TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

New poll finds Gerry Adams is the most popular leader in the country

The Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll found Sinn Féin has continued to surge with the party now twice as popular as Labour.

Gerry Adams at his party's Ard Fheis at the weekend
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN HAS continued to surge according to the latest opinion poll which has found the party is now twice as popular as Labour with party leader Gerry Adams now the most popular leader in the country.

Today’s Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll also found that satisfaction with the government parties has increased but satisfaction with both Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has declined.

The poll found support for Fine Gael is at 32 per cent (down 1) with Sinn Féin at 24 (up 3). Fianna Fáil also increased 3 points to 17 with Labour in fourth place at 10 per cent. The Green Party is at 2 per cent (no change) and Independents/Others are at 15 per cent.

Government satisfaction has increased by 4 points to 27 per cent.

Gerry Adams saw the largest increase of all the party leaders with 37 per cent of voters saying they are satisfied with his performance, an increase of 8 points. Taoiseach Enda Kenny saw his approval rating drop by 6 points to 36 per cent.

Micheál Martin remains the third most popular leader in the country at 31 per cent (up 7) followed by Eamon Gilmore at 26 (down 1) and Eamon Ryan at 10 per cent.

The survey was carried out between Wednesday and Friday last week among 1,000 voters in face-to-face interviews. The margin of error is plus or minus 3 per cent.

Support for Yes side falls in one of three new referendum polls >

Kenny appeals to public to assist recovery with Yes vote >

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (104 Comments)

• I’ve never been either a big fan or critic of Sinn Fein but their biggest supporters right now are FG & Labour and their lack of leadership & incompetence. This treaty has been managed very poorly to the point of becoming a farce at this stage.

• Most comments note the rise in popularity of SF, however I think what is most notable in this poll is the decline of Labour support. The swing of support for Labour throughout Dublin during the General Election clearly revealed the peoples desire for change. Labour has clearly failed to provide the changes required by their voters. Could Labour be heading the same way as the P.D.s or Greens?

• @ Doc Benway,

I have been watching the polls, don’t always believe them, I feel the media put them out to get people angry, talking etc. I feel people, the ordinary folk, working class people, working and on job seekers were always for equality which I feel Labour was all about. But sadly, yes, I feel they are the ‘wannabe’s P.D.’s.

They seem to have lost all their beliefs, and gone with the ‘flow’. Sad to see so many disappointed Labour followers being forgotten by the Labour party. I personally, feel being ‘independent’ is best. Nobody can disappoint one, except oneself, and even then, it’s not disappointment to oneself, it’s one really using yone’s vote the way one should!

• Personally i would commend Adams for his role in the North. Life for nationlists in 70s Northern Ireland was hell, we are constantly supporting and inspired by Arab spring, end of apartide and our own war of independence . None of that would have happened without the gun. When people are opressed they will rebel. Shoot to kill, random searches, bloody sunday and internment. Yes sinn fein/ira killed innocents but the killed far more combatants than the Britis/loyalists during the troubles. For Adams to go from the gun to sharing power with big Ian is remarkable.

• There is a big difference between popular and competent.
    The latter making a country workable and sustainable.

• Opposition is a comfort blanket, even FF got a bounce in this poll.

While being no fan of the Government I would be more concerned if they were hugely popular as it is usually a sign that they are making catastrophic decisions for the long term.

• It would be interesting to see the results of a similar survey carried out this week after Adams Ard Fheis speech and Kennys performance afterwards on RTE. It would also tak into account labour attacking sinn fein on their referendum posters.

• Adams is popular mostly because Enda is a gormless throwback and Martin can’t escape what FF did to the country. Nothing more.

• He’s the most popular.
    That doesn’t mean he is popular.
    A case of R.T.F.Q.

• Whatever about party leaders popularity, the figure that seems to be overlooked here is the 4% rise in government satisfaction. How in the name of reason did that happen? Still trying to find anything satisfying that this government has done.

• Jerry 28/05/12 #

Easy for Adams to say all the popular stuff to the public , same as fine Gael / labour when in opposition until they in power and realise there is no money to do all the fairy tale stuff he promises see how popular sinn fein will be then . We have no money people

• In a nutshell.

• Of course there is plenty of money about. Look at the government. Kenny €200k, 15 ministers @ €169,275, 15 junior ministers @ €130,042. Add on to that what the humble TD earns (€92,672), the extras for chairing committees and unvouched expenses. A brief look in the direction of the Senators sees them getting €65,621k. Believe me there is plenty of money around it’s just being directed in the wrong directions.

• Kerry. While I’m all for cuts, how much would cutting all their wages and expenses save? 20 million? So only that remaining 14 billion overspend to sort.

• Gary. It’s called leading by example. Did not Kenny say we as a country were living beyond our means at some stage? Kenny and the rest of Leinster House are living beyond Ireland’s means still.

• Kerry. They did cut their wages. Might not be enough but it did happen.

• That’s pure shite Karl!!! Nothing similar there , pick a better comparison … The people are looking for representation , sinn fein are doing just that. “we ourselves will do it” , unfortunately none of the other parties are, we not even a 100 years into independence and we try to sell our selves back into slavery !!! No resources as the other parties have them sold off and sold out the people …

• Scary

• He certainly has the charisma and the Irish people are seeking an alternative to consecutive political disasters !

• Waiting for the barrage of comments dissing both Sinn Féin and Gerry Adams… Maith thú Gerry.

• i don’t believe it! respondents must have nabbed coming out party hq!!

• I’ll dis him but only because he tells porkies all the time. Whatever about people considering their options and voting no to this treaty Sinn Fein have tried to get us to vote no to every treaty with Europe, since 1973. He’s like the boy who cried wolf on steroids.

• Yvonne, 37% and 36% makes them pretty much even. Don’t you think? So 37% of people like Gerry which means 63% don’t or have a different opinion. Same goes for Enda.

• Whatever you might think about Gerry Adams, personally I find him stilted and uninspiring, I think his and Sinn Féin’s increasing popularity amongst the electorate shows the lack of any real alternatives being offered from the establishment parties – All singing from the same hymn sheet of gombeen politics.

It’s time for serious change in Irish politics, but whether Sinn Féin can offer that is very much open to doubt.

• Sinn Fein are hurlers on the ditch. Easy to say all the right things when there is no requirement to follow up with actions. No way could Adams run a country. Just another liar and worse, we have those already. Why trade up?

• People must have a short memory if they want Gerry Adams as our Leader.

• Stop with the anti SF and anti Adams rhetoric. Time to leave the past behind and move on. SF can offer real change and that’s what most people want!!.

• We don’t just want it. We really really need it.

• we are always looking for honesty and transparency from politicians. so its nite as simple as leaving the past behind, when gerry Adams admits to full extent of his involvement in the murders and bombings throughout the years then maybe he might be more accepted, although if he did admit to those things he’d id image he’d be locked up!

• Talk about stuck between a rock and a hard place. Either sinn fein accept the polls which show a popular Adams but an inevitable Yes vote or they refuse to accept them and concede that Adams isn’t so popular.

• Actually sean, the polls are showing that there is a lead for the yes side only among people who have decided which way to vote. A third of people are undecided. So, for instance, if you take a poll saying that the yes side are winning 60% to 40% for no, with a third undecided, what that actually translates into is for every 6 people voting yes, theres 4 people voting no and another 5 people who have not chosen yet.

Hardly `inevitable`, is it??

• Elrat 28/05/12 #

Dear God !

• Eh Gerry got 37%. Enda got 36%. Not exactly a landslide for Gerry.

• ppl are satisfied with gerry adams performance and think he’s doing a good job….. he doesn’t have a job! he’s in opposition! all he does is bitch and moan and criticise everything! he adds nothing to proceedings! altho if he were to get rid of that dose mary-bloody-lou i’d like him a lot more!

• Gerry for Taoiseach!

• Better the devil you know. As in Enda.
      Ireland does not need a modern day Robin Hood like Gerry Adams.

• Better the devil you know ??? That says it all no wonder the country is in the mess it is …..

• modern day Robin Hood? more like still living Osama Bin Laden

• jimmy 28/05/12 #

@Madeline What are you talking about ? would you like to elaborate ? or would you just like to slander someone with no just cause ? I never heard of Gerry Adams being funded by the CIA, having very close family ties to the Bush family or maybe you heard Gerry was hiding in the mountains of Afghanistan when nobody else did ?? To make such an assumption, to me shows that infact you don`t know anything about either of them. If i`m wrong then please tell us all

• @jimmy He is no Bin Laden but he has more blood on his hands than I would find acceptable as a leader of the country plus he is a Communist and would spend more time wrecking the education system than fixing the economy if their track record up north is repeated

• Jerry 28/05/12 #

Thanks

• Very scary…. I fear for the future of Ireland if Gerry were to become Taiiseach!

• Easy be popular when you are the hurler in the ditch Gerry. Easy to try and fool people into believing he is the saviour with all his populist soundbites and rhetoric. Quite another when you are in the hot seat of a broke state having to make unpopular decisions. Fooling no one Comrade Adams with your manure

• Refreshing to read Cal’s comment. Makes a change from the constant Sinn Féin bashing here. Sheila, take your head out of the sand. Your view of the troubles differs from most northern people I know who would be of the opinion that successive southern governments washed their hands of them, they were second class citizens in a so-called democracy (UK) and that they were left with no other option AT THAT TIME than to stand up, firstly by getting involved in NICRA and secondly by getting involved in the struggle. Sinn Féin have done more than most to help resolve the conflict in Ireland but still have to put up with being labelled “terrorists in suits”. Time to stop living in the past people.

• Gerry Adams as the most popular leader is akin to Hitlers rise in the 1930’s it will bring nothing but horror and destruction to the people of Ireland, this man and his party are wolves in sheep clothing, he is a dictator waiting to pounce on a weary Irish people.

• @ Cal.. Sheila’s on a rant again, you can’t win I’m afraid.. Doesn’t matter if you lived, breathed, had friends/relatives that died in the troubles.. She will always think she knows best.. Wouldn’t bother to answer her at all..

• Funny enough Sinn Fein aren’t as popular in Northern Ireland where they actually are in power. I say put them into power with a big party and watch them go the way of the PDs and The Greens once they have to actually make decisions and policies that are very unpopular.

• Sinn Fein do not represent the aspirations, dreams or future of most of the Irish people, they belong to the past, I or most of the Irish people will not trust them until they are honest about their bloody past which is not so long ago. Martin Mcguinness and Gerry Adams need to come clean about their involvement in the Ira or they will never be taken seriously by the majority of Irish people. Gerry let the dictorial mask slip the weekend when asked about his leadership, he said he will go when ready and not before 2016, his party leadership is supposed to be democratic and decided by members not him alone, he later corrected (put the mack back on) his statement.

• Every party in this island has blood on there hands…sad but true, Karl !

• Who exactly nominated you to speak on behalf of “the aspirations, dreams or future of most of the Irish people”.

Bit presumptuous there Karl….

• Reg 28/05/12 #

But Ollie, the perpetrators are not in charge in the other parties, they have long gone. With Sinn Fein they’re very much still there.

• @Karl

Agreed.

@ Too Trueleft
      Nobody nominated Karl or myself. We’re just writing down our feelings and beliefs and also conversations and information I have taken on board which I have lived through since 1961 so maybe people like you, Too Trueleft should go to same bother as I did and speak to the real people of the 6 counties like I did. Try and find the truth from all sides before you make your decision as to whom you think has YOUR best interests at heart.

Who told Adams that he has the right to stay as the leader of Sin Fein? Do its members like M McDonald etc. accept that? That’s like Bertie Aherne telling F Fail he has no intention of resigning for his lies, thieving and faults! No, Adam s is no different.

• excellent, well said and in a nutsell.

• Sheila: “Who told Adams that he has the right to stay as the leader of Sin Fein? Do its members like M McDonald etc. accept that?”

Sheila, sinn fein have never been more popular and their leader is the most popular leader with the general public. Do you honestly the senior members of sinn fein have any sort of problem with Adams being leader?

• @Too trueleft

Correction, it’s not the ‘general’ public, it’s not the majority of the public. In my opinion, I feel, if Sin Fein want more to join them and believe in what they are saying and that they want to move on for the better of all Irish, in my opinion, Adams should step aside.

He has too much ‘mixed’ history that he brings to the party as the leader. You may have more ‘followers’ if this was to happen. Me …… thankfully will always stay independent, independent in life and independent in politics!

• Jerry 28/05/12 #

If sinn fein ever get into power in the south it will be interesting to see the comments of people when they realise they are just going to be like every other political party just a shower of wanke:: like the other parties they will be saying not our fault have to cut this that increase this that . Same old shit different party . Not a hope in hell that they will reverse any cuts or keep their promises

• What I would be doing personally, if, I was thinking of being a member of Sin Fein or voting for an individual like Adams, which is when pigs will be flying, the people that think Adams, McDonald, etc. have all the answers and fill those answers with negativity …. should get off their asses, visit the young chaps in the North, and ask what sort of pain do they go through every day and fear after being kneecapped, beaten and terrorised, by Sin Fein/IRA … even to this day. Of course, I have to say ‘allegedly’!

In order to find out whom I would support in any election, be it general elections, referendums, Presidential elections, I have gone out of my way to find out about that group/person, as much as I can, about their past, present and future thoughts for others, NOT themselves. I have visited members of communities that are still suffering in Belfast, in past year and what I heard from those parents is just so sad. If I can get off my ass and drive and meet with these people, real good people in these communities, the rest of you, I am sure, can do the bloody same.

Speak to the parents that are trying to get young girls and lads back to education after taking the wrong path of drugs, funny enough, been supplied by certain individuals in the communities. Rebuilding a disused store, community hall, after it has been burnt down by the same individuals because the parents wouldn’t pay ‘protection money’.
    Then, go to the families that have lost their parents, mother, sister, brother because they were too friendly with the ‘other side’ and have never actually found their body because people like Adams etc. are too arrogant, hateful, so far up their own asses, they don’t and never did care about anyone but their own gain.

Just because some of you think and/or feel that the Government that are there today are not thinking of you, me and many others that are unemployed, doesn’t mean that you’re right. I am not a member of any party, I am very independent and will vote to the best of my ability next Thursday and I will be thinking of my children and their children and the future of Ireland, not myself, because Ireland is their future, not yours, not mine and certainly not Sin Fein’s.

• Well said Sheila, we can only look to the future when the mistakes of the past have been addressed. Too many skeletons in the Sinn Fein closet to allow the door to be closed !

• don’t worry Sheila the shinnerbots may have “voted often and early” in one poll but even if people were stupid enough to trust this monster there are too many reminders of what he reallty is. The Boston tapes, his brothers trial for raping four year olds…
      Still its always nice to read your posts. This country needs more people with a moral compass and the courage to express it

• For Gods sake Sheila wise up. We don’t have to go north of the border to see suffering.

People in this State have suffered and died as a result of policies implement or not by successive governments.

If you don’t believe me just check out the details re Brendan Howlin/Micheal Noonan in the Hep C cases. Then go back and take a look at the Suzy Long case and the role of FF and the PDs in that. And if thats not enoungh then playback last Thursdays PT and you will see Kathleen Lynch point exactly how high on her list the plight of our elderly is.

• Listen that’s your opinion and your welcome to it . But there are two sides to that story and I should know growing up along the border, British troops bullying a10 year old boy pointing rifles into my face , I could go on and on but none of us should live in the past the time is now.

• People on all sides suffered during “The Troubles”. For every person “allegedly” suffering because of the IRA, I can show you more who have suffered at the hands of the “Great British Empire”. The ugly side of war is innocent casualties. But we didn’t start the war, we are not the invaders.

• People in the south seem to think the 6 counties was some kind of serene utopia until Sinn Féin and their buddies in the IRA “ruined it.” It was a bigoted, sectarian state with not even a semblance of a proper democracy – If you’re going to talk about the past at least have the courtesy to do so in an objective and unbiased manner.

“Ruling by fooling is a great British art – with great Irish fools to practice on”

• Sheila, I am really disappointed in your analysis and your opinion on SF. You use emotive terms to put forward your opinion, yet the facts show very very clearly that the vast majority of the Nationalists in the North support SF. You speak about having visited families. I am from the North, i grew up in the troubles, i lived it. The fact that the vast majority of the Nationalists in the North support SF, goes against every argument and suggestion you are making. You sort of suggest that SF and the PIRA are still going around shooting people, and yet the PSNI are warning SF members in the North on a weekly basis that their lives are in danger because the dissidents want to murder SF members for going into Government with the Unionists. Its unfounded allegations like yours that fuels hatred and violence. It is a simple that that the IRA came back into existence with the support it got from a terrorized Nationalist people, as a result of the Irish Governments failure to support that population during its civil rights marches in the 1960’s.
      You can pretend to understand what the people in the North feel, but in reality, you don’t have a clue. You visit one or two families who suffered as a result of the troubles. I came from an entire community that support SF because of their delivery on equal rights for an entire population.
      Its with your rhetoric, that people will not see the financial terrorism that is being perpetrated on the lower class people in the South right now. 3000 people die unnecessarily every year as a result of pure incompetent management in our health service. We have had a 3 fold increase in the number of suicides in our country in the last 5 years. You can continue your hate filled vitriol against SF, while ignoring the reality on the ground, but your actions and words have long term impacts on the state of our country. Your words leave people with no choice but to support the current political established parties (FF/FFg/Labour) to continue their campaign of destroying the welfare and well being of the people in the 26 counties. I hope you are proud of yourself.

• If you are aligning groups such as RAAD to Sinn Féin then you need to think again! I’m from Derry, an area where almost every fortnight there is a punishment beating by these so called ‘republicans’! The dogs on the street know who these people are and yet they seem to be given a free hand!
      It is Sinn Féin and too a lesser extent the SDLP who leading the opposition to these people and for that deserve credit!

• @Yvonne Byrne (no relation)

Why do you bring ‘God’ into this? What makes you think and feel that means something to all people? I beg to differ Yvonne, “you wise up”! How many young chaps, girls have been beaten and kneecapped within inches of their lives in the Republic? As I said above, speak to all sides in the North as I did! Then give an educational opinion on the subject. I am quite well aware of the difficulties and heartbreak of sufferers of Hep C and how the elderly have been ignored and screwed for many years here. I am quite well aware of how they also suffer in ‘some’ nursing homes. Been there, saw it, went to the funerals!

• For Christs sake Sheila, are you going to start lecturing people on religion as well? Let me guess, you spoke to God as well when you were doing your rounds of ‘chatting’ to folks. If you don’t know enough about a subject matter, dont feign being an expert and putting other people down for their own opinions and use of phrases.
      You are still using phrases like knee-capping etc, even though commentators on here from the North have clearly and unambiguously told you, that the people carrying out these beatings etc hate SF. They want to murder SF members. But you are still proceeding to draw links etc to SF.
      That is very similar to the type of ‘suggestive’ rhetoric that was used against your preference candidate during the presidential campaign. You complained so much about how the media were deliberately suggesting things about Senator Norris, but here you are doing even worse.
      Please cop on, and take a long hard look at the type on insinuations you are making and the impact they could have on people. Listen to people who live in the North, or actually come from the North. The vast majority of whom support SF

• @Cal

When you’re finished on your soapbox …. I am merely giving my opinion and my knowledge. The one thing I’d like from others on this page is to discuss and give their own opinions. That is all I’m giving. You can’t shout me down and assume that you have more right to speak and assume that what you say, just because you lived/live in the North.

If you don’t like my posts, don’t read them. I read yours with interest as I do with others, whether I agree with them or not. It’s great to see so many posts on one article because it shows the people really do care about themselves, politics, life.

Please don’t throw back into my face whom I supported during the Presidential election. I took a long time to decide on whom I was voting for and looked into their past and like you, made my decision as to whom I’d be voting for and whom I felt was best to represent us here and abroad. I merely posted here what I received in conversation from people in the 6 counties. I did that because I wanted to educate myself on the matter a bit better than I would have been living in the Republic since 1961. It was heartbreaking to hear their stories.

Whether you believe it/him or not that is my opinion on Adams, McGuinness, Sin Fein. I don’t agree or believe many of others here and in the North either, but I must be well versed and have enough knowledge on all before I use my vote. My vote is very precious to me and I have used it since I was 18 years old.

I’m sorry you feel the way you do about what I have said, but that is my opinion Cal… you have yours.

• Sheila, it is not nor was it my intention to attack you on a personal level.

My reference to God was frankly more a figure of speech than anything else.

Look I don’t know you or anything about you other than the oppinions expressed in your comments. Which I think are uneducated and ill informed. Both you and could do a heck of a lot worse than to take on Cal’s points. His comments are excellent and go right to the heart of the matter.

Someone had to fight for the civil/human rights of Northern Cathlolics because we didn’t do much to help them.

• Sheila, I appreciate everyone’s input, and on most occasions, you speak sense. But your linking of SF to the current dissident groupings in the North is clearly wrong, and i only hope you are not doing it intentionally. You are as entitled to dismiss Adams and SF as anyone. But please don’t peddle deliberate inaccurate insinuations. You have read comments from people all over the North on this site who have repeated many many times that SF have no linkage to the dissidents etc. Again, i will say to you, SF members are working under threat of death from these dissidents for engaging with Unionists in the North. If you listened to Adams speech the other night, he was very clearly against these dissident groups, calling them all sorts of lunatics. How you have repeated your equation to the punishment beatings etc that are taking place at the moment to SF is bewildering at best and cynical at worst.

• Sounds like Antony Beevor’s right about the worrying rise of nationalism in Europe http://soc.li/40edtXE

• God almighty! So many deep-seated and hateful reactions on this comment thread, underpinned by a severe ignorance and bolstered by lack of empathy.
    People say “blah blah! SF- they’d break all their promises once in government! they are telling us all what we want to hear, that is the only reason they are becoming so popular! Populist bullsh!t! Plus Gerry Adams=EVIL!!!”
    Well “populism” by it’s very nature is the struggle of the less well off against the perceived elite, and yes, this is just a part of Sinn Féin’s strategy- introducing budgetary measures that are equitable and fair MEANS less exposure on those who are least well off in our society. Current government agendas seem to think that the less well off are the only ones whose pockets can be raided time and time again to try and pay off this colossal debt that has been foisted on us, but must protect business and rich at all costs! So yes, SF is sounding like a pretty good option to me.
    As for whether they will keep their promises once in government- I don’t know if they will or not- I have never experienced them in government and I don’t have a crystal ball like some people seem to have. But I do believe in what they say and I want to give them that chance and see if we can finally break this ridiculous perpetual cycle of corruption and lack of accountability that seems to pervade the actions of those we elect.
    The definition of stupidity is said to be doing the same thing twice and expecting different results. I know for sure I will not be voting for any mainstream party other than SF next time round.
    Why? Because of people like Gerry Adams. I do believe that man has dedicated almost his entire life to fight for the rights and quality of life for Irish citizens, whether in the North or now in the Republic, and I admire his lifelong dream of a United Ireland and how he has consistently adapted yet managed to preserve the integrity of that great idea. I do think that he will likely have retired by the time I get a chance to see SF in government, but I feel assured that the young politicians invigorating the party today have taken their cue from his tireless life’s work.
    I realise I am at risk of sounding as sanctimonious as the naysayers who look upon him with such misguided hatred, but I HAVE to believe in someone in this godforsaken country. If I didn’t allow myself to open my mind to true alternatives, I would go mad having to cope with what’s left.

• Im loving it! Some good news for the No Camp and they welcome the poll! But when its bad news, the poll is government propaganda! lol

• Where did they take this poll? Must have been in the middle of moyross or something. Gerry Adams is a lying bastard..won’t even admit being a member of the murdering ira. Anyone that was a participant of that organisation should never be allowed into civil politics. He should f**k off back up north.

• Ok folks, the comments on this thread are getting a bit too heated and personal, and have moved completely away from what the article was about, so I’m going to close it to comments for a little while until things cool off. Any problems, throw me a mail: christine@thejournal.ie.