carried out on the woman who it was wrongly claimed was Fr Reynold’s daughter.
It emerged that there were two paternity tests carried out because there was an issue with identification after the first test was taken. The woman taking the test did not bring proper identification with her, so a second test was carried out. The results of the test were known in early September.
However, Curran said that the issues around the test were “enormous” and that he understood “how difficult it was for Fr Reynolds that it took such a long time”. Fr Reynolds had been written to in June to say the test would take place, which was followed by “a delay that shouldn’t have happened”, said Curran.
He said that initially the woman said she would do the test but then decided not to in July. Then in August she agreed to do the test but did not turn up, so reporter Aoife Kavanagh travelled to Kenya to her. Again, she was due to take the test but didn’t take it. It was then done on 23 August.”That made that summer very, very difficult for Fr Reynolds,” said Curran, who added that RTÉ “should have moved much quicker” to put things in place, but due to logistical reasons they hadn’t.
Costs
RTÉ were asked by Deputy Eamon Ó Cuív about legal costs. Chief Financial Officer Conor Hayes said that legal costs are in the order of €3.5 million a year for RTÉ, and defamation costs account for up to €1 million of that.
Curran said that the woman interviewed for Prime Time Investigates did not get a financial inducement but he didn’t know if she was paid the RTÉ interview fee.
Fr Reynolds
Deputy Noel Harrington asked if the programme would have gone ahead if the subject was Mr Reynolds and not Fr Reynolds.
Senator Brian Ó Domhnaill asked when Curran became aware that there was a potential issue with the programme, and if he was aware in June or July, why no emergency meeting of the RTÉ board was called to address the issue.
Senator John Whelan said he was “flabbergasted” with Savage’s contribution, and was “uncomfortable with the manner he is approaching this”. “I would put it that it seems everyone in RTÉ is damaged except himself,” he said. He accused him of “classic spin-doctoring” and said there was a clique and cronyism in Monstrose that “infuses the broadcaster from top down”.
Senator Whelan also said that the fact Savage works for the Communications Clinic is “a most glaring conflict of interest”. He said that Savage broke ranks by speaking to the Sunday Independent about the programme and asked him was his position tenable.
Savage added that in the Sunday Independent interview, when asked by the reporter who made the decision to air the documentary, he said five people decided, and when asked who made the final decision, he said Ed Mulhall.
He said that if the insinuation from Senator Whelan is that he has “not got the highest standards of integrity, honesty and ethical application to my work I resent that completely”.
Whelan said there was no insinuation but that he asked him was it fair he plays for the “home and away team”. “I am suggesting it is another problem waiting to go wrong in RTÉ,” added Whelan.
Savage said there was no clash of conflict between him being on the board of RTÉ and working for the Communications Clinic.
Priesthood
Savage said he spent eight years in the priesthood. In response to comments from Senator Whelan, he said he is not a spin doctor or a hack. He said that “there is no one in this room who would be more vanquished over what happend to Fr Reynolds than I am”. He offered his sympathy and apology to Fr Reynolds and said there is not a clique operating in RTÉ.
Under no illusions
Curran said that “no member of the programme team or editorial management was under any illusions about legal risks” and that everyone involved in that production knew the legal risks in going ahead with the broadcast.
He said that legal affairs do not tell people not to broadcast or not – it has to be down to management to make that decision. He said that he can find nothing to say that Fr Reynolds was targeted because he was Fr Reynolds, but he is “not going to be naive about any of this” as media organisations generally are probably more secular than the general population.
Deputy Anne Phelan said she thought that confidence was being confused with arrogance on Prime Time Investigates “because you got everything right up to now, you couldn’t possibly get this one wrong”.
Curran said that when the first paternity test result was told to him, he contacted the board. The board were unaware of the issues until September. Deputy Mattie McGrath said this was “coming from a complete arrogance” while Deputy O Cuív said he was “very disappointed” as it “all seems to be wordgames”.
Curran said that PTI had made very few mistakes as it went over the years and that “perhaps that led to over confidence and arrogance”. But he said that doesn’t mean that PTI broadcasts previous to this didn’t have high standards.
Savage said that the board is only informed when issues become serious in the view of the Director General. They were told about the issue in advance of the September meeting and then further information was provided at the October meeting.
“Sweeping generalisation”
Head of Radio at RTÉ, Clare Duignan, said that the idea of ‘groupthink’ at RTÉ “is grossly unfair to me, my colleagues and so many hard working people who work with RTÉ who are deeply unhappy with this programme” and the mistakes that were made. She said that doesn’t mean all the people in RTÉ are part of groupthink “or that we have arrogance in how we do our business”.
In response, Whelan took back his comments about groupthink pertaining to all of RTÉ and said: “I have every respoect for the great people who do good work in RTÉ”.
Savage said that “people have talked about RTÉ as if there is one RTÉ” but that “RTÉ is not one programme, not one department, not one division”.
Curran said there is not a Dublin 4 culture and there are a rang eof views. He said that RTÉ has a “fundamental obligation to be a national broadcaster”.
Curran said that he doesn’t have any issues with accountability and that “the responsibilty I have to lead this organisation through a very difficult situation”. “This is an organisation that I believe in,” he said of RTÉ.
Calls to step down
Deputy Tom Barry said that he felt Curran was “spoiling for a row”, which was denied by Curran. Deputy Barry told Curran: “I just feel as Director General you have to take responsibility and to do this the consequence of this means you should step down”.
Deputy Michael Colreavy said: “When Fr Reynolds twice offered to undergo a paternity test… to my mind gap year students making a college movie would have said look it, hold on there’s something wrong here”.
Savage said that if you looked at situation RTÉ finds itself in currently “there are horrendous challenges” ahead and the “last thing it needs is the trauma particularly of removal of the Director General”. He added that for he himself “to walk away would be cowardly”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Pure lies RTE have been used for years by successive governments to dumb down the population and promote the status quo.There ridiciously biased and blatantly favouring the Yes side in the referendum.
They’ve been a threat to Irish democracy for years and have subverted it many times.Reform RTE,reform the Gardai,reform politics,reform finance,reform health,reform society,investigate Rossport,investigate NAMA….jail the bankers and corrupt politicans and the string pullers behind the scenes who manipulate local politics and business and are STILL walking around the streets with our money and futures.
All I know is that in 99% of companies that made a mistake of this magnitude, the top men would be gone! No questions asked! This Irish phenomenon of hanging on for dear life, no matter how big the wrong has to be stopped! It’s bloody embarrassing apart from anything else! Would this be tolerated in the UK if the BBC was responsible for this debacle! Absolutely not!!!
How can RTE be held accountable when their employers are corrupt. After all the tribunals and committies the councillors are still behaving corruptly. Oisin Quinn recently was found guilty of Breaking 4 rules of ethics and he won’t resign. The journalist in the Fr Reynolds case will still continue in her job as a journalist and her union won’t expel her so the politicians can’t ask anybody to resign as nobody ever resigns in Ireland for wrong doing.
How would the BBC Board react, another public broadcaster? I doubt the Board would still be in place. If Savage as Chairman has no impact on culture and practices at RTE that would justify his resignation, what does he do exactly? It was interesting to see Pat Rabitte buckle before the Board and insist no one need resign. If Rabitte was in opposition he’d be camped out on the plinth giving interviews on the affair from dawn to dusk. Must say I was impressed with John Whelan’s harrying of the RTE Demi-gods. I got the impression that the RTE Board are to all practical purposes answerable only to themselves.
Rabitte on Vincent Brown Tonight taking great umbrage about any aspersions being cast about, and completely supporting Tom Savage and the Board. Pat is from the party that routinely looks for a head on a plate, anyone’s, while in opposition. Oh the difference a year in power makes…
Thanks Stephen. I would have thought that the journal.ie would think it worthy of a mention considering a Senator did accuse the chairman of RTE of silencing and bullying a former employee in his private business (which clearly is a conflict of interest with his role in the state broadcaster). Of course a former employee who cannot defend herself. Strange that this not even mentioned let alone investigated……..???
'Never order off this site': Massive web of fake shops targeting Irish Facebook users uncovered
Stephen McDermott
4 hrs ago
frankly
Nicola Sturgeon’s ‘instinct’ is to back a united Ireland as she praises 'kind' Martin McGuinness
5 hrs ago
Dublin
Luas red line suspended from Connolly to the Point after major fire brought under control
Updated
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say